Fear for Sale: Sunnyvale Story

Fear for Sale: Sunnyvale Story

PC

Also available on

Hidden Object

Play Now Download the free trial

This game will not work on your operating system.

Are you sure you want to download this game?

Free sample version

(220.24 MB)

By clicking "Play Now", I accept the Terms of Use and acknowledge that I have received the Privacy Policy. If this is your first time downloading a game from Big Fish, our handy Game Manager app will install on your computer to help manage your games.
Buy Now Get the full version70% OFF!

This game will not work on your operating system.

Are you sure you want to purchase it?

Full version game

$ 9.99 USD

Only $2.99 - use coupon NEW299

Take on another incredible mystery in Fear for Sale: Sunnyvale! Investigate a strange murder and get to the bottom of a complicated case. After making it to the scene of the crime, a deputy is kidnapped by a terrifying ghost house that appears out of nowhere! Discover the connection between the latest murder, and another killing that occured many years ago. Put your detective skills to use and appease the ghosts in Fear For Sale: Sunnyvale!

New customers get your first game for $2.99!*

70% OFF!

Use Coupon: NEW299

* Collector's Editions and free to play games not included.

Game System Requirements:

  • OS: Windows XP/Vista/Win7/8
  • CPU: 1.0 GHz
  • RAM: 1024 MB
  • DirectX: 7.0
  • Hard Drive: 1066 MB

Big Fish Games App System Requirements:

  • Browser: Internet Explorer 7 or later
Reviews at a Glance

Fear for Sale: Sunnyvale Story

0 out of 5 (0 ReviewsReview)
Average Rating:
Play Now Download the free trial

This game will not work on your operating system.

Are you sure you want to download this game?

Free sample version

(220.24 MB)

Buy Now Get the full version70% OFF!

This game will not work on your operating system.

Are you sure you want to purchase it?

Full version game

$ 9.99 USD

Only $2.99 - use coupon NEW299

Customer Reviews
Fear for Sale: Sunnyvale Story is rated 3.9 out of 5 by 57.
Rated 5 out of 5 by from A great game! One of my favorites. It was so entertaining. I couldn't stop playing this game. Graphics were great. I recommend this game very highly.
Date published: 2012-01-12
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Loved the graphics! The best I have seen in their clarity. I was hesitant to buy because despite glowing reviews I have been stung before. This time the great reviews were true. I enjoyed this one very much. HOS were frequent and the minigames weren't too hard. Loved it!
Date published: 2012-01-11
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great HOG / Adventure I have just spent quite a few pleasant hours playing this game from start to finish. I used no hints and did not refer to the walkthrough and nor did I skip any puzzles. I am therefore unsure why some reviewers have advised that this game is short as in my opinion it is not. Well worth the money. I agree the ending was a little abrupt but I wouldn't have thought the CE at double the price could offer much more to justify the extra cost. The music started off great as did the background noises but about half way through I turned both of these down as they got a little irritating. I did leave the voiceovers turned up which were okay. The 5 stars I gave for visual/sound were simply for visual. This is the second Fear for Sale I have purchased, played and thoroughly enjoyed. I look forward to the next.
Date published: 2012-01-11
Rated 5 out of 5 by from My Kind of HOG This game has it all : compelling storyline, intrigue, suspicious characters, beautiful scenes, gorgeous hidden object scenes, challenging mini puzzles and a great soundtrack.
Date published: 2012-01-10
Rated 5 out of 5 by from nice hidden object game. I really enjoyed playing Fear for sale as I did the previous one. Puzzles were not so difficult and what I really enjoyed was the beautiful graphics.! I have only one complaint and that is " THE GAME WAS WAY TO SHORT!! Especially without the extra play of the CE version. I loved it so give it a try!
Date published: 2012-01-09
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Challenging Exciting, delightful, and weird. Love the story line, great mini games, HOGS were easy and easy to see and find. I don't listen to the music so can't say much about it. But I enjoy the game.
Date published: 2012-01-09
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Even my grandson Ben,age 6, enjoyed this one..looking for objects I played the trial and decided to buy it ...Thourghly enjoyed the game kept your attention...It wasn't too hard or to easy...I would recommend buying it ..its almost like Mystery Case Files which always seems to be above the rest....
Date published: 2012-01-07
Rated 5 out of 5 by from creepy To me it was surprising that a house could kidnap people. roots getting out of a house, kidnapping people from the street. Nobody ever heard from them again. I played the game which was very exciting, but I still have some questions ....... Is there going to be a follow-up... I would sure want to play this and I am looking forward to it. Elly
Date published: 2012-01-07
Rated 5 out of 5 by from great hidden object game I liked this one, a keeper 4 me
Date published: 2012-01-06
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Just Not What I Had In Mind For A Good Murder Mystery Glad I didn't buy the CE as I was disappointed with much of the game. It started off well enough but just lost its pizazz along the way. The storyline was good but had too many weak links to keep it all together in a satisfying way for my expectations. It did not provide enough inside info on Alice and Jean and why she was murdered (unless I just didn't pay close enough attention), The game felt kind of empty of SOMETHING! I did enjoy the many HOGs, they were very good and the interactive ones are always fun. The games/puzzles were also quite good. The graphics were excellent in some scenes, kind of grainy in others. I was thankful for the journal, it provided extra info on the characters, etc. I read every word, as I do in every game I play. In my opinion, the entire script is as important as the visuals. I don't really mind if the voices sound hokey or are out of sync, as long as they tell the story. One thing I definitely did not like was all the back and forth, it wore holes in my game shoes (lol). It also made me lose direction sometimes and all the back-tracking became irritating. However, after all the time spent in Sunnyvale and finally solving the mystery, I was thoroughly disappointed with the ending. The ending is always an important piece of any story. I have played several other Fear for Sale games...Sunnyvale, I liked the least because it lacked more of the substance I expect to find in a murder mystery. I am sure other gamers will absolutely love Sunnyvale. It is not difficult and has great HOGs. My disappointment will not keep me from buying new Fear for Sale games. In spite of my opinions here, I DO recommend this game.
Date published: 2016-10-22
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Better than the first! This was a good game with good puzzles. The HOPs were more interesting than the first game and added "hidden" objects" that needed to be uncovered to the list. The plot was okay, but the twist was great! Still looks like an older game. And while this one does have a causal and advanced option, there is still no map. Great older title! Suitable for adults, may be a bit creepy for young children. :)
Date published: 2015-06-24
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Fear For Sale: Sunnyvale Story SE The Fear For Sale magazine has sent you to investigate a haunted house that appears randomly out of nowhere. Whenever the house appears, people disappear, but this house has a long history. Thirty years ago, Jean and Alice Chesterton lived in that house. Alice was murdered and her husband Jean was accused and electrocuted for her murder. Jurors were paid off, and everyone who had something to do with this corrupt case are now paying for those sins with their lives! How do you stop a house bent upon revenge? The Hidden Object Scenes are interactive list finds, which is a step up from the last Fear For Sale which had no interactions whatsoever. There aren't a lot of them either, at least not in the demo itself. The Mini Games I did thoroughly enjoy, Swapping color coded keys two at a time with a device controlled by up and down arrows, putting stained glass puzzle pieces together, and my favorite was lighting up all 10 lights in the correct order by trial and error, enjoy!
Date published: 2015-06-20
Rated 4 out of 5 by from good game just too much going all over the place The music is good and has voice over. Graphics are good. The HOS are not hard and the puzzles are ok. Has some flow to the game BUT lots of going all over the place to try and find things.
Date published: 2013-05-21
Rated 4 out of 5 by from An Improvement on the First Fear for Sale Title I was quite pleased with this one as it is definitely an improvement on the first offering, the mystery of Mcilnoy Manor. The story is far fetched, but very enjoyable as you play the detective trying to unmask the real murderer of a woman killed many years ago, with her innocent husband wrongly executed on the electric chair. The graphics and voiceovers were good and there were two difficulty settings, I chose the hardest. I found that the puzzles were a little harder this time round, with one or two objects hidden in tricky places which made this game all the more interesting. A nice experience.
Date published: 2013-02-18
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Loved the Game Really enjoyed Fear for Sale. Good story and graphics. 4.5 Very disappointed in the ending. Hope they try again.
Date published: 2013-01-06
Rated 4 out of 5 by from PUT ON YOUR BEST RUNNING SHOES. :-D Review based on completed game. Enjoyed this game very much. Storyline - You are a newspaper reporter conducting an investigation in a small town regarding a house appearing out of nowhere and taking people IHOS - Clear, mostly large items, some small items, scenes repeated Misclick Penalty - Screen partially fills with vines Hint - Recharges quickly and acts as guide. No map Inventory - Items used fairly quickly in other scenes Avatars/VOS - Good though characters moved in a wooden fashion Puzzles - Varied levels of difficulty. Skip button is available and recharges quickly Items to be found outside of HOS. Be sure to scan each scene thoroughly Journal - Keeps track of information and photos you find in your search In future games, I hope the dev will design the avatars to move with fluidity. Give this game a try and happy gaming!!!
Date published: 2012-11-04
Rated 4 out of 5 by from I am still confused about the story The storyline was confusing. A house? But the game itself? great! I played on expert/hard mode. With this mode you still get sparkles, and skips (for mini games), and hints (for game play and HO scenes) They just took a lot longer to reload. I usually do not miss the help buttons (see above) when I play these types of games. I am kind of glad that this game had them, even in the hard mode. I ended up using more often than I should have. The hidden object scenes were attractive and interactive. Many you had to revisit twice. It was interesting because the interactive items required more than one "step". The Mini games were varied. I found them challenging. The help button (while in game play, not in HO) told you what direction to go and reloaded immediately. Sometimes all a game will say is "nothing to do here!" but not in this game. (To me that is a plus plus!) There were character interactions, and they spoke plus words on the bottom. Lately it seems game developers have been lazily only having written words, nothing spoken. The characters were likable. There were a couple of lines in the development of the story that were "eeh" or confusing. But during all of the interactions, you can skip entire conversations or click ahead. The game was pretty long. I was a bit surprised by the length of the game considering it was not a collector edition I played. Overall, glad I bought it. I would suggest buying it at even the BFG club price. It was that fun. I would probably play it in one sitting (one long sitting) next time. I did get lost (no map or task list) on where I left off when I returned to the game.
Date published: 2012-07-28
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Easy Navigation - Good Help/Hint feature Storyline is not unusual - murder, ghosts, etc. The hint feature is helpful, and will continue to direct you to where you need to be without depleting itself until a real hint is given. Navigation is easy point and click. HOS's are about the right level - challenging without being maddening. Object/clue location is methodical and logical, and there was only a minimum of scene back tracking to find what I needed.
Date published: 2012-05-01
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Not bad at all After reading what others wrote in their review i gave the game a try. What i did find is that the game is nowhere near as scary as it made it out to be, but an OK choice of music and other ambiant sounds kept a certain atmosphere going. There was quite a bit tooing and froing which you get used to after a while. There is a variety of puzzles of different challenge levels and the HOS were very clear therefore making it easier to find things.
Date published: 2012-03-24
Rated 4 out of 5 by from for sale I enjoyed the game. It lasted long & was exciting to the end.
Date published: 2012-01-29
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Good adventure leaving you feeling wanting a little more... Hmmm...there was definitely a lot of positives about the game, such as the graphics, music, most of the voice overs and the puzzles. The HOS's were good, probably a little too many for my liking, particularly when you do the same scene 2 or 3 times, but I did like the interactive elements in trying to find some of the items. I did enjoy the number of various scenes and places the game took you. The storyline was average and your typical who dunnit murder mystery. As I had mentioned, most of the voice overs were good, but one key character's voice over was a bit cheesy and didn't make quite the spooky impression it should have. This is probably a little nit picky, but the abrupt and uneventful ending was almost unforgivable. Why put in so much time, effort and quality, only to end it with a quick mini-game? Where was the cresendo and grand finale? Oh well, I did enjoy the game, but believe that the other Fear for Sale - Mystery of McInroy Manor game was better. I'd still recommend it though as it was a fairly good game.
Date published: 2012-01-27
Rated 4 out of 5 by from it was ok I love hidden object games...But there is not enough hidden object part..always stupid puzzles..I am sure everyone can not wait to skip it!!! and they always waste the scene with one object..they could have use for more..I hate going in the room for only one coin and never have to use that room again..what a waste!!!
Date published: 2012-01-26
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Good but not the best I liked this game, but it was too short and ended abruptly. One thing I really liked was that there wasn't a whole lot of back-and-forth as there are in some games. Most objects you need are fairly close to where thay are needed. Graphics were good with decent voiceover. The HOS were good, and the puzzles weren't overly difficult. The hint system works well throughout the game, so a walkthrough is not needed.
Date published: 2012-01-25
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Not what I expected! I read the rave reviews in the Big Fish forums and knew I had to have this game. I guess my expectations were to high. The story was good and a bit unusual. The graphics and voice overs were very well done. What let me down was the actual level of difficulty in game play. The hidden object scenes were fun and very interactive but also a bit to easy. There were very few mini games and what there was didn't seem to be that hard to work out. You do a lot of traveling to places that you only need one or two items from. I kept looking for more to do in each area and was disappointed each time. I purchased this with a coupon so I have no regrets and wouldn't even for the $6.99 but I did feel let down at the end. Perhaps the ending in the CE would have been better but I am glad I didn't spend that much on it. To sum it up this is an interesting game but just not the challenge I was looking for.
Date published: 2012-01-21
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Weird, Not As Good As Expected, But Solid Headline says it all. The standard story soon gets weird, with little explanation of things that are essential to plot. Like why and how the house came to be kidnapping people in the first place. And just what sort of evidence rules do they have in Sunnyvale? Major leaps in logic make the game confusing, which it otherwise wouldn't be... Because the gameplay is straightforward and vintage Fear For Sale, the HO scenes are really interactive and clear, the puzzles are fun, and the artwork, while not as good as I anticipated, is still above average and worked well on wide screen. Things I particularly liked were the multiple uses of inventory items before you lose them. Also, if you have to fuel up something, you don't have to traipse around half a dozen places getting a funnel, a hose, a gas can, the fuel, etc. A simple HO scene and you collect a full can with a pouring nozzle. The disjointed story is mirrored by music that clearly had not been intended to produce an appropriate atmosphere. Sometimes it was actually quite cheerful, not spooky at all. I actually got a kick out of it, it made me smile each time it chimed in with just the wrong kind of theme. McInroy Manor was quirky and so is this one - and a good game without setting the world on fire. I think most people will like it.
Date published: 2012-01-15
Rated 4 out of 5 by from A very good HOG. i played one hour of this game it very good,the same game came out about a month ago it was a Collectors one so i waited for the standed one i bought that one instead if you read all the other comments theres knot mutch more that i can say about this game.if you like creepy games you love this one.its one of the better games that big fish has done.there been lots of Collectores games out so far too many if you ask me from know one ill just stick to the standered one its the same game but you do get extra from a collectores one but you pay more as well.it a good game but i woudent pay any more then the standered one.but thats up to you hope that helped you.
Date published: 2012-01-14
Rated 4 out of 5 by from odd but fun This one was different. The storyline had some huge gaps. A thirty year old murder where you can find the murder weapon and lift prints? A husband falsely convicted and executed who returns in ghostly form still in the electric chair? A deputy who was fired but then is always in the police station and a another who is duped by a doll. A house that appears and grabs people with vines? Where did it get the vines? it's a house not a tree. hmmm. However having said all of that... I kinda liked this one. It's a bit heavy to HO scenes and has the feel of an older style game. But the locations are well drawn and there are a lot of them. A supermarket, a police station, a decrepite amusement park and of course the vine house just to name a few. You go out in boats and down into sewers. The mystery keeps your interest and there are several to try and figure out. Missing people, a thirty year old murder, a much more recent murder and the house of vines. If you don't insist on a game where every detail makes perfect sense, this is one is interesting and kind of fun. 3.5 stars from me.
Date published: 2012-01-08
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Good game, but worse than the first I preferred the first Fear for Sale. The images are good, but the story does not provide much news. Different from the HOS, which are easy, but interactive, there are several interesting and challenging mini games. I do not like when has voice over unnecessary ! Is a good entertainment.
Date published: 2012-01-07
Rated 4 out of 5 by from I liked this one! It's a pretty straightforward HOG with skippable mini games. Creepy scenes, spooky story, decent characters and okay voice overs came together for an enjoyable 2 and a half hours.
Date published: 2012-01-07
Rated 4 out of 5 by from An entertaining game a little above average The spectacular intro with a soundtrack of rare quality let me presuppose the game would be outstanding. Well, not really. The promising music rapidly turns into a funeral march, and, setting aside the supernatural which is now common to many storylines, the game is just a classic hardly different from its predecessor or games of like genre, although it does offer a couple of originalities here and there. Nevertheless, there are many good things in Sunnyvale: the puzzles are interesting and challenging, the HOS's not overloaded and interactive, their items easy to find and the hint system lenient, tasks are simple, objectives are clear and the use of objects is good fun, backtracking reasonnable, the graphics neat, well crafted and colorful, the voice-overs and cutscenes professionally acted and near realistic. Of medium difficulty in Regular Mode, the game makes you think enough for a bit of challenge and much enjoyment. Total playtime is bound to be short in spite of the 6 chapters, as I completed Ch 1 and 2 in 58 minutes exactly when I tried the demo of the CE.
Date published: 2012-01-06
  • y_2019, m_3, d_24, h_14
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_2.0.11
  • cp_2, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_0, tr_57
  • loc_en_US, sid_13245, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=RATING, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=HELPFULNESS, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=FEATURED, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_bigfishgames

The Big Fish Guarantee:

Quality tested and virus free. No ads, no adware, no spyware.

Your Security and Privacy are important to us! Privacy Policy

, share your thoughts about this game!

Fear for Sale: Sunnyvale Story

Appease terrifying ghosts before they kidnap and punish the entire city of Sunnyvale in this dark and mysterious Hidden Object game!

Heres what your review will look like once it’s posted.

Click Submit if you’re happy. Your review should appear soon. To make changes, use the Edit or Cancel buttons.

Thanks for sharing your thoughts about this game!

You’ve already shared your thoughts about this game.

Thanks for submitting the review below.