9: The Dark Side

9: The Dark Side

PC

Hidden Object

Play Now Download the free trial

This game will not work on your operating system.

Are you sure you want to download this game?

Free 1 hour trial

(185.95 MB)

By clicking "Play Now", I accept the Terms of Use and acknowledge that I have received the Privacy Policy. If this is your first time downloading a game from Big Fish, our handy Game Manager app will install on your computer to help manage your games.
Buy Now Get the full version70% OFF!

This game will not work on your operating system.

Are you sure you want to purchase it?

Full version game

$ 9.99 USD

Only $2.99 - use coupon NEW299

End a centuries-old war between the Guardians and the Clan of the Nine in 9: The Dark Side! Are you the Last Descendant of whom the legend foretells, the one who will stop the darkness that haunts Prague? Find out in this incredible Hidden Object Puzzle Adventure game! Take on dark enemies and solve perplexing puzzles as you explore the gorgeous city of Prague. Fulfill your destiny in 9: the Dark Side!

New customers get your first game for $2.99!*

70% OFF!

Use Coupon: NEW299

* Collector's Editions and free to play games not included.

Game System Requirements:

  • OS: Windows XP/Vista/Win7/8
  • CPU: 2.0 GHz
  • RAM: 2048 MB
  • DirectX: 9.0
  • Hard Drive: 209 MB

Big Fish Games App System Requirements:

  • Browser: Internet Explorer 7 or later
Reviews at a Glance

9: The Dark Side

0 out of 5 (0 ReviewsReview)
Average Rating:
Play Now Download the free trial

This game will not work on your operating system.

Are you sure you want to download this game?

Free 1 hour trial

(185.95 MB)

Buy Now Get the full version70% OFF!

This game will not work on your operating system.

Are you sure you want to purchase it?

Full version game

$ 9.99 USD

Only $2.99 - use coupon NEW299

Customer Reviews
9: The Dark Side is rated 4.4 out of 5 by 137.
Rated 5 out of 5 by from great game can be hard for beginners This game is pretty good. Great graphics and voice over. Music is also good. Lots of HOS that are not hard but the puzzles will give some of you a fit. Happened across this game and then tried and bought all the dark side games. Worth the play and money. Good adventure and thought provoking game.
Date published: 2013-07-22
Rated 5 out of 5 by from A must-play for adventurers This is one of the best games I have played on Big Fish. The story is not unique (you save the world) but the graphics and music are very well done and the game play is outstanding. There are a minimal number of hidden object search screens and a lot of 'find and use' tasks. Intermittent cut scenes keep the story moving. The mechanical puzzles are varied - some easy and some difficult. It is a big game that will hold your attention.
Date published: 2013-07-18
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Game The story line was good. The dialog wasn't very in depth, but it was still good. The graphics were amazing and breath taking. I couldn't stop playing. The puzzles varied and were not extremely hard, but not too easy either. The HOS were just what you would expect in a game like this and were relatively easy. If you like HO adventure games then you will definately like this one.
Date published: 2013-07-06
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Terrific! It would be pretty difficult to make a game that is better in most ways. The only thing that would have made this game better is a map and less backtracking, but it was totally worth it. Not for beginners, this one has tons of challenge. Interesting and difficult mini games, for most..well done HOS (not too hard) and great story line. The game is above average length and very detailed. You just can't go wrong with this one and I will bet you need the walkthrough..:)
Date published: 2013-01-16
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Enjoyable and Difficult I really enjoyed this game even though I found many of the mini-games too difficult by which I mean either I just plain couldn't do them or I didn't feel like spending the time to do them when I wanted to get on with the game. The story was not ground-breaking but was better than average and held my interest throughout. One thing I thought was really outstanding was that the individual scenes were so well-done and so individually memorable that I had no trouble at all remembering how to get from one place to another even without a map. I play this type of game in spite of the HOS, not because of them, but I found that the HOS in this game were much better than average - one or two of the objects in each scene required some interaction (more toward the beginning) and they were sometimes pretty cute, especially the zebra and what happens after you find the zebra. That kind of whimsey really appeals to me. And the objects weren't too small or too dark to find. The voice-acting was a bit slow but I don't care about voice-acting that much. This game definitely has re-play value and I highly recommend it, especially to those who like difficult puzzles and don't want their hands held too much.
Date published: 2013-01-03
Rated 5 out of 5 by from The GOOD will PREVAIL!!! Eerie,foreboding,sinister & evil will describe this HOG. It is your job to obtain all 9 amulets from the good guys to save the world by closing this portal of EVIL after defeating the demons from The Dark Side! There are lots of deep, dank dungeons & caverns in this huge dark castle. You must maneuver the pitfalls & mini games along with relatively dark but easy to find items in the HOS to fullfill your goal. At first I was a bit hesitant to go forward as I was not sure where this was headed & whether I would even like the game, but once started & with some help from our trusty walkthrough I soon found this game exciting & entertaining. The music and ambient and good clean up to date graphics are well done in order to bring this game together and make it a favorite.
Date published: 2012-12-22
Rated 5 out of 5 by from BRILLIANT! This game is well worth every penny! An excellent game well thought out with fantastic game play, I normally take the headphones off after about 15 minuets of play, the sound on this was that good they never left my head. The only downer of this game is it ends ... I just wanted to play forever LOL. A MUST HAVE GAME!
Date published: 2012-09-05
Rated 5 out of 5 by from You won't lack for challenges if you attempt this game The puzzles are very challenging. I usually play hard core and attempted to do so initially with 9 the Dark Side. I had to start over and play mid level because I had to skip 2 puzzles! I enjoyed the game play and found the HOS to be comfortable and relaxing. This game is the opposite of boring! I WILL replay this one if only to get those two puzzles. I played the SE and feel there was one area that didn't get completed. I am assuming that was the lead into the extra game play if doing the CE. Since I turn off the sound, My V/S quality stars are for the visual only. SUM: For those looking for a challenge jump in but for those just beginning jump in but don't give up. It is worth the effort!
Date published: 2012-08-18
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Very cool game I wish I had bought the CE if it comes with a map. That is my only complaint and led me to using walkthrough way more than I usually do. The hints would tell you to go someplace but none of the places were named anywhere so if it said grotto, you had to figure out what the grotto was etc. That was confusing. But the game is really challenging with harder than usual puzzles. I loved the number of puzzles vs hogs as I like puzzles more. very much worth the money though but as said before spend a little extra for the CE if it comes with a map or room description (don't actually know if it does.)
Date published: 2012-07-29
Rated 5 out of 5 by from A Real Challenge This is one of the best games from Big Fish I've ever played. The artwork and level design are excellent, the background music is beautiful and haunting, and the storyline is immersive. Most of the mini-games were a real challenge, and not the run-of-the-mill puzzles contained in other HOB games. This is a game that I can see myself replaying from time to time without tiring of it.
Date published: 2012-07-25
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Game! Wow! This game is awesome....ancient castle, ghostly helpers, abandoned village....all excellent. The graphics and cut scenes are great, the music is acceptable, the voice overs are good, the storyline is enjoyable and keeps you on your toes, there are lots of objects to find (both in HOS and mini games), the mini games are great (some are really difficult), there are lots of places to visit and the conclusion is satisfying. The hint button is helpful when you're stuck and it recharges quickly enough. I did use the skip button on a couple of the mini games. I almost wish I had purchased the CE version. I will definitely play this game again and highly recommend it.
Date published: 2012-07-23
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Come to the dark side - A guy's review *review based on completing the game in advanced mode* This game is so good I almost want to play it again straight away. It has everything an adventure addict like me could want. Good story, awesome puzzles and HOS, amazing graphics, dramatic and atmospheric music, engaging. Truly brilliant. I kick myself for not getting the CE, and haven't even dared to see what extra that contains. The graphics are crystal clear and vivid. It is dark in several places, but never faded, pale or grey. Even the HO scenes are wonderfully crisp. Most of the game seems drawn in 3D, which adds to the level of depth in the game. There is a high level of detail in every scene. The music and sound effects might be the best I've come across in any casual game. It is atmospheric and dramatic, and changes from scene to scene, fitting what is showing/happening in front of you. Voice-overs are well done, and the characters feel believable. The story is rather good, and is cleverly written around you. You actually feel like you are the center point of the story, and in the middle of something important. Truly engaging. So much unexpected is happening, that the game amazes you over and over again. I almost even jumped out of my seat a couple of times. It might be scary at times, and the story is dark, but it never is morbid. Nobody should have a problem with it unless they don't like scary subjects at all. The game mechanics are wonderful, everything seems smooth and on target. There's a journal to read through, that guide you through the story. There are plenty of adventuring, pick-ups and use, and a bit back and forth through scenes. Not a problem for any adventure addict, and not even much for others as something new happens in many of them. There are also many cleverly made puzzles, of which some are actually quite hard and require some brain twisting. Some of them are really original, and all of them are well done. You also have the hidden objects scenes, which are really crisp. They are not overcrowded clutter scenes, but some items are really cleverly hidden in the scenery. They are also cleverly interactive. The best of all, you never have to revisit the same scene.... EVER. What that does is that everything seems refreshing, and you don't feel like having to do the same thing over and over. Other developers take note ;o). The one thing in the HO scenes that could be confusing is that there might be several of the item requested in which only one is accepted. There are 3 difficulty modes to choose from: Casual: Ample hints, no misclick penalty, quick skip. Advanced: Moderate hints, misclick penalty, slow skip. Hardcore: No hints, misclick penalty, really slow skip. I played in advance, and found it quite challenging at times. I even had to use the skip once, which I very rarely do. I recommend this game to anyone who wants a memorable game experience. If you feel like a beginner or only comfortable with easier games, you might want to practice a little before playing this, but I recommend you still get it. There is a sequel on the way as I write this review, and I can hardly wait. For the guys: As far as I can tell there is no gender bias at all in this game. You are simply referred to as the Descendant. Game should suit everybody who loves a great challenge and a great story in which you feel involved. TJ
Date published: 2012-06-03
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Puzzle Game This was a very enjoyable game. I loved the fact that the puzzles outnumbered the hidden object screens by about 2 to 1. The majority of the puzzles were original and the difficulty level varied from fairly simple to very challenging, with only one frustrating puzzle (the double-sided dice roll). The story was interesting and the graphics were nice. The usage of inventory items made logical sense. I'm looking forward to another game in this series.
Date published: 2012-02-23
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Wow, Just Finished! Wow! I really liked this game!! There are three modes of play so there's a level for everyone. The graphics are great! Hidden objects are challenging enough (for me) Challenging puzzles, enjoyable storyline but slightly irritating music (which can be turned down) This is a fun game and would definitely recommend it!!
Date published: 2012-01-28
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Intriguing Adventure, A Galore of Puzzles, Great Storyline This game has truly been one of the more challenging games I've played in awhile, with many different puzzles, mini-games and some HOS intermixed in-between. I needed help from the blog walk thru's a few times on some of the more challenging mini-games. I don't like games that are mostly comprised of HOS and this had the right amount mixed throughout the game. The graphics, music and voice overs were very well done and there was a few times that I was scared, because I wasn't expecting things to jump out at you. The game length was good and not too short. Overall a great quality game for the money.
Date published: 2012-01-25
Rated 5 out of 5 by from An Awesome and Creepy Hidden Object Game This is a new game but its actually very very well made.. another hit for BigFishGames
Date published: 2012-01-24
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Wonderful HO Game! This was one of the best HO games I have played. Graphics were great, mini games were more difficult, and this is one of the longest games I have played. Well worth the money. I wish more games were like this one!
Date published: 2012-01-24
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Not my fav, but better than many! I really enjoyed this game, more than a lot of these that I've played. The story was better than most, although the ending was a bit abrupt. Would have liked to see that played out more. The length was pretty good. The HO scenes were pretty easy. I played the Hardcore version with no hints and had no trouble finding everything. Did not have to use a walkthrough for any of the game but did have to skip a couple puzzles because I couldn't get them or got tired trying. There was some running around, but it wasn't too bad since things kinda' opened up gradually and most of them finished up pretty quickly. All in all a great game that I'd highly recommend.
Date published: 2012-01-23
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Game I really enjoyed the game, it is quite challenging. I should have played it in Casual Mode rather than Advanced because I think I would have liked it better. I found some of the puzzles quite difficult and had to skip them. Will play again.
Date published: 2012-01-23
Rated 5 out of 5 by from One of the best hidden object games Generally I find hidden object games a bit simplistic. This one, however, is a cut above the rest and well worth playing. There's a good mix of wandering around, interacting with characters, finding odd objects, sorting through piles of junk and picking locks of various sorts. Some of the puzzles are quite easy, others a bit of a challenge and some quite hard. The graphics are excellent and the music atmospheric, though it would have been better with more varied music as the sound track got a bit repetitive at times.
Date published: 2012-01-22
Rated 5 out of 5 by from brilliant This game has to be in my top ten of great games. The story line is great and just enough hidden object scenes, and I must say that the graphics are fantastic. Puzzles I found are a wee tad hard (but that's just me).
Date published: 2012-01-22
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Confusing at times, but worth it !!! This is one game that I regret not getting the CE version. If for nothing else than going down the stairs. There are surprises and fun interactive creatures to mess with. The first game to give me an expected startling moment. The HOGs are well placed and gave just enough of a challenge that I found them to be enjoyable and not boring. The lighting and detail make them visible unlike some games where you have to stare at the shadows until you grow cross-eyed to find the object. The puzzles are some of the best I have seen in a long time. refreshing to find new puzzles and not re-hashes of the same old thing. I will admidt you go into some of them blindly and it takes a bit to figure out what it is you are to do. I guess the Hint feature would help, but I refrain from using it. So I stagger around a bit. But I can tell you this, they can be solved. The music does get old. However, every so often there are sounds that break it up. The graphics are really good. The voice overs could be better. But I do not buy games for the speaking parts. Here is my downfal when comes to the following the game. If I am bored with the story line, I skip all the conversations and just find the items. I found the conversation parts to be a bit drawn out. So I would read a little and press on. So I may have missed the storyline. But what I did sit through followed along with the plot. Moving about from place to place could have been made easier with a map. But half of my fun is trying to remember where that puzzle was that I now have the item needed. It is good for our memories to have to use them now and then. So it doesn't bother me that there is no map. The objectives are clear if you need reminding. Overall my experience with the game was a good one. I enjoyed it. Like I said in the beginning, this is one game that I wished I had purchased the CE version. For my first PFG game, this is going to be another good company to follow.
Date published: 2012-01-21
Rated 5 out of 5 by from 9:The Dark Side This was an excellent game and I would recommend it to everyone! The graphics are excellent. The voice over stalled a few times but otherwise was very good. No complaints here!
Date published: 2012-01-21
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Put Your Thinking Cap On! I really enjoyed this game! While the storyline is not my favorite, I did like the adventure, as well as the puzzles. The HOGs were well lit and fairly easy. The graphics were great! I like the type of game thats makes you really have to think, and remember what you have already seen to complete the game. I will have to say that this game had some of THE MOST DIFFICULT PUZZLES I have seen in a long time, and I loved them! One puzzle took me a couple of hours to do, but I did not want to give up and kept trying....ahh the sweetness of success!! I do recommend this game, but probably not to newbies.
Date published: 2012-01-20
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Best challenge of puzzles yet! This has been one of the toughest challenges in the puzzles of a game I have played so far. I cant wait to play it again, my husband already has in the next hardest level. It holds your interest so you dont want to stop playing.
Date published: 2012-01-19
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Entertaining adventure Challenging puzzles, I almost regretted playing on the hardest level, but once I began concentrating, I enjoyed everything. Occasional screen freeze, probably due to the autosave feature, and I'm glad it didn't get wildly easy at the end as some games have done recently. It is so disappointing to be in the last couple of chapters in some games and to have nothing new to stretch for, just more hogs or easy puzzles. Thanks for a great game.
Date published: 2012-01-18
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Awe Inspiring, and I Don't Say That Lightly From the first moments this game impressed me. The visuals are superb, spectacular - and the reverent, church-like music was inspired and inspiring. With more puzzles than HO scenes, this game is pretty challenging, with strikingly new ways of presenting familiar puzzles, and some innovative new ones. Fortunately, skip was activated quickly and hint was an excellent way of getting back on track, so despite the difficulty level, I didn't have to resort to the walkthrough. The story is perfect for this kind of game, and you could get as involved in it as you wanted to, with excellent graphic and sound representation of the characters you meet, or skip them and catch the summary in the journal. Mind you, I think you're missing a lot by doing that. Isn't there anything wrong with it? Well, I'd be hard pressed to find it... Sometimes the clicks had to be just so to perform an action and that gets very annoying. But really, in a production of this quality, it's quibbling. I have just finished playing the game for the 2nd time in a fortnight, and loved it as much as the first time: with 100 HOPA games on my desktop, that's one HECK of a tribute.
Date published: 2012-01-11
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Get your monies worth here...long game, lots of puzzles Definitely getting your monies worth with this one! There are 3 levels of play, casual, advanced and hard core. I normally play expert so I thought why not give hard core a try, glad I did, I like a challenge (but there where times I questioned my choice!). I enjoy relaxing to play, but I get tired of being pointed along an obvious path, while it was challenging it was also enjoyable. If you take a break and forget what you’re supposed to be doing you can check your diary. The graphics are better than most, not as good as some. There are some but not a lot of HOS which, if you’re a HOG lover you may not care for, they are fairly easy and very clean (read NOT cluttered). Length of play very good, possibly days’ worth, if you don’t skip the puzzles and if you’re a puzzle lover I think you will be in heaven. Puzzles ranged from so simplistic to quite difficult. Some were very unique although there some of the usual standards. The music, you will either love it or hate it. I found it very appropriate being a medieval theme, there is chanting, usually when you’re doing a puzzle or HOG, at times when I’m stuck on a difficult puzzle (hours) it may have become somewhat annoying (I swear they were saying “game on, play on”) but when I realized what I thought they were saying I did smile and felt like I was being rooted on. I also had to turn it off on some VERY tedious puzzles. Over all, LOVED it! I look for adventure games that don’t have HOG, they seem to be in abundance at BF, I know that may be their largest demographic, but some of us want more of a challenge. I hope BF does/gets more games like this. Try the demo if you’re not sure, after an hour I couldn’t wait to download, I even started over cuz I always feel like I need to rush before the hour is done to decide if I want to buy or not.
Date published: 2012-03-15
Rated 5 out of 5 by from One of the Best Games on Big Fish! One of the greatest games on Big Fish. The graphics are unbelievable, puzzles are challenging. Storyline makes sense and keeps you interested. If they ever release a sequel, I'll be the first to buy!
Date published: 2012-09-08
Rated 5 out of 5 by from For Puzzle Lovers Only! Although there are some HO's (about a dozen), this game is mostly made up of Puzzle/Adventure fun... so count me in!!! There are 3 levels: Casual, Expert, and Hardcore (I usually start on the Beginning level to get a feel for the game, but am excited to give Hardcore a try!) The graphics and artwork are great, the story is interesting (I like period pieces), and even the music and sound effects are enjoyable (I usually mute the volume)! If you like P/A/HO games, but are tired of seeing mostly HO's, I think you'll be happy with this one!!!
Date published: 2012-01-29
  • y_2019, m_12, d_6, h_12
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_3.0.3
  • cp_2, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_0, tr_137
  • loc_en_US, sid_13212, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=RATING, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=HELPFULNESS, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=FEATURED, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_bigfishgames

The Big Fish Guarantee:

Quality tested and virus free. No ads, no adware, no spyware.

Your Security and Privacy are important to us! Privacy Policy

, share your thoughts about this game!

9: The Dark Side

End a centuries-old war between the Guardians and the Clan of the Nine in 9: The Dark Side!

Heres what your review will look like once it’s posted.

Click Submit if you’re happy. Your review should appear soon. To make changes, use the Edit or Cancel buttons.

Thanks for sharing your thoughts about this game!

You’ve already shared your thoughts about this game.

Thanks for submitting the review below.