Mystery of the Ancients: Lockwood Manor Collector's Edition
Exclusive

Mystery of the Ancients: Lockwood Manor Collector's Edition

PC

Also available on

Hidden Object

Play Now Download the free trial

This game will not work on your operating system.

Are you sure you want to download this game?

Free sample version

(220.03 MB)

By clicking "Play Now", I accept the Terms of Use and acknowledge that I have received the Privacy Policy. If this is your first time downloading a game from Big Fish, our handy Game Manager app will install on your computer to help manage your games.
Buy Now Get the full version

This game will not work on your operating system.

Are you sure you want to purchase it?

Full version game

$ 19.99 USD

$ 13.99 USD or 2 credits

There's a terrible secret hidden deep within Lockwood Manor. Uncover the truth in order to save your best friend, and yourself, in this thrilling hidden object adventure game!

This is a special Collector's Edition release full of exclusive extras you won’t find in the standard version. As a bonus, Collector's Edition purchases count toward three stamps on your Monthly Game Club Punch Card!

The Collector’s Edition includes:

  • Bonus gameplay
  • Integrated strategy guide
  • Music
  • Concept art

Game System Requirements:

  • OS: Windows XP/Vista/8
  • CPU: 1.0 GHz
  • RAM: 512 MB
  • DirectX: 9.0
  • Hard Drive: 538 MB

Big Fish Games App System Requirements:

  • Browser: Internet Explorer 7 or later
Reviews at a Glance

Mystery of the Ancients: Lockwood Manor Collector's Edition

0 out of 5 (0 ReviewsReview)
Average Rating:
Play Now Download the free trial

This game will not work on your operating system.

Are you sure you want to download this game?

Free sample version

(220.03 MB)

Buy Now Get the full version

This game will not work on your operating system.

Are you sure you want to purchase it?

Full version game

$ 19.99 USD

$ 13.99 USD or 2 credits

Customer Reviews
Mystery of the Ancients: Lockwood Manor Collector's Edition is rated 4.2 out of 5 by 42.
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Loved it. 4.5 Stars I bought the S/E version of this game several months ago, and didn't play it until today. The story line is built around a series of diary pages spread around the mansion, and at first I though 'Oh No!", not another flimsy story unsuported by the game play, and to a certain extent this turned out to be true. but this did not detract from the game at all. It's a long and a very entertaining game which did at the end leave an entre into the Bonus Chapter for the C/E version, which has now tempted me to buy the C/E version. A great game that maybe should not be judged on the 1 hour demo, as the does'nt even begin to indicate how good this game becomes.
Date published: 2012-06-06
Rated 5 out of 5 by from One of My Favorites! I've played this twice I love it so much! You'll even earn trophies for not cheating or completing multiple puzzles without using the hint button. Everything about this game is wonderful i.e. graphics, puzzles, storyline. One of my favorites!
Date published: 2012-03-30
Rated 5 out of 5 by from A++++ What great fun!!! HOG's are not too messy, puzzles are unique (for the most part), and you know what you need to accomplish. Played casual and advanced... could play this one over and over. Music was GREAT! CE bonus play was really well done. It's definitely one of my new favorites!!!
Date published: 2012-06-08
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Love, love, love, love this game 'Nuf said. No really (smile). I played both the SE and CE versions of this game - just in the past 2 hours. The storyline is a typical "oh no, someone(s) disappeared" and has/have to be found. But, there is demonology and the occult and monsters, oh my! I finished the SE version with 15 minutes to spare. I did not need the strategy guide as the hints button was pretty useful. It also recharged very quickly. The music haunting - clearly it's supposed to be. The HOGs are frequent so if you don't like an HOG every time you turn around this game is not for you. The mini-games fun and range from easy to middling on difficulty, but if you stick with it I think you'll eventually get it - depending on your patience level and desire to hit that "skip" button. You do get achievements for how well you do on HOGs. The game as a whole - surprising in the first hour (well, less than that for the SE) because Ms. Thing, the missing girlfriend turns out to be chained up because she's the demon! NO WAY! Now, how, why, where did that come from???? Buy the game and find out 'cuz if you just play the free trial you will be hooked. I very rarely spend the bucks for a CE but based on my gameplay it just looked better graphically and I read lots of good kudos on the bonus gameplay. Glam-ma says it's a MUST!
Date published: 2013-06-22
Rated 5 out of 5 by from better hidden object/quest game Loved this game - good storyline(like "supernatual"). Graphics are superb - especially the Collectors edition.
Date published: 2011-11-23
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Lockwood Manor "Spine-Chilling" I especially love the story, although kinda spooky. . . . it's still a gorgeous game. It's a real good hog, with spectacular graphics. Mini games are intermediate and there is alot to discover before you can release your friend from the clenches of Lockwood Manor. I bid you well ladies and gentlemen, during your adventure in unlocking the secrets of the "Mystery of the Ancients".
Date published: 2012-02-03
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Very enjoyable. I liked this game alot. It had achivements you could collect and the HOS were good, not too many of them, just right and there were other ways of gaining inventory. Some of the HOS were the regular kind and some where the shaddow of the item so it wasnt boring and repetitious. I enjoyed it.
Date published: 2012-07-28
Rated 5 out of 5 by from What a great game!!! I don't write a lot of reviews because I am generally not impressed by a lot of games. Oh I play them but they never make enough of an impression on me to try to review them. But this game hits the mark. First of all I really like the HOG"s in this game. So far they are one parters...which I love. Also they are what they are supposed to be. No cutesy guessing games. Plus the graphics are terrific! . The story line thus far is involving and although there is a bit of running about it makes sense and I can follow it without a strategy guide. So.......Thank you BFG for bringing this one back at a discount...Thanks to the developers for great graphics and a good plot and oh yes...the music IS WONDERFUL!!!!! At a regular price for a CE I would have bought this...at a discount it's a gift. Enjoy!!!
Date published: 2012-06-05
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Awesome Game Dev;s you out did yourselves on this game thank you for the many hours of fun hope to see more of your games..Thx BF for these DEV's..This game is a Must BUY you want be sorry has a lot to offer of fun and many hours..
Date published: 2012-06-05
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Brilliant! Another brilliant game that i enjoyed, graphics are superb, the storyline had me wanting to find out more and the HOS were easy enough and not too cluttered with the hint system filling quite quickly. Will Play again.
Date published: 2012-06-12
Rated 4 out of 5 by from A good all round game I actually quite enjoyed this game, the intro was really good, The story line was OK and the music was enjoyable, The graphics were very good. The hos were pretty run of the mill - quite a few of those - but the puzzles were very entertaining, although they started off very easy they did improve as the game went along. Overall this game was worth buying. I would recommend this game to anyone with average experience. I played on the expert level and managed without any difficulty.
Date published: 2013-11-03
Rated 4 out of 5 by from nice, spooky HOG Just finished playing this game, and I had a great afternoon, I played quite a long time, about 5 to 6 hours, including bonus-play. The storyline is fantastic, the game really grabs you from the beginning and really, you can't cut loose until you know how it ends! And the story gets better and better after the demo has ended! Beautiful, crisp graphics, nice music, sometimes with nice effects, but I really missed voice-overs, they would have made this game really come to life. No map, no problem for me, but I can imagine you could loose your way. CE offers achievements and bonusplay. If you're not really in to that, you can easily do with the SE, the game comes to a very nice and conclusive ending, the bonus is a bit of overkill and mainly HOS in only a couple of new locations, some new puzzles too. I had loads of fun, try it and enjoy!!
Date published: 2013-09-13
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Great graphics, good balance The first thing I noticed about this game was the amazing graphics! They are so crisp and clear...there is no chance of "tangled mess" problems in the HO scenes or of "mystery objects" not being clear. An amazingly well-rendered game!! I liked the mix of HO and adventure/problem-solving--just enough HO that I didn't get totally sick of it! Most of the HO was not challenging, though a few pieces were quite difficult. The adventure/storyline was at times a bit challenging, but not to the point of frustration, and the hint button provided good guidance when needed. The storyline was good but had a few obvious holes that were never explained. One thing I particularly liked was that when we didn't need to poke around certain areas of the game, the storyline cut them off so you can't even go back there until you need to again! This saved needless wandering, particularly since a map is not provided. Overall a great game for people who like the mix of HO and adventure and don't mind a dark storyline.
Date published: 2013-03-09
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Good game, full of black magic... The storyline is interesting. There are 2 game modes. - The graphics are clear, even in the HOS. - The mini-games are mostly easy. - There is a journal, but no map, although I would have been happy to have an interactive map, since there is a lot of walking! - The hint system is good, showing the direction. The game is not very long, about 2 1/2 hours for the main part, and a bit less than 1 hour for the bonus chapter. But I consider it worth the money.
Date published: 2013-03-03
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Not bad, but too short I bought this game because of the many positive reviews. I have never heard of the game dev. so I decided to give it a try. While playing the game, the cursor seemed to be slow, which I never experience playing other game. The loading each scene is fine although sometimes the mouse clicks more than necessary, I don't know why. The game is very short, in my opinion. I think I finish it in less than 3 hours (main game). I almost never use the SG, but I don't find it very useful because the SG has no index and bunch of sentences put together, it is difficult to read. The game is rather easy, which is good for me. There is no interactive HOG and most of the puzzles I can solve less than 5 seconds. I am sure expert gamers will find this game too easy to play. The graphic is fine, rather blurry at times. The demon, I am sorry, but it's not scary at all. In fact, rather amusing. The music is OK but it lacks special effects. If you are just into the game and won't mind these things, I am sure you will find this game satisfying. Overall, I like the game. I also bought the sequel to the series so I hope for an improvement on those areas from the dev.
Date published: 2013-02-24
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Uncover the Secrets of Lockwood Manor The moral of this story is: Let sleeping demons lie! But of course no one ever does and it's up to you to rescue the damsel in distress. This game has a supernatural story which is told through letters and notes left scattered about. These and other clues are added to your journal as you explore the manor and grounds. You earn useful inventory items by solving hidden object scenes and puzzles. Awards given for exceptional gameplay and announced by pop ups. The game is slow to load from one scene to the next and moving between areas to accomplish tasks or revisit a hidden object scene for a second search requires a little patience. On the other hand, scenes will suddenly burst with drama. You are being watched as you get closer to solving the Mystery of the Ancients, so beware!
Date published: 2012-06-27
Rated 4 out of 5 by from I would loved to have had a 4.5 Rating This is one of the better games inspite of being tilted toward the darker side. But most of the good games tend that direction. The HOGs are plentiful. A bit much for me as I like the puzzles more. My wife likes the HOGs and this game makes her fun list. The scenes are crisp. The graphics are superb. The music compliments the overall feel for the game. But I have to agree with some, the storyline gets lost as you retrace your steps to find what you need to continue. Setting aside the story aspect, I didn't mind the long trips back and forth as much as I have in other games. This may be in part to the storyline or it may be due to the background sounds. I like the achievemnt aspect of the CE. It allows others to compete later for trophies. I would have liked a best times feature. That sometimes is my real measure of the game--how fast can I complete it and get everything.
Date published: 2012-01-02
Rated 4 out of 5 by from gorgeous art, but technical issues present an unexpected challenge in this hidden object thriller, my best friends -- jennifer, her boyfriend, john, and his twin brother, matthew -- have all mysteriously disappeared. so i follow jennifer's trail and find her chained up and surrounded by burning candles in the dark basement of the creepy old Lockwood Manor mansion -- held prisoner by john, of all people! graphics: the artwork in this game is simply stunning. from what i saw in the demo, the art is lush, high quality and wonderfully detailed in every scene. even though i am not a ghost/demon/dark magic fan, i loved the graphics so much, i almost purchased this game based on the quality of the graphics alone (but more about this later). the hidden object scenes were rather junky and cluttered, but the objects were well drawn and recognisable, and the objects you needed to find were mostly consistent with the theme of the game (candles, spiders and whatnot). the puzzles weren't too difficult, mostly brain-teasers, and could be solved within a reasonable length of time. rewards were given for game achievements, such as not skipping puzzles, not using the hint button and for quickly finding hidden objects. music: truly beautifully done. the soundtrack for this game is the best i've ever heard for a video game. storyline: as i already mentioned, i think supernatural stuff is just plain silly, but the plot for this game is so well thought out that the game is really quite enjoyable. my complaints: switching between scenes took 10 seconds or longer to load and the cursor would often freeze for 5-10 seconds at a time, especially in the hidden object scenes. it was annoying and frustrating to wait for the game to catch up with where i was trying to go. also, there was no map, which meant i got lost sometimes trying to remember where i was supposed to use certain items that i'd just added to my inventory. my interaction: one hour demo, casual mode (there's two modes). in short: this is a gorgeous game. i was ready to purchase it, but the slow load and cursor freeze issues made me pass it over.
Date published: 2012-06-05
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Good Fun The game had a good storyline, but felt ending was incomplete. The mini games were good, easy to start got harder as game progressed. A lot of running around in circles during last chapter. Enjoyable playing.
Date published: 2011-12-04
Rated 4 out of 5 by from pretty fun game No voice over and the graphics are ok. The HOS are not hard and finding items are quite easy. Pretty easy game so far. Not the greatest but still fun to play. The puzzles are fair.
Date published: 2013-05-18
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Fun game with a few exceptions I bought the CE version for Mac. The strategy guide is terrible. First, it always returns to page one so if you are some where in the middle of the game you must spend so much time looking for what you need. Second, as I have found in the past the strategy guide don't match the game. I suspect they take the PC version and just dump into the Mac version without ever verifying that the Mac developers have made changes. Other then that it is a fun game.
Date published: 2012-06-15
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Lockwood Manor training You may never have a chance to unlock a terrible secret...but Mystery of the Ancients gives you some fun training.
Date published: 2011-11-16
Rated 4 out of 5 by from HOGs in this game I loved the graphics and the music! Fantastic! I like my games on the darker side, but then I am a lover if a good horror movie. Even though I don't like HOGs in adventure games, I know that belonging to Big Fish Games means you're going to get them. This game has too many. Every time I turned around, there was an HOG. I found myself using the hint button in the HO because I found them very hard to see. HOG, for me, slow the pace of the game. The fewer the games has HOG, the better for me! :-)
Date published: 2012-12-05
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Ok Game with a lot of HOS For me, this was an ok game. Too heavy on the Hidden Object scenes. The story is ok. You need to go to an abandoned mansion and do battle with a demon. In the extended play, you send the demon back to you know where. The graphics are very good. The music and sound effects are, too. The cut scenes are nicely done. And, I consider this a long game. I would guess there is another hour of game play in the 'Extra' part. There are a large number of interesting places to explore. The actions required aren't particularly original #put mirror together, assemble ladder, etc#, but enjoyable. My main problem with this game is the number of HOS. Way too many for me. The HOS are clear and not too difficult to complete. No interaction at all. I played in the more advanced mode #no sparkles except to indicate HOS# and there were a few areas of interest that I missed. The hint system is fairly useful, but it only indicates where you should go. It doesn't tell you what to do. There is no map. The game does require a good bit of walking back and forth, which can be very annoying--especially if you don't remember where you need to go. A map would have helped. Also, there is a strange machine in one room and I never figured out what to do with it. Maybe I missed something. There are a number of achievements that you can try for. I managed to get all but one without even trying. Then I checked on the one remaining achievement #find five items in a HOS in five seconds#. Got that on the next HOS. If you really like HOS, you will probably love this game. I found it to be nicely done, but unoriginal. If you are new to HO/Adventure games or are looking for something that isn't that challenging, this game might be for you. So, I will recommend it.
Date published: 2012-09-16
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Just OK for me! Let me start off with the positives of this game! The graphics and music are excellent! I normally turn the music off, because it ends up getting rather annoying, but I kept it on in this game. The graphics are excellent with no blurriness or fuzziness! There are a lot of HOS in this game and none of them were grainy or blurry. The items were fairly easy to find as well. Don't get me wrong, the HOS weren't super easy, I just mean the items weren't grainy and you can tell what they are when you see them. There are 2 modes of game play, casual and expert. The casual game mode offers sparkles for all the areas of interest and the hint button fills up quickly. Expert mode has no sparkles for areas of interest and the hint button fills up more slowly. The strategy guide is easy to follow as well. There are several achievements that you can earn for this game, such as an achievement for having no mis-clicks in a HOS and not using the hint button during HOS. I think there's a total of 12 achievements, but I'm not totally sure, but it's close to that number. A little window comes up each time you receive an achievement and tells you which one you received. The story is great and there is a diary that you can refer to, there is no map however! Please note that the storyline involves demons, dark magic and warlocks, so if you are one that does not enjoy that type of story, you will probably want to avoid this game. The cut scenes were seamless and well done! There is also a bonus chapter in the CE, which is the only reason I buy any of the CEs! Now for the things I consider negatives in this game. These few negatives were enough to make me give a 3 star rating, because they just took the fun out of the game, for me anyway! There was SO MUCH running around, back and forth, scene to scene, that I would forget what I was doing, what object should go where and several times I had to re-read the diary to remember what the story is actually about! This took the fun factor out of this game for me! The story just didn't flow well, because of all the running amuck, and in turn, had me wishing I hadn't bought this game. Also, as I do enjoy the occasional HOS in games, this game had more than I care to have in a game. I realize this is a hidden object adventure game, but there are some of these types of games that have fewer HOS, and those are the ones that I enjoy the most! :-) If you really like a lot of HOS in an adventure game, this is a game you will certainly enjoy! I do hope that those of you who do choose to purchase this game have a great time playing it and enjoy it very much! HAPPY GAMING!
Date published: 2011-12-26
Rated 3 out of 5 by from I DARE YOU TO STAY THE NIGHT HERE Not a bad wee game. Very easy to play. The game has: ~ Casual and Advanced modes ~ Achievements Board ~ Diary There are lots of HOGs and mini games to play - which I personally love. The HOGs started off being medium to play but got easier as I got further into the game. They are quite cluttered so you do have to look closely (oh how I hate feathers!). The mini games were very easy to play. The last mini game in the bonus section took the longest. It wasn't that it was hard, but it took a while to do. The graphics are very gloomy (no sunshine, blue sky or the like) but I had no trouble finding clues or navigating around. The music was quite haunting but nice. If I like the music, I tend to turn it up loud. There is plenty of running around to do to collect objects, clues and the like which is a personal favourite of mine. Its quite a long game and the bonus is lengthy too. You get an achievement if you play the game under 8 hours, but I failed that one. However, because I played all the HOGs and mini games without hints or skipping, and because I like to take my time and have a decent look around everywhere, I took no notice of that achievement. I also played Curse of the Black Water a while back by the same developers and found that I enjoyed that game more. I think it is a later game and the developers may have taken on board what people like more. Overall quite a good game and I will be keeping an eye out for more games from these developers.
Date published: 2013-12-06
Rated 3 out of 5 by from DEMON!!! Yawn... OK, let's just get that out of the way because if I'd know the "family secret" involved a demon I wouldn't have bothered. Good graphics and loved the music but lots of "stuttering" through the whole thing. A few scenes gave me a good jump and a couple of the mini games were really challenging but the story...I kept hoping it would get better. It took me awhile to realize that my problem with it was that it had no depth, no soul to it. There's minimal history of the house or the family. We only "meet" the main characters through diary pages, there's very little actual dialogue. We don't even get to see that much of the house. I like a game to suck me in so I worry about what's going to happen to the characters. That didn't happen here and I was bored because I didn't care. If you like a long, superficial game with little challenge then this is for you. If you're looking for adventure, give this a miss.
Date published: 2012-08-11
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Not the greatest I bought this game, knowing it was a easy game. Sometimes I like to play a easy game that I don't have too think to much. I own 2 or 3 counting this one like that. That was not the problem. I have a new computer that is fast and has lots of space on it so I know it was not my computer's fault. This game was very, very glitchy. My pointer stoped and even disappeared multiple times during the game. I hated that. Also which is a major problem with this game it does not have a wide screen...really guys...this is a CE for goodness sakes. The graphics were good and even the story and music was pretty good...but that troublesome glitchiness was a big negative for me...Now I have a CE game, I probley will not play again. That is a big bummer.
Date published: 2012-07-05
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Started Off Great, Ended Poorly I truly wanted to enjoy this game. I've enjoyed other games in this series. The game begins when you go to Lockwood Manor to save Jenny. The graphics are nice and the music is okay. I really enjoyed the HOS and mini games. The game started off with a bang and was very interesting, but there is a lot of toing and froing which became tedious. I lost interest before the end of the main game and didn't enjoy the bonus chapter at all. There is a journal for notes and achievements you collect as you complete the game. There is a guide. I would not recommend this game.
Date published: 2020-03-23
Rated 3 out of 5 by from too slow even for me and too much going back and back and to the side etc. Too little logic that I could discern...just hit and miss until it moves. Tell me if I'm wrong...please! If there's a pattern to this beyond guessing, I'd like to learn it. So...I wouldn't play it again so I guess I wouldn't recommend it
Date published: 2013-12-01
  • y_2020, m_6, d_2, h_15
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_3.0.8
  • cp_2, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_0, tr_42
  • loc_en_US, sid_12052, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=RATING, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=HELPFULNESS, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=FEATURED, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_bigfishgames

The Big Fish Guarantee:

Quality tested and virus free. No ads, no adware, no spyware.

Your Security and Privacy are important to us! Privacy Policy

, share your thoughts about this game!

Mystery of the Ancients: Lockwood Manor Collector's Edition

There's a terrible secret hidden deep within Lockwood Manor!

Heres what your review will look like once it’s posted.

Click Submit if you’re happy. Your review should appear soon. To make changes, use the Edit or Cancel buttons.

Thanks for sharing your thoughts about this game!

You’ve already shared your thoughts about this game.

Thanks for submitting the review below.