Macabre Mysteries: Curse of the Nightingale

Macabre Mysteries: Curse of the Nightingale

PC

Also available on

Hidden Object

Play Now Download the free trial

This game will not work on your operating system.

Are you sure you want to download this game?

Free sample version

(183.73 MB)

By clicking "Play Now", I accept the Terms of Use and acknowledge that I have received the Privacy Policy. If this is your first time downloading a game from Big Fish, our handy Game Manager app will install on your computer to help manage your games.
Buy Now Get the full version70% OFF!

This game will not work on your operating system.

Are you sure you want to purchase it?

Full version game

$ 9.99 USD

Only $2.99 - use coupon NEW299

Explore the Nightingale Theater, which was ravaged by a devastating fire 40 years ago, and uncover a dark mystery! After receiving a letter and a golden ticket in the mail from your grandfather you are off to see an amazing ballet performance. With fantastic graphics and an incredibly mystery, Macabre Mysteries: Curse of the Nightingale will draw you in to a beautiful world. Explore Hidden Object scenes and more!

New customers get your first game for $2.99!*

70% OFF!

Use Coupon: NEW299

* Collector's Editions and free to play games not included.

Game System Requirements:

  • OS: Windows XP/Vista/8
  • CPU: 1.0 GHz
  • RAM: 512 MB
  • DirectX: 9.0
  • Hard Drive: 418 MB

Big Fish Games App System Requirements:

  • Browser: Internet Explorer 7 or later
  • Mild Blood
  • Mild Violence
Reviews at a Glance

Macabre Mysteries: Curse of the Nightingale

0 out of 5 (0 ReviewsReview)
Average Rating:
Play Now Download the free trial

This game will not work on your operating system.

Are you sure you want to download this game?

Free sample version

(183.73 MB)

Buy Now Get the full version70% OFF!

This game will not work on your operating system.

Are you sure you want to purchase it?

Full version game

$ 9.99 USD

Only $2.99 - use coupon NEW299

Customer Reviews
Macabre Mysteries: Curse of the Nightingale is rated 4.4 out of 5 by 75.
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Another Winner From Blue Tea Really well done game, as other reviewers have mentioned. I can't claim to be a huge proponent of fractured hidden object games, but I enjoyed the heck out of this one. Very interesting storyline with a bunch of characters and good voice acting throughout. Cutscenes are frequent and extremely well done, and the game looks fantastic. The journal is very helpful, as it includes a map that both tracks your progress and points out areas you may have missed. Backtracking is fairly minimal, and the amount of places in the game is actually pretty good considering it's just one cental location. The real winner to me, though, are the extra touches that elevate this above other hidden object games. The minigames are a bit awkward to figure out at first (hello, MCF) but that's a good thing. Once you figure them out, there isn't a great deal of variation on them once you see them again. The "vision" power your character has unlocks more traditional hidden object scenes, but they are the easiest part of the game. I did appreciate the detail of being able to speak to characters and examine items that are unimportant to the main storyline in these scenes; it reminded me of good old-fashioned adventure games in that respect. Fractured scenes are plentiful and somewhat challenging. There is an additional side quest of collecting morphing objects, which does help your hint meter fill quickly, though you'll likely not need it often. Minigames can be skipped with a minor penalty. Satisfying conclusion and a great twist on a familiar standard equals a winner for me.
Date published: 2011-12-21
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Highly recommended!!! I have never bothered to write a review before, but found this game so fantastic that I had to write a recommendation for others. I think the graphics were the most beautiful I have seen in any game. Pause and take a look at all the intricate background details and the colours and patterns on even the smallest of objects. The story was mysterious without being grim, the music pretty and the HO scenes had more of a purpose as you were looking for pieces of specific objects, rather than just checking off a list of random, pointless things that don't fit in the scene. It also was great value for money as it lasted a long time but remained addictive and engaging. More games similar to this one, please!
Date published: 2011-12-08
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Interesting gameplay & beautiful artwork This is a lovely game with a beautiful musical score, clear graphics & wonderful artwork, it also has voiceovers. The scenes were widescreen & there is an option to change the game cursor. There is a map in the game so that you can find your way around the theatre in which the story is set; it is not interactive but it does display where you are & where an area of interest is. As you make your way around the scenes try clicking on everything as there are some lovely little touches, birds that fly away, a cat who hisses at you. Also whenever a glowing eye appears click on it as it will take you back in time & you will see how the theatre looked 40 years ago. In addition the map book contains an objective list with hints as to what to do next; there is also a list of the characters & facts about them are found through the game & are added to their profiles. This is a Fragmented Object Game & some of the objects are a little difficult to find but the hint button recharges in 30 seconds; there is an over clicking penalty. In addition the hint button can be used by dragging an item from your inventory over it to get a clue as to how to use the item. Some of the mini games seemed to be relatively easy but others were very hard & I have no idea how I solved them; more by luck than judgement. I am sorry to say however that there is no choice of game mode; there is only one choice & that is to play with sparkles & glints. What a shame there isn’t a hard mode to select. There are morphing objects to be found which are called 'macabre items, these are objects found in various locations, that change and morph into something else. They're difficult to spot but you can collect 20 of them; they boost up your hint system.
Date published: 2012-01-20
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great game play! I loved this one from the outstanding and beautiful graphics, to the mix of fragmented object and hidden object scenes, to the classic storyline, to the sneaky cursed objects appearing late in game play. Given the backdrop was a 1940s style burned out theater the melodrama in the music, cut-scenes, and storyline all worked together well, although I did find myself turning the music down. The mini-games were cute but easy, easy, easy which took away some of the fun. There was one min-game I hadn't seen before - I liked the novelty of being given a set of pictures to arrange in a specific order to complete a task. Kudos on the masterfully, hidden-in-plain-site fragmented object scenes. I found these challenging and laughed a few times after finding the nutty locations for items. On these I resorted to hints more than once. Also, it was not always obvious what to do next which was a nice challenge but I'd recommend a strategy guide. This one was a lot of fun to play.
Date published: 2012-02-21
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Game really kept my interest. At first I didn't think I would like finding the fragments of the hidden objects, but once I got used to this style of gameplay, I found that I could find most without using the hint system. I found the story really kept me wanting to continue with the game to find out what had happened to the characters. I appreciate that there was a map to show the various areas, but it would have been an improvement if one could click on the map and go to a new location rather than having to backtrack through various scenes. I would have also like a "area cleared" comment since I sometimes spent more time than necessary looking for things that were in other locations. Overall, I really enjoyed this game and it took me probably six hours or more to finish. More experienced players would probably be able to finish quicker, but there were times when I just wanted to admire the scenery.
Date published: 2011-12-19
Rated 5 out of 5 by from A MASTERPIECE This game is 'Stunningly Beautiful'. It is somewhat difficult to describe in that it is different from the usual HOG, but not just because you are finding fragmented piece...you are finding art. I would just put this game...as well as most other games by Blue Tea, in a class above regular hidden object games. I don't know how many hours I played this...could have been 7 or 8....I never keep up. But I took my time and enjoyed every minute of it. The theatrical setting in itself allowed the developers to be creative beyond measure....and they were. It was a great story as well with a twist at the end that took me by surprise...gee, that's a first! All I can say is that if you like FROG's and have the patience to put together many, many beautiful items and figure out where all of them go...yes, with backtracking...that you will love this game as much as I did. The hint system was very helpful as well. Enjoy!
Date published: 2012-01-10
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great game Intriguing, long game. Some puzzle instruction not very clear and puzzles not very difficult, but inventory placement object locations makes up for it. Requires quite some maneuvering between locations. Good storyline with not too much dialogue. Well worth playing!
Date published: 2011-11-21
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Fantastic Game! Macabre Mysteries: Curse of the Nightingale is a very enjoyable fragmented hidden object game. The story revolves around an old theater, and the people that once lived and worked there. The graphics are just beautiful, and the voice acting was well-played. The storyline was interesting. There were a few hidden object scenes where you find the item by the drawing, and the rest were fragmented objects. The puzzles were fun, but a couple of kinds they used too many times for my taste. A minor complaint, as the game was so good overall. I like the morphing objects. There's twenty of them, and each one you find reduces the time for the hint button to charge. Which is very nice because some of those fragmented objects are very hard to find, indeed! The length was nice. It took me just over four hours to finish. I was very pleased with this game. If you like fragmented object games, this is a great one to try!
Date published: 2011-12-19
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Had to Review this One! I never review games but after just completing Curse of the Nightingale I had to put in my two cents worth. I am not a huge fan of HOGs as most of you are but I do enjoy looking for fragments to complete an object. I get tired of looking for 12 or so objects in a HOG only to really need one of those objects. With a FROG you feel like you're not wasting your time and the fragments in this game were stand out enough to see - I think I only resorted to the "hint" button twice. Nuff said about that. The game itself is wonderful, intriguing and very well made. Graphics were outstanding and the music low key enough to not grate on the nerves. I figured out right from the get go who the "crazy big guy" actually was but I must say the rest of the story had me guessing. Even though the story plays out in a way that pretty much tells you what happened there are some clues that I now look back on that should have pointed me in the right direction. Good ending - no cliffhanger or "what was that?!!" as in some games I've played. This is the first "object" game that I want to turn around and play again if only to find the 20 morphing objects. I didn't find my first one until well into the middle of the game and then drove myself crazy staring at the screen in each area I entered trying to see the other ones. I did succeed in finding 15 before the game ended so that's a big replayable factor for me. I will say that I cannot see having to look for "morphing" objects during an entire game instead of frags or objects as I hear is the case in Escape from Ravenhurst. Would probably have to put me in a loony bin before game was over - lol! To wrap it up, this was a great game, good replay if only to get all the morphing objects and not-too-hard puzzles, repetitive yes, but I'm not really into puzzles as some are so it was nice to play one that I didn't feel like I was pulling my hair out over. And I forgot to mention this game is LONG - at least 6+ hours of fairly continuous play over two days. There were several times I thought I was close to the end only to end up having more gameplay - very good length for your money. Also got this on BF's New Year sale for $4.99 and if it ever comes out as a DD for $2.99 grab it - it would be worth full price to me. If you haven't played "Curse" I highly recommend it - I don't think you'll be disappointed.
Date published: 2012-01-10
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Macabre is the word! An excellent game of the FROG genre with plenty of HO's to keep you occupied interspersed with puzzles. There is little information on how to play the puzzles but most of them are fairly simple and there is a skip facility. The music is unobtrusive. There is some dialogue but it is minimal and for the most part relevant. I found the map useful. The ability to put an inventory item on the help button to know where to use it I found helpful but it is optional if you want to play the hard way. Good value for money.
Date published: 2011-12-08
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Loved it! This game is one of my favorites from Blue Tea!. It has incredible graphics/colors and the music is wonderfully suited to the game.. The hints worked well and the objects were not too easy to find. The morphing objects are done perfectly. This is a great game!
Date published: 2011-12-01
Rated 5 out of 5 by from ANOTHER OUTSTANDING BLUE TEA GAMES HOG ADVENTURE!!! Very creative story line unfolds as you have received a golden ticket for a Show at "The Nightingale" Theatre" which burned forty years prior. Your Grandfather was the Owner/Manager and, somehow, sent you this Golden Show Ticket as he has been "missing" since being blamed for the fire all those many year ago. Explore the colorful, mysterious, exciting surroundings and learn more about the the Theater's Performing Stars and the fire. When you don't think Blue Tea Games can develop another awesome game, think again while playing "Macabre Mysteries: Curse of the Nightingale"!! Enjoy! -Mama Mia-
Date published: 2012-04-24
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Awesome Game!!! Originally not interested and then after playing the demo I liked it. After playing the game for what seemed an eternity, I LOVED IT! Great story, terrific puzzles, HARD FROGs and incredibly long game play. A home run for BF and Blue Tea games. I'm getting Dark Parables, no question now.
Date published: 2011-12-12
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Romance, Horror and Mystery I really enjoyed this game. I was drawn in to the storyline, and really felt a connection with the characters. Excellent graphics, and overall enjoyable game!
Date published: 2014-08-11
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Incredible - Gem of a Find This game was soooooooooooooo good. The story line is riveting and you have to find out what happened. I like that their was NO occult, voodoo junk in this game. The music was very fitting for the game and created a sad atmosphere in the proper places. The voice overs were extremely well done. There were many, many areas to investigate. The hint button works in a totally different way from other games...not sure that I like this style. But the map and hint helped you on your way when you got stuck. I couldn't believe that the SE wasn't a CE. Many things to do, plus morphing objects...couldn't find the all. My current favorites are: Lord of the Statues, Dreampath: The Two Kingdoms, Infected: The Twin Vaccine and Questerium: Sinister Trinity (Another hidden gem of a game!) I highly, highly recommend this game!
Date published: 2014-07-28
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Stunning Another excellent game from Blue Tea,Loved everything about it, superb graphics, very sharp, voice overs, HOS, mini games really really good. Great story line and a very good ending, especially for a SE. Too many games end abruptly but with this one everything is explained. Well done to the developers and BF,a game to be played over and over again. Congrats all round.
Date published: 2013-03-23
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great game To many hidden objects. Could use more puzzles. Otherwise great game.
Date published: 2013-03-14
Rated 5 out of 5 by from A Visual Feast Another absolutely beautiful game by Blue Tea. The graphics are intricate and colorful, the music is unobtrusive and often quite lovely. The characters in the story--and there is a pretty good story--become more complex and interesting as the game progresses. This is largely an adventure game with fragmented object scenes that construct lavishly beautiful items. There are a few hidden object scenes as well. I loved the morphing objects, but be warned, they don't always appear the first time you visit a scene. You may have to return to a location later in the game to find them. Although the game world is limited to one old theater, it's a big complex with lots of hallways, rooms, different levels, etc. so feels like a pretty big world. I'm very experienced but not necessarily an expert and it took me four and a half hours of solid play, and it felt like I really got my money's worth and then some. Kudos to the folks at Blue Tea Games. I can't wait for more games like this one, perhaps even a true adventure type?
Date published: 2013-01-28
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Excellent Hidden Object game My wife and I both think this game is great fun to play. Other than a few hidden objects being basically invisible in a darkened area, this is one neat game. Everything about it is top notch. We found it very interesting and a fun way to spend time indoors in cold weather.
Date published: 2013-01-22
Rated 5 out of 5 by from I Loved It!! This was just a perfect game (I thought). If you don't rush through the game, there are a lot of 'extra' interactions which was fun. Not to give out an 'spoilers', see if you can spot the 'mouse'. I had to lol at that. The Music in the 'Parlor Room' was a nice touch as well. The game has a 'great' Story line and doesn't wonder all over where you loose the Story as in some other games. There aren't a lot of puzzles but 'tons' of HO's that will actually take you a few minutes!
Date published: 2012-12-03
Rated 5 out of 5 by from OMG SO COOL!! I really love this. Nice story and everything is just SO AWESOME. the puzzles are not really hard. I love the story. I've played this about 5 times start to end AND I DIDN'T EVEN GET BORED! *maybe for finding some stuff like bleh* I didn't regret at all that I bought this game. Overall I love it, but I didn't really like the ending. Like, why (Spoiler alert) Abigail and Andreas died?? It should be a happy ending.
Date published: 2012-11-03
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Really enjoyed this I found the HOG scenes fun and challenging and I too liked the fact you are assembling a needed item rather than just hunting for miscellaneous ones. The hint feature is new and adds a bit of a challenge. When you drop an inventory item on the hint "eye" you get a "vision" of where to use it. But the vision is limited so you have to remember where things are. The map is useful but only shows where the next HOG (or HOGs) are located. As noted, you have to use the hint eye if you want help with inventory items. The length was great. I enjoyed the story line, even though I figured the main ideas out about 1/3 of the way through. Thank you Blue Tea for a great time!
Date published: 2012-09-12
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Mystery, Danger, and Ghosts...what's not to love? You're grandfather once was in charge of the Nightingale Theater. He was blamed for the fire that burned that occured 40 years ago that ended up ruining and taking lives. You run into some interesting characters, even a ghost! You also discover you have a 'special gift'. I enjoyed this game! My only complaints are: The moving around we had to do...had to run all over the theater several times. And then the identity of the mastermind...I thought it was too easy figuring out who was really responsible for the disaster 40 years ago. The controls, graphics, characters, and voice overs are all great! The character bios are very useful. Another great game from Blue Tea!
Date published: 2012-08-31
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Macabre, but Fun Mystery FrOG As a big fan of Blue Tea Games and the "Dark Parables" series, I was surprised when I came across this title. And, like the "Dark Parables" games, this is a truly wonderful FrOG. Fun Factor: Truly, I found this game to be highly enjoyable. The puzzles are unique and not too repetitive that it gets boring. If you're familiar with BTG's FrOG method, the FrOGs may be a bit easy, but it's still a refreshing change from the "pile of junk" model that most HOGs use. One of the best parts of this game is when you have a "vision" to go back in time to the exact place you were in but decades before. You can click on people and hear dialogue, and it was just magnificently done. Never throughout the entire game did I feel bored; I had to play the entire game in one sitting as I went from room to room in the theater. Visual/Sound Quality: Like all HOGs that come from BTG, the visuals and sound are top-notch. Each scene is exquisite and is worth taking a moment to pause and take in. The music is ambient and not overwhelming or tedious to listen to overall. I really felt as if I was exploring an abandoned theater built decades ago in an art-deco-ish style. Level of Challenge: The game was challenging, mostly in a good way. FrOGs and other puzzles weren't overwhelmingly difficult, and the hint button loads quickly with a small lock when skipping puzzles. The only problem I have with the game is the interactive map, which is helpful, but very confusing as it's displayed not as one page but several pages, and to find the right page you have to click through the different wings. Storyline: This game's story is mesmerizing. The characters are well-rounded and goes beyond the typical "beautiful ballerina/jealous dark ballerina" story. Each character is developed, and hints are carefully placed in scenes so if you're observant, you'll get clues to the plot. While the game has a satisfying conclusion, I didn't care for the tacked-on ending, but it's still so good of a story that I could disregard it. Overall, with a compelling storyline, gorgeous visuals/sounds, fun puzzles and FrOGS, and a relatively challenging story, this is a great game that's worth your money. Plan on spending a full afternoon playing this, as you won't want to put it down! I really hope that there are more "Macabre Mysteries" games in the future (and that it doesn't take a back seat to the "Dark Parables" games).
Date published: 2012-08-16
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Loved this one A long game with beautiful graphics and a good storyline.
Date published: 2012-08-07
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great game from Blue Tea really enjoyed playing this game, visuals were colorful and fun. a little different type of hog to mix it up once in awhile.
Date published: 2012-07-26
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great long game This had beautiful items and very nice drawings and graphics. The story line, though a bit predictable, was very good, and still had a few surprises. The hidden object scenes were mostly putting together useful items, and the puzzles were different. They were a little repetitive but it gave a puzzle skipper like me a bit more time to try to figure them out. :) Many locations, and these were separated into chapters, which made the running around and remembering, much less taxing. The only thing I disliked was the hint button. The only sort of hints it gave you (outside of a HO) was if you put an object on it it would show you where to use it. Cryptically, it would show you a small portion of the room and exactly the point of use, so you still had little idea what room to go to. I guess that is what the walkthroughs are for, and I had to use one a few times, especially near the end. I am impatient, however, and if I had gone back into bunches of locations I may have figured it out on my own. Regardless, great game, very long, with lots to do. Most will like it. A good combination of dark and light in a fairly contemporary setting.
Date published: 2012-07-25
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Best game ever! I really liked storyline, and the best is visual quality. Stop looking for the best game, because you won't find another, this is the best!
Date published: 2012-07-03
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Very good FROG! The storyline is interesting. The theater is huge! - The graphics are clear. The objects in the FROS are easy to find. - There is a map, but I didn't see the "areas of interest" that should be shown. It didn't disturb me, since it made the game more challenging. There is a lot of going back and forth. - The journal is not very useful, but I didn't mind. - The puzzles are easy. - You have hints in the FROS, but otherwise no help. It took me 3 hours to finish, but I had the feeling that it was much longer, since there is really a lot to do. This is a good game for somebody that doesn't wish to much help but prefers to guess what's next.
Date published: 2012-07-01
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Game!!!! An A+ for a hidden object game. A lot of fun, good challenge, nice HOS', and a great story. I highly recommend if you like hidden object games.
Date published: 2012-06-27
  • y_2021, m_1, d_23, h_17
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_3.0.13
  • cp_2, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_0, tr_75
  • loc_en_US, sid_11757, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=RATING, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=HELPFULNESS, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=FEATURED, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_bigfishgames

The Big Fish Guarantee:

Quality tested and virus free. No ads, no adware, no spyware.

Your Security and Privacy are important to us! Privacy Policy

, share your thoughts about this game!

Macabre Mysteries: Curse of the Nightingale

Explore the Nightingale Theater, which was ravaged by a devastating fire 40 years ago, and uncover a dark mystery!

Heres what your review will look like once it’s posted.

Click Submit if you’re happy. Your review should appear soon. To make changes, use the Edit or Cancel buttons.

Thanks for sharing your thoughts about this game!

You’ve already shared your thoughts about this game.

Thanks for submitting the review below.