The Cross Formula

The Cross Formula

PC

Also available on

Adventure

Play Now Download the free trial

This game will not work on your operating system.

Are you sure you want to download this game?

Free 1 hour trial

(143.88 MB)

By clicking "Play Now", I accept the Terms of Use and acknowledge that I have received the Privacy Policy. If this is your first time downloading a game from Big Fish, our handy Game Manager app will install on your computer to help manage your games.
Buy Now Get the full version70% OFF!

This game will not work on your operating system.

Are you sure you want to purchase it?

Full version game

$ 9.99 USD

Only $2.99 - use coupon NEW299

Rediscover your identity and prove your innocence in The Cross Formula, an incredible Adventure game! After waking up in a roadside motel with no recollection of who you are, you learn that the police suspect you of murder! Solve puzzles, interact with quirky characters, and look for clues as you piece together the story of who you really and prove your innocence in The Cross Formula!

  • Search for helpful clues
  • Retrace your steps
  • Rediscover your identity!
  • Check out the Blog Walkthrough!

New customers get your first game for $2.99!*

70% OFF!

Use Coupon: NEW299

* Collector's Editions and free to play games not included.

Game System Requirements:

  • OS: Windows XP/Windows Vista/Windows 7/8
  • CPU: 1.2 GHz
  • RAM: 1024 MB
  • DirectX: 9.0
  • Hard Drive: 213 MB

Big Fish Games App System Requirements:

  • Browser: Internet Explorer 7 or later
Reviews at a Glance

The Cross Formula

0 out of 5 (0 ReviewsReview)
Average Rating:
Play Now Download the free trial

This game will not work on your operating system.

Are you sure you want to download this game?

Free 1 hour trial

(143.88 MB)

Buy Now Get the full version70% OFF!

This game will not work on your operating system.

Are you sure you want to purchase it?

Full version game

$ 9.99 USD

Only $2.99 - use coupon NEW299

Customer Reviews
The Cross Formula is rated 2.8 out of 5 by 54.
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Fun Adventure Game This is an interesting and unique adventure game. You start out in a motel room, you don't know who you are, but you know that you're a wanted man. You can choose to play casual (hints galore) expert (small hints) or with no hints at all. Some of the puzzles are easy, some are more difficult. At one point I was desperate for a hint and sorry I'd chosen "expert" but I managed to solve it on my own. ;) The art is different than every other casual game I've played, but its very well done, and gives the game a sort of "x-files" feel. I played the full free hour and it went by very quickly. The story line is excellent, its very intriguing, and although I'm not an adventure fan I did purchase this one because I need to know who this character is and what happened to him. I honestly I can't think of a single negative thing about this game. It's not the greatest or my favorite, but its a good one, and definitely an original in my opinion.
Date published: 2012-02-03
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Liked it! I may be in the minority, but I really liked this game! I thought the graphics style was interesting, kind of retro.The game has some challenging elements, where you have to figure out what to do next without the handholding. The story line kept me guessing. All in all, not a bad game.
Date published: 2012-02-02
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Should give this a try! This has an old time feel. Like those games you played when you first started. It's done in comic book graphics and there are no voice overs but the story is interesting. You find yourself with amnesia and have to find clues to who you are. If you play the demo be sure to stick with it! The first few minutes gives you the impression that this will be far to easy. In some respects it is. The hint system will walk you through but there are some unique mini games and different game play. Foe me it seemed to get more difficult as you play. Not a game for the top of my list but will go on it.
Date published: 2012-02-01
Rated 4 out of 5 by from I'm loving this old adventure style game.... Some people sent in reviews without even finishing the Demo... I finished the demo and the puzzles appear to get more difficult... hoping they continue to as well. There are three difficulty levels to choice from so hints, etc. will not be as easy depending on level chosen. Besides asking for forum help, there is prob. a walkthru somewhere on internet, also, if you get stuck.. So, based on the Demo, this is an old style adventure game yet obviously newly designed based on GPS in vehicle and based on an interesting theory of mind control (which the gov has actually experimented with/used). I am purchasing because it has a diifferent and intriguing story, one I want to follow through and find out more about. The graphics are hand drawn, colorful, and don't expect voice overs or sophisticated technical appeal, although there are some cool (IMO) cutscenes suggesting the mind control and leading to mini games. Overall, the game's storyline and solving puzzles is it's main appeal. Though I'm swimming against the stream right now opinion-wise, I would give it a definite thumbs up!. At the very least, give the Demo a try. It is "out of the box"... not the "usual" and that is what gives it a lot of it's charm and appeal. I'm looking forward to completing it! :)
Date published: 2012-02-01
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Enjoyable Point and Click Adventure Seeing how some people mentioned that the instruction don't go any deeper than "click until you find something useful" proves to me that they've never played the classic point and click adventurers that have been around for quite some time. Point and Click adventure games have never been about difficult puzzles, great graphics, or compelling story. Some of the best had stories only as "escape the locked room." Music was ok and the art was nicely done and the puzzles weren't hard. This is a game I'll store away when I have the chance to get it. Definitely for those that remember and enjoy the classics.
Date published: 2012-02-03
Rated 4 out of 5 by from A Nice Old Fashioned Adventure Game. This review is based on completing the entire game. I found the graphics and sound very well done. I really enjoyed the cartoonish style graphics and the humorous dialogue. The puzzles were different and somewhat challenging. I particularly enjoyed the formula puzzles. The ending is the only reason I give this game 4 stars instead of 5 stars. But, that is just me. Overall, its still a very well done game and I reccomend it for anyone who enjoy old fashioned type adventure games.
Date published: 2012-02-03
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Not a disguised Hidden Object game! For those that are tired of clicking on an adventure only to discover it is really just another hidden objects game in disguise and want something OTHER than that, this is a welcome relief. True, the graphics aren't as beautiful as some of the Big Fish games, but they are good quality. On a scale from1-10 with any hidden object game being a 5 and "Syberia" or "Journey" being a 10, this is a 7. The music is well done. I like jazz, and it goes along with the illustrations to give it a descent noir mystery feeling. Some of the first puzzles are easy, as is usual. The story line is good! For an under $10.00 game, it is darn good! Certainly worth trying if you want something other than hidden object!
Date published: 2012-02-03
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Return of a 'real' adventure game... 4 stars for this authentic adventure game built in classic point & click style, no HOS at all, ever. A decent story drives us forward. Hunted for a murder we don't remember doing, we try to evade whoever's after us & learn who we? killed & why? Conspiracy theories & intrigue. From sleazy motel room to underground military base to our L.A. studio, we need to figure out how to use objects available in the rooms/areas to solve tasks, mini-games & some outright puzzles. We also get some help from the characters we meet. The brightly-colored cartoony art style, special effects & sounds are well done & gameplay mechanics are smooth. Story does not rely on long dialogues or cutscenes: hardly any reading in fact, just lots of exploring. A decent tutorial & 3 difficulty levels (changeable in-game too# allow perfect match for one's preferred challenge-level. No sparkles & a good hint system. Difficulty ramps up as game progresses. Puzzles range from old-familiars, e.g. key/lock combo, jigsaws, short memory-play games, to using a jackhammer, dynamite & computer punchcard system. Some fresh twists & some outright unique puzzles, e.g. a "scientific formula" puzzle that reappears is quite fun & requires fitting letters/shapes inside outlines. The game's finale puzzle is a clever video-sequencing task. We have numerous quests like break-ins, equipment assembling, getting gas with no $, etc. It's rewarding to overcome difficulties & solve puzzles by use of a more common-sense, real-life logics approach instead of simply being magically given that much-needed crowbar etc as result of finishing some HOS scene! As with most true adventure games, half the fun is figuring out "how" to solve the puzzles, thus instructions are not in-depth. BFG offers a great walkthrough, though. Clocking in at @ 5 hours on expert if no puzzle skips & light strategy guide usage, the game's last 2 #of 7# chapters have quite some puzzles & are a blast. The only letdown is the ending: a setup for a sequel #yahoo!# that sadly leaves too many questions unanswered here #boo--a big no-no IMO for any true adventure game#. I deduct a star for this. Players who love adventure, get excited to "think" their way through a game, or are tired of same-old same-old HOS should really enjoy solving this old-school adventure game. #It's grand to see a traditional HOS dev tackle the more "pure" adventure genre--kudos!#
Date published: 2012-02-02
Rated 4 out of 5 by from interesting different and fun. I like when Big Fish Games comes up with some different types of games and this one delivers.
Date published: 2012-02-02
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Better Than I Expected When I saw the other reviews for this game I was a bit worried, but after playing through the demo I decided that I could stand to buy it. Not overly challenging, this game presents itself in an almost comic-like manner which appealed to me in some aspects. In some ways it reminded me of games like "Hotel Dusk: Room 215" as the general way that the game was laid out was very similar. Overall I say it's worth it if you're in the mood for something simple, though for anyone looking for more of a challenge, you're probably better off finding something else.
Date published: 2012-02-05
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Challenging, but incomplete I thought this game was pretty good, except that it had an unfinished quality to it. The puzzles were fairly hard, and the storyline was good, but it seemed to lack cohesiveness. I kept thinking that more was going to happen in each area, but then I found myself going elsewhere. And, the end was terrible. There was no closure at all. I went back and tried to start it over again, because I was convinced that there was another part to it. Also, it hung up once, and I had to start all over at the beginning. In the end, I felt like there was a bare bones storyline that was just thrown in there to have some reason for the puzzles. So, I'm giving it 3 Stars, for the puzzles alone. The story was worthless as it stood. Unsatisfying.
Date published: 2012-02-07
Rated 3 out of 5 by from A Final Chapter is Needed? The story had me intrigued enough to purchase the game. Cartoonish graphics can sometimes be great (i.e. the 1st Nick Chase game), but these were just okay. The puzzles got harder as the game progressed, but they were just a repeat of the previous ones, especially the visions. This is an adventure game, but not too difficult of one. The length is a bit short. Without giving the story away, when the game ends, you scratch your head saying "That's it???" Perhaps this was just a tease to a sequel, but the main story itself feels unfinished. It feels like there should be a final chapter to complete this storyline. This would have been acceptable had the devs announced that this was an episodic series, like their Dream Chronicles games. Bottom line: This game is enjoyable, but could have been much better!
Date published: 2012-04-07
Rated 3 out of 5 by from bland i have only played the demo and did not play for the entire hour. i was willing to overlook the spare graphics in the hopes that the game play and/or storyline would grab me. they did not. granted, there are no HO's (which is a major plus at least for me.) and the storyline premise had promise, but i just got tired of putting pieces of found things together to make a bigger thing. it was kinda the same procedure over and over. this game would suit a mechanically-minded player as it is so limited in scope and artistry. with this caveat, i give it a tepid thumbs up.
Date published: 2012-02-29
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Bit of a disappointment, really. I bought this, but afterward wished i hadn't. The game is a true adventure, and the graphics are good and captivating. But the storyline is poor, with an unsatisfying ending wich leaves things open. The puzzles are OK, but don't blend in with the game very well. Also, i encountered several bugs in the save/load system.
Date published: 2012-04-12
Rated 3 out of 5 by from ok to pass the time. Ended too quickly & too many unanswered questions at the end. No way of actually knowing you have finished.. I knew from the walkthrough. Few bugs, hint button kept displaying the same hint. Dont like that you just have to randomly click on objects to know whether or not you need to use them
Date published: 2012-02-17
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Too short! Unlike some other reviewers the graphics were fine for me and seemed to fit the story. Unfortunately, the game seemed promising in the demo, but then was quickly completed and not very involved. It was fun enough, but way too short. Not worth it.
Date published: 2012-02-05
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Too much dialog Too much dialog, and difficulty manuevring. I felt like I had to struggle to figure out what I was supposed to be doing at some points.
Date published: 2012-02-02
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Good, But Not Great It's fun and it does have some promise of mystery.
Date published: 2012-03-07
Rated 3 out of 5 by from The Cross Formula Out of the ordinary puzzles, interesting game. Unfortunately, it has issues. Hope it will be reworked.
Date published: 2012-02-29
Rated 3 out of 5 by from the cross formula cut people but bad graficets puzzles hard even casule mode but that might just be me.
Date published: 2012-02-02
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Not very good game play, uninteresting. The game play is very slow and confusing. Only played a few minutes and was not interested in playing more.
Date published: 2012-02-01
Rated 2 out of 5 by from It was the best of games; it was the worst of games. I bought and completed the full version. Three modes to play, puzzle skips, hints. Light flashes too, if you're sensitive to that kind of thing. I actually prefer cartoonish graphics to the more common low-contrast ones often used in HOGs. This felt like a fresh departure from the usual HOG/adventure games. I had a lot of fun, and was really impressed both with the nice, crisp graphics and with the care with which the tasks and games were integrated into the storyline. It felt like a really fun quality product and I was sure I'd be giving it full marks and a glowing review. I was shocked when the story ended, though--because the game seems to end at the end of Act II. No spoilers, but the game ends at a revelation that SHOULD have set up the final confrontation and resolution...but nothing. A baffling nothing. It's like ending the Lion King while Simba is still hiding in the jungle. In this game, you interact ten times more with just random bystanders than you do with the key characters people who apparently set the whole story in motion--but, again, NONE of it is explained. None of why they did it, none of how things came to be as they were; nothing about why the main character is set off on the wild goose chase he is; and no confrontation with the people who did it to him, and no resolution. I literally missed the non-resolution ending because I assumed the game was in a scene transition and I turned to say something to my husband, and then turned back and...the credits were rolling. What, what? And the storyline had so much potential, too: Elvis, UFOs, Hollywood, amnesia....I mean, good heavens. What happened? Was funding yanked at the last minute and the game developers had to send off half a game? I usually like to give high marks, and I did enjoy what game there was, but I have to reluctantly give a low score to this one because the woefully incomplete story represents half a missing game. Game-makers, a story arc is a huge part of WHY a game is played through to completion. Keep the promises you make, please.
Date published: 2015-10-11
Rated 2 out of 5 by from Not a Winning Formula Uninspiring graphics - basically line drawing coloured in. Instructions tell you just to click on things and see if they are useful. The puzzles that do exist (not many) are fairly simple and the instructions basically give you the answer. The hint button is to helpful (gives you the answer). I got bored after 15 minutes. Not the sort of game I like.
Date published: 2012-02-01
Rated 2 out of 5 by from A formula for boredom Setting aside the visuals which are plain, cartoonish, utterly unsophisticated and blurry for some, I didn't find anything of interest during the demo which I quit after 30 mns. Tasks are dead simple and those that are meant to be imaginative are in fact unrealistic like defusing a bomb by rotating the numbers on the clock dial....uuuhhh ? Minigames are far and few between. I didn't even have to complete one of them -which was totally incomprehensible - and drove off directly. What's the point in proposing minigames that do not need completing ? Same thing with the fuses. You put one in, the instructions tell you there are still some missing but it doesn't matter whether you leave it at that or not. The intro is awful, the music ordinary, no voice-over, but 3 Modes of difficulty. As for the storyline, in spite of its simplicity it could have been a good background had the game been conceived and designed differently.
Date published: 2012-02-01
Rated 2 out of 5 by from You Can Keep It Not the kind of game that I enjoy. The graphics are basic, music is annoying and the layout doesn't make any sense. Keep your money and move on to another game.
Date published: 2012-02-01
Rated 2 out of 5 by from Not Very Interesting!!! After 5 minutes of play, I uninstalled the game. Just not very interesting to play, quite boring!! Graphics are childish!! Story not really good. The flashes of light was way TOO MUCH!! Don't know what the devs were thinking, but this game just plain is not fun.
Date published: 2012-02-01
Rated 2 out of 5 by from I really wanted to like this game I read the other reviews, and wanted to disagree. At first, the game starts out promising. You have to do some digging to figure out what is going on with your character. The hot spots are not obvious, so it looks like it might be challenging. But after 2 puzzles of 'place the letters in the grid so they fit', I became annoyed with this game. It's just not very enjoyable. I don't mind the graphics so much; it has a nice old puzzle feel to it. The game mechanics are just clunky and unappealing somehow. The biggest puzzles involve placing letters in a grid, and the letters rotated when I didn't want them to. I will not be purchasing the game.
Date published: 2012-02-03
Rated 2 out of 5 by from Very Strange Adventure Game The game opens with nonsensical flashing lights that serve no purpose except to annoy the player. The graphics were like a comic book, which wouldn't have been so bad if there had been some type of storyline and plot. The soundtrack was very lame, at times nonexistent. The mini puzzles were okay. For me it was a pass.
Date published: 2012-02-02
Rated 2 out of 5 by from NOT A KEEPER !! I lasted maybe 10 minutes. Horrible to navigate. Poorly put together and just plain not up to the high standards normally found here on BigFishGames. Sorry, a definite ' NO BUY' for me.
Date published: 2012-02-02
Rated 1 out of 5 by from No Winning Game Here The game was boring - there aren't very many puzzles and the puzzles that do exist are extremely simple. The tutorial isn't much of anything.
Date published: 2012-02-01
  • y_2021, m_2, d_27, h_17
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_3.0.14
  • cp_2, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_0, tr_54
  • loc_en_US, sid_13514, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=RATING, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=HELPFULNESS, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=FEATURED, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_bigfishgames

The Big Fish Guarantee:

Quality tested and virus free. No ads, no adware, no spyware.

Your Security and Privacy are important to us! Privacy Policy

, share your thoughts about this game!

The Cross Formula

Rediscover your identity and prove your innocence in The Cross Formula, an incredible Adventure game!

Heres what your review will look like once it’s posted.

Click Submit if you’re happy. Your review should appear soon. To make changes, use the Edit or Cancel buttons.

Thanks for sharing your thoughts about this game!

You’ve already shared your thoughts about this game.

Thanks for submitting the review below.