Royal Defense

Royal Defense

PC

Also available on

Strategy

Play Now Download the free trial

This game will not work on your operating system.

Are you sure you want to download this game?

Free 1 hour trial

(78.00 MB)

By clicking "Play Now", I accept the Terms of Use and acknowledge that I have received the Privacy Policy. If this is your first time downloading a game from Big Fish, our handy Game Manager app will install on your computer to help manage your games.
Buy Now Get the full version70% OFF!

This game will not work on your operating system.

Are you sure you want to purchase it?

Full version game

$ 9.99 USD

Only $2.99 - use coupon NEW299

The castle needs a hero – hordes of trolls are surrounding it! Build towers, save money, learn spells, and keep the enemy away! Follow the exciting story of the dwarven kingdom's eternal struggle against the troll hordes, who want only to crush the dwarves and claim their territory. To defeat these monstrous hordes, you must construct defensive towers and units and learn to wield powerful spells. Tap anywhere you like for a handy pop-up menu listing all the units and structures that can be built in each location. Tap existing structures to see how you can upgrade your forces with powerful improvements! All your towers and units have specific stats: Damage, Fire rate, Damage radius, Damage type, as well as various other features, such as Enemy Slowdown and Damage Over Time. Each level also brings new units and structures to help you fight the troll menace. You’ll never be lacking for new and exciting ways of decimating those nasty trolls!

  • 40 Levels
  • 12 Tower & Structure Types
  • Extensive Magic System

New customers get your first game for $2.99!*

70% OFF!

Use Coupon: NEW299

* Collector's Editions and free to play games not included.

Game System Requirements:

  • OS: Windows XP/Windows Vista/Windows 7/Windows 8
  • CPU: 600 Mhz
  • RAM: 512 MB
  • DirectX: 9.0
  • Hard Drive: 87 MB

Big Fish Games App System Requirements:

  • Browser: Internet Explorer 7 or later
Reviews at a Glance

Royal Defense

0 out of 5 (0 ReviewsReview)
Average Rating:
Play Now Download the free trial

This game will not work on your operating system.

Are you sure you want to download this game?

Free 1 hour trial

(78.00 MB)

Buy Now Get the full version70% OFF!

This game will not work on your operating system.

Are you sure you want to purchase it?

Full version game

$ 9.99 USD

Only $2.99 - use coupon NEW299

Customer Reviews
Royal Defense is rated 3.7 out of 5 by 64.
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great game with loads of replayability Some people may have had issues with the difficulty. Personally I like a game that takes a bit of time to beat. And beat it I did on every difficulty. There were a few levels that had me stumped for a few attempts but I quickly realised that the shop was there for a reason. All I had to to was try out a few different strategies while collecting gems and eventually I'd hit the combination of correct upgrades and correct in-level tower choices and I'd win through. If you are having trouble I recommend trying different strategies. Try building a lot of cheap towers rather than mixing them or spending the in-level coins to make them stronger. Or try concentrating on one good tower rather than a few weaker ones... whichever tactic you haven't yet tried. The game is a lot of fun and I beat it on the hard difficulty long before I ran out of available upgrades. I intend going back to it in a few days and trying to collect enough gems to upgrade everything fully, just for the fun of it.
Date published: 2013-03-01
Rated 5 out of 5 by from I had no probems on my pc It was a lot more fun than the last tower game we were offered. I also have a new pc with windows8. Santa was good to me. The game has different levels....hard...med or easy. I started on easy... it looks like there will be lots to do. I played the demo....had no problems....so I bought it and have played for 2 hours or so and still no problems. Good luck all !!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
Date published: 2013-01-29
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Very Addicting It's hard for me to find a game to spend days with. Royal Defense is such a kind of game. I've been playing for more than one month. I guess I'm gonna finish soon, unfortunately before Royal Defense 2 released...
Date published: 2013-04-10
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Awesome! Love this game! It takes some time to build up your defenses, a well thought out game.
Date published: 2013-02-13
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Loved this TD game More of these please! I have played the demo and purchased the game. I do not understand some of the poor reviews. I am a bit of a TD fanatic, so maybe it was easier for me to understand what to do. I do not think that this game is too hard. I do think it could have had a better tutorial for absolute beginners. Other than that I am really enjoying the game. This is the best TD game on bigfish so far! Sound and graphics are what you would expect, game play is smooth and clean, levels work up slowly enough. I can't find anything bad to say about it! If you like TD games at all, give it a try, I am sure you will like it!
Date published: 2013-01-30
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Challenging Yet Not Impossible This one has some unique strategy that takes time to figure out on some levels. Can be difficult but far from impossible.
Date published: 2013-03-08
Rated 5 out of 5 by from More defense games, please... This is a great castle defense game, I do hope see to more at BF. Just challenging enough to enjoyable.
Date published: 2013-03-01
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Actually requires some thought to complete This is a good strategy game that requires some thought to complete. Difficult to get three stars on some of the later levels but all the more interesting for that
Date published: 2013-02-02
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Glad i didn't listen to all the neg feed back! I thought the game was fun. If you like strategy games then this is a good one. Keep you thinking because you really have to watch how things move to see where to put the cannons n stuff. Enjoyed it!
Date published: 2013-02-01
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Excellent Game and Quality Very fun and well built tower defense game. Nice graphics and great sound/music. Nice to see a game that isn't another dark fantasy hidden object game.
Date published: 2013-01-30
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Good Tower Game I had no problems loading and playing this game...loved it! If you like tower games I think you will like this one.
Date published: 2013-01-29
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Super !!! Is the best !Fantastico ! Suuuper
Date published: 2013-01-31
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Worked well when I installed it. Not crazy on defend the castle games, but I enjoyed the demo
Date published: 2013-01-29
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great game! Kingdom Rush style! Tricky levels, challenging gameplay! Nice graphics+
Date published: 2013-01-28
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Tower Defense game! This is my absolute fav tower defense game. It's challenging and you can go back and replay the levels to get more gems so you can increase the abilities of your spells, guns etc. Of the games in this series all created by the same company this is by far the best.
Date published: 2014-03-16
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Weapons and spells - Buy and use the right ones to win After reading the reviews, I knew that I was going to have to play the easy level until I earned the better weapons and spells. What I really enjoy about this game is figuring out how to use them in the right combinations to win the gold. You only get gold if the bad guys don't make it to the castle.
Date published: 2013-03-08
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Super hard and I like it I appreciate a game that sets the standards high for difficulty. I can barely play Easy, which means that I have a lot to look forward to as I start to get better. Usually, games like this are fun but a little to easy to beat once you get the hang of it. Unfortunately, as there are more and more enemies, the game starts to freeze up. Also, the sheer number of forces can sometimes block my ability to see where I need to click to upgrade defenses. Finally, I feel like the developers could have made it a little bit easier to collect crystals (good place to add a sound cue), which seem to disappear just as you are about to click on them.
Date published: 2013-02-14
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Tough But Fun Tower Defense Game I'm generally loathe to review something that I haven't finished playing, but at the rate I'm going I'll be three weeks dead before I finish this game! It's hard and a bit frustrating but I still really like the game. There are three levels to the game, and "easy" is very hard! I can't imagine even trying the medium level. As with all tower building games, there are different towers that do different kinds of damage. As you go up in levels, upgrades become available to the towers, as well as new towers. There are various spells that do different kinds of damage and renew after a set period of time. There is also a "gold mine" to help you get gold, and with upgrades can even help more. As the levels progress the monsters get tougher. Heck, not just tougher, they also start getting resistant to various spells or tower upgrades. As another reviewer mentioned, you will wind up going back over previously played levels to gather enough gems to buy further upgrades -- how fast a spell regenerates, how much damage a spell or tower does, how much they cost, how much or fast a mine generates, and more. But as you go back over previously played levels you get to keep the upgrades you've made since, making the level easier and usually even more enjoyable. It's slow going and there's a lot of replaying levels, but the challenge remains and it's still a lot of fun. My biggest complaint --one that keeps it from being a five star review-- is that you are given information about changes only when they're made available. In the middle of a level and cannot remember which upgrade does what? You'll have to guess, as there's no in-game guide to what's what. That's kind of annoying. Otherwise, if you like tower defense games, you'll like this one.
Date published: 2013-02-11
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Love it... but it is challenging the title says it all!! Totally worth the money, but if you aren't on at least an intermediate strategy game level... it's likely to get very hard very fast
Date published: 2013-02-06
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Very good but flawed I was stuck on the first level of this game for 5 or 10 minutes so I initially did not like it at all. After playing a bit more and advancing a few levels I can say that this is a pretty solid tower defense game but it has a flaw that may make it frustrating for the average gamer. There seems to be a problem with the pacing and it can sometimes be impossible to avoid taking damage at certain intervals in the turn cycle when the enemies come at you. This does not mean you are guaranteed to lose, but it can make the game considerably more difficult than it needs to be and adds pointless frustration from the repetition that is involved with this issue. Besides that, the graphics and theme are very nice, although the use of futuristic looking "cannons" against mythological creatures is a bit humorously odd. The music is nothing special and the sounds are decent. If you can see past the pacing issue I'd say this is a great tower defense game. Recommended.
Date published: 2013-02-05
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Tough Tower Game! Protect your castle from hoards of invading green dudes by strategically placing artillery and invoking spells. The premise makes this is a fairly straight forward tower defense game. What is unusual about this game is how quickly it becomes difficult; in fact VERY difficult after about the 5th or 6th level on easy mode. After that I lost each round several times before I was able to move on. However, each spanking forced me to employ very different strategies in positioning my defenses. Once I realized what the developer(s) were aiming for in this game, the goal became a little more clear. Placing the first two defenses to maximize exposure to invaders is key. Balancing the addition of new defenses and upgrading of existing defenses is the next most critical task, and this must be done as soon as funds are available even while in the thick of battle. Very tricky. Before I played the demo I read the reviews, and I was prepared not to like this game. However, I found the challenge engaging. Indeed, the graphics are simple and a little small, but I don't think this takes away from the game. The music is OK. The story line is basic. Tutorials are a little sparse, but then again, the premise is straight forward. Although not the beautifully designed game that most people are playing today, I did like it, and I recommend it.
Date published: 2013-02-01
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Not bad at all! Kept me entertained! would recommend !
Date published: 2013-02-01
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Good game. Very good tower defense game. A bit too hard on certain levels but feasable. All in all , a game i recommend.
Date published: 2013-01-31
Rated 4 out of 5 by from A very fun TD game! I have been playing this game for a few days now and I really enjoy it! I am only playing on the easy setting and I am having a hard time completing the levels with all my hearts. It's challenging, and there are some pretty cool towers/upgrades. If you are a TD fan, I would recommend giving it a shot!
Date published: 2013-01-30
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Wicked hard! Wicked hard - & I was playing on Easy! There are 3 levels - easy, normal, & what I would call insane based on what the easy levels are like. I've played 5 levels on the easy & managed to get 3 stars on 1 of them - as I said, wicked hard! There is a lot more strategy here than in a lot of the other tower defense games that I've played. If you don't put your towers in the correct positions - not generally at the start of the trail - there isn't any way to save the people in the castle. I feel lucky to have any people left! In addition to placing towers, you also have access to spells that regenerate the longer you play. I'm not sure whether it's just a time thing or a combination of items. There is one level where you start out with no money to build towers - if you don't use the spells, there isn't any way to survive. Another different feature is collecting gems. Get enough gems & you can buy extra spaces on the playing field. Save your gems & you can apply them to things like lowering the cost of the towers, increasing the damage, increating the range, etc. Since you always need money to build towers, there is also an option to use spaces on the board for gold mines! While you do have to give up a shooting position, that extra gold can come in VERY handy! As with any tower defense game, there really isn't a story line. Place your towers - try to stop the bad guys from destroying your home base - that's pretty much it. The only complaint I have is that I really feel the graphics are sub-par based on recent games. However, that doesn't stop the game from being well executed & an interesting version of tower defense. Since I love tower defense games, this will be a buy.
Date published: 2013-01-29
Rated 4 out of 5 by from This is one of the Hardest TM Games I've played many tower defense games--but this is one of the hardest I've ever encountered. In addition to time management, you have to use ingenuity and strategy--but it can be hard to figure out a plan.
Date published: 2013-02-10
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Royal defense review and tips Am average computer game person. Agree with others that the levels seem misnamed sometimes - easy often hard, but have got 3 stars on all 20 of each of easy/normal/hard of the green game and all 20 of the easy section of the snow games so far. Trick is to find an easy level and do it over and over to build up jewels to buy weapons etc to max. If no money on start-up screen, freeze trolls at a crossover point and wipe out with meteor shower, swamp, & earthquake to get startup funds. Game can't be judged in a 1 hour trial.
Date published: 2013-04-13
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Great game if you like the tower type of games. I love this type of game where you have to figure out where to place your weapons/towers in order to defeat enemies. It's actually quite challenging and I haven't gone through all of the levels yet! Buy it!!!
Date published: 2013-01-29
Rated 4 out of 5 by from works fine ; great tower game I had no problem with the trial version. Cool game with good challenge. Easy to understand with a little something that peaked my curiosity enough to buy this game
Date published: 2013-01-29
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Lots of Fun! This is a lot of fun - reminds me of Toy Defense. My ONLY criticism is that the tutorial really does not explain very much, except the very basics. The "enemies" are cute, the action is fast. There are 3 levels of play. HINT: Remember to click to start the round early to get more gold!
Date published: 2013-01-28
  • y_2022, m_7, d_5, h_21
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_3.0.32
  • cp_2, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_0, tr_64
  • loc_en_US, sid_17212, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=RATING, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=HELPFULNESS, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=FEATURED, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_bigfishgames

The Big Fish Guarantee:

Quality tested and virus free. No ads, no adware, no spyware.

Your Security and Privacy are important to us! Privacy Policy

, share your thoughts about this game!

Royal Defense

The castle needs a hero – protect the castle from hordes of trolls! Build towers, save money, learn spells and keep the enemy away!

Heres what your review will look like once it’s posted.

Click Submit if you’re happy. Your review should appear soon. To make changes, use the Edit or Cancel buttons.

Thanks for sharing your thoughts about this game!

You’ve already shared your thoughts about this game.

Thanks for submitting the review below.