Dark Tales: Edgar Allan Poe's The Premature Burial Collector's Edition
Exclusive

Dark Tales: Edgar Allan Poe's The Premature Burial Collector's Edition

PC

Also available on

Hidden Object

Play Now Download the free trial

This game will not work on your operating system.

Are you sure you want to download this game?

Free sample version

(345.95 MB)

By clicking "Play Now", I accept the Terms of Use and acknowledge that I have received the Privacy Policy. If this is your first time downloading a game from Big Fish, our handy Game Manager app will install on your computer to help manage your games.
Buy Now Get the full version

This game will not work on your operating system.

Are you sure you want to purchase it?

Full version game

$ 19.99 USD

$ 13.99 USD or 2 credits

Step into Dark Tales: Edgar Allan Poe’s The Premature Burial where Julien has hired the world famous Detective Dupin to investigate the sudden death of his beloved Victorine. After her passing, Victorine’s husband, who she has no love for, has her buried incredibly quickly, making Julien uneasy. Become Detective Dupin’s assistant and use your Hidden Object Puzzle Adventure talents to unravel the mystery!

This is a special Collector's Edition release full of exclusive extras you won’t find in the standard version. As a bonus, Collector's Edition purchases count toward three stamps on your Monthly Game Club Punch Card!

The Collector’s Edition includes:

  • Bonus gameplay
  • Stunning Soundtrack
  • Wonderful Wallpapers
  • Concept Art

Game System Requirements:

  • OS: Windows XP/Vista/8
  • CPU: 1.4 GHz
  • RAM: 1024 MB
  • DirectX: 9.0
  • Hard Drive: 761 MB

Big Fish Games App System Requirements:

  • Browser: Internet Explorer 7 or later
  • Alcohol Reference
  • Tobacco Reference
  • Mild Blood
  • Mild Violence
Reviews at a Glance

Dark Tales: Edgar Allan Poe's The Premature Burial Collector's Edition

0 out of 5 (0 ReviewsReview)
Average Rating:
Play Now Download the free trial

This game will not work on your operating system.

Are you sure you want to download this game?

Free sample version

(345.95 MB)

Buy Now Get the full version

This game will not work on your operating system.

Are you sure you want to purchase it?

Full version game

$ 19.99 USD

$ 13.99 USD or 2 credits

Customer Reviews
Dark Tales: Edgar Allan Poe's The Premature Burial Collector's Edition is rated 4.5 out of 5 by 49.
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Better than ever! Every Dark Tales I have ever played I have truly enjoyed. This latest edition is no exception. The gameplay is intriguing and challenging. The graphics and sound is excellent. Finally, I believe this to be the best Edgar Allen Poe edition BFG has released so far. Great job.
Date published: 2011-11-18
Rated 5 out of 5 by from "Excellent Mystery HOG" An excellent use of a classic Edgar Allan Poe story. Though not particularly long, the bonus features made it worth the buy. The graphics were all extremely well done, and I very much enjoyed the voice acting that accompanied them.
Date published: 2011-11-13
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great game Love this one in the series, love the story, the plot and the graphics kept me going, could not stop playing from the beginning to the end.
Date published: 2011-12-04
Rated 5 out of 5 by from DEVIATION FROM THE BORING HIDDEN OBJECT This was a great game. The hidden object scenes were only there to get ahead in the game or provide clues, they weren't the object of the game. I'm heartily sick of hidden object, but this game was a great puzzle game as well. Really worth buying!!
Date published: 2011-11-15
Rated 5 out of 5 by from DARK TALES EDGAR ALL POE'S THE PREMATURE BURIAL CE This game was fun throughout, the graphs were fantastic but some of the hidden object times were a little hard to find. I loved the ending.
Date published: 2012-01-17
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Wonderful This game was adequately lengthy and not obvious.
Date published: 2011-11-15
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Love this series The Dark Tales series is my favourite hidden object series so far. I live the story, the graphics and the challenge level was great. The only thing I didn't like was the voice for Julien although I can't quite put my finger on why.
Date published: 2013-07-25
Rated 5 out of 5 by from great story line love the theme I always love Allen Poe's stories and really glade that the Dark Tale series is based his novel, this game gives a creepy and dark atmosphere, which I really enjoy, but the music, I have to say the background music of Dark Tale series seems kept on repeating...... but anyway, I do enjoy this game.
Date published: 2011-11-18
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Brilliant! Absolute must play game! beautifully written, gorgeous graphics and a fantastic storyline with beautiful music.
Date published: 2012-03-16
Rated 5 out of 5 by from very interesting game this game was great to play a natural love story
Date published: 2011-12-24
Rated 5 out of 5 by from great story line!! I thouroughly emmjoyed it and hope to see more as good as this one:)
Date published: 2018-11-25
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Love the game but totally stuck i love this game but i am totally stuck...does anyone know if there is a Strategy Guide or Walkthrough available? I am actually really good at Hidden Object games so for me to be stumped is a major kudos to the game developers I own all of The Edgar Allen Poe games and this is the only one i'm stuck on arghhh
Date published: 2018-01-09
Rated 5 out of 5 by from extreme challenge the fact that theres always something you missed in a scene is so challenging i love that its a true mystery game
Date published: 2016-11-21
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Awesome! I'll admit not as great as the rest, but stiil waaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaay better than what's out there. Still one of my favourite series!
Date published: 2014-12-03
Rated 5 out of 5 by from edgar allen poe I enjoyed the game because I like anything to do with Poe. I found the storyline interesting and objects were not too difficult to find.
Date published: 2013-10-28
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Poe doesn't even have to promote this! This is a great module in itself. Starting out talking to a ghost raises the suspense already. As you learn more about what happens, you learn how the good defeats the evil. I can see what Poe fanatics want every one of these dark tales.
Date published: 2013-05-26
Rated 5 out of 5 by from One awesome hidden object game!! I played the demo first ( as i always tend to). and this Edgar Allen Poe game is alot of fun! i just had to buy it, luckily i found the CE for only 6.99$ with a coupon code last weekend! The visual style is just amazing, the level design is very well done also, the games vioovers are top notch!! I really enjoy these type of mysterous games. I AM A FAN of this series for sure!!
Date published: 2012-11-08
Rated 5 out of 5 by from An exciting adventure I really enjoyed the story this was based on, even though I found this game had too many ghostly appearances for my comfort. It was thrilling to work through the game with the detective, as I wanted to see how the story progressed. Gameplay was quite challenging (needed hints more often than I wanted to), and the mini-games were such fun, and good variety too! Even the hidden object scenes (something I prefer less of) were interactive and easy on the eye. Visuals were excellent and depicted the settings well, conveying a sense of misfortune which added to the atmosphere. Looking out for the collectibles was nice too. Hours of fun roaming around town with this one!
Date published: 2012-10-30
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Love this Game! Such a fun game, my favorite dark tales series!
Date published: 2012-08-24
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Terrific Storyline I was most impressed with Premature Death CE by E.A.Poe. Excellent game with lots of interesting twists and turns. The way the story was put together was exceptional. The music fit right into the time period and was easy listening. The dialogue, characters and gameplay were all well done and easy to follow.The HOS were challenging but fun to play. A must buy!
Date published: 2012-07-22
Rated 5 out of 5 by from excellent i like the fact the story has made like in columbo and good graphic
Date published: 2012-04-18
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Must have it! Just played the trial version and can't wait to buy it! What a wonderful game!
Date published: 2011-12-15
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Very Good Game. Based on completion of the CE. There are only 2 modes of game play. This has one of the best story lines I've ever played. The characters are clearly defined and the voice overs are well done. This game has no map, no walk through, no use of hint outside the HOS, and no bonus game. What it does have is a useful notebook and a very detailed SG both of which I used often. I really missed the map, but the SG always put me in the correct direction. This game is full of HOS, so if you don't like HOS then you'll not like this game. There are many, many mistakes in the descriptions in the HOS, e.g., comb for brush and bottle for box; the items are well hidden in plain sight. Most of the items are very small. All are lists and the locations are revisited. I didn't think the help for the puzzles was much help, but the SG was. For an old game, I found this better than some that have come out lately -- and there were no technical issues! Play the demo and see for yourself. I'm glad I purchased this game and recommend it.
Date published: 2015-01-27
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Great Game I really had fun with this game. Just the right amount of HO's and the characters were great. Lots to do. A little bit of back and forth but I did not mind. I will be putting this on my must buy list. Atmosphere in the Dark Tales are pretty good at making you feel you are back in their time. Common down fall. Repetitive music.
Date published: 2013-04-18
Rated 4 out of 5 by from good game love to play ERS games but now with all the going back and forth in the games I at times need a hint. I donot like going to the walk through just to see what to do next. So now if there is no hint button I do not buy.
Date published: 2013-05-08
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Dark Tales: Edgar Allan Poe's The Premature Burial CE Another great Poe classic brought to gaming life, but, I wasn't as thrilled with this game especially compared to The Black Cat. This tale is about a handsome yet poor man who pleads with Detective Dupin to investigate the mysterious death of the woman he loves yet cannot have because of his social and financial status. The Hidden Object Scenes are well done slightly interactive list finds. They do repeat the scenes a couple of times which is a peeve I have, it's just too boring the second time around and much easier to find things too! The mini games are mostly simple puzzles such as unblocking 4 mechanisms in a game similar to blocks. One of the games I thought was unique and harder to solve involved rolling a box both vertically and horizontally until along a grid path with the end result to drop the box into a square hole. There are 33 collectible hidden roses to find, soundtracks, wallpapers, screensavers, concept art, a built in strategy guide, the original Edgar Allan Poe story and of course a bonus chapter, enjoy!
Date published: 2014-07-23
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Beautiful Graphics And Engaging Storyline This game isn't quite as good as the others in this series (Dark Tales: Edgar Allan Poe`s Murders in the Rue Morgue and Dark Tales: Edgar Allan Poe's The Black Cat), but it still provides plenty of HOG/Puzzle entertainment. The graphics are beautiful. The characters were all voiced and well acted which adds a lot to the story and atmosphere. The game wasn't quite as long as I would have liked, even with the Bonus content in the Collector's Edition.
Date published: 2011-11-18
Rated 4 out of 5 by from My Favorite of the Dark Tales The initial movie-like quality of the visuals is eye-popping. Hearing the dialogue spoken by the characters makes it more personal than just reading a conversation. The Poe mythos suffuses every scene and immerses the player in the mystery of the tale with deliciously dark ease. However, finding the HOs can be daunting due to the objects being buried in dark smudges, clouds and dim scenes. Furthremore, I would have been frustratingly lost much of the time had it not been for the Hint button, as solving the challenges presented throughout the game were daunting. (I marked the Level of Challenge as "Excellent" - 5 notches - but the slant is not positive. The 5 notches represent, more to me, the level of difficulty and frustration.) Sadly, I purchased the SE of this game and my enthusiasm waned due to the difficulty of trying to navigate through the solutions. Had I stayed with the CE, I am certain I would have enjoyed my experience a great deal more.
Date published: 2012-01-25
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Great Game Excellent game,hidden object puzzles are very challenging. Story keeps you interested
Date published: 2012-01-20
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Thrilling horror story The flow of this game is adequate for an adaptation of a horror story, which means that you're not going to get too much of interaction but it compensates by giving you pieces of articles and stuff to read along the way to understand the plot. PROs: Easy to play, entertaining. CONs: The graphics and animations are not the best.
Date published: 2012-01-12
  • y_2020, m_4, d_7, h_13
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_3.0.5
  • cp_2, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_0, tr_49
  • loc_en_US, sid_12216, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=RATING, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=HELPFULNESS, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=FEATURED, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_bigfishgames

The Big Fish Guarantee:

Quality tested and virus free. No ads, no adware, no spyware.

Your Security and Privacy are important to us! Privacy Policy

, share your thoughts about this game!

Dark Tales: Edgar Allan Poe's The Premature Burial Collector's Edition

A young man has hired Detective Dupin to solve a mysterious case in Dark Tales: Edgar Allan Poe’s The Premature Burial!

Heres what your review will look like once it’s posted.

Click Submit if you’re happy. Your review should appear soon. To make changes, use the Edit or Cancel buttons.

Thanks for sharing your thoughts about this game!

You’ve already shared your thoughts about this game.

Thanks for submitting the review below.