Motor Town: Soul of the Machine

Motor Town: Soul of the Machine

PC

Also available on

Hidden Object

Play Now Download the free trial

This game will not work on your operating system.

Are you sure you want to download this game?

Free 1 hour trial

(198.13 MB)

By clicking "Play Now", I accept the Terms of Use and acknowledge that I have received the Privacy Policy. If this is your first time downloading a game from Big Fish, our handy Game Manager app will install on your computer to help manage your games.
Buy Now Get the full version70% OFF!

This game will not work on your operating system.

Are you sure you want to purchase it?

Full version game

$ 9.99 USD

Only $2.99 - use coupon NEW299

A young journalist, desperate for a big story, accepts an intriguing assignment: Hunt down an eccentric inventor who hasn't spoken to anyone in years and interview him about his latest gadget. The writer gets more than she bargained for when she arrives at her destination and finds the living have abandoned the town and she learns of the inventor's plans to create cars with souls! As her guide, you'll search vintage cars and rundown factories for clues, perform tasks for ghosts, and solve an array of ingenious puzzles. With the fate of many souls and the life of the inventor on the line, you must not delay!

  • 34 eerie locations
  • 21 mind-bending mini games
  • Unlimited hints and tips

New customers get your first game for $2.99!*

70% OFF!

Use Coupon: NEW299

* Collector's Editions and free to play games not included.

Game System Requirements:

  • OS: Windows XP/Windows Vista/Windows 7/Windows 8
  • CPU: 1.8 GHz
  • RAM: 1024 MB
  • DirectX: 9.0
  • Hard Drive: 535 MB

Big Fish Games App System Requirements:

  • Browser: Internet Explorer 7 or later
Reviews at a Glance

Motor Town: Soul of the Machine

0 out of 5 (0 ReviewsReview)
Average Rating:
Play Now Download the free trial

This game will not work on your operating system.

Are you sure you want to download this game?

Free 1 hour trial

(198.13 MB)

Buy Now Get the full version70% OFF!

This game will not work on your operating system.

Are you sure you want to purchase it?

Full version game

$ 9.99 USD

Only $2.99 - use coupon NEW299

Customer Reviews
Motor Town: Soul of the Machine is rated 4.0 out of 5 by 72.
Rated 4 out of 5 by from MAYBE I EXPECTED SOMETHING MORE Review based on completed game in casual mode Animation/VOS - Good IHOS - Grayish junkpiles, repeated. Eight items listed but when one is found, another is added. Objects listed in red require interaction Misclick Penalty - None Map - None Hint - Moderate to fast recharge and gives directions Journal - Keeps record of info, photos, codes, etc. Puzzles/Mini-Games - Varied levels of difficulty. Skip has moderate charge I was waiting for the big finish but somehow I believe there may be a sequel in the works.
Date published: 2013-03-16
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Good rainy day game I completed this game in about 4 hours. The mini games were not very challenging, but interesting. There wasn't a whole lot of back tracking, everything you needed was usually within a few scenes of the needed location. The hidden object scenes were not challenging at all. The graphics were decent, with an eerrie feel throughout. The storyline was different but without any surprises. I completed the game without using the hint button once. Overall however, it kept my interest during a rainy afternoon.
Date published: 2013-03-05
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Where's the boot? I really enjoyed the trial version, nice to have an hour and not just a sample. The only real complaint I have is inthe very beginning. You have to get the car key and open the "trunk" but because the vehicle is a VW Bug, what you really do is open the engine compartment. If the game wasn't all about cars, I might be more inclined to let it slide. Otherwise the game was fun, nice graphics, but the mini games encountered in the hour trial were pretty easy.
Date published: 2013-02-23
Rated 4 out of 5 by from I knew my car had a soul!! Okay - maybe it doesn't, but I swear I think it does now and then..lol. This game is lots of fun! The graphics are outstanding - gorgeous color, great environments, crisp design. Hidden object scenes are a bit junky, but everything can be found, but use the entire scene, including the edges, as some things are very cleverly hidden. I only needed the hint button twice in the entire game for a hidden object scene and, as usual, the items were right in front of me. The music is appropriate for the game, as are the ambient sounds. The ghosts in the game are well done and voice-overs are adequate. The hint system fills pretty quickly on casual mode and is very helpful outside the hidden object scenes. There is a lot of back and forth, so put on your walking shoes, but, if you get lost, the hint button will put you right back on track. The game is long for an SE - and I really enjoyed four long evenings of play, but, I play slowly, really checking things out, so it may not be that long for others. There is a ton of stuff to do, lots of inventory to find and use and hidden object scenes are interactive. I really enjoyed the game. It never bogged down or felt slow - the story moved along well and the ending was adequate. Try the game if you want a few evenings of great game play and decide for yourself if a car can have soul!
Date published: 2013-02-19
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Enjoyable Game While the game's production is nothing outstanding, it is good with crisp, detailed artwork and good music. The game play is well designed with mostly "normal" use of objects and not a whole lot of running around. The HOS are the usual with some IA, and the puzzles are good. There isn't a map, but the HINT button points you in the right direction. The story is OK and is well told with a journal. This game is nothing to write home about, but I found it to be very enjoyable to play without it being a real chore as in some games.
Date published: 2013-02-18
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Spooky Grunge-Gaming, with a new storyline The Big-A developer who has done some of my favorite games, includingTwisted Lands & The Gift, has offered up yet another oddly intriguing game/storyline that i think is gonna surprise a lot of players by it's uniqueness. Cars aren't my thing by a long shot so i was glad to find Motor Town isn't really so much about cars as the souls that are somehow bound to them, & enough said about that; i don't want to spoil anything. Graphics are excellent, & combined with the sound effects & spooky as heck music, the dev created the perfect atmosphere for this storyline. Voice overs are decent, & not abundant. Cutscenes are pretty good, & the ghosts are great. As noted by a few reviewers, as you travel thru over 30 different locations you'll move thru some pretty darn grungy looking places like old abandoned streets, warehouses, garages... this isn't pretty fairytale land, folks, but it is distinctively moody & imo a flawless set for the subject. There are lots of HOscenes that are fairly cluttered but pretty interactive & fun, while the adventure aspect keeps things moving nicely. Puzzles are easy. Hint button is plenty helpful should you need it. A journal gathers info you'll apply later. Gameplay was smooth & glitch-free, and you'll get a good amount of game time here. 2 modes of play, casual & expert - i played expert & would have appreciated a bit more challenge. Although It may be on the easier side, the game flows nicely & is easy to follow, tasks are clear, gameplay & storyline are merged really well... and it is a whole lot of fun regardless of your skill level. For an SE, this is a deal for real, & something different. I'm going 4 stars 'cause i think a little more challenge would have made it a little better. Still, I definitely recommend giving this one a go, 'specially on a sale weekend, right. Have fun gaming, folks!
Date published: 2013-02-17
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Motor Town Soul of the Machine this is a relatively easy game, so far, it has 2 play modes. The graphics are a little blurry at times, the voice over can be annoying, but not off putting. The ho's are ok somewhat grainy inplaces but manageable. You are in search of an inventer who believes cars have souls. the items you find in the Ho's are soon used close to where they were found in some cases. I find it an enjoyable game and I think you will too , suitable for beginners too. enjoy
Date published: 2013-02-16
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Has Detroit seen this? ;) I really enjoyed this game and for a Standard Edition it's terrific. Nice long game play with a good balance between Hidden Object and Puzzles. A little heavy on Hidden Object but tons of interactivity in the HOs eased that abundance for me, being not huge fan of HO. Great clear graphics with door puzzles that hearkened back (in style only) to the old Ravenhearst. Nothing too tough on any puzzle but engaging none the less. Nor were any puzzles anything new BUT often had a new twist on old standards. Great logical solutions to inventory puzzle items too, which is often not the case. I was pleased to see hints were directional only. I've hated recent trend of hints telling you exactly what to do. I played on Expert Difficulty and completed the game. I would like to give it a 4.5 but that's not an option and it doesn't quite make a 5, but very few games do in the opinion of this picky old bear. ;) Vrooom!
Date published: 2013-02-14
Rated 4 out of 5 by from An Interesting Game (Just Wash your Hands Afterwards) In this game you are Rachel, a journalist fed up with writing fluffy society page stories. Wanting a "meatier" story, you end up tracking down an eccentric inventor, who believes that cars have souls (well, of course they do!). It looks like there's been some foul play by what must be the most aptly named villain in the entire galaxy. Your job, I presume, is to track down the nefarious villain and save the day. It's true that the level of challenge in this game may not satisfy everyone. The puzzles made me stop and think for a couple of minutes, but once I figured out exactly what I was meant to do it became quite straightforward. However, I suspect there are just as many people like myself who don't want MENSA-grade puzzles, and although some were a *little* on the easy side, the ones I encountered in the demo kept me happy. I don't want brain-ache from my gaming! It looks like there are plenty Hidden Object Scenes in this game, and in the demo I visited each scene twice. Some items are interactive, and although the objects are quite clear, I didn't rattle through them as quickly as I thought I might. The artistry is fabulous, and these dev's must have some of the most talented artists in the industry. Agreed, the general scene is of decay and desertion, and believe me - it's *very* well depicted. In a couple of rooms in particular, I swear I could smell the dirt! This is the reason for the title - after getting down and dirty among all the rubbish, you may feel like washing your hands afterwards! This game won't be to everyone's liking - it is pretty gloomy, but the scenery is, after all, meant to convey a feeling of a 'ghost town'. Me, I love these types of game. I will be using a PCC to get this game. I want to know what happened, and I love the scenery. It's an SE, so don't expect collectibles/morphing objects, achievements etc. If you like ghosts and gloom, you'll probably like this. It won't make your brain hurt with its cleverness and tricky puzzles, but it's a nice way to spend an evening. Finally, credit to the dev's for issuing a game that's not immediately brought out as a CE - we need more of these!
Date published: 2013-02-13
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Average HOPA - Liked the premise of the game! The storyline is interesting. Cars with souls! Based on the demo only, the game has strengths and weaknesses. The graphics were not perfect but they were colourful and the artwork was beautifully drawn. Liked the characters. The HOS were mostly lists with a degree of interactivity. The puzzles and minigames were fun and relatively easy, which made them entertaining rather than frustrating (to quote another reviewer). The journal records clues needed, but I didn't find a map. Since inventory is used quickly, this is probably not an issue for most players. Didn't play long enough to know for sure. The hint button recharged in about 30 second and provided directional help. If you like to explore, you might like this one. I like spooky, and the music enhances this aspect of the game. Two things bothered me. I enjoy the cutscenes in most games. They are often powerful and draw me into the story. In this game, the cutscenes played in a choppy manner. They made me dizzy. In some places, they were left hanging on the screen, moving slowly, with no music or sound effects. (Maybe it was my computer?) The second thing is the dilapidated and rundown house scenes, the beaten-up cars, the junky streets and the garbage. I definitely recommend that you give it a try. Most of my dislikes are based purely on personal taste. The storyline makes it worth checking out. See what you think!
Date published: 2013-02-13
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Nice Game! Okay, all the bugs and beetles I have seen have their trunk in the front. Where was this one built? Anyway, very nice SE for a change. Nice graphics and game play. HOGs nice and clear (a lot of hunting in and under things), simple games (take some thought). Nice voice over and music. Fairly fast hint recovery and helpful. I wish all games had maps...this one does not. Not sure why, but I really like this game. There is nothing special about it, but I'm having fun with it. You use quite a lot of shoe leather on this one too, but it keeps you on your toes. I'm happy to see that we finally have an SE that I can use a game credit on. Personally, I think this game would not only appeal to the beginner, but to the experienced gamer as well. It's just fun and I have the need to see where it goes with the story. Already downloaded and off to play. As always, try it for yourself and see what you think. We all have different tastes in games and you may not care for it at all. Thanks for the reviews.
Date published: 2013-02-12
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Good SG Graphics are good the storyline is good and the Hidden Objects scenes are good. I played for 30 minutes and did not want to leave. I expect this from the developers and am pleased to find a good game.
Date published: 2013-02-12
Rated 4 out of 5 by from A Game With a Soul From one of my favorite developers, Motor Town has an air of creepiness to it with murkey looking scenes and dark graphics. Our storyline begins with an over zealous journalist who is after a big story involving a recluse inventor of cars. Known to be an eccentric, he frequently referred to cars having souls. As we pursue the story, we find ourselves in an abandoned town and now look for clues as to where our missing inventor is. An intriguing story line with an edgy feel to it, passable graphics that could have been sharper, mediocre voice overs, great art-work and a good balance of over-crowded interactive HO scenes along with a variety of unique puzzles that offer some mild challenges; What's not to like? I enjoyed the demo and have already puched the buy button using my free game credit. A relatively good SE game that will no doubt occupy me this evening.
Date published: 2013-02-12
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Mediocre It wasn't much challenge and the story about making people immortal by somehow fusing their souls into cars seems too much of a stretch. All of the people in the cars were unlikable and I wasn't at all interested in helping them. The music was not intrusive and worked well for the game. The graphics were mediocre but I didn't much care for the trashed and neglected scenery. It just wasn't a place I wanted to go. It isn't a bad game, but not a good one either. Some might like to burn some time with this for a few hours.
Date published: 2014-06-03
Rated 3 out of 5 by from SOLID RUN-OF-THE-MILL STORY: As a reporter, you're looking for your big break in interviewing the inventor of the first automobiles (imagined with souls by the inventor). And he's a little on the weird side and you have to save him from supernaturals. Why he is involved with them remains a mystery. MISCELLANEOUS STUFF: Graphics are hand-drawn but not too crisp. So-so music and voice overs. Game sort of ends without explanation or resolution. GAMEPLAY: Mildly challenging solid gameplay. Lots of list-based interactive HOS that are somewhat crowded; good variety of mini-games with varying degrees of difficulty. Most objects needed to solve puzzles are found nearby. Journa (which can help with puzzles) and map. Some back and forth, but trips are not too long. Hint system points you in the right direction. SUMMARY: A run-of-the-mill HOG with nothing new to add to the genre, but it is still a solid game.
Date published: 2014-03-22
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Wildly Original Story BASED ON COMPLETED GAME FIRST IMPRESSIONS Despite being a relatively new game, this one looks and feels like a much older. The quality is there, it is just the style that seems older. And the story is freaky! Cars with souls? That’s really out there. SIGHTS & SOUNDS The art is pseudo-realism, which is part of that ‘old’ feeling. Sometimes the quality could be better, but in the HOP scenes the graphics are clear, colourful and well drawn. Although the scenes are grungy and very junk-piled, the items are clearly visible. The various ghosts look great. Voiceovers are mostly awful. They sound like someone reading a script (yeah, I know they are, but we’re not supposed to notice!). Except for the assistant, who is really excellent. The music is light but suspenseful. The jukebox in the diner seriously impressed me with its “bobby sox” number. WHAT’S HAPPENING? You are a journalist sent to get an interview with a reclusive inventor who believes he can make cars with souls. You got to admit, full marks for originality! The trouble is, the financial backer just isn’t working out, the disagreements between the reclusive scientist and the ruthless entrepreneur have led to unforeseen catastrophes, and the living have deserted the town. You need to get to the professor, stop the investor, and save the souls of those trapped in town. The ghost of Dr Camping’s assistant offers to help you, and gives you a strange box for storing amulets. GAMEPLAY What you’d expect from a standalone standard edition some time ago. Mainly HOPs, all of which are interactive word lists, visited twice each. The HOP lists don’t show all the items at once. There are not so many puzzles. The adventure components mostly follow common sense, a lot of the mechanical, find the missing bits and repair the engine kind. Items do not stay in inventory long, and it is emptied at the end of each chapter. The hint is directional, a bit slower than most. The journal records codes etc. There is no map, despite the promising document you get early on. The black bar comments tend to be overly helpful, and there are only 2 modes of difficulty. I found the cursor to be annoyingly sensitive in both HOPs are close ups. COMBINED IMPACT An old-fashioned game. Nothing overly noteworthy but pleasant enough if you fancy a change.
Date published: 2014-01-10
Rated 3 out of 5 by from A Little Disappointing This game had all the earmarks of being great except that it kept freezing; scenes didn't change when they ought and it just seemed "sluggish" compared to other games. The cursor remained "static" so many times that I had to shut the game down and restart. I think I would have really enjoyed the game except for the technical difficulties
Date published: 2013-08-01
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Glitch spoiled this one for me I would love to have given this game a higher score, because I truly did enjoy the HOS's and the puzzles; however, when I discovered I was missing a candle to conclude the end of the game, I no longer had the ability to find the missing one. The hint button was disabled, and there was no way I could finish without starting all over again. Bummer. Checking the forums, I saw that a lot of gamers had the exact same problem.This game is not so new that the glitch couldn't have been fixed by now.
Date published: 2013-05-04
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Based on the Demo Played the demo based on BF reviews. Rarely play a demo, then not buy. BUT. Liked the colorful eerie rooms and creepy town and that's all. HOs were boring, puzzles were OK, everything was too small.
Date published: 2013-02-16
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Grew On Me I was bored at first but it got better as it went along. Regular Hoes and nicely done but nothing too fancy. No morphing images, no interactions with surrounding life, bugs, animals. Leaned toward the element of surprise which perked my interest a little. Music was pretty good. Graphics were good and voice over fairly good. The game has potential but needs to be vamped up. I would get this as a freebee only so I am not sure if recommending it is the right thing.
Date published: 2013-02-14
Rated 3 out of 5 by from not very special HOG This is not the kind of game I really like. I played demo and I´m not sure if I´ll buy. You can "walk" trough the scenes but the game doesn´t have a map... so, sometimes you don´t know you have to come back. During demo, I don´t know the rest, scenes are "dark" and dirty. Maybe it changes till the end... Nice mini games and not very difficult.
Date published: 2013-02-13
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Am I the only one confused? I kind of liked this game, but honestly I couldn't get a grasp on what was going on. I got lost in all the HOGs - could have done with half which would have kept the story going faster for me. It is dark and dingy but that doesn't make it bad. I never even got out of the back yard. So, it's just an okay for me.
Date published: 2013-02-13
Rated 3 out of 5 by from MAYBE...MAYBE NOT I am on the fence with this game. I really liked the story and the creepy atmosphere of the whole thing, and it stretched out the time between finding new locations, so you have a lot of fun exploring. The artwork is amazing, but not always in a good way. I have never seen junk piles like this! They ought to get some kind of award for this; they bring new meaning to 'messy'. Even in scenes that are not HOs the junk and mess are incredible. After a bit, I started to feel kind of queasy from the filth of it all... but I've got to admit a lot of work must have gone into making the detailed art. There is a fair mix of HO and puzzles. The only thing is the logic of some of the puzzles is very fuzzy, unless of course I am just dense, which is not out the realm of reality, I admit. I had to skip a couple of the puzzles as I just could not understand the directions or make the leap of logic the devs were looking for. I did like the refilling lists and interactive play in the HOs though. All in all, I recommend trying this game and judging for yourself.
Date published: 2013-02-12
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Not exactly an exciting game! Help the reporter to find the odd inventor who believes that cars have soul! - Graphics somewhat blurry in the cutscenes, not really good VO, but good music. - Two play modes - Dark scenes - Found objects are soon employed - and appears what you should do, even in advanced mode. - HOS interactive, easy - Mini games known, and not challenging I found the game a bit obvious. You do not have to think too hard to accomplish the tasks. Even I do not think the game needs to be very challenging to entertain, this is too easy. Try the free trial and judge for yourself.
Date published: 2013-02-12
Rated 2 out of 5 by from What you should not buy. This game is terrible. It is not the least bit intuitive. The cursors don't even work correctly. Animation is poor. Picking up objects is very awkward and usually takes several trys just to pick it up.
Date published: 2013-02-26
Rated 2 out of 5 by from Motor Town: Soul of the Machine I found this game to be very boring. I keep hitting the hint button to breeze thru the HOE so I can finish this game. I'm not sure how it got a four star but it's a sleeper. It's mostly hidden object and occasionally has a interactive puzzle: BUT the instructions are either lame or the game is so easy it's not a challenge at all. No strategy guide to use while playing. The graphics are dull but the story line has so much potential. I'm really disappointed that is wasn't flushed out more. Overall, this experience is just not worth the money or credit you have to expend.
Date published: 2013-02-16
Rated 2 out of 5 by from i hate games i can't finish i played until the end with pleasure but,but.....at the end,i missed one candle to finish the puzzle! and it is impossible to find one i can pick in any locations,even if there are plenty and plenty of candles everywhere!(i have to say that i picked up this which is in the circle and that it is missing one!it is a very bad ending for me and put the far away down in spite of the others quality of this game!
Date published: 2013-02-13
Rated 2 out of 5 by from Big Yawn Unfortunately I just found it boring.
Date published: 2013-02-13
Rated 2 out of 5 by from could have been good quite a bore of a game ,this could have been an awesome game with that theme but got lost with the reporter aspect.played it for 15 minutes all i could stand.too bad the imagination didn't kick in on this one.was so looking forward to it when i read the information on it.
Date published: 2013-02-13
Rated 2 out of 5 by from "What the heck is going on", the Reporter asks In the first hour I have picked through garbage (realistic garbage) in a disgusting 'mansion'. I've met a ghost and seen the bad guy turn into vapor. This game is just plain dirty. If you have to pay money, don't get it. If you have an extra free game coupon, think about it. But, play the demo first, don't take every reviewers opinion. See for yourself.
Date published: 2013-02-12
  • y_2019, m_9, d_21, h_15
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_2.0.13
  • cp_3, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_0, tr_72
  • loc_en_US, sid_17371, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=RATING, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=HELPFULNESS, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=FEATURED, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_bigfishgames

The Big Fish Guarantee:

Quality tested and virus free. No ads, no adware, no spyware.

Your Security and Privacy are important to us! Privacy Policy

, share your thoughts about this game!

Motor Town: Soul of the Machine

Soul and machine are one in Motor Town, where a stunning mystery awaits!

Heres what your review will look like once it’s posted.

Click Submit if you’re happy. Your review should appear soon. To make changes, use the Edit or Cancel buttons.

Thanks for sharing your thoughts about this game!

You’ve already shared your thoughts about this game.

Thanks for submitting the review below.