Lake House: Children of Silence

Lake House: Children of Silence

PC

Also available on

Hidden Object

Play Now Download the free trial

This game will not work on your operating system.

Are you sure you want to download this game?

Free sample version

(314.03 MB)

By clicking "Play Now", I accept the Terms of Use and acknowledge that I have received the Privacy Policy. If this is your first time downloading a game from Big Fish, our handy Game Manager app will install on your computer to help manage your games.
Buy Now Get the full version70% OFF!

This game will not work on your operating system.

Are you sure you want to purchase it?

Full version game

$ 9.99 USD

Only $2.99 - use coupon NEW299

Long-forgotten memories bubble to the surface when the past invades the present in The Lake House: Children of Silence! Located at the edge of a gloomy lake and shrouded in fog, the house at the center of this story has stood empty for 15 years. Beckoned by what appears to be a ghost, a woman who lived there as a child returns to the house to solve a mystery that begins with an old photograph and ends in a secret room. Find hidden objects, solve puzzles and prepare yourself for an ending that will take you to a place darker than you can imagine!

  • Over a dozen hidden object scenes
  • Film projector with eight story clips
  • Casual and Expert modes
  • For a more in depth experience, check out the Collector's Edition

New customers get your first game for $2.99!*

70% OFF!

Use Coupon: NEW299

* Collector's Editions and free to play games not included.

Game System Requirements:

  • OS: Windows XP/Windows Vista/Windows 7/Windows 8
  • CPU: 1.8 GHz
  • RAM: 512 MB
  • DirectX: 9.0
  • Hard Drive: 879 MB

Big Fish Games App System Requirements:

  • Browser: Internet Explorer 7 or later
Reviews at a Glance

Lake House: Children of Silence

0 out of 5 (0 ReviewsReview)
Average Rating:
Play Now Download the free trial

This game will not work on your operating system.

Are you sure you want to download this game?

Free sample version

(314.03 MB)

Buy Now Get the full version70% OFF!

This game will not work on your operating system.

Are you sure you want to purchase it?

Full version game

$ 9.99 USD

Only $2.99 - use coupon NEW299

Customer Reviews
Lake House: Children of Silence is rated 4.4 out of 5 by 90.
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Must Have Game Very nice length of a game. Many locations that continue to connect together. The map that you get will tell you when you have completed an area. Wished I had realized that early on! Dumb me :). Yet, I enjoyed going back and forth figuring out the next move. Love the movie clips that pulled you along through the story. Really liked that the hidden objects usually gave you more than one item that you would need. Hope there is a sequel.
Date published: 2014-01-27
Rated 5 out of 5 by from One of the Best Games on BFG!!! Good length, compelling story line that draws gamer to investigate further. Puzzles and Hidden Objects creative and fun. More great games like this and less of the razzle dazzle for me, please! Wouldn't mind BFG throwing in more large files / true adventures. Great deal on this game today as a DD and also to use a game credit. However, I would always recommend the Collector's Edition for the really great games like this! Enjoy! -Mama Mia-
Date published: 2014-01-25
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Hooked From The Get Go - Loved It - Review Of Completed Game Story: You take on the role Ann who believes her younger brother Tommy, who has been missing for 15 years, is trying to contact her. She returns to her childhood Lake House with her childhood sweetheart Henry to try and find him. 14 Chapters 2 Play Modes: Casual: Takes 30 seconds for hint/skip. Areas of interest do sparkle along with black bar tips. Expert 2 minutes for hint/skip. I played Expert mode. No sparkles however black bar tips up at the top. Hint is also helpful outside of HOS (hidden object scenes). Journal/Task button/Map:The map is not transporter however does show where you are and where there is things to do. Also if you hover your mouse over the map it will also show the name of the locations. There is voice overs. There is also widescreen at least for me as it filled my 20 inch monitor just fine. I also play all my games on PC running on Windows 7 64-bit and no tech issues here. 18 HOS scenes some interaction and 15 puzzles. Please note that my count here might be off but I do my best here as some people do like to have this info just from reading the forum. My overall impression: Well I was hooked to this right from the get go and I didn't stop playing this game until I got to the end. The story is very well told while yes it's pretty much been done before. The graphics, cut scenes, and voice overs I found to be just perfect. I also really enjoyed watching the films. Very atmospheric and definitely eerie especially when the characters would "pop up" as it startled me a few times. The HOS I'll have to agree a bit on the Sanford & Son junkyard pile side however located most pretty easily but did have to use a few hints here. The puzzles to my surprise I enjoyed these as usually I'm not too big of a fan of these. I did them all put 2 and only because I couldn't find a reset to start over on a couple when I didn't start them off just right I guess. As for the ending I do feel like I purchased a completed game here with the SE version as this wrapped up quite nice for me. You may or may not agree. Having said this: It seems the developer tried to make it suspenseful which may or may not be told in the bonus chapter of the CE version. I haven't played the CE so I can't say but the game for me is just fine without it. Game length: Took me exactly 5 hours. May be more/less for you. Overall, this is getting 5 stars from me as I enjoyed every bit of the 5 hours I played this game. Lots to do and places to go while yes you will visit the same locations more than once. Thank You Big Fish and Developer for a great game here. As always, definitely give it a whirl and decide for yourself.
Date published: 2013-02-03
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Would rate this one a six!!! Great story: a man helps his fiancee delve into the past and finds some astonishing truths. Excellent speaking characters HOS, interactive and clear Seek and find Good puzzles, medium skip Very enjoyable game. Could hardly stop playing it. Good length: almost 5 hours casual
Date published: 2013-01-30
Rated 5 out of 5 by from This is a really really nice game! Nothing earth shattering or wildly innovative .. just a good solid game, with an intriguing plot, great graphics, not-too-hard puzzles, and a nice flow to it. Decent length too. I don't play many games twice just for the sheer pleasure of it .. but this one I did!
Date published: 2013-01-25
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Well Done! This is one of the best SE offerings there has been in a while. I felt the element of urgency when playing the demo, which I played to the end of the hour. Hard to get that in some of the games I've played recently. I need to know what happened to the boy and Ann! It feels very tragic! The music is very fitting; soft and almost sad. The graphics are clear enough to find hidden objects which is a bonus. Nothing dark and dreary yet. The voice overs were fine. I'm very happy they didn't make the lips move. That drives me nuts, especially since they don't usually look like a mouth that is really speaking. I didn't use the map since everything seemed fairly obvious and no too much back and forth. The hint does recharge very quickly. I definitely like the pace of the game. This is a definite "yes" for me. I don't usually give 5 stars, so that's saying a lot!
Date published: 2013-01-23
Rated 5 out of 5 by from FIVE STARS ALL THE WAY!!! This developer can be hit and miss with the quality of their games, but Children of Silence is the best of their endeavors, in my opinion. The suspenseful story kept me totally immersed in the game. Dialogue was well written and voiceovers were perfect. The characters were totally believable and really sucked me into the feel of the game. I'm not fond of tons of interactive hidden object scenes, but I was willing to put up with them in order to keep moving forward with this totally addictive story. Puzzles were unique -- some were easy, some were really difficult. But, the Hint and Skip buttons, when playing in Casual Mode, recharged super fast. You could also hit the Hint button if you weren't sure what to do next. The length of this game makes you feel you really got your money's worth. The ending is tied up beautifully, and leaves room for a sequel, which I hope will be just as spectacular as this offering. I highly recommend this one!!
Date published: 2013-01-26
Rated 5 out of 5 by from just a really good game to play This is a good game to play. The music goes along with the game. The graphics are good and has voice over. Great story line. The game is not hard to play but if worth playing because it is good. Nothing to find in collectables. The HOS are different and a nice change of just finding HO, these are interactive. The puzzles are good. Nothing hard here just a good game. Wish these games would come out on MAC.
Date published: 2013-06-27
Rated 5 out of 5 by from This game deserves 6 stars! I love this game! The story begins with a woman named Ann who believes her younger brother Tommy, who has been missing for 15 years, is trying to contact her. She returns to her childhood Lake House with her childhood sweetheart to find her brother. With lots of adventure and tons of actions to do you to will find yourself totally engrossed in the game. The graphics are very well done and the characters voices well done, throw in some creepy music, and a masked man that kidnapps Ann. and and you've got yourself an adventure! You will recieve a map that tells you where actions are necessary but doesn't allow you to travel. The hidden object scenes are well done and they are interactive such as opening a chest to find an object inside. You will want to buy this game!
Date published: 2013-01-23
Rated 5 out of 5 by from ALL GROWN UP AND DRAWN BACK TO CHILDHOOD SUMMARY: Took 3 ¾ hours to play this somewhat spooky adventure-HOG. Hand-drawn artwork lends itself perfectly with the moody and mysterious atmosphere. Plenty of HOS with cleverly-drawn objects and a wide variety of puzzles. If you have the CE, the bonus chapters are about ¼ of the length of the main game. Very well-thought out and put together game. Surprising ending. DETAILS: • Gripping story holds your interest to the end. • Watch portions of the characters’ childhood through film reels found throughout the game. • Incredible animation at times, when completely unexpected. • Good ratio of HOS to puzzles. Fun puzzles sometimes have a little adventure attached to them for added interest. HOS are crowded but you can find everything – note that occasionally an object will be at the very edge of the screen. They seemed to get more crowded the deeper into the game you went. Some imaginative puzzles are more challenging, but they are small enough to be solvable (ex: you need to place objects in the pathway of only 3 steeplechasers so that all finish at the same time). • Very helpful and very fast-recharging hint system in casual mode. • Map – didn’t seem to be interactive, so I only used it once near the end when I forgot where some place was. It’s not really needed as there are a limited number of environments to explore at any one time.
Date published: 2013-11-13
Rated 5 out of 5 by from a real gem How in the sam-hill of beans did I miss this one when it came out as a CE? It is now my gold standard for comparison of HO games. The old one was Ravenhearst. Within minutes I beame so enthralled in the game, that it was like a slap in the face when my hour was up. The hint button is ready in seconds, some thing I didn't really like. Sounds strange, I know, but some days I get lazy and just let the hint button tell me where to go. I try to play M3 on those days. All that being said, I'm not buying this game...I have the CE version downloading as I write this. Oh, it's done...gatta go.
Date published: 2013-01-23
Rated 5 out of 5 by from excellent game This game was quite good. It flowed really well and i liked the minigames and HO scenes. It had a great story. Music and scenes were quite nice.
Date published: 2013-01-24
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great game I have to admit that the first few minutes of the game, left me wondering if this would be just a so so game. Boy was I wrong. The graphics were very well done, and the music, which I usually turn off on most games was so well done, and added to the atmosphere of the setting. The hidden objects were not too difficult to find, with a few interactive aspects which was not overdone. The mini games and puzzles were not challenging, but fun. The hint button recharged quickly and helped with direction outside of the hidden objects. There is a map and journal which are helpful, but found I didn't need to use either much. The storyline is magnificent. the story unfolds with a ghostly figure of a boy, and little snips of film clips that were so well done. I found myself glued to this game with all the twists and turns, It's a real whodunit right to the end. I give this game a two thumbs up! The length was good and the characters believable. Loved it!
Date published: 2013-01-29
Rated 5 out of 5 by from WOW! A non stop playing game! This game was fantastic from start to finish. I couldn't stop playing it, had to keep going back for more until I'd finished it! The reviews were positive so I bought it and as I've said couldn't stop playing it.The grafix are good and the music and sound are all in keeping with the game. The only slight niggle I had was I would have loved more HOS but you can't have it all. The game was a good length of play too. I would really recommend this game.
Date published: 2013-01-24
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Engrossing Storyline I really enjoyed this game! At first, it seemed a little ho-hum but as the story progressed, I found myself anxious for the next piece of the puzzle, and so hoping for a good outcome! While there is a little too much back and forth, it helped alot that there was a map that let you know what areas has something next for you to do. This game had a good playing length for me - lots of places to go and some interesting things to do. Most of the puzzles were fairly simple, even more so for anyone who has played several of these types of game before, but I play these games to relax, not get stressed out because I can't figure out a puzzle.
Date published: 2013-05-26
Rated 5 out of 5 by from 1st Big Fish game that I couldn't stop playing!!! I've tried many big fish games and this one was the first that I could not stop playing, I literally was nodding my head falling asleep as it was getting late at night! The story line kept was intriguing and I kept wanting to get to the next filmstrip to find out more of what had happened to Ann's brother. The puzzles were also different than most games I've played for the last three months and I liked how there were many rooms and areas to explore. I played on casual mode and as a beginner, it was nice to accomplish figuring out some of the puzzles without hints, yet challenging enough that I gave up on some and just wanted to skip just to see what was going to happen next. Fun Fun Fun!
Date published: 2013-04-02
Rated 5 out of 5 by from W.O.W.!! I would give 10 stars if I could. I have never submitted a review on any game I have played, as I believe each person has their own opinion and likes and dislikes within this genre. However, after completing the SE version of The Lake House, I felt compelled to write to say this is in the top 3 of my all time favorites!!!. And, I have played many, many HOAG's.Very well done, with very compelling storyline, nice however, thankfully spread thin HO scenes. I enjoyed every minute of the 6.5 hours it took to complete this wonderful game!
Date published: 2013-03-22
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Enthralling - Exciting Just finished my first time playing the game and just had a ball. This game is a lot of back and forth so thank goodness for the hint button as it points you in the right direction - and I admit I used it more than once. This game holds your attention throughout the game and you really have to think about where to go and what to do. It is a busy game and lots to do in it but well worth it. Well drawn, sound good. I will play this game often. Hope you enjoy it as much as I will.
Date published: 2013-03-11
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Encore! More of these As an acquired free game, I'm glad I picked this one because I truly enjoyed playing it. The voiceovers were nicely done, the graphics were more than adequate,and there was a crescendo where needed and calmer during the HO scenes. Although there were plenty of HOS, they were not excessively time-consuming, but provided the very items necessary to help get from one obstacle to another. (By the way, there is a penalty for clicking too fast#. It seemed that the characters in the story were at the onset a bit confusing, but as the storyline progresses, it all begins to make sense. There were enough puzzles to keep you busy, but they were fun rather than frustrating, and the purposes for the items make sense. There were only two things that confused me, #but that just gives me a reason to go back and play the game again): the conncection between the characters' families and the significance of the 'mask'?? Nevertheless, the ending is obviously left open for yet another adventure, or perhaps there is more clarity in the CE version. BF gamers: this is definitely a game to add to your BF collection. I absolutely recommend it!
Date published: 2013-01-27
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Buy this! You will not be disappointed if you buy this game. Top marks on everything, from graphics to storyline. You have a helpful map, journal and tasks list. The different areas you go to are fantastic and keep it interesting. Best game I have played in a long time!! Don't miss out on this one.
Date published: 2013-01-27
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Loved it!! Story line sucked me in, game play was good. Puzzles I felt were probably a bit too easy but it was still fun overall. HO scenes were nice. Graphics were true to the feel of the game.
Date published: 2013-01-29
Rated 5 out of 5 by from I Really Enjoyed This Game! I couldn't stop playing this one! I found the story to be engaging. I couldn't stop playing because I wanted to find out just what was going on! I loved it. I have seen better graphics and more complicated puzzles, but for me the story and characters were worth it! I would like to see more games like this!
Date published: 2013-01-29
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great game! I really enjoyed this game, the graphics, challenge, and storyline were all very good! I only had one issue, and that's that the game randomly flickers at times. Otherwise, a great purchase!
Date published: 2013-01-28
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Just plain old Fun!! It was a great story line. The game lasted a while which was great! The visual/sound was fantastic. It has a few HO but not filled up with them. You collect items and have to use them in the correct places to move forward in the game. This was a treat. We need more like these! I get tired of so many HO. Not the case with this one. Great!
Date published: 2013-01-26
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Loved It! I got the free trial and played until it ran out. Very suspenseful! The hidden object minigames were challenging and the characters looked very realistic.
Date published: 2013-01-27
Rated 5 out of 5 by from THEY DON'T MAKE THEM LIKE THEY USED TOO!! Somehow I missed purchasing this game when it came out in 2013. It was sold as a daily game recently so I bought it and am so glad I did. They just don't make them like this anymore. It was suspenseful, and challenging. I love the old abandoned house games, and this one didn't disappoint me. I knew as soon as I started playing I was going to enjoy the game. If you didn't grab this one up when it originally came out and miss the old style games, then definitely give this one a try. I don't think you will be disappointed. Happy gaming!!
Date published: 2021-06-01
Rated 5 out of 5 by from This game was refreshing! This game was pretty good. I only got to play the free trial though. :)
Date published: 2014-09-07
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Loved it One of the best games I have ever played! Got it for $2.99 sale of the week, but it would of been worth full price. Interesting story line....long playing....just the right amount of hidden object scenes. This is my first review,just had to because it was so much fun to play.
Date published: 2014-08-19
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Beautiful game! I loved this game! The story is very well known, but it's been told really good here, it's really engrossing. Great VO's, beautiful graphics and good music make it into a fantastic game! Lots to do and nice and good HOS and puzzles. I played about 6 hours and a great time. Try it and enjoy, I'm sure you'll like it!!
Date published: 2013-10-12
Rated 5 out of 5 by from One of the best Storylines ever! At first, I thought the art was a bit awkward but the story and the game quality is excellent. The art is mostly great but here and there, it get's a bit iffy. By the middle of the game, everything is so good that a little inconsistency didn't matter anymore. I thought this was very interesting and longer than most.
Date published: 2013-10-08
  • y_2022, m_1, d_22, h_20
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_3.0.20
  • cp_2, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_0, tr_90
  • loc_en_US, sid_17157, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=RATING, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=HELPFULNESS, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=FEATURED, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_bigfishgames

The Big Fish Guarantee:

Quality tested and virus free. No ads, no adware, no spyware.

Your Security and Privacy are important to us! Privacy Policy

, share your thoughts about this game!

Lake House: Children of Silence

Dark things bubble to the surface when the past invades the present!

Heres what your review will look like once it’s posted.

Click Submit if you’re happy. Your review should appear soon. To make changes, use the Edit or Cancel buttons.

Thanks for sharing your thoughts about this game!

You’ve already shared your thoughts about this game.

Thanks for submitting the review below.