The Dark Hills of Cherai: The Regal Scepter

The Dark Hills of Cherai: The Regal Scepter

PC

Also available on

Hidden Object

Play Now Download the free trial

This game will not work on your operating system.

Are you sure you want to download this game?

Free 1 hour trial

(309.83 MB)

By clicking "Play Now", I accept the Terms of Use and acknowledge that I have received the Privacy Policy. If this is your first time downloading a game from Big Fish, our handy Game Manager app will install on your computer to help manage your games.
Buy Now Get the full version70% OFF!

This game will not work on your operating system.

Are you sure you want to purchase it?

Full version game

$ 9.99 USD

Only $2.99 - use coupon NEW299

Explore The Dark Hills of Cherai and find The Regal Scepter in this unique Hidden Object Puzzle Adventure game! Locked away behind a door that can be opened only by combining 12 amulets, protected by a guardian creature, lies a powerful piece of regalia etched in the history of the village of Cherai as the Regal Scepter. Follow Tara, Maya, and Rahul as they embark on an amazing journey to find the ancient artifact!

New customers get your first game for $2.99!*

70% OFF!

Use Coupon: NEW299

* Collector's Editions and free to play games not included.

Game System Requirements:

  • OS: Windows XP/Vista/8
  • CPU: 1.4 GHz
  • RAM: 768 MB
  • DirectX: 9.0
  • Hard Drive: 335 MB

Big Fish Games App System Requirements:

  • Browser: Internet Explorer 7 or later
Reviews at a Glance

The Dark Hills of Cherai: The Regal Scepter

0 out of 5 (0 ReviewsReview)
Average Rating:
Play Now Download the free trial

This game will not work on your operating system.

Are you sure you want to download this game?

Free 1 hour trial

(309.83 MB)

Buy Now Get the full version70% OFF!

This game will not work on your operating system.

Are you sure you want to purchase it?

Full version game

$ 9.99 USD

Only $2.99 - use coupon NEW299

Customer Reviews
The Dark Hills of Cherai: The Regal Scepter is rated 4.0 out of 5 by 46.
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Deceptively Difficult Great backgrounds and game design with lots and lots of puzzles. The puzzles start out relatively easy but get progressively more difficult. I even gave up and skipped one. I had to skip two others even though (according to the blog walkthru) I did indeed solve them. For some reason the game didn't acknowledge it, so "skip" was necessary. Regardless, I thought the game was great. Having to go to the Meeting Place constantly to exchange tools was a little annoying until I started using the map. The navigation is quite sophisticated, so don't hesitate to click on things. You will enjoy this game.
Date published: 2012-06-22
Rated 5 out of 5 by from this is a keeper! i really like this game! it is one i will probably play many times more. did i have to use the walk through? yes. when i knew i had missed something important. for the most part, i felt it was rather straight forward. with a built-in map, it was easy to see where i had areas to complete. some of the mini games caused me problems and slowed me down...a lot! one of them i just skipped while i still had hair. the visuals are really good but don't let that fool you, some objects are easy but some are really challenging! i liked the story line and trying to keep up with 3 characters working independently.
Date published: 2012-03-16
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Wow! Great Game! Loved it! It's even better than it's predecessor.... Again, you play three characters and have to juggle items between them, but the map makes that very easy. Keeps it interesting! Tip: leave characters in the trading chamber when you switch between them - makes it easier to keep track. You can use the map to return that character to its former position if need be. The game is challenging without being frustrating. It's nice and long and gives hours of fun. This is one I'll be playing again for sure. I'm a fan of puzzles that make you think but don't take forever to solve or drive you crazy, so this game is right up my alley. I happen to like being able to get hints for what's next right within the game and this one does that well. If you're not a fan of hints, you can play the more difficult mode -- or just not use the tools provided. Can't wait for more in this series!
Date published: 2012-03-12
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Different and challenging The gimmick from the first game is still good. You play three different characters exploring different areas and solving different puzzles, but able to share inventory. Figuring out who has what, and who needs what, is a novel challenge. The game has a lot of beautiful scenes, and nice music. But what I appreciate even more is that the puzzles mostly make sense, given the game's magical premises. There are some trickier puzzles here, but in hindsight I had to concede that they were all fair. The game is in fact fairly challenging, but there's a fairly elaborate set of in-game hint features, plus a map that not only allows instant travel, but also indicates cleared and un-cleared areas. The story was really just an excuse for hunting around for stuff, of course, but the regular chats with the ghostly King of Cherai made it seem more like a real story nonetheless. And while the ending could certainly be seen as disappointingly abrupt, I didn't really mind it. After solving so many puzzles, I was just as happy to just quickly wrap it all up. And there was one thing about the ending that I really liked. There are some instances of the usual ridiculous HOG-logic, where you can't cut something with shears but only with scissors and that sort of thing; but these aren't really painful. And while the English is generally very good, in a few places it appears to be a non-American dialect that may confuse some players ('torch' for 'flashlight', for instance).
Date published: 2012-03-11
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great game! Lots to do & tons of travel. Just the right blend of mini games & ho scenes. The games were not too hard. I did skip one but more so because I wasn't enjoying it vs it being too hard. Enjoyed the 3 characters. It was easy to get to the meeting place & then you can just click on the map & click back to where you left off instead of having to travel through all the screens again. Gorgeous graphics! This is one of those gems that you think will be short because of the lower mb size, but it gives you a good long play (for me anyway). Loved it!
Date published: 2012-03-04
Rated 5 out of 5 by from An Unexpected Delight By far, this is the best game in all areas--hidden objects, unique puzzles, absolutely outstanding graphics--and ( a real plus) an interesting story line--that I've played in a long, long while. This game is for those who want some challenge in thinking and memory workouts. I loved the the use of three characters, as well as the "trick" that each character found objects to be used by other characters--have NEVER had that happen in a game before. In casual mode, there are plenty of hints, glints, and glitters; if you get stuck, there are three on-screen sources that give explicit directions, and the map is a big help. I also enjoyed the non-European story--interesting change from fairies, trolls, goblins, zombies, etc.
Date published: 2012-01-14
Rated 5 out of 5 by from If you like games that take longer than an hour to play... THIS IS IT!!! Kept me going! I loved that you actually had to think about what was going on. Most games are too easy and I get frustrated when I am done with them very quickly. This one was not the case. VERY ENTERTAINING!!
Date published: 2011-12-28
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Very Interesting and Challenging Game This game is extremely good, and will be enjoyed immensely by those who like a challenge, it is both a H0G and an adventure. The story line is good and interesting, there are two modes of play, Normal and Challenge Mode. The game is very long and involved. The voice over’s are good and appropriate As for the music, I have no idea, I was too involved in the game to hear anything. Spoiler: if you choose to play in Challenge Mod, I offer following advice: 1) keep abreast of the Grandha (journal on the lower left of the screen) 2) keep a manual list of inventory items 3) return regularly to the Exchange room to determine who has the inventory items you need to complete a task. 4) search every scene carefully, without sparkles it is easy to miss important objects and clues. End Spoiler Once you have accomplished the method of navigating between the characters, the map, and the Exchange room you will find this game all consuming. In challenge mode this was a 5 star game for me, I enjoyed the first game very much, but this game was by far the best.
Date published: 2011-12-16
Rated 5 out of 5 by from An Enticing Games I enjoyed this game and look forward to more like it. Good story line, excellent graphics, interesting right up to the end. I would recommend to give this one a try.
Date published: 2011-11-29
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Unexpected Pleasure I never saw this one coming. What a different game. You actually get to play 3 parts interacting with each other. Inventory is a blast to try and keep up with. Graphics are bright and clear with a few gotchas in there.
Date published: 2011-11-27
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Most Challenging game I've played. We need more like this one. We almost resorted to using a notebook to keep up with all the stuff we had to find and which character need what to complete the tasks. Having three characters certainly made it more challenging. Truly AWESOME game.
Date published: 2011-11-22
Rated 5 out of 5 by from fab hidden object game This would be the best game I have played. I was mesmorised from start to finish
Date published: 2011-11-22
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Brilliant game Very innovative and challenging game for those who like multitasking and less hand holding in the game.
Date published: 2011-11-15
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Nice Hidden Object & Adventure Game This game is even better then the first Dark Hills of Cherai. The challenges are greater and more fun. Hopefully there will be another Dark Hills of Cherai!
Date published: 2011-11-15
Rated 4 out of 5 by from The Dark Hills of Cherai: The Regal Scepter This is actually a decent Hidden Object Game. The items are small because they are in perspective to the room size not bunched together in a smaller scene. Even though the items are small (small not tiny), they are easily recognizable because the graphics are pretty good. There are two difficulty settings to choose from, Relaxed or Timed and you can choose Easy or Advanced. Narjun, Tara, Maya and Rahul listened quietly as their Grandmother told them the story of a great treasure hunter named Wyatt. He had found the treasure of Cherai and the evil magician, Digambar was after the same treasure. Wyatt fell to the curse of the legendary treasure of Cherai, he began suffering from a strange illness and died a slow and painful death! Shortly before his death, he hid the treasure in his house so that no one could find the treasure and fall into the same curse as he did. The children snuck out in the middle of the night because they wanted to go to Wyatt's house and look for the treasure, and now they are being held prisoners by the evil magician and it's up to Myra to find her cousins and perhaps the famous treasure! You will travel to several locations both outside on the path to Wyatt's house and in several rooms inside Wyatt's house. Each room or location has a hidden object scene with listed finds and occasionally finding multiples of an item such as 6 gems and 6 parchments. Some of the items you find will be used as inventory, each HOS has an interaction available such as finding matches and lighting the fireplace. There are also items that require you to complete a puzzle or mini game such as moving tiles one by one to an empty slot with the goal being to move the snake tile to the flashing tile in the center of the board. There are also games such as swapping tiles with ancient hieroglyphics to match the written code shown. The story isn't really pertinent to the game, this is mostly just a Hidden Object game with a few mini games along the way. If you are looking for a relaxing game with mostly HOS then give this one a try, it's really not a bad little game, enjoy!
Date published: 2014-06-12
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Different and challenging This game distinguishes itself from all the other games I have tried by using three players instead of one. This means you have to keep track of the items each of them collects as well as what they need. They have to go to a special place to swap items so they can fulfill their objectives. It makes for very interesting and a bit cumbersome game play. This is the first game I have taken notes for! The map allows you to jump back and forth between locations which is a saving grace when you have to go the the meeting point all the time to swap items. I still felt like I was jumping back and forth a bit too much though, which detracted from the fun factor. Having said that, great graphics and excellent voiceovers make for interesting and gripping gameplay.
Date published: 2012-10-20
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Keep your head together... you're going to need it I played the first Dark Hills of Cherai and had some difficulty getting into the gameplay with the different characters and the swapping of objects. So I hesitated to purchase this one, luckily I did, because the gameplay is AWESOME! - You have this gorgeous map which lets you jump from one location to another in the blink of an eye... and, it indicates where you are, which locations you have finished off, which locations still have something left to do and which locations you haven't reached yet; - you have this button which lets you travel straight to the meeting point and you have these buttons which let you switch from one character to another: these two combined let you swap objects between the different characters very easily... and once swapping is finished, off you go again to where you want to be with the help of the map; - and if you are at a loss what to do with a certain object, just drop it on the imperial peacock (the hint button) and it will show you where to go to, without spoiling the fun. And what to stay about the graphics, except that they are OUTSTANDING. I love those crisp, neat, sharp graphics, full of colour saturation, with deep contrast and a lovely play of light tones and shadows. The puzzles are good, some of them are even quite challenging. You have lots of things to do, lots of scenes to explore, lots of objects to combine... yes, you will need to keep your head together to finish this one, I can assure you that. The only drawback to the whole game - and one which refrains me from awarding 5 stars - is the number of HOS... moreover the fact that the same HOS are being repeated... I really don't like that in a game. Anyway... I love this challenging and very lengthy game, which took me several days to finish. Please, let there be a sequel, please...
Date published: 2012-07-24
Rated 4 out of 5 by from A challenging Game I enjoyed this game right to the end. I had a lot of fun playing it. I did have to rely on the hints. But I could not beat the end. By the time I pushed the first or second one, he had shot me. I was disappointed I could not skip, so I could end the game!
Date published: 2012-07-12
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Very entertaining game. Story begins with the nightmare of Tara ... You will help Tara, Mara and Rahul to search the Regal Scepter, at Cherai. Good storyline, excellent sound, great and crisp graphics, very good VO, particularly of children. Many many locations, AND... each child will explore a different area and will collecting things, but some will be used by another ... How? They can change things, although not in the same scene ...! Only playing you can see how much entertaining is. Several HOS, not challenging and hint (a peacock) fills fast. Many mini games - medium level of difficult, but they are very well done and really entertaining. Really pleasant and enjoyable game.
Date published: 2012-03-14
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Great and frustrating you are playing three people at one time, moving items between them and moving all over the place. game is both fascinating and challenging as well as unbelievably frustrating at times. toward the end the walk through was invaluable. overall good and definately challenging and unique.
Date published: 2012-01-21
Rated 4 out of 5 by from who has what This one took me longer than most to play. It is much heavier to adventure style play than HO although it does have several HO scenes. For sure the most challenging part is that you play as three different characters, each with their own area to explore. The fun comes when you realize that not every inventory object that you find is to be used in your area. So you must meet the other characters in an underground meeting place to swap objects. That's after you figure out who needs what and where. I found it quite challenging to remember who was doing what, what their area consisted of (which one had the well which one needs a shovel) and I often had to resort to making lists to keep things straight. But I did appreciate that quite a bit of thought and preparation went into this game. it was beautifuuly drawn with lots of color and an abundance of different locations. The mini games were fun. it had the one from the Drawn games with the lighting, blowing out and moving around of candles. All in all a fun game but with a bit more demand on concentration than I would have liked.
Date published: 2011-12-15
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Challenging game to play This is an Interactive Hidden Object that is a little more complex than usual as you play the part of 3 characters during the game. There are voiceovers which are very well done & the music is really suited to the story. The graphics are excellent & the artwork really lovely; some may find the scenes dark as the story is set at night, however I had no problem seeing items. The H0 scenes are pretty easy & the hint recharge is very quick, only 30 seconds on hard mode & faster on easy. Looks like the game developer took note of the complaints in the first game about this. If you drag an inventory item over to the hint (a peacock) you will be shown a picture of where it can be used. The hard mode only has sparkles for H0 areas only & in easy all active areas have them. You are given a journal & also a picture of the King of Cherai; if you click on it you will be told what the next task is. In addition you will be given a map that shows levels not yet opened, levels cleared & where you are; it is also interactive. The mini games during the demo were the usual sort, sliders, etc & were pretty easy. So back to the 3 characters; this is rather confusing at first & takes a while to get the hang of. You start with one, Tara & are shortly joined by Maya, another girl. You will see two ribbons at the top of the screen & the one that is brightest is the character you are currently playing. Later you will be joined by a young boy, Rahul. You will find objects as one character that need to be given to another & to do this you go to a meeting place that has a sort of roulette wheel. You put the item on the wheel, click an arrow to send it to the other person. To play as another character; for instance you may have given an inventory item to say, Maya, to be used then click on that character’s ribbon at the top of the screen. With so much going on in the game I rather lost track of the story; it took all my wits to remember which character I was & whom I should play; it was a delight to be challenged.
Date published: 2011-11-30
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Fumbles at the 5 yard line I loved the first Dark Hills, with its three playing characters, the exchanges between them, and the setting of HOS is realistic settings. This time the graphics are even more beautiful, and with a nice Indian feel. The puzzles range from easy to tough. The hint system is very good. Not only it points you to what you can do in the scene, but by placing an object on it, you see where it must be used (and if you have not see that place yet, you know that you have to keep it a while longer) It all goes well until the end, when you have to battle the villain. The minigame is one that requires quick thinking, and speed, and many cannot do it (including myself). AND THE SKIP BUTTON DISAPPEARS. Well, that is OK for hardened players, but why bother to use the casual game option for the rest of us, if at the end you are going to slam the door in our faces? I have no problem with games like Green Moon that make it clear that it is NOT for casual gamers, but to offer a casual game option and then pull the rug on those who believed it is false advertising. I do not think that I will want the third installment.
Date published: 2014-05-13
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Not keen on this one Well I have yet to finish this game, I keep putting it off to play others. While the graphics, and puzzles are excellent, I found this game to be a real pain to play, way too much jumping backwards and forwards between characters to retrieve items needed. I will finish this game one day. Would reccomend this game for its puzzles but only to people with lots of patience.
Date published: 2011-12-02
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Entertaining Many levels is a bit dark and not too easy to find the items.
Date published: 2011-11-20
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Ho Hum and predictable Not crazy about all the involved dialogue about this Eastern religion
Date published: 2011-11-17
Rated 3 out of 5 by from DISJOINTED We found this game rather disjointed, you had to switch back in forth between players and unless you were able to use the blog walkthrough you would never know what to do or when, we found it very confusing.
Date published: 2011-11-16
Rated 2 out of 5 by from Boring Game This Game while visually enjoyable Bored me to Tears It was all I could do to make myself finish it I need a good story at least This was not it for me
Date published: 2017-05-05
Rated 2 out of 5 by from Are we looking for map pieces, scepter pieces or amulets? The story line is as confusing as can be. What exactly are we looking for because it seems there are 3 possibilities - a map, pieces of a scepter and/or amulets. The "King" keeps interrupting the game play to tell you that he''ll inform you later about something you've clicked on. You end up playing as 3 different children, which in itself is confusing. If this game made more sense it would have probably been a keeper for me but under the circumstances ... no thanks. I will recommend it, however, for those who want to try it out.
Date published: 2014-08-26
Rated 2 out of 5 by from awful hidden object game Spent the whole trial hour trying to see. Waaaay to dark to find things, at least for my eyes it was. I would never buy this game.
Date published: 2012-10-16
  • y_2019, m_8, d_16, h_15
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_2.0.13
  • cp_2, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_0, tr_46
  • loc_en_US, sid_12238, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=RATING, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=HELPFULNESS, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=FEATURED, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_bigfishgames

The Big Fish Guarantee:

Quality tested and virus free. No ads, no adware, no spyware.

Your Security and Privacy are important to us! Privacy Policy

, share your thoughts about this game!

The Dark Hills of Cherai: The Regal Scepter

Explore The Dark Hills of Cherai and find The Regal Scepter in this unique Hidden Object Puzzle Adventure game!

Heres what your review will look like once it’s posted.

Click Submit if you’re happy. Your review should appear soon. To make changes, use the Edit or Cancel buttons.

Thanks for sharing your thoughts about this game!

You’ve already shared your thoughts about this game.

Thanks for submitting the review below.