Hallowed Legends: Samhain

Hallowed Legends: Samhain

PC

Also available on

Hidden Object

Play Now Download the free trial

This game will not work on your operating system.

Are you sure you want to download this game?

Free sample version

(154.16 MB)

By clicking "Play Now", I accept the Terms of Use and acknowledge that I have received the Privacy Policy. If this is your first time downloading a game from Big Fish, our handy Game Manager app will install on your computer to help manage your games.
Buy Now Get the full version70% OFF!

This game will not work on your operating system.

Are you sure you want to purchase it?

Full version game

$ 9.99 USD

Only $2.99 - use coupon NEW299

Celtic folklore seems to be more truth than lore when the Samhain festival goers disappear! Find the missing people and save the day in this exciting Adventure game! Battle the gods of yore to restore the seasons and repair time in Hallowed Legends: Samhain. Depart on a fantastic adventure and learn the secrets behind an ancient Gaelic festival!

New customers get your first game for $2.99!*

70% OFF!

Use Coupon: NEW299

* Collector's Editions and free to play games not included.

Game System Requirements:

  • OS: Windows XP/Vista/8
  • CPU: 1.8 GHz
  • RAM: 512 MB
  • DirectX: 9.0
  • Hard Drive: 715 MB

Big Fish Games App System Requirements:

  • Browser: Internet Explorer 7 or later
  • Mild Blood
  • Use of Alcohol
  • Use of Tobacco
  • Violence
Reviews at a Glance

Hallowed Legends: Samhain

0 out of 5 (0 ReviewsReview)
Average Rating:
Play Now Download the free trial

This game will not work on your operating system.

Are you sure you want to download this game?

Free sample version

(154.16 MB)

Buy Now Get the full version70% OFF!

This game will not work on your operating system.

Are you sure you want to purchase it?

Full version game

$ 9.99 USD

Only $2.99 - use coupon NEW299

Customer Reviews
Hallowed Legends: Samhain is rated 4.0 out of 5 by 71.
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Beautiful, engaging Celtic-themed adventure! I always have very high expectations for Elephant Games and Samhain does not disappoint! It starts out a little bit slow and sort of humdrum, but then it gets really exciting and there are some wonderful puzzles that are not too easy, not too difficult-- just my cup of tea. The graphics are absolutely stunning. Few items are too difficult to find in the hidden object scenes and all of the items are clearly and gorgeously drawn. I loved the writing and the funny little comments your character makes. Oh, and I absolutely loved the fur coat! You will now what I mean when you see it. So quirky and a real delight. Music is repetitive and the same as some other Elephant Games' releases but this did not detract from this excellent game. A solid "A"!
Date published: 2012-04-20
Rated 5 out of 5 by from One of the great Hidden Object Adventures Super story, super graphics, very skillful - many hours, with lot of fun
Date published: 2011-11-30
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Play It Again Samhain! After playing this game (and the fabulous "Enimatis:The Ghosts of Maple Creek") I am never going to give any game 5 stars unless they match the elegance, creativity, challenge, and all out FUN of these two games! Samhain is what I'm looking for as an expert player. The locations are wonderful. The challenge to remember many tasks is what keeps a game interesting to me. There is a bit of a time lag when you choose a new location or HOG, but I can live with it when the game is just so good!
Date published: 2011-12-31
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Challenging fun I loved this game, Graphics are amazing, storyline is compelling, Puzzles are challenging. Overall this is a brilliant game and I would reccomend it to anyone who loves adventures and are reasonably good at puzzles solving.
Date published: 2011-12-02
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Awesome Game!! As others have said this game goes on for ages! Just as you think it is finished you end up somewhere else with more to do. I can't think of anything negative about this game at all!! BUY IT!!! This is now my favourite game :-)
Date published: 2012-05-20
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Another great game from elephant games When I saw it was by elephant games I bought it as their games are always reliable to play. I found the puzzles difficult as they are often logic based and I don't do well most of the time with these.The hidden object scenes don't have the too many clicks you are frozen out feature which I very rarely have but some objects are very well hidden later in the game. I always use the casual mode but still took a long time to finish.This is a very good game and highly recommended.
Date published: 2012-04-10
Rated 5 out of 5 by from "Hallowed" Hit!!! Beautiful scenes, great story line, which was easy to follow and flowed through the scenery well. The story was long and gave us our monies worth, but was never boring! Fun, challenging puzzles and HO scenes. To me this game is one of the best I have played and I look forward to more in the "Hallowed Legends" franchise, hopefully!
Date published: 2012-01-08
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Find the truth! Great Game! I really enjoyed this game. You leave to find someone and end up in the middle of something you never expected. In your quest to find answers and save that person, you travel through many locations. The graphics are amazing. The story is incredible...I love this game!
Date published: 2012-08-31
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Sick, sad, lonely game, just as I like it. Good plot, good graphics, lots of traveling around in the fog,I enjoyed it very much. It's one of the good ones !
Date published: 2012-08-04
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Not to bad When I first saw this, I thought "cool, a Pagan themed mystery game similar to the 'Mystery Case Files' or 'Dark Parables.'" I couldn't have been more wrong. It is insulting to Pagans/Wiccans as our God is not evil or cruel. The instructions for the mini games are borderline helpful/very vague. Need a clue button more than a solve only. The graphics were good and the cut scenes where really well done. I may be biased as I am offended by how the game ended - first time I've ever been this dissatisfied with a game from Big Fish.
Date published: 2012-06-29
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great ,challenging game! One of the best games I have played! It is a long game,and keeps you entertained for days. The HO are clear,and the puzzles are tricky,so there is a lot to do and keep your interest..
Date published: 2012-05-19
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Very good game! The storyline is interesting. Graphics are clear and the sound is good. The objects in the HOS are easy to find. The mini-games are sometimes quite challenging but not unsolvable. The hint system is good. There is not too much walking around. The gamelength is good and you never get bored. All in all very enjoyable game!
Date published: 2012-01-11
Rated 5 out of 5 by from I did so Enjoy this game excellent graphics and fun scenes no tedium like some HO games can get puzzles good too.. really liked the effort they put into making scenes unique! ENJOY!!!
Date published: 2012-04-07
Rated 5 out of 5 by from halloed legends samhain when you have to buy stragity guide it should go w/game now i have to close one to see other
Date published: 2011-12-01
Rated 5 out of 5 by from One of the best games! This SE game is packed with things to do and seems to go on and on and on... Fantastic everything with the exception of "music" because I typically don't play with music so I can't comment. The CE must be at least this great! Check everything, every direction! I feel like the developers who created this game really had the player in mind, like they wanted to surprise and please us by caring that we had a good experience and a true appreciation for their efforts. BRAVO! I didn't really get following the story line but that's okay because the game play is so good. So wish there were more games today with this type of service and dedication providing such a good product! Highly recommend this game!
Date published: 2020-05-23
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Hallowed Legends: Samhain Great game with lovely graphics and sound/music. Stacks of puzzles too do, the toolbars were a little annoying - overall easy to put up with as the Storyline was well done. Good work Big Fish:)
Date published: 2017-08-02
Rated 5 out of 5 by from A Celtic celebration and story brought to life! (SE) Being Autumn nostalgia set in and tradition. Samhain (Sawwin) came to mind. I've always liked the Hallowed Legend series. This game has beautiful graphics, great music and challenging puzzles. This story is fantastic. It captures some the aspect of the Celtic Samhain with a twist of modernness. There is no map but the areas are the perfect size not to get lost in. Some times back tracking is required but not to the point of being overdone. The game might be to long for some but for me it was the right length.
Date published: 2015-09-29
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Game!! I really loved this game. It was interesting and kept my attention. Scenes were great to. Great Job!!
Date published: 2012-06-07
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Excellent Long Game very good game, unusually long, difficult puzzles...try this one!!!
Date published: 2012-04-15
Rated 5 out of 5 by from thoroughly enjoyed this game. graphics were superb. hidden object scenes and mini-games were very well done. Have enjoyed each of the Hallowed Legends games.
Date published: 2012-04-09
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Hallowed Legends: Samhain Celtic folklore seems to be more truth than lore when the Samhain festival goers disappear! Find the missing people and save the day!
Date published: 2015-05-23
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Spectacular Visuals BASED ON COMPLETED GAME Hard to imagine this game is already over 2 years old. The CUT SCENES & GRAPHICS are nothing short of SPECTACULAR. Unfortunately, though, they don’t have widescreen. The ARTWORK is breathtaking. The opening scenes feature an ANCIENT CELTIC GOD who looks more lifelike than many ‘live actors’ I’ve seen in other games. We also get different WEATHER, which I always appreciate, and to me shows scope in an artist. The STORY involves the disappearance of an ex (THAT’S different), and a Celtic rite performed at Halloween. Personally, I found the story a touch CONTRIVED. It is made to incorporate all eras – ANCIENT, MEDIEVAL & MODERN, and leaves too many of my questions about how they all connect unanswered. I would have liked to have more background on the Celtic lore too. But if you don’t try for depth, there is a FLOW in the GAMEPLAY, and logical sequence of events. You won’t get lost, even with NO MAP. The GAMEPLAY is HOS & PUZZLES dominant, with ADVENTURE tying in things together but still posing a challenge from time to time. The HO SCENES are WONDERFUL. Beautifully designed scenes, easy to find objects, interesting twists here and there. You only visit them once. HINT is very quick, and works outside HOS, but each DIRECTIONAL pointer to another scene takes up a HINT, so you must wait through many hint refills if you are not where you’re supposed to be. The PUZZLES are QUITE HARD. I have to SKIP (also quick) about half of them. They include MANY ORIGINAL ones as well as some STANDARDS that have been incorporated into the game very well. If the puzzles had been a little easier, I think I would have given this game full marks. But some of the FUN FACTOR DROPS when you have to skip so many times to get through the game. This is the first in a series that has a well-deserved reputation of being top quality all the way, and certainly are. I enjoyed them even more than this one. So this is just the beginning!
Date published: 2013-06-26
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Good mix of adventure and HOS Slight annoyance -- Cernunnos was not a demon in Celtic mythology; he was a horned god. But, leaving that aside, it's a fun game with moderately challenging puzzles. Some of the puzzles, though, require you to just randomly try different combinations until you hit on the right one, rather than providing clues. Every HOS resulted in finding something which was used later, so they didn't feel like just routine tasks. At times, the steps were just not logical, usually returning to a previous scene to play an HOS scene that was not there before. Some of the actions either made no sense - such as using a single bucket of sand to put out a roaring warehouse fire, or a knife to cut a piece of paper, when fingers would do the job just fine -- or were ambiguous. A machete most certainly will cut tall grass; acetone will definitely kill a plant. It is also very touchy -- you had to hit just the right spot for an object to work. As is usual with most of these games, there are a few vocabulary issues. Either the term used is British, rather than American, or, again, it's ambiguous. Several times I had to use a hint, to discover that I had been looking at the object all along, but that's not the word we would use to describe it in America. Other times, there were two different items that the term could be referring to. I also had trouble several times with getting puzzles to respond, but that might have been because I was playing on streaming.
Date published: 2013-05-19
Rated 4 out of 5 by from A+ Super Fun!!! I liked jetting off to different locations and leaving the old ones behind. The only thing I wish it included were voice overs. Have to knock one star off for that. (2013)
Date published: 2013-05-16
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Good Game, Visual Quality is Excellent Not my favorite, but overall a good game. I play in bursts, but IMHO this is a pretty good, long HO/Adventure game. The story is predictable; evil demon kidnaps someone you love. You must rescue them and also save the universe. Yadda, yadda, yadda. This time you are up against a Celtic god. WHAT I LIKED. The game is looong. The areas are varied. You can be in an ancient temple one minute, then a modern weather station, then a swamp and then on to a parallel world. The locations make sense within the story. Great idea from a design perspective since locations and therefore actions can include ancient and modern items. The graphics are awesome! Mostly photographic quality. LOVED that. The mini games are good. Some old classics. Some new twists on older puzzles. Mostly on the easy side, but one or two real challenges. I had to use the walk through once (animal button slider thingy). The actions required are reasonable and make sense. Sound effects are good and, since I don’t remember the music, it wasn’t annoying at all. No voice-overs, all text and you can click through it. There are a number of awards you can get, like no wrong clicks on a HOS. At the end of each major part of the game, you also get an award. I didn’t play the tutorial or spend more than 10 minutes on a HOS, therefore I didn’t get the award for getting all the awards. But, I like the award/ trophy idea very much. THINGS I DIDN’T LIKE SO MUCH. My interest in HOS has waned and this game has a few too many, IMHO. The HOS are not interactive, but the first one had an interesting twist and I was looking forward to more of the same. It never materialized. The HOS are junk piles with clear graphics and mostly well lit. But, a number are very cluttered. It got tedious fast. The story gets a bit sketchy in places. For example, you have to rescue a scuba diver from drowning. Once you do, he thanks you and… that is it. You walk away and leave him. There is no map, which isn’t much of a problem because each area is self contained and has only four or five locations (most with sub-locations). I didn’t get lost, but there is a lot of walking back and forth. Overall this is a good game and if you like HOS more than I do, you will probably love this game. At best, I liked it.
Date published: 2012-07-21
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Fun game, Interesting but not super challenging. I think this would be a great beginner/intermediate game. The HOS were just right in difficulty and the puzzles were easy to a few that were difficult. I liked the quality of the click and match to the inventory items when you solved the spot they go. In other words: it wasn't a game about placing the object in the exact right spot but a fast paced keep the brain engaged adventure. Nice graphics. This is a SE review as I have not played the CE. Get this you will enjoy.
Date published: 2012-06-18
Rated 4 out of 5 by from GOOD VALUE FOR THE MONEY Although there was nothing really new, this was a long game (11 chapters). It was more of an adventure game, but still had a fair number of HOGs. There was the usual mix of puzzles (e.g. eliminate all balls except one, move weights from the left to the right). The hint system generally showed where you should head next. There are numerous locations to visit (mountains, church, snowy mountains, underwater et al) and different modes of travel (e.g. balloon, boat) and, of course, you usually have to make some repairs in order to travel. Each location has good, detailed artwork. No comment on the music as I listen to the radio or ipod instead. The HOGs were fairly easy, with some of the items going into inventory for use later. The one complaint I have on the HOGs is that occasionally an item was located so close to the bottom of the scene that I sometimes backed out of the HOG when I was only trying to click an object. I thought the play was straightforward, until I reached the last chapter, when I had to resort to the walkthrough (the sticking point turned out to be just an error on my part when I transposed some numbers to open a lock and couldn't move forward – duh!). There are also a number of achievements you earn throughout the game. I only gave the game 3 stars for the storyline - I'm usually not particular about the storyline connecting the dots although I did not find the storyline that compelling. My end conclusion is that this is a good lengthy game for the money.
Date published: 2012-05-06
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Challenging and Fun This was one of the more challenging games I've played in terms of the puzzles. Was able to do most without skipping but did use skip on a couple I didn't care if I solved or not because I wanted to get on with the story. The Graphics are stunning. Even when the HO scene asks for a small thing like key or spool - you can see it very clearly - no blurry guessing. Each scene propels you from one set to another in such a direct fashion the story is easy to follow and compelling. Not really accurate in terms of celtic symbology but fun and diverse chapters (underwater, in a castle, in the snow) keep the energy high and lively. Most of the adventure is intuitive and you'll figure out what to do with each object.
Date published: 2012-04-19
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Unique Story and Challenging Puzzles Very interesting. Unique story line following Celtic folklore. You play the female lead, a heroin. Sets out to rescue a former boyfriend, a nice change of pace. Nice graphics w/intermixed photos, at least I think they are photos; they are so crisp and clean, very nicely done. This is what dev.’s want to call an adventure with hog’s. Not what I would call an adventure game, more of an HOG with a point and click storyline. But given that, it was entertaining. No map, some to and fro, hog’s as stated, and puzzles. Oh boy the puzzles! I love the puzzles intermixed within a game. Over the years I believe I’ve only passed on 2 puzzles, well here…I passed on at least that many within one game! They are difficult! For the first time I was very grateful for the skip button. Lengthwise it is average, meaning several hours a day…2 days. Compared with other games of this genre I would say it is better than most.
Date published: 2012-04-11
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Fun Hidden Object Game This game is enjoyable, IF you ignore its obvious faults - the fact a fertility god (Cernunnos) is being portrayed as a demon, & the fact that it is more modern day sci-fi, than Celtic folklore ;-) In saying that, the game is visually engaging, with lovely detailed graphics, music, & sound effects. The puzzles range from some old familiar types, to some refreshingly new challenges. The story is quite predictable really, BUT the journey through the story is a lot of fun, if you ignore the game faults, or don't have any knowledge of Celtic folklore.
Date published: 2011-11-28
  • y_2020, m_11, d_22, h_16
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_3.0.12
  • cp_2, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_0, tr_71
  • loc_en_US, sid_10060, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=RATING, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=HELPFULNESS, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=FEATURED, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_bigfishgames

The Big Fish Guarantee:

Quality tested and virus free. No ads, no adware, no spyware.

Your Security and Privacy are important to us! Privacy Policy

, share your thoughts about this game!

Hallowed Legends: Samhain

Celtic folklore seems to be more truth than lore when the Samhain festival goers disappear! Find the missing people and save the day!

Heres what your review will look like once it’s posted.

Click Submit if you’re happy. Your review should appear soon. To make changes, use the Edit or Cancel buttons.

Thanks for sharing your thoughts about this game!

You’ve already shared your thoughts about this game.

Thanks for submitting the review below.