Family Vacation: California

Family Vacation: California

PC

Also available on

Hidden Object

Play Now Download the free trial

This game will not work on your operating system.

Are you sure you want to download this game?

Free 1 hour trial

(169.08 MB)

By clicking "Play Now", I accept the Terms of Use and acknowledge that I have received the Privacy Policy. If this is your first time downloading a game from Big Fish, our handy Game Manager app will install on your computer to help manage your games.
Buy Now Get the full version70% OFF!

This game will not work on your operating system.

Are you sure you want to purchase it?

Full version game

$ 9.99 USD

Only $2.99 - use coupon NEW299

Barb never thought she’d win, but she did in Family Vacation: California. Her submission to be a contestant on the game show; The Price is Nice! was accepted and she and her family are on their way to sunny California. It’s up to you to help them get to their destination safe and happy. You’ll have to help them pack, get to the airport on time, board the plane, have a safe flight and get to their hotel at the other end. Once at their destination, you’ll hit the beach, take in a ballgame and go to Playland Theme Park, before helping Barb compete on her favorite game show for cash and prizes.

  • 25+ Levels over 8 chapters
  • 15+ challenging puzzles
  • Fun for the whole family

New customers get your first game for $2.99!*

70% OFF!

Use Coupon: NEW299

* Collector's Editions and free to play games not included.

Game System Requirements:

  • OS: Windows XP/Vista/8
  • CPU: 1.2 GHz
  • RAM: 512 MB
  • DirectX: 9.0
  • Hard Drive: 188 MB

Big Fish Games App System Requirements:

  • Browser: Internet Explorer 7 or later
Reviews at a Glance

Family Vacation: California

0 out of 5 (0 ReviewsReview)
Average Rating:
Play Now Download the free trial

This game will not work on your operating system.

Are you sure you want to download this game?

Free 1 hour trial

(169.08 MB)

Buy Now Get the full version70% OFF!

This game will not work on your operating system.

Are you sure you want to purchase it?

Full version game

$ 9.99 USD

Only $2.99 - use coupon NEW299

Customer Reviews
Family Vacation: California is rated 4.0 out of 5 by 42.
Rated 5 out of 5 by from A fun Hidden Object Game without being dark & gloomy! Finally a h.o.g. that isn't about a haunted mansion or vampires...just simple, fun and casual!
Date published: 2011-12-20
Rated 5 out of 5 by from A Fun Vacation Game I've only played the 1 hour but it is a nice HOG. Fun family game, NOT just for children but fun for adults as well!! I am buying it. It is very pleasant and a definate change from all the many dark, dreary games. Wish there were more vacation games. How about vacations to Paris, and so many other fun places...maybe some day..... It was cheery, easy to see. Can't wait to play the rest of it!
Date published: 2012-07-30
Rated 5 out of 5 by from VERY FUN GAME I love these games. Even though it can get repetitive, it is still a challenge to see what I remember. Nice to know a little background of the state!
Date published: 2011-12-20
Rated 5 out of 5 by from It was FUN !! i had a great time delighting and playing in this game.
Date published: 2011-12-01
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Loved It =D I Really Did Like This Game...It Was Fun..I Like The Puzzle's You Had 2 Do Aswell =:-).
Date published: 2011-12-09
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Best Game Ever!! I think this game is best than other game I play
Date published: 2014-06-06
Rated 5 out of 5 by from great top rated, this is a really great game overall
Date published: 2012-07-07
Rated 5 out of 5 by from great hidden object game! ;D Great very clear and fun. Must buy ;)
Date published: 2012-07-03
Rated 4 out of 5 by from A hidden object game for the whole family Review based on completed game: 2½ hours; no hint, no skipping dialogues and mini-games. This game is a traditional/old-school seek-and-find HO game, consisting of 31 scenes (none repeat) and 13 mini-games... if I counted properly. The story of a family (mom, dad and the 2 kids) that goes on vacation because mom won a spot to appear on a TV game show. I liked the fact that it's a story that the whole family can enjoy, and the scenes are actually part of the "telling" of the story. You even get to snap a few pictures along the way with the camera provided in the game. Objects are identifiable assuming you play on a decent screen (not a tablet) but not always that simple to find. There is brief click-thru dialogue between each scene... which you can skip thru if you like but would then miss out on what gives this old game a certain charm. Give it a try; you'll know quickly if it's your cup of tea. Played it on Windows 10 without any incident.
Date published: 2019-07-29
Rated 4 out of 5 by from good game but... The game itself is good. The problems I do have with it are the skip takes too long to charge. I have to go do other things because I hate waiting, and sometimes come back just to close the game because I'm frustrated in waiting. I thought the devs would have changed this by now. WHY have me waste so much valuable game time?? I hate waiting, if I'm not going to play the mini game, why make me wait to skip it? Also to open up the blue items, it's sooo hard to find the area you need to click in. Could have made it sparkle. I think a child would even have a hard time with this part. I am on my second time thru the game and still having a time finding these areas. Other than those two things, I really like the game because it's different than what I normally play.
Date published: 2018-12-05
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Good, fun game... I agree with a lot of these other reviewers.... a good change from all those dark, gory vampires, etc. that most of the games are. There's enough of that on TV and movies!!
Date published: 2017-03-23
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Vacation Time - California Here We Come!!!! The best parts of this game for me were not all the HOGs (hidden object games), but the mini games (loved them), taking pictures of the family (YAY) and excitement of the family. The graphics were okay - comic book quality but that's ok with me. Sound was not too bad - had to turn it down anyway because puppy sleeping by the computer. Some of the sound effects were a little too loud (again, sleeping puppy). The hint button (a taxi van) did take a bit to recharge but that was ok by me as well. The honking noise it made when ready was a trifle bit annoying. Unfortunately, I fell asleep during the game so did not get the FULL experience of the demo. But, it's on the daily special sale FOR THE DAY ONLY! So, I have a few hours left to get off the fence I'm on the fence about the purchase. I do recommend this game for beginner - expert. The HOGs are just that much fun and definitely challenging. Happy Gaming!
Date published: 2014-08-11
Rated 4 out of 5 by from good game and kids should like it it isn't so easy that younger kids can easily play it. the items in the HO scenes are sometimes hard to find because they are so well-camouflaged. the hint button takes 1 minute to recharge and that is why some kids will get impatient. there are no mini games, but there are HO scenes within the other HO scenes. it really doesn't take long to play. your family won a trip to "the price is nice" show and this is your adventure in going there and what you do before the show and then playing on the show.
Date published: 2013-01-18
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Chill out in California with a Cool Family I did enjoy this hidden object game. I liked it that the items to be found weren't defying Newton's Law of Gravity. There were a few tricky ones, but the hint button which was in form of a family camper was on hand. I liked that it started grey and then coloured up as the hint was recharging. There were two other things I liked about the h.o.s finding an item that was made up from smaller pieces eg. a dinasour where the body, arms, legs, head and tail were scattered around the Adventure Park. The other was where a magnifying glass showed an area that had to be searched in greater detail. The story line is that Barb the Mum in the story wins a place on a Quiz Show, so they have a holiday there. Stan, Danny and Karen enjoy themselves in the sunshine. They visit the fairs and take a look around the studio of "The Price is Nice". It's a jolly jaunt. The puzzles were on the whole too easy, I had problems with the "Shopping Basket" on the "Price is Nice", but other from that too easy. This is on the whole a nice game for those with a young family who are just starting to play computer games. As the whole experience is relaxing and apart from a dinasour or two, not one scary monster or ghost or skeleton in sight!!
Date published: 2012-11-17
Rated 4 out of 5 by from As others have said - good fun I loved the clean, clear graphics. There were a few semi-difficult things to find but in general, if I took the ime I could find what I wanted. I liked the change of pace while playing - putting several things together to make something, having a section that wasn't totally visable and that contained 3 items, a good assortment of mini-games,. Could it have been more? sure. But it was difficult enough to hold my attention without driving me nuts, it was not dark and full of horror. indeed, it felt like a family vacation! I liked my hour to test it and am glad I bought it!!
Date published: 2012-11-17
Rated 4 out of 5 by from ENJOYABLE FAMILY GAME Like many of the previous reviewers, I also enjoy a game that is light and fun for a change. It's too bad Big Fish doesn't have more lighter games. Too many are dark. I play those as well, but it's fun to play a game with no deaths. I enjoyed going to the various places to find objects and the mini games, although nothing new, were still fun to play. The storyline is also fun!
Date published: 2012-04-09
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Fun but Too Short This is a fun little hidden objects game! For HOG fans who dislike the adventure style or games with too many mini-games, this would be great for you. There is way more HOG scenes than mini-games. The mini-games that are in this game are extremely easy and there is a skip button. Graphics are done well and the colors are vibrant. There are only two issues I have with this game: 1. It was much too easy. I only had to use the hint button to find the areas where I needed to find more items because those areas did not glow the way they should have. (Glitch?) 2. The game is the shortest game I've ever played. I played the free preview hour then paid 9.99 for the full version just to realize that I was already halfway finished before I bought it! It only took me another hour after I purchased it to be done. So I basically spent 9.99 for one hour of gameplay. There was so many more scenes they could have added to this game to extend it or at least make the objects harder to find.....or do both! For such a fun, light-hearted game it's a shame that it was too easy and too short. I would still recommend this game for beginners, kids, or people who can find it on sale at a later time. If you have a coupon code for a free or discounted game, use it for this one. It's definitely not worth the 9.99 or even 6.99 (for members) for only 1 hour of gameplay after you play the 1 hour free preview.
Date published: 2012-11-07
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Refreshingly Fun Hidden Object Game I like this game because it is not the typical horror, darkness, terror hidden object game. It is light and fresh and a game any age can play and enjoy.
Date published: 2011-11-18
Rated 4 out of 5 by from fun hidden object game fun hidden object game with clear graphics
Date published: 2011-11-11
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Short Game It's a cosy straight forward hidden object game with a very long skip recharge on puzzles and long hint recharge on HOS.There's one mini game at the end that has to be solved without a hint or skip button. Nice enough story and the family is quite likeable. I was disappointed that it wasn't longer. I was also hoping that there would be have been better sound effects, instead of just music.
Date published: 2019-09-11
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Enjoyable game I enjoyed playing this game for the most part. The scenes were very clear and objects were easy to find. There wasn't a lot of repetition, as you find in some other games. The characters seemed cute and friendly. The idea of a family going on a trip to California, and then seeing different parts of the state in the scenes, was a good one. But there are many many famous parts of California that weren't even shown. The game was pretty short, so maybe that's why there wasn't room to show more places in the state. I thought there was lots of variety in the game, puzzles to solve that gave players a break from HO scenes. I think this is more a family game, or one mainly for kids. I do recommend it for that group.
Date published: 2015-01-01
Rated 3 out of 5 by from GOOD BEGINNER GAME This game is very short and very easy. Lots of dialog that has to be read. Cartoonish characters. Would be a great game for a new player/child.
Date published: 2014-08-26
Rated 3 out of 5 by from California for Beginners Review based upon completion of the game. This is your very basic HOG. A family of 4 wins a trip to California so mother Barb can go on The Price is Nice. On the way you will find lots of hidden objects, solve some puzzles and click away dialogs. The Good: + colorful and bright + for the whole family + some interaction in HO scenes (one additional hidden area, some FRO pieces) The Neutral: o they could have shown more famous sites instead of a nameless baseball stadium, beach or movie park The Bad: - in general much too easy for the experienced player Bottom Line: This is a great game for either people getting to know the HOG genre or for (grand)parents sitting down with their kids in front of the PC to play a suitable-for-all-ages game. For the experienced player this game might be a tad boring.
Date published: 2013-05-21
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Average. I'm not really in to this game. The way I see it, it's a cheap imitation of Big City Adventure. Good Parts: The graphics were good. A rare highlight of this game. The puzzles were easy and fun. The Hidden Object Scenes were good, especialy since there is a zoom in area to find a set number of objects. The objects are easy to find, with a puzzle icon indicating a necessity to take on the trip. OK Parts: The game in some aspects was fun, but in others it was jus a drag. Bad Parts: Nowhere near as good as Big City adventure, yet with the same concept. Absolutely Pathetic soryline, no voice-overs, all text, very slow. The mother wins a spot on the Price is Nice and takes the whole family on vacation. I was not really in to this game. I much prefer Big City Adventure.
Date published: 2012-07-05
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Entertaining Very relaxing game, and very funny
Date published: 2011-11-16
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Challenging for Kids-too easy for adults A nice game for kids. Safe, no grim story, no blood, no fear. Probably too juvenile for teens and probably too easy for adults-although some hidden objects are teensy weensy. Only played 10 min of demo and then deleted.
Date published: 2012-09-10
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Just ok Game itself was good. Just very short. Seemed like a waste of money was soo short.
Date published: 2013-09-09
Rated 3 out of 5 by from NOT A FUN 'VACATION': TOO MANY HIDDEN OBJECT SCENES I bought this game without even trying the demo because I had recently purchased FAMILY VACATION 2: ROAD TRIP and really enjoyed it. So I was unpleasantly surprised to find Family Vacation: California not resembling the second game at all. This game was chock full of HOS after HOS (which I normally enjoy) but it got tiresome very quickly. I definitely do NOT recommend this game and am only sorry that I wasted my money.
Date published: 2020-03-11
Rated 2 out of 5 by from For HO addicts only Warning: This review is based on the first 20 minutes. The scary games are growing on me but I jumped at the chance to try something different. However I also love adventure, and this game had none of that. It was straight HO after HO with a couple of puzzles in between. Within the first 20 minutes I had already seen the same object twice, and cookie-cutter type objects scattered though out the game are one of my pet peeves. The scenes were realistic, find things to pack, etc, yet they were still borderline junk piles. If you're an HO addict and don't care for the adventure, then I say give it a try.
Date published: 2012-11-16
Rated 2 out of 5 by from Family Vacation: California Mom's going to be appearing as a contestant on The Price Is Nice television show, in California! Time to load up the family and head to the airport as we join this chaotic family on their excursions. This probably would be a great game for younger kids or adults who want to play a family oriented game with their youngsters. This is a Seek and Find game, each scene has several listed items to find, each scene has a zoom in area to find the items listed in blue, and each scene has a puzzle piece which will open up a silhouetted shape find bar, when all items are found it will create a video game, camera etc. After each level is completed, you get to play a Mini Game such as packing different sized luggage into the car, right clicking the items to rotate. You can take a photo of the family during their vacation whenever the character's pose and a camera pops up. These pictures can be viewed anytime in the Album icon, and they can be retaken if you don't like them.
Date published: 2015-06-08
  • y_2020, m_8, d_2, h_15
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_3.0.10
  • cp_2, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_0, tr_42
  • loc_en_US, sid_12441, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=RATING, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=HELPFULNESS, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=FEATURED, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_bigfishgames

The Big Fish Guarantee:

Quality tested and virus free. No ads, no adware, no spyware.

Your Security and Privacy are important to us! Privacy Policy

, share your thoughts about this game!

Family Vacation: California

Help the Simmons Family in Family Vacation: California!

Heres what your review will look like once it’s posted.

Click Submit if you’re happy. Your review should appear soon. To make changes, use the Edit or Cancel buttons.

Thanks for sharing your thoughts about this game!

You’ve already shared your thoughts about this game.

Thanks for submitting the review below.