9: The Dark Side

9: The Dark Side

PC

Hidden Object

Play Now Download the free trial

This game will not work on your operating system.

Are you sure you want to download this game?

Free 1 hour trial

(185.95 MB)

By clicking "Play Now", I accept the Terms of Use and acknowledge that I have received the Privacy Policy. If this is your first time downloading a game from Big Fish, our handy Game Manager app will install on your computer to help manage your games.
Buy Now Get the full version70% OFF!

This game will not work on your operating system.

Are you sure you want to purchase it?

Full version game

$ 9.99 USD

Only $2.99 - use coupon NEW299

End a centuries-old war between the Guardians and the Clan of the Nine in 9: The Dark Side! Are you the Last Descendant of whom the legend foretells, the one who will stop the darkness that haunts Prague? Find out in this incredible Hidden Object Puzzle Adventure game! Take on dark enemies and solve perplexing puzzles as you explore the gorgeous city of Prague. Fulfill your destiny in 9: the Dark Side!

New customers get your first game for $2.99!*

70% OFF!

Use Coupon: NEW299

* Collector's Editions and free to play games not included.

Game System Requirements:

  • OS: Windows XP/Vista/Win7/8
  • CPU: 2.0 GHz
  • RAM: 2048 MB
  • DirectX: 9.0
  • Hard Drive: 209 MB

Big Fish Games App System Requirements:

  • Browser: Internet Explorer 7 or later
Reviews at a Glance

9: The Dark Side

0 out of 5 (0 ReviewsReview)
Average Rating:
Play Now Download the free trial

This game will not work on your operating system.

Are you sure you want to download this game?

Free 1 hour trial

(185.95 MB)

Buy Now Get the full version70% OFF!

This game will not work on your operating system.

Are you sure you want to purchase it?

Full version game

$ 9.99 USD

Only $2.99 - use coupon NEW299

Customer Reviews
9: The Dark Side is rated 4.4 out of 5 by 137.
Rated 5 out of 5 by from what an incredibly unbelievably good game!! Just finished playing. This game grabbed my right from the start. Hard to find words to describe how fantastic it is. I am deeply impressed. You really are part of the game, you feel as if you are walking around there. The flow is... like a river. VO's are superb, music very lovely. And some great effects too. It really made me jump several times! HOS and puzzles are really good, from easy to serious thinking. And another advantage.... you get to keep your crowbar to the very end!! LOL. The only thing there is left to say is.... try, buy and enjoy! happy gaming!!
Date published: 2013-08-01
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Well above the average game! This game has it all, 1 excellent storyline, 2 decent graphics, 3 sensible HOS which are not junk piles, and not to many of them 4 generous length of game-play 5 challenging puzzles - and plenty of them, with lots of variety 6 overall challenge better than average This may not be the game for those like maps and hand-holding and being spoon-fed what to do next. But if you like a decent challenge where you have to remember where you have been and what still needs to be done to progress the game, if you like decently challenging puzzles, then give this one a whirl. I loved it, an excellent SE game.
Date published: 2013-07-26
Rated 5 out of 5 by from great game can be hard for beginners This game is pretty good. Great graphics and voice over. Music is also good. Lots of HOS that are not hard but the puzzles will give some of you a fit. Happened across this game and then tried and bought all the dark side games. Worth the play and money. Good adventure and thought provoking game.
Date published: 2013-07-22
Rated 5 out of 5 by from A must-play for adventurers This is one of the best games I have played on Big Fish. The story is not unique (you save the world) but the graphics and music are very well done and the game play is outstanding. There are a minimal number of hidden object search screens and a lot of 'find and use' tasks. Intermittent cut scenes keep the story moving. The mechanical puzzles are varied - some easy and some difficult. It is a big game that will hold your attention.
Date published: 2013-07-18
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Game The story line was good. The dialog wasn't very in depth, but it was still good. The graphics were amazing and breath taking. I couldn't stop playing. The puzzles varied and were not extremely hard, but not too easy either. The HOS were just what you would expect in a game like this and were relatively easy. If you like HO adventure games then you will definately like this one.
Date published: 2013-07-06
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Awesome Game! This game is fabulous, just loved it all around. 5 stars!!!
Date published: 2013-02-19
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Very Well done This was one of the best SE I have played. Has great story, helpful hints, great graphics, what more can I say. Well worth purchasing. Do not miss out on this one
Date published: 2013-01-28
Rated 5 out of 5 by from What's a Reliquary? I was asked to find one in a HOS. I had to look it up: Reliquary - a receptacle or repository for relics, esp relics of saints - from Old French reliquaire I was fascinated by this game. The story is tragic and held me spellbound for an hour. The graphics are beautiful. The sounds are subtle and unsettling. There was a good balance of HOS and puzzles, (5 of each in the first hour) and the secret revealing amulet was a unique feature. I enjoyed the interactions with the ghost characters and having items "bestowed" upon me. and hey...I learned a new word. :P
Date published: 2013-01-20
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Terrific! It would be pretty difficult to make a game that is better in most ways. The only thing that would have made this game better is a map and less backtracking, but it was totally worth it. Not for beginners, this one has tons of challenge. Interesting and difficult mini games, for most..well done HOS (not too hard) and great story line. The game is above average length and very detailed. You just can't go wrong with this one and I will bet you need the walkthrough..:)
Date published: 2013-01-16
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Enjoyable and Difficult I really enjoyed this game even though I found many of the mini-games too difficult by which I mean either I just plain couldn't do them or I didn't feel like spending the time to do them when I wanted to get on with the game. The story was not ground-breaking but was better than average and held my interest throughout. One thing I thought was really outstanding was that the individual scenes were so well-done and so individually memorable that I had no trouble at all remembering how to get from one place to another even without a map. I play this type of game in spite of the HOS, not because of them, but I found that the HOS in this game were much better than average - one or two of the objects in each scene required some interaction (more toward the beginning) and they were sometimes pretty cute, especially the zebra and what happens after you find the zebra. That kind of whimsey really appeals to me. And the objects weren't too small or too dark to find. The voice-acting was a bit slow but I don't care about voice-acting that much. This game definitely has re-play value and I highly recommend it, especially to those who like difficult puzzles and don't want their hands held too much.
Date published: 2013-01-03
Rated 5 out of 5 by from The GOOD will PREVAIL!!! Eerie,foreboding,sinister & evil will describe this HOG. It is your job to obtain all 9 amulets from the good guys to save the world by closing this portal of EVIL after defeating the demons from The Dark Side! There are lots of deep, dank dungeons & caverns in this huge dark castle. You must maneuver the pitfalls & mini games along with relatively dark but easy to find items in the HOS to fullfill your goal. At first I was a bit hesitant to go forward as I was not sure where this was headed & whether I would even like the game, but once started & with some help from our trusty walkthrough I soon found this game exciting & entertaining. The music and ambient and good clean up to date graphics are well done in order to bring this game together and make it a favorite.
Date published: 2012-12-22
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Fantastic game! I love this games full of secrets, darkness, ancient secrets, dark castles and dungeons! The game is really great for someone who likes mysteries.
Date published: 2012-12-06
Rated 5 out of 5 by from One of the Best Games on Big Fish! One of the greatest games on Big Fish. The graphics are unbelievable, puzzles are challenging. Storyline makes sense and keeps you interested. If they ever release a sequel, I'll be the first to buy!
Date published: 2012-09-08
Rated 5 out of 5 by from BRILLIANT! This game is well worth every penny! An excellent game well thought out with fantastic game play, I normally take the headphones off after about 15 minuets of play, the sound on this was that good they never left my head. The only downer of this game is it ends ... I just wanted to play forever LOL. A MUST HAVE GAME!
Date published: 2012-09-05
Rated 5 out of 5 by from You won't lack for challenges if you attempt this game The puzzles are very challenging. I usually play hard core and attempted to do so initially with 9 the Dark Side. I had to start over and play mid level because I had to skip 2 puzzles! I enjoyed the game play and found the HOS to be comfortable and relaxing. This game is the opposite of boring! I WILL replay this one if only to get those two puzzles. I played the SE and feel there was one area that didn't get completed. I am assuming that was the lead into the extra game play if doing the CE. Since I turn off the sound, My V/S quality stars are for the visual only. SUM: For those looking for a challenge jump in but for those just beginning jump in but don't give up. It is worth the effort!
Date published: 2012-08-18
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Very cool game I wish I had bought the CE if it comes with a map. That is my only complaint and led me to using walkthrough way more than I usually do. The hints would tell you to go someplace but none of the places were named anywhere so if it said grotto, you had to figure out what the grotto was etc. That was confusing. But the game is really challenging with harder than usual puzzles. I loved the number of puzzles vs hogs as I like puzzles more. very much worth the money though but as said before spend a little extra for the CE if it comes with a map or room description (don't actually know if it does.)
Date published: 2012-07-29
Rated 5 out of 5 by from A Real Challenge This is one of the best games from Big Fish I've ever played. The artwork and level design are excellent, the background music is beautiful and haunting, and the storyline is immersive. Most of the mini-games were a real challenge, and not the run-of-the-mill puzzles contained in other HOB games. This is a game that I can see myself replaying from time to time without tiring of it.
Date published: 2012-07-25
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Game! Wow! This game is awesome....ancient castle, ghostly helpers, abandoned village....all excellent. The graphics and cut scenes are great, the music is acceptable, the voice overs are good, the storyline is enjoyable and keeps you on your toes, there are lots of objects to find (both in HOS and mini games), the mini games are great (some are really difficult), there are lots of places to visit and the conclusion is satisfying. The hint button is helpful when you're stuck and it recharges quickly enough. I did use the skip button on a couple of the mini games. I almost wish I had purchased the CE version. I will definitely play this game again and highly recommend it.
Date published: 2012-07-23
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Come to the dark side - A guy's review *review based on completing the game in advanced mode* This game is so good I almost want to play it again straight away. It has everything an adventure addict like me could want. Good story, awesome puzzles and HOS, amazing graphics, dramatic and atmospheric music, engaging. Truly brilliant. I kick myself for not getting the CE, and haven't even dared to see what extra that contains. The graphics are crystal clear and vivid. It is dark in several places, but never faded, pale or grey. Even the HO scenes are wonderfully crisp. Most of the game seems drawn in 3D, which adds to the level of depth in the game. There is a high level of detail in every scene. The music and sound effects might be the best I've come across in any casual game. It is atmospheric and dramatic, and changes from scene to scene, fitting what is showing/happening in front of you. Voice-overs are well done, and the characters feel believable. The story is rather good, and is cleverly written around you. You actually feel like you are the center point of the story, and in the middle of something important. Truly engaging. So much unexpected is happening, that the game amazes you over and over again. I almost even jumped out of my seat a couple of times. It might be scary at times, and the story is dark, but it never is morbid. Nobody should have a problem with it unless they don't like scary subjects at all. The game mechanics are wonderful, everything seems smooth and on target. There's a journal to read through, that guide you through the story. There are plenty of adventuring, pick-ups and use, and a bit back and forth through scenes. Not a problem for any adventure addict, and not even much for others as something new happens in many of them. There are also many cleverly made puzzles, of which some are actually quite hard and require some brain twisting. Some of them are really original, and all of them are well done. You also have the hidden objects scenes, which are really crisp. They are not overcrowded clutter scenes, but some items are really cleverly hidden in the scenery. They are also cleverly interactive. The best of all, you never have to revisit the same scene.... EVER. What that does is that everything seems refreshing, and you don't feel like having to do the same thing over and over. Other developers take note ;o). The one thing in the HO scenes that could be confusing is that there might be several of the item requested in which only one is accepted. There are 3 difficulty modes to choose from: Casual: Ample hints, no misclick penalty, quick skip. Advanced: Moderate hints, misclick penalty, slow skip. Hardcore: No hints, misclick penalty, really slow skip. I played in advance, and found it quite challenging at times. I even had to use the skip once, which I very rarely do. I recommend this game to anyone who wants a memorable game experience. If you feel like a beginner or only comfortable with easier games, you might want to practice a little before playing this, but I recommend you still get it. There is a sequel on the way as I write this review, and I can hardly wait. For the guys: As far as I can tell there is no gender bias at all in this game. You are simply referred to as the Descendant. Game should suit everybody who loves a great challenge and a great story in which you feel involved. TJ
Date published: 2012-06-03
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Get your monies worth here...long game, lots of puzzles Definitely getting your monies worth with this one! There are 3 levels of play, casual, advanced and hard core. I normally play expert so I thought why not give hard core a try, glad I did, I like a challenge (but there where times I questioned my choice!). I enjoy relaxing to play, but I get tired of being pointed along an obvious path, while it was challenging it was also enjoyable. If you take a break and forget what you’re supposed to be doing you can check your diary. The graphics are better than most, not as good as some. There are some but not a lot of HOS which, if you’re a HOG lover you may not care for, they are fairly easy and very clean (read NOT cluttered). Length of play very good, possibly days’ worth, if you don’t skip the puzzles and if you’re a puzzle lover I think you will be in heaven. Puzzles ranged from so simplistic to quite difficult. Some were very unique although there some of the usual standards. The music, you will either love it or hate it. I found it very appropriate being a medieval theme, there is chanting, usually when you’re doing a puzzle or HOG, at times when I’m stuck on a difficult puzzle (hours) it may have become somewhat annoying (I swear they were saying “game on, play on”) but when I realized what I thought they were saying I did smile and felt like I was being rooted on. I also had to turn it off on some VERY tedious puzzles. Over all, LOVED it! I look for adventure games that don’t have HOG, they seem to be in abundance at BF, I know that may be their largest demographic, but some of us want more of a challenge. I hope BF does/gets more games like this. Try the demo if you’re not sure, after an hour I couldn’t wait to download, I even started over cuz I always feel like I need to rush before the hour is done to decide if I want to buy or not.
Date published: 2012-03-15
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Finally-common sense inventory use What really makes this game enjoyable, aside from the outstanding graphics and creative puzzles with just the right level of difficulty, is the logical use of inventory tools. For example, important tools that you know you will use over and over, such as a knife and a crowbar, STAY in your inventory, instead of being left behind, leaving you to find another one later on. Also, a crowbar can be used to break things, which is common sense. In most other games, even if you have a crowbar in your inventory, you just HAVE to find a hammer to shatter a vase, a crowbar just won't do! Also, if you need to pick up a flower or reach into water, you don't have to first find garden shears, or (god forbid you get your hands wet), look for gloves. In this game, you just grab it and go. I hope other games in the future take this common sense approach to inventory items. When you have a storyline where you are trying to save someone or are on an urgent quest, it makes no sense to take time to look for ridiculous items that you would never normally need, or look for items to perform an action that some other tool in your inventory could do just as well. So that is, bluntly, why I rated this game so high. Thank you developers, for a good story. But most of all, thank you for sparing me the headache of useless inventory items and designing your game with logical use of tools in mind. It makes the game play so much more realistic! I hope other developers follow your lead on this one. I'm not sure how many more 'gardening gloves' I can handle!
Date published: 2012-03-08
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Nice and scary! Great game. All kinds of cool, spooky stuff going on. Loved the graphics and the story line.
Date published: 2012-02-29
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Puzzle Game This was a very enjoyable game. I loved the fact that the puzzles outnumbered the hidden object screens by about 2 to 1. The majority of the puzzles were original and the difficulty level varied from fairly simple to very challenging, with only one frustrating puzzle (the double-sided dice roll). The story was interesting and the graphics were nice. The usage of inventory items made logical sense. I'm looking forward to another game in this series.
Date published: 2012-02-23
Rated 5 out of 5 by from lots of puzzles that aren't just hidden object.
Date published: 2012-02-12
Rated 5 out of 5 by from A hit with me I really enjoyed the storyline and the strategies. I like the "characters" and really enjoyed this game. I'm by no means an expert, so I really liked having the strategy guide the 2 times I got stuck....Great game for beginners to intermediate
Date published: 2012-02-08
Rated 5 out of 5 by from 9: The Dark Side: Fun, great value, and challenging puzzles I had a great time playing this game with many locations and types of games/puzzles. I especially like that when you *had* to use a hint, it gave the next objective clearly, with just enough information ("Get the key from the carpet bag and use it in the torture chamber") but not one word more.
Date published: 2012-02-05
Rated 5 out of 5 by from I would definitely recommend this game! I thought the graphics were bright and colorful. The mini games were well thought out and talking to ghosts that are your own decendants really a great idea. I had fun playing this game and plan to buy it. I would definitely recommend this game.
Date published: 2012-02-03
Rated 5 out of 5 by from brilliant hidden games plus lots of puzzles!! this game, unlike a lot of hidden object games, is fun and challenging Instead of being too quick to finish and predictable. The puzzles are stimulating. The graphics are brilliant. Anybody know the titles of any other games made by these guys?
Date published: 2012-02-02
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Very Enjoyable This game offered 3 difficulty levels which makes it ideal for family fun, and the puzzles were not all just the same ole, same ole. Moved quickly, but not too easy.
Date published: 2012-02-01
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Challenge Accepted! If you're looking for a challenging adventure game, this would be it. There are a combination of mini puzzles/brain teasers and a few hidden object scenes within the story, but this isn't a heavy HO game, more for the puzzle minded person. It is a dark game in that there are ghosts, demons, werewolves, etc, and at any moment, one could jump out and scare the bejeebees out of you. Um, werewolf anyone? Graphics: Fabulously creepy. Well done. Music: Adds wonderfully to the ambiance. Enough variety, though I found some of it repetitive at times. Length: This is a LONG game, especially if you don't skip anything. Several hours. Story: Interesting enough. The voice overs are very well done. Kept me entertained. Challenge: Definitely challenging. I admit to skipping a few of the puzzles when I became more frustrated than challenged. If you like brain teasers, these are your kind of puzzles. Options: After a while, the skip button will charge and you can skip puzzles or get a hint on where you should go next. The HO scenes are marked with sparkles, but this game is more of a run your mouse over the scene to find areas of interest. Play Again: Most definitely! Overall: A (not A+ because I'm pretty sure the gate with the dragon insert on the wall is only accessible in the CE version, but it drove me nuts that it appeared to be something I needed to find and I was bummed when the game was over and I never found it).
Date published: 2012-01-31
  • y_2019, m_9, d_20, h_15
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_2.0.13
  • cp_2, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_0, tr_137
  • loc_en_US, sid_13212, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=RATING, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=HELPFULNESS, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=FEATURED, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_bigfishgames

The Big Fish Guarantee:

Quality tested and virus free. No ads, no adware, no spyware.

Your Security and Privacy are important to us! Privacy Policy

, share your thoughts about this game!

9: The Dark Side

End a centuries-old war between the Guardians and the Clan of the Nine in 9: The Dark Side!

Heres what your review will look like once it’s posted.

Click Submit if you’re happy. Your review should appear soon. To make changes, use the Edit or Cancel buttons.

Thanks for sharing your thoughts about this game!

You’ve already shared your thoughts about this game.

Thanks for submitting the review below.