Shiver: Vanishing Hitchhiker

Shiver: Vanishing Hitchhiker

PC

Also available on

Hidden Object

Play Now Download the free trial

This game will not work on your operating system.

Are you sure you want to download this game?

Free 1 hour trial

(245.56 MB)

By clicking "Play Now", I accept the Terms of Use and acknowledge that I have received the Privacy Policy. If this is your first time downloading a game from Big Fish, our handy Game Manager app will install on your computer to help manage your games.
Buy Now Get the full version70% OFF!

This game will not work on your operating system.

Are you sure you want to purchase it?

Full version game

$ 9.99 USD

Only $2.99 - use coupon NEW299

After leaving something in your car, a hitchhiker vanishes! Track her down and return her things in Shiver: Vanishing Hitchhiker! Explore a spooky landscape as you figure out where the mysterious woman has gone in this exciting Hidden Object Puzzle Adventure game. Dive into a deeper mystery as you progress through incredible locations and scenes!

New customers get your first game for $2.99!*

70% OFF!

Use Coupon: NEW299

* Collector's Editions and free to play games not included.

Game System Requirements:

  • OS: Windows XP/Vista/8
  • CPU: 1.6 GHz
  • RAM: 1024 MB
  • DirectX: 9.0
  • Hard Drive: 254 MB

Big Fish Games App System Requirements:

  • Browser: Internet Explorer 7 or later
  • Alcohol Reference
  • Tobacco Reference
  • Mild Blood
  • Mild Language
  • Mild Violence
Reviews at a Glance

Shiver: Vanishing Hitchhiker

0 out of 5 (0 ReviewsReview)
Average Rating:
Play Now Download the free trial

This game will not work on your operating system.

Are you sure you want to download this game?

Free 1 hour trial

(245.56 MB)

Buy Now Get the full version70% OFF!

This game will not work on your operating system.

Are you sure you want to purchase it?

Full version game

$ 9.99 USD

Only $2.99 - use coupon NEW299

Customer Reviews
Shiver: Vanishing Hitchhiker is rated 4.4 out of 5 by 144.
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Brilliant game! Fantastic game with a brilliant storyline too...great graphics and the HOS were interactive which i love best! Can't wait to play the second instalment. Just perfect and spooky enough without being gory, and the hint system works a treat, just giving enough of a hint on where to go next without giving too much away.
Date published: 2012-04-02
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Scariest casual game I've played I'm usually not a fan of the realistic look in HOGs, but it works really well here because of the high resolution and the realism adds to the creepy atmosphere. There are lots of genuinely scary moments with effective use of sound/music. I liked that you occasionally went into dark rooms and had a permanent flashlight in your inventory that would let you explore these places. The puzzles and hidden object scenes are of average difficulty (i.e. easy) for a HOG, although one of the minigames which involved guiding a boat between obstacles was especially well done visually; the way ahead was shrouded in fog and the reflections in the water looked good. I felt a sense of dread as I explored the deserted town and was reluctant to enter new locations for fear of what I might see. There was no gore but lots of tension as you discover what happened in the town. A very well-executed (if not original) story.
Date published: 2012-03-22
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Will shiver your timbers.. Really, really good. Wasnt sure at first as two of the HO scenes were hard to see, but they got better, and the little flashlight was most helpful. The thunder was so realistic that I actually jumped every time I heard it! Nice story, too. Try it, you'll like it.
Date published: 2012-03-03
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Finishing the Demo I had started the demo a while back and never finishe it, don't know why. So I decided to finish the demo since the price was sooo good and I have to tell you I am glad I did. My hr is over and decided to purchase the game. It is a steal at this price. It has the right amount of suspense, the HOS are not junkie and the items are fairly easy to find. The story line is intriguing and keeps your interest. You get the use the inventory items right away and the hints are fantastic and reload quickly. Great game GET IT !!!
Date published: 2012-03-01
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great story and amazing graphics... This is one of the first games I downloaded from Big Fish, and I really enjoyed playing it. In fact, the story, puzzles, and graphics were so much fun that it spoiled me and I was disappointed in the next several games I downloaded. I have since learned to look for games like this, i.e. beautiful graphics, a developed story line, and a large variety of puzzles in addition to the hidden object scenes. Overall, the game feels very well thought out. It made me wish you could search by game maker on Big Fish, because I would like to play more by this company!
Date published: 2012-02-12
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Wonderful It was awesome - I really liked the shadowy, somber feel to the game. What I didn't like is that I ended. But, overall, a really great game. :)
Date published: 2012-01-13
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great game! The only problem with this game is that I had trouble stopping at bedtime. The story is good and creepy. The graphics are well-done. The puzzles and HO scenes are challenging while not being too much so. Just a very enjoyable game.
Date published: 2012-01-04
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Shiver: Vanishing Hitchhiker In the last 4 weeks I have purchased over 12 games. This one, in my opinion is the best by far. The story is easy to follow, the graphics are awesome. The music is not overbearing. As you go through this game the rain gives it a feeling of reality. The scenes look so real, you would swear this town really exsists. I love this game, and will play it over and over.
Date published: 2011-12-30
Rated 5 out of 5 by from So much fun! And Creeeeepy It's been a long while since I enjoyed a game this much. Very creepy, great puzzles, good time!
Date published: 2011-12-29
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great game I like this kind of games. Looking, searching, not too much HO. And not only HO but in the HO also searching to bring things together. Everything was just in balance. Only once I was stucked and I had to look in the walkthroug. More of this kind of games!
Date published: 2011-11-30
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great story and game Good game. Got it for $2.99 and it was worth full price. Not too much running around to find clues. Surprise ending. I was a little concerned that not enough light for the HO but finally noticed I could use the flash lite. Worth buying. Not a hard game at all.
Date published: 2012-08-09
Rated 5 out of 5 by from "Shiver" Vanishing Hitchhiker I have never written a review before but I felt compelled to to write this one. I loved this game and I have played a lot of HOS games. I do not like being scared or scary movies, but I have to say this one had me jumping at unexpected places throughout the story but I kept playing. I "shivered". It was a blast for me. I just made it a point not to play alone in the dark. :) I don't know the protocol for writing these reviews but I would definitely recommend this game. I liked the HOS and the variety of games that were included. The story line kept my attention which usually doesn't happen. Well that is my two cents. Keep 'em coming Big Fish.
Date published: 2012-03-08
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Excellent HO adventure Scary - well in parts, it was. Suspenseful - definitely! A very good HO and adventure game. I wanted to complete it to find out what happened. Liked the ending too! Creepy or what? Graphics are good enough to keep you hunting and trying to move on. I liked the fact that you have to use your imagination and try things to solve the puzzles and gain the next thing you need. some very interesting use of objects but none too off the wall to disarm the player. I really liked it... is there a sequel?
Date published: 2011-12-27
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Loved it! I play a lot of these games and really enjoyed this one. Great graphics, good story line and liked the interaction along with the hidden object games. Yes it's gloomy but that sets the story......I thought it was challenging as well.
Date published: 2011-12-09
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Shiver: Vanishing Hitchiker, This one is a keeper.... I loved this game. The theme tune is actually belonging to Tomb Raider Underworld, so for all you Lara fans...The characters look real, the story interesting and scenes were clear and hidd obj scenes were organized. This is a game I'd play across the platforms. A game similar to this was: Voodoo Whisperer Curse of a Legend, and Enigmatis: The Ghosts of Maple Creek
Date published: 2011-11-26
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Enjoyable Game! Shiver: Vanishing Hitchhiker is a hidden object adventure game. The story centers around trying to locate a mysterious hitchhiker. The graphics are beautiful, the story is creepy and engaging, and the gameplay is enjoyable. There are two difficulty settings for the game, and I played on the advanced difficulty mode. The puzzles were interesting, and a few were unique, but none were very challenging. I really liked the graphics of this game, and the story kept me riveted. I completed the game in around three hours, without skipping any puzzles, so I'd say it's average length. Even on the advanced difficulty mode there were some sparkles hinting that there was an area that needed to be examined closely. Overall, I really enjoyed this game.
Date published: 2011-12-13
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Beautiful Graphics, Sound, but a few questions Let me say I love this game! The graphics and sound alone kept me glued to the seat. When I see those falling leaves and hear the thunder and rain I'm hooked! However, I have unanswered questions: 1. Why did the boy want to kill? 2. Who was the old woman? Was she Christy's mother and are you "the player" the one that a note was talking about when it said "I implore you not to see that boy again."? 3. What was your "the player's" relationship or past association with Christy and the teddy bear? 4.. What was the cabinet or whatever that the fire went into and it said it looks like it goes to another world? That was never elaborated on at all. Some things were a little predictable; mainly the old woman turning into a skeleton. When I saw her with her back to you I immediately thought of Norman Bate's mother on Hitchcock's original psycho. Once again it was a very intriguing experience. My grandson played with me and my wife at times and my grandson kept saying: "I love that music." I kept saying: "I love the rain and thunder and graphics"! If you love spooky music, hauntingly BEAUTIFUL scenes and mystery, buy this game! If I thought the collector's edition would answer some questions I'd buy it.
Date published: 2012-07-06
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Captured my attention from the get-go From the beginning, opening scene, through the somewhat, but not all that, challenging puzzles and the spooky scenerio, this one kept me hooked from start to finish. Most importantly, it was a bit different from the typical game offering of this genre IMO. There were possibly a few sections that lagged a bit storyline-wise, but for the most part this was an original, captivating and creepy (in a cozy-fun way) game to play with the lights out (and ditto a rainy night, lol). Kudos to the devs for going a bit out of the box for us with this one. Enjoyed it very much.... looking forward to more by same designers(?). Thanks, BFG!
Date published: 2011-11-30
Rated 5 out of 5 by from One of our Favorites Our family LOVED this game. It had all the components we enjoy...made us jump, kept us in suspense, and the storyline hooked us from the beginning. Great visual effects/scare factor.
Date published: 2011-12-13
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Like a Book I couldn't put down! Great game! I enjoyed it and was bummed that it ended. I was happy the collector's edition had some extras at the end though.
Date published: 2011-11-26
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Loved this game! Out of all of the "mystery" games that I have played, this has been my favorite! The storyline was great and I did not want to stop playing once I had started the game.
Date published: 2011-11-27
Rated 5 out of 5 by from IF YOU ENJOY BEING SCARED THIS IS FOR YOU! Love this game Nice and Scary Just the way I like it The second time I played the game I decided I loved it so much That I needed the CE My suggestion is to Buy the CE in the first place!!
Date published: 2015-08-29
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Definite buy for HO This game is a challenge. I usually do not have a hard time navigating through the tasks but I got stumped a few times. Atmosphere was grim but not cheesy. Interesting, coherent story. I liked the style of this game the best out of any other HO. After I finished went out and bought poltergeist too.
Date published: 2012-09-28
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Gave Me the Shivers I tried the demo of thie game and HAD to buy it. Shiver: Vanishing Hitchhiker is a very suspenseful game that I just had to see through to the end. I only wish I'd opted to get the collector's edition for the bonus ending.
Date published: 2012-02-05
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Excellent Game I was truly amazed at the quality of this game. Although a little disjointed at first, it developed into a great experience. A delight to play.
Date published: 2011-12-14
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Liked it Nice graphics, well done HOS, interesting puzzles, good length and chance to use your memory skills. The only complaint are the sparkles for the HOS even in advanced mode.
Date published: 2014-01-10
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Probably my favorite HOG I have played this game many times and I finally decided to write a review about it. It starts off like a typical HOG I didn't think there would be much to it. But once the game starts with you walking up to an old house with an even older lady you are dragged in! I thought the HOS were some of the best and the music wasn't to bad either. The story was also one that didn't come to you immediately. You have to dig deeper than usual to find out what really happens and it is soooo worth it. I was completely satisfied!
Date published: 2013-12-26
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Held My Interest Throughout A very pleasant, entertaining game. The storyline was well paced. The hints were very helpful. HO's were at just the right level of quantity for me. Puzzles easy enough for me and not too numerous to be annoying as most HO games are for me. Quiet, gentle, story if sad, but with a good ending. I really liked this game!
Date published: 2013-08-06
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Looking for a Sequel! It seems there aren't too many games out there that have been created well enough to deserve such an honor for a sequel. However, this story left me begging for more. Throughout the game there was one huge question on my mind.... Who was the poor boy that was possessed? After freeing all the trapped souls I thought I would find the answers. Instead you cross your final path with the boy or spirit that has been taunting you throughout the game. The game creators did such an excellent job with this one. Please conclude the story of parts that leave you hanging. How does the main character know Christy? He didn't seem to remember her until the bear but this still left questions. Did they grow up in the same town? When did Christy meet up with the boy? What can stop the boy? His soul is still trapped. How about the story where he is freed as well? Thank you so much for such a riveting game and I do hope there will be a sequel.
Date published: 2013-07-05
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Loads of fun If you like spooky games with a challenge, then this is for you. Highly enjoyable!
Date published: 2013-02-27
  • y_2019, m_10, d_19, h_16
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_2.0.13
  • cp_2, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_0, tr_144
  • loc_en_US, sid_10400, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=RATING, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=HELPFULNESS, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=FEATURED, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_bigfishgames

The Big Fish Guarantee:

Quality tested and virus free. No ads, no adware, no spyware.

Your Security and Privacy are important to us! Privacy Policy

, share your thoughts about this game!

Shiver: Vanishing Hitchhiker

After leaving something in your car, a hitchhiker vanishes! Track her down and return her things in Shiver: Vanishing Hitchhiker!

Heres what your review will look like once it’s posted.

Click Submit if you’re happy. Your review should appear soon. To make changes, use the Edit or Cancel buttons.

Thanks for sharing your thoughts about this game!

You’ve already shared your thoughts about this game.

Thanks for submitting the review below.