Dark Tales: Edgar Allan Poe's The Black Cat

Dark Tales: Edgar Allan Poe's The Black Cat

PC

Also available on

Hidden Object

Play Now Download the free trial

This game will not work on your operating system.

Are you sure you want to download this game?

Free sample version

(122.63 MB)

By clicking "Play Now", I accept the Terms of Use and acknowledge that I have received the Privacy Policy. If this is your first time downloading a game from Big Fish, our handy Game Manager app will install on your computer to help manage your games.
Buy Now Get the full version70% OFF!

This game will not work on your operating system.

Are you sure you want to purchase it?

Full version game

$ 9.99 USD

Only $2.99 - use coupon NEW299

Go on an adventure with Inspector Dupin! Monsieur Mark Davies has reported his wife, Sara, missing and now it's up to you to track her down and solve the mystery! Follow a mysterious black cat, who seems to be purposely helping you, and discover helpful clues in Dark Tales: Edgar Allen Poe's The Black Cat. Use your Hidden Object talents to tackle the case, and discover the evil culprit behind Sara's disappearance.

New customers get your first game for $2.99!*

70% OFF!

Use Coupon: NEW299

* Collector's Editions and free to play games not included.

Game System Requirements:

  • OS: Windows XP/Vista/7/8
  • CPU: 1.4 GHz
  • RAM: 1024 MB
  • DirectX: 9.0
  • Hard Drive: 410 MB

Big Fish Games App System Requirements:

  • Browser: Internet Explorer 7 or later
  • Alcohol Reference
  • Tobacco Reference
  • Mild Blood
  • Mild Violence
Reviews at a Glance

Dark Tales: Edgar Allan Poe's The Black Cat

0 out of 5 (0 ReviewsReview)
Average Rating:
Play Now Download the free trial

This game will not work on your operating system.

Are you sure you want to download this game?

Free sample version

(122.63 MB)

Buy Now Get the full version70% OFF!

This game will not work on your operating system.

Are you sure you want to purchase it?

Full version game

$ 9.99 USD

Only $2.99 - use coupon NEW299

Customer Reviews
Dark Tales: Edgar Allan Poe's The Black Cat is rated 4.0 out of 5 by 60.
Rated 4 out of 5 by from A very nice game Pros: nice graphics; pleasant story; solid logic supporting the game; acceptable lenght. Cons: sparkles in HOS also in advanced mode (why? it reduces the sense in replaying the game).
Date published: 2013-04-12
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Another good Dark Tale I like the style of these Dark Tales, a real detective job. There are 2 game modes, but sparkles also in the Expert mode. The graphics are crisp, making the objects in the HOS easy to find. The mini-games range from easy to challenging, all of them interesting. There is a journal, but no map, despite a lot of to and fro. Without skipping, it took me about 3 1/2 hours.
Date published: 2013-04-07
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Fun game This was a fun game with lots to do and places to go. This developer has done many games and has a what I call a standard format and this was the usual format game. Pros: long playing time good mix of HO'S and mini games graphics OK you get your money's worth Cons: As I said, somewhat standard.
Date published: 2012-11-13
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Completed game review I got the other Dark Tales and this proved to be just as good as them and hope there are more to come. Lots of HO scenes and different puzzles than the normal ones. I played on relaxed as I was not feeling well but wanted to do something rather than just sit in bed. LOL It took me two days but it really is not a long game just a good story game.
Date published: 2012-10-30
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Pretty good game. Pretty good game. Good graphics, storyline and puzzles.
Date published: 2012-04-22
Rated 4 out of 5 by from FUN BUT TOO SHORT I finished this game within a couple of hours. I am pleased to say it was fun and the graphics were great.
Date published: 2012-03-14
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Nice Game It is a nice game but not my favorite.
Date published: 2011-11-23
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Sort of Good Sort of OK I will admit right up front I am not a HOG fan but most of the games contain them nowadays. I enjoyed the game but towards the end, it seemed that they threw more HOGs in to get you to find a needed item. I always find HOGs disruptive. I have an idea of what's next in the adventure, then suddenly there are sparkles and my annoyance factor pegs. If you like HOGs you will like this. If you like adventure/puzzle and HOGs you will like this. It wasn't bad....it just wasn't exceptional. P.S. Big Fish - separate HOG/PA from straight adventure in your listing.
Date published: 2013-07-21
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Just My "Humble" Opinion I did not find this game 'enjoyable'. I felt more like an overworked, tired detective having to put in overtime to solve a case. There is a LOT of back and forth, so keep a notebook handy. It'll make it easier. The HOS are typical ERS, dark, small objects, well hidden, with strange names. But on the plus side, after a couple ...you can pick it up pretty quickly. BUT and I hope they're listening...I do wish they would find some new music to accompany these scenes. Some of the puzzles required little or no thought while others left me scratching my head - and then using the SKIP button. One thing to keep in mind is that an inventory item does not disappear if there is still a use for it! If you find yourself stuck somewhere - just try using what you have. 9 times out of 10 you'll come out right. You DON'T have to start the game over from the beginning. This game is definitely challenging - and if that's your idea of 'fun' then this is definitley for you. Get your pen and notebook out and follow the 'Black Cat'. There is a satisfaction when you finish!
Date published: 2012-11-02
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Repetitive Scenes! This was another HOG that I purchased as a dual pack by BFG and glad that it came this way instead of regular price. The visual is really nice quality, however, some of the HOG was difficult to see. The audio was annoying, so I muted it. You have to read the entire storyline, so I skipped them. I'd rather the characters speak to me instead. They keep you going back and forth in this one, way too much to be enjoyable and it seemed rather aggravating to me in many of the scenes. Like others stated, you have to sometimes create something or perform actions that didn't make a great deal of sense to do in the first place. This has a nice relaxing mode and has different challenge levels. It's an okay game, but I've played better.
Date published: 2011-12-27
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Good Game....No Ending. The Black Cat delivered on the gameplay. The HO screens were not as challenging as desired but the gameplay was well thought out and engaging. Length of game was good and the story intriguing. The only place where ERS continues to fail is at the ending where it abruptly cuts off and leaves the player with more questions than answers. Why did the villain do what he did? how? etc...It is really frustrating to spend time playing and getting to know the characters and back story then be let down with no ending at all. We will be on the lookout for ERS games and avoiding them in the future.
Date published: 2011-12-05
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Ah, Boring! Other than being a long game, I did not find this game very intriguing. I have played some of the other Dark Tales games. This was not my favorite so far. The puzzles seemed okay, I did not find them entirely difficult. The HOGs were very boring to me. Some stuff was really hard to find. I did have to use the hint button a few times. It is not a bad game, but it is not a good game either.
Date published: 2013-07-07
Rated 2 out of 5 by from Check Please! Wish I had my money back on this one. It looked like fun but turned out to be too hard to follow and needed a map & guide. Most of the puzzles were impossible to figure out too.
Date published: 2013-05-13
Rated 2 out of 5 by from Boring. Based on about 30 minutes of the demo. I literally fell asleep waiting for the hint button to recharge in a HOS. And speaking of the hint button, it's only available in the HOS -- not outside of it. There aren't voice overs or a map. Even at a reduced price I'm not going to buy this because I wouldn't play it. You should play the demo and read some reviews.
Date published: 2015-02-20
Rated 2 out of 5 by from Mostly Pointless I need to add my concurrence with other reviewers that for the most part, this game was pointless. I finished the game - I don't know why I bothered. It took me hours of going here, there and everywhere, trying to find the things I needed to do one simple action. Everything you had to do required several steps in settings distant from one another - back and forth, etc. There is no map, no help (except in the HOS). The setting is huge, and the whole thing is open all the time (unlike the previous game in the series where once a scene was finished you didn't go back). I never play a whole game at once, and every time I went away from this one and came back, I had to go to the walk through to remember where I was. The notebook is also no help, only adding the hints after you have solved the problem! Ugh! Nice graphics; annoying music. No resolution in the story either. Not recommended.
Date published: 2014-11-21
Rated 1 out of 5 by from A great big "Meh" Way, way too many HOS! Every two minutes, so annoying. They use them as fillers for a really boring plot and no substance. No maps, clunky navigating, the navigating button is too close to your inventory so I found myself opening objects when I just wanted to exit the area. You never leave the house grounds, just have to go back to drab rooms in the house time and again for really obscure items. I would give this one a pass, there are much better games to spend your money on. Stick to the Mystery Case Files games, they always give you your moneys worth. I actually found myself nodding off with this one, and that's never happened in 10 plus years of BF Games.
Date published: 2014-05-26
Rated 1 out of 5 by from A study in eye strain Two problems, no hint system whatsoever outside HOS and in those, the items are so small it strains not only the eye but the patience. I used the hint on some items only to find something so small and many times just a little tiny outline hidden in a dark area of the scene that there was NO WAY I would have found it. Spending so much time in the HOS's took time away from the game and they were many...It seemed that every time I turned around...another HOS that I got frustrated and quit the game.
Date published: 2014-03-27
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Could have been great...wasn't. I read the story after buying the game and do like the games version better since it fleshes it out more. The scenes are absolutely beautiful and the music is lovely... except that it runs on a really short loop and plays the same thing over and over again. I muted it within minutes, something I rarely do. Why do I hate it? Because there is absolutely no rhyme or reason to anything you do. There is no using your brain and working through the problem, just stumbling from room to room hoping for some tiny little crumb to go on. Example: I would say "spoiler" but seriously, who's going to remember this??? You need a gear for a telescope...found it but it's bent...here's a vise to use to straighten it out...but the handle is missing...gotta get through this door but the lock/handle are broke...use the saw the cut through the lock...but the saw is too thick, take the blade out of the handle...but the blade is too sharp, find something to wrap it with...take wrapped saw blade and cut your way into the room...puzzle on the wall missing a piece...oh here's a wax statue...melt the statue on the boiler, there's the missing puzzle piece...replace the puzzle piece and work the puzzle, get a piece of chalk...go to the table and grind the chalk in the mortar & pestle...mix the chalk with the vinegar in the distiller to make "steam" to cause the key that found its way to the bottom of the distiller, to rise to the top...take the key and open a cupboard...take the vise handle, place it in the vise and fix the gear...place the gear in the telescope and discover you're missing a lens. WHAT??? I like a game that makes me think. This one made me pull my hair out. Ignore all the great reviews, I wish I had, and try it before you buy it. Seriously.
Date published: 2012-10-22
Rated 1 out of 5 by from I expected better I purchased this game largely because of the description and, more importantly, the reviews. I started playing it. I keep getting caught in circles with nothing to do. The "action" is difficult to find and very obscure. I looked on the blog. Seems that other people also get stuck for long periods of time, can't find items, have restarted the game multiple times. Items are missing. All in all, this is a very difficult game in that you know what you need,but finding it and then using it (you must click exactly the right part of an item, or it doesn't work) , well let's just say, that the game is not user friendly. There is no map function so if you can't refind a room, you are just stuck. There is no hint function so that if you are stuck, you are given a point where to go. There are items that are clicked and they have no purpose. All in all, this game is just frustrating and annoying, Don't bother getting it.
Date published: 2012-10-16
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Edgar Allen Poe /black cat Worst game I ever played---waste of money---hated it Like a challenge but this one never made sense
Date published: 2012-07-27
  • y_2021, m_5, d_12, h_17
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_3.0.15
  • cp_3, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_0, tr_60
  • loc_en_US, sid_7743, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=RATING, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=HELPFULNESS, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=FEATURED, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_bigfishgames

The Big Fish Guarantee:

Quality tested and virus free. No ads, no adware, no spyware.

Your Security and Privacy are important to us! Privacy Policy

, share your thoughts about this game!

Dark Tales: Edgar Allan Poe's The Black Cat

Go on an adventure with Inspector Dupin! Monsieur Mark Davies has reported his wife missing and now it

Heres what your review will look like once it’s posted.

Click Submit if you’re happy. Your review should appear soon. To make changes, use the Edit or Cancel buttons.

Thanks for sharing your thoughts about this game!

You’ve already shared your thoughts about this game.

Thanks for submitting the review below.