Fearful Tales: Hansel and Gretel
Exclusive

Fearful Tales: Hansel and Gretel

PC

Also available on

Hidden Object

Play Now Download the free trial

This game will not work on your operating system.

Are you sure you want to download this game?

Free sample version

(443.76 MB)

By clicking "Play Now", I accept the Terms of Use and acknowledge that I have received the Privacy Policy. If this is your first time downloading a game from Big Fish, our handy Game Manager app will install on your computer to help manage your games.
Buy Now Get the full version70% OFF!

This game will not work on your operating system.

Are you sure you want to purchase it?

Full version game

$ 9.99 USD

Only $2.99 - use coupon NEW299

You awake from a strange dream to find gingerbread men trashing your home. Where are your children? They left for the village store hours ago and have not returned. A mysterious woman appears, taunting you. Is she responsible for your children’s disappearance? One gingerbread man has promised to help you, but can you really trust him?

New customers get your first game for $2.99!*

70% OFF!

Use Coupon: NEW299

* Collector's Editions and free to play games not included.

Game System Requirements:

  • OS: Windows XP/Windows Vista/Windows 7/Windows 8
  • CPU: 2.0 GHz
  • RAM: 512 MB
  • DirectX: 9.0
  • Hard Drive: 699 MB

Big Fish Games App System Requirements:

  • Browser: Internet Explorer 7 or later
Reviews at a Glance

Fearful Tales: Hansel and Gretel

0 out of 5 (0 ReviewsReview)
Average Rating:
Play Now Download the free trial

This game will not work on your operating system.

Are you sure you want to download this game?

Free sample version

(443.76 MB)

Buy Now Get the full version70% OFF!

This game will not work on your operating system.

Are you sure you want to purchase it?

Full version game

$ 9.99 USD

Only $2.99 - use coupon NEW299

Customer Reviews
Fearful Tales: Hansel and Gretel is rated 3.2 out of 5 by 25.
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Fractured Fairy Tale Everyone knows the fairy tale of Hansel and Gretel, but this game seeks to explore the origin story of the evil witch involved. Your character is the mother of those children, who pursues the witch following the kidnapping of them both. You will follow her trail through the town until the final confrontation. On the positive side, this game looks gorgeous. The graphics are whimsical and excellent, really reminding you of a storybook journey. HO scenes have objects that are readily apparent, so the sacrifice was the look over the difficulty. That's not always a bad thing. The story is told through a poem, and is effective enough, though doesn't add as much as the setup would indicate. The game is also very short and pretty simple, so you'll complete it in under a couple of hours for sure. Minigames are variations on ones you've likely played before. Overall, as a work of art, it's great. As a game, it's pretty average. Better efforts are out there for taking fairy tales and turning them into standalone stories. Swing and a miss for me. Scenic drive, though.
Date published: 2015-06-07
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Easy fun I used a free game token for the standard version of this game. It took about 2 hours to play, using the map to skip scenes. It was fun but very simple. The HO scenes and mini games were easy. Definitely a game for the beginner or to play when you don't want to strain your brain. I would have been disappointed if I had paid for the game, but not a bad game to use a free game token on.
Date published: 2013-10-09
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Much too short This game is wonderfully animated and the storyline is a unique twist on the Hansel and Gretel fairy tale, but the game is much too short. I played the demo for the Collector's Edition, then ended up buying the standard version and was thoroughly disappointed with the length of the game ... I was finished with the entire game after 1-2 hours. Not really worth it in my opinion, but I loved everything else about this game!
Date published: 2013-09-30
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Fearful Tales As soon as I started was ready. Too short and simple, and no CE. As I had expected more!
Date published: 2013-09-23
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Quirky Fairy Tale That’s Just For Fun BASED ON DEMO I love this game’s quirky sense of humour. Yes, it’s a fairy tale, but it’s not a cutesy, play-only-with-the-kids kind of story. It seems to me that it makes fun of itself all the way through, from the jaunty nautical music to the surreal but cartoonlike graphics, to the crazy characters. This is just not a game to take seriously. For all that, though, the developers have taken their mission to entertain very much to heart and have displayed considerable versatility in producing such an unusual game. The graphics are superbly done, in a cartoon style that allows for a lot of creativity in the depiction of locations and characters. The voice of the little gingerbread helper (yes, okay, he’s sorta cute, but his friends aren’t!) is bound to drive us all nuts, but all other aspects of the soundtracks are delightfully upbeat. The narrator’s voiceover is excellent. One thing I loved, which perhaps gives you an idea of the style of the game, is the way the narration is done in rhyming couplets (no, not Shakespeare, think nursery rhymes). It gives the whole game a flavour of ‘sugar and spice and all things nice’. Despite its name, this is not really the fairy tale, Hansel and Gretel. It enjoys some elements in common, but is truly its own story, with elements from other tales woven in. This is a HO game rather than a puzzle adventure, although a total of only 11 HO scenes suggests a fairly short game, as other reviewers have mentioned. That alone makes me glad I chose to wait for the SE, despite some endearing CE features, such as collectible cupcakes. The HO puzzles are interactive lists, and are visited more than once. The other puzzles are also nothing astonishingly new, but fun. Again, the quality of the gameplay is as good as any other of this developer’s (extremely high quality) games, but don’t expect the same degree of seriousness or difficulty. This is, above all else, a light-hearted game. If you come to this game with the expectation of compelling story and a challenging design, you will be disappointed. It is simply not that sort of game. But as light hearted romp through the surreal landscape of fairy tales and magic, this game is all about the fun.
Date published: 2013-09-23
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Fun, but VERY short. A nifty little game - nice map that allows you to jump, very helpful hint button, decent music, not extremely challenging, but a nice way to spend about an hour and a half. The game is very short, gameplay is very linear. I'd recommend it possibly as a first hidden object game for someone new to the genre, but those who appreciate a longer game with more challenges will be disappointed in this one.
Date published: 2013-09-23
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Fearful ... NOT I had played the CE and figured I'd give this one another whirl when it came out as an SE. I'm not sure if it was the graphics, the storyline, the theme of the game, but I absolutely disliked this game. Way to short, even for an SE. This is a pass for me.
Date published: 2013-09-22
Rated 3 out of 5 by from short & sweet Very short and easy. Might be good for a beginner or child.
Date published: 2013-09-22
Rated 3 out of 5 by from This has played before Ok game but why the scary Hansel and Gretel it's been around , so not new. cute in parts easy to get around, good for beginners.
Date published: 2013-09-22
Rated 3 out of 5 by from better value than the CE but short and easy If your were to buy the game get this one. This game is quite easy to play and way too short. The graphics are fair but cute. Not that much with HOS or HOP. Some HOS you do twice but are interactive. The hint button works good but not needed much. This developer normally has great games but this one is far from there best. Fun to play but again short and east.
Date published: 2013-09-22
Rated 2 out of 5 by from Sloooww game The premise is okay; who doesn't like a fairy tale? The graphics and sound are good. My problem: the cuts from one scene to the next are extremely slow. There is a black screen with the cursor on it for several seconds...long enough to make me think the game has crashed. It hasn't. I found this boring and I wasn't interested enough to finish the trial. I do have and enjoy other games from this company, but I will skip this one. (By the way, this is not really a kid's game, unless you want to scar their little psyches. But then, none of Grimm's original fairy tales are fit for small children either.)
Date published: 2014-02-20
Rated 2 out of 5 by from Good for kids I admit, normally I play the whole hour before making a recommendation but I only played for 12 minutes and then gave up completely. My first complaint is that apparently my brand new computer with an OS Intel 3 operating system is not good enough to put into High Definition mode (what would be, the NASA space station?!) which immediately put me in a grumpy mood as the graphics were very, very, grainy and cartoonish without HD. I have played cartoonish games before on multiple occasions that are clear, crisp and wonderful but not this one. I usually play with the music on but this one I switched off after 2 minutes as it was loud (even on quiet) and really annoying! The actual game itself seems to be too much handholding and the little gingerbread man that helps you has an extremely loud, high pitched and annoying voice that talks WAY too much! The game is not linear in that *spoiler alert* if you have a metal door handle that is covered in honey, the obvious thing to do in my mind is to fill the sink and wash it off. Not so. In this game apparently it's far more logical to put it onto a metal pan and melt the honey off of it, collect it in an oven mitt and then put it in the sink...of course! What are we to do with the honey on the actual door as I don't see that fitting in the pan or the sink. No, sorry. Not a buy for me. It actually made me feel like I was getting dumber by the minute and slightly insane to boot.
Date published: 2014-01-05
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Very disappointed I only played the trial version of the game and I'm very glad I didn't buy it. First, the story is nothing like the Hansel and Gretel you know, except for the fact there's a witch and two children with the names Hansel and Gretel. You walk around within a few screens for each "goal" and while the goals are very clear, they are also easy to find and do. The "adventure" part is extremely boring. The plot line doesn't move forward at all. If you like simple, though, you do not every have to go back and forth more than a few screens; there is no map and you really don't need one. All of the graphics are dark and it is very hard to see anything. The HOS are your standard junk lists; they, too, are hard to see. The few puzzles I came across are extremely easy. All in all, this is a very static game, with very little interaction with anyone/anything. And did I mention the screens are too dark? Anyway... save your money. Even if you are a beginner, this will be a waste of your money.
Date published: 2015-07-19
Rated 1 out of 5 by from fearful tales, hansel and gretal I thought it was too kiddish.some of the games couldn,t be completed,It didn,t keep your interest.I completed it and the last challenge I couldn,t get too work with the blog walkthrough,
Date published: 2013-12-04
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Uck!! the overall storyline was exceptionally childish and not at all challenging. Don't waste your time or money if you are a true HO player.
Date published: 2013-09-22
  • y_2019, m_5, d_24, h_15
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_2.0.12
  • cp_2, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_0, tr_25
  • loc_en_US, sid_19494, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=RATING, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=HELPFULNESS, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=FEATURED, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_bigfishgames

The Big Fish Guarantee:

Quality tested and virus free. No ads, no adware, no spyware.

Your Security and Privacy are important to us! Privacy Policy

, share your thoughts about this game!

Fearful Tales: Hansel and Gretel

Who is responsible for your children's disappearance? Follow the trail!

Heres what your review will look like once it’s posted.

Click Submit if you’re happy. Your review should appear soon. To make changes, use the Edit or Cancel buttons.

Thanks for sharing your thoughts about this game!

You’ve already shared your thoughts about this game.

Thanks for submitting the review below.