Hidden Mysteries®: Salem Secrets

Hidden Mysteries®: Salem Secrets

PC

Also available on

Hidden Object

Play Now Download the free trial

This game will not work on your operating system.

Are you sure you want to download this game?

Free 1 hour trial

(222.20 MB)

By clicking "Play Now", I accept the Terms of Use and acknowledge that I have received the Privacy Policy. If this is your first time downloading a game from Big Fish, our handy Game Manager app will install on your computer to help manage your games.
Buy Now Get the full version70% OFF!

This game will not work on your operating system.

Are you sure you want to purchase it?

Full version game

$ 9.99 USD

Only $2.99 - use coupon NEW299

Help Constable Hawthorne investigate the rumors of witchcraft in Hidden Mysteries – Salem Secrets, a fun Hidden Object Puzzle Adventure game! Four young girls have been suffering from an outbreak of mysterious fits and bizarre tantrums. Rumors abound that the girls have been "afflicted" by local practitioners of Witchcraft, but nobody has yet been charged or tried. Investigate the scenes and uncover the Hidden Mysteries!

New customers get your first game for $2.99!*

70% OFF!

Use Coupon: NEW299

* Collector's Editions and free to play games not included.

Game System Requirements:

  • OS: Windows XP/Vista/8
  • CPU: 1.0 GHz
  • RAM: 512 MB
  • DirectX: 9.0
  • Hard Drive: 249 MB

Big Fish Games App System Requirements:

  • Browser: Internet Explorer 7 or later
Reviews at a Glance

Hidden Mysteries®: Salem Secrets

0 out of 5 (0 ReviewsReview)
Average Rating:
Play Now Download the free trial

This game will not work on your operating system.

Are you sure you want to download this game?

Free 1 hour trial

(222.20 MB)

Buy Now Get the full version70% OFF!

This game will not work on your operating system.

Are you sure you want to purchase it?

Full version game

$ 9.99 USD

Only $2.99 - use coupon NEW299

Customer Reviews
Hidden Mysteries®: Salem Secrets is rated 3.2 out of 5 by 78.
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Truly fun Hey folks if you like to be immersed in a game where you can actually "feel" like you are contributing to the game, this one is a great way to start. I love the Hidden Mysteries series, I do believe I have purchased them all!!!!
Date published: 2012-01-31
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Fun Hidden Object Adventure Game I wanted to check this game for a few minutes to see if it was worth demoing and an hour later time was up it was so addictive and so much fun. The Hidden object scenes were excellent, challenging, fun. The graphics were a little different but they were okay. The soundtrack was eerie and sometimes down right creepy. Thisd game is phenomenal.
Date published: 2012-02-02
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Interesting game I'm a bit surprised at the low ratings for this game. I loved the storyline and the graphics. This is one of the first HO games I've ever played and I've enjoyed replaying it every few years.
Date published: 2017-03-02
Rated 5 out of 5 by from WOW! HIDDEN MYSTERIES EXCELLENT GAME! Dont know how or why ... the other games in this series don't compare... This game is all round a Great Game Its a Fabulous little Adventure Game.. which I think most Adventure Gamers can Appreciate.. Graphics give you the feeling that you are there.. Kinda Spooky Historical and Good Feeling.. I rate it in my top 20 all time Favorite Games from Big Fish... and I have most everything Great that Big Fish offers.. so thats saying a lot!! I will Definitely Play this game more than once!! I cannot put my finger on why its so good... It just Does It for me... Try it... You might Enjoy it a Lot Too!!
Date published: 2013-01-15
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Gotta have it! Iv would buy this so I can play the whole thing! :)
Date published: 2014-11-02
Rated 5 out of 5 by from AWESOME GAME To me,This game has everything I look for in a hidden object game. Plenty of HOS and a great storyline.
Date published: 2014-05-12
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Everything but the graphics I liked this game: well done HOS, interesting puzzles, good length and backtracking. The cons are the graphics and the lack of different game modes.
Date published: 2014-01-16
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great hidden objects game Lots of fun with Salem's history; lots of hidden objects. I highly rec this game.
Date published: 2013-06-07
Rated 5 out of 5 by from One of my favorites so far. One of my favorite games. Graphics and storyline are excellent.
Date published: 2012-07-28
Rated 5 out of 5 by from very nice the graphics in this game a very impressive im probably going to buy it
Date published: 2012-03-16
Rated 4 out of 5 by from An Old Adventure Game That May Still Impress Some This is an old game with old style graphics that will put off many, but it's challenging enough for old time gamers like myself who relish the adventuring aspect of game playing. There's literally no movement other than for the passing clouds overhead so the feeling of utter loneliness is duly felt here since you won't meet anyone other than the four afflicted girls and the one suspected of causing all their woes. When you finally do confront the suspect, it is anticlimactic and hurried and the game suddenly ends so that was a bit disappointing, but I ended up enjoying this game more than I had expected. The map fills in as you explore the town but it's not labeled, so I copied the completed map from the walkthrough first and penciled in the details myself as I came to the various locations. Not all places are included on the map, like buildings that show only HOS but you never need to enter them later, so use a pencil so that you can erase the wrong notations that you're sure to make like I did. The journal is very helpful so consult it often because it contains your task list and progressive clues that you can choose to read or ignore depending on your needs. I appreciated this aspect because the hint button only shows what directions you can move to, so the journal really provides the help that you will need to navigate the town. This is a really different kind of game since it doesn't follow the current cookie cutter pattern that we're used to seeing now, so there may still be an audience that can appreciate it like I did. The story held my interest throughout and the mysterious atmosphere kept me wanting to play more. Do demo it first as it's an acquired taste.
Date published: 2018-07-20
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Worth a Second Look When I first tried the demo a while ago I didn't like it. But during a daily deal, I bought it. Just finished after many days of playing in installments. Very long game! I don't know how many hours I logged. It would have been tedious to play all at once but I enjoyed playing here and there. The story was actually rather interesting and kept me wanting to find the next girl, etc. Although at first the 2-D graphics seemed rather flat, I actually started to like them. This one doesn't have all the bells & whistles of many new games. There's no moving animation in H0 scenes, for example. But as others have stated, the graphics do evoke the proper feel for the subject. In some ways this reminded me of Green Moon, one of my favorites. I never used the walkthrough and rarely used the hint system so I spent a lot of time wandering back and forth looking for H0 scenes, etc. That was much of the fun as I like nonlinear games w/ very little hand holding. For the most part I liked the puzzles and the lack of instructions unless you wanted them. Sometimes I figured out the object myself, other times I'd look at the question mark in the corner. I think I only skipped 1 (maybe 2) puzzles. Overall they were a good mix, interesting, fit in w/ the feel of the game (i.e., made of wood), and not too hard. The voiceovers were so-so. You can fast-forward through the speech which is good. There are MANY H0 scenes and you do revisit them. I love games where you have to search around to find which H0 scene has 'reopened' when it's time to find another inventory item. There's much of that here. I did get lost as there's quite a large area to cover but the scenes load seamlessly and quickly so it wasn't a big deal. The H0 scenes themselves could use some work. Items are quite small, and sort of thrown onto the scene in an odd fashion. Some H0 scenes were quite dark. Also there was a LOT of repeat items (pinecones, irons, bells, for example, had to be found in almost every H0 scene). I had to use hints a few times in the H0 scenes but considering how small (and sometimes dark) the scenes were, I did pretty good. So overall I think the odd "flat" style was still mostly effective. The ending of the SE was rather abrupt but that's all right. Overall I'd give it a B+. I'll def. play it again some day. Worth a second look if you didn't like it the first time.
Date published: 2012-01-18
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Atmospheric and entertaining. Quite an interesting game that shines by its darkish but well rendered sceneries. Wording it that way may sound paradoxical, but the developers successfully recreated the heavy atmosphere of a 17th C settlement, a small town [old Salem seen by artists] made of wooden houses and cabins, one day when the sun was hiding behind a huge mass of foreboding grey clouds and patches of fog were floating here and there. Each locale is nicely hand-drawn and subtly colored with a full palette of greys and browns. The result is very realistic. The inside of the cabins, school, shops, stables, forest, mill, is equally true to life in those days. The horses looked a bit stiff, though.... Exploring the numerous locations is quite enjoyable and conveys the feeling of a true adventure, as this can be done at will, in any order, the game being non-linear. Help is generous, with hints, a map, clues and the possibility of checking where to go by right clicking to display the different directional arrows. I enjoyed this exploration as well as finding the useful objects and using them, and the first two puzzles; the demo ended before I could see the others, but there isn't that many of them. The only criticism I can find concerns the HO Scenes. Several items are invisible and I had to resort to using a few Hints there and then. With a decent storyline and a bit of mystery, this adventure, which is also a kind of investigation, is easy, pleasant and rather relaxing.
Date published: 2012-01-07
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Hidden Mysteries:Salem Secrets Played in casual mode..and this is from SE. There is a journal to keep notes, clues to mini games and recipes..There is also a map and a task list in the journal..Map shows you where you are..There's no penalty for mis- clicking..the hint button is only for HO scenes. HO scenes fairly easy. There's no set order in which to do scenes and you're on your own navigating..this does result in a bit of going back and forth for items. Voice overs and graphics ok..Puzzles not hard and there is a skip button.Storyline was a little different (no car crash.lol)but was interesting..You were trying to find 4 young girls who were put under a witches spell..Each girl had a different problem..You have to find what they need to get them back home to their families.I like the game..It is a fair length,. It's a nice game to pass the time with.
Date published: 2012-01-15
Rated 4 out of 5 by from GOOD SOLID GAME You are a constable in 1692 assigned to rescue 4 girls who are missing during the Salem witch trials. You will rescue one girl at a time. To find them, you will visit numerous locations and be constantly going back and forth. [So I don’t recommend the game to those who hate going to and fro for several hours.] The locations are on roads which converge at a crossroads, which will be the central point of reference. Although there is a map, not all locations are shown and none of the buildings (most of which are houses/stores) are labeled. Because I generally knew where I wanted to go but didn’t recall which road to take once I was well into the game, I found it helpful to enlarge and print the map (found at the end of the walkthrough) and label or input missing buildings. The map also sparkled at locations which had a HOG waiting to be played. Some inventory items were openly found at various locations, while others were obtained while playing HOGs. There are some inventory items which are a composition of several pieces (e.g., a fishing rod, worm, line) found in different locations. A few of the HOG objects were very small, but there is a hint button appearing when playing the HOGs if you need help. Some inventory items will be carried over to your rescue of a subsequent girl (i.e., after you find the 1st girl, some inventory carries over to use when looking for the 2nd girl) The negatives: There were a few varied puzzles. However, the instructions were frequently so obtuse that I had to resort to the walkthrough in order to figure out what I was supposed to do. The artwork was visually good, except the girls and horses looked like they came from a wax museum (and not a good one at that). The voices of the girls and witch were so exaggerated that they were grating, and one was especially obnoxious. Overall, despite the poor puzzle instructions, a few tiny HOG objects, the wax horses and girls, and the voices, I liked the game and the logical ending.
Date published: 2012-05-08
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Fun Hidden Object game This review is based on the full game which I just completed. I liked ~the graphics, which were always good and sometimes beautiful. Together with the music they created a suspenseful, eerie atmosphere. Some of the hidden object scenes were a bit dark but I felt it was appropriate and added challenge ~the story, which was interesting and kept me going til the end ~the size of the game area. Unlike other games of this type, there were a number of areas to explore or unlock, right up until the end of the game ~the length, which I felt was good, not dragged out or too short. I didnt like ~aspects of the gameplay. A few of the mini-games were illogical and I dont enjoy going back and forth as much as is necessary in parts of this game. Overall, this to me is a classic hidden object game, where you walk around completing hidden object scenes and solving puzzles in order to progress. In this respect it doesnt disappoint, offering a good level of challenge and a respectable amount of gameplay time. I recommend this game, especially as a special offer (I got it as a daily deal) it is excellent value
Date published: 2012-03-12
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Mixed bag - some good points, some not so great I'm a late-comer to this game and found it because I was looking for something "different." Well, this is different. The graphics are sort of flat and the color palette is rather dull; if you require colorful graphics with depth, you might want to look elsewhere. There are a LOT of HO scenes and not very many puzzles or mini-games. I like it to be the other way around, but the HOs were challenging. (Thought it was interesting that there were so many pieces of fruit in them, including ones from the tropics. That would have been very unlikely in 17th century Salem, and it always bugs me when objects in HOs don't follow the time period or story line.) The map is helpful, but it's not interactive so there was a lot of running around to stumble on the HOs - why should I go into the tailor's shop again? Only to see if I'll find a sparkly area. Had to access the walk-through a couple of times. The most helpful bit of information from that - and it's not a spoiler - is that clicking on the question mark in the task list will reveal a clue about how to complete the task. Sometimes, it was rather cryptic, but I was willing to take what I could get. The game isn't very linear and doesn't always flow very well. That was part of what made it challenging. My favorite games are ones that have great replay value; I'm not going to delete this one right away, but I'm not sure I'll replay it either.
Date published: 2015-10-18
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Challenging This game was a little more challenging than I like and I have not made it to the end. I am not one to find different things to use elsewhere...but this game is not too difficult in other areas.
Date published: 2011-12-20
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Dark, Dark, BOO!!! Didn't like this game at first, but once I figured out where we were going here, it wasn't a bad game at all. Very dark graphics, so if you don't like witch tales with a foreboding nightmarishly dim trip through town, you might pass this one up. There is no hint button except in the HOS, so I had to tag the walkthrough rather often. Graphics were clear, but not very professional.
Date published: 2013-09-06
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Best story line of all my games... Although I did not like the HOS in this game because the graphics were so dark and the objects were the same colors...I soon found the story so interesting that I plunged on ward and was totally engrossed with the story line. Out of all the fishy games I have played so far I really enjoyed the character of this story. I would give 5 stars but deduct for the HOS scenes.
Date published: 2012-02-01
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Demo got me hooked Played the demo and now want the entire game to see what happens. Playing the demo is like when watching TV the cable goes out. Looking forward to playing the full version.
Date published: 2013-06-08
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Paradoxical Game I am so torn: 1) I find it to be an ugly game with mostly gray and brown drab colors, empty roads through an empty town, where the atmosphere is cold and uninviting, signs everywhere posted to discourage you from going any further to search for the missing girls; 2) excellent game play, with lots of challenging aspects to keep you going through a disturbing search of this town. I can recommend this with shivers down my spine.
Date published: 2012-11-29
Rated 4 out of 5 by from A whole town to explore This game gave a feeling of exploring a town and its environs rather than just clicking through random scenes. The hidden object junkpiles remind me of those in the Mystery P.I. games, in that a monochromatic palette is used often to hide items. I found the ending abrupt, but otherwise, I actually wanted to know what happened next after solving each puzzle.
Date published: 2012-11-11
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Kept me Interested Have just finished this game. The story kept me interested and the logic of the puzzles was good. Only had to consult the walkthrough a copule of times as I missed something in a scene. Not too easy but objects are easy enough too find . Recommend for a good few hours of play.
Date published: 2012-08-12
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Fun but not overly challenging Just hard enough to keep my interest without being ridiculously difficult.
Date published: 2012-06-30
Rated 4 out of 5 by from hidden mysteries-salmen secrets cool game well played. good graphics
Date published: 2012-01-07
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Good Afternoon Game Bought this game when it went on sale. Enjoyable game, not the best, not the worst, but it was a nice game at a good price. Graphics were okay, but didn't really feel I connected with the storyline. Was disappointed when the game froze up at the end and I had to skip one of the final puzzles. I'd say a good afternoon game when it goes on sale.
Date published: 2012-04-11
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Ok A warning to people who don't like too many H0 scenes, there are LOADS in the this game! The amount of them started to drive me insane after about an hour's playing. I'm the sort of person who likes a good mixture of H0 scenes, puzzles and inventory based things, but this is mainly H0 scenes. I've been playing for about 2 hours and I've only come across about 5 puzzles and thousands of H0 scenes! (slight exageration of the amount of H0 scenes, but you get my point!) The graphics are ok, but the whole thing is static, nothing moves. Can't comment on the music because I always play with it turned off. Story not bad, I like a good witch story. All in all, it was ok, but I did start to get bored with just doing H0 scenes every time I moved around the game. I personally wouldn't recommend it, only because it's not for me.
Date published: 2012-04-09
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Very gray game An evil spell has been cast over the town. The people have all locked themselves inside their houses leaving the town looking abandoned. The colors have a gray overcast. The sky is stormy. Other than that the graphics were just okay. The people and animals that you do see are plastic looking. The artists didn't even bother to hitch the horse to the coach in the opening scene. The music gets a little obnoxious at times. I had to get help on a couple of the puzzles. Other than that, an overall fun game.
Date published: 2012-02-12
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Not a bad Hidden Object Game I just finished playing Salem Secrets today and in general, I thought it was fun. In playing it, I had to realize that Hidden Object scenes would sometimes appear in places you had already completed...this had me stumped for a bit in the beginning. Once I realized that, I kept checking my map for them to show up (and I decided that I really loved this feature). Also, I liked the task list....it kept you from forgetting about things when you had to take a break for a day or two. On a personal note, I do have to admit that I disliked two of the puzzles...such as the one with sliding colors around. Maybe it's just that I did not get the "trick" of how to complete it easily...but the truth was just that I found doing it to be less than fun. It is the only game so far where I chose to skip a puzzle rather than complete it. But many of the other puzzles were clever and fun.
Date published: 2012-02-06
  • y_2019, m_12, d_15, h_12
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_3.0.4
  • cp_2, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_0, tr_78
  • loc_en_US, sid_8514, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=RATING, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=HELPFULNESS, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=FEATURED, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_bigfishgames

The Big Fish Guarantee:

Quality tested and virus free. No ads, no adware, no spyware.

Your Security and Privacy are important to us! Privacy Policy

, share your thoughts about this game!

Hidden Mysteries®: Salem Secrets

Help Constable Hawthorne investigate the rumors of witchcraft in Hidden Mysteries – Salem Secrets, a fun Hidden Object game!

Heres what your review will look like once it’s posted.

Click Submit if you’re happy. Your review should appear soon. To make changes, use the Edit or Cancel buttons.

Thanks for sharing your thoughts about this game!

You’ve already shared your thoughts about this game.

Thanks for submitting the review below.