Brink of Consciousness: Dorian Gray Syndrome

Brink of Consciousness: Dorian Gray Syndrome

PC

Also available on

Hidden Object

Play Now Download the free trial

This game will not work on your operating system.

Are you sure you want to download this game?

Free sample version

(207.47 MB)

By clicking "Play Now", I accept the Terms of Use and acknowledge that I have received the Privacy Policy. If this is your first time downloading a game from Big Fish, our handy Game Manager app will install on your computer to help manage your games.
Buy Now Get the full version70% OFF!

This game will not work on your operating system.

Are you sure you want to purchase it?

Full version game

$ 9.99 USD

Only $2.99 - use coupon NEW299

Help Sam Wilde rescue his love Anna in Brink of Consciousness: Dorian Gray Syndrome, an incredible Hidden Object Puzzle Adventure game! Sam

New customers get your first game for $2.99!*

70% OFF!

Use Coupon: NEW299

* Collector's Editions and free to play games not included.

Game System Requirements:

  • OS: Windows XP/Vista/Win7/8
  • CPU: 1.4 GHz
  • RAM: 512 MB
  • DirectX: 9.0
  • Hard Drive: 469 MB

Big Fish Games App System Requirements:

  • Browser: Internet Explorer 7 or later
Reviews at a Glance

Brink of Consciousness: Dorian Gray Syndrome

0 out of 5 (0 ReviewsReview)
Average Rating:
Play Now Download the free trial

This game will not work on your operating system.

Are you sure you want to download this game?

Free sample version

(207.47 MB)

Buy Now Get the full version70% OFF!

This game will not work on your operating system.

Are you sure you want to purchase it?

Full version game

$ 9.99 USD

Only $2.99 - use coupon NEW299

Customer Reviews
Brink of Consciousness: Dorian Gray Syndrome is rated 4.4 out of 5 by 214.
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Brink Of Consciousness: Dorian Gray Syndrome SE This is quite simply one of those games that you can replay several times and still thoroughly enjoy. I purchased the Collectors Edition when this game was first released and I loved this game so much that I wanted to play this Standard Edition to see if it was just as exciting without all the bells and whistles. Yes, even after a few years I still feel the same way, and it turns out that the bells and whistles of the CE weren't missed! I still place this 2011 game at the top of my favorite Hidden Object Adventure Games in 2014! Sam Wilder is a journalist that has been investigating the disappearance of several young adults in the neighborhood as his latest assignment. He quickly makes the connection that a mental health patient on the lam is the prime suspect of these disappearances. The man Sam believes is responsible suffers from Dorian Gray Syndrome, The suspect was abused by his father when he was just a boy and he became obsessed over the loss of his youth, obsessed with aging (aren't we all) and obsessed with the anti-hero Dorian Gray. Things take an unexpected turn when Sam is lured into a huge mansion with explicit orders to arrive alone and alert nobody if he wants to see his love Anna alive! The mansion is full of locked doors, secret hiding places and obstacles to overcome, but most of all the rooms are full of cameras and speakers watching Sam's every move and staying one step ahead. The killer taunts Sam as he appears and disappears hidden behind a strange mask and blocked passages just beyond reach. The killer has posed the victims as forms of art throughout the mansion, will this be Anna's destiny, is Anna still alive? There aren't a whole lot of HOS but they are very well done with several items requiring some type of interaction. I loved the mini games, such as figuring out the safe combination that the killer tells you is +11/-3/+8 and I'll leave it up to you to figure out. The Collectors Edition includes a bonus game, concept art, strategy guide and an interview with the developers, enjoy!
Date published: 2014-04-12
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Hold on to your hat - it's a corker! I have to say this was the best game I have ever played by BFG. It has all of the elements needed to keep you pinned to your PC - I couldn't move until I had finished it (5 hours by the way). There was a fair bit of running back and forth but not to the point where I lost track of where I was (the map is a handy thing as the game has a lot of scenes). I played on normal mode and did not need to refer to the walkthrough or hints. Graphics are fab, storyline is epic and the level of challenge just right. most definitely a keeper!!!
Date published: 2012-01-22
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Brink of Consciousness Wow, what a great story! The graphics, animations and voice acting kept me in suspense until the last minute. There are a lot of scenes within the game and a quite a bit of traveling back and forth. It really required careful exploration and attention to detail but I felt it all had a sense of purpose rather than the aimless wandering some games seem to have. There is a map that lays out the floorplans and highlights areas of interest. The hidden object scenes are well done and I found most of the puzzles quite challenging. Expect the unexpected around every corner!
Date published: 2012-01-30
Rated 5 out of 5 by from BUY THE CE !!!! Let me get the only thing I didn't like out of the way. I bought the SE and it ended in a mega-cliffhanger! I was all revved up but when I got to the "end" I'm told I need the CE!! I should have read more from my fellow contributers, eh? Now, the things Ioved ... ambiece, syncFX, acting, music, length, locations = 100% ! mini-games ain't easy & the most original I've seen = 100% ! I should have bought the CE ..... sigh
Date published: 2012-04-11
Rated 5 out of 5 by from This is a great game...hands down! I had 1 more game to buy to fill my punchcard... ok, it's between this game and Haunted Manor:Queen of Death. After demo-ing both games, Brink of Consciousness won hands down! I understand that some are getting lost in the Manor, but I felt the map, although not interactive, was helpful (especially the blue arrow, which shows the direction you're headed from the bottom of your screen). Oscar's voice-over was very Hannibal Lecter "esque", and I really enjoyed what this brought to the story! The puzzles were fun and challenging. I am so glad I only had 5 punches...this was a GREAT way to finish off the month!
Date published: 2012-02-01
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Wish i would of found this game along time ago i just got done playing the demo to the is game bought it its slightly wordy but has great puzzles and easy to continue without getting stuck .. I found this game by looking at other game I loved and reading the reviews and see what game those people liked this game had almost five stars and i had never seen it I really wish BFG would have a list of game with the highest rating not just the the most popluar just because people buy it doesnt always mean he game turned out really good I would like to not have to dig deep and reseach reviews to find games that have a five star rating and people really liked
Date published: 2012-01-23
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Most Interesting Game After only 10 minutes of the demo I knew I had to have this game. It was one of the best I have ever played from this site and it has some of the most unusual puzzles. The music was a bit somber but fit the game completely. My only criticism was the constant running back and forth. An interactive map would have been most helpful and welcomed.
Date published: 2012-01-23
Rated 5 out of 5 by from A Storyline and a Great Game It has been a long time since I played one of these HOG and didnt know where the story was taking me. Creepy, just hard enough, and great graphics. I LOVED IT!
Date published: 2012-12-09
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Excellent game If you are a diehard IHOG gamer, valuing quality graphics, huge locations to explore, long gameplay, excellent puzzles, chilling and atmospheric music and excellent voice acting: this game REALLY hits the spot! I was hooked as soon as I trialled it. An absolute gem of a game- up there with Return to ravenhearst! Enjoy!
Date published: 2012-05-11
Rated 5 out of 5 by from A DEFINITE MUST-HAVE FOR HO/ADVENTURE FANS!!!!!! There wasn't ONE thing I didn't like about this game! It will appeal to anyone no matter how picky you are...just try it! I could not wait to finish it(in a good way)
Date published: 2012-05-10
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Fantastic Game One of the most enjoyable games I have played, I loved Oscar's voice over & sarcastic remarks. The puzzles were just hard enough to be challenging & the graphics & story line were great.....Loved it!!
Date published: 2012-04-24
Rated 5 out of 5 by from A MUST HAVE!!!! I have over 50 games from Big Fish and this is my favorite of all time!!!
Date published: 2012-04-09
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great game! This is one of the best games that BFG has ever offered! Everything about it was excellent. It may be a little too complicated for the faint of heart, and there is a lot of running around and finding needed objects and where to use them, but one will never lose interest in playing.
Date published: 2012-02-26
Rated 5 out of 5 by from One of the best I really enjoyed this game - not too many HOG's and those that were are good! Keeps you going all the way through with great story line. I got lost a few times, the map is good but map reading was never my strong point! Fantastic!!
Date published: 2012-02-18
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Fantastic Game. WOW, this fantasic game has it all. the graphics the sound the suspense, it's thrilling, it's an adventure plus some HOS. Don't turn off the sound or you will miss so much, the recordings are brilliant the voice that toys with Sam is sinister. You can hear Sam breathing & the odd cough. This really has the WOW factor. One of the best games that I have played. Thank you BF and DEVS, this is also a long game. Hope you enjoy it as much as I have.
Date published: 2012-02-07
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Favourite game of all This is the first time I've commented on any game. I loved this game, could hardly leave the computer to go to sleep. My favourite game of all my games. Terrific graphics, sound and love Oscar's voice, so annoying, you just want to catch him to end the teasing. No hesitation in recommending to anyone to buy it. Am going to look for more by the same group.
Date published: 2012-02-07
Rated 5 out of 5 by from One of the best The story line is great, the adventure is catching, and one doesn't have to spent too much time over boring HOs. I couldn't stop until I finished it. It's a pity I didn't buy the collector's edition in the first place.
Date published: 2012-01-30
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Dont tease me Enjoyed the game, it was challenging and not full of paranomal ghosts that lots of other HO games are. Lots retracing my steps which got a little bit annoying, but all in all it's a great game. Just one thing, when it's finished I get "continued in the collectors edition" that's a tease I could do without, not everyone can afford Collectors Editions all the time. Apart from that this is a great game and would recommend playing!
Date published: 2012-01-28
Rated 5 out of 5 by from OUTSTANDING GAME !!!!! This one had me on the edge of my seat throughout the whole game. The voice over is fantastic and very realistic. The graphics are amazing as well. There is a lot of going back and forth, but in this game I didn't mind at all. "Oscar" was intriguing, sarcastic and very realistic. If I had known there was a CE, I would have purchased that instead of the regular game. The ending left the story wide open for a sequel. Way to go BF! I HIGHLY recommend this game!
Date published: 2012-01-24
Rated 5 out of 5 by from One of the best games we have played! We played the demo and were immediately caught up in the story, although it is truly creepy. We couldn't wait to find out the ending, so we purchased the game and are downloading it as we submit our review. The movie at the beginning is great. You have the choice to skip, but it is the beginning of an awesome story. The graphics and voice overs are awesome, as well. There are choices for cursor, screen and level of play. There is a lot of back & forth, but it keeps you thinking on where do you want to use that object you found. The hidden objects scenes are fun & interactive and not terribly difficult. The first puzzle we played (tune the guitar) was fairly simple, but a couple others after that we thought to be a challenge. We can't comment on the length of the game since we have not finished it. We know this game will be a great purchase!
Date published: 2012-01-22
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Brink of Consciousness: Dorian Gray Great Game very good all round.
Date published: 2012-01-21
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Excellent game! I'll add my 2 cents to the many other reviews, but keep it short. Great graphics, storyline, Ending satisfactory in SE, but leaves you a little bit hanging with a continuation to the CE. HO scenes easy. Most puzzles the same, tho' a couple keep you working at it. Had to use the walkthrough once. Some running around, but not horrendous. Satisfactory length of play. Really enjoyed it.
Date published: 2012-03-02
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Fantastic game I thoroughly enjoyed this game...it wasn't inundated with alot of HOS ...The puzzles were pretty easy though...Great story line. When I thought the game was about to end, it would keep on going...you get your moneys worth here.
Date published: 2012-02-16
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Story Line I wish I had purchases the Collector edition. This is one of the few games that the story line and style of game would be worth the collectors edition. Who ever wrote this one did an awesome job. I love the speakers through out the game. It was short dialog that really added to the game.
Date published: 2012-01-22
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Liked it Beautiful, nice music. Not too many HO scenes.
Date published: 2012-01-28
Rated 5 out of 5 by from YOWZA! This was a great game! I played this just after Brink...Lonely Hearts and this was even better. You are a journalist tracking down the wack job killing young people. Your girlfriend has been abducted and you set out to find her. The mansion and grounds are huge! There is no map and there is a bit of back and forth. However, the game is so good, it does not matter. The HOS's are very well done. Some interaction needed, clear objects and, hint, check the edges of the picture for objects. I did not use my hint button very much. VO and character movement was done extremely well. Puzzles were unique and thought-provoking. I did, however, skip 2 of them. This is a very long game, a lot of bang for your buck. I will be playing it again!
Date published: 2013-12-21
Rated 5 out of 5 by from WOW! You are trying to rescue your fiance from a psychopath. It's like being stuck in a "saw" movie. He is taunting you through video/speaker set ups throughout a three story mansion. There is alot of running around with got easier 1/2 through when I realized there was a map. The game just got you hooked and I didn't even see it, lol. Must play with sound. I now wish I had gotten the CE.
Date published: 2013-10-02
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Compelling Storyline, Amazing Game This is an absolute wonder of a game. You are Sam, a journalist whose girlfriend Anna has been abducted by a cunning murderer, in Dorian Gray syndrome. You have to attempt to save her, before it is too late, by exploring the fiend's trap filled mansion, while your every move is being watched. The storyline is compelling, as you need to solve the puzzles and avoid the traps, before Anna ends up like his other victims. There are excellent graphics and voiceovers and I absolutely loved the music and atmosphere. There are HO's and many new puzzles, not always easy which is nice for a change. Backtracking is fine, as if you were to use an object you found straight away, in the same location, it would offer absolutely no challenge at all, I prefer having to remember, it is a little more challenging. All in all a great experience. Definitely reccommended.
Date published: 2013-09-01
Rated 5 out of 5 by from best game I ever played! Incredible atmosphere This game NEEDS to be played with tlhe sound on, it adds everything to the immersive atmosphere. This game is really incredibly good, never seen anything like it. This is a story that is as good as a great novel. You cannot stop until you've reached the end, which was quit satisfying for me, didn't really need the bonus game play. If you want the best gaming experience you've ever had in your life, buy this game! Have a lot of fun!!
Date published: 2013-08-01
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Not a let down! I enjoyed the whole concept of the game, from the story line to the game play. Loved it!
Date published: 2013-05-19
  • y_2022, m_7, d_5, h_21
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_3.0.32
  • cp_3, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_0, tr_214
  • loc_en_US, sid_13398, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=RATING, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=HELPFULNESS, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=FEATURED, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_bigfishgames

The Big Fish Guarantee:

Quality tested and virus free. No ads, no adware, no spyware.

Your Security and Privacy are important to us! Privacy Policy

, share your thoughts about this game!

Brink of Consciousness: Dorian Gray Syndrome

Help Sam rescue his love Anna in Brink of Consciousness: Dorian Gray Syndrome, an incredible Hidden Object Puzzle Adventure game!

Heres what your review will look like once it’s posted.

Click Submit if you’re happy. Your review should appear soon. To make changes, use the Edit or Cancel buttons.

Thanks for sharing your thoughts about this game!

You’ve already shared your thoughts about this game.

Thanks for submitting the review below.