The Secrets of Arcelia Island

The Secrets of Arcelia Island

PC

Also available on

Hidden Object

Play Now Download the free trial

This game will not work on your operating system.

Are you sure you want to download this game?

Free sample version

(208.41 MB)

By clicking "Play Now", I accept the Terms of Use and acknowledge that I have received the Privacy Policy. If this is your first time downloading a game from Big Fish, our handy Game Manager app will install on your computer to help manage your games.
Buy Now Get the full version70% OFF!

This game will not work on your operating system.

Are you sure you want to purchase it?

Full version game

$ 9.99 USD

Only $2.99 - use coupon NEW299

Unravel The Secrets of Arcelia Island as you, your father, and a small crew set off on this dangerous expedition! After getting shipwrecked in a storm, you wake up to discover you're alone on an island inhabited by strange creatures and plagued by four deadly curses. Find your father, survive the curses, and stop the tyrannical witch that is responsible in this fantastic Hidden Object Puzzle Adventure game!

New customers get your first game for $2.99!*

70% OFF!

Use Coupon: NEW299

* Collector's Editions and free to play games not included.

Game System Requirements:

  • OS: Windows XP/Vista/8
  • CPU: 1.4 GHz
  • RAM: 1024 MB
  • DirectX: 9.0
  • Hard Drive: 518 MB

Big Fish Games App System Requirements:

  • Browser: Internet Explorer 7 or later
Reviews at a Glance

The Secrets of Arcelia Island

0 out of 5 (0 ReviewsReview)
Average Rating:
Play Now Download the free trial

This game will not work on your operating system.

Are you sure you want to download this game?

Free sample version

(208.41 MB)

Buy Now Get the full version70% OFF!

This game will not work on your operating system.

Are you sure you want to purchase it?

Full version game

$ 9.99 USD

Only $2.99 - use coupon NEW299

Customer Reviews
The Secrets of Arcelia Island is rated 4.3 out of 5 by 45.
Rated 5 out of 5 by from No dark & eerie here First of all I have to say what stunning graphics & artwork; this is a really beautiful game to look at; the music is subtle & I liked the ambient background sounds. The graphics are clear & the hidden object scenes are nice & crisp, some of the items are a little small but I did not need to resort to a hint; there are 42 story pages to find throughout the game to add interest. I was able to solve the mini puzzles without help as they were not too hard. There are no voiceovers & you can click through the onscreen dialogue if you are a fast reader, you can also use an option to mute the sounds. In easy mode there are the usual sparkles & glints & a 30 second recharge on the hint or you can select advanced mode, no sparkles anywhere & 2 minute hint recharge. I found the custom cursor a little ‘sticky’ so I switched it off after which I had no problems. There is an overclick penalty but it only lasts a couple of seconds. There is a task list on screen & a diary giving the story; this is not a dark & eerie game, instead you move from an island into fairy land & back to the island; there is a lot of going back & forth but no map. This is a lovely bright game to play & I was enraptured.
Date published: 2012-01-16
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Wonderful, Enjoyable, Pleasureable to Play.....I was surprised! A little gem of a game. Not as refined as our top 10 games, but beautiful, pleasant and relaxing. Very intuitive, flow is good, easy to figure out what to do next. The music is very background and not intrusive. Game play flows very well, there is a journal that will record information and give clues as to what to do next. HOs are not excessive, a good balance with adventure. The HOS are openly spaced, not cluttered or excessively full. There is only one mode of play, comfortable! The hint button fills in slowly. Puzzles are different, unique from what we’ve seen in current games. There is a skip button as well. No voice overs but there is written text. I recommend you don’t skip the cut scenes (they are not long), and read the text. There are 42 hidden pieces of a journal; if you collect them they will give you additional background story. It’s not a very long game, maybe 4 hours. But it is a nice change, very pleasant and enjoyable to play.
Date published: 2012-08-14
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Arcelia Island The only downfall is that it is too short! I finished it in 2 hours. Very surprised. When the ending came, I was like "wow, that's it?". The puzzles are easy and the different stages don't take long to complete. However, it IS a very fun game. The graphics are gorgeous and the sound effects are very fitting. There's no voice acting which is perfectly fine. The journal is pretty detailed and helpful. SPOILERS: The fairies are hilarious, they really made me laugh. Couldn't help but think that the faun (or satyr) character was basically Mr. Tumnus from the Narnia book series in a different setting, I mean the one for the game had the exact same problem (being hired by the witch to lure people to her trap and then coming to regret it and working against her). Anyway great game, even if really short. Good to pass a lazy afternoon with when you have a little time to spare :)
Date published: 2012-03-01
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Very Very Different Adventure/Hidden Object It was hard for me to review this game because the genre really took me by surprise. The first 15 minutes were like any other hidden object/adventure game except that I felt the hidden object scenes were ridiculously easy. Then at one point it changed and I realized it was not a dark and eerie but rather a light hearted fun game. I reviewed it based on the beautiful graphics and soundtrack and all the other fun things in this game.
Date published: 2012-01-15
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Loved it! While I agree the sound effects were lacking, I have no problem turning the sound off and using my imagination just as when reading a novel. I often turn off the sound anyways. The graphics were beautiful. I truly love these games, and it was lovely to play one that was bright and hopeful, as opposed to dark and gloomy. I was so enthralled with the story line, and the puzzles, that i ran out of time and had to wait to download the full version! Was I miffed! lol I adored this all the way through. I love games with lots of reading, and this one has a lot. I played normal, but will def try the expert for the challenge of it. Lovely game, lovely story and a lovely way to spend some me time. My biggest complaint? That they haven't put out a second one yet!
Date published: 2012-02-20
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Arcelia Island "May Day!", May Day!" . . . . .Excellent game and game play. The usual storyline, but the graphics, interactive game play (hidden object scenes and mini puzzles) makes this game special. "Thank you!" and developers for such a terrific game.
Date published: 2012-02-10
Rated 5 out of 5 by from The secrets of Arcelia Island.. " YEAH..really good , took me ages to get the story in me head, am not one to read every detail.. much rather "get stuck in..! Grafic's really , so kept me interested...which is my goal...so WELL DONE GUY'S..!
Date published: 2011-12-03
Rated 5 out of 5 by from The Secrets of Arcelia Island Best Hidden Object game I have ever played! Very difficult, fun, entertaining WITHOUT "darkness" or objectionable content, or anything inappropriate for all ages! Wish there were more games like this! Just pure, clean fun! I'd buy them all if there were more!
Date published: 2012-08-27
Rated 5 out of 5 by from All round entertaining game I love this game, it may not have the most beautiful art, or the most tricky puzzles, or scary scenes, but it is just right: a) The tools you find/use are logical, e.g. you aren't frustrated by trying to use your knife and getting told its not right, only to find some scissors that are right etc. like in some games. b) the story line is great - easy to follow, makes sense, you know approx where you are in the game, e.g. how many more 'chapters/pearls' c) it is a very generous length, not so long that you forget where things are, but long enough that it is worth the money you pay d) the mini games are all different types and are not major challenges - with skips allowed Therefore, if you want an easy playing game, with a story line that is interesting and has varied mini games, pick this one - It won't disappoint. I didn't mind having no map - i thought it added to the challenge level of the game (memory etc). The only improvement I would suggest is to get some good voice actors - all the dialogue in this game is just written, not spoken. Otherwise was awesome! Thanks.
Date published: 2012-01-29
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Hidden Object Game I really enjoyed playing this game.
Date published: 2012-01-17
Rated 5 out of 5 by from HO with challenging puzzles and good story line My type of HO as there are not a lot of them to bog you down and a lot of challenging mini puzzles. The story line is very good and an unexpected ending. Very entertaining game. Lots of hours of game time. One of the better HO games not to be missed.
Date published: 2013-02-10
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Fantastic Game!" I was so into this game that I forgot it was a game, it felt like a movie I was following along. Great game. The best game I have bought....I've bought a lot. :)
Date published: 2012-10-23
Rated 5 out of 5 by from The Secrets of Arcelia Island This game is brilliant! I would place it right up there with the Ravenhurst Series. You won't regret buying this one and you'll play it over & over again.
Date published: 2012-03-27
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Entertaining Good story and locations, variation in challenges and skills
Date published: 2011-11-20
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Excellent Graphics are great, gameplay was fun. Loved this one.
Date published: 2012-01-23
Rated 5 out of 5 by from i love this game this game makes me feel like i can fly, son!!!
Date published: 2012-07-20
Rated 5 out of 5 by from "AHOY THE SHORE ! " This is,actually ,a "FUN" game,altho it comes off being creepy. Great Graphics,excellent story line pulls you in immediatley . Got hooked by the BETA,then played the freebie hour , then jumped in and bought it,yup,"Hook ,Line ,and sinker" Congrats to BFG for a FUN time !!
Date published: 2012-05-05
Rated 4 out of 5 by from LOTS OF VARIETY This was an interesting game, although the ending was a little confused. I played the harder version. I only had to use the walkthrough once for one puzzle, although I did skip a couple of puzzles because even though I knew what I had to do to solve them, I was impatient at the amout of time I was using to try to guess the solution. This game did have a lot of back and forth between locations, so an interactive map would have been a plus. I didn't find all the puzzle pieces, so I was unable to complete that part of the game. The hint button was excellent.
Date published: 2013-11-28
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Hidden Gem: Worth 4.5 stars (add in the extra half star for my review) I somehow missed this game and while looking to spend a game coupon, recently came upon it. This game is a bit older so I am going to rate it as if it is a new release, to be as fair as possible considering I'm the one late to the party. I am truly impressed with this game. It has regular hidden object scenes, not interactive ones; however, I am not docking any stars for this because again, it's release date was some time ago. I actually found it a refreshing change of pace from all of the newer games with interactive HOS. I liked the challenge of finding the journal pieces scattered around the island. Some were quite difficult to spot so it added to the overall game challenge. The game stayed fresh, as each 'portal' you enter takes you to a new environment to explore, and all of them are very unique. The graphics, especially for their time, are very well done, and while there are no voice-overs, I found that I didn't really miss them. The cut-scenes are great and the ambient sounds easily transport you into the game-the crashing of the surf, the sounds of birds and monkeys; it's all very well put-together. The storyline itself is unique which is a refreshing change of pace. One of the most important elements in a game for me is the storyline, so I am impressed with how well the story is told and I really liked the detail and depth of the journal entries. While some may not like that much reading, I loved it-it really added to the story and gave many details that may otherwise have been lost. It was a nice break to pause and read the long journal entries as game-play progressed. The characters you meet along the way are all incredibly interesting; each have their own quirky style. The dialogue with each character is amusing and adds even more to the enjoyment of the story. I actually sat down and played this game in one sitting. As it is by no means a short game (an impressive 6-8 venture depending upon experience and speed) the length speaks to how involved in the game I was to play all the way through. Not many games have what it takes to hold my interest for that many hours at one time. I really do hope that there is a sequel of some sort for this game; although I cannot imagine what sort of sequel that would be. The game does not end on a cliff-hanger; everything comes together at the end. But if the developers can think of a way to make a sequel for this, I would definitely buy it. I wish more developers put this much attention to detail and care into their games. With this gem of a game, the work that was put into this really shows, and as a gamer, it is MUCH appreciated.
Date published: 2013-04-17
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Short But Oh So Sweet GAME COMPLETED TWICE Story: You, your father, and a small crew set off on a dangerous expedition to find a legendary island of magic and wonder. After getting shipwrecked in a storm, you wake up to discover you're alone on an island inhabited by strange creatures and plagued by four deadly curses. You must destroy the curses in order to find your father, and stop the tyrannical witch that is responsible for it all. Developer: HitPoint Studios Release Date: Aug 2011? Extras: Collectibles This game comes up with few surprises. It is formulaic, using the familiar 3-4 environments where we solve one aspect of the problem, held together by a basic structure. This is also clearly a low budget game; there’s been very little spent on the extras, there are no voiceovers whatsoever, and a few simplistic cutscenes. But this game is a must have for anyone who prefers more HO over PA. There are heaps of beautifully drawn HOs, clear, not at all cluttered and a pleasure to play. There are only a handful of puzzles, and those easy. OH, and there are collectible ‘story page pieces’, which go together to make jigsaw puzzles that reveal story. Lots of (skippable) story available. Arcelia Island may offer little that is new – but its visual appeal, ease of play and soothing environment make it worth the price, for primarily HO fans and for new players.
Date published: 2013-02-22
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Light on the HOG, heavy on adventure The game is set on a mysterious, fantastic island and the artwork is beautiful and does an amazing job of conveying the wonder of the locations. The storyline has many compelling elements: save your father, restore the island and deal with an evil villain. There are also interesting characters that you meet along the way, with pretty good dialogue (no voiceovers though). The journal entries are lengthy (perhaps TOO lengthy) but they do a good job of recording your journey and adding flavour to the game. There are slightly fewer hidden object scenes than in a typical HOG, but it feels like much less because the word lists are very short, typically only 10-12 objects per scene. I felt that the adventure and puzzle elements were well-integrated. Nothing too challenging, but you do have to do a bit of thinking. There is quite a bit of backtracking which is manageable as there aren't a huge number of locations in the game, but sometimes I found it hard to remember where I'd seen something that I could use a newly-found object on. Not a problem though as I could just use a hint. (The hint system is good, like an in-game strategy guide) You can collect journal pages scattered throughout the island that you can put together like a jigsaw puzzle to reveal the story of what happened to the island. This is optional, but I love this type of thing. :) Overall a pretty game with a good story and enjoyable gameplay, though not especially challenging.
Date published: 2012-08-11
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Arcelia Island Save a secret island from the treachery of a naughty witch by finding 4 cursed pearls. Oh yeah – along the way, save your dad. The locations are crafted nicely, as are the music and narrative. Graphics are beautiful (make you wish you were on the island). The storyline was well developed and gameplay straight forward. HOS were nicely detailed; objects were fairly sized and detailed. The hint system gives directions if you can’t figure out how to proceed next, but you’ll usually be able to figure it out as there are a limited number of scenes for backtracking. Hints recharge quickly. Backtracking is limited to 4 major scenes and once you enter each scene, most of your activity will remain in that scene until near the end. A most pleasant afternoon. A medium length game. All in all, a delightful game.
Date published: 2012-08-06
Rated 4 out of 5 by from "A Great Adventure For Fantasy Fan" You have it all : hidden objects (not too much) / fun puzzles (intermediate and expert with a pass option) / great artwork / an immersive story and at least 5 hours of gaming. The serial is announced at the end of the game and I sure gonna play it ! Note :1) Beginner may find this game too hard. 2) Avoid this game if you don't want to read a lot. The minus : -no map (Arcelia is a big word) -no video menu (Arcelia has many of them)
Date published: 2012-01-07
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Great fun... almost 5 stars! Nice fun game! Interesting storyline that sucks you in. Graphics are decent... not the best but very good. Good colors, mix of reality and fantasy, not too dark for those that are tired of creepy games. ;-) Classic good vs. evil. Also includes extra "story pieces" that you find and put together jigsaw style to read the story. (Not required to finish the game though... similar to CE optional play.) The puzzles are varied and fun... challenging but not too hard. There are hints and skips as well as optional instructions (available by clicking the question mark). Also, hints work EVERYWHERE which is great! Options for sound, fullscreen, letterbox, casual/advanced mode and even a high quality video option! Story is skippable but I don't recommend it as it's really enchanting. Nice to see devs that listen to players desire for choice! Nice length... 6 hours with reading the story and not skipping puzzles. The only thing keeping this from being a 5 star game is the lack of voice acting and the repetitive music. It's a game I turned the sound off on and I never do that. Also a few spots where the game expected you to have done something already so the hints were not quite right. But a quick trip to the online walkthru and problem solved. Otherwise great game! Well worth the SE price and could easily have been extended to CE quality!
Date published: 2011-12-02
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Great Storyline and No Puzzle Frustration This was a very pleasant gaming experience. The story was entertaining, and had a "complete" exit (it didn't feel like a rushed job). The puzzles were not too difficult, yet were just challenging enough to be satisfying. I recommend this game. (I am not giving a game synopsis because there is a demo version available for download.)
Date published: 2012-03-17
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Four and a half stars! I really liked this game. It wasn't a five, but getting there. I really loved the story line and all the characters. Wonderfully creative graphics! Watch out for all the paper pieces, it's easy to forget to look for them.
Date published: 2012-03-16
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Great Hidden Object/Puzzle game! Great game guys. Kudos to all! It's a bit of role-play, puzzle, hidden object, etc. I really enjoyed it. Thanks.
Date published: 2011-12-19
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Short but relaxing This game is not new, but I spent a good time playing it. It's on the easy side. The HOS and puzzles are not challenging. The graphics are good. The journal is helpful, but there is no map. Recommended as DD or beginner.
Date published: 2018-12-11
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Hope you like to read alot I only played the hour. I'd rather spend my money on something more exciting. Lots of reading and no voice. Music and graphics are good. You need to go back and forth a lot and hard to know what to do next with out the hint button. Not a real flow to the game with the clues you have. Would be fun for the kids i think.
Date published: 2012-08-16
Rated 3 out of 5 by from The Secrets of Arcelia Island After the rave reviews, I was disappointed but maybe it was me. I couldn't get in to the flow of the game and had to use the hint button too many times to figure out what to do.
Date published: 2012-01-26
  • y_2019, m_12, d_6, h_12
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_3.0.3
  • cp_2, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_0, tr_45
  • loc_en_US, sid_11783, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=RATING, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=HELPFULNESS, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=FEATURED, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_bigfishgames

The Big Fish Guarantee:

Quality tested and virus free. No ads, no adware, no spyware.

Your Security and Privacy are important to us! Privacy Policy

, share your thoughts about this game!

The Secrets of Arcelia Island

Unravel The Secrets of Arcelia Island as you, your father, and a small crew set off on this dangerous expedition!

Heres what your review will look like once it’s posted.

Click Submit if you’re happy. Your review should appear soon. To make changes, use the Edit or Cancel buttons.

Thanks for sharing your thoughts about this game!

You’ve already shared your thoughts about this game.

Thanks for submitting the review below.