Mystery Chronicles: Betrayals of Love

Mystery Chronicles: Betrayals of Love

PC

Also available on

Hidden Object

Play Now Download the free trial

This game will not work on your operating system.

Are you sure you want to download this game?

Free 1 hour trial

(131.82 MB)

By clicking "Play Now", I accept the Terms of Use and acknowledge that I have received the Privacy Policy. If this is your first time downloading a game from Big Fish, our handy Game Manager app will install on your computer to help manage your games.
Buy Now Get the full version70% OFF!

This game will not work on your operating system.

Are you sure you want to purchase it?

Full version game

$ 9.99 USD

Only $2.99 - use coupon NEW299

After the Countess is discovered dead, it’s up to you to follow the clues and find her murderer in Mystery Chronicles: Betrayals of Love! After Commissaire Jean Bertineau asks for your help in this high-profile murder, you travel to France and hope to get to the bottom of this gruesome murder. Upon arriving, you discover that the Count has gone missing! Get to the bottom of the case before the Count ends up being the next corpse you discover in this dark Hidden Object game!

New customers get your first game for $2.99!*

70% OFF!

Use Coupon: NEW299

* Collector's Editions and free to play games not included.

Game System Requirements:

  • OS: Windows XP/Windows Vista/Windows 7/Windows 8
  • CPU: 1.0 GHz
  • RAM: 256 MB
  • DirectX: 7.0
  • Hard Drive: 146 MB

Big Fish Games App System Requirements:

  • Browser: Internet Explorer 7 or later
Reviews at a Glance

Mystery Chronicles: Betrayals of Love

0 out of 5 (0 ReviewsReview)
Average Rating:
Play Now Download the free trial

This game will not work on your operating system.

Are you sure you want to download this game?

Free 1 hour trial

(131.82 MB)

Buy Now Get the full version70% OFF!

This game will not work on your operating system.

Are you sure you want to purchase it?

Full version game

$ 9.99 USD

Only $2.99 - use coupon NEW299

Customer Reviews
Mystery Chronicles: Betrayals of Love is rated 3.2 out of 5 by 37.
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Good Hidden Object Game Unlike some of the other reviews, i liked that the hidden object areas were challenging. The graphics were good and it was quite easy to find my way round the various areas. I liked that the sparkles weren't too obvious as well. However, i finished the game and discovered i still had things left in my inventory. So i consulted a walkthrough and i'd missed a chunk out but still managed to get to the end. Felt a bit cheated as i could have played for longer if i hadn't been "allowed" to get to the end scene.
Date published: 2012-05-31
Rated 4 out of 5 by from A beautiful game! Great, fun, interesting and beautiful game! When playing, I wished there were less hidden object scenes, especially at the end, when they are one after another. Other than that I enjoyed playing it very much! Beautiful graphics! Sounds are there, but you don't really notice them, they just make up the mood, which is the best! A+ .)
Date published: 2012-05-13
Rated 4 out of 5 by from A good hidden object game for a good price I liked the graphics in this game. It was nice and bright on my pc; maybe some of the other reviewers need to adjust the brightness on their screens. I don't care about the lack of voice over; I usually turn off the sound, because I find most of the music tedious, and I can read faster than the actors pronounce the lines. It was an interesting little game for the trial time. I play a lot of these games which are dark and depressing, so this one was a relief. That said, if you don't like hidden object games, don't bother.
Date published: 2012-05-13
Rated 4 out of 5 by from A Lovely Long Game A nice surprise for a non-CE game! True, there are no difficulty options, but the game is so long and there's so much back and forth, those unobtrusive sparkles come in handy! Also, though the story is nicely done & the graphics are pretty - the story is not compelling and the graphics not stunning - so it's a game you'll like to play vs. one you want to meander and get lost in - another plus for the single difficulty option! Lots of Hidden Object scenes - with some objects easily spotted and some very well hidden - so variety within each scene & hints re-charge quickly. Puzzles are mostly "find the clue" than true puzzles - but there are a few simple puzzles too. Overall a well thought out, well done game.
Date published: 2011-11-29
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Illicit love affair, murder, betrayal and more murder The year and location: 1903 Laura River, France and the Countess has been murdered and the Count gone missing and the police have arrested a poaching fisherman who found the body. Commissaire Jean Bertineau has telegraphed you, a renowned investigator, to come and help solve the crime as they have no clues. You arrive by horseless carriage to begin your investigation. You soon discover other suspects that could have motives including the Count. You learn about an Illicit love affair between the Countess [then a Duchess] and the Count and the mysterious death of the Duke [murdered?] and the quick wedding between the Count and Countess[Duchess]. Did the Count then become tired of the Countess and murder her? Only your investigation will tell. This is a simple who-done-it seek and find with situational puzzles to solve in each scene and no special achievements to worry about. During the game you do have to find 16 pieces of paper that you will have to put together to form a picture that is used to solve one of the puzzles toward the end of the game. There is a lot of backtracking as there is no map so it is wise to keep notes as to where you need to use some of the items you acquire. You will be acquiring an extensive inventory throughout the game with some being carried for some time before being used. As usual, each item has one function even though it could have been used in several places. Most of the time there is a logical progression as clues are added to the journal but eventually you reach the point where you wander from scene to scene to find the next HOS to obtain the item you may need some distance away. I did not use the hint button but have read that it does give specific scenes to return to when used outside HOS. The graphics were a mixture of well-done pictures and side scrolling cartoon style scenes that worked ok but were a little hard to get use to but since the game was released in 2011, it was not bad. Fortunately, there were only a few side scrolling graphic scenes. There are a lot of HOS scenes and they are well drawn and clear with all items visible although some are extremely faint such as a snowflake against a very light background. Again, as it is becoming the norm, many items to find are at odd angles so you need to look closely to identify them. The music was ok, nothing special, but was not continuous frequently starting and stopping , especially during HOS. There are no voiceovers so all dialog is by text that is clicked to continue. Makes for a quiet game as ambient sounds are not abundant. Nothing spetacular in this one but not a bad way to spend a few hours.
Date published: 2015-09-02
Rated 3 out of 5 by from A Little Bit Of Fun ... Graphics & Sound OK ... A Nice Enough Game With Enjoyable Graphics And Ambient Sounds (Some Looped A Bit Too Much) A Lot Of Travelling Back & Forth ... Often Got A Little Stuck And Wandered All Over To Find That I Had To Complete Or Replay A HOG The Hint Button Jammed Very Early In The Game, Constantly Repeating The Need To Complete An Already Completed Task ... This Game Fills In A Bit Of Time ... And Worth A Voucher ...
Date published: 2015-04-18
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Waste of $2.99....do not listen to other reviewers! I tried this game, and really liked the HO scenes. They are more difficult than usual, but in no way impossible. It was more like a real life junk scene, rather than contrived. That however, was all I liked. I bought this game because everyone said it was very long, which is a main factor for me. IT IS SHORT!! Maybe 3 hours, and that's with minimal use of hints in HO scenes, which take up the majority of the time. If you do get this game, you will want to use the hint button when you are through with a task; it will tell you which HO to go back to. Otherwise you spend your time looking at every location every time you need a tool. The story was ok, but it had potential to be so much more. Like many HOPAs, it is really just a HOG, which I find extremely disappointing. There are a few puzzles that are very easy.
Date published: 2013-10-23
Rated 3 out of 5 by from A Great Game for HO Lovers With A Touch Of Adventure Lite GAME COMPLETED SEVERAL TIMES Story: The Countess has been murdered, and the Count has disappeared. The French Commissionaire calls you in to solve the baffling mystery... Developer: Lazy Turtle Games Release Date: May 2011 Extras: None I enjoyed playing this game today, though I haven’t in the past. It’s a bit dated in its style and the graphics are odd. Sometimes they seem almost photo realistic, at others more like cartoons. But they do this thing with the water that looks excellent – enough to make you thirsty. It’s gameplay is quite good. There is a story that carries itself and gives motivation to the considerable running around needed to find clues and talk to suspects. This process involves a lot of HOs and very little else, yet maintains that feeling of being in the story that similar HO games can’t manage. There were only a couple of puzzles, and very few ‘found’ items for inventory (everything came from HOs), except 16 torn pieces of paper which act much like collectibles and are needed to solve the final mystery. A good afternoon's entertainment.
Date published: 2013-02-26
Rated 3 out of 5 by from YOU GOTTA LOVE HOGS Story: A countess has been murdered and her husband has disappeared. [Mystery readers beg the question: Did he kill her?] An unfortunate fisherman who found the deceased is being charged with her murder. But the police lack enough evidence to convict, so have called on you to investigate. As you determine who the suspects are, you stumble across the answer. Ending presents closure but is a little surprising. HOS/PUZZLES: I would classify this as a HOG with a little adventure thrown in, because it seems that almost every time you turn around, there’s another HOS. [Really, like a new HOS every 2 minutes!] They can be quite challenging. Although they are not too cluttered and most items are not too small, the difficulty is that the objects are blended into shady backgrounds so well, and I am taking a star off for that. There are a few standard puzzles, some with a clever presentation - nothing too challenging. HINTS: Outside of the HOS, the Hint system will tell you where you need to go and what you need to do. If you choose not to use it, prepare to wander aimlessly until you find a HOS and then figure out where to use whatever inventory item you get. This would be a good candidate for an interactive map that tells you where actions are possible. Graphics in the numerous locations are appealing; music and cutscenes adequate. Gameplay is not linear. Story is nothing new, nor are the HOS and mini-games. However, it is a nice solid HOG.
Date published: 2012-09-04
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Definitely not a keeper I bought this on the $2.99 weekly special and so glad I didn't pay more. Another reviewer used the word "tedious" and that sums this game up exactly. The story line was weak at best. The music was OK but kept coming and going. Not cutting out so much as just stopping for awhile then restarting. Graphics were pretty good in that the many, many HOGs were easy to see but still very difficult to do. That was the one aspect of the game I was really impressed with. I had to use hints through 90% of the HOGs to get them all because they were that cleverly done. When items were pointed out my general response was, "well duh!". They were so well blended and incorporated into the scenes that it really was a challenge. What ultimately turned me off and just frustrated the heck out of me was all of the to-ing and fro-ing. It could take a dozen steps to get into a building just to find one clue, usually with no idea what to do with it. Or after those dozen steps you get into the building and oops, you need to go back out and look for this and this as well. And there was no rhyme or reason as to where you needed to look, you just ultimately had to continuously go from scene to scene looking for the sparkles. Tedious with a capital T!!! The hint button would tell you where you needed to go next and what to look for once there. Ultimately I probably would never have bothered to finish if it hadn't. If you like lots of difficult and cleverly done HOGs with absolutely no interest in the story line then this is the game for you. If, on the other hand, you like games you can reason through by using your brain, that challenge you to think, give this one a wide, wide berth.
Date published: 2012-06-05
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Gives you exercise This game would be more fun if you didn't have to go back and forth through all the places you have been. Also different places are hard to find. So you end up running all over looking for places....
Date published: 2012-06-02
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Really not a bad Weekly Catch. A pretty much straight forward HOG, so if you're into lots of HO scenes this one is definitely for you. Now, this game is quite old, so don't expect it to be perfect in terms of graphics and sound. No voice overs and the hint system recharges quite slow. I haven't come across any puzzles, but I only played about 15 minutes and forgot to quite the game after the phone rang, so I lost the rest of the demo :-S. The storyline is ok, a countess got murdered and her husband disappeared. Your role is the one of the investigator. The locations I saw are nicely done. Had this game been released today, then I would find plenty of things to nag about :-), but due to its age, I really can't find anything wrong with it. It being the Weekly Catch I'd buy it if I'd need one more punch to complete a punch card and at some point would play it all the way through. I always find these older games to come in very useful when I want to play something that isn't too demanding.
Date published: 2012-05-31
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Better than I expected Having read other reviews I wasn't expecting much from this game, but as I have Mystery Chronicles: Murder Among Friends, I wanted to give this a try. I'm not sure if I would've purchased it, had it not been the Daily Deal, but it is still quite a good game. I found the HOS to be challenging, and the mini games that I did in the trial were a little incomprehensible, so I found myself skipping them. I'm hoping that I won't be doing that throughout the rest of the game. I liked the storyline, and it had me intrigued enough at the end of the trial to purchase the game. The hint button takes a while to recharge, so use it sparingly.
Date published: 2012-05-12
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Not the best... I like murder mystery games so I was disappointed by this offering. The game had no voiceovers but thats ok in a standard edition game. It had nice music that made sense in the overall theme of the game but there was only one game mode and it had sparkles but even with a challenge mode, Im not sure this game would have been any better. The hidden object scenes were terrible. A lot of the items were dark on dark making it impossible to see and some other items were in the very corner of the screen underneath the diary! how in the world would you find that without a hint? The good news is the hint button recharges pretty fast but the fact there are sooo many hidden object scenes and the objects are just so hard to see made this game very tedious and boring. The few mini games were not very challenging but maybe that was to make up for the hard hidden object scenes. The other thing about this game was that it was glitchy. When I trialled it, I had no problem with it but after I bought it, it ran kind of weird. For example, every time the first screen would load, it would flicker. One time it told me my profile was corrupt and I had to start over, luckily I had just started but each time it flickered again and I would cross my fingers that my game would be okay (it was). The overall story in this game lost me at some point too. Im not sure if it was the slow pace of the game or the hidden object scenes putting me off but when I found out what happened, I didn't care and it didn't make sense. And I felt like this game was never going to end. Near the end, I thought I had everything I needed to complete the game but it kept sending me back to the same scenes I had gone to previously where a hidden object scene magically appeared in the same spot for the 3rd or 4th time. That does not make a game fun in my opinion. Its definitely not the worst game Ive ever bought and played but its not really one of the best either...I don't recommend it.
Date published: 2012-05-01
Rated 3 out of 5 by from On Betrayels Of Love Being an artist, I always look at graphics..and I liked this in game, so kudos for the artists..but sadly FINDING objevts is at times impossible :(( That took the FUN away for me as I HATE asking hints..but truly, in comparrison with many other games I played, well...the fun got lost by getting articles..pity...
Date published: 2011-12-22
Rated 2 out of 5 by from If I got a do-over, I wouldn't do this over. I found this game to be utterly ridiculous. I can't remember ever playing a game where I had to do so much running back and forth. Very little of where to find anything was remotely intuitive; I felt like I was constantly clicking on the hint button for a clue as to where I was going and what I needed to find when I got there. The worst offender has to be the final confrontation with the murderer. First I needed to collect three boards to fix the broken ladder. Then I had to get the ladder from one location. Then I needed to get nails from another location, and a hammer from yet another location. Then once I climbed the ladder, I needed to go someplace else to get a rope to lower myself. THEN I needed a weapon, which was in yet another location! Finally I got inside the building where the final confrontation was to take place...and was told that "I need something long to hang from that hook." The constant backing up to find more and more components gave me an absolute headache. I actually have not finished the game as of writing this review, because I became so thoroughly annoyed that I don't even care anymore. The H0 puzzles were okay, but they got on my nerves too. So many of the objects were hidden behind one another or at the edges of the scene. The non-H0 puzzles were at least interesting, and challenging. The story wasn't bad, but compared to the irritation of the running around, it felt simplistic and contrived. The graphics were a mix; the environments were beautiful and felt real, but the people, not so much. I couldn't bring myself to care about any of the characters either. I think I bought this as a DD or COTW in order to fill up a punch card, and the reviews were positive enough to encourage the purchase. If I had it to do over, though, I wouldn't buy this one again.
Date published: 2016-01-02
Rated 2 out of 5 by from Read on for things I disliked about this game. Read the other reviews for details. I didn't like the hints. I'm used to free hints for at least my next move but not in this game -- you're told what do next. There is no map and the game is a big maze. I ended up making a map of my own. The HOPs are hard only because the graphics are so poor. I own it but won't play it again.
Date published: 2013-10-26
Rated 2 out of 5 by from Could have been so much better This game was such a shame as there was no real progression to the story, you keep going backward and forwards to the same places but there is no explanation as to what you need to obtain and why... The Hint button was the only real help in the game and I hate to use the Hint button...
Date published: 2012-11-19
Rated 2 out of 5 by from Mystery Chronicles: Betrayals of Love I found it difficult because the HO were very hard to find, the color was the same. The Hint wasn't any help. I had to go to the Walkthrogh many times. Also it dosen't have a map and you have to go all over the scenes to find something. The Diary wasn't any help also. Very poor visuals. This is my second review and is because this game wasn't good for the price.
Date published: 2012-07-31
Rated 2 out of 5 by from Not A Well-Constructed HOG I purchased this as a Weekly Catch special and the $2.99 price tag is about right... wouldn't have been pleased to pay full price for this one. The hidden object scenes were not great - you could click on something several times before it'd register. Sometimes it'd hide objects behind the diary on the left side of the screen... I don't like using my hint button if at all possible, but it was necessary to advance in this game. The storyline is incredibly thin and doesn't make a lot of sense. The characters don't even have names, so I lost track of who was married to who and why so and so was murdered... but there was so much tedious back and forth without a lot of direction or logic to it, that I honestly didn't care. The resolution of the mystery is abrupt and, again, doesn't make a lot of sense. There are random appearances of ghosts that don't get any follow-up... I don't know, this game was trying too hard to be too much, and ended up being nothing much at all. I finished it because I felt like it would have been a waste of money to leave it unfinished.
Date published: 2012-06-12
Rated 2 out of 5 by from Worst ever! Had no idea where I was supposed to go or what I was supposed to do. Nothing made sense. HOG's were impossible - objects too small and dark. Don't waste even $2.99.
Date published: 2012-05-29
Rated 2 out of 5 by from blagh I don't like it, it just doesn't do a thing for me.
Date published: 2012-05-16
Rated 2 out of 5 by from HO HUM Disappointing and difficult to get around in. The story line is weak, and the game is all over the place with no guidance by way of map. Hints are OK, but sometimes very vague. I like a challenge and I think this game is meant to be challenging, however, I found it exceedingly frustrating. Graphics are better than average. All in all one of my more dismal purchases.
Date published: 2012-04-02
Rated 2 out of 5 by from Not Recommended Although this game is long and relatively complex, the poor graphic quality and pointless story line make it tedious rather than entertaining. The items in the too-numerous hidden object scenes tend to be extremely small, dark, and so poorly rendered that I often could not recognize them even when using a hint. While this is generally true of the entire Mystery Chronicles series, the insipid story and inability to set the level of difficulty combine to make this edition not worth buying, even at a discount.
Date published: 2011-12-03
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Not Impressed Played until the end, well i've bought a few duds in my time but this is way up there, the game doesn't naturally progress which is very annoying and means you have to rely on the hint and almost be led through the game, for example you can be at the watermill placing an item from your inventory and unless you want to spend ages going through each scene looking for the HOS sparkle to move on you have to use the hint that tells you to go to the cave to do the HOS to get the next bit and the whole game is like that, really frustrating The HOS are difficult but i just got in the habit of clicking the smallest things, i didn't have any joy from this game or sense of achievement at all
Date published: 2012-11-19
Rated 1 out of 5 by from A BIG Disappointment! When I read the little snippet of a preview, I had good hopes for this game, but when I finished the demo, I was really disappointed! (based on 35 minutes of the demo) Good Parts: Good graphics after the intro and for the HOS. Hint and skip had good recharge speeds. I liked the suspect cards. They were one of the best things of the game. OK Parts: The HOS. They were alright, but a little on the ichallenging side. There was only one level of difficulty. I didnt mind, but would've liked some extra options. Bad Parts: No voice-overs. Intro graphics were cartoon and cheap. Storyline had great potential, but I was really let down. The storyline was a real bore, with no voice-overs and no intro, all reading. A strategy guide should have been included as sometimes it was hard to figure out what to do. I hated the puzzles,; they were overly complex and really boring. No tutorial. Too many HOS at once. I finished one, walked straight in to another one, and only 2 areas later found another one! I get it's a Hidden Object game and all, but ease up a bit! Pretty much from the moment I started, I knew this was going to be a terrible game. Not recommended.
Date published: 2012-11-03
Rated 1 out of 5 by from no title too scattered with too many places to investigate
Date published: 2012-05-31
  • y_2019, m_3, d_24, h_15
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_2.0.11
  • cp_2, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_0, tr_37
  • loc_en_US, sid_10415, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=RATING, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=HELPFULNESS, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=FEATURED, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_bigfishgames

The Big Fish Guarantee:

Quality tested and virus free. No ads, no adware, no spyware.

Your Security and Privacy are important to us! Privacy Policy

, share your thoughts about this game!

Mystery Chronicles: Betrayals of Love

After the Countess is discovered dead, it’s up to you to find her murderer in Mystery Chronicles: Betrayals of Love!

Heres what your review will look like once it’s posted.

Click Submit if you’re happy. Your review should appear soon. To make changes, use the Edit or Cancel buttons.

Thanks for sharing your thoughts about this game!

You’ve already shared your thoughts about this game.

Thanks for submitting the review below.