The Surprising Adventures of Munchausen

The Surprising Adventures of Munchausen

PC

Also available on

Puzzle

Play Now Download the free trial

This game will not work on your operating system.

Are you sure you want to download this game?

Free 1 hour trial

(304.92 MB)

By clicking "Play Now", I accept the Terms of Use and acknowledge that I have received the Privacy Policy. If this is your first time downloading a game from Big Fish, our handy Game Manager app will install on your computer to help manage your games.
Buy Now Get the full version70% OFF!

This game will not work on your operating system.

Are you sure you want to purchase it?

Full version game

$ 9.99 USD

Only $2.99 - use coupon NEW299

The Heart of the Kingdom has been destroyed and now it’s up to Munchausen to save the day in The Surprising Adventures of Munchausen! With the light and prosperity of his kingdom gone, the king has no choice but to marry his daughter to an unknown stranger in exchange for a huge sum of money. Sensing the stranger’s evil, she writes to Munchausen who must now stop the wedding in The Surprising Adventures of Munchausen!

New customers get your first game for $2.99!*

70% OFF!

Use Coupon: NEW299

* Collector's Editions and free to play games not included.

Game System Requirements:

  • OS: Windows XP/Vista/Win7/8
  • CPU: 1.6 GHz
  • RAM: 1024 MB
  • DirectX: 9.0
  • Hard Drive: 373 MB

Big Fish Games App System Requirements:

  • Browser: Internet Explorer 7 or later
Reviews at a Glance

The Surprising Adventures of Munchausen

0 out of 5 (0 ReviewsReview)
Average Rating:
Play Now Download the free trial

This game will not work on your operating system.

Are you sure you want to download this game?

Free 1 hour trial

(304.92 MB)

Buy Now Get the full version70% OFF!

This game will not work on your operating system.

Are you sure you want to purchase it?

Full version game

$ 9.99 USD

Only $2.99 - use coupon NEW299

Customer Reviews
The Surprising Adventures of Munchausen is rated 3.7 out of 5 by 235.
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Disappointing length of game I really like this type of animation. A very pleasant change from the darker games. Loved the graphics and was really into the game. Yes, the tavern part was a challenge. I would purchase more like it. Imagine my extreme surprise and disappointment when that was the end of the game. I practically had it completed within the l hr trial time. Felt this was a disservice to your members as it was not worth the $6.99 charge. Those who purchased it should get a refund or at least a free credit.
Date published: 2012-03-08
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Fantastic game with a sense of humor I love it! What I really like is when the character says something different several times and the hints really work. Oh please hurry and give us another game like this ASAP Game developer. The graphics are lush,colorful, and large size. The voices are perfectly done. No puzzles are the same and the puzzles are a hoot to boot there was only one I got stuck on in the bar and I knew what to do but forgot the simpliest thing. I laughed so hard at that puzzle. This game I would give 10 stars if I could. If you like games to make you laugh this is it.
Date published: 2012-02-23
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Excellent fun I loved this game for the graphics, quirky main character and the different things to do from the usual games. This game was fun and made you think in order to work things out. The very different mini games kept attention and the only thing wrong - it is way too short. I bought the game and played it through 4 times and enjoyed that but the games were the same - perhaps should have had random and different objects in some areas. A nice, fun game with challenges.
Date published: 2012-02-22
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Sold after 5 minutes of play this is a refreshing game with beautiful graphics, sound, and rolling scenes. the story is cute and sweet. no skip on the puzzles but if you give it a chance, it is really rewarding. must have this year. enjoy!
Date published: 2012-02-22
Rated 5 out of 5 by from A very nice game for adults and children I found this game very amusing. I love a good adventure game and normally hidden object games not so much. This is a different game with hidden objects, mini games and puzzles that are not too obvious. We played this game together with our children of five and seven. They loved it too. The hidden objects are not like the normal ones but with making combinations. A real different approach!
Date published: 2012-02-21
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Loved This Game! Wonderful gameplay. I really enjoyed the interactive "solutions" games; they were really challenging! I played in Expert Mode...had to use the Hint button more than a couple of times. It's a fairly short game, with a teaser about a sequel to save another kingdome - BRING IT ON!!! Can't wait!
Date published: 2012-02-21
Rated 5 out of 5 by from More, please. I agree that the game was too short but it was so different and so entertaining. I was hooked with the first motion puzzle and purchased the game. I want to encourage the game developers with more games of this series, however, with more game play next time.
Date published: 2012-02-21
Rated 5 out of 5 by from The Suprising Adventures of Manchausen Manchausen is an amusing character.The game employs matching ,going from one screen to another and logic.Also if you do something that is not fesible the character lets you know in no uncertain terms.Played it less than 60 minutes and knew I would buy it.My husband saw me playing it.He even says it's a cool game. It is!!!!
Date published: 2012-02-20
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great fun for the Children This was a very good little fun packed game as you know your mr Muchausen a very funny man if you get things wrong he can be a bit cheecky as well in a good way.for me this is for 5 years and upwards the sound and graphics are very good,i was cut of with 17 mints still to play mybe that was just me did any body ellls have this happen to them?, i would buy this if you have small children. they will have a great time playing this game.
Date published: 2012-02-19
Rated 5 out of 5 by from A Different Hidden Object Game Just the kind of game I love--- light-hearted and with more variety than an ordinary hidden object game. Lets have more of this amusing fare.
Date published: 2012-02-19
Rated 5 out of 5 by from LOVED IT!!!!! This has to be one of the most addictive, fun games ever.... WELL DONE. Definately buying this game!!!! The graphics are excellent an the story line. What I like is it is totally different from all the other kinda HOG.
Date published: 2012-02-19
Rated 5 out of 5 by from What a gem Logic meets Incredible Machine meets Adventure meets HOG. Game was pure fun - not SUPER challenging (yet) but just fun. There are new type puzzles and old type puzzles, but all the old type puzzles had a new wrapping. I didn't even mind the find the differences puzzle, and I don't ever like those. Lets see, there was a slider puzzle, a logic puzzle, a comparison puzzle, an association puzzle, progression puzzle, a HOG and a story of a Princess being sacrificed to save the kingdom. What more can you ask?
Date published: 2012-02-19
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Well done! This is a lot of fun! Storyline is simple, but that's fine - the fun comes in figuring out what to do. The HOGs are so much better than the typical hunt and find; you actually have to think about associating different articles together. Loved the pigeon! That was enough to tell me this was going to be a different kind of game. Getting Munchausen out of the tree was tricky enough to make me think, then laugh when I got it done. Munchausen always has something interesting to say if you aren't doing something right, and for once, I don't even mind the voices. Gotta recommend this game, and definitely a buy for me! Really enjoyed the demo, and want to find out what happens next!
Date published: 2012-02-19
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Very well made game Love this game even though it's so different to what I usually play, it's not as easy as it first appears but I am playing on the harder choice of game play. In parts it really makes me laugh and I have already bought it, Sorry my reviews aren't anywhere near as good as lots of fishes write on here but I just wanted to say how much I am enjoying this game
Date published: 2012-02-19
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Brilliant! Every moment a treasure! An absolute gem. An astounding amount of imagination and detail went into making this game. I adore puzzles especially when there is the right balance of challenge, logic and fun. They need to blend with and enhance the story. There needs to be challenge but it shouldn't get annoying and the answer should seem obvious as soon as you figure it out. This game succeeds at all of that while pulling you into a delightful, colorful and witty world. A world where the hero can ask for a loaded cannon, a cat, a fishing pole and a model sailing ship while still making perfect sense. I was a little worried that my dear old fictional friend would be mistreated. But no, the developers stayed true to the outrageous tall tales of Baron Munchausen and filled this story with the same sort of comical braggadocio. The art style works well with this 18th century story. The voice-overs are near perfect. The wizard sounds a bit like a grandfather reading the parts in his "evil villain" voice which makes this fairy tale cozy from the beginning. Honestly, I could just go on and on. Every aspect of this game is beautifully crafted. If I had to find a flaw, it would be the length because I didn't want it to end. I have played games which were twice as long but much of that was filler, repetitive tasks, reworked mini-games and a lot of boredom. Every single minute of this game was just pure fun. I can't wait for the sequel!
Date published: 2012-02-20
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Humorous Fun Game -- Way to Short Fun game, but it was way too short. Nice clear graphics and cleverly hidden objects, in some scenes. I liked the way the actual Hidden Object scenes were set up; find items by picture and match items by association. No sneakers were needed for this game. I totally enjoyed the place-in-sequence mini-games. You need to place several items in exact locations for an action scene to properly function. Hopefully the Developer will make more games like this, but make them longer to justify pricing.
Date published: 2012-02-20
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Giving fun a chance! Despite of the humorous storyline this game is away from "always the same HOS-style". These HOS are presenting matching objects with clues and the player has to use his wits to find the counterpart, also funny ones. The minigames too are based upon the players ideas of working out the correct order of movements. The items are always clearly painted, but not always easy to find, often with combinations within the picture. Sometimes there are necessary moves backwards to previous scene to find some items, but no steadily running around. Items generally are divided mostly into two or more parts. If there are some of previous or next scenes they are marked so as well. It's definitely none with creepy scenes, but only for using the brain, relaxing and smiling as well. I would wish more games with this way of making. A really gorgeous game, but could be larger. But nevertheless I'm looking very much forward to a sequel!
Date published: 2012-02-19
Rated 5 out of 5 by from I Want More Like This What a riot!!!! I honestly wasn't going to even try it . . . looked too amateurish (?). So, nothing else to do but housework, no other interesting looking games, nothing on tv . . tried it and I am happy I did. Totally different concept than the other HOGs. And, trying to figure out a sequence of events just added more delight to this totally endearing game. My only complaint . . . . WAY WAY WAY too short.
Date published: 2012-02-19
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Developers Hit Again! Very Humorous Game. Completely different from most games, which are about "suspense, fear, fright",... this game is done with plenty of humor. The king wants his daughter to marry a strange and evil man, who offers a lot of money to the kingdom. Desperate, she calls Munchausen to help her. When he enters the scene, you begin to have great fun! Have fun helping him to come down from a tree ... or when he needs something that is with a pigeon! (He did not throw a rock as in other games!) - Funny storyline, crisp and colorful graphics, very good sound. - Voice over is great - sometimes sounds serious and concentrate, or sweet and calm as in a fairy tale...and sometimes, ironic and funny (like Munchausen's voice). HOS are very different, actually are "associations" - a sidebar with objects that you'll match with another in the scene, as "dice and playing cards", or "hedgehog and cactus", etc. Mini games are new and entertaining. It has some known, but with "something" more! I played only demo, but it was enough to know that this game is amusing, entertaining and greatly well done.
Date published: 2012-02-19
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Fun Game The graphics are bright ,cheery and just nice to look at. Game on the whole was quirky & charming fun it made me laugh.Different to other HOGS Ive played.A wonderful diversion would like to see more like this.Only down side a game this fun needs to be longer.
Date published: 2012-02-20
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Surprising Indeed! I played the demo of the game, it appears to be the first chapter. This game is a refreshing change of pace. There are standard elements, find pieces of a magic stone, some travel between scenes, find the pieces of the puzzle so you can move forward. The surprise is how you accomplish the tasks. There are mechanical puzzles and logic puzzles as well as some standard ones too. The graphics are good, slightly cartoonish but in a good fairy tail kind of way. They remind me of illustrations in a story, and the game feels like a story, so far. Again, I only finished the demo chapter. I have made my purchase and I am glad to have a different kind of game to play this weekend. I was getting very tired of all the dark games, both in storyline and in colors used, or actually lack of colors. This is a standard edition and can be purchased this weekend on the President's Day Sale! Thank you Big Fish!
Date published: 2012-02-19
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Fun Hidden Object game that is different from others This is a fun, hidden object adventure game which offers something different from the same old games we have been getting lately. It is funny and light hearted. Definitely recommend it
Date published: 2012-02-20
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Much needed originality & fun in game- but shame on developers for game length I gave 5 stars for the game play alone, because I would like to encourage other developers from making light, fun, whimsical games like this one. I think that the gameplay is in line with the fantastic & amazing Munchausen adventsures in the 1988 movie. I liked Munchausen's voiceover when using items (and wrongly using items), the morphing of buildings & scenery from one scene to the next, and the original puzzles. This is not a traditional HO. There are "association" puzzles where you match an item to something that is somehow associated with that object. There are also "motion" puzzles where you have to determine which items in your inventory to place where in order for a mouse-trap/domino type effect to create your end goal. It's original and fun! However, everyone's right... this game isn't just a little short, it's shamefully short! Come on, Joy Bits.... spend a little more money for more game time, and you'll find that more people will purchase your game and not just play the demo. If Joy Bits doesn't listen, I sure hope other developers do. Please please please... invest in more games like this one and not the same ol' dark-supernatural-ghost-save your sister/child-stuff that's been done to death.
Date published: 2012-02-23
Rated 5 out of 5 by from What A Hoot ! Well first let me say I was beginning to wonder if this game was ever going to be released and let me say it was well worth the wait. This game is so fun and it's different and it's fresh and it keeps you laughing with the tongue and cheek humor I think I have laughed the whole time I've been playing. The story is really cute and the graphics are beautiful and the voice overs are very well done honestly I can't find one negative thing to say about this game. I played the demo only long enough to make sure it was going to run well and I was quick to hit the money button and I definitely feel I got my money's worth with this one I don't know when I've had this much fun with a game I have to make myself stop playing. The puzzles are really neat some easy but all are just fun. This is a wonderful game for anyone adult or child you can't go wrong with this one it's absolutely awesome and I highly recommend this one at least try the demo if nothing else. Awesome game ! Thank you dev's and Big Fish for this game.
Date published: 2012-02-19
Rated 5 out of 5 by from A game with a difference I was thoroughly enjoying the demo but was disappointed that I finished in easy mode 20 mins. No skipping, no hints. I checked the walkthrough for length and was disappointed to note the remaining game play. 1 hour 30 mins approx? Sorry but I am not even sure I'd pay DD prices for such a short game. There was lots of potential to make this game great but it's just not worth any money for the length. My ratings are given on the demo which really was great and I'll recommend the game even if it is just to demo something different.
Date published: 2012-02-19
Rated 5 out of 5 by from I love anything to do with Baron Munchausen During the game when making mistakes the Baron can become a bit demanding and this is a little annoying but anyone familiar with Baron Munchausen, It is not far off of his portrayed personality. It shows much of what the Baron would talk about in his long winded tales. In this game you need to think outside the box a bit. This game is very different and a lot of fun. Highly Recommended!
Date published: 2012-02-22
Rated 5 out of 5 by from too short of a game way too short for the price otherwise it was fun
Date published: 2012-02-20
Rated 5 out of 5 by from wonder game so much fun I just love games where you have to think, this one is it... but it is way too short of a game. wish it would be longer playing. YOU DID A GREAT JOB with this one ...come on now. do more and make them longer
Date published: 2020-01-27
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Surprisingly good! I think it's kind of sad that I enjoyed this game a lot more than Key to Ravenhearst. I purchased this game years ago and finally got around to playing it. The art is a little more cartoony than I normally go for, but the music was really pleasant and the puzzles very challenging on expert mode with a good variety. Although the storyline is pretty light, it's very whimsical and colourful, and it's a shame that there isn't a credit for the voice actor of the Baron, because he added a lot to the game. Note that this game is a little buggy and some of the items that you collect may disappear. This happened to me, but I just restarted the game and finished on the second try.
Date published: 2018-01-05
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Unexpected Treasure This game was an unexpected treasure to me. I discovered it by chance, purchased it and haven't been sorry one second! Not only hidden object (in this game you have to combine objects with others by association) but also very interesting puzzles Where you really should put on your thinking cap. I've enjoyed this game very much and certainly recommend to play it, even if it's an oldie!
Date published: 2017-12-30
  • y_2021, m_9, d_25, h_20
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_3.0.19
  • cp_2, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_0, tr_235
  • loc_en_US, sid_13710, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=RATING, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=HELPFULNESS, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=FEATURED, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_bigfishgames

The Big Fish Guarantee:

Quality tested and virus free. No ads, no adware, no spyware.

Your Security and Privacy are important to us! Privacy Policy

, share your thoughts about this game!

The Surprising Adventures of Munchausen

The Heart of the Kingdom has been destroyed and now it’s up to Munchausen to save the day in this fun Hidden Object game!

Heres what your review will look like once it’s posted.

Click Submit if you’re happy. Your review should appear soon. To make changes, use the Edit or Cancel buttons.

Thanks for sharing your thoughts about this game!

You’ve already shared your thoughts about this game.

Thanks for submitting the review below.