Dark Canvas: A Brush With Death

Dark Canvas: A Brush With Death

PC

Also available on

Hidden Object

Play Now Download the free trial

This game will not work on your operating system.

Are you sure you want to download this game?

Free sample version

(182.76 MB)

By clicking "Play Now", I accept the Terms of Use and acknowledge that I have received the Privacy Policy. If this is your first time downloading a game from Big Fish, our handy Game Manager app will install on your computer to help manage your games.
Buy Now Get the full version70% OFF!

This game will not work on your operating system.

Are you sure you want to purchase it?

Full version game

$ 9.99 USD

Only $2.99 - use coupon NEW299

Uncover the mystery behind an artist’s deadly talent in Dark Canvas: A Brush With Death! Your daughter, Angie, was traveling through Europe when she vanished without a trace. Her last letter urged you to come to a remote island town in Italy, where she had stumbled upon a dark secret. When you arrive, you learn that there has been a series of tragic deaths in town, accompanied by sightings of a legendary spirit called the Silhouette. With no way of knowing who would be next, citizens turned to Virgil, a local artist who could famously predict the future through his paintings. Now you must seek out Virgil and his mysterious paintings before you and your daughter become the next victims of his deadly predictions!

New customers get your first game for $2.99!*

70% OFF!

Use Coupon: NEW299

* Collector's Editions and free to play games not included.

Game System Requirements:

  • OS: Windows XP/Windows Vista/Windows 7/Windows 8
  • CPU: 1.0 GHz
  • RAM: 1024 MB
  • DirectX: 9.0
  • Hard Drive: 817 MB

Big Fish Games App System Requirements:

  • Browser: Internet Explorer 7 or later
Reviews at a Glance

Dark Canvas: A Brush With Death

0 out of 5 (0 ReviewsReview)
Average Rating:
Play Now Download the free trial

This game will not work on your operating system.

Are you sure you want to download this game?

Free sample version

(182.76 MB)

Buy Now Get the full version70% OFF!

This game will not work on your operating system.

Are you sure you want to purchase it?

Full version game

$ 9.99 USD

Only $2.99 - use coupon NEW299

Customer Reviews
Dark Canvas: A Brush With Death is rated 3.9 out of 5 by 40.
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Hands Off My Daughter! Your daughter is missing and has left clues along the way to help you find out what may have happened to her. This game premiered in 2013, so there is no map and the hints and skips take a while. It's also relatively short and my items would often be invisible and then pop up again later. Otherwise, I enjoyed the game. The music and graphics were lovely and I enjoyed the mini-puzzles, especially the bomb games at the very end. The hidden object scenes were also very challenging.
Date published: 2019-03-01
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Review Of Completed Game... I really love this developer, VAST, so I can look beyond some of the imperfections of this game like the length. This game took me 2.5 hours. It was not a long game but it was a fun game. It had a different idea than most and it was a great game to play after a long CE or huge adventure game. The hidden object scenes were well done and there weren't too many. There were regular interactive lists but also silhouette type where you pick up an item and it helps you do another thing to get another item. Those were fun. I liked the puzzles too because they were doable but also unique. There is an actual ending in the SE that is satisfying however it leaves the player wondering if the bonus chapter completely ends it or if there will be a sequel however I do not feel this game is worth buying the CE for. Its very short and had I bought the CE I probably wouldn't have rated it so high BUT for a fun game with fun puzzles and a unique theme, I highly recommend this game.
Date published: 2013-06-08
Rated 4 out of 5 by from ALMOST A WORK OF ART Review based on completed game in casual mode. Would have given this game 5 stars if the animation had been better. The characters were realistically drawn but little body and mouth movement. Reading text dialogue is required. VOS - Excellent Hint - Moderate charge, gives clues and directions. Journal - Recounts story, records, photos, clues, sketches, etc. Map - None IHOS - Usual fare of small to larger objects. Repeated scenes. Moderately clear. Lists and silhouettes. Misclick Penalty - None Puzzles/Mini-Games - Varied levels of difficulty. Unusual, not like the sliders or rotating rings type. Skip - Fast charge Storyline - Good with a twist. Might be a sequel in the future.
Date published: 2013-03-27
Rated 4 out of 5 by from An ok game - good for kids or beginners This review is based on a complete playthrough. First, I played the CE, so let me tell you what you're not getting: A bonus story an hour long, some achievements that let you replay the identical puzzles and HOS your played during the game, and the Strategy Guide which you will not need. THE GOOD: It's a simple game that doesn't try to be anything else. The story's been done before: Kid goes missing, Parent (unspecified) goes looking, has to solve a 'mystery', predictable plot 'twist', and the end. The artwork was very well done, particularly the paintings, which are major focus of the game. The sound fit the scenes for the most part, though it did get repetitive. Going with the 'simple' theme: there are a variety of puzzles: most of them I would call easy with a couple of 'moderate' difficulty ones thrown in (you have the skip button if you need it). The 'black bar' hints tell you exactly what you are going to need to accomplish your 'goal' in an area, with some bad puns along the way: "I'm going to need an extra hand for this" two screens later you're ripping the arm off a mannequin. So if you can read, you can get through this game (IMO anyone 6 or 7 or older should be fine) THE BAD: No map, but you don't really need one as there aren't many areas at a time. No lip synching: this, along with the dialog, makes the characters feel 'flat' and very one dimensional. Not enough to ruin the story though. Short game: taking my time, using only a couple of hints, the game took me less than four hours, probably closer to three. If you take more time with the puzzles your time will be longer. THE UGLY: Not much to say here. So long as you understand the kind of game you're getting (all about the story, simple, not challenging), you should have fun with it. The SE is definitely the better buy for the this game IMHO.
Date published: 2014-01-12
Rated 4 out of 5 by from NOT WHAT I EXPECTED I'm not as impressed as I thought I would be. I thought this would be an easy 5-star rating. Although the scenery is pretty, the HOS are typical and the puzzles are quite easy. It's relatively easy to finding pieces to complete objects (such as gate, rope) in order to move forward. Map is helpful in showing you where there are tasks to perform. Liked the kitten - he sure likes to climb. I was positive he would get stuck in some high place. Music is appropriate to whatever scene you are investigating. Voice overs are good. A very nice game. 4 stars (I was expecting a 5-star performance from the description), but the game is still worth owning.
Date published: 2013-11-04
Rated 4 out of 5 by from mixed feelings on this one for the most part I liked this game and do recommend it. however having said that there were parts that were frustrating. for example at one point there are tree parts blocking your way and you have a sharp axe which in most games you would use to cut the branches but not in this game. your axe doesn't work, you have to find some other object. that kind of frustrating thing happened a few times, not awful but a bit irritating. fortunately the hint button was great. a map would have been nice as well. the story line was interesting and of course you save the place. games were hard but skip charges quickly. I don't use sound so can't rate that. overall I recommend giving this game a try but prepare to be frustrated at times.
Date published: 2013-10-21
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Just completed - no waste of time! What's it all about? Please look above! A nice little game. Nothing to write home about, but I had a good time. The game took me about 3 hours; usually that's a length to complain about but in this case it was okay - please have in mind that some games are longer just because they have a lot of backtracking and tons of HOS! I hardly used the interactive map because there wasn't too much running around. Dark Canvas: A Brush with Death offers a nice story, not too much "borrowing" from other HOPAs, and the plot is thoughtfully unfolded, keeping you interested. I must admit though that the end is, well, quite silly and offers no feeling of a final climax. But the game just did not impress me enough to buy the CE so I can't tell whether a bonus chapter may leave you more satisfied. Mini games are very easy but nicely done and with a neat variety. HOS are either lists or silhouettes, both interactive and sometimes challenging but not annoying. Sceneries and graphics are detailed and beautiful, sometimes a little dark since everything takes place at night. Note to developers: Why do I have to do pottery if there are several bowls ready to use? And do you really think a church needs a photo lab? Ok. Rant over. You're not the only ones with black logic holes...
Date published: 2013-02-20
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Nice game with interesting puzzles This game has an interesting story. There are 3 game modes. I played in Advanced Mode, where there are still sparkles. - The graphics are very clear, even in the HOS. - The mini-games are not the kind you usually get, which I found really good! - You have a journal but no map. - The hint system shows you the direction. The game is not very long; I needed less than 2 1/2 hours to finish. But I still recommend it.
Date published: 2013-03-25
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Good game and not that hard not a bad game. Has voice over but still have lots of reading to do. Music and graphics are good. The puzzles are not hard but the HOS are really good. Hard to find them all without lots of looking. You do go back to the same ones which I do not like. Has a good flow but you do have to keep going back to find things to progress. You get 2 punches today so that is a good deal. The hint button works good and fast. Give it a try it is worth it.
Date published: 2013-02-15
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Hint & Skip too long! This was a good game, but once again the devs decided to get sneaky with the hidden object games. What started out pretty straight forward, changed as the game went on. The hidden object games got progressively harder (sneaky) So that the game seemed long. Too bad.
Date published: 2015-08-22
Rated 4 out of 5 by from FANTASIC, Loved the Italy scenes I simply loved this game. I only give games 5 stars if they use real actors. This one had regular CG characters. Its not a bad thing but I love for mouths to move and characters to be live. However please know that this game was superior on many fronts. It had lots of mini games and they were very fun. I LOVED the scenes, like one where you stood high above and could see the city and it was evening, I was transfixed by the beauty of it. Its where you stop pushing your mouse around and just sit quietly taking in the views. I loved the HO scenes some objects were a little hard to find. I loved the hint system, it took you right where you needed to be. I am glad that they used voice overs and they were very good and had accents as well. All in all LOVED IT! Now on the next Dark Canvas game in the series!
Date published: 2015-02-09
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Simple Fun I just bought this little game and have been pleasantly surprised. While it isn't the most challenging game, it is fun and well made. The voice overs are amazingly well done, and the overall look of the game is great. The story is fun too - a painter who's paintings come true - in terrible ways. Not something you see much of. The puzzled are not very hard, but they are not so easy that you feel bored, and the HOS are the best kind - they are not just random junk piles for the most part, because you are finding things that you put together in order to make something happen. I am really enjoying myself. Give it a try. Big Fish - why did you delete my last review??
Date published: 2014-10-20
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Different point of view as the game player Enjoyed the different point of view as the father of the missing girl. I liked that the level of difficulty was increased by no sparkles over areas to investigate. I had to find out by running my mouse over all areas to find where to go next. Unique and somewhat dark storyline and ending. One negative was I felt there was too much back and forth but the positive is there wasn't too much interference from the animation scenes. (I'm not one for too much story line)
Date published: 2013-03-24
Rated 4 out of 5 by from A Pleasant Surprise! This was a fun game with excellent artwork! In fact, I thought the graphic design was better than some more well known developers. The game has an intriguing mystery to solve with lots of clues, red herrings and scenes to explore. The HOS were good with nice detail and color. Some developers HOS scenes are either all the same color or lack detail. But not so with this dev. The game has three difficulty levels I believe. I played the easy level with quick hint recharge, but even so, it was still a challenge trying to find the clues and use your found objects to solve the mystery. I loved the cutscenes and the voiceovers were perfect, especially the villainess. I would definitely recommend the SE version of this and I'm sure the CE could only be better!
Date published: 2013-02-27
Rated 4 out of 5 by from finally having some fun! Was getting quite bored with HOG and then hit this one. The puzzles are different, there's action, fun simple HOG's and the overall quality was fabulous. The best thing was it FLOWED so my enjoyment didn't start,stop and start again. I only put up reveiws for games that are different and this is one of them for the better!
Date published: 2013-02-15
Rated 4 out of 5 by from I Had A Really Enjoyable Time BASED ON COMPLETED GAME Sometimes the demos really can be very deceiving, and that was certainly true of this one. Although I loved the concept of this game, paintings that predict the future, I was not overly impressed with the trial. I went ahead and bought it on sale anyhow, because of the story. I have only just now got around to playing it, and what a wonderful surprise. I sailed right through it in one sitting, not noticing the time, until suddenly it was 3am! I loved every minute of this game. It had just the right mix of HO/Puzzle/Adventure for my liking . The HOs were varied and actually a genuine challenge (without ‘cheating’ by making the objects too small or the scene too dark). Puzzles varied in the degree of difficulty, but few were hard enough to force me to skip. The adventure aspect followed a logical progression without ever descending to linear. I was kept on the ball all the way, but never felt I was straining. The story was excellent, treated very cleverly and I was kept guessing till the very end. The graphics, while not over the top, were still top quality, and the sound track was appropriate. What was lacking was the WOW factor, but in this game I think that was a plus. Sometimes all that bling can detract from the experience by overloading the senses and overshadowing the story. This is a game for every mood and every player, but I’ll not rate it as five stars, because that spot is reserved for the bling.
Date published: 2013-03-23
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Enjoyed it but nothing special. Just finished the game and I enjoyed playing it but it's nothing special. I was disappointed in the length, it seemed quite short to me and it's pretty easy. The puzzles were nice though, really enjoyed those. As I did the hidden object scenes where you find something and use it to interact with other objects. The normal HOS I found hard going for some of them. Some of the objects were almost see-through and I couldn't see them! Mind you, I have old eyes!! On the whole I found it worth playing as I used a free coupon! Not the best from these devs.
Date published: 2013-02-15
Rated 4 out of 5 by from captivating quiet intresting. good puzzles and different types of hog scenes, makes a change.
Date published: 2013-02-16
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Enjoyable I might purchase this game. Enjoyed it very much
Date published: 2013-02-16
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Okay game This game was okay but I'm glad I had a bonus coupon and did not buy it. I was glad that I could quickly read the dialogue and move on because the voices became irritating to me. I played this in the casual mode. I found that the hint charged pretty slowly. There were a good many impossible to find HOs and one thing that irritated me was if I clicked too much, the screen got those dark streaks in it. I hate those. I don't like maze puzzles and this game had several of those which I skipped. It was pretty enjoyable though.
Date published: 2013-11-04
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Dark Canvas O.K. I played the 1 hr of the CE version and quickly forgot it. It looks good but nothing new or special to make me feel like buying it. I tried again with the SE and it didn't change my opinion. It looks good and the HO scenes have blank shapes you find the object to place and find another object. Story seems slow and very vague, boring. Maybe when the game goes on sale I'll get it but there are many other games this month that are more enoyable.
Date published: 2013-02-15
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Not Bad, Not Great Either Based on the free trial. I could not decide whether I liked this game or not. The story is the same tired old 'go to such-and-such a place to meet so-and-so but of course when you get there the person is missing and you are threatened by dark shadow/apparition/evil entity' etc etc. and of course it is gloomy and raining and.there is a thunderstorm. In this case, you have gone to meet your daughter in Italy because she has met an artist who can paint the future. Predictable at best. Having said that, the graphics are well done and the music is quite unobtrusive. The voice overs are pretty good, although it annoyed me that the characters lips didn't move when they talked to you. 3 levels of play, no map, nothing to collect. There are lots of puzzles and HOS, with some of the HOS as mildly interactive lists, and some as silhouettes. No matter where you go, you must collect useful objects , either by HOS or puzzle or simply on the ground, because there are a ton of things to fix! If you love puzzles I would say you'd like this game, but if you're tired of the same old story, I would recommend playing the trial first. For that reason, I am neither giving it a negative nor a positive recommendation.
Date published: 2013-02-15
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Review of Finished Game With a little tweaking this could have been a 5 Star game. I really liked all the game mechanics but I never got involved in the storyline, and that killed it for me. It has choice of difficulty and the hint button points in the direction you need to go. No map is needed. HO scenes. Not many. I don't care for them, and I never felt overwhelmed by them. Regular scenes had 12 objects, some with multiples. 3 or 4 objects in each scene were interactive. Some scenes were repeated. It also has a good amount of the new type HO scenes with the silhouettes where you use one thing to find another to find another. I enjoy those and there were at least 4 of them, I think. Puzzles were pretty easy, with the instructions appearing for you right away. I wish they would have been a little harder although I did skip the last part of one and had my husband do another. This game is pretty short because it wasn't padded out with a lot of backtracking and HO scenes. That's alright with me, but I felt it was lacking in story. I never cared if the father found his daughter and it didn't seem like he cared much, either. If the game would have been a little longer, the puzzles a little harder, and the storyline more intense I would have given it 4 or 5 stars. The SE version ends satisfactorily, I am glad I didn't get the CE version. I will recommend this game only if you already have a lot of games, if you only get one game a month you will be disappointed with this game.
Date published: 2013-02-20
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Pleasant game but nothing to really write home about...Interesting and original the storyline, nice the setting in the mediterranean island.. as an Italian i can say then you can feel quite well my native Country's ambience during the gameplay. The graphics, even if not bad, could have been better..the music is a bit repetitive but not annoying. It's a linear game, easy to follow, not so difficult to figure out what to do or where to go, funny interactives HOS and easy puzzles..The whole game took me round about 4 hours, playing hard mode and slowly, reading the diary and listening to the characters. A good game, not really challenging but ok for some relaxing hours.
Date published: 2013-02-15
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Just a typical HO game I bought this game during a buy one get one free. I wanted 6 games to get a free game because that's a bargain that couldn't be beat. The clock was ticking so I only played a few minutes of the demos & went mostly by reviews. Like my a 3 star rating says it was ok. There is nothing special to say about this game. I suggest playing the entire demo before purchasing.
Date published: 2014-11-10
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Recycled Game Why is this considered a new game...I played this game a month ago and they are throwing it up there like it is a new game. Seems to me Big Fish is doing a lot of recycling. Don't package it as a new game. This game is an old game being thrown into a new game spot. They are doing a lot of this.
Date published: 2013-02-16
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Disappointed I liked the reviews of this game and downloaded it, excited to try it out as I tried out the other game (Blood and Stone) and really liked it, but twice right as I was getting into the start of the game it shut down my computer. The screen went black, but I could still hear the music, then that shut down, but I could hear the sound of it running, then my computer totally did not function. I had to do the manual shutdown to stop and then start my computer again to end this process. I was disappointed because what I saw of the game I enjoyed and I think it would have been a good game to get. I just wanted to let others know that this happened when I tried the game out, in case they have the same issue. It may be possible that this does not happen on your computer and in that case I do recommend you try this game because it looked quite good.
Date published: 2020-01-02
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Not A Masterpiece I can't say too many bad things about this game because my issue with it isn't that it was bad. It's more that it was just okay at just about everything without really standing out in any one area. The game is fun. It's got a decent concept (you're a father looking for your art student daughter) and the pace is good, moving along without dragging and picking up excitement at the appropriate times. The look of the game is decent, if not spectacular. There were nice touches like falling leaves, but not enough of them to really make an impact. Characters are well drawn. Hidden object scenes have the usual degree of difficulty, and you will repeat. Sometimes you have to use one object to get another, which breaks it up slightly, but not a lot of variety here. Challenge is marginal. The minigames are the usual suspects. I did like the final one, which had some originality, but you end up doing it more than once. Seemed like a copout from coming up with something else. Also, I found the waiting time to be more than normal for your character to perform actions. As an example, when using a shovel on dirt, you wait 30 seconds for each bit of it to be removed. Not sure what required all that load time. The story started strong and fizzled out at the end. One drawback of a couple of characters in a mystery is that it's generally pretty obvious where the twist will come in. Overall, I thought the game was worth playing but not memorable enough to warrant an endorsement.
Date published: 2013-09-25
Rated 1 out of 5 by from A Brush With Boring Slow, boring, cursor didn't work well trying to pick up some objects, dark HOS with some objects very hard to find. Waiting for the hint and skip buttons to refill took up more time than actual game play. Story plot -- searching for a missing relative; dark, malevolent, entity; haunted and/or predictive paintings -- yawn.
Date published: 2018-11-12
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Disappointed at the first puzzle Really not good. The first puzzle already annoyed me: "Fit the missing emblems so that no colour and shape repeats itself vertically, horizontally and diagonally. The green lights will tell you if you're correct". In two squares the puzzle pieces DID repeat themselves with the already fixed ones diagonally, but the green lights came on anyway. Got me so annoyed, that I abandoned the trial and deleted the game. Apart from that, it's the same old story: Missing person, evil character clad in a black robe with glowing red eyes. This is such an old hat and I already own enough and much better games of better quality and with puzzles that don't give false positives, that not even 2 punches for one purchase, as is the offer for this particular game today, make me want to buy it.
Date published: 2013-02-15
  • y_2022, m_1, d_19, h_20
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_3.0.20
  • cp_2, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_0, tr_40
  • loc_en_US, sid_17401, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=RATING, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=HELPFULNESS, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=FEATURED, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_bigfishgames

The Big Fish Guarantee:

Quality tested and virus free. No ads, no adware, no spyware.

Your Security and Privacy are important to us! Privacy Policy

, share your thoughts about this game!

Dark Canvas: A Brush With Death

Uncover the mystery behind an artist’s deadly talent!

Heres what your review will look like once it’s posted.

Click Submit if you’re happy. Your review should appear soon. To make changes, use the Edit or Cancel buttons.

Thanks for sharing your thoughts about this game!

You’ve already shared your thoughts about this game.

Thanks for submitting the review below.