World Riddles: Secrets of the Ages

World Riddles: Secrets of the Ages

PC

Also available on

Puzzle

Play Now Download the free trial

This game will not work on your operating system.

Are you sure you want to download this game?

Free 1 hour trial

(56.56 MB)

By clicking "Play Now", I accept the Terms of Use and acknowledge that I have received the Privacy Policy. If this is your first time downloading a game from Big Fish, our handy Game Manager app will install on your computer to help manage your games.
Buy Now Get the full version70% OFF!

This game will not work on your operating system.

Are you sure you want to purchase it?

Full version game

$ 9.99 USD

Only $2.99 - use coupon NEW299

Travel through the ages from the time of the Roman gladiators all the way to the Aztec pyramids. Solve riddles and brain teasers in order to collect Civilization Points that can be used to rebuild civilization. Restore all of the civilizations, collect all seven pieces of the Medallion and become the Bearer of the Secrets of the Ages in this exciting Puzzle game!

  • Perplexing gameplay
  • Fantastic fun
  • Recover the Medallion!

New customers get your first game for $2.99!*

70% OFF!

Use Coupon: NEW299

* Collector's Editions and free to play games not included.

Game System Requirements:

  • OS: Windows XP/Vista/8
  • CPU: 1.0 GHz
  • RAM: 1024 MB
  • DirectX: 9.0
  • Hard Drive: 63 MB

Big Fish Games App System Requirements:

  • Browser: Internet Explorer 7 or later
Reviews at a Glance

World Riddles: Secrets of the Ages

0 out of 5 (0 ReviewsReview)
Average Rating:
Play Now Download the free trial

This game will not work on your operating system.

Are you sure you want to download this game?

Free 1 hour trial

(56.56 MB)

Buy Now Get the full version70% OFF!

This game will not work on your operating system.

Are you sure you want to purchase it?

Full version game

$ 9.99 USD

Only $2.99 - use coupon NEW299

Customer Reviews
World Riddles: Secrets of the Ages is rated 3.8 out of 5 by 30.
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Awesome game Very challenging, some glitches have now been worked out, if you are a scientific/logic/mathematical person, you will like this one!
Date published: 2011-12-06
Rated 5 out of 5 by from LOVE IT! Love this game! First got into this type of game from World Mosaics, which is similar, and with the same type of patterns, this has more colors and just plain fun. Love both but this is edging itself out front.
Date published: 2011-12-05
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Totally fun this is totally fun... you can totally get lost in it. only bad is if you try to break cells in a row, somereason, even though you let go of the mouse, it still breaks when i went to different cell.
Date published: 2011-11-20
Rated 5 out of 5 by from A lot of fun and very challenging! This is by far the best of the World Riddle games. It is very challenging and I have spent hours on it and still haveb;t finished it. Grids have been up to 25 x 25..The added challenge for me is trying to finish in the gold category. If you like World Riddle, World Mosaics, or Gemsweeper, you will enjoy this game.
Date published: 2011-11-15
Rated 4 out of 5 by from great puzzler! I found the game to be excellent. It keeps me thinking and I play until my poor brain burns out, and come back for more later! I have just a couple complaints about the game. I did not like the hint system. It is really no different than just taking a guess and risking a mistake, in that the hint only reveals one tile, and the hint tells nothing about the logic you'd use to figure out how that tile should have gone. My other complaint is that some of the puzzles seemed to have no single logical deductions you could use to figure out any more tiles, at which point I had to use "what if" deductions, imagining that a certain tile was either blank or filled, and then trying to finish the puzzle based on that guess (without actually marking the tiles because that would cause mistakes!!) and unfortunately the game gives no way to use "what if" deductions. Basically you'd either have to try and do it all in your head, or write down the puzzle on paper to try and deduce that way. Fortunately I've only encountered a small handful of those puzzles so far, and I'm only currently a third of the way through the game. All in all though, the game is a great value, and I'm very pleased I decided to pick it up!
Date published: 2012-12-16
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Finaly some challenge I've tried a few of these games because i like them on paper ,the only differance was that the paper and pencil puzzles where big in size (30 by40 and bigger) and these where small. This one finaly comes close with bigger grids from the start up to 20 -25 .I don't know how big they get because i'm still playing the one hour demo but the challenge seems to be good in these puzzles. Also i want to correct a previous comment on this game about the empty squares. You don't have to click these anymore if you have completed the puzzle,just click the box in the option menu. And you can let your mouse buttons build and break directly with left and right if you want to, also in the option menu. So if you ever wanted to try one ,this is the one. Have fun
Date published: 2012-02-23
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Cant get enough i love this game and i cant get enough.. playing it..Its to bad they only give you 60 minutes to make up your mine and cut you off when your right in the middle of something good..That makes me so mad,,,To order it is on my list of games to get...
Date published: 2012-01-24
Rated 4 out of 5 by from A game to think and have fun at the same time As all World Riddles, is a very pleasant game for those who like numbers. Would be better if it was not necessary to break the remaining gaps, (as it is in World Mosaics), because sometimes the mouse fails.
Date published: 2012-01-02
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Annoying variation on the controls The game instead of using one mouse button for color in tile and the other for empty tile uses the left mouse key to switch between functions. Sine this is a game where you have to mark all the empties as well as all the full boxes this means that you have to switch a lot and remember the whole left button switch each time. The art is okay, nothing spectacular, but I didn't bother with the whole demo since I found the juggling controls quite distracting.
Date published: 2014-05-26
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Why does it have to be so annoying? On the plus side it has a great variety of puzzles, up and above 25x25 It now incorporates the option of not needed to mark the empty cells. It illuminates, somehow, the row and column you are in. On the minus side. You have to switch tools by hitting on the right button. And then use that tool with the left button. Then use the right button to get badk to the other tool. If you have played games where the left button is one tool, and the right a different tool, it is easy to make mistakes. You have to count cells by yourself, which makes it easier to make mistakes when you get on the larger grid. There are many instances in which you cannot solve by logic but have to use hints. Also they now use colors, to make a pretty picture. Only there are colors that look just like an unchecked cell, and colors that looks like a hole caused by revealing an empty cell. So you make logical decisions that are wronag because tested and untested cells do look so much alike. This last proved to be so annoying that I disinstalled it.
Date published: 2014-05-01
Rated 3 out of 5 by from It's OK, but there are better out there BASED ON COMPLETION OF THE JAPAN Location - The first Picross game I played was "Arizona Rose and the Pirate's Riddles", and I think that might have spoiled me toward similar games. I have tried a number including "World Riddles" and they are not on the same par. This game does offer nice, crisp artwork and graphics, a trot around the world solving riddles and collecting awards. However, the presentation of the riddles and interface are lacking. For example - The tiles are large, the colors bland with no texture, and lots of easy to miss black tiles. The completed designs, at least in the Japan level, were simple without much imagination or interest. I could find no feature that allowed a group of tiles to be selected, then turned all at once, so there was some tedium in being able to only turn one tile at a time - even if there were 10 or 15 at one time. There was also a sea-sick effect created when selecting a tile. Not content to just flip over, each tile twirls a few times before settling down. Several tiles turned in rapid succession result in distraction from all the flapping and flipping. Dimensions are not provided with each grid, so it's up to the gamer to eyeball the count while the clock is ticking. Maybe that is a feature to add difficulty, but I would prefer having the dimensions. In order to retain "gold" status at each level and receive all the prizes and awards, each grid must be completed within "expert" time, no hints, and no errors. The player can replay each level as many times as desired. For beautiful artwork and graphics along with many hours of great game play, "Arizona Rose...." sets the standard. -Check it out and see how it compares. Despite misgivings about the way game play is implemented I do recommend it. Taken in doses, there is enough fun factor and challenge to make it worthwhile.
Date published: 2013-03-15
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Relaxing Nice thinking, but relaxing game. You get a lot of interesting facts about the history of different cultures. Using the mouse to change from one type of cursor to the other wasn't always taking right away - maybe I'm too fast.
Date published: 2012-12-07
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Love this type of game I do love - really love - this sort of game and the World series meets that criteria. Too bad about the all the problems.
Date published: 2011-12-12
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Brain Teasing Puzzle This game is a great time killer, that also requires some brain intensive logic. Great for keeping the faculties sharp. However the sameness of the puzzles and the difficulty in the later levels means you can only play for about 30 minutes at a time before you get either bored or frustrated. I don't know how to describe the game play itself besides saying it's kind of like a twist on minesweeper, except much more fun. The background activity of collecting points to "buy" items to fill up whatever environment you're in is nice enough but fairly pointless. It'd be nicer if each item you bought led to some other type of puzzle or something. Still a good game for when you have a spare 20 minutes to kill and want to tax your brain.
Date published: 2011-11-18
Rated 2 out of 5 by from CUMBERSOME GAME REQUIREMENTS ASSURE FAILURE Each grid in this game requires that all squares be uncovered or deleted before the grid is considered complete. Changing the pointer from uncovering a tile to deleting the tile requires that you either set the game up to allow you to right click or click on the icon in the lower right of the screen to make the change. The time it takes to change the pointer and to take extra care that the pointer is set correctly before touching a tile reduces the speed at which the game can be played. This necessity to change the pointer also makes it very easy to make a mistake. One mistake results in zero points earned for the grid, the same as using a hint or not meeting the "expected" time. These built-in failure factors made me stop playing the demo after a very short time. It doesn't matter how interesting the information is on the various civilizations that are uncovered during game play or any other positive elements that the game may have. I don't like to be set up for failure and I refuse to beat my head against a brick wall when so many other games are waiting for me.
Date published: 2015-12-12
Rated 2 out of 5 by from Did the Developer Beta This? This "could" be an excellent game. It is much more challenging than most Picross games. The factors that make this game virtually unplayable (at least on a laptop): The game's boards start out ok, size-wise. However, as you increase levels, the tiles become too miniscule to see and count. You have an entire screen's worth of real estate, yet the board fills only a fraction of available space. The scenery is the background of the playing field. The colors of the background compete with the tile colors and, frequently, the gray blocked tiles completely MATCH the background. Again, if the tiles were larger then the difference may be somewhat discernible. The easiest fix would be to have the background be one neutral color that does not compete with tile colors. There is no "tile counter". This, coupled with the size problem and the color problem, makes playing more of a chore than fun. I hope the developer reads the comments and accepts constructive criticism, as this truly could be a favorite with Picross players.
Date published: 2015-08-15
Rated 2 out of 5 by from Too Many Colors on Graphs I bought World Riddles 7 Wonders and really enjoy it but unfortunately this one is not fun at all and I didn't even complete the free demo. As you reveal the squares, you'll see that instead of being a uniform color, various blocks are different colors which makes it extremely difficult to figure out where you've left off and sometimes the colors blend into the actual background of the game. This aspect was a deal breaker for me. One last thing: I absolutely hate custom cursors most of the time and this game didn't allow me to change to a regular cursor which was also annoying to me. Unfortunately not a keeper but if you like this type of games then try World Riddles 7 Wonders. It has a nice mix of difficult and easy. I've spent hours playing it so worth the purchase to me.
Date published: 2012-07-08
Rated 2 out of 5 by from Could be much better I like this type of game, but this series has some basic flaws that make gameplay much harder and more frustrating than it has to be. For one thing, the pictures you're creating don't have much relation to the subject you're supposedly studying (in this case, ancient cultures). In fact, you often can't tell what the picture is supposed to represent -- they may even be abstract patterns for all I can tell, and they don't even give you a title. Secondly, the "hints" are almost no help at all; each one lets you click on a specific tile to reveal whether it's part of the picture or not. When the board is 25x25, that's not much help. In short, the World Riddles games are far too frustrating to be much fun. Try the World Mosaic series if you want to see a better way.
Date published: 2012-01-18
Rated 2 out of 5 by from World Riddles: Secrets of the Ages After I achieved the initial riddles to purchase all the items on screen, I thought I would be going onward to the next challenge. In fact, I was on a continuous "solve the riddle" mill. A little variation would be in order.
Date published: 2011-11-22
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Bad graphics I love the first World Riddles: Seven Wonders and I expected Secret of Ages would be more fun. Unfortunately it's not. Too many bright, blinking colors make this game unplayable. If you only improve the graphics (less colors, less blinking) I'd love to buy the game, as it has lots of potential!
Date published: 2011-11-21
  • y_2019, m_6, d_24, h_16
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_2.0.12
  • cp_2, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_0, tr_30
  • loc_en_US, sid_12001, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=RATING, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=HELPFULNESS, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=FEATURED, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_bigfishgames

The Big Fish Guarantee:

Quality tested and virus free. No ads, no adware, no spyware.

Your Security and Privacy are important to us! Privacy Policy

, share your thoughts about this game!

World Riddles: Secrets of the Ages

Travel through time to locate all seven parts of the Medallion!

Heres what your review will look like once it’s posted.

Click Submit if you’re happy. Your review should appear soon. To make changes, use the Edit or Cancel buttons.

Thanks for sharing your thoughts about this game!

You’ve already shared your thoughts about this game.

Thanks for submitting the review below.