Aaron Crane: Paintings Come Alive

Aaron Crane: Paintings Come Alive

PC

Adventure

Play Now Download the free trial

This game will not work on your operating system.

Are you sure you want to download this game?

Free 1 hour trial

(187.90 MB)

By clicking "Play Now", I accept the Terms of Use and acknowledge that I have received the Privacy Policy. If this is your first time downloading a game from Big Fish, our handy Game Manager app will install on your computer to help manage your games.
Buy Now Get the full version70% OFF!

This game will not work on your operating system.

Are you sure you want to purchase it?

Full version game

$ 9.99 USD

Only $2.99 - use coupon NEW299

Find Aaron’s missing father and discover the meaning behind his eerie paintings in Aaron Crane: Paintings Come Alive! Aaron’s father paints spooky images from his subconscious and no one seems to know what they mean. Suddenly, he disappears and it’s up to Aaron to track him down! Finding an address on one of the paintings, Aaron has found his first clue and must now go on an amazing adventure in this incredible Hidden Object Puzzle Adventure game.

  • Explore eerie paintings
  • Scour gorgeous locations
  • Find Aaron’s missing father!

New customers get your first game for $2.99!*

70% OFF!

Use Coupon: NEW299

* Collector's Editions and free to play games not included.

Game System Requirements:

  • OS: Windows XP/Vista/Win7/8
  • CPU: 1.6 GHz
  • RAM: 512 MB
  • DirectX: 8.0
  • Hard Drive: 217 MB

Big Fish Games App System Requirements:

  • Browser: Internet Explorer 7 or later
Reviews at a Glance

Aaron Crane: Paintings Come Alive

0 out of 5 (0 ReviewsReview)
Average Rating:
Play Now Download the free trial

This game will not work on your operating system.

Are you sure you want to download this game?

Free 1 hour trial

(187.90 MB)

Buy Now Get the full version70% OFF!

This game will not work on your operating system.

Are you sure you want to purchase it?

Full version game

$ 9.99 USD

Only $2.99 - use coupon NEW299

Customer Reviews
Aaron Crane: Paintings Come Alive is rated 3.1 out of 5 by 104.
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Enchanting, original & crazy-fun... A lively pure adventure, the game is about figuring out how to use inventory to solve tasks at hand. Thus, few traditional puzzles & zero hogs (yay!). Thinking outside the box to solve quests is a fun & rewarding challenge. The game is not easy. It bursts with creativity, from the tasks we do to the magical creatures we meet. There may be a learning curve. Some tasks are kind of crazy: animals need our help, odd things need repairing, secrets need uncovering & so on. It's such fun! Though the main story hardly makes any sense, each chapter is compelling on its own. Music & graphics are good & the jigsaw paintings are beyond gorgeous. While to some it may seem short at 4+ hours IF no SG usage, it's a 1st-class escape into a fantastic dream world that I'd take any day over longer same-old. More like this, please.
Date published: 2012-02-29
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Loved this Adventure Game! Loved this as it's not a Hidden Object game, only thing I can criticize is it's not long enough!
Date published: 2012-02-28
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Good game. Very unusual. Some others said it was hard to figure out how to use the objects. I thought they were very logical and clever. Lots to figure out. Fun! Enjoy
Date published: 2012-02-24
Rated 5 out of 5 by from finally an adventure game I can do I'm so tired of all my adventure games where I get stuck and have to find walk throughs, strategy guides etc- usually to give up and find something easier. Here's a game that I was able to figure out fairly fast. Even though you do a few "unusual" things they are easy to figure out- a coin in the mailbox- the slot looks like a coin would fit...glad I gave this one a try and will probably buy it.
Date published: 2012-02-23
Rated 5 out of 5 by from What fun this was It took me a minute to catch on but once I did this game was a lot of fun. The graphics are a bit crude but that's okay. The puzzles aren't hard and there is a lot of running back and forth. But all it takes is a bit of logic and you will zip through.
Date published: 2012-02-23
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Good adventure game, put on your thinking cap I was not sure after reading some of the reviews, but less than 3 minutes in the game I knew I would definitely purchase this adventure game. Sure, it's not the hardest of games for seasoned adventure players, but it is somewhat challenging, plus I found it interesting. Storyline is there, you sort of "get it" as you progress. All in all no regrets. Puzzles are very easy, hint system works well not revealing too much, just a "hint" really, pushing you in the right direction, or making you scratch your head, and I liked that a lot. All in all, I call this game a nice little gem.
Date published: 2012-02-22
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Makes you have to think Over all excellent, its a game worth trying. This is something different. Way to many players complain about the same ole game constantly. Here it is and I hope some will be satisfied. I am, and thanks for making a difference, challenging us to think. Love it.
Date published: 2012-02-22
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Finally!!!! This is so great. Finally a game that makes you think. After the silliness of the last two days and all the same oh heres a screwdriver what will I do with that, its very nice to actually have to figure things out. The graphics are good the sound appropriately unobtrusive, and the gameplay...outstanding.The gameplay reminds me very much of Pahalika. (anyone remember that one)? One of my all time favs as I'm sure this one will also be.
Date published: 2012-02-22
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Wonderful, different and, yes, weird (but who says that's bad?) About 60 seconds into the demo, I knew I had to have it. The biggest challenge to this game is thinking, and you do, in fact, have to do a lot of that! I love the silence of this game, i.e., no speaking, barely any written words. The music adds a nice ambiance to the silence. I love the surprises. I don't find it frustrating to have to follow my own dots. And I don't find it boring to use logic, even if that logic is a bit illogical. One of the things I love the most is being able to play with the butterflies. Place your cursor just beneath any of the butterflies flutterbying about and see what happens. It adds no benefit to the game, but is a guaranteed smile moment. I agree with many of the other reviews... it is good to be forced to think for oneself. We too often take the easy way out. I'm glad we are being given a chance to do something for our mind as well as our funny bone. Give this an honest try. If you let go of all your preconceptions on how these games we love so much should be played, you might surprise yourself with this one.
Date published: 2012-02-22
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Adventure At Last! Oh my gosh! What a delight to have an actual adventure game! Thank you BFG, developers, programmers and artists! I love, love, love that I get to find my way around and figure things out without handholding. It’s been a long while since a game actually asked us to think, and I am here hopping with joy. The graphics are crisp, colorful, deeply saturated, bright, nicely detailed and lovely. The soundtrack has a beautiful score and very realistic sound effects. The game-play is seamless. The puzzles are original, entertaining and just a little challenging, without being at all frustrating. The scenery, puzzles and mini-games are internally consistent and logical. This game is lots of fun and a very welcome and refreshing change from most of the games we’ve had these last several months. I feel like a starving person who has been given a piece of cake. Please BFG, give us more adventure game like this one.
Date published: 2012-02-21
Rated 5 out of 5 by from OMG AND A LOL! I Give This 5 Stars Just For The Challenge! This review is based on the whole game. The story: Find Aaron’s missing father and discover the meaning behind his eerie paintings in Aaron Crane: Paintings Come Alive! Aaron’s father paints spooky images from his subconscious and no one seems to know what they mean. Suddenly, he disappears and it’s up to Aaron to track him down! The aim in each chapter which I believe were about 5 or 6 as I kinda lost count trying to figure the game out is to find a code to get through the portal to the next chapter. There is no choice in level of difficulty. There are some sparkles and/or a magnify glass for areas of interest. There is no journal or map. There are no voice overs, text on the screen to read. There are no HOS (hidden object scenes) There are puzzles Hint/Skip take about a couple of minutes to charge up for use. Now for my overall impression of this game: Well I was really drawn in by the story as i quite enjoyed it but I must say this game started off really rocky for me trying to figure out what to do and go next as I was about ready to give up after about 10 minutes I must confess but I stuck with it and once I got going which took me about another 5 to 10 minutes after this point I'm so glad I stuck with this game as I ended up really enjoying it. The graphics I found to be just excellent. Very well done here as they are nice, crisp, and clear. This is a game where you are just basically plopped down in an area and it's up to you to figure out how to move forward in the game. You have to carefully explore each area as you will acquire inventory items to use. The hint I did find somewhat helpful as it won't tell you step by step but just give a very vague hint. I also found the back/forth not to be all that much as it will state once an area has been cleared and nothing left to do. There's also some puzzles which I found to be pretty easy: Remember a code from a previous area to use at the portals, rotate the rings to form a picture, and jig saw puzzles. As for the length of the game it took me somewhere between 4 and 5 hours and I found that to be long enough. You may or may not finish it sooner than me if you decide to stick with this game. Overall, well I can't help but to give this 5 stars as this is definitely one of the most challenging and thinky games I've ever played to date. Oh but I must say and a note to the Big Fish here: I'm not sure why this game is listed under hidden object games as there are no hidden object scenes to this game. Not even ONE! This I would definitely consider an adventure game. As for recommending this game: If you are one who likes to "figure it out" with little to no hints well I think this just may be the game. If you are one looking for clearer instructions and a hidden object game well I think you will be disappointed. Thanks Big Fish and developers for one of the most challenging games I've ever played.
Date published: 2012-02-21
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Relaxing for me I bought it yesterday and play game twice. For me, this is relaxing game. Before buying, I played demo and almost finished second level :-). It's easy and not long game. I didn't use skip or hint button, but it is challenging enough. Back and forth is what I don't like in this game. I don't like fact that game start over when game is ended. Isn't possible to choose which level I want to play when game is over. And also you must start level from beginning if you choose to exit game.
Date published: 2018-01-01
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Adventure game Before we start this is not a HOG it is an adventure game, anyone wanting a HOG will be disappointed. I have only just started playing adventure games and found this to be really easy, why others have said they have got lost is beyond me. I have found Nancy Drew and Syberia too hard for me, being a novice myself but found Age of Enigma, Azada: In Libra and Red Crow Mysteries (the last one being list as a HOG, which it is not) to be just right for my level of play. I would only recommend this game to novice adventurers and anyone who wants a really relaxing game, hard core adventurers don't bother.
Date published: 2015-01-28
Rated 4 out of 5 by from I like this one but more of an adventure and not an HOG You travel around between different places solving puzzles to discover various zodiac symbols that are used to retrieve pieces of a jigsaw puzzle that is used at the end to finish the game. There are a lot of objects to be found and used throughout the game. I was able to complete the game dispite some labeling glitches where words were superimposed on other words. There are no voiceovers, map, journal and very few directions to figure out what needs to be done but most tasks are fairly easy to determine. There is a hint button but I didn't need it. The graphics were usually nice scenic shots often with animals or other characters that you interact with. I especially liked the fat little penguin. The game was ok.
Date published: 2014-07-26
Rated 4 out of 5 by from No Map, no handholding....you're on your own....YES!!!! I just chanced upon this game and boy was it like a lucky dip! Totally enjoyed this one! Not really that hard it is simple enough to figure out what to do next -your mind just need to think a bit which is what I like in a game. Lots of mixed reviews on this one and fair enough - it is listed as HO but there is no HOS at all it's more of Adventure. Tick all the boxes for me - No VO, no map, no clues (there is a hint button but I hardly used it) no hand holding....finally a game which lets you play and figure out what to do instead of leading you each step of the way. More of this please BF cos this is what gaming is about. Give this a try you might actually enjoy it.
Date published: 2012-10-25
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Easy, but entertaining I really don't see why anyone would want to give this game a bad review, especially not for being "too difficult" or "impossible to understand". Those people should learn to use their brains and try to tackle Myst or Lighthouse to get an understanding of what "difficult" means. In fact, I found this game to be very easy. Everything is straightforward and linear, the puzzles are on the easy side, objects are absolutely not hard to find and it is very clear what you should do with them. Moreover, some of the puzzles keep coming back, which is something I do not appreciate in a game. It shows a lack of creativity on the dev's side. The graphics of the game are not elaborate, maybe even a bit too simple and naive, but still, they are crisp and sharp, with beautiful colour saturation. In some locations, real photographs have been mixed with the digital imagery. The soundtrack is OK and doesn't get tiresome. There is not much of a storyline: you enter an environment and have to execute a series of tasks in order to discover a code consisting of three zodiac symbols with which you can unlock a portal to the next environment. With every step, you receive a shard of a mirror which you have to piece together at the end of the game to free your father from the mirror. And that's it. As I have said before, there is nothing extremely difficult to finding out what you have to do, and if you are really stuck, just hit the hint button, which will do what it is expected to do, namely to give you a hint... nothing more or less. It doesn't spoil the game by telling you what to do next or by showing you where to go to... no, you just get a suggestion - a hint - to help you back on track. My conclusion: although it is an easy game, you are in for some hours of brainwork... no mindless clicking away in junkpiles searching for lists of hidden objects... just some logic thinking, which is what I expect to get from an adventure game. I would have given the game three stars, but I give it four stars to counter the negative criticism it unjustly got from others.
Date published: 2012-08-04
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Challenging, but not too hard I liked this game all right. I think it was just enough challenge. I only had trouble on one puzzle that I didn't understand what to do to solve it. I used the hint about three or four times throughout the game, and I found it very helpful when I needed it. I thought it was a bit short though. We need more games like this!
Date published: 2012-07-11
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Fun change of pace I really enjoyed the game and unlike other reviewers I did not find it difficult at all. The art theme was interesting and the game flowed nicely. I have been playing hidden object games for awhile now and I like that they are tending towards the adventure genre. This one, however, is a return to the adventure game. Don't be put off by people who think it it too hard. It is just different from seek and find. My only complaint was that it was too short. I finished it in one day. I would play more games like this.
Date published: 2012-06-02
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Nice Challenge I love games that offer a challenge and this one did at the beginning. No instructions but once you figure out the setup of how they do things it was actually quite easy. Hints will not hold your hand step by step but will provide direction. If you have visited all the windows in an area and then hit the hint without being in the place you need a hint (yes i know crazy but was fun)it actually gave you the hint you needed. Such as *goto portal something is there*, it became very simple, bascily find one object use it get another then goto spot to use it, get another, etc. Have patience and just think thru the logic of it, its really quite easy and i did enjoy it. If u need the game to tell you each step to make this is not for you, but if you want to figure on your own, go for it. Great game 4 stars cause not long enough.
Date published: 2012-03-29
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Simple Puzzle Game I don't understand the 3 stars. Perhaps people who prefer HOGs didn't like it. I only play games with HOS because that's all they've been making. This is a very simple game of find the items to solve little puzzles with a few traditional puzzles thrown in. It isn't as sophisticated as Safecracker. It is pretty easy to move along and figure out what to do. Everything sparkles and there are highlights telling you what's missing. I didn't need a walkthrough to help me with any of the puzzles.
Date published: 2012-03-03
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Had fun I thought this game was fun. I like to not get directions and have to figure out a board, but it was a bit easy. It would have been better if it was a little harder.
Date published: 2012-03-01
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Fun Adventure Game It took me 20 minutes to get into game. Almost gave up a couple times but then would find what I needed and kept going. I am glad I did. Only played the demo and will likely buy whole game. It was challenging but not fustrating. If you can get through the first level you start to figure out how the clues and different objects work for the following areas. I actually found it very enjoyable and relaxing to solve the various puzzles. Thank you Big Fish for finding a new twist on the standard games.
Date published: 2012-02-26
Rated 4 out of 5 by from old School adventure game. Makes a nice change. I enjoyed this game. Made a nice change from the games I've been playing of late which all seem to be very similar...reminiscent of the way the games were before they got so sophisticated and user friendly (sadly making them a little too easy)...would recommend people give it a go and persevere with it...they might be pleasantly surprised and enjoy having to really use their brains for a change.
Date published: 2012-02-25
Rated 4 out of 5 by from aaron crane Paintings come alive Hard at first till I figured it out to look for arrows to another scene...but caught on,...I like the backgrounds
Date published: 2012-02-24
Rated 4 out of 5 by from LOVE the Weirdness but soooo short. :( Clearly from all the reviews this is a love it or hate it sort of game and I am solidly in the LOVE category. Maybe most of the players don't remember the old days of Adventure Games where you did not get hints or directions and nothing was ever obvious. This definitely brought me back to those days and the delicious, "Ah HA!" when something clicks in your head because you've figured it out for yourself. The graphics were pretty raw and mismatched but clear and the music was pleasant. I played this with a migraine and at no point was light or sound an issue. Weird endorsement to be sure but true! :D The mini-game type puzzles were pretty easy but the Inventory Logic Puzzles were not and took some thinking to work out. I did get stuck enough once to resort to the walk-through. My two complaints, the first minor, was how to move about was confusing. Sometimes arrows at the side, sometimes top and bottom, sometimes zoomed in, but terrain did not make it clear which it would be. The second complaint is serious. VERY VERY SHORT. I completed in less than 2 hours. I had almost finished the 4th of the 6 chapters when the demo ran out. That's the reason, plus less than stellar graphics, for the 4 rather than 5 stars. This game with more polish and a couple more chapters would get a resounding 5 from me. I ADORED how quirky it was with all the odd beasties and strange tasks. It seems that games are being churned out by a machine these days so something standing on it's own two oddly shaped feet is a great change. Even though I knew it was going to be very short I decided I wanted to support a company that didn't put out same old same old and bought it. It was lovely to challenge those logic circuits again and have a laugh doing it! ;)
Date published: 2012-02-23
Rated 4 out of 5 by from fun but too short hidden object game completed game in two to three hours. if i had known it would be so quick i would not have bought it.
Date published: 2012-02-23
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Short but enjoyable I won't go into detail as many other reviewers have already done that (better than I could) This is not a HOG in the usual sense and I wouldn't really call it an Adventure game! It took me a while to work out what I was meant to be doing so it would have been nice to have a bit of a tutorial at the begining. I liked that when an area had nothing left in it to find or do there was an 'area clear' message and this was needed because an area still sparkled even if it was finished with. The puzzles were simple enough and certainly the longer I played the easier it was to work out what to do. The game is quite short and each 'painting' event has the same format - there is no real story. I enjoyed it.
Date published: 2012-02-22
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Unpredictable I really enjoyed this game - I gave it four stars instead of five because there were no HO scenes and the puzzles were a tad too easy. However, the level of challenge in figuring out what in the world you need to do was intriguing (reminded me of 'Green Moon' in that you don't get much help, and some of the 'reasoning' is abstract...but this game was easier than Green Moon) There are several characters you come across and interact with, yet there is no rhyme or reason (or storyline) telling you why they are there! LOL! I thought it was terribly amusing and it is refreshing that the developers didn't make this another 'formula' game. I appreciated the challenge of obscurity and an excuse to swear now and again : D Don't get me wrong, I am not saying this game makes no sense - It does make sense but you need to play for a bit before you start to get a feel for it. Give it a chance - Once you do, you will most likely have some fun breaking your brain! I'm keeping this one in the Game Manager as a possible purchase.
Date published: 2012-02-22
Rated 4 out of 5 by from NO HANDHOLDING---BUT NOT TOO HARD Finally, an adventure game I can play without a walk-through right next to me! I like playing a game without a lot of sparkles, for a change. As a intermediate player, I found this game challenging, but fun. It is a little odd---like the penguin--but fun. I am not frustrated as I was in playing amerzone, myst, casebook,etc.Those games I could never figure out!!!
Date published: 2012-02-22
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Good Game I think this is a challenging, thought-provoking game. I don't find the lack of help an issue - I haven't needed to use the help button. All of the active areas sparkle when your cursor passes over them. Figuring out what needs to be done requires some thought, but that's why I play games. The absence of HO scenes doesn't take away from the story at all, and the dream-like quality of the Aaron Crane games is refreshingly different. I recommend this game and will be buying the full version.
Date published: 2012-02-21
  • y_2019, m_6, d_23, h_15
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_2.0.12
  • cp_2, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_0, tr_104
  • loc_en_US, sid_13697, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=RATING, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=HELPFULNESS, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=FEATURED, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_bigfishgames

The Big Fish Guarantee:

Quality tested and virus free. No ads, no adware, no spyware.

Your Security and Privacy are important to us! Privacy Policy

, share your thoughts about this game!

Aaron Crane: Paintings Come Alive

Find Aaron’s missing father and discover the meaning behind his eerie paintings in Aaron Crane: Paintings Come Alive!

Heres what your review will look like once it’s posted.

Click Submit if you’re happy. Your review should appear soon. To make changes, use the Edit or Cancel buttons.

Thanks for sharing your thoughts about this game!

You’ve already shared your thoughts about this game.

Thanks for submitting the review below.