Brink of Consciousness: Dorian Gray Syndrome Collector's Edition
Exclusive

Brink of Consciousness: Dorian Gray Syndrome Collector's Edition

Hidden Object

Play Now Download the free trial

This game will not work on your operating system.

Are you sure you want to download this game?

Free sample version

(214.11 MB)

By clicking "Play Now", I accept the Terms of Use and acknowledge that I have received the Privacy Policy. If this is your first time downloading a game from Big Fish, our handy Game Manager app will install on your computer to help manage your games.
Buy Now Get the full version

This game will not work on your operating system.

Are you sure you want to purchase it?

Full version game

$ 19.99 USD

$ 13.99 USD or 2 credits

Help Sam Wilde rescue his love Anna in Brink of Consciousness: Dorian Gray Syndrome, an incredible Hidden Object Puzzle Adventure game! Sam’s every move is being tracked so he has to be extra careful. Putting his journalistic talents to the test, Sam must find the maniac who has kidnapped Anna, and stop him before it’s too late. Explore gorgeous locations and solve tricky puzzles in Brink of Consciousness: Dorian Gray Syndrome!

This is a special Collector's Edition release full of exclusive extras you won’t find in the standard version. As a bonus, Collector's Edition purchases count toward three stamps on your Monthly Game Club Punch Card!

The Collector’s Edition includes:

  • Bonus gameplay
  • Interview with the developers
  • Concept art

Game System Requirements:

  • OS: Windows XP/Vista/Win7/8
  • CPU: 1.4 GHz
  • RAM: 512 MB
  • DirectX: 9.0
  • Hard Drive: 693 MB

Big Fish Games App System Requirements:

  • Browser: Internet Explorer 7 or later
Reviews at a Glance

Brink of Consciousness: Dorian Gray Syndrome Collector's Edition

0 out of 5 (0 ReviewsReview)
Average Rating:
Play Now Download the free trial

This game will not work on your operating system.

Are you sure you want to download this game?

Free sample version

(214.11 MB)

Buy Now Get the full version

This game will not work on your operating system.

Are you sure you want to purchase it?

Full version game

$ 19.99 USD

$ 13.99 USD or 2 credits

Customer Reviews
Brink of Consciousness: Dorian Gray Syndrome Collector's Edition is rated 4.5 out of 5 by 222.
Rated 5 out of 5 by from One Big Flaw I have to agree with the majority here. This is a really fun game! The graphics are amazing! The sound quality is tops! And this is coming from a hearing impaired woman with a hearing aid. Most computer games sound sort of robotic, making it hard to really get into it. In this one, Oscar's voice sends shivers down my spine! There is one flaw a person needs to consider before buying. Do you have a lot of time to play? This game is extremely addictive! I got it thinking it would be a nice way to break up study and work time. Umm, yeah. It does that. I got about 4 hours sleep one night because I was so caught up in the adventure! A must have, but be sure to be sensible with your time playing. I need to follow my own advice here!
Date published: 2013-05-16
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Hannibal Lector Move Over-You've Been Out Classed! Grabs you from the start.The end really surprised me. This game is a TRUE thriller in every sense of the word w/o being disgusting.The Villain is unique and extremely well thought out & the storyline is the best I have come across; I dare say it would make a great movie plot! The game is huge & there is alot of going B&F, but it is totally in keeping with the Villain's Plans. The voice over of the bad guy is PERFECT! I hope the creator's consider making a game on the Book by Gaston Leroux, 'The Phantom of the Opera'...as the villain in this game reminds me of the REAL Phantom in the storyline,not a Byronic anti-hero...but a true evil genius...it would be awesome! If you want to know what happen's to the villain ( and you will) don't hesitate to buy the CE...it is so worth it! MORE LIKE THIS PLEASE!!!
Date published: 2013-04-07
Rated 5 out of 5 by from AMAZING game. This game is by far my favorite HO adventure game yet. I get bored easily with a lot of games on this website and tend to skip past story lines, but that was not the case with this one. I highly recommend this game!
Date published: 2013-02-12
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Awsome Twisted Game this game was super Awsome and twisted,i finished this whole game in 5 hours and it'll keep you wanting more, i recommend this game to everyone, once you start to play you'll see
Date published: 2013-02-08
Rated 5 out of 5 by from One of the best HOAG's so far Beautiful graphics, engaging plot! Interactive play is not impossible, but not easy either. This game does have a fair amount of backtrack which I like but not everyone does so be warned. This one made it into my top five favorites!
Date published: 2013-02-04
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Murder mystery This sure was a great murder mystery and after buying the last game Brink of Consciousness: The Lonely hearts I saw in those reviews mention of this game and bought it right off. Nice twist in the bonus chapter. Long game but I like it. Hope they continue to bring us more unique murder mystery's. The only trouble I had there was no skip button and one puzzle was too hard for me, but I wrote the recipe from the strategy guide and got through it. The puzzle was more fun once I had the recipe in hand to fallow and resolve the puzzle. Story line was excellent and glad they gave a choice of shortening the speeches from the killer, but I did not use that feature. The graphic were good. The game ran pretty smooth until the bonus chapter. Near the end by the garbage I had computer grey oblong boxes appear for a moment. Oh loved the interviews with the folks who made the game in the extras area. Nice touch. Can hardly wait to see what they come up with next? Boston Strangler maybe??
Date published: 2013-01-17
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Top Tier Adventure/HOG I've played many, many games but this is the first time I've been motivated to write a review. This game was near perfect in every respect. Beautifully rendered graphics, music, puzzles .. witty dialogue and the voice actor that plays the villain is awesome .. the best voice acting I've heard yet! Kudos to the creators Magicindie Softworks & Big Fish Games for the top game!
Date published: 2013-01-03
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Favorite Game so far! Just played this game for the 2nd time, and I'm not the type to replay these kinds of games even if I really like them. About 2 or 3 months went by between plays, and I still jumped at some parts. The story is suspenseful, intriguing, and all enveloping. The soundtrack and voice-overs add a lot to the game. Try it with headphones, it's a surreal experience. I played it on challenge mode both times. I've played dozens of these kinds of games before and since and most of the puzzles in this one are very unique. If you love puzzles more than HOG then you'll love this game. Just enough HOG to make you actually glad to see them since you know you'll get an inventory item. All HOG scenes also require some interaction, which adds to the fun. The Collector's Edition is definitely worth it. Get this one, you won't regret it!
Date published: 2012-11-11
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Beautiful, Atmospheric Thriller This was an all-around great game. I played both the basic version and the collector's edition. This is the first time I felt compelled to purchase a collector's edition, but the story and gameplay were so engrossing that I wanted every bit of content that I could get. The mood and plot are superb. You become very absorbed in the moment and what is happening. The story elements are interspersed very evenly throughout the game, and I found it very hard to stop playing. It was like a good book that I just didn't want to put down. I always wanted to immediately use the objects I found and see what happened next. Some people might not like all the backtracking, as this is a huge game, and there is a good bit of that. It leans more toward being an adventure game, even though there are some hidden object scenes. I didn't mind the backtracking, because the scenery was so beautifully rendered. I loved exploring everything and looking at the details of all the scenes. This game is one of the best I've played on Big Fish. I would recommend going for the collector's edition specifically, because it has some very enjoyable extra gameplay and story content. And I don't normally buy collector's editions, so I don't make that recommendation lightly.
Date published: 2012-11-03
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Fantastic game I've played a lot of HOPs and this game is one of the best I ever played. The art is stunning : very creepy and absolutely beautiful at the same time. The story is rather simple, but the puzzles were challenging enough to keep me playing. The HO scenes were clear and felt integrated to the story instead of random piles of junk. The bonus chapter isn't necessary as the SE end quite nicely without it, but it adds a couple hours of playing time to an already long game. A must.
Date published: 2012-10-30
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Fantastic atmosphere! Unlike any other game on BigFish. I was hoked as soon as I stepped into Oscar's labyrinth. It was like playing a casual version of Arkam Asylum. I found myself fondly regarding Oscar in the same way I did the villains from that game. The PA system that the voice actors speak through during the game was genius. It constantly brings tension to the atmosphere and adds insight into Oscar as he comments and goads you on your actions. This is probably the only game where I'd claim that the CE was a necessity, It provides the perfect ending to the story. My only complaint would be that I wish there had been more artwork in the bonus section, because I would have loved a second look at all of the beautiful background art. I can't wait for more from this developer!
Date published: 2012-09-01
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great game in every aspect! This is a great game with fun puzzles, a lot of area to explore, and an involving story. The soundtrack is actually worth having on. I wish Big Fish would list games by the companies who make them so I could buy another one from MagicIndie, the creator of this game.
Date published: 2012-08-23
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Creepy but fun! I found this game to be creepy, but not disturbing so I wasn't haunted by it. While the main game ends in a satisfactory manner, it was great to have the bonus level to give a more complete ending. Liked: - Great storyline with a great villain who taunts the main character throughout the game. - Graphics, music and voice acting are really wonderful. - Puzzles are fun with a few that are challenging but not exceedingly difficult. - Bonus game adds a more complete ending but the standard ending still felt satisfying. Disliked: - I didn't come across anything I particularly disliked The developers put a lot of attention to little details, like the sound of the main character breathing heavily if something startling happened or coughing when out in the cold rain. Random things would happen when you moved the cursor around the screen, such as knocking over a jar which shatters and elicits rude comments from the villain. I definitely recommend this game unless you do not like psychological thrillers, killers, snakes or dark story lines. Otherwise, definitely try the demo!
Date published: 2012-08-11
Rated 5 out of 5 by from This is the standard all games should aspire to I always start my games at beginners level, to get the feel for the game play and lessen the frustration level. I wasn't expecting much when I purchased this game. Most HOG games provide interesting play and adequate level of challenge, but they lack uniqueness... not only in the adventure plot, but also in the method of acquiring objects and getting past traps. This game is stupendous in all areas of play: the plot is amazing, and the traps and puzzles are are ingenious as well. Kudos to the designers and game play strategists. A necessary evil: I love the hint button in any game... we all need a little assist now and then. And of course the guide that tells you exactly what you need to do at any given moment. The map tells you where you are, in case you get lost.... and believe me you will get lost. There must be upwards to fifty (if not fifty) rooms or areas of game play... and that in itself was quite a challenge remembering locations (although the guide helps a great deal there) but that was so much a part of the excitement . This game is definitely a winner. The only disappointment for me was the ending. I don't like negative endings. My best ending is the hero wins.... but if there is going to be a sequel (and available for OS 10.5) I'll be waiting for it. I definitely recommend this game.
Date published: 2012-08-07
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Excellent Game!! This is the first review I've submitted here, but I enjoyed this game so much I had to write about it. I've been a fan and a very frequent player of HOG and Adventure Games for a few years now, and it can be hard to please me. I need certain elements in order to truly enjoy a game: Great graphics, reasonably challenging puzzles, captivating storyline... these are all prerequisites for me. This game has it all. The voice-overs from the narcissistic, serial-killing mastermind were especially appealing, and compellingly sinister... reminiscent of the Hannibal Lecter character from the movie "Silence of the Lambs". AND the game has a really good musical score, which is always a bonus. One of my favorite games of this type so far, and I am hoping for a sequel!
Date published: 2012-07-27
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Excellent Game Great dark story line that kept me challenged. Visually this is one of the better games out there. The challenge is moderate but this is a must have for those addicted to these games.
Date published: 2012-05-10
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Excellent!!! They really knocked it out of the park with this one. Some "Collector's Editions" can be really disappointing, especially for what you pay for them. The storyline actually made sense rather than having some backwards, nonsensical, logic involved. The voice acting and sound was great and really refreshing. Many well done environments. Plus, the bonus material was actually fun to play. This is the most I have enjoyed a game in a long time. I really hope they continue with more like this.
Date published: 2012-05-01
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Terrific Hidden Object Game The bonus round was surprising!!!
Date published: 2012-04-25
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great game! I loved this game. Tons of travel and not too many hidden object scenes. I found it quite challenging & even had to skip a mini game or 2. :( My own fault for being impatient....and possibly a little dumb..... The bonus play was kind of short, but set it up for a sequel nicely. I enjoyed this as much as Escape from Ravenhearst.
Date published: 2012-04-20
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Wonderfully Wicked!! The voice over is the best I have ever heard in a pc game! Think Sir Anthony Hopkins as Hannibal Lector. I expected him to call out “Clarice” any minute! You simply must play this game with the sound on! Very lengthy game play 6 hours (if you don’t skip puzzles). CE bonus lasted approx. 1 hour, total game play approx. 7 hours…..definitely get your monies worth here. This is definitely more of an adventure game with very few HO scenes. There is no click penalty (bonus if you don’t like HO). They are not junk pile, clear with a few IHO. The music is toned down, definitely background. Sound effects are good, sounds like your character has asthma at times. There is no map. That is the only thing that I can say is disappointing about this game. There are so many rooms and other areas to search/investigate that it would have been very beneficial to the player. There were many times that I literally got lost trying to get from one area to another by taking a wrong turn. Hence, there is considerable to and fro. Subject matter may be disconcerting to some. Let’s just say there are some bodies, though you never see the actual act of violence and there is no blood or bruising. It will definitely keep you on the edge of your sit. I have heard of, but never experienced a game that was reviewed as scary…….this may just be that one. You will on occasion jump. Devilishly entertaining!
Date published: 2012-04-18
Rated 5 out of 5 by from intriging I am new at these types of games, but I enjoyed this game completely! The puzzles were challenging but do-able. Graphics are amazing. I could not wait to get through it to see what happens. I recommend it!!!!!
Date published: 2012-04-17
Rated 5 out of 5 by from The best example of a true CE - Long and Awesome! Long CE with lots of areas to explore, great adventure and very entertaining. Great graphics too! The game was very well done, complete and a good story line. One of my favorites for sure.
Date published: 2012-04-16
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Stop reading reviews...start playing this now What a great game! A great massive story, awesome antagonist, exceptional production value - unquestionably one of my favourite games this year, for sure. What I liked: the puzzles are good, with a couple that were really difficult! The mansion is fantastic - you get a real good sense that you're combing a huge estate. The villain is fantastic - I was really starting to hate the guy (in a good way...). By the end, the bonus chapter is just as good as the rest of the game. I have found some game developers kind of cheap-out on bonuses, and this didn't, to me. What I didn't like - hmmmm....hard to say! - - Perhaps a bit of a spoiler without really spoiling it - - I suppose the ending, although a good ending, left a lot to be explained, and after roaming around for hours and hours, I kind of like some sort of explanation at the end...bring on the sequel!
Date published: 2012-04-09
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Amazinggggg Game!!! I LOVED this game. All of it from start to finish was awesome. It had every element that should be in a CE from voiceovers that actually sound like the character to great graphics, music, hidden object scenes and more. It even fit my widescreen computer. When I demo'ed this game the villains voice began to grind on my nerves but playing the actual full length game changed that for me. I started to want to hear him even more. It was intriguing and psychologically disturbing which are my favorite games since I am a psych major ;) I love the interworking of others minds and this had everything to really pull you in. Also, it started to feel like I was playing a movie especially at the end because it gave a proper ending! The people who buy the SE of this game will have a full ending that will leave them with complete satisfaction however I am glad I bought the CE of this game. It was also LONG but not so long it got repetitive or boring. There is sooo much to search and uncover so if you are a person who doesn't like the back and forth this may not be for you but there is a map that tells you what rooms you should go back to even though you can't jump from room to room via the map. I played this game for days and it was sooo enjoyable! I am so sad its over but I know I will end up playing it again and again. The bonus game was wonderful too not just a bunch of hidden object scenes thrown together. It actually had objectives and a twist ending unlike so many other games where characters randomly come back to life or the ghosts go away. This was realistic like it could happen and the ending wowed me. The only difference SE buyers should be aware of is that when the game ends although satisfying it gives the illusion that their will be a second game, hey who knows maybe there will be BUT the bonus game goes to 3 months in the future and ties things off. So in theory you don't need the bonus game to enjoy all this game has to offer but it does add a little something special and an extra wow factor to the overall game. I never buy CE's and I am sooo glad I splurged on this one. Oh and besides just the bonus game there are a lot of extra features like wallpapers, art, a comic of oscar which is hilarious but what I liked most was the interview with the developers on what they did and how they came up with the idea. It isn't in english so it has subtitles and I really just felt like they were proud of what they created and wanted us to share with them this tremendous accomplishment. I would like to see more developers put a personal spin on it like that. This is in my top 10 best games ever! CHEERS!!!
Date published: 2012-04-08
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Outstanding Game! Absolutely loved this game! Yes it is dark but the developers really have something here. I felt like i was in a film, very much reminded me of the Saw films without the gore!..Was hooked from the minute i started and couldn't wait to find out what Oscar would do next. Thrilling and exciting at every corner. Loved the interactive HOS and the objects were crystal clear and easy to locate. I've just watched the interview with the developers and it gave so much insight into the characters. Couldn't fault this game in any way, 10/10 from me! Hope they do another one very soon.
Date published: 2012-03-28
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Fantastic game This game is really in a class of its own. The storyline is good (a little creepy), the voiceovers awesome, and the graphics just perfect. It was intuitive enough to keep going, but there was definitely challenge to it. I enjoyed the bonus chapter, but found a lot of going back-and-forth for very little reward. Otherwise, I have no complaints.
Date published: 2012-03-26
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Oustanding! Awesome story, and worth the collectors edition price. The Bonus Chapter completes this story perfectly. Lots of little twists and turns, and great scenery. Truly worthy of "Collectors Edition" label.
Date published: 2012-03-20
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Fun, entertaining game Loved the voices and sound effects. Puzzles and HOS's were challenging, but not daunting so as to give up quickly. Long game play, and interesting ending twist. Make sure to check out the artwork in the Extras. Darkly funny stuff.
Date published: 2012-03-18
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Excellent Game - well worth it! I greatly enjoyed this game - it is well worth the money for the Collector's Edition! The storyline was interesting and the game lasted quite a long time! It's unique in that the audio was a key part of the game - and almost played out like a movie - so you were really able to get into it / feel a part of it. The graphics and scenes were great - always interesting and very well done. The rooms and locations went on and on and on - amazingly fun! I don't think I've played a game with this many areas! The tasks and puzzles were fun while still being challenging. The hidden object scenes were easier - but were interesting by the interactive objects to find. (putting two or three elements together to create the object). The bonus chapter was good as well. Totally recommend - this is my new fav. game!
Date published: 2012-03-06
Rated 5 out of 5 by from One of the best Adventure games I've played This is based on the demo, but I am definitely buying it as soon as I get paid! First off, I have to say how good it is to see a game with scenes that are dark, creepy, old and run-down--- but NOT filthy! Thank you! The graphics are crisp & well-done, voice-overs are well done, and there is a good variety of puzzles. Objects found in puzzles make sense, and can be used. This is a psychological thriller, and it's done very well. While the bad guy is said to be fixated on Dorian Gray, he demonstrates his fixation in a bizarre, frightening way. There is no gore, but there are plenty of macabre scenes. The hints are ok. The Guide is very helpful. And the map shows where you are, in reference to scenes that need further investigation.
Date published: 2012-03-01
  • y_2020, m_8, d_4, h_15
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_3.0.10
  • cp_2, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_0, tr_222
  • loc_en_US, sid_13180, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=RATING, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=HELPFULNESS, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=FEATURED, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_bigfishgames

The Big Fish Guarantee:

Quality tested and virus free. No ads, no adware, no spyware.

Your Security and Privacy are important to us! Privacy Policy

, share your thoughts about this game!

Brink of Consciousness: Dorian Gray Syndrome Collector's Edition

Help Sam rescue his love Anna in Brink of Consciousness: Dorian Gray Syndrome, an incredible Hidden Object Puzzle Adventure game!

Heres what your review will look like once it’s posted.

Click Submit if you’re happy. Your review should appear soon. To make changes, use the Edit or Cancel buttons.

Thanks for sharing your thoughts about this game!

You’ve already shared your thoughts about this game.

Thanks for submitting the review below.