The Saint: Abyss of Despair

The Saint: Abyss of Despair

PC

Also available on

Hidden Object

Play Now Download the free trial

This game will not work on your operating system.

Are you sure you want to download this game?

Free sample version

(316.00 MB)

By clicking "Play Now", I accept the Terms of Use and acknowledge that I have received the Privacy Policy. If this is your first time downloading a game from Big Fish, our handy Game Manager app will install on your computer to help manage your games.
Buy Now Get the full version70% OFF!

This game will not work on your operating system.

Are you sure you want to purchase it?

Full version game

$ 9.99 USD

Only $2.99 - use coupon NEW299

An ex-priest, who believes the Evil One lives in him, becomes entangled in a nightmare scenario when he travels to Africa to investigate an alleged demonic possession. Guide this tortured soul as he works feverishly to solve a horrifying supernatural mystery and save the life of an innocent child! Compelling and highly playable, The Saint: Abyss of Despair will draw you in with its intense opening monologue and hold you in its grip until you've experienced every breathtaking moment!

  • Learn-as-you-play tutorial
  • Casual and Expert modes
  • Solve the mystery!

New customers get your first game for $2.99!*

70% OFF!

Use Coupon: NEW299

* Collector's Editions and free to play games not included.

Game System Requirements:

  • OS: Windows XP/Windows Vista/Windows 7/Windows 8
  • CPU: 1.4 GHz
  • RAM: 1024 MB
  • DirectX: 9.0
  • Hard Drive: 595 MB

Big Fish Games App System Requirements:

  • Browser: Internet Explorer 7 or later
Reviews at a Glance

The Saint: Abyss of Despair

0 out of 5 (0 ReviewsReview)
Average Rating:
Play Now Download the free trial

This game will not work on your operating system.

Are you sure you want to download this game?

Free sample version

(316.00 MB)

Buy Now Get the full version70% OFF!

This game will not work on your operating system.

Are you sure you want to purchase it?

Full version game

$ 9.99 USD

Only $2.99 - use coupon NEW299

Customer Reviews
The Saint: Abyss of Despair is rated 3.7 out of 5 by 34.
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Good iHOG! Enjoyed this game a lot, but it was very short. Playing advanced mode and no puzzle skips and it only took 2 1/2 hours. Not too many HOS, which is always a bonus for me. Graphics a bit grainy, and a bit too much hand holding in places but if you don't read the text you can be left to work it out. Silly story line as usual, and the voice overs were so slow.....almost as though they were speaking to a non-English speaking person or a toddler! Hint system was good; I only got stuck a couple of times throughout whole game. A w/t isn't necessary. Fairly challenging and a real bonus for me was zero sparkles. Click on something and it opens either to explore an area more or for a HOS. Wish all games allowed us to use our brains more when playing advanced levels. Thanks for the Mac version...and it ran smoothly!
Date published: 2013-05-01
Rated 4 out of 5 by from It's different in a way This is an easy game with adventure, interactive hidden object scenes and original mini games. I enjoyed this exotic adventure and just loved the touches they added to the African setting. Much to my surprise, I want to play it again which is quite an accomplishment, lol. The story was pretty good and complete. It includes voodoo, if that is an issue for you. I didn't expect some of the things that happened in the game, so that was an interesting surprise. About game play, some people say they get stuck, but you need to think about what you have in your inventory and how these things will work for you. You also need to look in different places to find what you need. Both of these things are pretty common in these types of games. There is a slight pause when you click things but that doesn't really bother me. The game is of average length for this type of game. Warning, if you uninstall it from your Big Fish Game Manager, the game will start over.
Date published: 2013-04-12
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Odd But Refreshing BASED ON FULL DEMO ONLY This has got to be one of the strangest games I’ve ever tried, but should not be written off because of that. Set in Africa, with wonderful ambiance music and sounds, and visuals that match the dry dusty environment, it is a story of demonic possession (we think), of a small girl who appears to be fine – some of the time, and you are an ex-soldier and ex-priest who is himself possessed (he thinks). The story of how THAT all came about is yet to be fully revealed. The story’s pulled me in already. It’s different, set in an unusual location, within an exotic culture, and a whole lot of mystery going on. The game would have to be a lot worse to stop me seeing it to the end. And with all the demons we hear about in these games, we rarely hear from the other team – those whose job it is to stop evil in all its forms. I admit, the game is no masterpiece. First of all, the intro to the character and story go on way too long, with a lot of information that doesn’t appear relevant, but at least some of it certainly is, based on what I saw in the trial. The cutscenes are good, the graphics too, and all of it very different to what we’re used to. Certainly not difficult to see, and much to explore. My verdict on visuals; a little better than okay. The game has 35 locations, I think they said, and about 4 puzzles to 1 HOS. Puzzles so far are easy, again with a different take, HOS particularly interesting because they are set in an environment full of unfamiliar objects. There are some delightful touches of authenticity that impress me. Like not dipping directly into the fresh water barrel. I like too that ”it’s impolite to go through people’s wardrobes.” The purists will be pleased to know that even on easy mode, you have to be looking for the sparkles to see them, and I actually missed a few until I got a handle on it. The demo took me 53 minutes on easy with some time out for fiddling with the options. There’s choice of 2 game modes, and an aspect ratio toggle, full screen, and music and sound sliders. I suggest you take advantage of the sound slider because there’s one thing I’m holding back. The voiceovers are THE worst I’ve ever heard. They sound like someone who cannot read trying to tell a bedside story to a child who does not speak English. Yup, that bad. However, luckily the music gives you enough atmosphere that you can ‘silence the voices’, and the dialogue’s written down and skippable as well. It is a pity to do that though, because ironically, the little girl’s voice is excellent. Usually they’re ones most horribly done. So with some trepidation I am looking forward to my African adventure and finding out just who is possessed by what and what needs to be done about it. And I hope you'll join me.
Date published: 2013-04-05
Rated 4 out of 5 by from cute fun and easy This would be a good game for beginners. Cute and fun with no real challenge. The hint button works well if needed. Good flow with not to much running around at all. The HOS are easy and so are the puzzles. Just a fun game. The talking and reading is slow.
Date published: 2013-05-20
Rated 4 out of 5 by from A good Game A nice change to have a game set in Africa The storyline was a bit different 2 brothers one a doctor one an ex priest come togeather to fight for the life of a young girl The hidden objects were not too often or difficult the mini games were varied and moved the story along The only thing that irritated me was when I found items of interest they stayed on screen a bit too long before going in the inventory but not enough to spoil my enjoyment . Overall this is a game with some surprises and voodooism as a main theme and definately a game I would be happy to play over again and again
Date published: 2013-04-13
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Well worth a free game token based on Demo A good game if you're not in a hurry. The actions are very measured - you have to pause before you place a puzzle piece, or before you get your prize from the HO scenes. You can't just grab it! I know the HOs aren't interactive, but they're not bad and it's not a CE. The map is supposed to be interactive, but I didn't use it. I just used the hint button to navigate. The story is silly, sometimes startling, and different, and mildly intriguing - just use skip of it gets too much(I did). The accents are weird and don't match the people speaking. I.have.never.heard.anyone.speak.like.the.opening.one... and he's supposed to be an African! However that said I found myself wanting to play on at the end of the demo, so I'll use a free token to get the game. It's entertaining, and would pass the time nicely, thank you.
Date published: 2013-04-09
Rated 4 out of 5 by from A Good Haunting Storyline! This game gets a big thumbs up from me because of the very interesting storyline. I played the full demo and I'm still curious as to "what's going to happen next?" The art work/visual could be a little clearer, but does not take away from the storyline. A former priest out to say a young girl. My kind of story. -- An interactive map --The mint recharges fairly quickly and guides you to the next area --Hidden objects scenes and puzzles are not difficult --Length. I not sure how many chapters are in the game. I'm off to purchase to finish the story.
Date published: 2013-04-05
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Easy I enjoyed playing this game. Lots of HO's and I like that. It wasn't too hard which I also liked. I think this is a great game with a hint of challenge.
Date published: 2013-04-12
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Africa calls. I loved the game from the moment I heard the drums and sounds of an african environment. Nice change from the usual cold and rainy haunted house.
Date published: 2013-04-12
Rated 4 out of 5 by from GREAT GAME!!! I really really liked this game!!!...scenes are sooo pretty!!..great job devs!!!
Date published: 2013-04-25
Rated 4 out of 5 by from If you have a free game!!!! Story line nothing special. Scenery clear and nice. HO's good. Hint button recharges quickly. If you get stuck it, tell you where to go. Not sure if it will be a buy right now. Seem to be worth it on a free coupon. I just wait for games that will be outstanding.
Date published: 2013-04-08
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Good, but different. This is a very different type of game. Graphics, story line and mini games are interesting and different. Mini games are easy. Worth playing.
Date published: 2013-08-27
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Epic game with Epic NAME) Good story,strange face of hero on the MENU screen)
Date published: 2013-04-09
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Older Game This game reminds me of older games when I first started playing HO's. It is a good beginners game. The HO's were a little dark and items were almost too small. The little girl made a better story during her cut scenes then any other character. The man fixing shoes sounded like someone reading from a book instead of speaking to a person. Other then all that it would make my rainy day special list.
Date published: 2014-04-01
Rated 3 out of 5 by from NICE AVERAGE GAME WITH INTERESTING STORY GOOD: - Mystery with a satisfactory ending - Good graphics; nice African details - Told nothing to do when clicking on a room with no actions pending. - Average HOS; objects are generally not too small - Provides your next objectives on screen NEITHER GOOD NOR BAD: - Lots of adventure - Puzzles are rather easy - Some voice overs are quite good; others not so much NOT SO GOOD: - This is one of the slowest developing storylines I've seen (I thought the early cutscenes would never end and they weren't told in a very interesting way, which is a shame because the story promises more oomph) - Sometimes difficult to pick up items
Date published: 2013-12-04
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Okay Game But Short in Length I really enjoyed playing the Saint: Abyss of Despair. The unique storyline of an ex-priest in africa is rather nice. The graphics, HOGs and dialogue is about perfect. The only complaint i had is that this is shorter than i think it should be. I felt like it should have been a longer game. Given the fact I spent a game credit on it, I don't feel as bad. I recommend the demo play first before purchasing this.
Date published: 2013-05-09
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Great storyline, clunky game mechanics This game has a wonderful storyline, good graphics and very good music, although it's repetitive. There is a map that lets you teleport, but it doesn't tell you where tasks are. There is a journal with objectives. Outside of hidden object scenes, the hint points in direction needed to travel. The hint takes a long time to recharge, even in casual mode. The vocals are the worst I have ever heard, in any game. And the mechanics are like those of 5-6 years ago, or even worse. Slow and jerky mini-games. If someone redid this game, making the mechanics run smoothly, with good voice-overs, I'd give it 5 stars. I am recommending this game for gamers who don't mind bad game mechanics.
Date published: 2013-05-01
Rated 3 out of 5 by from A Little Creepy, a Little Crummy This game is interesting, I suppose. You play an ex-priest going to Africa to help your cousin with a "problem" concerning his daughter. I've got to say, the subject matter is really, really odd, but I guess it's somewhat different than the usual story. Pros: + This story is set in Africa, which is a very nice change! + The artwork is good, but at times everything almost looks like it's been washed over with watercolors a little. + Objects in H0 scenes clear. + Music fits the theme well. + There's a journal that holds your clues. + In the journal is a map that lets you jump to locations. Cons: - H0 scenes aren't interactive. - Voice acting is not great, especially the first African man you meet. He... pauses... after... every... word... Other people have accents that do not fit at all. - Puzzles are really easy. - Puzzle mechanics can be annoying. (Ex: Playing a jigsaw makes you wait a second before you can place each piece. Place one, wait, place next, wait, etc.) Some puzzles also feel "sticky," like they're hard to move around. All in all, I like this game, even though some parts of it are a little iffy.
Date published: 2013-04-05
Rated 3 out of 5 by from The Game had Potential ... ... but it missed. It could have been WOW if the Developers had put a little more effort into it, but as it is, it was just OK. The Hint button was tediously slow to recharge and I thought the puzzles were mostly terrible. A sort of nice Game to play on a rainy day when there is nothing else to do. Use a "Free Credit Coupon" on this one if you can't find anything better.
Date published: 2013-04-11
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Okay at best Biggest problem I found was the length of time after completing a step in being able to move on to the next step - as in putting together recipes. You had to wait for the game to catch up.
Date published: 2013-04-05
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Ended too soon I enjoyed the story line but it ended with 17 minutes to spare.
Date published: 2013-04-07
Rated 2 out of 5 by from Wish I'd Skipped This One Rambling story that hardly makes sense. Voiceovers are worst ever. Hint system is practically useless. Couldn't wait for it to be over. Can't for the life of me figure out how this got 5 stars from some reviewers. To each his own I guess.
Date published: 2014-04-07
Rated 2 out of 5 by from P....U... What...a...boring...game! First off, if you decide to try this, be sure to hit mute; there is no way anyone could possibly stand the wretched dialogue. I have never heard worse voice overs! The story could have had potential, I guess, although an ex-priest and ex-soldier? Possibly, the author has issues as the scenes are full of religious icons, but whatever...that can be overlooked, but this game simply is no fun. The HOs are boring; nothing interactive. There is a lot of useless dialogue (time wasting fluff, in my opinion) and some simple mini games, a transporting map and wishy washy graphics. I mean, come on, it's set in Africa, at least the graphics could be interesting. Alas....I think I would end up in the abyss of despair should I continue to play this!
Date published: 2013-04-05
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Story has potential but bad execution. Unfortunately, this game did not, to my mind, live up to what could have been a decent story. The voice-over of the old man at the gate was, as others have mentioned, apparently supposed to have been the halting English of a native African, or perhaps that of an exhausted old man working too long in the sun. Either way, it didn't work, because the accent was perfect American English and the voice not a bit exhausted. The next voice-over is that of the plantation owner, the cousin of our "ex-priest." Same voice, same accent, minus the pause between every word. Okaaay. So we're supposed to fall for that? It certainly gave me no confidence in what might be to come in the game. The artwork is odd, to say the least. Cartoonish. Rather like something you might expect from a particular style of graphic novel. Unimpressive, really, and as another reviewer mentioned, like washed out watercolor. I imagine the intent was to convey the intense sunlight and heat of the plains of equatorial Africa. I wonder if the devs gave this assignment to their summer interns? I can't recommend it, even as as DD.
Date published: 2014-04-01
  • y_2019, m_12, d_8, h_12
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_3.0.3
  • cp_2, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_0, tr_34
  • loc_en_US, sid_17925, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=RATING, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=HELPFULNESS, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=FEATURED, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_bigfishgames

The Big Fish Guarantee:

Quality tested and virus free. No ads, no adware, no spyware.

Your Security and Privacy are important to us! Privacy Policy

, share your thoughts about this game!

The Saint: Abyss of Despair

Solve a horrifying supernatural mystery and save the life of an innocent child!

Heres what your review will look like once it’s posted.

Click Submit if you’re happy. Your review should appear soon. To make changes, use the Edit or Cancel buttons.

Thanks for sharing your thoughts about this game!

You’ve already shared your thoughts about this game.

Thanks for submitting the review below.