Love Chronicles: The Sword and The Rose

Love Chronicles: The Sword and The Rose

PC

Also available on

Hidden Object

Play Now Download the free trial

This game will not work on your operating system.

Are you sure you want to download this game?

Free sample version

(181.88 MB)

By clicking "Play Now", I accept the Terms of Use and acknowledge that I have received the Privacy Policy. If this is your first time downloading a game from Big Fish, our handy Game Manager app will install on your computer to help manage your games.
Buy Now Get the full version70% OFF!

This game will not work on your operating system.

Are you sure you want to purchase it?

Full version game

$ 9.99 USD

Only $2.99 - use coupon NEW299

Lift an evil curse that has been cast on the kingdom by a witch looking for revenge in Love Chronicles: The Sword and the Rose! Scattering the petals of an island kingdom’s magical rose throughout the land, the witch has plunged the kingdom into turmoil and it’s up to you to save the day. Gather the petals, defeat a terrifying beast, and confront the witch in this exciting Hidden Object Puzzle Adventure game!

New customers get your first game for $2.99!*

70% OFF!

Use Coupon: NEW299

* Collector's Editions and free to play games not included.

Game System Requirements:

  • OS: Windows XP/Vista/8
  • CPU: 1.0 GHz
  • RAM: 512 MB
  • DirectX: 9.0
  • Hard Drive: 308 MB

Big Fish Games App System Requirements:

  • Browser: Internet Explorer 7 or later
Reviews at a Glance

Love Chronicles: The Sword and The Rose

0 out of 5 (0 ReviewsReview)
Average Rating:
Play Now Download the free trial

This game will not work on your operating system.

Are you sure you want to download this game?

Free sample version

(181.88 MB)

Buy Now Get the full version70% OFF!

This game will not work on your operating system.

Are you sure you want to purchase it?

Full version game

$ 9.99 USD

Only $2.99 - use coupon NEW299

Customer Reviews
Love Chronicles: The Sword and The Rose is rated 4.2 out of 5 by 47.
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Even Better Than the First One! I really enjoyed the first game in this franchise, and I have to say this one is even better. Like the original, this is a fragmented object game, but there are more mini-puzzles than the original. Very fun game to play. The graphics are beautiful, the fairy tale story is engaging, and the music is nice. The game length is good, and seemed longer than the first game in the series. I am looking forward to the next release!
Date published: 2011-11-29
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Can't Wait For The Next One This is similar to the first game, but even better. They added really challenging puzzles and also Hidden Object Scenes where you did have to find things on lists. They did not make it so easy to tell you what you should do. It made me think about where I should go and what I should do. Like the first game, you also had to do a certain sequence of actions to get a desired result for your main character. I did have to use the Hint button a little bit just to figure out what room I missed finding an important object in it. I would say it was a longer length then the first game. The storyline did lose one point because it had some typos in the journal entries which should be checked for before releasing a game. Spell check was invented on computers for a reason. :) Other than that I really liked this game and it was really fun to play. I can't wait for the next game in the series. Hopefully this prince will find true love for himself and help get rid of the evil witch once and for all.
Date published: 2012-04-04
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Delightful game this kept me entertained. Sometimes I wondered if I found all the frozen roses, which, by the way, kept the storyline going. Many delightful scenes, puzzles extraordinare [loved the stiching!] and then it ended - so sorry let it go! Loved it.
Date published: 2012-04-15
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Couldn't stop playing Excellent game. The story line was wonderful and the graphics too.
Date published: 2011-11-27
Rated 5 out of 5 by from This is my favorite kind of game! Not too hard, not too easy, with beautiful graphics and interesting challenges.
Date published: 2012-05-09
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Enchanting Game I played the demo of it's predecessor, "the Spell", and decided it wasn't long enough or good enough to warrant a purchase. The Sword and The Rose, however, definitely warrants the purchase. Enchanting storyline, enjoyable gameplay and puzzles, creative and beautifully crafted game. It left an impression.
Date published: 2012-04-02
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Entertaining Fantastic game, the story, the fantasy, the grafic, all aout it is just 5+ star
Date published: 2011-11-19
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Love chronicles always good Even better than the first one (the spell). Fairy tale storyline engaging, graphics and music nice.
Date published: 2012-04-13
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Loved it I played the hour trial. I enjoyed the atmosphere and the challenge of the game. The story was good and graphics beautiful. I found it very fun, engrossing and pleasant to play.
Date published: 2012-02-14
Rated 5 out of 5 by from excellent game I played on expert mode, great level of difficulty for an intermediate player. The graphics were very nice even if a little dark, but no over the top creepiness if you're tired of the horror stories. Many HO scenes require you to put a contraption together after you find all the parts, which adds something fun and different. Hints are very helpful, if you're not in the right scene they'll show you a picture of the scene you need to get to and accurately direct you to the next action. The game is hardly a sappy love story thank goodness, I'm not sure why it's called Love Chronicles at all, but more so a prince trying to free an island from a witch's black magic. The journal is helpful and really pretty, like a scrapbook, although it's out of order at times and shows things you haven't even done yet.
Date published: 2012-08-12
Rated 5 out of 5 by from My kind of game If you are looking for a challenge this might not be the game for you but if you like a good combination of storytelling, puzzles and finding you will enjoy this game.
Date published: 2012-03-11
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Really Fun HOG Fun game and story. Less HOG then most.
Date published: 2012-02-04
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Old Game I wished I would of got the Collector's Edition, You can tell it's a old game. 1 evenings worth, short. Hints take a long time. You can tell the graphics are old. (2011?) Nice fairy tale storyline. I had to think for the puzzles which may not make it hard for others. I generally had a nice and fun time. It didn't sparkle for things in the room so I had to use hints to see where I was going. Still it was fun.
Date published: 2016-01-22
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Cute, easy game The story is good, but not new. There are 2 game modes. - The graphics are quite clear, but sometimes blurry in the HOS. - The mini-games are easy. - The journal is very helpful, keeping track of the clues you found. - There is no map and a lot of back and forth. - The cut-scenes are too slow for me. Either you wait or you skip. - There are 33 rose petals to find. - The hint system is good, showing you an active location. Without skipping it took me about 3 hours, which is ok for me.
Date published: 2013-07-27
Rated 4 out of 5 by from GOOD ADVENTURE Mostly an adventure game. Wasn’t as exciting as I thought it would be, but still a very good game. Options include regular or expert mode and choosing snow – don’t know what snow is supposed to do, but there is no difference with my screen whether or not I’ve opted for snow. You have a device for assembling interesting-looking inventions to use after collecting its components. Collect 33 rose petals – rose glows whenever there are petals in the location; rose also unfreezes water. You’ll also need them for the end of the game. Storyline flowed smoothly and didn’t rely on HOS and puzzles to fill gaps. Instructions for the interesting mix of puzzles weren’t always that informative – were along the lines of “put things in order.” Some puzzles made you feel smart if you solved them – you might know what is needed to solve them, but then you actually had to figure out how to do it. Plenty of locations to explore and things to do to keep your interest. Ending was different than expected. Took about 5 ½ hours casual.
Date published: 2012-12-07
Rated 4 out of 5 by from not a hard game and fun to play I got this for $2.99. I do not think I would have payed full price because there is better ones out there. It was not hard to play and the hint button is good if you need help. No voice over and the music is ok. The HOS are quite good, you really need to look hard for some of the items. Good game just not a great game.
Date published: 2012-09-08
Rated 4 out of 5 by from the superb graphics are worth the purchase price this hidden object puzzle adventure tells the story of an island kingdom terrorised by an evil witch. the witch has scattered petals from a magical rose throughout the kingdom, causing chaos, but you, a handsome prince, can restore order by collecting the petals together, rescuing the princess and beating the witch at her own game. graphics: absolutely gorgeous, detailed, crisp and super-realistic, the graphics alone are worth the price of this game. hidden objects were appropriate to the story. hidden object scenes mostly relied on shape recognition since the scenes were primarily shades of sepia. in some hidden object scenes, you collect scattered pieces of various whimsical devices that you then assemble before using to make progress in the adventure. sound: the music is quiet and matches the ambiance of the story. sound effects were minimal. storyline: straightforward and unadorned plot; nothing spectacular. gameplay: hints recharge quickly and there is an overclick penalty. puzzles, which can be skipped, are easy but still fun. not much back-and-forth. the notebook is lovely and provides useful clues. no map (but it's not really necessary). my interaction: one hour demo. i plan to purchase this game. enjoyable and absorbing, this lovely game is fun for the entire family.
Date published: 2012-09-05
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Sweet and entertaining I must say that I hesitated to purchase this one, fearing for some all too romantic hogwash. But I had played the first installment of what appears to become a series, so I decided to give it a try... and I am glad I did. The story is the classic fairy tale one, of course, with an evil witch, a damsel in distress and a prince who comes to her rescue. Nothing wrong with that. What I liked the most is, that the dev's really used their creative minds to introduce a lot of unexpected elements in the story. Another good find are the zany machines that you have to put together after playing a HOS. About those HOS, they are far from abundant and are never repeated, which I think is a very good thing. Moreover, they are not junkpiles, so you rarely need the hint button to finish them off. The puzzles are mostly on the easy side, but some are far more tricky. The graphics are good, sometimes a bit blurry, but this adds to the fairy tale atmosphere. The gameplay itself is rather linear... most of the time, you find an object or objects you need within armslength. Although this is not always the case, I have to admit. The hint button is very helpful, without being a spoiler. When you are at a loss what to do, it just indicates you where you have to go in order to continue the story. What I disliked, was the rather painful navigation in the game. The cursor moved very slowly, especially in scenes with a lot of moving elements. But, oh well, I adapted my gaming speed to this small setback. To conclude with, yes, I spent some agreeable hours playing this game, and am looking forward to the third episode of the series.
Date published: 2012-07-23
Rated 4 out of 5 by from 2nd in series - different but good This is the 2nd in the series and if you are expecting the same sort of game, you won't find it here. The 1st game had you collecting items to wake people from a deep sleep. This one is much more similar to other HO games. There are lots of puzzles, most are fairly easy. The HOs are mainly searching for one particular type of item (chess pieces, thread, etc.#. Some of the HOs you collect items, and then assemble them to create a needed item which is kind of fun. My only complaint is the HOs are fairly monochromatic which can make them difficult. The graphics are beautiful, the storyline ok, music ok, no voice-overs, no map #but not necessary). The notebook is used to record combinations, etc. The game is a good length and actually fun. I was looking forward to a game similar to the 1st, but overall I enjoyed the game. I recommend this game.
Date published: 2012-01-08
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Rather short but great while it lasts! I really enjoyed this game. I would have liked the puzzles just a little tougher but all in all, a few hours well spent on a cold, windy day :-)
Date published: 2011-11-14
Rated 4 out of 5 by from This was surpisingly good i liked this one a lot for a couple reasons and i'm pretty picky. First and foremost there were very minimal HOs. The puzzles were not super hard but each one was completely different which was a very nice change. Then there was no backtracking. Once you were done with an area you were done. that's always refreshing. It was a very relaxing game, probably not for the super hardcore but altogether, pretty good. I will buy the other related one.
Date published: 2012-05-03
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Very good parts, but missing a compelling storyline to make it great as a whole I loved a lot of things about this game: the beautiful graphics and weather effects, very good animations (loved the house with legs!), the challenging puzzles, fun hidden object scenes, the excellent journal, the great hint system that functions as a strategy guide. I even liked collecting all the roses; I love this kind of bonus/optional challenge. But there was just a little something missing and I think it was the absence of a compelling storyline to pull everything together and make it meaningful. I really enjoyed the puzzles; there were a lot of challenging ones (although a lot of easy/average ones as well), and I especially enjoyed one that was a more complex version of fitting different-shaped puzzle pieces together to form a specific shape. It took me a while to do and was very satisfying! There were not as many hidden object scenes compared to other games (which I liked) and there were several "find X coins/stars/etc" scenes mixed in which I appreciated. The game is fairly long and there's lots of fun gameplay. I never thought it dragged, although there was enough backtracking for me to notice it. I played and liked the first game in this series (The Spell) and that one was more unique where you could restore locations and there were FROG (fragmented object) aspects to it; this sequel is more like a standard HOG and that's okay, I guess, because it's very good, but it doesn't have that unique feel to it anymore.
Date published: 2012-04-21
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Get Lost and Found! I loved this game, and like a kid with a favorite piece of candy, I ate it up all at once. This game's best feature are the visuals -- they are vivid, clear, and often just creepy enough to keep you peeking around the next corner. The difficulty level is pretty consistent in its mildness, though there are a couple of specific puzzles that had me scratching my head. The storyline is detailed but not very original. Even so, there's a distinctive eerie quality throughout the whole game that kept me really engaged!
Date published: 2012-09-09
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Good Quality Game Game was challenging, but not complicated, e.g. didn't require a lot of running around back and forth. Was heavy in puzzles and lower in hidden object games. Hidden objects games were fairly simple. Good story and quality graphics. No voice. Will likely buy the next one produced.
Date published: 2012-04-14
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Too many mini puzzles The graphics were good, the music was good, but you better like mini puzzles because the game consists almost entirely of them. I used "skip" quite a bit. They aren't my favorite part of the games. The game was made quite easy (except the mini puzzles) by the help you get throughout the game. Anyway, it was good entertainment.
Date published: 2012-09-07
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Not like the first I really like the first game because of how different it was from all the other HOG. This game, however, is so much like regular HOG, and that is disappointing. It is still fun, but I would have preferred it stick to the way the first one was
Date published: 2013-02-18
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Pretty Average *** I’m kinda sorry I bought this one, although there’s nothing terribly wrong with it, and there are a lot worse games around, even on my own computer. The introduction was a bit sappy, but I expected that from a game with Love Chronicles in its title. The game itself wasn’t a romance at all. It was your typical fairy tale storyline, admittedly. Handsome prince (that’s you) rescues beautiful princess from evil witch. But there the romance ends. And for most of the game, there is no real feeling of pursuing a goal. It took quite a bit of digging around before the first HO scene appeared and you could start feeling you’re achieving anything. After that the gameplay was well paced, and a decent length. The visuals are passable but not up to par. And the HO scenes have much of their colour washed out, making for uninspiring searching. The music bugged me too, it didn’t add anything to the atmosphere and became repetitious. There was no voiceover, and no interaction with other characters, little animation, all of which made the game feel a bit flat. There are plenty of mini-puzzles and HO scenes, none of them too taxing, and some variations of the ‘find 20 roses’ kind. For some reason (the previous Love Chronicles maybe?), the hero is required to make a lot of weird inventions to progress in the game. Really couldn’t see the point myself. On the plus side, outside HO scenes, the hint was a direction to the right location, which I thought was a good in-between help, neither too much nor too little. There was also a scene where you panned around with cursor hover. I like cinematic touches. As I say, nothing terribly wrong with this one, and others may enjoy it, but not inspirational, which is why I won’t be recommending it.
Date published: 2012-01-18
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Not bad. Fun and easy. Game was fun, not very difficult. One of the things I like about this particular game is that instead of finding a single, useful object in every hidden-object scene, you’ll find multiple objects which you then assemble into creative devices. These devices are Rube-Goldberg-ish fantastical inventions, so that’s fun.
Date published: 2012-03-15
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Nice, but too much hand holding The graphics are pretty, but they don't let you discover much on your own. There was a lot of hand holding.
Date published: 2012-05-06
Rated 3 out of 5 by from There are worse games out there It is not a bad game, it is that nothing happens plotwise, and you just go from a place to the other. On the plus side, no anoying backtracking all over the place, and a decent hit sysem. On the minus side, you can't figure out why you should keep moving forward. The monochrome, grayinsh graphics make you less willling to go though. If the locatins were beautiful, you'd keep on, just to see more of them. Buildnng thoe contraptions are fun at fist, but at the fourth or fithth, it gets old... Still, you can do worse than this one.
Date published: 2013-06-22
  • y_2020, m_8, d_6, h_16
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_3.0.10
  • cp_2, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_0, tr_47
  • loc_en_US, sid_11143, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=RATING, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=HELPFULNESS, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=FEATURED, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_bigfishgames

The Big Fish Guarantee:

Quality tested and virus free. No ads, no adware, no spyware.

Your Security and Privacy are important to us! Privacy Policy

, share your thoughts about this game!

Love Chronicles: The Sword and The Rose

Lift an evil curse that has been cast on the kingdom by a witch looking for revenge in Love Chronicles: The Sword and the Rose!

Heres what your review will look like once it’s posted.

Click Submit if you’re happy. Your review should appear soon. To make changes, use the Edit or Cancel buttons.

Thanks for sharing your thoughts about this game!

You’ve already shared your thoughts about this game.

Thanks for submitting the review below.