Dark Canvas: A Brush With Death Collector's Edition

Dark Canvas: A Brush With Death Collector's Edition

PC

Also available on

Hidden Object

Play Now Download the free trial

This game will not work on your operating system.

Are you sure you want to download this game?

Free sample version

(225.18 MB)

By clicking "Play Now", I accept the Terms of Use and acknowledge that I have received the Privacy Policy. If this is your first time downloading a game from Big Fish, our handy Game Manager app will install on your computer to help manage your games.
Buy Now Get the full version

This game will not work on your operating system.

Are you sure you want to purchase it?

Full version game

$ 19.99 USD

$ 13.99 USD or 2 credits

Uncover the mystery behind an artist’s deadly talent in Dark Canvas: A Brush With Death! Your daughter, Angie, was traveling through Europe when she vanished without a trace. Her last letter urged you to come to a remote island town in Italy, where she had stumbled upon a dark secret. When you arrive, you learn that there has been a series of tragic deaths in town, accompanied by sightings of a legendary spirit called the Silhouette. With no way of knowing who would be next, citizens turned to Virgil, a local artist who could famously predict the future through his paintings. Now you must seek out Virgil and his mysterious paintings before you and your daughter become the next victims of his deadly predictions!

This is a special Collector's Edition release full of exclusive extras you won’t find in the standard version. As a bonus, Collector's Edition purchases count toward three stamps on your Monthly Game Club Punch Card!

The Collector’s Edition includes:

  • A bonus story
  • Gorgeous art and screensavers
  • Downloadable music tracks
  • Integrated Strategy Guide

Game System Requirements:

  • OS: Windows XP/Windows Vista/Windows 7/Windows 8
  • CPU: 1.0 GHz
  • RAM: 1024 MB
  • DirectX: 9.0
  • Hard Drive: 989 MB

Big Fish Games App System Requirements:

  • Browser: Internet Explorer 7 or later
Reviews at a Glance

Dark Canvas: A Brush With Death Collector's Edition

0 out of 5 (0 ReviewsReview)
Average Rating:
Play Now Download the free trial

This game will not work on your operating system.

Are you sure you want to download this game?

Free sample version

(225.18 MB)

Buy Now Get the full version

This game will not work on your operating system.

Are you sure you want to purchase it?

Full version game

$ 19.99 USD

$ 13.99 USD or 2 credits

Customer Reviews
Dark Canvas: A Brush With Death Collector's Edition is rated 3.8 out of 5 by 53.
Rated 5 out of 5 by from A difficult hidden object game This is a hidden object game. I had to use the hint button to find out what to do next. I liked the graphics. The game has to do with paintings. I would recommend this game.
Date published: 2013-01-18
Rated 5 out of 5 by from AWESOME! Amazing game and I am very difficult to please............
Date published: 2013-04-29
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Good Game This game is good, but not great. You play as a mother in search of her daughter. The daughter has gone missing while on holiday in Italy. The graphics are excellent, the cut scenes are good (and you can click through the dialogue), the HOS are very challenging, the mini games are good (but nothing new). The diary is helpful and the story unfolds as you find sketches you daughter left behind. The built-in SG is helpful. The hint button recharges quickly, but you won't need it often. The conclusion of the main game is somewhat abrupt and unsatisfying. The bonus chapter augments the main story, but has an abrupt and unsatisfying ending. It seemed designed to set up a sequel. There are achievements to find during both the main game and bonus chapters, but they where not well-defined. I was usually surprised when I earned an achievement. As part of the bonus content, you can replay the HOS and mini games, there is music, concept art and wallpaper. The music is annoying and I muted it after a few minutes. The game was fun to play, but you have to be prepared for the disappointing end.
Date published: 2013-07-27
Rated 4 out of 5 by from bright and fun Wow loved the atmosphere in this one. Bright, colorful and beautifully drawn. Very refreshing after sooo many run down drab games. Great and fun storyline.. the sillouette that kills townfolk and the artist who's paintings predict it. I must say the ending was quite predictable but somehow that didn't take away from the fun. Interactive HO scenes where you must find an item and then use it to locate another. The game was a little hand holdy telling you exactly what each inventory object was so you didnt have to figure it out for yourself but this game was very entertaining none the less. Decent length with some achievements that open both the HO scenes and the mini games for play after completion. This one was really bright and enjoyable and I would buy the sequel in a flash.
Date published: 2013-01-25
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Good Adventure Game Liked the game, it was fun game. The visuals weren't beautiful, but they weren't horrible. The story-line was, although tried and true, still with enough twist to keep it from being a bore. The extra play was enough to make the CE worth the extra $$. I would recommend for those who enjoy adventure games.
Date published: 2013-01-19
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Nice Game, But Short, Short, Short!!! First off, I did enjoy the game, particularly the graphics. The 'scenery' was great - particularly standing looking out over the bay as it reminded me of a holiday once with a similar view. Voiceovers were a lot better than some other games I've come across. Hidden Object Scenes were good, and alternated between simple lists #with the odd 'interactive' item, like open the drawer, pour this etc.# and the newer style of finding one item, then using it to get another. It kept things fresh, and you don't come across so many of them that you get fed up. Puzzles were, for me anyway, relatively straightforward, but that's OK. I don't like MENSA-type challenges, and these required just a little thought before making your moves. I enjoyed the vast majority of them. Despite this general positivity, however, I'm very disappointed at how short this game was. It took me between 3-and-a-half to 4 hours to finish the main game, and that was despite deliberately slowing myself down as much as possible to enjoy the scenery, not skipping any puzzles etc. For a game that cost me £10.80, I do feel a bit short-changed . Off now to play the bonus chapter - but I don't think it's likely to be super-long either...... I recommend this game because it *is* enjoyable, but unless you really want the bonus chapter/wallpapers/chance to replay the HOGs & puzzles, you may be better waiting for the SE.
Date published: 2013-01-19
Rated 4 out of 5 by from A Scooby-doo type mystery - no supernatural creatures This is an easy going tongue-in-cheek adventure with a few VERY interactive hidden object scenes (HOS). The HOS are top notch and not too easy - always resulting in a useful item. Further, the HOS are always updated to show changes you made if you had to revisit the HOS. Alot of nice attention to detail. The puzzles are interesting. There is no map because there aren't alot of separate areas to explore that you can't figure out where they all are. Good voices throughout. My only gripe is that after a certain scene involving a fall from a church tower, all the previous scene locations are closed going forward. I like to visit scenes even if there is nothing left to do. I'm pretty sure I'm in the minority in this, though. The bonus game was fun and had more HOS frequency than the main game. The bonus game hinted at a sequel.
Date published: 2013-01-18
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Dark Canvas: A Brush with Death CE I beta tested this game mid November time and was looking forward to it being released. I have to say that I was disappointed but only because I could have sworn there were morphing objects when I beta tested. Could be wrong and could definitely kick myself for not doing a review in the sneak peak thread in CCC! Hidden Object Puzzle Adventure Gameplay was really smooth. Graphics very clear. Puzzles - good fun and very different. HO scenes - find by word list - interactive, and also some where you find by shadow - interactive. Map - no. Tasks - no. Any hidden extras i.e. morphing - No. Achievements - yes. Voiceovers - good and I loved the cut scenes when you found the girl's diary pages. Inventory - doesn't lock in place but it jumped up whenever you needed it to which is a nice twist. My verdict - I am going to enjoy playing this game but I'll wait for the SE because as I said at the beginning I was disappointed at there being no morphing objects which is the only reason I will buy a CE now unless it's in a sale.
Date published: 2013-01-17
Rated 4 out of 5 by from not great but good not a bad game. Has voice over but still have lots of reading to do. Music and graphics are good. The puzzles are not hard but the HOS are really good. Hard to find them all without lots of looking. You do go back to the same ones which I do not like. Has a good flow but you do have to keep going back to find things to progress. You get 2 punches today so that is a good deal. The hint button works good and fast. Give it a try it is worth it.
Date published: 2013-02-19
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Interesting Story with Great Puzzles I guess it's a matter of personal taste, but I am finding this to be a very enjoyable game. Many of the puzzles are different than those we've come to expect, and I like different. Dark Canvas has excellent quality graphics that are crystal clear. With this game we have voice-overs that are very realistic and not at all grating or hard to take, which can happen with some games. IMHO, this game IS CE worthy based on the quality of the puzzles and the IHOS. For me, it is not one of those too easy games where what to do next is so predictable that a game is boring. This game offers some challenges and more often than not, we have to be very innovative to complete a task. All in all, I am very pleased with the game and recommend that you give it a try. Maybe you will agree that it is a very nice game.
Date published: 2013-01-17
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Good story, good game I just finished playing the demo and I will probably buy it. Dark Canvas: A Brush With Death has a really good storyline about a father who goes looking for his daughter who has vanished in Italy while visiting a famous artist that paints pictures of the future. The townspeople are frightened by a mysterious dark figure known as the sillouette! People are just vanishing! The graphics are good and the HO's are interactive (open a book to find a flask for example) the puzzles are not to hard and are enjoyable.Some of the HO's are in the same place. This is a relaxing game that most level of gamers will enjoy.
Date published: 2013-01-17
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Good Mystery Adventure Game Although there are HOS, this game is mostly an adventure game. Plenty of puzzles and objects to find, items to assemble, etc. Very good journal with objectives, notes, etc. Music is a bit somber and mysterious and fits the game. Vocals are good. Very good graphics, excellent strategy guide. Outside of HOS, hint points to task or direction needed to travel, which will be good for the SE version, because I didn't see a map. Since this game is about artists, it makes sense the characters would appear to be hand drawn. In casual mode, this game is easy to moderately difficult. At first, I wasn't sure about this game, but it drew me in, and I was hooked.
Date published: 2013-01-17
Rated 4 out of 5 by from I'm Only Happy When It Rains.... This game was as pleasant to play as an afternoon spent at the local art gallery without the "Art Police" watching my every move. I've always wondered: What WOULD happen if I crossed the barrier to poke the Art? ~ Intriguing Storyline : prophetic visions through Art ~ Awesome Setting : Italy ~ The CE includes Achievements which allow you to unlock free play puzzles and HOS as well as the Art and Music from the game. I had a giggle at the one earned for watching the credits. ~ Interesting characters ~ Great graphics ~ Journal - The character you play is a very effective note taker. It could have used a few more HOS and some of those HUGE molasses cookies like they have at the Art gallery. :P My latest purchase and current favorite is also one of their new releases. Check them both out!
Date published: 2013-01-17
Rated 4 out of 5 by from The artist in me loves this one. I thought this game was fun to play. It had a nice feature of animated sketches that went with the story. You unlocked them as you played along. There was a logical sequence to the clues for each scene. The hint button told you what to do next so am not sure one would need a strategy guide.There were small items to collect that could be missed if not paying attention, but you could not get too far before you had to go back and get them. I did not see a map but there were achievement awards. The puzzles I had seen before but perhaps not in this context, There was a nice mixture of HO scenes and ones that were interactive silhouettes where each thing related to another thing which I am very fond of. Sound effects and music was nice. If I was out of another Big Fish game to play I would buy this now, but will wait till it come out as a SE, as I do want to own this game. Very nice.
Date published: 2013-01-17
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Please,Don't Paint My Picture!! i bought this game after only playing 30 minutes of the trial with trepidation and optimism. So far not so great. The storyline is different- a painter on a remote island has an exhibition of his paintings that foretell the future. Your daughter has written you asking you to come and see the exhibit however, now she's disappeared and of course you've got to go and find her! But, when you arrive everywhere you go you either hear about or see an ominous shadowy figure aptly nicknamed "The Silhouette". The first mini-game I played I won a couple of stars, that after so many you can open up bonus HOS and mini games, also other bonus perks. The HOS scenes are clear and interactive in two different ways. And of course you get your strategy guide and a journal for your clues and a record of your achievements. You do get 3 Difficulty modes- Casual, Advanced and Extreme- where all you experts out there get no help at all. Overall the game is pretty entertaining but in hindsight I think I should have saved a few dollars and waited on the SE version.
Date published: 2013-01-17
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Good, But Not Great I like this game, although I can't quite put my finger on why, exactly, since I think my cons outweigh my pros. I think I'd give this game 3 1/2 stars, but I rounded up. -The story is pretty interesting. It seems like more of a mystery than a "dark and eerie" sort of thing. -The graphics aren't great, but are OK. Some scenes are pretty dark. -Puzzles are easy, so far, and are of the standard kind you see in most games, so nothing new there. -Hidden object scenes are interactive, but again, nothing really exciting or new going on there. -Voice acting is decent. Characters are animated and hand drawn looking, and their mouths don't move, but that's fine with me. -You have to get a certain number of achievements to unlock some of the bonus items, which I think is kind of terrible. -Speaking of achievements, this game has them, but none of them are terribly difficult to get (which I guess helps with the above item). Most of them seem like an automatic thing, i.e., they unlock as the story unfolds. -Black bar tips are enabled even in advanced mode, and some of them are pretty specific so that they basically tell you what you need to do or what item you should use ("I need a hammer to open this!"), which is sort of irritating. All in all, it's a nice game, but it's not amazing and it doesn't bring anything fantastic or new to the table.
Date published: 2013-01-17
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Nice little game! Hmmm, not a bad game...not exceptional either. Graphics clear but nothing great, game play nice, music nice, games very easy. Like the switch between regular HOG and silhouette. Okay, easy to figure out that you are the Mom, since you are told that in the beginning and also, the painter was surprised that you are the Mother. A little different story line, but not much. Didn't have a problem following the story line, but still a bit sketchy. Not enough voice over, e.g., one person speaks and the other you have to read...weird. There is no jump map, but this game could certainly use one. Fast hint recovery. SG not bad, but hated where it was located. The constant up and down motion when you wanted to use the SG made me sea sick, and I don't even have that problem. All in all, this was a nice little game and I find the need to purchase to finish, although I'm not quite sure why. Think this will go into my puddle until I make my final decision. Not sure it is worth the CE price, even if I do get an extra punch on my card. As always try it for yourself and see what you think. We all have different tastes in games and you may not care for this one at all, or you may just "have to have it!" Thanks for the reviews.
Date published: 2013-01-17
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Enjoyed the Dark Side I love a good story that contains a dark side. HOG scenes were great and puzzles doable and I like puzzles that are not to challenging. I do enjoy a challenging HOG. I suppose in the process of joining a story with the hunt, find and use that defines a hidden object game there exist a fine line of to much vs. to little. As of late, not just this game but others, it seems there are missed opportunities for a more complex experience for the player. While I do not enjoy overly complex puzzles I do enjoy a more complex seek, find and use objects. Good work on creativity, programming, QA, artwork and final production. Appreciate a number of hours of enjoyment.
Date published: 2013-01-19
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Good, but not Excellent This is a good game, with lots of puzzles and very acceptable graphics. It's not challenging enough, though, and I've been finding this with most offerings lately. These games could offer more challege, especially with a hint button that takes you exactly where you need to be. So, if you do get lost, you have all the help you need. Overall, the game is worth a good look.
Date published: 2013-01-17
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Dark Canvas I played for 30+ mins and found it quite enjoyable, but between my games and the energy company my pension is losing out so I will have to wait for a while before I can purchase it.
Date published: 2013-01-17
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Vast Games are not vast anymore. Vast never had the best graphics quality, and like the latest Snark Busters, this storyline, along with all the other painting adventures out there, has been told/played already. Again, if you are a fan or if repetitive storytelling doesn't bother you (if you love this storyline and want another regurgitation of it), go for it. I personally would not recommend this game, but don't let my one opinion be above all.
Date published: 2013-02-04
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Really like the demo I quite enjoyed the demo and do not know why the ratings are not better. The story is interesting, graphics were very good, loved the voice overs instead of text, and HOs were well done. I guess if I were able to play further, I may find some negatives but not so far. I will definitely consider this when the SE comes out. I think the reviews so far are not giving this one a fair shake. Probably not a perfect score, but maybe better then what has been scored so far. Maybe after a few more do their ratings, score will improve.
Date published: 2013-01-18
Rated 4 out of 5 by from TheSAGE I only played the free 60 minute sample. I might buy it when I get paid. It has a good storyline and the art work is pretty clear on the hidden object games. I really hate when you can't see the objects because of the lighting. So, so far so good.
Date published: 2013-01-18
Rated 4 out of 5 by from interesting game play I enjoyed the game, but will wait for the se.
Date published: 2013-01-18
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Could use some improvments I like the music, sound and artwork but the gameplay controls could use some improvment and so could the puzzles. I'd also like a bit more to the story. The bonus wasn't much so more is needed for another one to be a worthy CE.
Date published: 2013-01-31
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Fun game! I enjoyed playing this game. Beautiful graphics!
Date published: 2013-01-19
Rated 3 out of 5 by from VAST Studios--the minds of genius taking a coffee break! Game seemed outdated and maybe on the shelf while Vast Studios has already put out some of the greatest game series ever designed--Cursed Memories, Shattered Minds I & II, Nightfall Mysteries I, II, III, Written Legends, etc. Seems disjointed with a lot of to and fro which doesn't bother me if the game holds my interest. Although a bit silly, artwork is superb with focus on music and artsy objects. Vast Studios is one of my favorite developers and I will purchase in the future as I have learned that a demo can be deceving and hoping the game improves... On the same hand, Vast Studios does not usually create "easy-to-play" games--you have to work the game. Unfortunately, developers are pressured by "the masses" for "easier" games and this is what we gamers seem to be getting lately, i.e. the majority of BFG's January 2013 "new" games have been mind numbing & notably inferior-- which is why I am combing through the numerous purchased BFG games that I haven't had time to play/finish. Enjoy! -Mama Mia-
Date published: 2013-01-24
Rated 3 out of 5 by from REVIEW OF COMPLETED GAME There is nothing really wrong with this game per se. It has good graphics, if a little on the dark side. There are two types of HOS, list and silhouette, both interactive. The music is fine. The puzzles lean more towards the artistic than the academic, which is right up my alley, and the navigation is perfect. The best thing about it is the story. It rang a vague bell somewhere in my mind, from long ago, but it has enough originality, veering away from the usual, to be fresh, and as it is well thought out and well written, it deserves a credit. It is not what you first think it is is all I can say without giving it away. It has wide screen, collectibles and achievements, though minimal, but no map. The SG is odd. They have used three different sized fonts. One is way too small, the 2nd is normal and the 3rd one is huge. ??? Dunno. I only looked at it so I could report on it here, but I never had to use it. The game plays itself. The cursors are another oddity. There are 3. Custom and 2 game cursors. One is too small and the other too big. Game starts with the big one. There is a location consisting of about three scenes where it became a huge problem and I could do nothing but shut down and start with the custom cursor to get through it. The cut scenes are well done. Fast and with clickable dialogue, but not animated. Don't really think that is either here nor there, but it may matter to some. The lack of a map is not lamentable to me, as it is easy to remember where and what and there is little backtracking, but it will be lamented by some, who require all these things to make it deserving of being a CE. The hint button is directional and fast. Same with skip, but there is little need for skip with this. All the puzzles, whilst nice to do, are very simple. Once again, another game where the thing that lets it down is the length. The main game only took me 3 hrs and that also is not really going to win it much favouritism. The BC took 1 hr 20. It has entirely different locations and is relatively interesting and of the same quality as the main game. So, you are looking at roughly 4.5 hrs and I think that will be held against it. You can either wait for the SE and get a 3 hr game, or pay double and get an extra 1.5 hrs. In spite of it's shortcomings, I will recommend it on one hand, as it is a well made and nicely executed work, but not recommend it on the other hand because it is too short and very easy. Best I can do. Devs, you are losing points here, with the length and it being too easy. Veteran fishies in this pond will not find it challenging enough to pay CE prices and too short for a SE. I see there is another one coming in Sneak Peak and it looks really good. Full of cute creatures and bright and colourful. I hope it is longer and more aimed towards the experienced players.
Date published: 2013-01-17
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Not the best game I went ahead and bought this game before I played it. What a dissapointment! As far as the storyline and graphics and scenery go, quite nice. It took me about 2 hours to complete the game. The bonus play was better than some of the chapters. But being a CE, not at that price. I am increasingly getting more discouraged with the so-called Collector's Editions. It is only on rare occassions that BF has sponsored a "TRUE" Collector's Edition game. I think the developers need to step back and re-evaluate what a good game is these days,
Date published: 2013-01-18
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Nice game but not a worthy CE!! Beta-tested this game already and complained the lack of the CE extras. It would be a nice standard edition: Very appealing story around prophetic paintings and a dark eerie creature, known as the Silhouette. Very good amount of HOS and puzzles, not too challenging. Graphics are very nice and sharp. For those HOPA-gamers who don't care about CE extras such as achievements and collectables, this game might be a good choice. - I'll wait for the SE.....
Date published: 2013-01-17
  • y_2019, m_11, d_18, h_12
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_3.0.2
  • cp_2, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_0, tr_53
  • loc_en_US, sid_17098, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=RATING, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=HELPFULNESS, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=FEATURED, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_bigfishgames

The Big Fish Guarantee:

Quality tested and virus free. No ads, no adware, no spyware.

Your Security and Privacy are important to us! Privacy Policy

, share your thoughts about this game!

Dark Canvas: A Brush With Death Collector's Edition

Uncover the mystery behind an artist’s deadly talent.

Heres what your review will look like once it’s posted.

Click Submit if you’re happy. Your review should appear soon. To make changes, use the Edit or Cancel buttons.

Thanks for sharing your thoughts about this game!

You’ve already shared your thoughts about this game.

Thanks for submitting the review below.