9: The Dark Side

9: The Dark Side

PC

Hidden Object

Play Now Download the free trial

This game will not work on your operating system.

Are you sure you want to download this game?

Free 1 hour trial

(185.95 MB)

By clicking "Play Now", I accept the Terms of Use and acknowledge that I have received the Privacy Policy. If this is your first time downloading a game from Big Fish, our handy Game Manager app will install on your computer to help manage your games.
Buy Now Get the full version70% OFF!

This game will not work on your operating system.

Are you sure you want to purchase it?

Full version game

$ 9.99 USD

Only $2.99 - use coupon NEW299

End a centuries-old war between the Guardians and the Clan of the Nine in 9: The Dark Side! Are you the Last Descendant of whom the legend foretells, the one who will stop the darkness that haunts Prague? Find out in this incredible Hidden Object Puzzle Adventure game! Take on dark enemies and solve perplexing puzzles as you explore the gorgeous city of Prague. Fulfill your destiny in 9: the Dark Side!

New customers get your first game for $2.99!*

70% OFF!

Use Coupon: NEW299

* Collector's Editions and free to play games not included.

Game System Requirements:

  • OS: Windows XP/Vista/Win7/8
  • CPU: 2.0 GHz
  • RAM: 2048 MB
  • DirectX: 9.0
  • Hard Drive: 209 MB

Big Fish Games App System Requirements:

  • Browser: Internet Explorer 7 or later
Reviews at a Glance

9: The Dark Side

0 out of 5 (0 ReviewsReview)
Average Rating:
Play Now Download the free trial

This game will not work on your operating system.

Are you sure you want to download this game?

Free 1 hour trial

(185.95 MB)

Buy Now Get the full version70% OFF!

This game will not work on your operating system.

Are you sure you want to purchase it?

Full version game

$ 9.99 USD

Only $2.99 - use coupon NEW299

Customer Reviews
9: The Dark Side is rated 4.4 out of 5 by 137.
Rated 5 out of 5 by from WOW!!!!!!! I bought the CE on this game and it was well worth it, so the SE should be the same. This game is one great play. The storyline is interesting. The graphics are gorgeous. The voice-over is great with an intermittent chilling laugh which actually made me laugh. The HOs are above average. The puzzles for the most part are doable. I found 2 that were a big challenge and time consuming, but you do have a skip button. You receive achievements which I think are a fun bonus. The game is fairly lengthy. Took me about 5 hours. And this is definitely a game I will play again and again. I love a game that really makes me think and work to complete and this one did that. Can't wait for the next one. This is one great game. I highly recommend this game.
Date published: 2012-01-05
Rated 5 out of 5 by from A fine example of how to make a good game I was always going to be interested in a game based on the Middle Ages and this one certainly lived up to expectations. The puzzles range from easy to fiendish and there was just the right amount of hidden object scenes to contend with. The visuals are excellent and the background music atmospheric without becoming repetitively annoying. The one negative I would have was that I don't particularly like being insulted whilst playing and the comment that a Descendant would know better was unneccessary and irritating. But this is a very minor niggle in an otherwise exceptional game.
Date published: 2012-01-11
Rated 5 out of 5 by from A great blend of HO, Adventure and Puzzles I have been hooked up by this game, immediately upon completion of the trial version, purchased the CE on BFG's Special Offer and I am now in the process of playing it. The voice-over is quite good though sounding a bit weird at times, giving the impression the text is being read too cautiously, hence a lack of natural flow, and the repetitive music becomes rapidly tedious. But these are mere trivia largely made up for by everything else in the game: well worded script, good sound effects, well crafted graphics, detailed, vividly colored and very artistic, not that many locales but all of them splendidly rendered, neat HO Scenes with objects not too difffcult to find, a generous hint system, objectives clearly stated, a decent storyline reminiscent of Templar, a mildly eerie atmosphere and, of course, the traditional useful-object-hunting. Tasks are interesting and putting the useful items to use always responds to logic. No special difficulty here, but enough to make you think. With five chapters, three game modes, lots of awards to win, and a good level of challenge, gameplay is fairly long provided one doesn't sneak peek into the SG or the walkthrough too often. But that's not all ! What about the puzzles/minigames then ? Well, there is a multitude of them, of all kinds, classics or innovations [some are unique], random or logical, easy or...not so easy. The less seasoned players among us will be happy to find that all the puzzles in this game can be reset [a plus] and are skippable, although they can all be solved with a bit of patience and ingenuity. Instructions for the puzzles are clear. Another plus In this case I have chosen the CE because a] I think the game is worth it, b] the bonus chapter offers a better conclusion although the ending of the core game is very satisfactory, and c] I have a weakness..... I love parking lot type slider puzzles (available only in the bonus chapter). Besides, BFG's Special Deal was so good it would have been a shame to miss it. The developing company did very well indeed for a first-timer, putting in a great deal of effort, work and talent to offer us one of the best games presently available. I gladly give this game a 4.6 star rating [rounded up to 5] and I am definitely looking forward to playing more games by this company.
Date published: 2012-01-04
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Finally-common sense inventory use What really makes this game enjoyable, aside from the outstanding graphics and creative puzzles with just the right level of difficulty, is the logical use of inventory tools. For example, important tools that you know you will use over and over, such as a knife and a crowbar, STAY in your inventory, instead of being left behind, leaving you to find another one later on. Also, a crowbar can be used to break things, which is common sense. In most other games, even if you have a crowbar in your inventory, you just HAVE to find a hammer to shatter a vase, a crowbar just won't do! Also, if you need to pick up a flower or reach into water, you don't have to first find garden shears, or (god forbid you get your hands wet), look for gloves. In this game, you just grab it and go. I hope other games in the future take this common sense approach to inventory items. When you have a storyline where you are trying to save someone or are on an urgent quest, it makes no sense to take time to look for ridiculous items that you would never normally need, or look for items to perform an action that some other tool in your inventory could do just as well. So that is, bluntly, why I rated this game so high. Thank you developers, for a good story. But most of all, thank you for sparing me the headache of useless inventory items and designing your game with logical use of tools in mind. It makes the game play so much more realistic! I hope other developers follow your lead on this one. I'm not sure how many more 'gardening gloves' I can handle!
Date published: 2012-03-08
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Challenge Accepted! If you're looking for a challenging adventure game, this would be it. There are a combination of mini puzzles/brain teasers and a few hidden object scenes within the story, but this isn't a heavy HO game, more for the puzzle minded person. It is a dark game in that there are ghosts, demons, werewolves, etc, and at any moment, one could jump out and scare the bejeebees out of you. Um, werewolf anyone? Graphics: Fabulously creepy. Well done. Music: Adds wonderfully to the ambiance. Enough variety, though I found some of it repetitive at times. Length: This is a LONG game, especially if you don't skip anything. Several hours. Story: Interesting enough. The voice overs are very well done. Kept me entertained. Challenge: Definitely challenging. I admit to skipping a few of the puzzles when I became more frustrated than challenged. If you like brain teasers, these are your kind of puzzles. Options: After a while, the skip button will charge and you can skip puzzles or get a hint on where you should go next. The HO scenes are marked with sparkles, but this game is more of a run your mouse over the scene to find areas of interest. Play Again: Most definitely! Overall: A (not A+ because I'm pretty sure the gate with the dragon insert on the wall is only accessible in the CE version, but it drove me nuts that it appeared to be something I needed to find and I was bummed when the game was over and I never found it).
Date published: 2012-01-31
Rated 5 out of 5 by from one of the best I have played many-many HOG's by now and must say that this one is among the best. The graphics are authentic, imaginative and beautiful, the hidden object areas are not as boring as they usually are in the majority of these games - I actually enjoyed looking at different things trying to find the ones I need. Music is a little bit repetitive, becoming annoying when you're stuck on a puzzle and are forced to hear the same tune over and over again. But the puzzles are excellent! I like the fact that you cannot skip them, so you're forced to find a solution before going further. All in all I loved it!
Date published: 2012-01-12
Rated 5 out of 5 by from BRAVO! A GREAT GAME! With so many games to select from BFG, this is a great game with an assortment of puzzles, etc. Has "all the right stuff" including great graphics and an interesting story line! Played the demo and knew within minutes that I would purchase! Actually, I purchased the Collector's Edition! Very pleased with 9:The Dark Side. Bravo!
Date published: 2012-01-06
Rated 5 out of 5 by from DIFFERENT I just played the free hour and liked the game. It is not confusing, has good clues and the graphics are really good. They are clear and very colorful. The game is not your usual tired mystery murders and mayhem, which frankly I am tired of. I bought the game and recommend it.
Date published: 2012-01-04
Rated 5 out of 5 by from My new favourite This game has everything and a little more. It is the first game in a long time I didn't want to end and will keep in on my PC for a while so I can play it again. The Puzzles are great and challenging and the strategy component is interesting and addictive. There isn't really much more to say though I did finish it in 3 sittings so could be a little longer, though I didn't go for the collectors edition.
Date published: 2012-01-09
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Lots of fun This game took some time, a nice change for most of the games that are put out. Some hogs and loads of puzzles. Could skip the puzzles if you want to. Good story line and great voice makeovers. I highly recommend!
Date published: 2012-01-06
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Very Well done This was one of the best SE I have played. Has great story, helpful hints, great graphics, what more can I say. Well worth purchasing. Do not miss out on this one
Date published: 2013-01-28
Rated 5 out of 5 by from A tough and fun game I played this game on the hardest level where you can't skip any puzzles. I got stuck on three of puzzles and had to ask my fiancee for help. It's wonderful to play a hidden object game that's really challenging. If you're looking to be stumped, this game will do it! The story line was okay. The graphics and music were pretty good.
Date published: 2012-01-26
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Challenging and Fun H/O Game!!!!! This game was definitely a challenge, unlike some of the other H/O games that had puzzles that were way too easy. This game really made you think. The graphics and sound were AWESOME!!!!!!!! The length was cool and kept me intrigued from start to finish. Well worth the money spent for it!!!!!
Date published: 2012-01-12
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Something for everyone This game has everything. Beautiful artistry, wonderful mood music, different levels of play, and lots of puzzle variations. I played the middle level, so that is what I'm referring to in this review.The HO's are very easy, due to the clarity of the areas. The puzzles vary from easy to "skip." There is a lot of backpedaling in this game, so a map would have been a great help, but not really too hard without it. I also love a game where I can blow something up! The ending suggests a sequel, so I hope it comes soon because I will buy it in a heartbeat! Don't miss this one.
Date published: 2012-01-09
Rated 5 out of 5 by from The Dark Side What a fantastic game with a fantastic story! The Guardian Army has returned from the Crusades and are fighting a war to protect a sacred amulet. The Guardians called for the dark side to open, but the dark side shows no mercy and destroys everyone. Only 9 survive and retreat into the fortress, never to return. As the descendant of the Guardians it is up to you to enter the fortress and use the amulet to close the dark side and save Prague from evil. I couldn't help but feel as if I were actually searching this long abandoned fortress myself which is a testament to how professionally produced this game actually is. The HOS were very well done and are interactive list finds. I will admit that I skipped a few puzzles just before pulling my hair out! You will receive an amulet from one of the dearly departed Guardians, which will allow you to "see" hidden clan symbols. I really liked this game and think that the SE is the better buy, enjoy!
Date published: 2014-01-29
Rated 5 out of 5 by from 9: The Dark Side Excellent game, would recommend it to any one, had fun playing it also. If you can do the Collector Edition for the walkthrough.
Date published: 2012-01-05
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Good relaxing game Keeps me thinking to get past many puzzles of the game. So far, I haven't had to walk in TOO many circles to get things to be able to continue. The help is good and actully helps if you happen to need it. I played in casual mode and I bought the game.
Date published: 2012-01-04
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Fantastic game! I love this games full of secrets, darkness, ancient secrets, dark castles and dungeons! The game is really great for someone who likes mysteries.
Date published: 2012-12-06
Rated 5 out of 5 by from A hit with me I really enjoyed the storyline and the strategies. I like the "characters" and really enjoyed this game. I'm by no means an expert, so I really liked having the strategy guide the 2 times I got stuck....Great game for beginners to intermediate
Date published: 2012-02-08
Rated 5 out of 5 by from 9: The Dark Side: Fun, great value, and challenging puzzles I had a great time playing this game with many locations and types of games/puzzles. I especially like that when you *had* to use a hint, it gave the next objective clearly, with just enough information ("Get the key from the carpet bag and use it in the torture chamber") but not one word more.
Date published: 2012-02-05
Rated 5 out of 5 by from I would definitely recommend this game! I thought the graphics were bright and colorful. The mini games were well thought out and talking to ghosts that are your own decendants really a great idea. I had fun playing this game and plan to buy it. I would definitely recommend this game.
Date published: 2012-02-03
Rated 5 out of 5 by from brilliant hidden games plus lots of puzzles!! this game, unlike a lot of hidden object games, is fun and challenging Instead of being too quick to finish and predictable. The puzzles are stimulating. The graphics are brilliant. Anybody know the titles of any other games made by these guys?
Date published: 2012-02-02
Rated 5 out of 5 by from The Dark Side This is a great game I've already played it twice and I loved it even more. The time,skill,and over all entertainment to me is awsome. I recommend this one well worth your money.
Date published: 2012-01-22
Rated 5 out of 5 by from So happy I got this game I loved this game so much, I completely ignored my kids all day while I played it. There wasn't too many of the "hidden object scenes" which was great for me. Too many of them gets tedious. I love the point and click aspect of the game, solving puzzles and putting pieces together and that is what this game was about. 5 stars.
Date published: 2012-01-22
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Fun Adventure/HOG Game IMO this is a great game. I was hooked by the demo. Interesting storyline, lots of challenging puzzles, which I love. Nice graffics and music. Would like to see more games like this one.
Date published: 2012-01-19
Rated 5 out of 5 by from The Dark Side is a Must Play The demo had me craving for more. Once I downloaded the game, I couldn't stop. It had the right amount of difficulty and challange. The story and graphics were great. I hope they create a Dark Side 2.
Date published: 2012-01-19
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Loved it! Great HOG/Puzzle game. The puzzles were challenging but not impossible, and if necessary they can be skipped. The HOG scenes were clear and easy to see. The story was cute, not convoluted, and it moved at a good pace. I strongly prefer games with good puzzles mixed in. I hope I can find another one like this soon!
Date published: 2012-01-18
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Loved it! I loved this game. This is the first time out of the hundreds of games I have played that I decided to give a review. It kept me involved throughout. Excellent graphics. Nice HOS, great mini-games. Enjoyed the story line. what more can I say. I highly recommend this one.
Date published: 2012-01-18
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Game Challenging enough to hold your interest all the way through. The graphics are wonderful.
Date published: 2012-01-18
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Thoroughly enjoyed 9:The Dark Side Tough enough, long enough, interesting enough...I really liked this game.
Date published: 2012-01-17
  • y_2020, m_8, d_10, h_15
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_3.0.10
  • cp_3, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_0, tr_137
  • loc_en_US, sid_13212, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=RATING, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=HELPFULNESS, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=FEATURED, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_bigfishgames

The Big Fish Guarantee:

Quality tested and virus free. No ads, no adware, no spyware.

Your Security and Privacy are important to us! Privacy Policy

, share your thoughts about this game!

9: The Dark Side

End a centuries-old war between the Guardians and the Clan of the Nine in 9: The Dark Side!

Heres what your review will look like once it’s posted.

Click Submit if you’re happy. Your review should appear soon. To make changes, use the Edit or Cancel buttons.

Thanks for sharing your thoughts about this game!

You’ve already shared your thoughts about this game.

Thanks for submitting the review below.