Island of Death: Demons and Despair

Island of Death: Demons and Despair

PC

Hidden Object

Play Now Download the free trial

This game will not work on your operating system.

Are you sure you want to download this game?

Free sample version

(210.18 MB)

By clicking "Play Now", I accept the Terms of Use and acknowledge that I have received the Privacy Policy. If this is your first time downloading a game from Big Fish, our handy Game Manager app will install on your computer to help manage your games.
Buy Now Get the full version70% OFF!

This game will not work on your operating system.

Are you sure you want to purchase it?

Full version game

$ 9.99 USD

Only $2.99 - use coupon NEW299

When they decided to spend their honeymoon on a wonderful island retreat, Natalie and John could not imagine the terrible experiments that would be conducted on them. Right when the couple arrived at the island, demons broke out and attacked the island’s inhabitants and infected everyone with a mysterious disease! Fortunately, Natalie managed to avoid infection. Help Natalie find a way to cure John and save the island in Island of Death: Demons and Despair!

  • Gloomy atmosphere
  • Tons of mini-games
  • Find a cure and save John!

New customers get your first game for $2.99!*

70% OFF!

Use Coupon: NEW299

* Collector's Editions and free to play games not included.

Game System Requirements:

  • OS: Windows XP/Windows Vista/Windows 7/Windows 8
  • CPU: 1.6 GHz
  • RAM: 1024 MB
  • DirectX: 9.0
  • Hard Drive: 422 MB

Big Fish Games App System Requirements:

  • Browser: Internet Explorer 7 or later
Reviews at a Glance

Island of Death: Demons and Despair

0 out of 5 (0 ReviewsReview)
Average Rating:
Play Now Download the free trial

This game will not work on your operating system.

Are you sure you want to download this game?

Free sample version

(210.18 MB)

Buy Now Get the full version70% OFF!

This game will not work on your operating system.

Are you sure you want to purchase it?

Full version game

$ 9.99 USD

Only $2.99 - use coupon NEW299

Customer Reviews
Island of Death: Demons and Despair is rated 3.3 out of 5 by 46.
Rated 4 out of 5 by from An Ok Game I have only played the demo but I enjoyed the game more than I expected I am not a big fan of games with a horror storyline but this game was surprisingly good. A young bride wakes in her hotel room to find her husband has disapeared and everyone appears to have been infected with something that has turned them into Deamons/Zombies She quickly learns that water is something they fear which is useful as it is raining . At the begining in a skipable scene we see a phone conversation in which a scientist accepts blame for something he has done My guess is he is now either dead or we will meet him later as in all good horror stories .I agree with other reviewers there are a lot of HO's but I found them a bit too dark I am used to poor spelling so that doesn't bother me and the hint button is quite quick to refill The graphics were fine 'to be honest they won't win awards but they are not that bad and the story is what drives the game your job is to find your husband and find a cure keeping yourself safe and free from infection There are achievements to win but the biggest reward is the game is much better than you would expect and well worth a try
Date published: 2013-05-01
Rated 4 out of 5 by from MEET MY WALKING DEAD HUSBAND! So the beautiful bride and her handsome husband arrive at the hotel for their honeymoon and the bride goes to sleep!? When she wakes up she reads a note from her husband that he's out jogging. When she goes outside she see's her husband and clearly he's not well. No need for panic... just search the town for clues and maybe even a cure! You learn that a scientist invented a vaccine with no side effects, or so they thought. They are turning into zombies, angry zombies that are not only afraid of water, but if they get wet (especially after midnight) they pulverize! I personally like this game, it even has random achievements, not bad for a SE. The HOS are interactive and are well done. The graphics are clear and crisp and some good heart pumping undead music. Most of the puzzles are simple, the hardest one was to take away pegs from several small triangles and leave only 4 exact triangles, but even that was easy. The game starts out a little slow in the motel room and then when you go outside because everything you come across needs another part and almost nothing in your inventory, but shortly after that the parts you need are popping up and lots of things to do. The hint system points which direction to go or what item to use. Well done, Demons and Despair, Enjoy!
Date published: 2013-05-01
Rated 4 out of 5 by from What's Not To Like . . . Relaxing Game for a Rainy Day My Likes -- What can I say. I liked this game. The graphics remind me of comic book characters and I enjoy comic books (or should I say graphic art). The game is not difficult and a plus is that the hidden object scenes have interaction for about half of the objects. So you have "puzzles" in the hidden scenes. The game has a good many puzzles to play. Most of them are different but not difficult. You have achievements, but don't get too excited because there are only about 8 of them. You can use hints to guide you to where to go next. Which takes me to my "not like so much." My Didn't Like So Much -- You have to do a lot of click to figure out where to go. But again, thanks to the "directional hints." Not very challenging, but fun to play. With todays "top secrets." It's a buy for me.
Date published: 2013-05-01
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Fun game for rainy night Based on trial game the music was creepy but not over powering. The beginning of the game is kinda choppy and characters are stiff moving..but graphics are good and clear.Lot of mini games and searches but not too hard at all. If you want a relaxing easy game without all the brain wracking headaches and of course lots of zombie like creatures running around then I recommend this game but try the trial first because it is a bit old fashion....I will purchase game and save it for a raining night.
Date published: 2013-05-01
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Great new game I have been playing so many mindless, brainless games lately it was nice to sink my teeth back into this genre, especially in the middle of the night in the dark of my room - creepy. I found the sound quality and background noise to be perfect for the settings, the HOGs not too difficult, the storyline sad (perfect honeymoon turns into tragedy). The thing I found most intriguing (and I'd like to read other reviews later and see if anyone else caught this), but the diseased people stood around in a trance (looking like zombies) and yet it was water that repelled them. This seemed like a great game that I will purchase but will refrain from continuing in the middle of the night, with the lights out. Glam-ma highly recommends.
Date published: 2013-05-01
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Nice Game! The one review that is offered does not do the game justice I do not think. Even though there is no map to use for getting around you do have the diary to help guide you. There are alot of HOS but there is also lots to do. I found the story interesting and it made me want to find out what went wrong in this town and just what experiment the scientist was working on. I think this is a game you have to try for yourself and see if you like it.
Date published: 2013-05-01
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Loved the Game I played the trial hour and I found I really like the game! The story line is a bit linear and has a satisfying conclusion . HO scenes are good and not dark, some of the objects really challenging to locate. Puzzles are fun and not overly hard. Sounds is a little bit annoying so I switched them off. I’ll put it on my “to buy” list.
Date published: 2013-05-03
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Fun zombie game Graphics: Good! Sound: 50/50 Story Line: there was a real story line. A little bit linear and lack of secondary characters, but I like it. Play: This is a great game for beginners. Not difficult but not boring. Good combination for just plain fun. There are a lof of hidden objects.
Date published: 2013-05-02
Rated 4 out of 5 by from zombies and demons are cool It wasn't the greatest game but sooner or later i'll buy it. I enjoyed playing the game but it's not on the top of my list to buy. It's about # 5 on my list. Graphics were fair. Story line was pretty good. Objects in the scene were scattered around but not to hard to find. Thanks Ronald
Date published: 2013-05-18
Rated 4 out of 5 by from confuse to colouring the flower to be a yellow one i really enjoy this game but i stuck at the cafe stage. I can't change the red flower into yellow. Help me.....
Date published: 2014-02-19
Rated 3 out of 5 by from "skip to continue" There was something wrong with the vaccine! So I began playing this game after I got my flu shot, for that seemed fitting:) It was pretty fun EXCEPT....If you wish to release a game in America and English is not your native language, why not hire and American to translate? To quote from the game "it will come on handy" and probably get you higher ratings and more purchasers too!
Date published: 2015-09-25
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Meh I found that the plot didn't "gel" for me. I used the hint button a zillion times just trying to find my way around; I couldn't logically work my way from scene to scene otherwise. I think that the hidden object scenes and mini games would have been quite easy were it not for the illogical instructions on some of the mini games and very weird names given to some objects in the hidden object scenes. According to the game designers, an oil can is, in fact, a butter dish. If you like a challenge, navigating through this game without using the hints will do it for ya. Otherwise, it's not up to the high standards I have come to expect from games marketed through Big Fish.
Date published: 2013-05-09
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Could have been a great little game This game had potential, and could have been so much more. The start of the story was funny but good - you've just arrived on honeymoon and fall asleep, leaving your new husband on his own (great start to *that* marriage LOL). You wake up, apparently in the morning, yet when you venture outside it's dark. Your husband, clearly in a huff at the lack of honeymoon excitement thus far, has joined a local gang of 'zombies', and is standing outside your hotel with what appears to be a feather duster in his hand (!). Oh no! You have to save him! What I did like about this game was the scenery, and the potential storyline. It probably kept me playing for a lot longer than I otherwise would have done. I thought the graphics were OK, really, I have no gripes there. Now to what I didn't like. Although this is a Hidden Object Game, there were so many HO's, and "busy", HO's at that, it got tiring - it would have been more effective if they were used sparingly, although I get the feeling they were there to help "pad" the game out. And, like yesterday's 'zombie' game (although not quite as bad, as the narration here was OK), many items were wrongly labelled. Like others have said, what is a "dall"? A spyglass is *not* "glasses". Developers should realise that, for many, this is a major, major turn-off. The few puzzles I came across were incredibly simple - in one of them I had to swap around just 6 pieces to "make the picture". Not challenging enough for me, unfortunately. Finally, the game also felt 'clunky', particularly in the few seconds of blank screen between scenes. This *could* have been an interesting and fun game, had more attention been paid to the language issue, and a bit more thought given to the storyline instead of using HO's to pad it out. It might be OK if you have nothing else to play, or want to use up a PCC.
Date published: 2013-05-01
Rated 3 out of 5 by from You Want Zombies? I Got Plennnty Zombies! BASED ON DEMO It’s your honeymoon, but it’s about to turn real ugly. The beautiful island getaway becomes a trap when you discover everyone else on the island, including your just-wedded husband has been taken ill with something that is turning everyone into ZOMBIES. Excuse me, didn’t I write up this story yesterday? If you were a bit disappointed by the scarcity of actual zombies in yesterday’s game, you’ll be pleased to know, in this one, they are everywhere, moaning, whining, wrecking stuff. In fact they’d be a real danger to your health, except for one weakness. They can’t abide water – and it’s raining. First time I have been glad to see that in a spooky game. But you will still require ingenuity to move around safely indoors. This game has marvellous FUN POTENTIAL, and if you can overlook quite POOR PRODUCTION STANDARDS, you’ll probably love it. The GRAPHICS at first appear good, but there is more than one occasion when the seams between image cuts are visible, SLOPPY. There are black screens between scenes. Likewise, the names of items are sometimes completely wrong. Dall for a diary, or is it a doll picture on a diary? You see the problem. There is also weirdness such as: shoot the small sack hanging from the street light to get the car key. Once again, it’s NOT FOR THE EXPERT crowd. But it IS a HO Puzzle Adventure, there are as many PUZZLES as HO scenes (which are slightly INTERACTIVE LIST), but they are all EASY so far. Each HO scene is visited twice. Items are sometimes quite small. We have NO MAP, but we do have DIRECTIONAL HINT, and a JOURNAL it’s a good idea to check, as it helps make the story make more sense. We have ACHIEVEMENTS, of the necessary-for-game kind. They can be seen from the menu and there are only about 8 of them. MUSIC is very dramatic and does add flavour to the tense and urgent atmosphere. VO was okay. The demo took me 30 minutes, and I’m a slow player, but what I did I had fun with. So, I am having difficulty rating this one. It’s definitely B GRADE, but I enjoyed it. Guess that makes it an ideal punchcard filler!
Date published: 2013-05-01
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Fun if you like old style games. Reminded me of Escape the Museum and certainly better than yesterdays zombie game. The HOs were enjoyable (dall included), with one or two interactive finds per, puzzles easy to somewhat "puzzling", the game ran smoothly and graphics were colorful, if smallish. Sparkles take a few seconds to point out areas of interest so player has a little time to figure it out for himself. An OK game, but cannot compete with the good ones.
Date published: 2013-05-01
Rated 3 out of 5 by from A Great Game ... But Glitchy & Badly Finished Graphics, Sound & Story OK With An Above Average Challenge ... But No Widescreen ... A Very Buggy Game That Received A Fix For A Missing Item, And Sadly The Developers Still Hadn't Tested It Properly ... Far Too Many Items With Oddball Names, But The Game Was Still Enjoyable ... Worth A Free Game Voucher Or Deal Of The Day.
Date published: 2013-05-11
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Oh Despair! I thought this sounded like an interesting game and it could have been but, IMHO, didn’t quite make it. The story seemed interesting but somehow got lost in translation. It looks like the developer possibly wanted to release the game as a CE but never quite reached that goal. There is no strategy guide but I did find an achievements area, which makes me think this may have been intended as a CE. I really wish I could get past some of the distractions that seem to get in the way of making Island of Death enjoyable because there is just a hint that this could be a really good game. Although the graphics are very crisp and there are voiceovers, the game itself just didn’t ring my bell. There was no option for widescreen but we were offered three modes of gameplay. The music is really okay but there is just SO MUCH rain – constantly. Anyone ever hear of water torture? Island of Death has interactive HO scenes but the first one was so agonizing that I used the hint button just to get through the thing. Objects were tiny and dark in a junk heap. Although some items were interactive, it was difficult to find where to use them since items are tiny and seemed to fade into the background. I think game developers would do far better with marketing their games if the first HO scene was at least passable. There are mini puzzles in the game that seem promising and fun. All in all Island of Death seems to miss the mark. That being said, I might use a free punch and get the game just to see if it improves. Please note, I am only recommending that you try the game to see it you might like it.
Date published: 2013-05-01
Rated 3 out of 5 by from SLOW AND TEDIOUS I really wanted to like this game. Review based on about 3 hours gameplay. Animation - All I saw moving were the zombies. VOS - At the beginning of the game. IHOS - Dark scenes true to storyline. Constant rain did nothing to improve brightness. Very small objects. Hard to locate. Repeated. Hint - Fast charge, gives clues and directions. Map - None Random Click Penalty - None Diary - Contains photos, clues, story, etc. Game was slow to load. More IHOS than anything else. Puzzles/Mini-Games - Not very many in the short time I played. Great deal of location hopping so get those running shoes out.
Date published: 2013-06-28
Rated 3 out of 5 by from What an awful honeymoon !!!! The gist of this game begins with a scientist who creates a vaccine to cure all the world's ills. Except it turns people into zombies instead. You and your new husband are on your honeymoon on an island. You go to sleep because you are just so exhausted while he goes out for a walk, and BAM, he is turned into a zombie... along with the rest of the town. The zombies do not like rain. Thus, you need to un-zombify your husband and save yourself. The graphics are ehhh, ok. There is dialogue to read. You do get a journal. No map, but the journal is helpful. There are HOS aplenty. Not too difficult. No misclick penalty either, yay. The puzzles are elementary. You do get pauses between scenes where the screen blacks out. Many objects in the HOS are misnamed. Your cursor is easily visible, as far as picking up inventory items. You need to be spot on when you perform certain combining tasks or it just doesn't work. Although I'd like to find out how this story unfolds, this is a B game. It needs work and frankly I'm not one to buy a game that is released in such a sloppy way. Some may like it. I wouldn't buy it, but I recommend you try it for yourself :)))
Date published: 2013-05-01
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Demo only review Overall it was an ok game. The opening cut scene grates on the nerves a little, even though it is a speaking part it is a little annoying. Like the speaker was trying to overdo emotion or something. I almost skipped it but it was over soon enough. It also had some dramatic pauses too, whether or not they were going for that or if it was the game hesitating/loading. :) Storyline is good, zombie type people looming everywhere you turn, making you wonder if its going to stop raining.*they are afraid of water* Graphics are ok, crystal clear in some parts and in others blurry. I had trouble reading the note left by her hubby until it was in my notebook/diary. Some of the HO scenes had some blurry parts to it but it didn't affect the game play. This one was a very short demo for me, I finished the demo in about 40 minutes so on the challenge level I think its a little easy but the game was quite enjoyable just the same. A relaxing although creepy HO game :)
Date published: 2013-05-09
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Had potential Could have been a great game. Same problems as others with items in HO's not having proper name. Found myself not know what to do next a lot. So had to use the hint button. Would be good for a rainy day special.
Date published: 2013-05-02
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Despair is Right Finally a developer has found a use for all that rain that's in this type of game. (besides making us miserable) That is the best that can be said about this demo. If I hadn't read the reviews I never would have found the dall. Doesn't anyone check translations or spellcheck these things? In a HOG the hidden things MUST be named correctly & spelled correctly. Otherwise they are not worth paying money for. I'm despairing of having more well written, spelled, thought out games. This isn't one of them. I got it with a free game coupon.
Date published: 2013-05-01
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Could have been better I think, that with a couple of tweeks, this could really be a great little game. It doesn't have the polish that the really good games have, but I really liked the story line, and it was done differently than any game I've played and it was kind of fun. I didn't like all the hidden object games that were too frequent. It ruined the flow of the game to some degree. I would really like to see this game renamed and redone to make it better. I would buy it. For now, I think it would be a good little beginner game only.
Date published: 2013-05-01
Rated 3 out of 5 by from NOT FOR ME Slow, stuttery and very unexciting. Definitely not for me.
Date published: 2013-05-01
Rated 2 out of 5 by from Too Many Errors I thoroughly enjoy a good Hidden Object game. However, this one lacked in many ways. Let's start with "This will come on handy!" An actual editor should have had that fixed to "in". Things come in handy. They do NOT come ON handy. One HOS showed the word DALL as a clue and after clicking on other items, changed to 'ball'. No, I'm not dyslexic. There were too many things you have to get before you can continue, rather than HOS. The people who created this have never seen a "wallet"? What it turned out to be was a coin purse. Women carry those. Men carry wallets. I stopped 23 minutes in, because I was tired of it. Boring. The story line has very little bearing on the game so far. There are far too many things that must be accomplished.
Date published: 2013-06-09
Rated 2 out of 5 by from Not today! Well, finished the demo with 30 minutes to spare, so looks to be a fairly short game. Yes, the graphics are a bit old school, but not too bad. Game play was okay, a bit choppy and slow between scenes. Games extremely simple. HOGs not too bad, simple, some items difficult to see due to lack of color, and repeated many times. There was no click penalty, hint filled quickly and was helpful if you get stuck. Voice overs make a game for me and this one only had them in the very beginning. Otherwise, a very quiet game with no real sound FX. The whistle sound you hear when you find an item is annoying. This game would be an okay game for a beginner, but definitely no challenge for a seasoned gamer. If you have nothing better to do and have a credit you need to use up, this might be okay...might be (for a beginner). This could have been a nice little game without much help, but some devs don't seem to look beyond the usual and customary to give us something new and fun. Two stinkers in a row...not too sure about BF anymore. What happened to the fun SE HOG games like Gardenscapes and Antique Road Show, etc? They were a nice change of pace from the asylums, haunted houses, lost husbands/uncles and grandfathers. As always, try it for yourself and see what you think. We all have different tastes in games and you may find this one quite enjoyable. Thanks for the reviews.
Date published: 2013-05-01
Rated 2 out of 5 by from Um...no thanks Based on trial 3 levels journal awards fast hint button slightly interactive HOS available (but not needed) tutorial Intro starts with a man on the phone, taking the blame for something, although we are not sure, at this point, what it is. Then we see him pick up a gun, so we are led to believe he is about to commit suicide. Skip to the game. You are on your honeymoon and awaken to a note from your new husband. He has gone to explore, and later take a jog. You get up and go outside, where the town is full of zombies, who are apparently afraid of rain. You are horrified to see your husband has joined the zombie ranks. Now it is up to you to save your husband and escape the cursed town. There were far too many HOS for me, five in the first 15 minutes! Although they were not very hard, they were cluttered and some of the items misnamed; dall (?) had to use the hint button for that one, wallet for change purse etc. I found the (female) voiceover to be unconvincing, and the music choppy and irritating, so I ended up turning the sound off. I didn't think the artwork was that bad; certainly nothing to write home about though. The story itself wasn't bad either, and was what stopped me from giving this a one star rating. Unfortunately, I couldn't even finish the trial, so this game definitely won't be on my 'must-have' list!
Date published: 2013-05-01
Rated 2 out of 5 by from very disappointed i bought this game because it said, Tons of Mini Games and that was not the case. there were a few but they were so easy you could do them in two or three moves. very disappointed. also way too many hogs there must have been 40 in this game.i do not recomend this game
Date published: 2013-05-06
Rated 2 out of 5 by from I REALLY WANTED TO LIKE THIS GAME, BUT... I really wanted like this game because I like zombie games, but this game had no scare factor at all. It was a straight-up HOG. Their wasn't any interaction with the zombies at all. Although the idea of zombies fear of the rain was interesting, the wife never stumbled up against one. All the zombies were contained and just staring at her. Unfortunately, the only thing that was scarey about this game was the music which was annoying while doing the HOG scenes. Sorry.
Date published: 2013-10-04
Rated 2 out of 5 by from Poor control I could have liked this game but it was SO annoying that any time I wanted to open my inventory it flipped back and forth. Too annoying for me.
Date published: 2013-05-02
  • y_2020, m_2, d_27, h_12
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_3.0.5
  • cp_2, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_0, tr_46
  • loc_en_US, sid_18168, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=RATING, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=HELPFULNESS, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=FEATURED, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_bigfishgames

The Big Fish Guarantee:

Quality tested and virus free. No ads, no adware, no spyware.

Your Security and Privacy are important to us! Privacy Policy

, share your thoughts about this game!

Island of Death: Demons and Despair

Save yourself from an unknown disease and leave the island!

Heres what your review will look like once it’s posted.

Click Submit if you’re happy. Your review should appear soon. To make changes, use the Edit or Cancel buttons.

Thanks for sharing your thoughts about this game!

You’ve already shared your thoughts about this game.

Thanks for submitting the review below.