Nightmare on the Pacific

Nightmare on the Pacific

PC

Also available on

Hidden Object

Play Now Download the free trial

This game will not work on your operating system.

Are you sure you want to download this game?

Free 1 hour trial

(170.55 MB)

By clicking "Play Now", I accept the Terms of Use and acknowledge that I have received the Privacy Policy. If this is your first time downloading a game from Big Fish, our handy Game Manager app will install on your computer to help manage your games.
Buy Now Get the full version70% OFF!

This game will not work on your operating system.

Are you sure you want to purchase it?

Full version game

$ 9.99 USD

Only $2.99 - use coupon NEW299

The Brooks family boarded the Neptune hoping for a relaxing family vacation, but what they got was an incredible adventure! After the cruise ship encounters an incredible storm, it's left sinking in the Pacific Ocean with everyone on board! Live through a Nightmare on the Pacific in this exciting Hidden Object game. Put survival first and help the Brooks family make it out of the Neptune alive!

New customers get your first game for $2.99!*

70% OFF!

Use Coupon: NEW299

* Collector's Editions and free to play games not included.

Game System Requirements:

  • OS: Windows Vista/8
  • CPU: 1.6 GHz
  • RAM: 128 MB
  • DirectX: 9.0
  • Hard Drive: 191 MB

Big Fish Games App System Requirements:

  • Browser: Internet Explorer 7 or later
Reviews at a Glance

Nightmare on the Pacific

0 out of 5 (0 ReviewsReview)
Average Rating:
Play Now Download the free trial

This game will not work on your operating system.

Are you sure you want to download this game?

Free 1 hour trial

(170.55 MB)

Buy Now Get the full version70% OFF!

This game will not work on your operating system.

Are you sure you want to purchase it?

Full version game

$ 9.99 USD

Only $2.99 - use coupon NEW299

Customer Reviews
Nightmare on the Pacific is rated 3.4 out of 5 by 32.
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Interactive Poseidon Adventure. Exceptionally Cinematic. What makes this game extraordinary is the atmosphere. A very strong feeling of impending doom is created by using excellent ambient noise (realistic sounds of a ship falling apart), parts of the ship falling around you and characters' voices crying for help. Right from the beginning you feel an urgency to get on with it as fast as you possibly can. This game draws you into story as none other I've ever played. If you're old enough to recognize the movie you know exactly what to expect, and you'll enjoy this very cinematic game. You play the wife in a family stranded on a rapidly and noisily disintegrating ocean liner. You're separated from the others, so your task is obvious. Rescue the others and get off the ship. I found the graphics great, and the map essential - there are a lot of locations. Though others complained about its length it took me several hours to complete. I did have to use the walkthrough more than I'd have liked, but thank goodness it was there. The gameplay was logical enough, although at times you do have to think outside the box. I'd say that trying would be a great idea, if only for the unusual experience.
Date published: 2012-01-30
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Another Fun Hidden Object Game. This game was one of my original daily deal purchases and I did not regret it. While the graphics and sound were not as good as those in later games (like Escape from Ravenhearst), it kept me interested throughout. The puzzles required some thought and the hidden object scenes were good. The ending was as simple as you would expect...but I play more for the gameplay than the storyline. It seems that most of these games are simplistic as far as plots go.....
Date published: 2012-03-21
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Adrenalin Rush - Quite An Adventure! PLUS SIDE: I really enjoyed this game, although I will now think twice about going on a cruise ship during hurricane season! This is a Hidden Object game, where you will pick up items for your inventory, search a lot of Hidden object scenes, and solve a few easy-to-do puzzles. The story is about a family who is trapped in the midst of a hurricane storm on a cruise ship that is sinking and has turned upside down (think "Poseidon Adventure" in a PC game). From the opening cutscenes, which were like a movie, I was engaged in the story as the mother who is trying to rescue her family and get them off the ship. Although the game only lasted about two-and-a-half hours, there was constant action in every scene. There are also voiceovers for all characters. The graphics were great, and the background sounds of a creaking ship and breaking/crashing items really added to the game experience. But I almost felt a little tired from climbing up ladders and then down hatches and elevator shafts to get around the ship! I cheered for the brave folks who served as rescue staff, especially in the opening scenes when the rescue helicopters are being dispatched. Other features in this game include a helpful map (although not interactive it helped me figure out my way around the ship) and you can earn achievement rankings in this game. You will search for 13 items to get the ranking of expert collector. Other achievements are for solving all puzzles. MINUS SIDE: Although the story ending in this version is satisfactory, I wish more time had been spent in the latter chapters rescuing the daughter and the father. Also, at times the voiceovers became a little strident, but I would probably sound just as stressed and out of breath if I was on a sinking ship!
Date published: 2012-01-12
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Great story idea. I thought the story for this game was great. You can relate to the mother's fears for her family and the fact that she would not abandon them on a sinking ship. Although there are numerous hidden object scenes, I would have classified it as a Hidden Object/Puzzle/Adventure game with more emphasis on the adventure aspect. There is a map to help you move from place to place, but it is not interactive. I didn't find the diary to be as helpful as it could be. When you have to play the game in several sessions, it can be useful to re-read a diary in order to recall what has gone on before. This diary just seemed to list goals and whether or not they had been achieved. The hint system is really only useful for the hidden object scenes. In other parts of the game, the hint system just gives general ideas on how to play the game. I found the video cutscenes to be very good as well as the other scene drawings. I had more difficulty though with the hidden object scenes. I found some of the objects to be too small and not as crisp as I would have liked so I used the hint button more than I usually do. I wish the hint button had refreshed faster than it did. Puzzles/ mini-games had brief directions and a skip button.
Date published: 2012-02-20
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Definitely worth the DD price! I have only played the demo in casual mode, and purchased this game for the DD price, even before my hour trial was up! This game plays like a movie in some aspects. The graphics and sound are crisp, clear, and very well done! The cut scenes are like watching a movie, and I really like that, but at times the pixels can get a bit scrambled in some areas. There is a lot of movement in all of the scenes, such as falling or windblown debris, fires, rain, sparks, etc. The voice overs and sound effects are well acted and believable. The music is suspenseful, and can sometimes be a bit on the obtrusive side. The hints are very helpful in the HOS, and recharge quickly, however they don't help much with trying to figure out what to do next. The diary and map are of some help with that, though. The map shows you where you can go, and if there are things to do in each area. You have to figure out for yourself where to use and what to do with your inventory items, and where to go next, which can be a challenge. The storyline is intriguing, and this is most definitely an adventure with a sense of urgency. The puzzles are easy enough, and logical. The HOS are crisp and clear, but in some areas it can be a bit dark/greyish at times. The HO themselves are the right size, distinguishable, and cleverly hidden, though a couple can be quite small. As an added bonus, there are achievements that you can earn by completing the puzzles, and finding some extra HO throughout the scenes of the game. There are grammatical errors, and misspellings in the script, but it didn't really bother me. Based on the demo, I'm guessing that this game will take a while for me to complete, making it well worth the DD price! I recommend that all skill level gamers at least give this one a try! More experienced gamers can choose to play on a harder mode. Remember, always try before you buy!
Date published: 2012-01-12
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Had a great potential... as an adventure game I must admit, since the first minutes of play, I was really impressed by the incredibly realistic atmosphere, the movie-like cutscenes and the immersive storyline... you really feel like you're racing against time to find your family trapped somewhere in the sinking ship, hoping to find them alive to finally escape this nightmare. There isn't any unnecessary and inappropriate music in the background, just the sounds of the ship and storm, and sometimes voices calling for help, coming from other parts of the ship, or the music that keeps playing from some of the places like the casino, bar etc. Graphic is very realistic as well, nothing super artistic or fairy-tale like, just the real awful view you would expect to see, being in a sinking ship, with water flooding rooms, objects floating, some parts of the ship upside down etc. The voice acting is good as well, you can really feel the fear and anxiety in the woman's voice. Now, to what turned me off. First, the first hour gave me the idea it is a very, very short game. I think after the first 40 minutes I already got to half game (judging by the chapter list) and I found her son in the very first 10 minutes I believe? I imagined the whole game would have lasted not much more so I don't think I'll buy it. Also, I find it so unfit for a HOG. As I said it is a very immersive game, which put you in a real distress as if you actually were in a rush to save your family, while other HOGs rarely make you feel this way. That's why having to do a lot of HOS kind of "broke" this atmosphere; it really made me feel like wasting time searching for absolutely useless objects and seriously put down all my excitement. They were too many, and distracting from the story. If it was an adventure game and was overall longer (like requiring more searching of the ship and more obstacles to find the members of your family or other survivors) then I would absolutely give it 5 stars because it has the potential to be a great game. But I still recommend at least to try it, and then decide if buying it or not.
Date published: 2012-05-22
Rated 3 out of 5 by from A So-So game the story line for this game was quite nice. there is no hint button, alot of back and forth, no real direction on where and what u need to do...is like u need to help ur son now u would think it would not take that long but when u go to another room there is a stranger u need to help well...u get the fire out now u got to free him to get him to help u free your son from the pool. i mean how rediculous is that? it is neither that fun or that challenging to me...so i advise u to use the full demo hour b4 making ur decision...and u will probably need the blog walkthru on this one peeps i wont be spending my 2.99 on it thats for sure lol take care and happy gaming!
Date published: 2012-01-12
Rated 3 out of 5 by from A nightmare that won't give you nightmares The title seemed like a good omen, not because I delight in catastrophes, but because the basic idea was original and the promise of an exciting adventure. But this promise wasn't kept; the lack of credibility of many tasks and actions was a cause of deep disappointment. Here is a game that sets an awful situation in a very realistic and convincing way but half the tasks are either irrelevant, futile or utterly unrealistic. Three examples without giving too much away [there's a walkthrough, anyway]: - irrelevant: the HO Scenes. The game would have been 10 times better if there weren't any, if everything had been conceived as a pure adventure in the style of The Last Express or Paradise. Because they act as interruptions, these scenes destroy the atmosphere of urgency which should have been kept intact and brought from a low level up to a climax. Looking for a crab, an elephant or a paper plane in those circumstances is out of place. - futile: imagine yourself on a sinking liner; would you really be concerned with searching for a stuffed panda, a book or a toy car just because they are your kid's belongings ? I wouldn't. - unrealistic: like using tweezers to reach for your suitcase keys which happen to be inside a vent, or walking along the edge of the upper deck to go to the helipad. All that in water up to your chin while you're inside, on a ship in distress that's pitching bow to stern, starboard to portside on a roaring sea. Not to mention a visit to the engine room while the upper decks are under water... uuuhh ??? Chances are that, in a real situation, you'd never find the flippin' keys and you'd be thrown overboard by a huge wave. Objection ! It's only a game ! Granted. But why not make it perfectly realistic instead ? The basic idea is good, and the graphics as well as the gameplay show the developers are skilled enough to turn a HOG into a true adventure. I would have preferred it to be so, with moments full of suspense and true danger in which the heroine can die [like in certain Nancy Drew investigations - but you get a second chance !]. Had this game been 100% nightmarish and realistic I would have given it 5 stars. Still recommended because the game is good in some respects and can be enjoyed if you are not too demanding.
Date published: 2012-01-12
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Very Well-done Game, But Something That Threw Me Off... Nightmare on the Pacific yesterday. Whilst there are no ghosts, creepy crawlies or macabre of any kind, I would still deem this a D&E game for the horrifying reality of the situation you find yourself in. And yet, it's the reality of the game that threw me off. If you're going to give us a horrifying real-life story, make it friggin' realistic! Because I was focused on the reality, physics and logic kept butting in to make me say, "What the h3ll?!" Beautiful graphics, a definite sense of urgency, fairly good voice acting, but c'mon! Some of the tasks they require you to do are absolutely ridiculous, reminiscent of Curse of the Opera when you have to pour gasoline on a fire. There is a ton of back-and-forth to the game, which I usually enjoy, but in this game it was tedious because you had to retrace your steps over and over again. I got it for a good price, and it was worth playing, but I wish they had made the tasks and situations a bit more believable. The lack of believablility greatly impacted my enjoyment of the game, and hence has lowered my initial scoring (from the demo) of the game from 5-stars to 3.
Date published: 2011-12-18
Rated 3 out of 5 by from No hint button no buy I like hint buttons when needed and not going to the walk-thru. Short
Date published: 2012-11-21
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Lame Ending I liked it, but it was over so quickly, and the ending was very unsatisfying.
Date published: 2012-01-19
Rated 3 out of 5 by from confused about these reviews I read the reviews on this game then downloaded it.Did not play it for a few days.When I finally did I was interested in the game.The eerie creeking sounds and loud noises were so real sounding(I turned the volume on high to get full effect) that I felt like I was on the ship. The thing(s) that I did not like were the small items in the HOS scenes and the lack of communication I received from the game.Explanation: I did not have or see a hint button or one to skip. I thought that the magnifing glasses in HOS were the hint buttons,I clicked on them but nothing happened,other than that I HAD NO HINTS OR SKIPS. I liked the storyline,sounds were great,beginning was amazing,but I needed more help with this one.Next time (if you make this game with part 2) please make it with help,skip,buttons for eveyone and with more clear instruction on what to do. I felt terrible, I had one hour to play and could not help/rescue anyone.
Date published: 2013-03-16
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Nightmare on the Pacific This game would have been way way better if it wasnt for the backwards and forwards continuously throughout the game. Drove me round the bend. Otherwise its ok.
Date published: 2013-01-24
Rated 3 out of 5 by from A NIGHTMARE INDEED!! I could only play about 15 to 30 minutes of this game then I called it quits. The VOS were good, animation just wasn't there for me. Didn't fill my screen and I had side black bars as well as top and bottom. Never had this problem with other games. Too much going back and forth. Not my kind of game.
Date published: 2012-12-16
Rated 3 out of 5 by from An okay game I purchased this game on the "daily deal" special...so for 2.99 it was a pretty good game for the price. The graphics were okay and the mini games weren't too hard. The game was over quick though, so that was a little disappointing. Not my fav game ever, but was entertaining for a sort while.
Date published: 2012-01-14
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Hard to Follow Without Walkthrough The storyline is interesting. The Hidden Object Scenes are easy to play. There are a few mini games but fewer than most HOG's. The trouble with this game is that it's not that intuitive to play. There is no way I could have completed it without following the walkthrough.
Date published: 2012-01-13
Rated 2 out of 5 by from HOG in a Hurricane My review is based on the completed game. I'd recommend this game for beginners or people new to HOGs, but I would not recommend it for more experienced and advanced gamers. The storyline, as far as HOGs go, was unique. It was a bit of a relief from the dark story lines we so often encounter (although I do love them). The graphics are good in some areas, but in others look quite distorted and don't quite "fit" with the rest of the environment. The voice acting is good in some areas, but falls short in others. But... Cons: - HOG scenes are simply huge junk piles, which admittedly is reasonable for the theme of the game, but nonetheless no creativity had gone into this area of development. For example: - Items in HOG scenes are often reused in subsequent HOG scenes. And not just items listed to find, but items that you had to previously find and other random items in the HOG scene reappear throughout the game. Of the many examples, there are: (spilt) pills, gloves, shaver, spoon, toaster, saw blade, tea bag, and many spyglasses. - Some HOG items are hidden quite well, but hidden TOO well. There are dark scenes / areas to most HOG scenes, and items are often disproportionate to the rest of the items in view (i.e. a telescope was nearly the same size as a brush). - Some items have no further description (e.g. type of brush, and a "cone" was actually a pinecone). - Unrealistic tasks. Why can't a woman who can climb a rope from the bottom floor of an elevator shaft to the top floor and pull up her own weight not be able to pull out her own child "stuck" in a pool. And how does one become stuck in a pool anyway? Bottom line? The game is only good as a daily deal. The HOG scenes spoilt the game for me. The game was too short, and had a pretty predictable and poor ending. Beginners, have at it. Intermediate or experienced players avoid this one.
Date published: 2012-11-28
Rated 2 out of 5 by from SUNK AS FAR AS I'M CONCERNED BASICS: Play easy or normal. You can adjust sound effects and voice overs or mute all sound. Subtitles can be turned on or off. You have a diary with includes a map, objectives, and location of those objectives. Good cutscene intro. Voice overs aren’t bad, but they aren’t good either. Music is okay for the story. HOS are large and bright, not too crowded. STORYLINE is absurd. I usually don't care too much about the story. But this is too far fetched. The ship is flooded and going down. As you try to rescue your son, why look for a key to open a floating suitcase. (Okay, it has a screwdriver and hacksaw, but really, who’d pack that.) Then water is pouring from the ventilation system onto your son, who is up to his chin in the flooded chin, and you think turning off the water is going to help. Then your son’s leg is trapped and instead of trying to get it free, you decide to look for someone to help - hey! Everyone has left the ship except your family (and maybe anyone who isn’t bright enough or able to get to the top of the ship where the rescuers are, but there's no indication of that). I can’t get past the ridiculousness of the story. Maybe if the ship were just starting to sink, some of it might make sense, but not after the rescuers have rescued everyone in sight and the ship is flooded to your chin.
Date published: 2012-11-22
Rated 2 out of 5 by from Way out of date I think I only played about 15 minutes of this before I knew I didn't like it. After playing all the other sophisticated games with great story lines, crisp graphics and realistic story lines, I just couldn't get into this game. It just seemed like a very old...maybe one of the first out there??.....HO games. Some may like it...it got some good ratings, but I just didn't like it. You'll have to make the call for yourself I guess....just putting my 2 cents in.
Date published: 2012-11-03
Rated 2 out of 5 by from Bad Game This is an interesting game that is unlike most BFG games in its presentation. As others have pointed out, it's almost like watching a movie albeit with cartoon characters, and the story is pretty good. The HOS are awful! Little, bitty objects that are well hidden and disguised. There is a map showing where action is needed, but it's not IA. There aren't any hints during gameplay, just a list of tasks with pictures showing where they are. I wanted to like this game, especially since it was on sale, but it wasn't any fun for me at any price.
Date published: 2012-11-22
Rated 1 out of 5 by from terrible game there's no helps you don't no where to go what to do I didn't like this game i didn't even finish the hour
Date published: 2012-09-09
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Terrible I buy and play alot of HO games that one is terrible. Glad I only paid 2.99
Date published: 2012-01-12
  • y_2019, m_12, d_14, h_12
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_3.0.4
  • cp_2, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_0, tr_32
  • loc_en_US, sid_9026, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=RATING, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=HELPFULNESS, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=FEATURED, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_bigfishgames

The Big Fish Guarantee:

Quality tested and virus free. No ads, no adware, no spyware.

Your Security and Privacy are important to us! Privacy Policy

, share your thoughts about this game!

Nightmare on the Pacific

The Brooks family boarded the Neptune hoping for a relaxing family vacation, but what they got was an incredible adventure!

Heres what your review will look like once it’s posted.

Click Submit if you’re happy. Your review should appear soon. To make changes, use the Edit or Cancel buttons.

Thanks for sharing your thoughts about this game!

You’ve already shared your thoughts about this game.

Thanks for submitting the review below.