City of Secrets

City of Secrets

PC

Adventure

Play Now Download the free trial

This game will not work on your operating system.

Are you sure you want to download this game?

Free 1 hour trial

(290.09 MB)

By clicking "Play Now", I accept the Terms of Use and acknowledge that I have received the Privacy Policy. If this is your first time downloading a game from Big Fish, our handy Game Manager app will install on your computer to help manage your games.
Buy Now Get the full version70% OFF!

This game will not work on your operating system.

Are you sure you want to purchase it?

Full version game

$ 9.99 USD

Only $2.99 - use coupon NEW299

After he falls down a hole in your basement, you must Save Rex from a City of Secrets in this incredible Adventure game! Not only has Rex found a city of mole-people, but he’s also been charged with espionage! Find useful items that you’ll use as you solve puzzles and try to free Rex before it’s too late! Scour gorgeous levels and save your best friend before he’s convicted of a crime he didn’t commit in City of Secrets!

  • Explore a city of mole-people
  • Go on an underground adventure
  • Save Rex from a City of Secrets!

New customers get your first game for $2.99!*

70% OFF!

Use Coupon: NEW299

* Collector's Editions and free to play games not included.

Game System Requirements:

  • OS: Windows XP/Vista/Win7/8
  • CPU: 1.0 GHz
  • RAM: 512 MB
  • DirectX: 9.0
  • Hard Drive: 672 MB

Big Fish Games App System Requirements:

  • Browser: Internet Explorer 7 or later
Reviews at a Glance

City of Secrets

0 out of 5 (0 ReviewsReview)
Average Rating:
Play Now Download the free trial

This game will not work on your operating system.

Are you sure you want to download this game?

Free 1 hour trial

(290.09 MB)

Buy Now Get the full version70% OFF!

This game will not work on your operating system.

Are you sure you want to purchase it?

Full version game

$ 9.99 USD

Only $2.99 - use coupon NEW299

Customer Reviews
City of Secrets is rated 2.8 out of 5 by 44.
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Very enjoyable game It was so nice to not have any HOS! The game was very amusing and entertaining. Some comments quite funny. All in all, it was fun! However, there is a scene where the skip button (only one in game) that froze the entire game. I managed to get through it with quite a lot of grief, but was glad I did. One other thing, near the end of the game, an ethnic comment was made. Contacted game's makers and they promptly and clearly explained it was not a mean comment, just misinterpreted due to language.
Date published: 2012-04-17
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Judge for Yourself First, a comment on some of the other reviews: you can NOT adequately review this game (really any game) with a 10 minute trial! Yes, the Narriator talks a lot but he is very amusing and is trying to explain the game. After the first task or so he doens't say a peep. Yes, this game is NOT something you can play on auto pilot, you actually have to think and pay attention. Yes, the hint system is "non-traditional" but it is multi layered so you can get just a nudge or the specific directions as you need. On to my review: This game is very reminisent of classic point and click adventures. Half the game is figuring out what to do next. Nothing is timed, humor abounds, and solutions may not always be obvious... but that is the genre! The characters do talk a bit much but the voices are great and they give clues on what to do next; you can always click through the dialog if you choose. I love the hint system: Step 1: shows you active zones... and this was usually enough for me to continue. Step 2: in the dialog area, you can advance the arrows for a more detailed hint, and Step 3 #or maybe 4# spells out exactally what to place where or what to do next with no riddles at all. The graphics are animated #almost clay-mation# 3-D so you can walk around in your environment, behind objects, around rocks, over bridges, and so on. The map is an instant travel map, at least once you get the map and have non-player characters start marking locations. I found a walkthrough on another site that said there were 5 "chapters" and I hadn't even completed the first one during my demo so this should be a descent length game #much better than the standard 3 hr HOG that I usually get from BFG#. Please don't judge this game by a few "limited" reviewers. If you like Adventure games #no Hidden Object scenes anywhere, and I don't recall any sparkles either# give this a try for at least 30 minutes before you decide. Enjoy!
Date published: 2012-02-25
Rated 4 out of 5 by from unexpect gem of a game I did not think I would enjoy this one but I was pleasantly surprised. The story line is cute ( little childish) The hints were good and in many cases needed to figure out what to do or where to go next
Date published: 2012-02-19
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Give it a try! I think a lot of negative reviews may have been left by those who hastily try the first 10 minutes and give it up. The graphics of the dog are really underdone and gave a bad impression of what was to come. It was soon proved a wrong assumption once I started playing as the mole. This is a pretty good game. You have to like dialogue. You can turn the speech off, which is a plus because I hate when voices from my games disturb others around me. The level of challenge is great. I didn't find it that hard, but it certainly took some time to think things through. The hints are phenomenal and start vague and end up telling you what you need if the vague hint wasn't enough.
Date published: 2012-02-11
Rated 4 out of 5 by from give it a try This is something different from the usual type of game. I'm only halfway through the demo, but I've already laughed out loud twice. The narrator sounds like he's come straight from an old Monty Python skit (get on with it!# and the characters are great. I enjoy cartoon-style art, and this is fun to look at. So far, I'm having an unusual amount of difficulty figuring out how to navigate and how to complete the tasks. This may be something that simply requires adjustment and practice. In the meantime, the Help function #click the arrows to get specifics) is sufficient. Recommendation: give it a good, long try.
Date published: 2012-02-09
Rated 4 out of 5 by from A Cute, Fun Adventure Game, if a Tad Rough in Spots. As far as game play goes, the City of Secret's tutorial would be a pretty rough introduction to the point-and-click adventure genre, however the hints did get pretty exacting if you used them enough, and afterwards the adventures got more intuitive. While I won't deny some flaws in the transliteration of the game's humor, and the rich voices in the game did suffer in their delivery of a few lines because of it, by in large I found it to be a charming, funny, gentle and clever social satire. I'd recommend this game, but I'd also recommend trying it first; adventure games are a very particular kind of game that can get frustrating, even in the best of circumstances. You should see for yourself if you want to take the good with the bad.
Date published: 2012-02-09
Rated 4 out of 5 by from A change of pace from hidden object games. After reading some of the other reviews it seems this game is for patient people. I agree the narrator can be a little long winded however the user can click to skip to the next set of dialogue and repeatedly click until the dialogue ends. I enjoyed the animation it reminded me a little bit of Sam and Max. There are no hidden object puzzles with massive amounts of objects cluttering the screen. The user instead has to locate items and complete tasks by talking to other characters. I appreciate the change of pace as no one is haunted and there are no monsters. I only played the demo version but am considering purchasing this game.
Date published: 2012-02-09
Rated 4 out of 5 by from You have to play the demo for more than 10 minutes! I played the full hour demo and I was not bored at anytime. The game is not super challenging, but the story line is interesting. It is mostly walking around talking to other characters to obtain items to ultimately rescue your friend Rex who is in prison. Yes, the graphics are cartoon like, but they are well drawn. Yes, the voice over is a bit annoying at first, but you can click the screen and it will stop talking. Very helpful if you are a fast reader and have already read the subtitles! Unlike other reviewers, I found the Help button to be helpful. When you click it it will show areas on the screen to click to pick something useful up, but not every one of these areas contains something helpful. I also noticed that a hint was given at the bottom of the screen that was general, but there were arrows to click to get a more specific hint. Not sure if I will purchase this game, but it was a fun demo to play.
Date published: 2012-02-09
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Finally, an adventure game I really have gotten sick of all the HOGs, sparkles, and hints. This game reminds me a lot of the old adventure games before they starting making HOGs. They did put in a narrator who's talking you through how to play the game. That's different than the old AG. But, like the old AGs you just click-skip your way through it. I haven't played more than the demo hour, but I'm buying the full game. I loved Ghost Pirates of Voodoo Island, which was fun and silly and I spent days trying to figure out what to do. This seems like a simplified version of that. There were no hints back in the day. Just hot spots. That's why I found here. I don't know yet how many hours you'll get to play. But if it's like the old adventure games, it should take the whole weekend. It isn't a Siberia or a The Lost Crown, but for $7 its worth it. I just bought Braid, but haven't played it yet. This seems like a simplified version of that.
Date published: 2012-02-08
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Boring and easy To be honest, it was a good thing I didn't pay for the game and instead used my game credits for this because I wasn't impressed with it. It was very easy and tedious. Probably better for a young child. However, I will admit the storyline, although basic, is funny. I wouldn't recommend for anyone over probably 10 years old.
Date published: 2012-07-12
Rated 3 out of 5 by from boring You have to go backwards and forwards over and over again so it started to get bit boring see the same places over again. It was good as well because it was very challenging to see what to for your first time playing it.
Date published: 2012-02-16
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Give this a chance My first thought was that the commentator/narrator was an absolute pain! I just wanted to get on with my demo! LOL! OMG! This is completely different! I played for 14 minutes and was afraid that my time would run out before I could understand the game. IMHO this could be mainly a game for children or the young at heart! LOL! I would probably use a PC code to get this. First you have to reach a hook on the ceiling, then you have to build a lift/elevator, from unusual items. Inventory items can be merged together, but which ones are a mystery as to what and when! Could be worth buying if you want a good laugh. Not sure that I agree that the hints are of much help though, until you understand the mechanics of the game. I suggest that if you have the DL amount and/or time that you give this a go, even just to brighten your day. My suggestion is to give this the full demo and then decide what to do.
Date published: 2012-02-08
Rated 2 out of 5 by from Dullsville The graphics are good, the jazzy soundtrack is pleasant and there is the occasional moment of succesful humour but unfortunately dull gameplay and a very predictable story bring this game down. Puzzles are not very challenging and most importantly they are not fun to solve. They generally require more tedious running from place to place than actual thinking. The game tries very hard to be humorous, but in my opinion it only succeeds very occasionally and I found the constant failed attempts at being funny rather annoying. The story is overall very predictable and I found myself having figured some things out long before the game character did so more than once. There are some unpredictable moments but these felt too distached from the rest of the story to add very much to my overall assessement of the quality of it. In conclusion the game has good aspects (the best aspect is probably the soundtrack) but it is just not fun to play, due to uninspiring puzzles, constant failed attempts at humour and an all too predictable story. I would not recommend this game to anyone.
Date published: 2012-05-29
Rated 2 out of 5 by from Stupid and irritating The narrator in this game is so lame and irritating that I would not play out the whole free hour. It got rather boring rather quickly and the narrator speaks patronizingly... all in all, I am sure glad I didn't buy it!
Date published: 2012-02-09
Rated 2 out of 5 by from Still Shaking My Head City of Secrets is the oddest game I've ever played which makes it difficult to categorize or rate. It's an Adventure Game with sarcastic repetitious dialogue, clumsy movement, excellent graphics & difficult challenges. There! Now you're as confused as I am. The storyline takes a mole in search of his friend, a dog, who's been taken away to an underground prison. Getting underground in the first place requires combining objects and one critter together in a very strange & somewhat illogical manner. Then there's finding the prison which requires getting a hippo (?) to talk to you & repairing the water pipes. I finally succumbed to using the Hint button, if for no other reason but to stop the mole's incessant talking (which you can click through to advance it quickly). Finally, after finding the prison, I bravely continued on only to find Mr. Mole in a bureaucratic nightmare of getting a form to allow him inside the prison to talk to the dog. ARGH!!! After 42 minutes of playing the Demo, I gave up. The Hints became useless: "Go to In front of" was all it said - I went to every spot & .... nothing. Side note on the game & developer (aideMMedia) - City of Secrets received excellent reviews but mostly for iPod & such devices. Maybe it just doesn't translate well as a PC game. Ya got me!
Date published: 2012-02-08
Rated 2 out of 5 by from Disappointing Adventure Game! Just not my type of game, didn't like the voices, very annoying, a little bit silly!
Date published: 2012-02-08
Rated 1 out of 5 by from BORING!!! I've never written a review before and have played hundreds of Big Fish Games that range from just OK to great. This is without a doubt the most boring game I've ever encountered! Nothing about it was fun or interesting.
Date published: 2012-02-13
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Save your money I liked NOTHING about this game.
Date published: 2012-02-10
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Awful is an Understatement!!! Because I only lasted 15 mins, I can't provide too much helpful information on the game. However, I'll say what I can. With all due respect to the developers, overall, this game was one of THE worst games I've ever played. Gameplay-slow & choppy. Very user unfriendly. The objectives weren't obvious, the actions & items necessary to progress were illogical. Everything seemed disjointed. Storyline-uninteresting. Graphics-Colorful but flat. Unimaginitive & outdated. Dialog-Frustrating!!! There was more dialog between the characters & narrator, than there was game play. I kept thinking...'Enough already with all the talking...let's get on with the game!!!' Also, when I exited the game, the screen had a redish hue, and my monitor settings were all askew. Desktop icons were missing and the whole screen was significantly shifted to the left. #I had to restart the computer to get it back to normal# On the upside, I will say that I enjoyed the Mole's english accent. He sounded like Bob Hoskins. :D Not only do I NOT recommend this game to buy, but don't waste your time on the Trial. It's just that bad!
Date published: 2012-02-10
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Annoying! A stupid uninteresting story about a growling dog and a silly talking mole. Stupid tasks and a hint button that only serves to confuse you. But worst of all: a totally annoying story teller voice that keeps on blubbering all the time. All I wanted was to shut him off. Worst game ever!
Date published: 2012-02-09
Rated 1 out of 5 by from STUPID! CONFUSING, TOO MANY THINGS TO CLICK ON BEFORE THE CORRECT ONES ARE FOUND TO PERFORM THE TASKS, TURNED OFF AFTER 15 MIN, NO FUN
Date published: 2012-02-09
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Waste of time This was a totally waste of time game. Played five minutes and deleted it. Deleting it was the best part of the game.
Date published: 2012-02-09
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Illogical and pitiful game I hate to admit that I downloaded this pitiful excuse for a game. The solution to the first challenge or obstacle was absolutely ridiculous. For those of you who had to get the hook, you understand. I don't want to reveal too much. There were several things that I deplored. The first has to be the narrator. Someone please shut him up. I could not click fast enough to get him to stop talking. The solutions to obstacles and challenges were not logical. We are not suppose to reveal spoilers so I can't say much. If you did the first challenge, 'get the hook' then you understand. Unbelievably I proceeded on to the next challenge, which was for the mole to build a contraption to get in the hole. *sighs* The solution was even more ridiculous than the first. Not only that but I had to put up with this bungling mole's trip down memory lane each time I clicked on something. The hint button will highlight all items that you can click on. Unfortunately, 80% of them have NOTHING to do with your task and will just cause the mole to reflect on something. I soon realized that not only was the narrator's voice annoying but so was the mole's. I am really sorry that Rex the dog fell into a hole. If he is so smart that he can fashion a ladder out of items around the house then he can get himself out of the hole. I will NOT be saving him.
Date published: 2012-02-09
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Don't waste your time... Downloaded to see if this was good for the kids... Poor interface, repetative, not user-friendly. Narrator talks as the dog walks but it feels like the dog is talking in the third person. Boring, outdated and something that would have best suited the early 90's. Don't waste your time - I deleted this programme after 5 minutes.
Date published: 2012-02-09
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Frustrating!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! The hints button is no help at all. Just tells you what you already know. Very frustring to the point you just start clicking the mouse and still get no where! Not a game for anyone without alot of patience.
Date published: 2012-02-08
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Well call me Rex I'm just as confused as Rex....what is going on here....only after 4 minutes I couldn't stand it anymore.... Not my cup of tea.....
Date published: 2012-02-08
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Not Worth It. Game was challenging, but not worth playing. I deleted after I got to building a lift. Got sick of trying to second guess what to do next. Needed better hint function. Not to be played when you have food poisoniong or not feeling good at all. Playing and buying game is solely up to each and every individual player. Usually a good game relaxes me, but not this one.
Date published: 2012-02-08
Rated 1 out of 5 by from The most stupid game I've seen 12 mns of the demo and I exited without a shade of remorse after being stuck in scene #1 trying to grab hold of a hook. The only actions available were moving a washing machine and running aimlessly around a caryatid...duh ! No way you can exit that scene and search elsewhere or do something interesting. I quickly got tired of listening to the same repetitive oral comments -triggered by a hint system that doesn't help at all- and which are so perfectly idiotic that they quickly become extremely annoying, so I didn't persevere in my search. There was no point anyway: how interesting is it to get a hook to retrieve a magnet that's lost in the water under the ice ? As for the intoduction, it is also a masterpiece of stupidity. Two characters are babbling on endlessly, a talking mole and a dog that can't utter a word and only goes "grumpf, grumpf". In addition, this much too long monologue is utterly lame and a total bore. It is meant to be humorous, but I'm sorry to say it falls flat every second. Even the crooked graphics reflect a patent lack of taste and are not even pleasant to the eye. This game is a flop. Stay away from it.
Date published: 2012-02-08
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Awful Game The game does not make sense. The hints tell you diddly, your task is to get the fish hook, well how it another question. The dog runs around, but you get nowhere. After a short time maybe 15 mins I uninstalled it. Would not recommend
Date published: 2012-02-08
Rated 1 out of 5 by from city of secrets only played 5 min. couldn't take anymore
Date published: 2012-02-08
  • y_2019, m_3, d_18, h_15
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_2.0.11
  • cp_2, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_0, tr_44
  • loc_en_US, sid_13590, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=RATING, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=HELPFULNESS, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=FEATURED, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_bigfishgames

The Big Fish Guarantee:

Quality tested and virus free. No ads, no adware, no spyware.

Your Security and Privacy are important to us! Privacy Policy

, share your thoughts about this game!

City of Secrets

After he falls down a hole in your basement, you must Save Rex from a City of Secrets in this incredible Adventure game!

Heres what your review will look like once it’s posted.

Click Submit if you’re happy. Your review should appear soon. To make changes, use the Edit or Cancel buttons.

Thanks for sharing your thoughts about this game!

You’ve already shared your thoughts about this game.

Thanks for submitting the review below.