Dark Strokes: Sins of the Father Collector's Edition
Exclusive

Dark Strokes: Sins of the Father Collector's Edition

PC

Also available on

Hidden Object

Play Now Download the free trial

This game will not work on your operating system.

Are you sure you want to download this game?

Free sample version

(332.98 MB)

By clicking "Play Now", I accept the Terms of Use and acknowledge that I have received the Privacy Policy. If this is your first time downloading a game from Big Fish, our handy Game Manager app will install on your computer to help manage your games.
Buy Now Get the full version

This game will not work on your operating system.

Are you sure you want to purchase it?

Full version game

$ 19.99 USD

$ 13.99 USD or 2 credits

Guide Ethan Black as he attempts to rescue his bride-to-be from a terrifying menace known as the Faceless Ones in Dark Strokes: Sins of the Fathers! When Evil comes for the people you love, what will you do? That moment of reckoning has arrived for Ethan Black and he needs your help! Guide Ethan in this Hidden Object Puzzle Adventure game as he explores a decimated city, searches for clues, and peels back the layers of a chilling supernatural mystery in Dark Strokes: Sins of the Fathers!

This is a special Collector's Edition release full of exclusive extras you won’t find in the standard version. As a bonus, Collector's Edition purchases count toward three stamps on your Monthly Game Club Punch Card!

The Collector’s Edition includes:

  • Bonus gameplay
  • Integrated Strategy Guide
  • Concept Art

Game System Requirements:

  • OS: Windows XP/Vista/Win7/8
  • CPU: 1.8 GHz
  • RAM: 512 MB
  • DirectX: 9.0
  • Hard Drive: 682 MB

Big Fish Games App System Requirements:

  • Browser: Internet Explorer 7 or later
Reviews at a Glance

Dark Strokes: Sins of the Father Collector's Edition

0 out of 5 (0 ReviewsReview)
Average Rating:
Play Now Download the free trial

This game will not work on your operating system.

Are you sure you want to download this game?

Free sample version

(332.98 MB)

Buy Now Get the full version

This game will not work on your operating system.

Are you sure you want to purchase it?

Full version game

$ 19.99 USD

$ 13.99 USD or 2 credits

Customer Reviews
Dark Strokes: Sins of the Father Collector's Edition is rated 4.6 out of 5 by 204.
Rated 5 out of 5 by from intersting storyline this game is interesting. the storyline is awesome. graphics are fantastic.the strategy guide was very helpful
Date published: 2012-08-16
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Wonderful Adventure This was a really fun game with a really creepy environment! I loved it! Great puzzles with a decent balence between HOS and other puzzles (sometimes other games just do HOS after HOS and it gets old). It was a real treat!
Date published: 2012-08-05
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Excellent game Just fulfils all the criteria for an excellent adventure game. Story moves along very well, each 'chapter' fairly self-contained so you don't have to keep going back to different scenes. Puzzle games are good and reasonably challenging. If I had a tiny criticism it is that there are perhaps too many hidden object games, but items are easy to find.
Date published: 2012-08-03
Rated 5 out of 5 by from wonderful! It is a real pleasure to play this game!
Date published: 2012-07-23
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Dark Strokes: Sins of the Father's Collector's Edition What can I say! Absolutely stunning game! Qbee
Date published: 2012-07-18
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Entertaining This is one of the best game I ever have played, and I have played very many during the years. I live everything about the game!!
Date published: 2012-07-18
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Don't Miss This One! I was very pleased with Dark Strokes. The puzzles were great, the graphics were beautiful, and the story was cohesive and genuinely interesting. The extra game play on the collector's edition (without giving too much away) has kind of a neat twist, regarding the perspective you play from. I think a lot of time and creative effort was put into this one, and I would definitely recommend it.
Date published: 2012-07-13
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Just as good second time round! Have just finished playing this great game for the second time, and it was just as enjoyable. Artwork: 100%. The expressions on people's faces must be the envy of all other artists. HO scenes were jumbled but very clear. Puzzles: no real challenge, but not dull, just not the "tear your hair out" type, helps to jog the story along as not too much time spent on them. Music: consistantly pleasant and unobtrusive. Storyline was good, and carried well in the game. Hints: Very good. Fast filling, point you in the right direction when stuck. There is a strategy guide but because of the pointer hints, I never needed to use it. Length: Very good, worthy of CE price. One of the few 100% good games :)
Date published: 2012-07-13
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Awesome! This game was awesome! I loved everything :) The HO games were perfect, I like the HO scenes to have to do something in order to find an object..."finding a rose in a bottle, you have to break the bottle first with something"...I love that! It was hard! I had to use the hint button, which I hate :( And the bonus chapter was great too. I wish all games could be like this. The only problem is that I finish them to quick, because I get hooked! So make longer ones LOL Well well done!!!! Recommend to those who like a challenge!
Date published: 2012-07-11
Rated 5 out of 5 by from TOP-NOTCH Entertainment! Hands down one of the best HOG/Adventure games I've played. DS: Sins of the Father has it all: Atmospheric and Dramatic Music: Often I read here that people turn down the music, and I can't imagine doing that... especially if the game is this good. The music MAKES a game sometimes, because it adds excitement and drama to the action. This soundtrack was perfect: a blend of melancholy, sadness, fright, suspense, and action. Sound Effects: Outstanding... everything from nautical sounds of ropes, creaking wood, waves, sea birds, storms, waterfalls, etc. Cut Scenes: Some of the very best I have seen here on Big Fish. I've been a customer for 2.5 years now and own lots of games. Truly one of the best. Story: Superb! Engrossing and nicely dished out bit by bit to keep you guessing. Thumbs way up on this category!!! Graphics: Outstanding! One example of how professionally done this game was...in many scenes, you are focused on a particular area, but in the forefront (but NOT distractingly or annoyingly) there are blurred bits of scenery. For example , a banner of waving multi-colored flags is in the forefront while you are looking at a scene in the middle of a town. SO nicely done! The game's main story ends at the end of the SE, but the CE bonus story is such a cool addition! Not TOO many new scenes added, but still quite a lot of fun. You MUST play this game!
Date published: 2012-07-10
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Best of the best!!! What can I say!! This has to be the best HOG that Big Fish has ever offered. The graphics were just beautiful. The cut scenes were incredible. The characters were perfectly drawn. They seemed so real. (If one could have a crush on a anime character, it would be Ethan.) The music was inspiring. The games were not too difficult. Although I figured out the ending long before the game finished, there is a plot twist in the end. I wish the map was interactive, but actually it was not necessary. You had to go back and forth but you never had to go more than two or three scenes and they were all related. Some of the hidden objects were hard to find. They were either very small or hidden in a very dark area. But overall, I loved the game and plan on playing it again. I have the CE. The strategy guide remains where you leave off, a nice touch. Just started to play the bonus game and it plays like the main game. It gives you insight into the past, which is nice. Overall, I am very glad that I have the game. I think you will be too.
Date published: 2012-07-07
Rated 5 out of 5 by from if you've never played HOPAs before, THIS is the game you want in this hidden object puzzle mystery, you are Ethan Black. you and your soon-to-be bride, Clair, have postponed your wedding and have just arrived in your hometown to visit your father, a prominent judge, on short notice. suddenly, Clair disappears, kidnapped by a violent group known as "the Faceless Ones". as you uncover clues to Clair's disappearance, you discover your father is next on the list: this group has targeted him for murder -- why? you also find that Clair and your father are somehow connected; but how? in this stunning game of the supernatural, your task is to locate and rescue Clair and your father before it's too late. graphics: absolutely stunning. the artwork is beautifully detailed, carefully designed and includes some scenes with truly innovative angles. the hidden object scenes are interactive, the objects are crisp, not fuzzy, and the scenes are fun -- challenging but not TOO difficult. this game is so well-planned: i especially love how the objects that are added to your inventory "tell" you what you should be doing next. there are almost as many puzzles and mini-games as hidden objects scenes -- just the way i like it! further, it's not difficult to figure out what is the goal for each of these puzzles but at least some of them are novel and they do require some thought to solve -- just the way i like it! cutscenes (scripted only) are interesting and actually develop the story. music and sound effects: the musical score is understated, minimalistic, evocative and haunting -- perfect for setting the mood for this sombre and engrossing game. the sound effects are fresh and some of them are really amazing -- how'd the developers get them? unfortunately, this game doesn’t have any voiceovers. storyline: i thought this type of story -- family secrets, kidnapping and the supernatural evil themes -- had been done to death. but it's a real credit to the developers' care in plot development that i found myself absolutely engaged and wanting to know what happens next! gameplay: this game has two play modes: casual and expert. there is no overclick penalty, and on casual mode, hints recharge after 2 minutes and all puzzles and mini-games have skip buttons after 2 minutes. hints can also be used during the game and are actually useful, too. the game provides a (rather useless) map and a journal as well as having an embedded strategy guide (although it does not follow you through the game so you have to click through to your chapter). i found the white screens that appear as auditory cutscenes to be extremely annoying. the sound effects only made me more anxious -- was this the developers’ intention? perhaps, although this may have been a clever way to hide slow scene transitions. my interaction: one hour demo, casual mode. i purchased this game. despite the dark theme, this game is absolutely captivating. it's a near-perfect blend of carefully-rendered graphics, gorgeous music, powerful story telling, interesting characters, and more-or-less smooth gameplay. i HIGHLY recommend this game. if you've never played a hidden object puzzle game before, then THIS is the game you should get because it is so amazing at so many levels -- it will form the standard against which you compare and judge all others. many thanks, big fish, for this bringing this gorgeous game to us!
Date published: 2012-06-22
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Game! Just finished playing this and loved it! The storyline is good and has an interesting twist. The graphics are fine and the music, whilst the usual 'spooky' soundtrack type, I switch off anyway so that wasn't an issue either. What I loved, was that it was interesting to play. There are a variety of mini games and it is not all HOS. The HOS there are, are pitched just right in that they are not so obscure that you get annoyed nor too easy that you wonder why you bothered..lol. There are lots of different locations and although no map, I didn't feel like I was constantly back tracking or forgetting where I was supposed to go next. Also, unlike some games I have played recently the inventory items and the use of them actually made sense. The bonus chapter shows events that happened years early so that was a fun element too. All in all a very entertaining game and worth investing in the CE.
Date published: 2012-03-21
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Finally, an Excellent Gaming Experience! Though Dark Strokes is yet another "dark" story, it represents the best of what these morality tales can be. This game has TEXTURE, something that has been missing from so many recent games. "Dark Strokes" is driven by an artist and the world he creates through his paintbrush. The watercolor renderings of his past are simply wonderful. Dark Strokes is not padded with "collection notifications" or "achievement announcements" that interfere with cohesive game play. It is simple straightforward story telling. The bonus chapters have a shivery quality, retracing the steps of how a man's despair led to a life he never dreamed of living. If Alfred Hitchcock were to make a "causal game" today, this is the game he would produce.
Date published: 2012-03-20
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Enjoyed GOOD POINTS - Very good length of game, plus the Bonus Chapter was longer than any other game I've played. - Varying difficulty of puzzles so its not pain-stakingly easy, or pull your hair out difficult. - Storyline was great. First story I've actually really got into and really hoped for a happy ending.........you'll have to play the game to see if there was a happy ending! BAD POINTS - The constant rain and thunder noise really did bug me after a while! - The music was really sad! I know its a horror story, but the music was really depressing and hindered my enjoyment slightly, as I felt really down!
Date published: 2012-03-19
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Developers - look and learn! I can't understand why - at time of writing - this game is still at #2. For me this game has everything. It is very well produced, beautifully balanced, it's long, has good puzzles, and an ending that leaves the player feeling the game journey was so worth while. Too often a good game is ruined for me by an ending that just whimpers and fades out – as though the developer ran out of steam or money. Not this game! Developers – look and learn! Do yourselves a favour. Play in the hardest mode, don't use the hint button and don't skip games and you will experience the great satisfaction of completing a great game in the way it was meant to be played. I've been an Adventure Gamer for almost 25 years now and this game is on a par with the best of them.
Date published: 2012-03-19
Rated 5 out of 5 by from another great one The cut scenes in this game are amazing and the storyline is strong throughout. It has a ship that appears where you place the various dolls that you find. As you place each one, a video shows you another piece of the story. The graphics are really detailed and full of color. Just a word of warning.. if you are tired of having to unlocking things, don't play this game. Absolutely everything is locked. There are more than a dozen keys to find, sun locks, seahorse locks.. you get the picture. This game also had no backtracking. Almost everything was used up in each chapter. I kind of like backtracking but I must say that this game was so intense that I didn't even miss it. A good long adventure with great cut scenes, amazing graphics, strong story and lots of inventory objects and HO scenes. I really liked the rolling clouds and lightening. This game developer has done it again. Stunning game. Well done.
Date published: 2012-03-19
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Absolutely worth it! First of all - this game is great, and it's one of the few CEs that really are worth the price. Settings are very well done (I recommend having a closer look at the beautifully designed skies#; especially the panorama view over the town is breath taking. Gameplay is smooth, you know what you're doing without experiencing too much of hand helding. To my relief, the HO-Scenes are rather sparingly integrated, puzzles/ mini games not really challenging but fun. The storyline is interesting #don't be unsettled by the initially given "save-your-fiance-who-was-kidnapped-by-an-evil-force"-plot - the devs manage to elucidate the mystery in a more uncomman way than you might expect...). I am one of those who want a decent length, but since I'm a rather fast player and maybe a little too experienced I am hardly satisfied with what is offered nowadays (yes, I do know that MCF spoiled me, but...!). Know what? I was absolutely fine with Dark Strokes. The main game took me about 4:30 hours (no hints, no skipping puzzles, staring at the scenery from time to time), the bonus added 1:40. I think that's a pretty good deal! Hmmm... no complaints at all? Well... I'm afraid so! Ok, dear developers: 1. You start with interactive HO-Scenes, which I appreciate a lot. But I feel a little cheated when you refuse to continue with that after an hour of gameplay - I don't care that much for the standard stuff. --- 2. The bonus was really excellent, but come on.... you're just recycling the HOs and most of the mini games? And you really think nobody notices that the same scene occurs in a different place (main game: under the church, bonus: by the lighthouse)? But after all - that's mourning at a high level. I don't want to be pusillanimous. Fantastic game!!!
Date published: 2012-03-16
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Game Worth the CE price. All though the bonus chapter reverts back to several HO's it is still worth the price. -no map, and not really needed -journal, but I didn't use it -hint system is good, so SG is really not necessary -HO's are not interactive -I'm not good at mini games, but completed most of the ones in this game -story line is interesting with a little twist in the end -beautiful graphics Buy and enjoy.
Date published: 2012-03-16
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Fantastic Game! I thoroughly enjoyed this game and could not put it down. The storyline captivated me and I wanted to find out what had happened. The graphics are excellent, the adventure game flows well and you don't have to go back and forward between scenes too many times but just enough to solve the puzzles. The HOs are clear and objects not too difficult to find. This is a very engaging game, with beautiful art scenery and very well done!
Date published: 2012-03-15
Rated 5 out of 5 by from CE worthy I do not purchase CE games very often, but this is a must, fab story, sound and graphics; well done hidden object scenes, very well balanced between H.O scenes and adventure part; great ending scenes,nicely wrapping up the story(without the bonus content too) the best i've seen for a long time. 4 bonus chapters. overall a very long game and worthy of the CE price at last which i don't think many are.
Date published: 2012-03-15
Rated 5 out of 5 by from A Superb Game! An overall fantastic game, in my opinion! A very long main game, a healthy length in the bonus chapter, lots of locations to visit, lots of to'ing & fro'ing, which I love, moody music, great graphics, not a junkpile HidObj game, nice voiceovers, an intriguing storyline, one NOT set in a sanitarium or haunted house, for a change, easy-to-moderate in difficulty puzzles, and a creepy and wet! atmosphere, to boot! Some may find the lack of "supporting characters", and to a degree, as well as, the game's length to make the game a bit dull. I for one did not. The focus on the main 3 characters was perfect enough and didn't need a lot of extra people milling about mucking up the game. I especiall] loved the "progressive" HidObj scenes. Once you find an object, if you come back to the same scene, the previous found items are NOT in the scene. THAT'S how a repeatedly visited HidObj should work! Heck. Even the title screen was different from the beginning of the game compared to the end. That's the kind of attention to detail I give props to. Good job, Devs!!!! I give the game 5 stars, but do have 2 issues that tarnish those stars, just a tad: 1 - I found the music to be moody, brooding, and perfect for the game. I love the in-game music for many of these HidObj/Adventure games. However, yet again, I cannot download the music. Very frustrating!! 2 - I would've liked to have known more about the shadowy villian of the game. His origins, his motives, his background, etc., etc.. Maybe it will be explored more in a future game. In the end, it's just a trifle of a complaint. All in all, despite my minor quibbles, this was a great game! Well worth the price. While some reviewers have stated they've not been impressed, they have also stated they are in the minority, which is always bound to happen; No game will be great to everyone. Still, take a chance on this one. It may be a game you will be very suprised you like.
Date published: 2012-03-15
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Worth every penny! What a great adventure game. The graphics are great as well as the story line that grabs your attention right away. Wonderful mini games and hidden objects areas. I was so obsorbed in the demo when the 60 minutes where up I bought it right then to continue the game. I'm writing this as I'm downloading. Give it a try, you won't be disappointed.
Date published: 2012-03-14
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Superb! Another Hit! Dark Strokes: Sins of the Father Wow! The beginning cutscene was thrilling. I felt right away I was going enjoy this game. Although, the game is the all to familiar approach to storytelling, the characters were believable and engaging, environments elaborate. At times it seems the charachters jump into the scene out of nowhere. Oh, hello where did you come from? The overall, storyline was well done and unfolded slowly. The HO's are clues to help solve puzzles. They are well put together and did not frustrate me. Mini-games were fairly easy and enjoyable. Music fit the game theme. Probably the only thing I didn't like about the game was the spot the differences puzzle. Since I didn't get penalized for over-clicking, it was bearable. But then that is just me; other fishies may enjoy this type of puzzle. I have to say, this is now my favorite game so far this year. A must try fishies.
Date published: 2012-03-11
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Excellent game! The game starts out with some very suspenseful scenes and got us interested in the story right away. There are volume controls for sound effects & music. You can choose system cursor, full or wide screen. Game play modes of casual or expert. You cannot view the bonus content, but the strategy guide will take you through chapter 5 and indicates there are 14 chapters and 4 bonus chapters. The voice overs are good and the graphics are excellent. The hidden object scenes were clever and the puzzles and/or games were somewhat of a challenge. The story line is exciting, although a bit creepy because of the faceless masked "people". This is a definite on our buy list.
Date published: 2012-03-11
Rated 5 out of 5 by from This is an awesome game! This game is the best one yet! Wonderful storyline, great graphics, simply amazing! It's the first game I've played in a long time that makes me want to follow the story itself as much as play the puzzles! I wish the dialog was actually spoken (but considering how most of the time spoken dialogs tend to be poorly done in games like this, maybe that's not such a bad thing?). The puzzles are challenging and fun to figure out. Everything about this game is fun! I am not in a hurry to finish this one--it's simply that much fun to play!
Date published: 2012-03-11
Rated 5 out of 5 by from What can I say............. I'm not going to reiterate what so many others have said so perfectly. I absolutely LOVE this game!!!!!!!!!!!! I give high ratings for this one. I really appreciate that it played so smoothly. Beautifully designed, illustrated and musicly orchestrated. I was really, really, really in awe of the art work. Well done! Can't wait for the next one. Please take all the time in the world ( but it's going to be hard to wait)if it means the next one will be of the same caliber. O.K I'm done gushing. Thanks devs and B.F.
Date published: 2012-03-11
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Right mix for me This is the funnest game I've played in awhile and will probably play again. As I have played I keep asking myself why is this so fun? It has a great storyline. It's very much like reading a good mystery and you want to play to the end to find out "who did it or what happened." You have your suspicions and theories but need to keep going to find out if they are right. The hidden object scenes are at a nice level of difficulty. Not too hard but not "overly cluttered" although I did have to laugh as did one earlier reviewer about the universal need for a crowbar! I really liked that I could "figure out things on my own" and that even going to different sites wasn't too big a leap. I bought the CE but was pleased that I probably could have been ok with the SE although this game is so fun that I really was glad to have the chance to play it on a weekend. It's appropriately long if you don't "cheat" . There is a logic to what you find which I appreciated and enjoyed. Great game. The music does not intrude, there are few triggers for those looking for "escape" and the graphics are so well done that at times I paused just to admire the artistry of them.Nice job! The HOG scenes are sublime. My only criticism is that the main character's comments especially at the beginning seemed anachronistic for his role especially given the foible of his wife. Otherwise, great game and a good one for anyone's collection. You got the "chemistry right" which is tough to do. Thanks for a weekend of fun.
Date published: 2012-03-11
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Loving it. I brought the CE immediately upon finishing the free trial. This is unusual for me, as I normally add games to a wish list and buy them when I am more financially flush. I actually knowingly went overdrawn on my credit card to purchase this one before next payday! I have used the hint button a couple of times and only needed the strategy guide once. I hate games where I wander around with a bag full of things and don’t have a clue what to do. This game had the odd moment like that, but on the whole it was free flowing and logical. I have enjoyed the mini games, skipped once or twice but I still enjoyed them very much. The storyline is great, the attention to detail and graphics are really fantastic and the music is good. I am really enjoying this game. I have been playing it for about five hours now. I like the longer games, as you feel like you are really getting your monies worth. One of the last games I brought The Witches Legacy was really enjoyable but I was disappointed and felt a bit ripped off at how short it was. I only have one issue with Sins of the Fathers and that is sometimes it is hard to use objects unless you are very precise. I don’t want to spoil the story for anyone, so I will only give one example: in the cathedral I knew I had to use the lighter to melt the wax on the lock. But it would not work. In the end I used the hint button and it told me to use the lighter, which was something that I had already guessed. In the end after a few different positionings the lighter worked. I just found it a little frustrating to use the hint to be told what I already knew. This occurred a number of times throughout the game. But apart from that little quibble, I highly recommended this game as a brilliant way to get through an otherwise boring, wet, cold and windy weekend!
Date published: 2012-03-10
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Wow what a Game! I just had to write a review about this game. It was just great.The storyline, art ,graphics and music was spot on. The voice over was just right and not over the top. It was a long game and worth the value. Once again BGF is showing other PC game companies how it is done. Please continue to make more games like these. I just love them. I hope that this game is a award winner for you guys. Thanks.
Date published: 2012-03-10
  • y_2020, m_9, d_23, h_15
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_3.0.12
  • cp_2, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_0, tr_204
  • loc_en_US, sid_13875, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=RATING, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=HELPFULNESS, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=FEATURED, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_bigfishgames

The Big Fish Guarantee:

Quality tested and virus free. No ads, no adware, no spyware.

Your Security and Privacy are important to us! Privacy Policy

, share your thoughts about this game!

Dark Strokes: Sins of the Father Collector's Edition

Guide Ethan Black as he attempts to rescue his bride-to-be from a terrifying menace known as the Faceless Ones!

Heres what your review will look like once it’s posted.

Click Submit if you’re happy. Your review should appear soon. To make changes, use the Edit or Cancel buttons.

Thanks for sharing your thoughts about this game!

You’ve already shared your thoughts about this game.

Thanks for submitting the review below.