Margrave: The Curse of the Severed Heart

Margrave: The Curse of the Severed Heart

PC

Also available on

Hidden Object

Play Now Download the free trial

This game will not work on your operating system.

Are you sure you want to download this game?

Free 1 hour trial

(179.46 MB)

By clicking "Play Now", I accept the Terms of Use and acknowledge that I have received the Privacy Policy. If this is your first time downloading a game from Big Fish, our handy Game Manager app will install on your computer to help manage your games.
Buy Now Get the full version70% OFF!

This game will not work on your operating system.

Are you sure you want to purchase it?

Full version game

$ 9.99 USD

Only $2.99 - use coupon NEW299

Deep in the English countryside, Edwina Margrave has returned to the cottage where her parents died, eager to speak with the one person who might shed light on the tragedy – the volatile landlady, Miss Thorn. But her shocking revelations are not what Edwina expected! Enlist the aid of the spirit world and evade the wrath of a disfigured beast as you explore Margrave: The Curse of the Severed Heart, a heart-breaking Hidden Object Puzzle Adventure game!

New customers get your first game for $2.99!*

70% OFF!

Use Coupon: NEW299

* Collector's Editions and free to play games not included.

Game System Requirements:

  • OS: Windows XP/Vista/8
  • CPU: 800 Mhz
  • RAM: 512 MB
  • DirectX: 9.0
  • Hard Drive: 192 MB

Big Fish Games App System Requirements:

  • Browser: Internet Explorer 7 or later
Reviews at a Glance

Margrave: The Curse of the Severed Heart

0 out of 5 (0 ReviewsReview)
Average Rating:
Play Now Download the free trial

This game will not work on your operating system.

Are you sure you want to download this game?

Free 1 hour trial

(179.46 MB)

Buy Now Get the full version70% OFF!

This game will not work on your operating system.

Are you sure you want to purchase it?

Full version game

$ 9.99 USD

Only $2.99 - use coupon NEW299

Customer Reviews
Margrave: The Curse of the Severed Heart is rated 3.8 out of 5 by 62.
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Quirky and Fun First, let me get the "negative" out of the way. The HOG scenes were challenging; there wasn't one I didn't use at least one hint for. But this didn't bother me at all; the hint recharges quickly enough. And while some don't like revisiting HOG scenes more than once, I actually enjoy it because I can spot things I noticed when I was there before and get through more quickly. I didn't find the story "sappy" at all; it was your standard adventure fare, really; a girl in search of her lost parents. The characters' motives remain a mystery for some time and it was enjoyable to see where I would be taken next. The graphics were beautifully drawn and rather quirky, which I loved. The buildings and landmarks Edwina discovers are mostly lodged in the fantasy world, while at the same time based in reality when it comes to the possibility of such things existing. No fairies or magic in the settings; rather a landscape that looks like the dreams of a playful and brilliant inventor. The puzzles are equally quirky and fun and here's where there is "magic" in some instances. I found the puzzles just challenging enough - I didn't breeze through any, but I never had to resort to the skip button, either. One thing I did appreciate is that, once I had gathered all the items I needed for a particular task, I didn't have to go through a tedious step-by-step assembling process. In some other games, you're required, for instance, to gather up a bunch of weird ingredients and a container and a stirrer and a source of flame, etc etc etc and then follow some ridiculous printed instructions on how to put them together in a particular order. Ho-hum. Glad that kind of task was notably absent; I really enjoyed all the puzzles presented. Because I didn't skip any puzzles or "hint" my way through the HOG scenes, the game took around four hours to complete. I rather wish I had sprung for the Collector's Edition; if there's a sequel, I definitely will.
Date published: 2012-04-18
Rated 5 out of 5 by from A Real Gem I played this game when it first came out. Almost didn't even demo it because I had been rather disappointed with the other Margrave games. I gave it a try anyway... and was SO glad I hadn't missed out on this totally different, magical outing! I thoroughly enjoyed it's atmosphere, graphics and puzzles. The plot of the story also kept me interested to find out what happened! One of my favorite games. I highly recommend this game, especially at the DD price. Give it a try... you may be surprised, too.
Date published: 2012-05-27
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Wonderfully fun to play The music and artwork went lovely together. In fact, the best artwork I have seen in a while. LOVE the tune at the starting screen. I was surprised at the voice-overs and liked most of them. They do get a little repetitive at some points. The hidden object scenes were challenging however, I did not find the puzzle games all that hard. A lot of beautiful settings that made for a fairly large "world" to investigate. It was enjoyable to play as there were plot turns to keep me interested. My favorite game since the Drawn and Dream Chronicles series (though definitely no where NEAR as hard as those). If there is a sequel, I am going to get the collector's edition for sure.
Date published: 2012-01-08
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great challenge! Loved this game, just like the other Margrave game. Lots do and outstanding artistry. The only thing I didn't like was that many of the mini puzzles didn't have any instructions. Thankfully the skip button refills fast.
Date published: 2012-02-21
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Very entertaining and reasonably challenging. I really liked this one. The conversations could have been shorter but they are part of the story after all. I found the puzzles and HOS's challenging enough and some innovative ideas during game play. I think the creators could have gone a bit longer in the game, the end is a bit abrupt and it leaves you wanting more. Hopefully they will deliver with the promised saga.
Date published: 2012-01-09
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Fun Hidden Object Game LOVED IT ! Has a Surprise ending so don't give up halfway through.
Date published: 2011-11-15
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Margrave: The Curse of the Severed Heart This is a fun game. It is a hidden object game. You have to find your mother to prove her that she is not guilty. You have to gather different items to give them names and bring them to live. I would recommend this game.
Date published: 2012-07-09
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Surprisingly Good Just played the game and enjoyed every minute. Seemed to be a little childish in the beginning, but to our surprise it ended up being quite challenging. Great hidden object scenes!
Date published: 2011-12-05
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Lovely game Really enjoyed playing this one. Bright colourful graphics and nice story. Found the HOG quite easy as were the mini games. But still enjoyed the game.
Date published: 2012-03-01
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Fun and Enchanting I really liked this game. It has beautiful scenes and a great story.
Date published: 2012-05-09
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Game! Great all round game. HOS very challenging. I wish more games today were like this game.
Date published: 2017-08-15
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Wonderful! I loved this game! Totally original, some surprising humor, plot twists, never got dull. Thank you for one of the best games ever.
Date published: 2016-04-11
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Fun game This is a fun adventure game with a good mix of HOS, mini games and finding objects to use. Also, this is not a dark or spooky evil run amok story. There is running back and forth which I didn't mind. This game made sense and the few times I was stumped a good think got me where I needed to go. This game also did a good job of unfolding the story. All in all the story was good, graphics good and hard enough to make you think without being frustrated. A great buy.
Date published: 2012-08-07
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Very Creative Game very much enjoyed this intriguing game
Date published: 2012-08-06
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Unique Gameplay & Nice Atmosphere BASED ON COMPLETED GAME FIRST IMPRESSIONS The game starts in one of my favourite ways – with vocals as well as music! The intro is nicely done, filling us in without need of narration, but with good voiceovers. The look and feel of the game at this stage is very ‘sixties’ to me. SIGHTS & SOUNDS The standard of graphics changes markedly at different points in the game. The opening segments are nicely painted and although a little misty, clear. The HOPs are also very clear and brightly lit , this time photo-realistic. It is the location graphics I have a problem with, they’re awful. Very grainy, crowded and over-detailed, dark and confusing. Very sad, because the close ups are so good! Well, except the early close ups of Miss Thorn’s face, who seems to be suffering some kind of eye infection. This is not a game with much in the way of movement. The scenes are mostly static, with shutter shots replacing animation. It would have been a much lovelier game with it. The sounds are great. Voiceovers wonderful, although no attempt at lip sync. The background noise is good, and the music very evocative. WHAT’S HAPPENING? Edwina returns to the place of her childhood to meet with the one person who might know something about the death of her parents, back when she was a young child. This is a sequel to two previous Margrave games, which I have not played, but which seem not especially necessary to this story, although it does seem a little patchy to begin with. Edwina has the gift of magic, and Miss Thorn soon discovers that she (Edwina) may be able to help with the removal of the Shadowlocks, which are keeping souls locked up. But Miss Thorn is not being entirely honest with Edwina... GAMEPLAY This is primarily a HOP game. There are unique mini-games that are a part of the particular style of this game, and a number of easy puzzles, but for the most part, we progress through the use of HOP scenes. These are inanimate and the item lists do not require interaction, but they are attractive, clear and well lit, even in dark locations. They are also more difficult than most, partly because some items are small, but mostly because they are cleverly blended in. The specific mini-games are two types. One is the familiar one of collecting items from a recipe to perform a spell and there are quite a few of them. As well, cryptic clues as to what you will need to progress are given each time you find and play a record. The unique aspect of this game, and it is very appealing, is a mini-game of “Dream Cards”. This cute little bit of magic allows you to discern a soul’s true name, and consists of matching sides of playing cards that are marked with symbols. It is a little tricky to explain. But it is a logic game that increases in difficulty each time you play it, and the final one was so complex, I cheated and looked at the walkthrough to get the first card in the formation. Instead of a journal, you have a “Keepsakes” inventory, which holds newspaper clippings, cryptic clues, etc. The hint offers you a next step option. There is no map. There is a lot of to and fro in this game, and it is easy to get lost, so mark your bearings well. *grin* There are 2 modes of difficulty, but the only real change is the length of the hint refill. COMBINED IMPACT I was surprised at how much I enjoyed this game and it’s quirky nature. It is worth noting that at first it seems sweeter and cuter than it turns out to be. It is also longer than I remembered it. But perhaps that is because this time, I refused to skip those tricky “Dream Card” puzzles.
Date published: 2014-02-09
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Too Short, lame ending The game was interesting. Graphics were excellent; conversation scenes seemed boring. Storyline was not the best. The grown child comes back to a place where she lost her parents and there is a beast of some sort on the loose. The ending was lame. HOS were pretty easy, did have to use the hint a couple times in the scenes that were too dark. Not too many HOS, most were repeated twice though. Very few puzzles, all were pretty easy. The card thing was pretty simple. No map which is one thing I think all games should have. Having to continuously go back and forth makes the game less enjoyable.
Date published: 2013-04-16
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Ghostly Reunion This game is basically fun. The scenery is well drawn and quite pretty. The story line is a "sweet" as it solves the mystery in a young woman's past. The HO scenes are good - challenging but not impossible. The scale of objects you are looking for is not realistic in proportion to what they are sometimes. The puzzles are varied, fun and not impossible but make you stop and think. Occasionally I felt stumped about what to do next but muddled my way onward. The music was pleasant and not annoying. There is no journal or map and there is a bit of to and froing. It isn't particularly scary so would be suited for playing with a child. All in all a very satisfactory few hours can be wiled away with this game.
Date published: 2012-08-07
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Margrave Gets a Fanciful Twist I played the first Margrave game when I purchased a HOG 6 pack at the store and enjoyed the story even though it was a very basic hunt and seek game with a few jigsaw and find the differences puzzles. When I saw this one as a daily deal I had to pick it up as it is a much more updated, adventure style HOG that follows up on the storyline of the original. I have to say I was very impressed! The cut scenes are a bit chessy, but endearingly so. I loved the addition of Celtic legend into the mix. It made for some excellent story. The visuals are beautiful, the puzzles are fairly challenging and the divining puzzles were a wonderfully fun change to the normal puzzle choices that get cycled through so many game these days. Overall this was quirky, cute, and a lot of fun. I would love to see another soon.
Date published: 2012-08-05
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Only one negative Based on entire game. Overall very enjoyable. Cutscenes were well done and artwork was lovely. Music was good. Human voices were pleasant. The high-pitched voices for the non-human characters done in unison were amusing. Hint system can nudge you in the right direction if you’re not sure what to do next. One negative: there is a bit of backtracking. A map would be nice (indicating where you are, especially after a lapse of several days between playing); an interactive map would be even better. HOS: Objects were readily identifiable and the scenes not too dark. [I have my monitor set to be more bright than dark.] Puzzles: Nice variety, ranging from easy to intermediate difficulty, with a fair number of dream card puzzles (needed to name the ghosts that are encountered). No “that’s only done in the movies” or similar irritating remarks when you do something incorrect in a puzzle. Several recipes are needed to release the animal spirits imprisoned in the Shadowlocks. Finding the ingredients was not difficult and casting the spells was fun.
Date published: 2012-06-25
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Keep them coming! Margraves' are great HOG This is the second in the series and is as good as the first. I personally like returning to a scene to find more HO. The HO were well hidden but I was able to find most of them without the help of clues. The story line was like a chick flick ----- sooooo.I really did like this HOG. Oh one other thing the puzzles were excellent also
Date published: 2012-05-28
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Captivating This is an absolute buy for today's DD price. The puzzles are a biy different but welcomed. As the rest of the reviews said the HOS are bit hard since some of the items are VERY well hidden, but hint HELPS!!!. This game captivated me as soon as it started, I don't think I have evr played a game where there is singing as soon as you go into it. The voice overs are well done but a bit anoying at times, especially when everytime you click on something the main character's voice tells you what to do, but then again it is helpful. This is a steal for the price and you should definetely get it!!!
Date published: 2012-05-27
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Nice Game, Could be Longer. Margrave: The Curse of the Severed Heart is a hidden object adventure game. The plot has you playing Edwina Margrave, a woman searching for clues as to what happened to her dead parents, and the legend of something called the Severed Heart. The graphics are lovely, drawn scenes. The music was very nice. The voice acting was okay, but got on my nerves at times, because the main character talks quite a bit when you are just clicking around. There are two difficulty settings for this game. I played on the harder setting. The puzzles were enjoyable, none were too difficult. Some of the hidden object scenes were repetitive, and some of the items were tough to spot. The game took me three hours to complete, playing slowly. That includes the time I got lost because I overlooked the path to a new area. If I hadn't gotten lost, it would have taken me less time to finish. Still, it was a nice game that I definitely enjoyed playing.
Date published: 2011-12-29
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Fun puzzles and HO This game was fun and was a relatively long game for the price (non Collector's edition). The game starts out easy, but the puzzles get progessively harder. Some of the puzzles were different from the unusal, which was also nice. The hint command helps with both the HO and the puzzles, which is helpful. Overall, it was fun to play.
Date published: 2011-12-31
Rated 4 out of 5 by from fun game, especially for the price this is a fun little hidden object game with lovely graphics and charming scenes to explore. there are lots of spirits/ghosts in it. the game objective: you are edwina margrave, a young woman who has returned to the cottage where her parents died when she was a child. she is searching to learn more about how they died. the graphics: lovely, quirky at times. the hidden object scenes are challenging; they invariably have one object that i couldn't find easily, so i used the hint button because i wanted to progress through as much of the game as possible during the one-hour demo. the music: not intrusive or distracting. the voiceovers: not too bad. my interaction: one hour demo, and then i purchased this game (but i have not yet finished it). it's a fun little game so far, and i am looking forward to finishing it.
Date published: 2012-05-27
Rated 4 out of 5 by from cute - could be longer very nice game beautiful graphics and music challenging but not too much five stars if longer
Date published: 2012-04-25
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Same old, same old, but OK. I had fun with it, nothing new really, well made, it kept me going.
Date published: 2012-08-04
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Beautiful Little Game I got this on a 2.99 special and didn't expect much - but this was a great little game. Well worth more than I paid. First - the visuals, graphics, sound are amazing. beautifully rendered, nice voice-overs, wonderful cut scenes. It's a stunning game to look at. Second - its a challenge. The story line is a bit confusing at first but makes more sense later on. The HOS are clear but some objects are hard to see/find. The Hint is generous and replenishes fast however. Most other puzzles are easy and they do have a skip feature. It is not an very "intuitive" game - I had to use the hint to figure out where to go/what to do next a couple of times. On the whole, however, an engaging character, an interesting story, a challenge to figure out, and nice scenes/music.
Date published: 2012-07-23
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Very challenging HO;s I enjoyed the game,. It had a decent story, I liked the British character, and her voice.but my gosh! The HOs were the most challenging of ANY other I have played! I do not think on even ONE I did not use the hint more than once (thank goodness it recharges super-fast) and this is not because they cheat by putting objects in the dark. These people are masters at hiding stuff, flat out. Sometimes the hint would come and I STILL did not see the object then BAM my focus shifted and there it was! The hint button gives decent hints although you do have to remember locations. A bit of back and forth but it goes fast as all loads quickly. It was an interesting story to some degree and well made. Altogether quite engrossing.
Date published: 2012-07-19
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Enjoyable game Enjoyed playing this game, but it would have benefited from a map for quicker navigation through scenes.
Date published: 2012-07-14
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Perhaps Mac users would vote this low because the first 2 chapters weren't ported over. With Mac only getting parts 3 and 4, perhaps this was an unclear following. Still, even with great music, as a standalone adventure, there are better Collector Editions. I will recommend the game because I know there are those who WOULD enjoy the softness of Edwina Margrave.
Date published: 2012-12-23
  • y_2022, m_5, d_23, h_21
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_3.0.27
  • cp_2, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_0, tr_62
  • loc_en_US, sid_10034, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=RATING, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=HELPFULNESS, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=FEATURED, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_bigfishgames

The Big Fish Guarantee:

Quality tested and virus free. No ads, no adware, no spyware.

Your Security and Privacy are important to us! Privacy Policy

, share your thoughts about this game!

Margrave: The Curse of the Severed Heart

Investigating her parents’ deaths, Edwina rekindles a centuries old tale of love and revenge. End the curse of the severed heart!

Heres what your review will look like once it’s posted.

Click Submit if you’re happy. Your review should appear soon. To make changes, use the Edit or Cancel buttons.

Thanks for sharing your thoughts about this game!

You’ve already shared your thoughts about this game.

Thanks for submitting the review below.