The Happy Hereafter

The Happy Hereafter

PC

Time Management

Play Now Download the free trial

This game will not work on your operating system.

Are you sure you want to download this game?

Free 1 hour trial

(163.63 MB)

By clicking "Play Now", I accept the Terms of Use and acknowledge that I have received the Privacy Policy. If this is your first time downloading a game from Big Fish, our handy Game Manager app will install on your computer to help manage your games.
Buy Now Get the full version70% OFF!

This game will not work on your operating system.

Are you sure you want to purchase it?

Full version game

$ 9.99 USD

Only $2.99 - use coupon NEW299

Welcome to The Happy Hereafter, a casual sim in which you guide the newly dead as they build an afterlife for themselves and their fellow lost souls. Explore weird but wonderful landscapes, discover cleverly hidden secrets, and complete dozens of challenging missions in your quest to create a little slice of Heaven in the underworld!

  • Six locations
  • Dozens of wacky characters
  • Comic book style story scenes

New customers get your first game for $2.99!*

70% OFF!

Use Coupon: NEW299

* Collector's Editions and free to play games not included.

Game System Requirements:

  • OS: Windows XP/Windows Vista/Windows 7/Windows 8
  • CPU: 1.6 GHz
  • RAM: 512 MB
  • DirectX: 9.0
  • Hard Drive: 573 MB

Big Fish Games App System Requirements:

  • Browser: Internet Explorer 7 or later
Reviews at a Glance

The Happy Hereafter

0 out of 5 (0 ReviewsReview)
Average Rating:
Play Now Download the free trial

This game will not work on your operating system.

Are you sure you want to download this game?

Free 1 hour trial

(163.63 MB)

Buy Now Get the full version70% OFF!

This game will not work on your operating system.

Are you sure you want to purchase it?

Full version game

$ 9.99 USD

Only $2.99 - use coupon NEW299

Customer Reviews
The Happy Hereafter is rated 3.6 out of 5 by 59.
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Super Cute and Super Fun! yeah i'm pretty much in love with this game. here's why: -great graphics! everything in this game is cute, colorful, and adorably designed in excellent detail. the town is full of zombie workers that are just as cute as they could be in a suitable setting that i found charming and perfect to the theme. -the music is good! the music score fits the game scene perfectly and isn't obnoxious -lots to do! the game keeps giving tasks to complete and goals to meet as well as giving you to opportunity to get many goals done your way at your speed -buildings have options! you can use many of the buildings to craft and trade stuff. YOU choose when to make what and if you want to sell it to get money for other things. find your own strategy to earning gold or inventing new things in the lab. -this game has a story to follow but you are in control of when you do things and there is NO TIMER so you can play and enjoy at your own pace. -the tutorial is good but sometimes i did find myself wondering what to do on a task. I found that if i completed other tasks that i was often led to the answer to complete another thing i wasn't sure how to do. overall this game is really lots of fun for people who like task oriented sim building type games. the zombie town is cute and so are all your little workers. i finished the tutorial and i'm buying it right now! this game appears to have many hours of play involved judging by how far i got and how much of the map i have left to open up so i definitely think it'll be well worth the money and enjoyable for people of different ages (you may have to help really little kids of grade school ages, but it'll be fun to do it together). give it a try! i hope you'll like it as much as i do.
Date published: 2013-10-25
Rated 5 out of 5 by from I liked it! My only complaint with this game is that it is a little short. Other than that I enjoyed playing it.
Date published: 2013-10-15
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Over all cute I really liked the game.. If you like Building games. I just have to be in the mood for them:)
Date published: 2013-10-15
Rated 5 out of 5 by from great game big fish need more of these type games I love this one so much.
Date published: 2016-12-24
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Beautiful game! I love the look of the game, just wish it was longer or they would make a sequel. I only had issues when I hired more than 15 helpers and honestly did just fine without them. Overall great game and lots of fun!
Date published: 2015-09-23
Rated 5 out of 5 by from missing bush steak this game need to be upgraded because it does not give u enough stuff to move on
Date published: 2015-05-17
Rated 5 out of 5 by from I love it I happy with it. It is just like The Promised Land...
Date published: 2014-12-07
Rated 5 out of 5 by from A Great Game This is my favorite game after Plants vs. Zombies. I especially liked the characters. My only complaint was that it was too short.
Date published: 2013-12-08
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Addictive Kinda like the island tribe games but I like it much better because tasks are completed in real time. So it makes it harder to quit, you just want to keep playing.
Date published: 2013-10-20
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Cute and Creepy Family Fun I have to say I've never been so determined to play a game as I am this one. The graphics are great, the music is fun, and the characters are as cute as zombies can get. Play is simple and addictive with quests that aren't much of a challenge but still fun to complete. My 7 yo daughter has fun watching and playing it too. The only down side to this game is that it's very glitchy. It gets hung up if you get ahead of the quests and may or may not let you progress. Sometimes the characters get stuck in one spot and don't make it to the storage areas without help which can be a bit of work to keep up on when you have 20+ workers to keep track of. The first player profile got corrupted the first day of play, so I had to start over. The second game got hung up and I ended up un-installing the game and re-installing it to fix the problem. Third time I had to make a new player profile. Now I'm on my 4th try at getting through. I find this game so fun and addictive I don't mind having to start over. I'm just really enjoying it! Despite the problems it has, I love this game!
Date published: 2013-11-06
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Darling Game It's Hallowe'en characters in a game like: Promised Land; Gemini Lost; Adelantado. They have to collect food, wood, coins. I've played several hours, and am still having fun. Even though everyone is dead, this game isn't creepy. Easy enough for the pre-teens to play. I'd consider this one a family game.
Date published: 2013-11-01
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Here's a trick, this game is a treat! As far as 'Halloween' themed games go, this game delivers on 'theme' alone. The graphics are quite similar, in fact almost identical, to 'Vampires vs Zombies' which is a plus IMO. This game has a fun factor as well as requiring some thinking on the players part. You don't spend hours upon hours 'waiting for something to do'. There is always a task to do and as soon as you finish one, another will pop up. The best thing with regard to that is that there is no 'time limit' to tasks, and the 'hint/tip' option is very helpful (and can be turned off if you wish). You are also given a warning when invaders seize to steal your items which comes in very handy given the large game map. Any game that can keep my attention longer than 10 minutes is a winner in my book - and this one certainly does. All in all, I think it's a pretty little decent task-centered game that you'll enjoy if you like such themed games.
Date published: 2013-10-28
Rated 4 out of 5 by from As to be expected I enjoyed the game "The Happy Hereafter", but only after I learned what I was doing. It took too long to fathom the game and nowhere does one get the clue to "but" new people. Therefore I played the game for about three hours with only six people. If I had known how to get more people, I would have finished the game in a quarter of the time. The control in the bottom left of the screen is useful to know which person is "free", but it does not say what the "busy" people are doing. I would have liked a way of "going" to the selected person from this control. A table of free and busy people would have made a contribution towards the game.
Date published: 2013-10-28
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Interesting quest based game I enjoyed playing this game until I hit the quest near the end which caused a crash. I built some level 3 items for a level 2 quest and that seems to have caused the crash. When I restarted, I could no longer complete the quest I had been working on and therefore I had to restart from the beginning. Actually, knowing the rules by then, and knowing that doing a quest before it was a quest or accidentally building a level 3 item when you meant to build a level 2 item could crash the game, I was more careful and had more fun than the first time. I recommend that before you play, make sure NOT to attempt quests which have not yet opened. Otherwise, this is a very good quest game.
Date published: 2013-10-27
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Cute and Fun This is definitely a management game. No time limits with things thrown in to keep it interesting, flying pigs and what have you. It was a bit difficult to get the hang of the clicking on the character you want and making sure they eat but it was much like virtual villagers when you can click on their picture to select them. I do think I will buy the game. I like the music and the little monsters. I wouldn't mind being able to name my own characters so I know who I had doing what. All in all a good time management Halloween themed game
Date published: 2013-10-19
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Among the better ones If you like games like "farm tribe", this is definetly for you. And yet it comes with a different twist. Sure Halloween style,but also the style in general. You get quests, you do them, and you gonna have to keep getting some resorces. Your workers will gget hungry and you can wait till they get so hungry thhey feed themselves, or you drag them there. (Big round table with food) I haven't had any issues with wiggly cursor or poor control.I still give this game 4 out of 5 (based on demo) bercauseof some lack of advice in the game. Most is easy to figure out,but still..
Date published: 2013-10-17
Rated 4 out of 5 by from One good looking game The Happy Hereafter has a lot going for it: - Well drawn, fluid characters that don't take weeks to move to a different location - Beautiful scenery that fits seamlessly into this imaginary realm - A variety of 'things to do' - Easy to master controls and tasks The downside is that the overall game play is rather simplistic and it takes no time at all to achieve the final goal and reach the end of the 'quest'. Everything was over and done within 2 days, which is a real shame as I was just starting to enjoying visiting this colourful little land. I admit, you are able to continue playing or start again but there wouldn't be any challenge in doing so.
Date published: 2013-10-17
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Mostly fun, but don't get ahead of the quests! I've played this game on another site, and really enjoyed it on the whole. The aim is to build up your town - collect resources, build buildings, upgrade them and complete quests. Occasionally you're attacked by monsters. The gameplay is pretty slow after the beginning but there's plenty of areas to explore. The dynamics remind me of tribal games like Many Years Ago and Escape from Paradise. A warning - in the version I've played if you get ahead of the quests and do things too soon you can get stuck later on, but despite this it is still a really fun game.
Date published: 2013-10-15
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Different A great Halloween story line. At first a little confusing. I love all the different characters. It is on the line of Adelanto Trilogy Book One and two. If you like those type of games you'll sure to love this on.
Date published: 2013-10-15
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Different that's for sure. A nice Halloween game with different characters. Excellent visual and music. Some things that I don't like. First, instructions not the greatest. Still don't know the purpose of the magic. Second, you have to move the screen around.
Date published: 2013-10-16
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Cute and Fun Game The graphics and characters are great! Very easy, cute, kid friendly game. Overall i had fun playing till it just ended.. The new areas do not offer much. I wanted more things to do ,stuff to build and places to explore! Not for those who love a challenge.
Date published: 2013-10-16
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Maybe I expected too much This is a fun resource game. For me it was a bit of a letdown because the weird, interesting characters just stood there, every now and then asking for a quest, and the workers were interchangeable. I loved the flying pigs and the unkonwns and knighst. It irritated me that when I pulled a worker from its corner I did not know what it had been doing, and thus did not know if I should leave them alone or return them to their previouls task (if you drag them to eat and there is no food they will go collect mushrooms - and keep collecting them until you pull them away) Also you have to keep feeding them constantly. Still, it is a good sim game.
Date published: 2013-12-11
Rated 4 out of 5 by from the happy hereafter Good game, i like these kind of games.I´m tired of hidden object games.
Date published: 2013-10-21
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Cute game Not my kind of game. But I really wish it was, cause I love the graphics, and the sounds wasn't annoying. And another thing I really loved about the game, was that you could customize the size windowed mode (really wish more games were like that). Won't be getting it myself, but would definitely recommend it for friends who does like this kind of game.
Date published: 2013-10-17
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Buggy I managed to finish the game but there were so many bugs in it. My first farm stopped producing food. The invasions from the pigs/knights/ unknown ones were strange, sometimes nothing appeared other times I clicked the button to go find them and the congratulations message popped straight up, to name just a few. Shame as it would have been good apart from being a bit repetitive. I would recommend the game is the bugs were ironed out but as it stands I can't.
Date published: 2014-12-02
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Wanted to Like I really wanted to like this game but the atmosphere is too dark and depressing and I didn't think the characters were at all cute. Also, you are continually told what to do. If I'm the master, where's the fun in that? Currently, I'm really liking "The promised Land" and thought this game might be similar but it's not due to the continual instruction and the dark graphics. I didn't finish the free hour and wouldn't recommend it.
Date published: 2013-10-21
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Game not well tested -- quite 'buggy' While I enjoyed the little bit that I could play, I could not finish the game due to all the bugs.....characters would do their tasks but then not drop off the load/haul.....so characters lumbering would not drop off their lumber....characters gone fishing for gold would not return their gold.....characters gone farming would not return food....Also several characters were named the same thing -- if you had a lot of characters, you would have five Mary's, 3 Toms, 2 Dicks, and 16 Harry's. The game had good potential, but sadly it lacked in design and coding. Also the language barriers between foreign developers and an American audience left a lot of questions as to how to complete most tasks. If I were you, I would pass on this game.
Date published: 2013-10-19
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Could have been more fun if.... It looks so much fun and I like the cartoon zombies. Like other TM games you need to gather food, wood, etc and there some treasures scattered around too. I do not like dragging characters and moving them around and scrolling up and down to place them. That factor alone spoils it for me & makes this game a tedious one. IMO it could have been more fun if it was just clicking away on the tasks and the zombies can go to and fro. Oh I wish the devs could make similar one but not as a sim type game but pretty much like the Royal Envoy, Northern Tale or Gnome Adventures games. As mentioned earlier looks fun but not something I would buy. Give it a go you might enjoy this.
Date published: 2013-10-19
Rated 3 out of 5 by from It could have been so good I really, really wanted this to be a five star game, and it so easily could have been. But it's rather full of bugs, which affect the overall enjoyment. Specifically, that the tasks must be followed in order - or you can't complete the game. This means the player has no initiative, as well as limiting its replayablity. Towards the end of the game, my peeps just stopped dumping their stuff in the cellars - they had to be manually dropped their, making the game very tedious. Were it not for those two significant development glitches, this game would have been wonderful. Sadly, it falls short.
Date published: 2013-10-19
Rated 3 out of 5 by from the happy hereafter cute graphics, and enjoyable, but way too short, and I had to start over because if you do anything ahead of the goal set you get stuck and can go no where..
Date published: 2013-10-17
  • y_2020, m_11, d_22, h_16
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_3.0.12
  • cp_2, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_0, tr_59
  • loc_en_US, sid_19711, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=RATING, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=HELPFULNESS, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=FEATURED, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_bigfishgames

The Big Fish Guarantee:

Quality tested and virus free. No ads, no adware, no spyware.

Your Security and Privacy are important to us! Privacy Policy

, share your thoughts about this game!

The Happy Hereafter

Create a little slice of Heaven in the underworld!

Heres what your review will look like once it’s posted.

Click Submit if you’re happy. Your review should appear soon. To make changes, use the Edit or Cancel buttons.

Thanks for sharing your thoughts about this game!

You’ve already shared your thoughts about this game.

Thanks for submitting the review below.