European Mystery: Scent of Desire
Exclusive

European Mystery: Scent of Desire

PC

Also available on

Hidden Object

Play Now Download the free trial

This game will not work on your operating system.

Are you sure you want to download this game?

Free sample version

(333.28 MB)

By clicking "Play Now", I accept the Terms of Use and acknowledge that I have received the Privacy Policy. If this is your first time downloading a game from Big Fish, our handy Game Manager app will install on your computer to help manage your games.
Buy Now Get the full version70% OFF!

This game will not work on your operating system.

Are you sure you want to purchase it?

Full version game

$ 9.99 USD

Only $2.99 - use coupon NEW299

Stop a maniac's murderous trail of fragrance and deception in European Mystery: Scent of Desire! You've barely settled into your retirement in the peaceful French countryside, when you receive an urgent request from Paris. Young women are disappearing in broad daylight, the authorities are baffled, and the person responsible is still on the loose! How could any able-bodied detective refuse such a case? Stay on scent of the murderer in this intriguing Hidden-Object Puzzle Adventure game.

New customers get your first game for $2.99!*

70% OFF!

Use Coupon: NEW299

* Collector's Editions and free to play games not included.

Game System Requirements:

  • OS: Windows XP/Windows Vista/Windows 7/Windows 8
  • CPU: 1.6 GHz
  • RAM: 1024 MB
  • DirectX: 8.0
  • Hard Drive: 744 MB

Big Fish Games App System Requirements:

  • Browser: Internet Explorer 7 or later
Reviews at a Glance

European Mystery: Scent of Desire

0 out of 5 (0 ReviewsReview)
Average Rating:
Play Now Download the free trial

This game will not work on your operating system.

Are you sure you want to download this game?

Free sample version

(333.28 MB)

Buy Now Get the full version70% OFF!

This game will not work on your operating system.

Are you sure you want to purchase it?

Full version game

$ 9.99 USD

Only $2.99 - use coupon NEW299

Customer Reviews
European Mystery: Scent of Desire is rated 4.5 out of 5 by 58.
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Please try this one! It's a very nice game. Everything is very interesting. The graphics are perfect and the storyline captivating...Wonderful game, surely one of my favourites! ;)
Date published: 2013-07-02
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Fun! Two things I really liked about this HO game. 1) The HO segments included some three step processes to obtain the object. 2) Making the potions/perfumes. Was fun gathering the ingredients. Also liked the fact you could go to the map and click where you wanted to go instead of having to back-up all the time.
Date published: 2013-06-30
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Game, Story and Graphics! The graphics and video integration throughout this game were very impressive and really helped the story line come to life. There are a lot of different scenes, all beautifully rendered, and a map to help the player quickly navigate from one area to another which I appreciate. The mini-games are clever and challenging, but solvable with a bit of patience and perseverance. Throughout the game the player collects 'scents' that they then mix according to recipes to create 'perfumes/potions' that help solve obstacles. Although the game seemed to be over quickly, it was really fun and very well done. Kudos to the developers!!
Date published: 2013-06-28
Rated 5 out of 5 by from A Gem In The Hidden Object Games! If you are unsure as whether or not to but this....GET IT! You will not be disappointed. Its easily one of my top ten favorite HOG's ! The storyline is very interesting, and the HOS are very clear and some are interactive ( which I love ) Everything about this game is well done! Other developers should take notes and we all would be a lot happier! This game has something for every level gamer. Its easy enough for beginners, yet still holds attention for us experts! Try the demo. After a minute you will know like many of us did, that this is a great game! Happy gaming gamers!!
Date published: 2013-06-19
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Scent of Desire is tons of fun! I really enjoyed this game for it's fun puzzles unique game play and the level of challenge. I absolutely loved collecting the scents and creating potions. Some qualities of the game I disliked were the HOGS were a little too dark, making finding specific items difficult. Also, the custom curser was lagging quite a bit, so I changed it to the default- which was a huge improvement. But those were really the only things I disliked, the game itself was fantastic!
Date published: 2013-06-15
Rated 5 out of 5 by from DESERVES THE FIVE STAR RATING, A PLEASURE TO PLAY Review based on FINISHED GAME IN ADVANCED MODE. After being disappointed by so many 5 star rated games, I wasn't too hopeful with this one. Boy, was I wrong! What a good game this is. It has everything. The first thing to hit my senses was the beautiful and stunning graphics in the opening scene. It's full of color, which these developers have used to convey the atmosphere of the story without falling back on the standard shades of black and brown seen in so many other tedious games. The map is great! It is interactive, allows you to see where you need to go, lets you jump to the location and keeps you from wasting time running back and forth. The story, which I thought would bore me, actually kept me involved. There are plenty of characters talking to you to make you feel as if you really are in their world. I loved, loved, loved the guy trying to kill me throughout....added realism because we all know in truth, the bad guys would be trying to get us if we were on their trail The music is beautiful and embellishes game play in a way I haven't experienced in a long time. It conveys urgency, drama and tragedy....gorgeous. The HOS are colorful, but they are junk piles, but not so junky that they lose their visual beauty. They are a pleasure to work with and there are objects in the HOS which need to be found using some creative thinking, which I adored. All of the puzzles are doable with some thoughtful reasoning and I did NOT need to use the skip or hint buttons even though I was playing in advanced mode. This game also does the one thing that ALWAYS makes me give an extra star....they incorporated my name into the game during the story line. I've seen that on one other puzzle and I love it because it makes the game seem more personal while at the same time enhancing the feeling that I am part of their journey. In summary, this game was intelligent, logical, beautiful, fun and made me use my creative thinking to solve the puzzles. I will be buying the sequel for sure.
Date published: 2013-06-11
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Blam games are a blam. And this is the best yet that they've produced. Make potions from different scents acquired from different scenes/environments and learn why perfume is so important in a story that's above and beyond of what I expected.
Date published: 2013-06-10
Rated 5 out of 5 by from LOVED IT! Great game, please make a sequel!
Date published: 2013-06-02
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Hope There's A Sequel Really like this game. The balance of HO's / Mini-Puzzles / Adventure was just right. Beautiful graphics, nicely done cut scenes. The music (Storm Clouds Cantata by Authur Benjamin) was right out of the Alfred Hitchcock movie "The Man Who Knew Too Much". It was fun making perfumes & they added a lot to the plot. Thanks Big Fish for no red eyed demons or ghosts.
Date published: 2013-05-31
Rated 5 out of 5 by from What a good game should be! I've played a multitude of games here, many with a much higher degree of difficulty. My first thoughts on moving point to point using the map (which also indicated where the active locations were with tasks that needed to be completed), was that it would make this game far too simple. Instead however, I've found that this is one of the the truly most enjoyable and relaxing games I've played in a long, long time. The mechanic of creating elixirs to assist you as you proceed is something new and inventive, and the puzzles within the HO scenes are also terrific. The graphics and music are another plus. The bottom line is that if you're looking for a game that's somewhat challenging, with a inviting storyline that won't make you pull your hair out and keeps you intrigued, then you must play this game. I almost have half a mind to play it again sometime.
Date published: 2013-05-27
Rated 5 out of 5 by from wonderful game. shouldn't be missed hint/skip charge fast. played casual/no sound. interactive map. journal. hints do hand-hold you, but the map will let you jump if you remember where to go. it also shows where you have things to do. you are tracking down a madman that is killing young women. you use scents that you have to mix to get through things. they are not hard. there will be a sequel i am sure since it was started at the end of this one.
Date published: 2013-05-16
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Delight For The Senses BASED ON COMPLETED GAME When I wrote my review on the CE of this game, I said I’d get around to getting the SE, and that I didn’t think the game was up to CE standards. Having played the SE, now I’m left wondering, what was I thinking? Before I even start to analyse it, let me first wax rhapsodic for a moment about the MUSIC. I like and appreciate decent music in a game, it lends atmosphere. This game’s music was not just appropriate, but truly magical. I loved its EUROPEAN feel, and its classical harmonies were a beautiful complement to the game’s story. This IS a wonderful game, the VISUALS are bright, bold colour, drawn exceptionally well. In fact, I’d say one of the BEST examples of HAND DRAWN I’ve seen. The HOS have objects that are clearly visible, and for the most part match the scene. They are INTERACTIVE LISTS, where the interaction requires an extra couple of steps, making it a real exercise in lateral thinking to find them. For example, to get the magnet we need to move the chicken, to move the chicken we need to feed it, to feet it we need to find the grain, and then the mortar and pestle to grind it. That’s quite a lot of work for a simple magnet! The PUZZLES struck me as about AVERAGE, some easy, some I had to skip, some new. The RATIO of puzzles to HOS seemed about right too. I was more interested in the STORY than anything else. You come out of retirement to investigate a strange case of women being kidnapped and murdered by dehydration, happening in cholera-infected Paris. There is much more to this one than a simple murder case, and politics enters the equation, adding to its COMPLEXITY. The game’s signature feature is the SCENT COLLECTOR & ALCHEMY KIT. These allow you to EXTRACT scent from your environment and mix them into ELIXIRS that can do anything from oil a rusty hinge to save a person’s life. They are a fun addition, and I hope we’ll see more of this potential series, in which they used. I’m now kicking myself that I didn’t get the CE version, complete with its extra chapter, collectibles and achievements.
Date published: 2013-05-04
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Best Game I have played, so far, this year ! I loved this game - I loved the Alchemy; an unusual twist to this game is making your own scent-potions, gathered from various "fragrant" locations. These are then used in various other locations, to further your investigation into what now appear to be serial killings of young women in Paris, and all during the time of a cholera epidemic as well! Who can you trust? Who is playing a deceitful cat & mouse game with you? Will you fall victim to the odious scent-bombs, flung at you from the hand of a cloaked & masked stalker? And WHY; why are these women being killed? It's up to you, the detective, to figure it all out and stop him or her, before more young women become the next victims of this lunatic! It reminds me of playing in a rousing good Agatha Christie murder-mystery, without it's being bloody & gory (which I dislike), as so many games these days seem to be. Kudos to the devs; this was an excellent game, with beautiful music, lovely, detailed graphics/art, wonderful animation in the cut-scenes, and an intriguing story-line. I bought the SE, after the demo was over, and liked it so much that now I want to get the CE. I also like to take my time playing, enjoying the story and absorbing all the beautiful details of the game, so this took me about 8 hours, played over two days. This is my favorite game this year (so far)! Enjoy!
Date published: 2013-05-01
Rated 5 out of 5 by from One of the best Seriously, this is a great game. Compelling storyline. amazing graphics and cut scenes. Beautiful setting.
Date published: 2013-04-25
Rated 5 out of 5 by from everything you want in a game Pretty good game and fun to play. Really not a hard game either. Graphics are good and has voice over. The HOS are like most of the others and easy. The puzzles are not all that hard either. Has a map which works ok and the hint button works good. You do have to go back and forth but all the games are doing that now. Has a good flow.
Date published: 2013-04-23
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Excellent game! This is one of the better games that I have played in a while. The scent tracker is unique and adds another level of interest to the game. Some of the puzzles are quite easy whereas others are challenging and take some time to figure out. The map is helpful and can be used to find areas that have something that can be done. The black screen mentioned in many of the posts can be a little annoying but you get used to it. I will say that moving objects into regions that they are needed can be a little challenging. If the object is not perfectly aligned, it goes back to your inventory. The top of the cursor needs to be pointing to where you think the objects connect.
Date published: 2013-04-23
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Superb I decided to wait for the SE and it was fab! Good story, graphics and puzzles that were challenging although not that different from the norm. Lots of different locations but not confusing as there is a jump map. All in all, had a thoroughly enjoyable time!
Date published: 2013-04-19
Rated 5 out of 5 by from A Great Game I am amazed with this game! There is a great game with a great story line. I love the streats, the objects, the art work is excelent and full of details. Over all, I find the game very clever and classy.
Date published: 2013-04-18
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Beautiful game This one is really nice to play.It is a bit different in that you look for scents to create potions.The artwork is nicely done and the storyline is ..well...it is not too much different than past games.Nicely done interactive HO scenes.It is an easy to follow game and the map helps you get back to the places you need to go, saving you the walk.It is an enjoyable game without all the blood and gore of recent games.A keeper!
Date published: 2013-04-17
Rated 5 out of 5 by from European Mystery:Scent of desire this game is amazing me and my husband truly enjoyed this game the storyline was great it kept us entertained and we were not bored at all im glad I chose this game it ended to soon we finish the game in a few hours
Date published: 2013-04-17
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great game! Enjoyed this one, good story, newish puzzles. Liked the music too!
Date published: 2013-04-16
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Masterpiece! my favourite game of last months and in the top 5 of the list of "all times"! Fantastic..Intriguing and unique storyline, gorgeous graphics, great sound, charming settings in Paris, many beautiful locations to admire and explore..Very engaging game, with funny interactives HOS and challenging puzzles...Amazing the idea to collect scents to create elixirs! I played the CE, which offered Interesting achievements to get, fleur de lys to collect and a very good bonus chapter, completely in new areas and very engaging! Collector Edition worth the price but, if you passed by, don't miss to have this super game now in your collection!!!
Date published: 2013-04-15
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Very nice graphic Very nice graphic and really entertaining
Date published: 2013-04-14
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Nice game. Would love to see more from this developer A solidly designed HOPA with good mix of adventure tasks and hidden object scenes (ye-olde-junkpiles with some interactive tems; no penalty for missed clicks and no need to hurry and finish them). Very few puzzles, and most were on the *easy* side, but also skippable in very short amount of time in casual mode. As other commenters noted, the added element of the scent-catcher/perfume box is a nice new addition to the basic HOPA repertoire without feeling gimmicky. I liked this feature better than just searching for random morphing objects in other games that try to . Loved the map feature: not only can you go directly to new locations but also lets you know when there's a new task to do there. I rarely needed to use the hint feature, which in casual mode refills quickly. Story is fun, and neither totally central nor expendable to gameplay. Great feature these developers added: if you skip dialog, you don't miss anything that could hamper your ability to complete adventure quests but the journal lets you replay any skipped scene at a later time in case you want to refresh memory on story or see why you're doing a task.
Date published: 2013-04-13
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great game! Loved it! Fast paced, slightly challenging, good graphics and included a map!
Date published: 2013-04-13
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Loved It !! Graphics were lovely, enjoyed the scent catcher and mixing the recipes as an interactive part of the game. Not sure why the black screens when changing areas. The map is great to help transport you instead of doing all the "back and forth" without a map.that transports you to different areas.Read the reviews and was disappointed that the identity of the killer of the young women, was revealed. Really enjoyed this game and will buy it soon!
Date published: 2013-04-13
Rated 5 out of 5 by from WOW!! ONE OF BF'S BEST! A simply outstanding game. I never wanted this one to end. I would give this one 10 stars if I could.
Date published: 2013-04-13
Rated 5 out of 5 by from One of the best!!! I purchased the CE at once. No one will be sorry, with this one. I was so sorry when it ended. These are the games I wait. I'II say again and again these developers are genius. I comment them and I thank them. Big Fish give us more please.
Date published: 2013-04-12
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great game I played the CE demo of this game when it came out and absolutely loved it. It was one of those games that appealed to me from the very beginning. Not too many HOS, yay. There is a lot going on in the game. You do get a scent catcher to make different fragrances. Visuals were great. Story line good. I have no complaints with this game. Puzzles were good and enjoyable. I very very seldom buy CE games, so was very happy to see this come out as a SE today. Downloading it now.
Date published: 2013-04-12
Rated 5 out of 5 by from INCREDIBLE The artwork is incredible. And the story is different - instead of just mysteriously missing young girls, you encounter a disease spreading through the city while trying to find out what happened to them. The interactive HOS are gorgeous. I like that you can select an interactive map. One negative is that it takes too long to change scenes occasionally - there shouldn't be a black screen between scenes these days. Other than that, the production values are terrific.
Date published: 2013-04-12
  • y_2019, m_3, d_19, h_16
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_2.0.11
  • cp_2, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_0, tr_58
  • loc_en_US, sid_17997, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=RATING, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=HELPFULNESS, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=FEATURED, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_bigfishgames

The Big Fish Guarantee:

Quality tested and virus free. No ads, no adware, no spyware.

Your Security and Privacy are important to us! Privacy Policy

, share your thoughts about this game!

European Mystery: Scent of Desire

Several young women have gone missing in Paris. Now only you can stop a maniac's murderous trail of fragrance and deception!

Heres what your review will look like once it’s posted.

Click Submit if you’re happy. Your review should appear soon. To make changes, use the Edit or Cancel buttons.

Thanks for sharing your thoughts about this game!

You’ve already shared your thoughts about this game.

Thanks for submitting the review below.