Mystery Stories: Mountains of Madness

Mystery Stories: Mountains of Madness

PC

Also available on

Hidden Object

Play Now Download the free trial

This game will not work on your operating system.

Are you sure you want to download this game?

Free 1 hour trial

(117.27 MB)

By clicking "Play Now", I accept the Terms of Use and acknowledge that I have received the Privacy Policy. If this is your first time downloading a game from Big Fish, our handy Game Manager app will install on your computer to help manage your games.
Buy Now Get the full version70% OFF!

This game will not work on your operating system.

Are you sure you want to purchase it?

Full version game

$ 9.99 USD

Only $2.99 - use coupon NEW299

Explore a terrifying tale in Mystery Stories: Mountains of Madness! Find out why an entire expedition team is dead at the foot of a mountain range in this incredible Hidden Object Puzzle Adventure game. After finding the team, Lynn Morgan decides to cross the range to discover the circumstances surrounding their death. Based on the masterful novel by H.P. Lovecraft, Mystery Stories: Mountains of Madness takes you on a journey you

  • Explore terrifying mountains
  • Discover an ancient city
  • Help Lynn find the truth!

New customers get your first game for $2.99!*

70% OFF!

Use Coupon: NEW299

* Collector's Editions and free to play games not included.

Game System Requirements:

  • OS: Windows XP/Vista/8
  • CPU: 1.2 GHz
  • RAM: 1024 MB
  • DirectX: 9.0
  • Hard Drive: 128 MB

Big Fish Games App System Requirements:

  • Browser: Internet Explorer 7 or later
Reviews at a Glance

Mystery Stories: Mountains of Madness

0 out of 5 (0 ReviewsReview)
Average Rating:
Play Now Download the free trial

This game will not work on your operating system.

Are you sure you want to download this game?

Free 1 hour trial

(117.27 MB)

Buy Now Get the full version70% OFF!

This game will not work on your operating system.

Are you sure you want to purchase it?

Full version game

$ 9.99 USD

Only $2.99 - use coupon NEW299

Customer Reviews
Mystery Stories: Mountains of Madness is rated 4.0 out of 5 by 107.
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Beautifully drawn game This game is based on HP Lovecraft's novella of the same name, but you don't need to be familiar with the story to play this game. The artwork is beautiful, and even in the underground scenes avoids the common hidden object game pitfall of "make the screen as dark as possible". There's one bit toward the end where a creature doesn't look all that scary, but overall the threat is portrayed well. (But not, I should mention, gorily/graphically.) Switching between two player characters is something I haven't run into before. It works well here, though, as the PC on the surface tries to assist the PC in the tunnels under the strange city. Hints recharge immediately, and minigames come with instructions. There's also an "Advice" button if you need extra assistance. The music was good, but got repetitive. Dialogue is text-only, though there is a voiceover introducing each chapter. Personally, I prefer text dialogue to voiced because I read fast. It's not a long game, but it's definitely worth buying.
Date published: 2012-01-03
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Brilliant game This is a fascinating story one that more developers could learn from in that they can take an awesome, if not well known book that was written (even long ago) and turn them into a great game. Yes, it is a short game as it took me between 3-4 hours and I play slow. Most HOG's take me 4 or 5 sittings to complete this one was done in 3 sittings....all around an hour or so....my eyes tend to blurr after that! Ho scenes and puzzles were all fairly easy, but the puzzles were unique so I didn't mind ease of play. I don't need a tough challenge to be entertained.
Date published: 2011-12-02
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Enjoyable Story The story was innovative and engrossing. I got stuck in some areas, but the hints were helpful. It could have been longer, but I still recommend this game for anyone that enjoys finding solutions to situations - real thinker this one. Would enjoy playing more games like this one.
Date published: 2011-11-26
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Mountains of Madness Lovely, atmospheric game with some good puzzles. Helpful Advice key and Hints key come in useful sometimes too. I'm a sucker for anything linked to HP Lovecraft!
Date published: 2011-11-24
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Exciting adventure game I've played this on demo, but what I had tried out, I loved. The graphic is great, good adventure story too. Mixture of hidden objects and puzzle scenes which I like.
Date published: 2011-11-22
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Good game Liked story and graphics. The hint and advice system is pretty unique. Will buy it for sure.
Date published: 2011-11-21
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Challengeing, fun Hidden Object Game This a great game, It the type of game that will keep u so interested u will jump when the phone ring. I loved the story, It is different you will have to really think on this one. Take your time and read everything. I do think u should give it a try is worth the money.
Date published: 2011-11-20
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Mystery Stories:Mountains of Madness is a thinkers game H.P. Lovecraft is a great writer and this game does his writing justice. The challenges are for someone that wants to use their mind to solve things and yet it follows traditional hidden objects games. You must figure how to use tools and combine items from an inventory so you can uncover what madness has perhaps taken the researchers. I found the game hard to stop playing, it is compelling in its story. The graphics are excellent and you even get scrolling ability with it. This is a 5 star, going to be a Classic that other games will copy for some time to come.
Date published: 2011-11-20
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Excellent Game! The game is short (took me a litlle over 2 1/2 hrs to play); however, it's well worth the money! The graphics are excellent, great story line, creepy creatures, some really awesome scenes. You have the ability to scroll right or left, but you can disable the scrolling as well, an option not generally available, but I like it as I do not care for the scrolling. Once you use a hint, it's available again immediately, also the game includes an "advice" button, which really makes it seem like a CE. Cool, because you're actually getting a CE for the price of a regular game. There is no walk thru, but, come on, with all these neat features, you don't really need one. All in all, a very great game to have as your own, for the low price of 6.99!
Date published: 2011-11-20
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Supurb SE game release. Hello all. I have only played this game for 42 minutes. I stopped to exit and buy in case it exited me. It is of such good quality & checked to see if it had been previously released as a CE which it has not. There are two modes to play which are changeable in game. The options are sound, music, custom curser, full screen, and ratio aspect, which means that unusually my lap top screen is filled. Further more there are options in some of the scenes to go "wide screen" and enable scrolling for a more panoramic experience, but the fact it is an option means it caters for those of us prone to motion sickness. I can understand why they included the option though, the scenery is stunning & graphics are excellent on my lappy. There is also a voice over at the begining of chapters. The story is a bit different too & has intrigued me. I played on easy mode so I don't know if the harder mode has these options, (and there is a skippable tutorial) but you have goals to for fill, like "enter the tent" . The hint system will give you a general hint on one click & a more detailed hint on subsequent hints. There are Hidden Object Locations (HOL's ) and some times it is find 10 of this etc but also fins many objects, which you would expect to find in the location. I have come across 1 mini game that was unique and enjoyable. You collect achievements along the way. I have absolutely no idea why this game is as SE. May be it is something to do with length, something i have no idea on I'm afraid, but i will post back later to give an idea. {Others have indicated @3 1/2 - 4 hours game play} All in all this is a brilliant game so far & I am off to buy. Jojo
Date published: 2011-11-19
Rated 5 out of 5 by from stunning mystery based on a real science fiction thriller how many of you dream of visiting antarctica? well, now you can! in this hidden object puzzle mystery, it is 1931, and you have just arrived in antarctica to investigate the unexplained deaths of an expedition of scientists. whilst you are there, one of your team disappears so now you, your other colleague and your dog must find him. during your search, you discover an ancient alien city in the mountains of antarctica. are the city’s inhabitants still alive? if so, are they connected to the dead expedition -- and to your missing colleague? if so, how? and why? and how can you recover your missing colleague before it is too late? graphics: lovely art, but nothing exceptional. hidden objects scenes were part of the story and most of the items pertained to the story or to the time period when the story takes place. the way that hidden objects simply disappeared when clicked on was creepy -- no sound, no sparkles, it was just "now you see it and now you ... don't" -- almost as if the object had never been there at all. interestingly, these found objects are not in the scene the second time you visit it. there was a variety of puzzles and they were reasonably easy but nevertheless, quite enjoyable. once again, these puzzles were integral parts of the story. music and sound effects: music was non-intrusive. the sound effects were good and set the mood nicely (it's summer here, but i put on my fleece whilst playing this game!) voiceovers at the beginning of each chapter provide context for the story whilst relevant dialogue is scripted during each chapter. game play: two modes of play: casual and expert. hints work only in hidden object scenes but you do not have to wait for them to recharge, and hidden objects scenes must be completed before you can leave. there is a skip button for all puzzles. goals are listed at the bottom of the screen and there is an advice button which acts like a strategy guide. achievements are awarded along the way. some scenes have a "scrolling" option that you can enabled during play, which provides a panoramic view that has a lot of depth. storyline: tense, creepy and quite believable. during demo mode, no monsters or ghosts or anything like that popped up, although there were a few dead bodies at the beginning of the game and some sort of unknown “monsters” were the story’s focus. my interaction: one hour demo, casual mode. i purchased the game. what makes this game special: unlike any other game i've played, objects that you removed from a scene the first time were not present the second time you worked the scene. also unlike any other game i've played, the circle puzzle pieces each had a rotate button so you could, with a click, fit them into the puzzle without having to use a special left- and right-clickable mouse -- YAY!! additionally, i’ve not yet played a game where there is a panoramic view for some scenes that can be turned on/off during gameplay. as a science fiction fan, i was pleasantly surprised at the quality of this video game -- it’s more of an interactive graphic novel than a game. although this is good family fun, it is possible that the kiddies may be disturbed by it because it is such a believable story. however, science fiction and horror fans will especially enjoy this game. now, off to finish the game and then to find and reread the novella that this game is based on!
Date published: 2012-06-14
Rated 5 out of 5 by from "Absolute Insanity" It's pleasantly cold, cause I am passionate about this game. It simulates the mind. "Mystery mountain of madness", searching for clues, what happen to an entire team of researchers? Unless, you play this game, "I guess you will never know"!? . . . . Hm . . . m . . . m . . . m . . .
Date published: 2011-11-21
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Intriguing Game Was a great game with a great story line. had a lot of good mini games I used the hints twice when it seemed there was no place to go but all in all this is a great game. Loved the way it interacted with the two main characters going back and forth between the two. Also there was the HOGs where some of the objects were used in different places This one had all the HOGs that I love. finding pieces of an object, finding objects and having to find objects to open other scenes in the game. Kudos to the producer of this game.
Date published: 2011-11-20
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Unique Sci-Fi Fun! I loved this game! The Sci-Fi oriented storyline dominated right until the end. The graphics are outstanding. Being able to switch Panorama view added to the exotic landscape. The music and sound effects were just ok, not seeming to add much so were turned down early in game play. The puzzles were very easy yet in line with the theme. - It would be nice to come across a game with more challenge in the puzzles and this particular game would have been a good place to start. Things I liked: -The storyline was eerie without being dark and depressing -Interaction with characters throughout game play. -Strong storyline that imbued a sense of urgency toward the end of game play -Journal was useful but not bloated with too much info -The "advice" window that showed increasingly more overt hints when clicked multiple times; No strategy guide needed -HOS were not over used and alternated between written lists of items to find and pictures of items to find. --Artwork was creative Nice to haves: -Challenging, unusual mini-games and more of them -Game play was short. I am slow and it took under 3 hours -More creativity in HOS where actions needed before collecting items. I had a lot of fun playing this one. I hope there is more to come along these lines. Yes, I recommend this game!
Date published: 2012-02-13
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Best I've seen! Beautiful combo HO and adventure game. Unlimited hints, sort of a strategy guide. I bought it - completely enjoyable!
Date published: 2011-11-22
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Not Just the Same-old, Same-old. Very Good! I did not realize that this was the third in a series until I came to post my review! With it's refreshingly-different graphics style, an interesting story and appropriately dramatic (but not overpowering) music, the game drew me in almost immediately. Options include sliders for music and sound effects, plus custom cursor, the ability to switch back and forth between easy and expert mode, full-screen and a box to choose your screen resolution (ie. 1024x768, etc.) There is also the option to turn off the effects for those with slower computers There is no random-click penalty. The game starts out in the uninhabited tundra, cold and desolate in its beauty. It wasn't long before I realized that this game is very reminiscent of The Thing, with Kurt Russell - a movie I have long wished to be able to play as an IHOG or adventure game! :o Happy day for me, I got a combination of the two, IHOG and adventure! Don't let me mislead you - the game does not follow the storyline of The Thing, but it is reminiscent enough in [i]feeling[/] that I am a happy camper. The gameplay itself is more adventure than HOG, also a plus. When you do have HOG scenes, you will end up keeping several items from the area, not just one item (as is the norm for most HOG's). You may have 30 items to find in one scene, but only eight items will be listed at any given time. This adds to the difficulty a bit, as randomly guessing what's on the list won't do you much good. Items will not just found via list, for you will also find them by picture. There are no pencils floating in the sky or ridiculously out-of-place items, and no teeny-tiny items to contend with. Also noteworthy of the HOG scenes is that items you've removed previously will not be present when you have to return! Gameplay is intuitive, but in case you need help, you have three choices! First, there is an Advice button, which will give you a general hint. If you hit the Advice button a second time (in the same area), it will give you more specific advice. Then there's also a HINT button, which definitely helps if you can't find a missing object during the adventure portion, and of course during the hidden object scenes. The HINT button will also tell you which direction you need to go if you're confused. (LOVE it! Thank you for the tiered hints, devs!) We have a journal, but it doesn't have a bunch of writing that you'll have to follow - it is more to remind you of where you've been and what you've done - images and scraps of information you may have gleaned. Once again, thumbs up to the devs, for there are no unsolicited hints in the journal! The mini-games are perfectly in keeping with the game and the story, and have a SKIP button, if needed. Next to the skip button is a ?, which will give you the mini's instructions. Every now and then we will change from one character's point of view to another's - something I've seen done only in a few games, previously. It happens automatically, and does not interrupt the flow of the game at all... it seems only natural the way they've done it. There are achievements in this game, but they are more to track your progress than anything else. You don't have to work hard or even try to get the achievements - they come simply by playing the game like you normally would. Still, it was a nice thought. I really do enjoy the artwork in this game - it's quite beautiful, and there are some multi-layered scrolling scenes that add real depth to the game. If you do not like scrolling scenes, you can disable them. Doing so will simply meld everything into one static scene that you can see all at once. I must mention that none of the HOG scenes scroll (a good thing for me!) I believe I'm getting near to the end, and it's been a real pleasure. Definitely a solid game, I recommend it.
Date published: 2011-12-18
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Do this game in daylight! I've never been so caught by a game from the first scen. Bought the game immediately after finishing the "try", just had to go on playing. The ending even stressed me.
Date published: 2011-11-20
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Loved this Game My only complaint is that it was not longer. Of course that way I won't monopolize the computer all day. I thought I'd just play enough to see what it was like and could not stop till the end. Wonderful game!
Date published: 2011-11-19
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Loving it It's the first game I bought on BFG and I really enjoy it. Bright graphics, thrilling story line. Always loved the Lovecraft stories :-)
Date published: 2011-11-21
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Mystery Stories: Mountains of Madness This game is extremely awesome..... It does challange you to think. I just wish that I didn't have to stop playing when the free game was up.
Date published: 2011-11-20
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Fantastic Hidden Object Adventure shows, how to make, even with a small memory capacity, a very ambitious gameplay, which I enjoyed till its end...
Date published: 2011-11-20
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Science Fiction graphics are a change from the medieval ones. For a non collector's edition, this was worth the money. Very staccato texture to the graphics.
Date published: 2012-11-05
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Lovecraft Theme Holds True Gorgeous visual design but had to borrow a more powerful machine to run it. Good variety of hidden object scenes. Puzzles were relevant to scenario, but not so hard as to bog down gameplay. Especially enjoyed the surprise jumps between characters and game levels which mixed it up and forced me out of the usual linear march from beginning to end.
Date published: 2012-06-07
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Mystory Stories: Mountains of Madness This was an awesome game. Intense, and keeps you very interested. I wish I could buy this game. :o)
Date published: 2011-11-21
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Hidden Object Game I loved this game. It is very challenging. The graphics are great and the game moves smoothly. The characters are interesting.
Date published: 2011-11-20
Rated 5 out of 5 by from mountains of madness hidden object game Once I tried the sample game I just had to buy the game I just did not want to stop very very good game.
Date published: 2011-11-20
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Love this game,very interesting I would let all my friends to try this game.
Date published: 2011-11-20
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great than Haunted Manor 2 Great !!! games !!! Love !!! it!! :D
Date published: 2011-11-20
Rated 5 out of 5 by from excellent hidden game I liked it over all. It has a very nice setting.
Date published: 2011-11-19
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Exellent This is an exellent hidden objects game.
Date published: 2011-11-20
  • y_2021, m_9, d_24, h_20
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_3.0.19
  • cp_2, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_0, tr_107
  • loc_en_US, sid_12368, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=RATING, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=HELPFULNESS, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=FEATURED, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_bigfishgames

The Big Fish Guarantee:

Quality tested and virus free. No ads, no adware, no spyware.

Your Security and Privacy are important to us! Privacy Policy

, share your thoughts about this game!

Mystery Stories: Mountains of Madness

Explore a terrifying tale in Mystery Stories: Mountains of Madness! Find out what happened to an entire team of researchers!

Heres what your review will look like once it’s posted.

Click Submit if you’re happy. Your review should appear soon. To make changes, use the Edit or Cancel buttons.

Thanks for sharing your thoughts about this game!

You’ve already shared your thoughts about this game.

Thanks for submitting the review below.