Surface: Mystery of Another World Collector's Edition
Exclusive

Surface: Mystery of Another World Collector's Edition

PC

Also available on

Hidden Object

Play Now Download the free trial

This game will not work on your operating system.

Are you sure you want to download this game?

Free sample version

(305.32 MB)

By clicking "Play Now", I accept the Terms of Use and acknowledge that I have received the Privacy Policy. If this is your first time downloading a game from Big Fish, our handy Game Manager app will install on your computer to help manage your games.
Buy Now Get the full version

This game will not work on your operating system.

Are you sure you want to purchase it?

Full version game

$ 19.99 USD

$ 13.99 USD or 2 credits

After your son, Bobby, mysteriously disappears, it’s up to you to find him in Surface: The Mystery of Another World! A peaceful train ride to the coast goes way off course and now strange occurrences are happening all around you! It seems that there is another world just past your reflection. Use your Hidden Object talents to explore the mysterious area and save Bobby before it’s too late in Surface: the Mystery of Another World!

This is a special Collector's Edition release full of exclusive extras you won’t find in the standard version. As a bonus, Collector's Edition purchases count toward three stamps on your Monthly Game Club Punch Card!

The Collector’s Edition includes:

  • Bonus gameplay
  • Integrated Strategy Guide
  • Awesome Concept Art

Game System Requirements:

  • OS: Windows XP/Vista/Win7/8
  • CPU: 2.5 GHz
  • RAM: 1024 MB
  • DirectX: 9.0
  • Hard Drive: 905 MB

Big Fish Games App System Requirements:

  • Browser: Internet Explorer 7 or later
  • Alcohol Reference
  • Mild Violence
Reviews at a Glance

Surface: Mystery of Another World Collector's Edition

0 out of 5 (0 ReviewsReview)
Average Rating:
Play Now Download the free trial

This game will not work on your operating system.

Are you sure you want to download this game?

Free sample version

(305.32 MB)

Buy Now Get the full version

This game will not work on your operating system.

Are you sure you want to purchase it?

Full version game

$ 19.99 USD

$ 13.99 USD or 2 credits

Customer Reviews
Surface: Mystery of Another World Collector's Edition is rated 4.3 out of 5 by 180.
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Excellent HOG game The storyline is a little annoying but it doesn't distract from an excellent game. The idea is that while you were traveling your child has been kidnapped by someone from another world. As you hunt for him you unravel pieces of what's going on, which is meant to be science-fictiony but winds up being a little hokey. There are a mess of cut scenes which cannot be skipped, but they are thankfully short. The mini-games are challenging without being absurdly difficult. The music is pleasant and the artwork is gorgeous. The mouth movements on the actors is a little weird, but I suspect that it was originally made in another language with an English dub. (Oh, and that the 'bad guy' is hot doesn't hurt things at all! (-: ) The HOG scenes are a delight. Not only are they clearly defined (ie. no depending on things hiding behind other things) yet still a challenge, but to complete them you often need things you've found in other places. This keeps control of the flow of the game without being overly restricted. You may be able to reach and start a HOG scene but you may not be able to complete it until you've been to another area you have not yet visited. It's a fun little twist that makes things a little different from your usual HOG game. Overall, a very enjoyable game.
Date published: 2012-06-23
Rated 5 out of 5 by from A Truly Excellent Game This game has some very good scenes in it that made me gasp, but there was no gore. Graphics were crisp and clear, animation in mini-games was smooth and cut scenes were all right but a bit jerky. I loved that there was so much more realistic sound for when objects were manipulated. The mini-puzzles were fun to play and actually challenged me a few times, which I enjoyed greatly. There is a lot of running around, but I just bought new running shoes so it was okay! ;-) The cursor seemed a bit slow at first, but after the first few minutes or so it smoothed out and worked fine. The hint system worked well and the guide was detailed and opened up to where I left off last, which was really appreciated. I did my best not to use either, and this game, from start to finish including the extra game play, gave me over ten hours of play. I should add I was ill while playing, so others may just zip right through it! It was challenging, and I so appreciate that—DEVS TAKE NOTE! It was really fun to play and the ending did not disappoint in any way. There was only one negative I could find in this game, and that was the voice acting for the villain was terrible; absolutely grade C. Otherwise, perfect! <3
Date published: 2012-03-13
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Another Great Elephant Game I've found Elephant games in general to be some of my favorites. They are well done, with good story lines, beautiful art, and plenty of challenges. Surface is as good as all the rest! I found this game to be a good return on my $$ as it took me awhile to finish it, and I enjoyed every minute. I'm slowly working my way through all the Elephant games, I'm just getting ready to start the Mystery Tracker series. I love that in this particular game, the mini-games seemed to get away a little bit from the "turn this, and it makes all the other rings turn until you want to beat your computer in frustration" games that I generally skip. I like the mini-games, but hate that particular genre that seems popular with the game makers. This is a great game. You won't be disappointed!
Date published: 2012-03-12
Rated 5 out of 5 by from One word says it all… I can only echo every positive comment others have stated in their reviews. So, in a word that only scratches the surface of the details I could expound upon… Supercalifragilisticexpealidocious!!!!!! Okay, two things worth noting. A lot of things in the game are "hidden in plain sight". I was impressed by that in the hidden object scenes' extraordinary artwork. Secondly, there are clues given within the game play for the Adventure and tasks portion, but logic and memory are essential. The challenge affords a satisfying sense of accomplishment.
Date published: 2012-03-11
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Best game I've played in a while! I would definately recommend the CE of this game since apparently (after reading the reviews in the regular edition), there is a bonus chapter in this edition. Plus, in this one, if you gather the red flowers they give you a bonus (presumably the extra chapter?!). For details of my review, please see my review in the regular edition. Thanks! But to reitierate the best: Visuals were excellent HO scenes were unusual in that inventory items needed to be used for those "extra step" items - some of which you don't find until later on in the chapter Each chapter was self-contained, which made stopping at those points even easier #though as good as the game was, hard to stop there!# Challenge was just right for me #intermediate#, had to refer to Big Fish Game's internet walkthrough only 3 or 4 times when I got stuck enough where the hints didn't help. Storyline was fun and purposeful The bad #which really is just annoying and shouldn't deter you from buying/playing this game#: The acting was amateur and annoying, especially the lead bad guy, Lord Toriar Voice overs were not synched, which was irritating The free hour was actually the most boring as it occurs on/in Earth, which is pretty much like many other HOGs. The other world is much more fun!!! Honestly, the game just got better and better!
Date published: 2012-03-11
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great adventure Well I played this as CE, and highly recommend it. It has good length, good story, great artwork, puzzles were fun all in all I hated it to end, did enjoy the extra game and collecting flowers gives you extra puzzles. Hope there are more to follow.
Date published: 2012-03-10
Rated 5 out of 5 by from SURFACE... Didn't want this one to end....It was FANTABULAS...!! Loved everythin about it , lots of back an forth , which keeps even the best o' us on our toes. Graphics were amazin , story really clever an detailed....am not one for to much background music an sound effects , but this was just enough. Mini games / puzzels were great , plenty of info / help , ( ok i mean hints..!)
Date published: 2012-03-09
Rated 5 out of 5 by from A MUST PLAY GAME!!!! Played on Hard level with no skips or hints. The only way to play in my opinion. Great graphics and a ton of places to go in this game. Very long game too well worth the purchase!!!!
Date published: 2012-03-07
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Something to hold you to the end. This game was GREAT. Be read to run from room to room and if you are like me and just can not stop playing a good game until the end then you will really love this one. It has a little different edge to it. It is not so hard to make you stop but not so easy to bore you. Please give it a good try. I really like the collectors edition better in this case and i usually do not say that. Good Luck happy gaming
Date published: 2012-03-03
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Length Great game and one of the better for length in the Collectors additions. Many of them are getting rather short for the price.
Date published: 2012-03-01
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Excellent but... This is a great game as many other reviewers have said already. It seems to do everything right. Story line, amount of HOS, difficulty levels choice, all is per the book! And that is the only point of my concern. This is like the Hollywood of games and the danger is that all games will look all so "perfect". I am concerned that we may be losing the chance at innovation and originality. Just a feeling. At least this game did a special effort to have some really good puzzles.
Date published: 2012-02-28
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Very Intriguing game! Please make more games like this one if you are going to create Collector Editions. I found the hidden objects more fun to play, because you had find objects outside the hidden object game itself in order to complete it. The scenery was also awesome, definitely something I would use as wallpaper. Whomever came up with the concept of this game was thinking outside the box when they created it. This game was worth my money, please do more!
Date published: 2012-02-26
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Amazing! Have I said that before?? Per usual ~ Play on the hardest level to get the most bang for your buck! I loved the interactive HO's where you are actually using your own inventory to solve scenes! Loved the length as well!
Date published: 2012-02-25
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great game Very Good Value This was a long game - really worth the price. The graphics were very good, the HOS had a bit of a twist - you are required to find and use an inventory item in some places. Lots of places to go and the Hint was very helpful when i needed it. Done on casual level, so challenge might be more otherwise, but i like to take my time and enjoy all the little things. Have already recommended it to my fellow gamers.
Date published: 2012-02-25
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Super game Loved it! Loved the storyline and the fact that they used real people for the caracters. It had good puzzles that where just right.
Date published: 2012-02-24
Rated 5 out of 5 by from 5 STARS! This game is quite possibly THE BEST I have played. I was challenged, engaged and in awe. Absolutely worth every penny! The scenes are beautiful and it's long which for me is a plus. This one will not disappoint. I had a blast! More like this one please :)
Date published: 2012-02-24
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Not boring, something different I read quite a few reviews before I even tried the demo, but having tried that I was hooked. I'm not going to go over what other people have said but focus on the things that make this game stand out. OK, so it's a rescue the kidnapped person sort of game (son in this case), but none the worse for that. I don't quite get why the game starts on a steam train but I can live with that. I particularly liked: * the HOS need interaction with objects in your inventory. Sometimes you actually need to go to some lengths to get the thing which will enable you to finish the HO scene. A nice touch! I also like the way you only play each scene once and it blends into the background when you've done. * the mini games are not just the same standard ones and those that are variations on swapping tiles, putting things in order etc, are done in an interesting way * the way video clips (which you can reply in your diary) are used. OK so the acting is cheesy and I thought having speech come up in very large type at the top of the screen was a bit pointless, but they do help to make the story move on. * the story line is coherent and as you discover what's going on it makes sense. Also the other world is just slightly different enough. * There was humour in the story too although at one point I jumped enough to nearly spill tea all over my keyboard (near the start) * I have to admit to being amused by games which give you achievements for what you do. I didn't collect all the flowers unfortunately. My only question is: why did the villain of the piece look like Michael Jackson?
Date published: 2012-02-20
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Surface: Mystery of Another World Collector's Edition: Hidden Object Game. Absolutely love this game. The storyline is tense and engaging as you desperately try to find your missing son. Along the way you discover diary entry fragments from various characters you meet which help explain the motives behind the kidnapping. Gameplay is gradual and highly challenging. The built in strategy guide and hint system are easy to access. It is one of the longer hidden object games I've played but its far from boring as there always seems to be new areas to explore and objects to acquire. The length of the game makes it great value for money, and when you consider the detail and level of graphics (which in my opinion are mind blowing for the hidden object genre) , along with the live action scenes you experience, the core game is honestly more or less faultless. The only aspect that I feel let this game down was the bonus content, I refer not to the extended gameplay (which I am yet to experience) but the bonus mini game activities which can be unlocked via collecting hidden flowers or logos throughout the game. I felt that the mini games which are very similar were a anti climax compared to normal gameplay. For example, you are informed that you have unlocked a bonus level/game and you naturally expect something similar to the impressive, vibrant landscapes contained within the core game. Instead you are met with a maze puzzle in which water pipes have to be connected correctly in order to water different flowers and you begin to wonder if you are playing the same game as you were a few seconds ago. Also extra content such as wallpapers and screensavers cannot be set until the extended gameplay has been completed; a very frustrating and unnecessary constraint perhaps? Sadly therefore, I feel I cannot give this game a perfect 10, it has to be 9/10. I would highly recommend this game to hidden object fans.
Date published: 2012-02-19
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Best Game of 2012 I loved this game. It didn't start out with an overly long backstory, you were just thrust right into the game. The puzzles were fun and you had to do a lot of searching around. The game turned into a maze of sorts and that is exactly what I really love. There wasn't too many of the hidden search areas which made this game even better. And the ones they did have were great! You had to use your own inventory to complete the hidden searches! I haven't come across that one yet. I played this for hours. LOVE IT!
Date published: 2012-02-18
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Really enjoyed playing this game Just a little bit different story line that was easy to follow, I had a lot of fun with this game. I especially enjoyed the mini-games. Some were not the "same old thing" and had some challenge to them. It was difficult enough that I had to get help a few times, although I'm not a genius when it comes to these games. Overall Surface was a great game and well worth the money.
Date published: 2012-02-17
Rated 5 out of 5 by from One of the best! I've been playing BF games for years and this is by far one of the best. I don't get the reviews that describe this game as "nothing new" HELLO! The game play is the "busiest" of any game I can recall - every single scene (and they are plentiful) has numerous items to click on - talk about keeping you engaged! The graphics are beautiful - enough so that several scenes were so artistic, I just sat still and took them in before continuing. A game that maintains my enthusiasm for several hours and takes me on countless, beautiful journeys through it's world - is worth my money and time. The puzzles were challenging and many were brand new. My only "less than perfect" observation is the HOS were very easy, but even the HOS scenes were graphically gorgeous. Earning acheivements is always an added enticer and this game has plenty. My one concern: When will another game come along that has all the beauty of this one? Congratulations and THANK-YOU to very skilled developers!
Date published: 2012-02-11
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Superb game I haven't submitted a review on here before but simply had to write something about this game. I'm a big fan of the Mystery Case Files games, but was sorely disappointed by the most recent offering (Escape from Ravenhearst) as it got a bit too obsessed with morphing objects, which are a fun little sideline but not my idea of main gameplay. This game more than makes up for the "meh" I felt over my purchase of EfR. The story is great, the graphics are amazing and I also loved the music, but best of all are the HO scenes and puzzles. You don't revisit a single scene more than once, and sometimes need to use objects you have collected elsewhere to complete a HO scene, which I have not seen before. The puzzles are all interesting and challenging without being too tough. Overall, a huge RECOMMEND from me, I will be looking out for more from this developer instead of any future MCF games.
Date published: 2012-02-10
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Another Success, and greatly done. This is truly a wonderful game. The scenes were done with the real characters, a very nice switch. The story is nicely put together and the music suits the theme. Some of their scenes were a little messy but surprisingly it was not difficult to find the items. This is a bonus. There are achievements to be had, and they are easy enough to get, which is also a nice treat. In the options they have 3 modes as well as Gamma and Graphics, this is nice for people who have as i say a stubborn computer. The mini games were fun to do and some took a little effort. I did find though that they could have explained the rules a bit better. This way i would not need to go into their walkthrough to find out what it is that they wanted you to do. I was truly absorbed into the game to the end and i loved every minute of it. I love these type of games, spooky one's, and the haunting games because it gets me so absorbed into the game itself. This is a great game and beautifully done.
Date published: 2012-02-05
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Loved this game !!! I was intrigued enough during demo to purchase, and am glad I did. Very different story from usual HOG, good graphics. Had to stop and think of next move more than once, which is a plus in my book. Game was plenty long, mini games were different and clever, which is a huge plus. I loved that the hidden objects actually interacted with the inventory items, and you had to go back to finish the hidden object puzzles. That was a first, and how novel to have a 'first' in the typical, boring HOG lately !!! Honestly, I would have given it more stars if I could. AND, in addition to the bonus level, which was very long as bonus levels go, there are 3 bonus games for finding 3 increasing levels of hidden flowers in each scene. BF, you would make a lot more money off of me if all of your games were equal to the quality of this game. Worth every penny of the CE price !!
Date published: 2012-02-04
Rated 5 out of 5 by from one of my top 3 favourite HOPA of all time, review at end has bonus pros and cons I loved this game. Elephant continues to push themselves and the results are worth it. It truly is an A grade HOPA. Best game yet from them and one of my top 3 all time favourite HOPA. It even gets better as you go along. The graphics were really well done. I didn’t like real people in 13skull because of the way it was done, here it was well integrated, (although the lip synch was way off and was off putting). They brought us back the integrated transporter map and I love them for it. What is even more amazing is that each chapter is completely self-contained and quite vast, and you have a new transporter map each chapter and each chapter is completely different (you don’t revisit scenes from previous chapters) We have had kidnapping before but not in this sci-fi setting and how it was done is different. I played on the middle of 3 choice of settings (as I like the option to skip puzzles if I need to) so I had no sparkles including hidden object scenes and no random click penalty. The puzzles were very well done and some were unique and took me a good time to play some of them – excellent. There are a lot of options in setting up, which you don’t often see. The hint button I did appreciate it but wish there was another option to not have spoilers but see if you have missed anything in a scene. Each chapter took me roughly 2 hrs each even using the hints and only looking at walkthrough a couple of times. If you play this with sparkles or with a walkthrough, or skip puzzles, obviously gameplay will be much shorter. The cloud – hidden object scenes, they were junk pile. Oh why elephant when you push yourself so far in every other area you fall short in this one, it marred the beauty of this game. The saving point of the hidden object scenes, were the crystal clear graphics and the great twist on them – you need an inventory item on something in each scene. But you don’t repeat them and no random click penalty (yeah!) The villain is like a comic book villain (think of the movies like superman etc) and that is good as the game doesn’t feel like a ‘dark’ game. SE play – 8hrs. (usually a SE would take me 5-6hrs.) bonus – between 1hr and 1hr 30min at the max BONUS PROS AND CONS Pros - - Finding flowers in bonus usually it’s over in the main game - 3 extra pipe puzzles (not the great pipe puzzle early in the main game but basic ones with a simple nice twist.) these are opened separately when you collect a certain increasing amount of flowers. When completed nice surprise on your main menu. - Extra bonus play, was in comletely new area had a couple of nice puzzles - Achievements - music unlocked - 3 mini videos (robots dancing around, and a hooded man dancing, and very short villian trying to dance but laughing at himself) at least it was a nice touch. - Usual concept art, wallpaper etc. Cons – Only 3 puzzles from the main are unlocked for replayability if all of them were unlocked it would have been great. Extra play was the shortest chapter (between 1hr and 15mins and 1hr and 30min) main chapters took me 2 hrs each.
Date published: 2012-02-26
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Amazing, just amazing. Elephant has set the bar pretty high in this game. Graphics are awesome, story is brilliant - can't comment on music as I always turn the music way down, just a preference. Intriguing that you have to walk away from some HOS without completing them due to an item not being in your inventory. That's right, some of the stuff you collect is actually required to be added to the HOS, what a clever idea! I was aware that I had to be red-hot about collecting the red flowers, but I still only found 59 out of 60 (ggrrrr). You fall about 10 flowers short at the end of the game - ah ha! The remaining flowers are in the bonus game! I don't quite see how that's going to work with the SE though, unless you get bonus play with that edition also. Forced myself to walk away at the end of each chapter - one way to prolong the pleasure of this game I guess, when what I REALLY wanted to do was stay at the computer and continue to follow each new development until I passed out from exhaustion. This is truly one of the best games I have played and in a few months I'll play it again - this time I'll find ALL those flowers!
Date published: 2012-02-07
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Played on Hardcore This appears to be an excellent game! The one thing that I disliked at first, was the fact that we were continually given hints, when we go into a magnifying glass scene. Further on though, as there may be more than one item in these places, it was handy! LOL! The game made me laugh in various pleaces, I will not say where to avoid any spoilers. Very, very clever game. I cannot understand some of the "expert" reviewers, playing on less than hardcore and then to say that it is not challenging! I can assure you, that, IMHO, it is! It will not be challenging, if you continuously use hints, will it? Or is that just me. I personally can say nothing, to seriously criticise this game. Excellent in every way! Thank you Dev's for the great interaction H0 scenes.
Date published: 2012-02-03
Rated 5 out of 5 by from WOW !!! Excellente New Generation of HOS Finally a game totally different from all others !!! An unmissable game !! A great investigation - where is or what happend to Bobby? - at amazing locations, in a suspenseful and immersive atmosphere. - Graphics are so perfect,... it seems that you are watching and interacting in a movie, with real people ! - Sound and voice over are outstanding and super appropriate to the scenes. - Impressive special effects. - Lot of interactive HOS, not too challenging, but very well done, colorful, clear, and really enjoyable. - Some things you collect throughout history, will use in HOS, or in locations further afield .- Hint fills fast. - Many mini games, some are challenging, others less. - Some funny scares along the way ... - Warning: Do not forget to collect the red flowers ... They'll give you bonus!
Date published: 2012-02-02
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Now This Is What I Would Call A Game - This ROCKS! This review is based on the whole game and playing in Advanced Mode. 4 chapters plus a bonus chapter. 3 play modes: Casual, Advance, Hardcore A map you can use to travel back/forth locations. Voice Overs and real characters. Integrated strategy guide which you chapter select and remains where you left it. HOS: (hidden object scenes): The usual word list however some of them you have to use inventory items to complete them, going to different areas of the game and then coming back to the HOS. Quite a few mini-game. Hint/Skip also charge up in about 30 seconds or less. The hint can also be used outside the HOS if you get lost in the game. There are MANY achievements to be earned. My overall impression of the game: I'll start with the top-notch intro movie with real characters along with voice overs; also the graphics as they are by far one of the best I've ever come across in a game. Just WOW as I can sure tell that there was some time and thought put into this game. I found that this game had quite a few different locations to go to traveling back/forth and the hint is just excellent if you do lose your way in the game. I didn't need the strategy guide since this has such an excellent hint system, however I did check it out just to see how it worked and I found it to be well done. I also enjoyed the HOS as the graphics were definitely nice, crisp, and clear and using inventory items for some of them in order to complete them. The mini games to my pleasant surprise as most of them were quite enjoyable, I also liked that this game had so many achievements that could be earned. As for game length: Though this is only 4 chapters plus a bonus well it's not a short game by any means, well at least not for me anyway as I got at least 6 hours if not longer out of it and I didn't skip a whole lot (puzzles) or use a lot of hints. So I definitely give this a 5 star rating and also every bit worth the CE price in my opinion. Thanks Big Fish and the developers of the game. This ROCKS! : )
Date published: 2012-02-05
Rated 5 out of 5 by from great fun game Has all you want in a game. Good graphics, music and voice over. The HOS are not hard and fun. The puzzles are pretty good. Has a good flow with yes lots of different areas to find thing in. Not a hard game just fun to play.
Date published: 2013-05-19
  • y_2020, m_11, d_23, h_16
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_3.0.12
  • cp_2, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_0, tr_180
  • loc_en_US, sid_13531, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=RATING, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=HELPFULNESS, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=FEATURED, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_bigfishgames

The Big Fish Guarantee:

Quality tested and virus free. No ads, no adware, no spyware.

Your Security and Privacy are important to us! Privacy Policy

, share your thoughts about this game!

Surface: Mystery of Another World Collector's Edition

After your son, Bobby, mysteriously disappears, it’s up to you to find him in Surface: The Mystery of Another World!

Heres what your review will look like once it’s posted.

Click Submit if you’re happy. Your review should appear soon. To make changes, use the Edit or Cancel buttons.

Thanks for sharing your thoughts about this game!

You’ve already shared your thoughts about this game.

Thanks for submitting the review below.