Nightmare Realm

Nightmare Realm

PC

Also available on

Adventure

Play Now Download the free trial

This game will not work on your operating system.

Are you sure you want to download this game?

Free sample version

(176.34 MB)

By clicking "Play Now", I accept the Terms of Use and acknowledge that I have received the Privacy Policy. If this is your first time downloading a game from Big Fish, our handy Game Manager app will install on your computer to help manage your games.
Buy Now Get the full version70% OFF!

This game will not work on your operating system.

Are you sure you want to purchase it?

Full version game

$ 9.99 USD

Only $2.99 - use coupon NEW299

Journey into the mysterious Nightmare Realm and save Emily from an imaginary world that has been taken over by darkness! Explore gorgeous Hidden Object scenes and find helpful items to use as you battle a mysterious creature. Solve perplexing puzzles to unravel a mystery and help Emily escape before time runs out in Nightmare Realm!

New customers get your first game for $2.99!*

70% OFF!

Use Coupon: NEW299

* Collector's Editions and free to play games not included.

Game System Requirements:

  • OS: Windows XP/Vista/8
  • CPU: 1.0 GHz
  • RAM: 512 MB
  • DirectX: 9.0
  • Hard Drive: 735 MB

Big Fish Games App System Requirements:

  • Browser: Internet Explorer 7 or later
Reviews at a Glance

Nightmare Realm

0 out of 5 (0 ReviewsReview)
Average Rating:
Play Now Download the free trial

This game will not work on your operating system.

Are you sure you want to download this game?

Free sample version

(176.34 MB)

Buy Now Get the full version70% OFF!

This game will not work on your operating system.

Are you sure you want to purchase it?

Full version game

$ 9.99 USD

Only $2.99 - use coupon NEW299

Customer Reviews
Nightmare Realm is rated 4.3 out of 5 by 46.
Rated 5 out of 5 by from This is an excellent game! This was a lot of fun. I loved the artwork and the storyline right up to the ending. I thought a major detail in the end of the story didn't work but I probably care more about the story than most. The whole rest of the game was exceptional!
Date published: 2011-12-02
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Reminds me of the same quality as The Drawn series I really loved this game! My only quibble with it was that I managed to detect all the hidden origami figures, but still couldn't access the bonus puzzle mentioned in the tutorial. Evidentally, that's only part of The Collector' Edition. Still, a hugely entertaining game that i look forward to playing again.
Date published: 2011-12-11
Rated 5 out of 5 by from The Graphics Were Great The colors were very fibrant, just well done overall. Surprised it didn't last longer on the top ten page.
Date published: 2012-04-18
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Ageless Very imaginative game. Fun. Well worth buying
Date published: 2011-11-15
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Loved it! I felt the artwork was great!!
Date published: 2011-11-23
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Title is Deceptive It sounds dark and generic but - based on a "Best of 2011" list - I gave it a try. Gorgeous graphics, interesting HO challenges and charming, sympathetic characters. Puzzles were easy enough that I never felt hung up from the rest of the game action. In no way relevant to the plot, but I was disappointed to find that Emily did not, in fact, have two daddies :-)
Date published: 2012-05-31
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Excellent Game I don't every give game reviews, but this one deserves a 5 Star Rating. Definately the neatest, coolest Big Fish Game I have purchased in a long, long, long time. You've just got buy this one. Have a Great Day ! ! !
Date published: 2012-05-13
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Strange but good When I started playing this game, it seemed kind of dumb, but it really picked up. Challenging but not overly difficult. Not a whole lot of going back and forth with objects found like some games. The HO scenes were good with some twists thrown in. Good map and clues. Overall, an enjoyable and well-done game.
Date published: 2012-01-07
Rated 5 out of 5 by from loved it i love this game it was lots of fun to play with my son
Date published: 2011-12-04
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Nightmare Realm The story line was a little sad but overall a great game! A couple of things were very challenging to find which made it all worth while!
Date published: 2011-12-07
Rated 5 out of 5 by from A good fantasy adventure You have to save your daughter Emily from dark forces that use children for their special talents. No VOS. HOS interactive with some really cute tricks. Some seek and find. Good story and interesting characters. Good puzzles. About 4 1/2 on casual play.
Date published: 2012-08-02
Rated 5 out of 5 by from great game! Awesome game i loved it since the first minute!
Date published: 2012-01-03
Rated 4 out of 5 by from STARTS SLOW; GETS BETTER AS YOU PROGRESS STORY: is slow to develop. The daughter, Emily, disappears into a drawing which suddenly “poofs” (i.e., a small explosion-like feature) and you also find that her drawings in the hallway are burning at the same time. You have to go through the drawing through which she disappeared and find her drawings in order to save her. Her uncle is there to help you. Ending was rather sudden (Emily had a surprise happen to her). Game took a little over 3 hours. MOVING FORWARD: Emily’s uncle joins in the hunt to rescue Emily’s paintings, and thus Emily. You’ll encounter minor catastrophes along the way (boy, can the uncle stay under water for a long time). Every time you find a painting, you have to return to the house and hang it, look at Emily’s portrait in the master bedroom and gather a new tool to help in further exploration. The transitions to different location is logical and you should have no trouble finding your way around. HOS: are done in a complementary color palette. Objects are easily found and the HOS are interactive. PUZZLES are widely varied in type and difficulty. I did find it difficult to find the rope for capturing the dog and ended up consulting the W/T; but other than that, I was able to solve all the puzzles. Not too much hand-holding, but progress is still straightforward and holds no surprises on what to do next. It was great fun making the healing potion for the factory master on behalf of the witch doctor. OTHER STUFF: Collect the 33 origami to unlock a special content. This is the 2nd time I’ve played and I’ve yet to find all the origami. Maybe I should look at the W/T next time. Hints take about 40 seconds and skips close to 3 minutes to recharge. Expert mode takes even longer. Diary has the story plus clues and the map showing active locations and points of interest (map is not interactive though – but is not a direct hindrance because there are not that many locations needed for you to backtrack too far). SUMMARY: Good game for an afternoon of relaxation. Lovely scenes interspersed with drab locations (which seem to be the case as you initially enter into the “poofed” painting). Actions are easy to understand. Animation is fantastic. Music is appropriate to the scenes. The SE also has an origami collection, but I don’t think that it has the special content. Still, if you like to collect things, you should like either the CE or the SE.
Date published: 2013-10-24
Rated 4 out of 5 by from pleasantly surprised I was so hesitant about trying this game but I am so glad that I did. The graphics are wonderful and the story is exciting. I didn't even miss that there weren't any voice-overs. The whole game is very interactive, even HOS. Puzzles weren't too hard but interesting. The map indicates available actions but does not allow for travel. The Hint also states the next available action. Really, the best part is the way the plot is so integrated with gameplay. You also get to collect origami as you go. Was pleasantly surprised how well this game was put together. Only wish it had been longer.Glad I played this one before "In the End", next on my list.
Date published: 2013-05-07
Rated 4 out of 5 by from A really great HOA! Loved the artwork! I started playing the demo for the second installment to this game and loved it. But before buying and playing the full version I decided to start from the beginning of the story and I purchased this. I really enjoyed the way this game unfolded and how involved you really are in the game, down to opening and reading a letter in an envelope and lighting the birthday candles on a cake yourself at the end of the game. I really loved those little extra things. I also really enjoyed the different types of artwork all throughout the game; some parts looked hand drawn or painted painted, others scenes looked drawn by a child, and some of the landscape scenes were beautifully computer generated pieces... it was definitely cool the way they mixed it up and with some of the scribbly, little kid drawings, it really made you feel like the little girl Emily was a real part of the game. The HOS weren't in an overabundance, which is a plus for me as at times they can become quite tedious and boring when there are too many. The mini games and puzzles weren't too challenging, but they were still fun to play and figure out, even if you didn't need to put a lot of thought into them. Overall I'd give this game a 4.5! Really entertaining and interactive. I just wish that it was longer!! I beat it in about two-three days, playing for a few hours each day.
Date published: 2013-04-03
Rated 4 out of 5 by from I Liked It! I give this game 4 stars. I enjoyed the storyline. It is basically about a child's innocence being a strong energy source and being at its strongest between his 6th & 7th birthday. It has an interesting twist at the end, which I thought was great. The challenges of the mini games were not too hard. In fact, I think most were easy to figure out. The minus with that though is that you had to either figure out what you were supposed to do YOURSELF, or hit the hint button to figure out the game. And it DOES take away from your hint meter time. A map is provided to show you your current location and if there is a task for you to do there. However, it is not an interactive map, which I disliked, because there will be times when you are constantly going back & forth. That did not make it fun. The visuals were absolutely beautiful & sharp. You really feel like you are in that location. Overall, I think most will enjoy this game. Take a chance and see for yourself.
Date published: 2013-01-03
Rated 4 out of 5 by from A Wonderful Way to Spend an afternoon! I found the story for this game grabbing me in very quickly and although there was a childlike innocence to some of the beginning spots it quickly became evident that this wasn't a game for small children. The PROS and CONS for me were: PROS: -beautiful graphics. -excellent JOURNAL to give you the back story and clues you need and the MAP was wonderful to point you on you way if you didn't know where to go next. -When you are desperate and must resort to a hint this HINT SYSTEM is wonderful for getting you back on track quickly. CONS: - My biggest let down for this game was no voice overs from the characters. Just using real actors voices would take many 4 star games to 5 star ones just by that little addition. The human voice can create so many wonderful and creepy emotions and you really notice the difference in a game with speaking characters. If this game had speaking characters I would have given it a 5 without hesitation. However, it still well earned the 4 that I gave it for an over all great time. I love collecting things in a game so collecting the origami was a fun plus and the little trick with the tinkling bottles made me smile. All in all, a game worth playing!
Date published: 2012-10-19
Rated 4 out of 5 by from FUN FANTASY GAME! This game is well worth the purchase. Lots of fun HOS & interactive tasks to do. Storyline is ok. You have to save your Daughter who was taken to some kind of otherworld. Beautiful scenes and graphics. I played the hard mode and still found it to be pretty easy. Beginners and Intermediates will find it challenging.
Date published: 2012-07-17
Rated 4 out of 5 by from A cute story! This game is really a peace of art! The graphics are wonderful! I like the story (it's so positive in the end). There is a map that shows you where there is a task. The journal is helpful. The HOS are very clear. The puzzles are easy. The only downside for me is that it could have been longer; it took me a little less than 2.5 hours to finish. But all in all, I enjoyed the time spent!
Date published: 2012-06-24
Rated 4 out of 5 by from A Great Story for Parents This game was an unexpected pleasure. It started out much the same as other hidden object games, with a disappearance and a search. The artwork was colorful and exotic, if a bit too cartoonish, and the background music was largely uninspiring. The puzzles were easier than in the average game, but did have some nice variations, such as placing objects behind doors and having the player complete a number of mini-tasks to find an ultimate listed item. The game's real claim to fame, however, is the story ending. I won't give any of it away, but it involves sacrifice, and if you're a parent, this will almost bring tears to your eyes. It was enough to make me play it again.
Date published: 2012-05-27
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Pretty good-looking for a nightmare The things I liked the most about this game are the beautiful graphics and the fun dream worlds that you get to visit. The story was pretty interesting too as you uncover letters throughout the game that makes the characters who are helping you seem to be untrustworthy; it was a good way to introduce a little intrigue into the game. Both the location and hidden object scenes are really beautiful. All of the characters and animals are also done well, and you get a good sense of them being alive and having real personalities. There was a good variety of puzzles but nothing really new--fun to play nonetheless. The map and journal are also well done, consistent with the high quality graphics throughout the game. The map indicates rooms in which you can take actions so you can check it if you get stuck. I appreciated the optional "side quest" of collecting hidden origami. However, I didn't know until I looked at the walkthrough that finding them unlocked instructions for folding different types of origami. While the story was interesting (and had one very cool and satisfying plot element that was hinted at throughout the game), the ending left me feeling a little baffled and wanting to know more about the reveal.
Date published: 2012-05-22
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Excellent game for all levels of players Short but still good, linear and not too much back and forth. Map is available, not interative though. No VOs so look forward to light reading. Look at everything and ignore nothing, even the strangest things can be valuable tools. I loved the imagination aspect used in the storyline and the theme of going from childhood to adulthood. The puzzles can be fairly challenging and the HOS had the added interactive aspect to find objects. Graphics are a little on the cartoonish side but I think it gives it added charm and quality to the storyline.
Date published: 2012-05-07
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Worth the money! One of the better HO/Adventure games I've played. The story is engaging and fun, the hidden object scenes are clever and interactive and the adventure itself is well done. My only complaint is that is relatively short, and would have liked to continue the adventure through more screens. The puzzles were relatively simple, perhaps overly so, but if you're looking for something more casual then you won't be disappointed. If you enjoy the more fantasy oriented HO adventures I highly recommend this one.
Date published: 2012-03-18
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Nice game well worth a purchase More than just a junk pile HOG it has a little more of a challenge which is well thought out. Nice little game well worth playing.
Date published: 2012-02-16
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Wonderful! At first I am not sure whether I should buy this game. I tried the demo but wasnt very impressive to me that I decided to wait until sale comes. Well, I was pretty wrong. Turns out this game has the most beautiful artwork ever, and the storyline is very interesting. I was awed by how great the storyline is from the beginning to the end of the game. Kind of keep me curious even though it has finished. Nice game!
Date published: 2012-06-29
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Nightmare Realm is great fantasy! Enjoyed the story, and the puzzles weren't that difficult. I need to start a new profile for advanced play if for no other reason than to collect all 33 origami shapes - only got 29!
Date published: 2011-12-28
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Good Adventure, Puzzle and Some HOGs Really did like this game. Kept me entertained. Art work was very well done. Enjoyed the puzzles that allowed you to continue. The HO games were fine...not hard and not too intrusive. The game was fairly short...just a few hours. You do backtrack to various locations but I didn't mind as the artwork was so lush particularly after you help the witchdoctor. Ending was rather strange but didn't really detract from the game. Part of the game was to find "hidden" origamis to unlock another part of the game. I didn't realize this until too late so I didn't get the required # so I don't know what you get to do if you do this. I would recommend.
Date published: 2012-10-08
Rated 3 out of 5 by from A good beginner's game This was a pretty good game. Graphics were good, flow was smooth. It was a bit short, though, and puzzles weren't that difficult, so I'd say it's better for those who aren't as familiar with this genre. Didn't care for the ending - seemed like the writers ran out of ideas. Btw, someone said there is no map, but there is if you click on the journal and look at the upper left.
Date published: 2013-07-12
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Some good points and some bad points. I did find this a reasonably good game, but perhaps a bit too easy.I'm not sure what age group this is aimed at. The main character, Emily is 7 years old. I would have thought that the game was aimed at children except that some of the content is quite scary and disturbing. The graphics were also confusing. Most of the time they were excellent, but other times it just looked like a hand-drawn cartoon. There was a good hint system and a useful map. I think I will recommend the game for it's overall performance, but maybe not for anyone who wants a challenge.
Date published: 2011-12-20
Rated 3 out of 5 by from good but Not a bad game just not for me. Lots of reading to do, no voice over. Graphics are good and music is not bad. Lots of running around but with some flow to the game. The HOS are easy. My biggest problem is the hint button is worthless. No map. You do have other things to find which makes for more fun. Just a lot going on.
Date published: 2013-05-17
  • y_2022, m_5, d_20, h_22
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_3.0.27
  • cp_2, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_0, tr_46
  • loc_en_US, sid_11434, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=RATING, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=HELPFULNESS, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=FEATURED, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_bigfishgames

The Big Fish Guarantee:

Quality tested and virus free. No ads, no adware, no spyware.

Your Security and Privacy are important to us! Privacy Policy

, share your thoughts about this game!

Nightmare Realm

Journey into the Nightmare Realm and save Emily from an imaginary world that has been taken over by darkness!

Heres what your review will look like once it’s posted.

Click Submit if you’re happy. Your review should appear soon. To make changes, use the Edit or Cancel buttons.

Thanks for sharing your thoughts about this game!

You’ve already shared your thoughts about this game.

Thanks for submitting the review below.