Mystery Case Files®: Escape from Ravenhearst™ Collector's Edition
Exclusive

Mystery Case Files®: Escape from Ravenhearst™ Collector's Edition

PC

Also available on

Hidden Object

Play Now Download the free trial

This game will not work on your operating system.

Are you sure you want to download this game?

Free sample version

(481.70 MB)

By clicking "Play Now", I accept the Terms of Use and acknowledge that I have received the Privacy Policy. If this is your first time downloading a game from Big Fish, our handy Game Manager app will install on your computer to help manage your games.
Buy Now Get the full version

This game will not work on your operating system.

Are you sure you want to purchase it?

Full version game

$ 19.99 USD

$ 13.99 USD or 2 credits

You lived through their side of the story—now live through his!

Return once more to the haunted grounds of Ravenhearst Manor to uncover new details about this poignant saga. What you find could very well be the final chapter of this riveting story—if you escape.

This is an intense psychological thriller that may reveal deep-seated fears. Not for the young or faint of heart. Consider yourself warned.

Please note: This is the biggest and most intense offering from the Big Fish Games Studios to date. If you are not sure if your computer will be able to handle the game, please try it before you buy it!

The Collector’s Edition includes:

  • Bonus collect and match quest!
  • Exciting bonus quest featuring the Case Book
  • Additional Hidden Object scenes
  • Integrated strategy guide
  • Check out our Blog Walkthrough

Game System Requirements:

  • OS: Windows XP/Vista/Win7/8
  • CPU: 1.8 GHz
  • RAM: 1024 MB
  • DirectX: 9.2
  • Hard Drive: 1591 MB

Big Fish Games App System Requirements:

  • Browser: Internet Explorer 7 or later
  • Crude Humor
  • Mild Blood
  • Violence
Reviews at a Glance

Mystery Case Files®: Escape from Ravenhearst™ Collector's Edition

0 out of 5 (0 ReviewsReview)
Average Rating:
Play Now Download the free trial

This game will not work on your operating system.

Are you sure you want to download this game?

Free sample version

(481.70 MB)

Buy Now Get the full version

This game will not work on your operating system.

Are you sure you want to purchase it?

Full version game

$ 19.99 USD

$ 13.99 USD or 2 credits

Customer Reviews
Mystery Case Files®: Escape from Ravenhearst™ Collector's Edition is rated 3.6 out of 5 by 887.
Rated 5 out of 5 by from I WAS WARNED.....!!!!!!!!! Whoo-oooo-Wheeeee!!!!!! This game was a one-in-a million challenge for me - the challenge being able to proceed to each new scene without having the beejebees scared out of me! They were right when they said "intense psychological chiller..." I couldn't play this game at night, it was bad enough playing it during the day. The graphics were phenomenal. The artists behind this masterpiece were geniuses! But be warned! This is not for chickens! :-0
Date published: 2012-12-31
Rated 5 out of 5 by from AWESOME!!!!!!! All I can say about this game is that it is awesome!!!!!
Date published: 2012-12-08
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Loved It Before I purchased this, I read the reviews. I was a little disheartened. I'm a huge fan of the MCF line, and I had enjoyed the previous two Ravenhearst games. I will admit: this game was difficult. I was so glad the strategy guide was included in the CE. However, I was simultaneously proud of my own ingenuity when I figured things out, and completely creeped out by some of the story twists. When I played Dire Grove and 13th Skull afterward (both of which are very good), I was almost disappointed in finishing them faster, as they were much easier. This is a real find for those who are looking for involved gameplay with difficult puzzles!
Date published: 2012-11-25
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Challenging and Engrossing This game was much better than some reviews led me to believe. Wonderfully difficult and complex, this game utterly absorbed me. Some of the more repugnant components were off-putting and I had to detach myself from the game somewhat. I found that muting the game volume on the more disturbing parts and playing my own music really helped to keep me calmer so I could enjoy the game. I think the theme, what makes bad guys go bad, to be well developed and gruesomely explored. A very original and well-crafted game that has excellent replay value.
Date published: 2012-11-04
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Absolutely excellent!!! I can't understand what some people are whinging about here. This is the best game of its kind! The scenes are chilling, the puzzles are challenging and the creepy atmosphere is EXACTLY what I'm looking for in a game. The hospital scenario really jangles with the nerves. I could almost imagine the next game taking on 'Silent Hill' qualities and really getting the pulse racing. My early dismay at losing the Hidden Object scenes soon dissolved. I'm not completely convinced by the new 'changing objects' system, but it was fine after a scene or two. Genius - more like this Big Fish!
Date published: 2012-11-04
Rated 5 out of 5 by from AWESOME I know some of you don't like this game but I love this game the only part I found tricky was when the guy had to be born. This was a very creepy but good. I have played this game at least 5 times and I still enjoyed it. MCF Rules please keep doing what your doing and please make another MCF game
Date published: 2012-06-28
Rated 5 out of 5 by from One of the best hidden edgier hidden object games! Production values are among the highest I've seen in a casual game. I would like to see more of these types of hidden object games that are more intense and deal with darker themes.
Date published: 2012-06-14
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Three times a charm . . . I didn't bother trying the demo, I assumed the game would be as amazing as the first two. I was not disappointed. Escape Ravenhearst is a long intense game. The story line, special effects, animation, music, and sound effects are very creepy. At times I would call the game disturbing. If you are into that kind of thing (I just happen to be), you will LOVE the game. If you like HOGs, you will be slightly disappointed. Instead of finding objects in a scene, you find the objects that are morphing in a scene. As the game progressed, I grew to like this new way of "finding" objects. The puzzles can be hard, I suggest buying the CE. If nothing else, it gives you the strategy guide. I tend to not need the strategy guide in most games, but I found myself periodically glancing through it. I have played over 150 HOGs, and have to say that this is one of the most intense games I've played. Escape from Ravenhearst tells the story of Charles, Emma, Rose, and the twins through the eyes of Charles. You will go back in time and see how Charles was treated as he grew from infancy to adulthood. Wow, social services would have a field day with the things he was forced to endure. The game was truly worth the money. There are many many rooms, caverns, prisons, nurseries, mental institutes etc . . . to explore. This is a long game that will keep you playing for days.
Date published: 2012-05-07
Rated 5 out of 5 by from BF has another winner I absolutely loved the latest installment of MCF! Graphics: Superb, as usual. Combined with the eerie sounds, the pitter patter of raindrops, creaking of stairs...it gave you that "whole atmosphere" feel. Gameplay: Very challenging at times. I had to consult the Strategy guide a lot! but that's only because I'm impatient. If you acutally take the time to "puzzle" over it I think you'll find the challenge is worth the money. Length of play: Very good. I didn't time myself but I am guessing it took approximately 6 hours to finish, and that was with use of the strategy guide. If you actually take the time to do it all on your own with no help I think you'll be satisfied with the length. HOG scenes: Well, they are different that's for sure. Instead of finding a list you are actually finding morphing objects. At first I was a little disconcerted about this and like most other reviewers my initial reaction was to "dislike" it because it was something new and not at all what I was used to. But I grew to love this aspect of the game. I found that it added a challenging new twist to the genre and didn't find it boring at all. With most scenes I could pick out the half dozen or so objects fairly quickly and it was only when it got down to the last few that it grew tedious and sometimes "like waiting for paint to dry". But in all honesty I can say the same about the standard HOG scenes with a list where I can find ten or so objects quickly and then spend the next 15-20 minutes hunting for that last elusive object. With that being said, I wouldn't want to see ALL new HOG/adventure games going this way...I do still like a list...but I think it was innovative and fun. Storyline: What can I say? It's MCF so it's bound to be sick and twisted. after all, these characters are not people you would want to meet in a dark alley. I thought the storyline was keeping with the MCF series. Replayability: Yep, I'd replay it again. Strategy guide/help: This is the only area of the game I would give a thumbs down to. I didn't find the SG to be all that helpful; there was no text, only pictures. And even then the pictures weren't always clear on what had to be done. And unlike past MCF games, the diary didn't keep track of pertinent information (such as codes, or puzzle clues) so I found myself having to take a lot of notes as I went along. This is the only area where I think BF could have done better with this game. Extra gameplay: Decent. There were morphing objects to find within the diary and if you found them all it then opened up two additional HOG scenes (standard HOG, not morphing). And there was a "match and find" type of play within the game where you were given tokens which you then had to match within the various scenes of the game. Both of these extras extended the playing time for CE customers without really interrupting the whole flow of the game because they were integrated within the game. Very nice. All in all, I would recommend giving this game a try and keeping an open mind about the "morphing object search" aspect of the game.
Date published: 2011-11-30
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great new ideas! I love this game and think it is the best Mystery Case Files to date. I particularly liked: - the morphing objects instead of hidden objects - the story line is amazing - the puzzles are quite a bit easier than those in some of the other games. This made it less frustrating and more fun. - the references to other non-Ravenhearst Mystery Case File games. The reference to 13th skull was a riot! What I didn't particularly like: - I miss the "achievements" that some of the other games had. It gives me incentive to play more than once to earn all the achievements. - The built in strategy guide. It certainly makes it easier, but I prefer to have to figure things out on my own and this just makes it too easy. - The "rewards" for the tabbed items were lame. I'd prefer a short but equally fun bonus game in the CE. This is an absolutely great game overall. I am going to play it a second time since I have to wait another whole year for the next Mystery Case files to come out! Robin
Date published: 2011-11-28
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Awesome game with plenty of twists and challenges I wasn't a huge fan of 13th Skull, but have loved every other MCF game, although I was careful not to get my hopes up too high for this one. Although not perfect, this game really upped the ante for "casual" games, the storyline, the graphics, everything is geared less toward the casual gamer and more towards an adult and more experienced crowd. My only complaints are: - Strategy Guide with just photos and no text made it possible to complete mini games without actually understanding why. This was especially frustrating with the final puzzle, I ended up plugging in the required info and didn't find out where it came from until reading it on the forums. - Bonus gameplay is not much of a bonus. Adding only a few extra minutes, not worth the extra cost in my opinion. Truly worth the cost, but the regular version will be 99.9% as good, at half the price.
Date published: 2011-11-26
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Words kind of fail me.... just Wow. This game...I'm more than a little stunned, but I'll do my best here. To start off, of course, the warnings only made me want it more (hehe# but I'll admit, this was creepy. In a totally awesome way. Thanks to the fact that there are several locales, this game manages to collect some of the scariest HOG 'cliche' creep-fests, combine them and make them not just gross-out "this place is grimy, ooooh, scary" kind of way, but in a genuinely chilling fashion. I was very pleased that they resisted having things jump out at the screen, too. That type of 'scare' - more of a startle - lends a cheapness to things that Escape doesn't go anywhere near. So cudos to the designers on that. Visually, this is quite possibly the most stunning game I've ever encountered, and I don't just mean HOGS. I'm talking, console, MMO, the whole shebang. There were those grimy moments, but at the same time there was an inventiveness to object placement, to scenery, to setting, to the whole thing, along with the perfect colour palette and just the right amount of detail. I was blown away repeatedly for the better part of the game. Sound, not bad at all, but unfortunately I can't go in depth because I had it turned down, and got so absorbed in the game I completely forgot to listen to it! The actual gameplay ... to begin with, it felt like a tired re-hashing of all the other case-file games. I admit to being underwhelmed. But if the intention was to lull us into a false sense of security and 'this is nothing new' before completely blowing our minds, I'd say it worked for me. And I'm not just talking about looking for morphing objects instead of a list of words #though there is a single homage to regular HOs in here too!#. Simply everything about this incredibly story-based play through had me ecstatic. Being CaseFiles, of course the story is centric #which is why I love them so#. But this one is so absorbing, detailed and, it seems, well-researched, as to make its believability the most creepy thing about the game! As to the CE features - I fully advise checking out the spoilers in the forum before making a decision. I fully support my haphazard 'I know I'll love it, and I want it NOW' decision, but many people have their regrets, because CE features is something else they threw away the book on. I thought it was magnificently done, and enjoyed it far, far more than the usual kind, but it is a matter of personal opinion, and there's no point in souring your experience with such a unique and magnificent game over the quibbles about extras. Wait for SE if you must, but this is definitely a player. Magnificent, perfect, creepy, and quite frankly, so close to home at times it was terrifyingly outstanding! Love the play, love the story, LOVE the ending... the game has it's faults, but it's hard for me to even think about them, so drowned out they were by the crazy good work that made this game everything it is.
Date published: 2011-11-26
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Enjoyed Immensely, Hated strategy guide Best puzzles ever. Very elegant and just right for a challenge, without being so obscure that Einstein couldn't figure out where to go with them. Scenery, artwork and atmosphere are all 1st class - Big Fish ought to think about going into the movie business. This series would make a pretty decent Horror flick. Definitely don't recommend for children or anyone with a twitchy stomach. My only real gripe is the absolutely useless Strategy Guide. I don't want to learn everything that's coming up in order to find a key that I missed (for the file cabinet in the asylum). A standard old-school guide would have worked much better than this one... but... I still couldn't quit playing and beat it at 1 this morning. :D
Date published: 2011-11-25
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Mystery Case Files Escape from Ravenhearst I've played every Mystery Case Files game; and, of course, they have grown by leaps and bounds since the original hunt and peck hidden object games. I was surprised by the negative reaction by many to this newest addition to the Mystery Case Files games. I, for one, enjoyed finding the morphing objects in this game. While I have played hundreds of traditional hidden object games, I found this one to be a bit different and fun for a change. I really needed the strategy guide for this game and I was glad to have this comprehensive one. That being said, while I greatly appreciated the "skip mini-game" button, I would have liked to see an instruction button for every mini-game as well, rather then just see it outlined in detail in the strategy guide. The graphics and details are superb. I always wait anxiously for a new edition of MCF games to be released; and while I currently have 15 new hidden object games activated and ready to play, I IMMEDIATELY downloaded and began playing this one the moment I saw that it was available. For me, this MCF game did not disappoint.
Date published: 2011-11-24
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Escsape From Ravenhearst The latest installment in the Mystery Case Files series pulls out all the stops. The developers listened to past requests and complaints when building the game. There are plenty of morphing objects and no hand-holding. The artwork, as we have come to expect, is exceptional. There are several layers of sound effects. I played with headphones so I could hear them all. They really added to the atmosphere of the game. It is a long game-it took me nine hours to play without skipping any puzzles. The puzzles are challenging and I had to consult the strategy guide a couple of times to point me in the right direction. It is a psychological thriller and I advise taking the warning seriously. I'm fairly sensitive and made it through without wanting to call for help. I haven't decided yet if it's my favorite MCF game. I'll need to play it again.
Date published: 2011-11-23
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Another hit from BFG! I was under the impression the next MCF game was NOT going to be about Ravenhearst. So, imagine my delight when it turned out it was. IMO, the Ravenhearst series redefined the Hidden Object/Adventure game with the first in the series. This one is no different. Back to solve another mystery involving the spooky mansion in Blackpool, this time you are treated to see how all of the events at Ravenhearst unfolded from Charles' point of view, rather than his wife, Emma's. It's a unique twist to a fantastic series, and something to keep the series fresh. You don't have the typical list of objects to find in the HidObj scenes. Rather, you look for "morphing" objects; objects that alternate between two different items. This concept was used in the previous games but more in a "trophy hunt" way, as they were sprinkled throughout the game and not part of the HidObj scenes themselves. Honestly, this almost seems a natural transition to the HidObj list mentality of these games, and I like it. It adds a unique difficulty level to the game. Graphics are exactly what you'd expect, and then some. Crisp, clear, and fantastically mood-setting. The images of Emma appearing in various places are extremely well-done, and add to the creepy factor. The puzzles are on the intermediate level, which is nothing new for this series. The music is fantastic! The opening sequence might have been the core of the "This is an intense psychological thriller that may reveal deep-seated fears. Not for the young or faint of heart. Consider yourself warned." warning, as I didn't find anything after that to suggest this was anything less spooky than other thriller HidObj games. That doesn't mean it doesn't have sequences that might be off-putting; it just didn't for me. In the end, this is a great game! I would recommend it to anyone, along with the other 2 in the series. Furiously click, don't browse, to the buy page. You will not be disappointed!! And I still want one of those Madame Fate bobblehead dolls!
Date published: 2011-11-24
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Well, I loved it. First, a disclaimer. I have never been a fan of hidden object scenes. I've learned to put up with them over the years since it's hard to get an adventure game without them, but it took me a while to get used to them. So I was thrilled with the complete lack of junkpiles in this game. Yes, looking for morphing objects is more difficult than looking for items on a list (at first), but the rooms are uncluttered, coherent, and relevant to the rest of the game play. I honestly had a harder time getting used to hidden object screens than I did adjusting to this method. As for the story, I liked it. It's very dark though, and if I have one complaint, it's that you don't get a true sense of how twisted it is until after the demo. So people who will be offended won't find that out until after they pay. But the puzzles are challenging without being maddening and none of them feel liked they've been tacked on to pad the game. Now for the sticking points, sound & visual. I did have a slight graphics problem (green overlay) that went away completely when I updated my graphics driver. I've seen a lot of other people complaining about more serious issues though, so I'd advise checking that your system meets the minimum requirements for this game and your drivers are up to date. Also try before you buy. The audio was good quality. And when you first entered a room the sound of torment (remember, dark) in the background is "atmospheric". However, 20 minutes later when you're still hearing that same torment because you're trying to figure out a tricky puzzle in that room, the sound is just grating. So, in summary: Loved the morphing scenes. Loved the (dark) story. So-so on the soundtrack. Loved the graphics, but test run them on your system before you spend money. Happy gaming!
Date published: 2011-11-26
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Celebrate Evil! Tons of information on plot and gameplay have been published over here, so I'd love to share a few thoughts considering atmosphere, game quality and - first of all - the absolute uniqueness of EfR. The game sets standards that can hardly be improved in the future. There's a lot of beautifully done, atmospheric settings and sceneries in today's games, but they cannot compete by far. Parts of EfR literally make you hold your breath (and seriously concerned about the developer's mental health#. And: the VILLAIN, looking like Voldemort's little brother, is one of the eeriest Psychos you'll ever meet. #I admit I'm enchanted.) Dark humor, a gameplay that keeps you fascinated, challenging puzzles - just everything you can ask for, even if you're spoiled like I am! Highly recommended.
Date published: 2011-11-26
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Disgustingly Outrageously Funny!! Enjoyed this most challenging to date MCF game. The team had to have fun developing this creative masterpiece, that fact came through. The game had all the features I could ask for -- I love morphing objects in a game so they turned a traditional hidden object scene in to finding all the morph objects in the scene. There were other well placed morphs in other locations. There were not those dreaded sparkles, no hints outside of a hidden object scene. The player was made to pay attention in each scene. I might add that because the player had to spend more time in the morph hidden object scenes it added more difficulty to the play. I would find that I was forced in to more memory recall -- this was desirable for a more challenging frustrating game play. The puzzles were not easy to solve. True to an MCF game experience there was snarky and hilarious comments through out. This is a game like 13th Skull and Dire Grove that I will enjoy over and over. While this is not a game I would recommend for a new player to hidden object games it is one the new player should aspire to play. Teenagers and the adult who enjoys the frustrating, the disgusting yet very entertaining play will find it all in this game. BTW I loved the length of the game. I played for hours over three days. Thank you. Good work MCF and BF. I can barely wait for the next production.
Date published: 2011-11-26
Rated 5 out of 5 by from I say, MCF is BACK! Me and my wife are great fans of Hidden Object Adventure games and we always play them together. Here's what we thought about this one... I give you... the Good and the Bad and the Conclusion: + Stunning visuals and smooth animations + Really challenging and elaborate + The mood that the sounds and the most detailed scenes create + Very interesting story - Morphing objects / lack of hidden objects THE CONCLUSION: First of all, this game really isn't for kids or for the faint hearted ones! It can be very qrotesque, disgusting and frightening for some. Me and my wife sure had our own scenes where we really didn't want to return. But man, is this game great or what! The story is very strong and interesting. Finally there were some really great challenges that forced us to stop playing for the evening and start again with a clear mind next day, just to get further in the game. Like I said, the theme really isn't for everyone, but we didn't get bothered by it. The sounds might cloud your mind a bit though sometimes. The scenes has that strange way of making you feel growingly anxious. The game mostly is very disturbing and horror themed, but there are some surely funny moments too. Unfortunately, we just go to the group that doesn't really fancy the morphing objects. We prefer the hidden ones. We just sighed everytime those came up and felt it slowed things down and took some fun out of it, hence the small minus in fun factor rating. I think morphs are fine as a bonus, like this one has inside the notebook, but wouldn't want them into the actual game. Oh speaking of notebook, don't expect pretty much any help or clues from there. All in all, it is an amazing addition to the series! If the theme just hits you, you'll be spending many hours with this one. ps. stick through the credits for some fun footage ^^
Date published: 2011-11-27
Rated 5 out of 5 by from A Very Unusual Game I have now completed the game, and what a long and interesting (and sometimes stomach-churning) game this was. Widescreen worked for me - laptop, Win7, 64-bit. Voices were well done. I used the custom cursor so that I could see the changes when moving over different parts. There are no sparkles. There are no instructions for how to do the puzzles. There is very little, if any, information on how to proceed, except in the SG, which moved its pages (although slightly behind) with my game progress. Graphics are very good. There is one HOS (hidden object scene). Otherwise there are MOS (morphing object scenes), but not all that many. They seemed to get less the further I got into the game. There is no bonus chapter - just as well as we all always moan about the shortness of bonus games. Instead, you will get extra gameplay throughout the game. Check out the SG (strategy guide). When you see a diamond in the top right-hand corner of a page, that page is extra playtime, which is exclusive to the CE. There is no map, but a diary, in which you will find 2 tabs. You aren't told what they are for, but you will find out very quickly... This was one strange and interesting game. And I am glad I bought the CE. A lot of people who will buy the SE (standard edition) might struggle with the game, because there is no in-built SG. I never had to use the Strategy Guide before when playing a CE, but I had to use it very often with this game.
Date published: 2011-11-25
Rated 5 out of 5 by from A wonderful game that might not be for everyone. Where should I begin? This is certainly not a game for everyone, and children should definitely be shooed out of the room before playing. Many of the contents in the game are rather inappropriate for the younger generations. In addition to that, people who are considering to buy this game better take heed to Big Fish Games's warning: They are not kidding you when they tell you that this game is a psychological thriller. Some of the contents in this game can be extremely disturbing to certain group of people. Do NOT be fooled by what you go through in the demo since it hardly brushes upon the surface of what you will go through in the purchased game. With that said, I have to say that this game was truly fun, and by the end of the game, I am absolutely in love with it. At first, I couldn't really get into the game, seeing that I'm not a big fan of morphing objects, even when they first appeared in Madame Fate and later on in Dire Grove. I just didn't find them fun. So, when I found out that most of the hidden objects scenes had been replaced by morphing objects scenes, my first thought was "tedious," especially after I finished the first morphing objects scene. By the time I finished the demo, I was of two minds: 1) I dislike morphing objects. Can I really stand going through a game that has solely morphing objects scenes instead of the traditional hidden objects scenes? 2) But this is Mystery Case Files, and I had waited for this installment for so long. I really, really wanted to know what happened next in this series. In the end, my curiosity got the best of me and I went ahead and bought the game. Boy, am I glad I did. The puzzles are, in my opinion, very challenging. Here, I will have to bring up one of the cons that I have for the game: I wished that the devs would've added at least a "Help" button for the mini-games, since I have absolutely no idea what to do when I click into the game and have to consult the Strategy Guide. Many people do not like the Strategy Guide too much, feeling that they don't contain enough information, since there's no written text in there. Personally, I felt that the pictures were a bit too much information, since I basically know EVERYTHING I needed to do after I checked in there. I realize that this was probably done because there were many complaints about too much hand-holding for 13th Skull, but a help button on the side makes it optional for whether the player wanted that help or not. ;) Nonetheless, the mini-games were a LOT of fun, very creative, and very different from the mini-games that I had seen in other games (and trust me when I say I have a lot of games on my computer). The morphing objects scene, as I had mentioned, aren't exactly my favorite type of game play. A lot of times, I find myself staring at the computer screen, willing the last morphing object to just appear already. Of course, that sometimes just doesn't work out and I have to use the hint button. Thankfully, the hint button recharges rather quickly, so no worries there. A second con about the game is the fact that the hint button only works in the mini-games and the morphing objects scenes. I would've preferred it much more if the hint button also could give us pointers in regards to where I should go next and so on, so I wouldn't have to run around the game like a headless chicken or consult the Strategy Guide. Though it's not so bad since the scenes of this game (except for certain scenes that were purposely gross; even then, the visual quality is amazing) were absolutely gorgeous. Back to the morphing objects: I do realize that many players had expressed their love for them and Big Fish Games is aiming to do something different with each new installment of MCF. Nonetheless, I sort of hoped that there could've been a mix of morphing objects scenes and hidden objects scenes. I find myself longing to replay Return to Ravenhearst a few times after too many morphing objects scenes, just so I can play some of the hidden objects scenes every once in a while. However, the morphing objects scenes did somewhat grow on me after a while and didn't bother me as much. It did also help that there weren't as many morphing objects scenes later on in the game, and things were more focused on puzzles and adventure. Kudos to everyone who had taken part in making this game: There were many parts that had me chuckling throughout the game, and the voice-overs and acting were extremely well-done and highly believable. The graphics were top-notch and very realistic, though as I have mentioned, some of it might be a bit mentally disturbing to some people. I had to turn the sounds on and off throughout the game, depending on where I'm playing the game on my laptop. I, personally, felt that the graphics and sounds definitely fitted the story line. (POSSIBLE SPOILER ALERT) Considering what the story line is about, it will be impossible to make things less than they were in the game. To make things less would make the story unrealistic and wouldn't give the game character's personality/behavior justice. I realize that some people might feel that this is just a game and shouldn't be so realistic, but then again, that's why there's the warning in the summary of this game. Besides, the contents in Return of Ravenhearst is arguably just as debatable as the contents for Escape from Ravenhearst. (SPOILER ALERT END) The biggest complaint I have though is that after I played this game, I can't help but compare every other demo I have on my computer to this. I just find all the other demos of hidden objects games way too easy and not as much fun, and I completely blame this on the devs over at Big Fish Games. You've definitely set a new high standard for games with Escape from Ravenhearst. All in all, I give this game 5 out of 5 stars, and I certainly can't wait for the next installment - this is a bit presumptuous on my part, since this might very well be the last game, which will make me extremely upset. From what I've gathered throughout the game, I'm assuming that there's more games to come for Mystery Case Files. I certainly hope I'm not being delusional, and hopefully, we will see a new MCF game next year.
Date published: 2011-11-27
Rated 5 out of 5 by from This ain't your Granny's HOG (thank goodness!) If you have grown tired of the typical: welcome to a superb all around game created by the folks who consistantly set the bar for the rest of the gang. This is a technical tour de force - seemless graphics, magical interface, visually beautiful, awesomely real - sounds, lights, camera: all the bells and whistles dialed into a totally immersive experience. This is a game that compliments the players and assumes that you are a familiar traveller - that you have been playing long enough to know the ropes (and rules and sparkeles/no sparkles). Were this a "same ol' same ol' game" I might wish that there had been more and tougher formal puzzles, and certainly the Traditionalists have cryed foul over the heretical lack of HOG and what about the Bonus Content ... BUT that's what makes this game such a winner and the Developers so brave: it contains every HOG/Adventure/Puzzle CE element we've grown to expect #including lengthy game play# and then morph's the lot into a brand new challenging way to play. Perhaps not everyone's cup of tea - but perfect for those who choose the road less travelled.
Date published: 2011-12-02
Rated 5 out of 5 by from A walk in Charles shoes An outstanding game. When I was starting this game, I was hoping for some of the innovative ideas the BFG devs always put into a new game. I didn´t get disappointed. This is definitely the most different one they made yet. Kudos to the devs, they did excel themselves. Instead of the usual hidden objects, like crowbars, horseshoes or safety pins, which you will have to look for in dark corners and blurred scenes, now you will have to watch very carefully for morphing objects. Most of them are not hard to find, because the devs used some of the well-known objects, like pots, vases or lamps, but there are also some you wouldn´t expect to morph. A bit tricky, but still well balanced. It might appear boring to wait for an object to morph, but it trains patience and doesn´t let you rush through the game, that isn´t at all meant as a race. And it trains to get another view. You´re able to learn looking at the scene/picture as a whole and don´t concentrate on single items. So by and by you will see objects morphing without focusing on them. The videos, which I expected to be more, are short and unobtrusive and most of them of Charles Dalimar, who, as the main figure, acts more in the background, "explaining" or better "defending" his notions and actions. Some of those videos can be skipped, others are embedded into the story line. The story line itself is hard stuff. You as master detective will have to go to several stages in Charles life. Even if you won´t see everything, you´ll get an impression in pictures and sound, what happened in his childhood and later, including neglect and abuse. There are scenes where you really can get sick, especially while having your dinner at this moment. So be warned, if you probably made similar experiences in your own life and can´t stand it, you will be remembered of it. Don´t play this game, if you can´t handle that! Some mini games/puzzles in the game are fairly new and none of all is explained. There´s no help, just some pictures in the strategy guide, which leaves you with a slight impression how to solve the puzzle. But no mini game is unsolvable, if you have a bit experience and a good sense for logic. The strategy guide doesn´t contain any text, only pictures. That´s at least for me what a strategy guide should be. A help to get the right direction, but no game solver. For a clear step-by-step solution you would have to wait for a walkthrough. Graphics and music are as always great. You will see and hear it while waiting for the morphs. Nice feature, even if found accidentally, are the morphing objects in the journal, which will offer you (if found all of them) the bonus game play. Given, the journal isn´t much a help to progress in the game, but here and there you will find a tiny little clue. Escape From Ravenhearst was announced as very creepy. The creepy parts are more psychological and profound, but there are also parts, which made me laugh, like a scene in the maturity ward. All in all Escape from Ravenhearst is a well-done final in this series. You will get some, but not all answers you came up with in the past. Some won´t like the game for its "slowness", but it shows a somewhat creepy but very detailed psychological profile with the story line. This final game can make you think (a lot or a lot more) about the social factors in childhood, the possible consequence of maltreatment or at all. If you want to think. Otherwise, you just could play it. ;)
Date published: 2011-11-28
Rated 5 out of 5 by from MCF Escape from Ravenhearst, Sets the bar for upcoming games in 2012 First of all, the initial cutscene is by far the coolest I've ever scene, Horror Show creepy, LOVE IT! I also love the use of real people in the cutscenes. I would liked a better hint system, though the Strat guide was so helpful, loved how you set that up. I hope the coll ed allows us to access the cutscenes again, the way Mystery Trackers-Raincliff did. I also hope the coll ed has screensavers, the more the merrier. Favorite screensaver to date goes to: Haunted Halls, Childhood Fears. I absolutely love clear games, like this, and stray from the watercolor, hand drawn looking games or hidd obj gms with clarity issues. I wish the games flash description told what the collec game offers and I missed that here. This game is super atmospheric with awsome colors, lighting sound it all works. Objects look real, and easy to identify.I prefer a game, like this, to look more realistic and crisp, with organized hidd obj scenes. I did love the use of the morphing hidd obj scenes, Raincliff had this too, but not full screens. hats off. Though it would have been fun to incorporate BOTH standard hidd obj. with the morph scenes. My favorite thing you've done so far is offer the mouse pad and keychain with a coll ed. please do that again. So the MCF badge that comes with this is welcomed. To date MCF, Dire Grove is one of my favorites and this game stands proudly beside it at the top. So.... To all the special people that worked on this game, I give you all a great big hug, and a job WELL DONE! You should all be SO PROUD of yourselves to make casual gaming history with this........With love, Your #1 Big Fish fan
Date published: 2011-11-24
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Hold On To Your Head - It May Start Spinning... Mystery Case Files Escape from Ravenhearst is a game that will thrill you, chill you, make you question your views on certain aspects of life and then leave you wanting to phone your mother just so you can hear her voice. In short, it's a trip down the rabbit hole--only the rabbit you're chasing is truly demented and named Charles. This is a game only BFG Studios could have done and they did it oh, so right. Never has there been a game like this one. It starts slowly...you're sifting your way through the rubble of Ravenhearst because you received a note..."I've got something to show you"...and some news clippings that people are once again, disappearing in Blackpool. The ghosts that you previously freed have warned you to stay away - something bad is going on and they can't protect you. They can help by manipulating some objects, but they still urge you to leave...and they will 'pop' in at odd places to remind you...leave...leave...leave before it's too late. But of course you don't listen...and so the fun begins. The game offers one mode of play, no sparkles, a limited (but curious) journal, and a strategy guide with picture representations (no text.) There are several areas where you identify 'morphing' objects and in turn, you receive an inventory item. It's a unique twist on the standard HOS and I have to say I found it very refreshing and a welcome change of pace. This is an adventure game. Those accustomed to using Strategy Guides and walkthroughs are going to be challenged in this game. There are lots and lots of puzzles and you have to figure out for yourself what to do to solve them. The SG does have pictures, however, many, many of the puzzles have random solutions. Again, there is no text in the SG. Also, the journal doesn't record all the details or information you will need to get through the game. There is a hint button and you can skip some of the puzzles, but you can't skip them all. There is no separate bonus chapter in this game. Instead, there are extras available for the purchasers of the CE that won't be available to those who purchase the SE. These extras include fun additional morphing objects that, if all found, lead to some fun hidden object scenes. My total play time, using no hints, no skips, no strategy guide, no journal, taking copious notes (I now have my own walkthrough-LOL) enjoying the time, savoring the atmosphere, the gameplay, the sheer madness of it all, was 12.5 hours. And I loved every demented minute of it.
Date published: 2011-11-25
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Hold On To Your Tail Fins Fishies I just played the demo for this game. It is just awesome. Great graphics and I mean great graphics. I am a serious Mystery Case File Junkie. I own every one ever made. Big Fish Studios you have out done yourself on this one. Finding Morphing Objects instead on Hidden Object Scenes was a very smart thing to do. The story starts with you going back to Ravenhearst due to the disappearance of a person. The similarities end there. The graphics are just awesome, voice overs just great and the stratagy guide is very unique. You will not be disappointed if you purchase this game. In my opinion, it is the best one yet. Fitting if it is indeed the last one of the series. Great awesome job Big Fish. I am off to buy it.
Date published: 2011-11-23
Rated 5 out of 5 by from The BEST MCF yet! *may contain spoilers* Wow, just wow. I'm not finished the game, but I can tell you that this game is AMAZING! It really is a psychological thriller! It has the feeling of watching a real creepy movie, which is just what I love! The hidden object scenes are replaced with morphing objects. This is definitely not for everyone. Some people don't like this idea. I think it's a nice new twist to the game, but I wouldn't want all games to be this way. I do miss the actual hidden objects. The hint button charges very quickly. The strategy guide is different as well. It just shows pictures of what to do instead of text. I didn't like it at first, but it's really not that bad. This game is definitely worth the price of the CE, especially if you are interested in the Ravenhearst games.
Date published: 2011-11-23
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Challenging and loving it! I feel that BF has done an excellent job with this. It still has that "Ravenhurst" feel to it, as far as the graphics and the setting is concerned. But it is also updated and I'm so glad that they are thinking outside the game box with the morphing objects rather then the Hidden Objects. I was surprised when I read from others that there was no different levels, but once I started playing I really didn't care because it was perfect for me. This game makes me think about how to solve problems and is challenging enough for me.
Date published: 2011-11-23
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Brings the fun back to the MCF series! So, I haven't finished the game yet (far from it!), but I am loving it! It's inventive and creative and all the other things we've come to expect in a MCF game. I have found that I'm a little different from other MCF fans. I like my games to be challenging but not overwhelmingly so. Return to Ravenhurst was too complicated for me to really get into and, although I tried, I didn't enjoy playing the 13th Skull (especially not with that one character yelling "Move, detective!" over and over while I was trying to figure out what to do next). For me, at least, this installment really brings the fun back into the series. It's the right mix of adventure and morphing object scenes and the different "acts" of the game keep the environment fresh and interesting. The strategy guide in the CE is helpful and it's great to have the option of skipping puzzles. All-in-all, it's a great game. If you're a bit squeamish (like me), take the "warning" seriously. The atmosphere ranges from creepy to downright unsettling! It's great to see that MCF can still elevate the genre to a new level.
Date published: 2011-11-27
  • y_2021, m_1, d_24, h_17
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_3.0.13
  • cp_3, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_0, tr_887
  • loc_en_US, sid_12545, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=RATING, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=HELPFULNESS, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=FEATURED, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_bigfishgames

The Big Fish Guarantee:

Quality tested and virus free. No ads, no adware, no spyware.

Your Security and Privacy are important to us! Privacy Policy

, share your thoughts about this game!

Mystery Case Files®: Escape from Ravenhearst™ Collector's Edition

Return once more to the haunted grounds of Ravenhearst Manor to uncover new details about this poignant saga. What you find could very well be the final chapter of this riveting story-if you escape.

Heres what your review will look like once it’s posted.

Click Submit if you’re happy. Your review should appear soon. To make changes, use the Edit or Cancel buttons.

Thanks for sharing your thoughts about this game!

You’ve already shared your thoughts about this game.

Thanks for submitting the review below.