Nancy Drew: Secret of Shadow Ranch
Exclusive

Nancy Drew: Secret of Shadow Ranch

PC

Adventure

Play Now Download the free trial

This game will not work on your operating system.

Are you sure you want to download this game?

Free 1 hour trial

(516.32 MB)

By clicking "Play Now", I accept the Terms of Use and acknowledge that I have received the Privacy Policy. If this is your first time downloading a game from Big Fish, our handy Game Manager app will install on your computer to help manage your games.
Buy Now Get the full version70% OFF!

This game will not work on your operating system.

Are you sure you want to purchase it?

Full version game

$ 9.99 USD

Only $2.99 - use coupon NEW299

A phantom horse visits Shadow Ranch, leaving a trail of frightening “accidents.” Local legend says the horse has come to avenge the hanging of its master, and that misfortune will befall whoever sets eyes on it. The ghostly horse tramples all hope of a restful ranch vacation for you, as Nancy Drew. You must discover the truth from the ghost stories quickly - you might be next on the list for unearthly revenge!

New customers get your first game for $2.99!*

70% OFF!

Use Coupon: NEW299

* Collector's Editions and free to play games not included.

Game System Requirements:

  • OS: Windows XP/Vista/Win7/8
  • CPU: 600 Mhz
  • RAM: 128 MB
  • DirectX: 6.0
  • Hard Drive: 571 MB

Big Fish Games App System Requirements:

  • Browser: Internet Explorer 7 or later
Reviews at a Glance

Nancy Drew: Secret of Shadow Ranch

0 out of 5 (0 ReviewsReview)
Average Rating:
Play Now Download the free trial

This game will not work on your operating system.

Are you sure you want to download this game?

Free 1 hour trial

(516.32 MB)

Buy Now Get the full version70% OFF!

This game will not work on your operating system.

Are you sure you want to purchase it?

Full version game

$ 9.99 USD

Only $2.99 - use coupon NEW299

Customer Reviews
Nancy Drew: Secret of Shadow Ranch is rated 4.0 out of 5 by 67.
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Favorite ND Game I am a big fan of all Nancy Drew games but this one is great. It was challenging but I never was stuck. I usually have to at least one get a hint from Bess/George or online but not this one. And it is loooonnggg.
Date published: 2012-05-05
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Still Fun I love the Nancy Drew Games. The buried treasure storyline is old but it was still fun, and the puzzles weren't impossible. The task part of these games don't bother me, I think they're fun. The only bad thing is there weren't enough suspects, and the culprit is obvious. Not the best Nancy Drew, but enjoyable.
Date published: 2012-05-05
Rated 5 out of 5 by from How do they do it? How do HER Interactive manage to keep excelling themselves on the ND games is amazing. As in all ND games one has to talk, walk and explore (a lot ;-) ) and solve puzzles (I find that the newer the game the more puzzles there are) and sometimes one even has to do chores, which I thoroughly enjoy. This is also the case in SSR, but they are not as repetitive as the ones in The White Wolf of Icicle Creek, for example. The game is very challenging, but not the most difficult ND I played so far. It took me about 3 days to complete and that was mainly common sense and logic, unlike The Curse of Blackmoor Manor or The Ransom of the Seven Ships in which I found myself having to think out of the box a lot. (Both of which I can also highly recommend, btw). In SSR I only had to consult a video walkthrough once and that was for the lasso game, which I found quite frustrating as in my mind my aim was spot on. So without giving too much away here a little tip: "Don't look at your aim with the lasso, but look for a perfect geometrical shape to appear, as this is your moment ;-)". I can highly recommend this game and would advise, as I would for all ND games, to take some notes and to only consult a walkthrough as the very last option. To solve these wonderful games without or with as little help as possible is always a good boost for the self esteem.
Date published: 2012-04-15
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Love you nancy! Im 14 years old and absolutly love challenges! I love nancy drew because it is just so old and I hate modern day technology, why cant it be Simple as it was in the old days :< :( anyway you have to play this game (Especially if your a horse lover!)
Date published: 2012-04-01
Rated 5 out of 5 by from One Of My Fav ND Games I've played almost all the nancy drew games and I think this was one of my favorites. I never found myself entirely stuck, which I often do, but still challenged enough to not be able to quite! Can't wait for the next ND release. Spent a lazy Sunday playing this and finished it so of course I wish it was a little longer. But still fantastic.
Date published: 2012-03-26
Rated 5 out of 5 by from fun and fact filled adventure game After playing a few ND games this is a good example of what I love about them. I couldnt stop playing until I finished it. Great interaction with other characters and lots of different things to do. Loved the scenery and graphics, the puzzles and games. Just didnt love it when it ended
Date published: 2012-03-24
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Awesome Game! This game has great story line and I could hardly quit playing it. It is the best western/horse themed game I've ever played. Great voice overs, graphics, adventure and long length of play time. The ONLY drawback is the hint system which consists mainly of calling your contacts and they give you a sort of hint to help you on your way. It wasn't very helpful and I resorted to a walkthrough quite a bit about half way thru till the end, but that's ok, was completely worth it.
Date published: 2012-03-24
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Loved it.... One of the better Nancy Drew stories. I played it via the boxed version and loved it. Right up there with the best. Perhaps a bit short, but nonetheless fun and interesting to play.
Date published: 2012-03-21
Rated 5 out of 5 by from A Must for Nancy Drew Fans This was the first Nancy Drew game I ever played. Come to think of it, it might also have been the first in-depth computer game I've ever played too! As such, the Secret of Shadow Ranch has always held a special place in my heart. This game offers a beautifully done mystery with lots of tasks of varying difficulties, fantastic graphics, and wonderful voice actors to play these beloved characters. Most of the puzzles can be solved without too much difficulty, but if you get stuck Nancy's friends are always available for help. :)
Date published: 2012-03-20
Rated 5 out of 5 by from hidden objects absolutely awesome games for 1 who is 61yrs young
Date published: 2012-03-20
Rated 5 out of 5 by from LOVE NANCY DREW You can't go wrong with Nancy Drew, even with the older games. This was a fun fun fun game. Even as an adult this is just highly entertaining. Love to get all the awards at the end and find funny stuff like Easter Eggs or dying in funny ways. So addicted to Nancy Drew can't wait till next game comes out.
Date published: 2012-03-20
Rated 5 out of 5 by from An Oldie but a Goodie I played this game years ago when it was released by the developer. I no longer have the cd the game came on so may just be tempted to buy it again here. I love all of the large file Nancy Drew Games. This one does not disappoint. If you haven't played this one yet, I suggest that you do!
Date published: 2012-03-19
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Nancy Drew at her best!!! I'm a die hard Nancy Drew fan and this is one of the best Nancy Drew has to offer.
Date published: 2012-03-19
Rated 5 out of 5 by from One of the best ND games ever! First of all, I'm quite surprised to see this game as a TGT, it's an old game, but I'm a Nancy Drew game fan, and this one is one my favorite. I think it has one of the most original storyline ever, and although there is a lot of talking, it gives clues. I love the concept of ghost towns and Indian dwellings. The characters have personality, and the length of the game is good. I recommend this to you if you like adventure games. ^o^
Date published: 2012-03-19
Rated 5 out of 5 by from If it's Nancy Drew, it's all good! This is #10 in the N.D. series, one of the older games, which I much more prefer, as it seems like the newer the Nancy game, the darker the stories became. The story is set in an "old west" atmosphere where it seems a phantom horse is showing up on the ranch scaring everyone there. Nan has to uncover certain info from the past in order to discover why this is happening. On the way she encounters several colorful characters and several different locations in which to find clues, including an old ghost town. One of my favorite parts is when sitting around the campfire the ole cowpokes try a hand at singing, quite funny. One of my least favorite parts is collecting the vegetables! Fortunately, the game has a 2nd chance button if you get kicked off the ranch for whatever reason. The sounds and color are very good, make sure you save your game so you can pick up where you left off. You never know what kind of ending the N.D. games will have, they are all different and you are responsible for doing whatever needs to be done to win the game. There is a check off list that tells you what still needs to be accomplished as you go through the game, this comes in very handy. If you are still unsure, call Nans friends, and they will gladly give you a hint or 2 to help you on your way. This game is good for all ages, lots of fun times! My other favorites in the N.D. series are; #3 Message in a Haunted Mansion, #4 Treasure in the Royal Tower, #5 The Final Scene, #13 Last Train to Blue Moon Canyon (extra fun ending!).. Also, if these games are a little too hard, there are 2 Nancy Drew Dossier games which are easier, but just as much fun as the regular series. I hope they make more of those! I highly recommend this and the other N.D. games. Have fun!!
Date published: 2012-03-19
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Nancy's 10th Mystery I actually played this game for the first time several years ago, but I still love it. I love the old west theme. The one problem I had with this, after playing the previous nine, was the massive layout change. But that's why they have the tutorial, I guess: To help players learn to play the game (or to help those players who've been long-time series players get used to changes).
Date published: 2012-03-18
Rated 5 out of 5 by from I love all things Nancy Drew Another great ND game. I play them as soon as Herinteractive releases them. This one doesn't disappoint. A couple of daily chores get to be annoying, overall, FUN FUN FUN!
Date published: 2012-03-18
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Yeee Haw! This Is The Whole Kit & Caboodle Nancy finds herself on a ranch in Arizona to solve another mystery. I love bigfile/adventure games and liked the level of challenge in this one. The game has some fun and perplexing puzzles, mazes and coded messages to solve. You will have fun riding horses, roping and lots sleuthing to figure out what is causing the accidents at the ranch. There is a great map feature for easy navigation. Nice music, western theme, some sea ditties that will recede slowly after awhile. No loops droning on. Graphics are fairly average but good as this game has been out for some time. Lots of suspects to question and as expected Nancy's buddies from River Heights are ready and able to offer information to help you throughout the game. Bottom line this is a good solid story.
Date published: 2012-03-18
Rated 5 out of 5 by from One of my favorites!~! This was really one of my last favorites of Nancy Drew. I love the new games but there is just something about the first 11 that make them so much fun to play. This one had a great story lots of adventure & a little love although Nancy's heart will always belong to Ned. The story line is great & the cast of characters is awesome. Make sure to do your chores & if you are really a smarty pants & a keen observer then I suggest doing Senior detective. Have fun & happy trails to you!~!
Date published: 2012-03-18
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Everything happens to he who can wait... well almost... Yes, I have been waiting for BFG to include Shadow Ranch in their treasure trove for over a year, and SURPRISE.. it's there now at long last ! I could have bought it directly from the developers at full price, and I was on the verge of doing it; but why spend $ 19.99 when you are a BFG member ? At $ 6.99, the game is extremely good value for money. This time Nancy is visiting Bess' uncle's ranch. Prior to her arrrival, the uncle gets bitten by a rattlesnake. But the worst is that, at night, a glowing horse appears from nowhere, gallops around the ranch then vanishes. Caught in the middle of that situation, our young sleuth starts deploying all her talents to solve the mystery. It's always like that with many of her adventures; something weird or fantastic triggers her intervention, only to find out bit by bit that what appeared as a supernatural or magic phenomenon is but the logical succession of a number of earthly events. In parallel to the investigation, Nancy has to perform certain tasks that are perfectly natural as they fit in the context very well, such as feeding the horses or the chickens, getting information on how to ride a horse, etc... And unlike some other of her adventures, these tasks that could be called menial never give the impression of being forced. All her actions, all the items she has to use make sense. In Shadow Ranch, Nancy has to rely a lot on her cellphone to get tips from different friends of hers or being in contact with local people such as the sheriff as well as obtaining information on various subjects by browsing pre-set web pages next to reading books and notes found in the ranch. As usual, Nancy interacts with the various characters populating the ranch by means of dialogues. Nancy wouldn't be Nancy if there were not many puzzles for her to solve, and even quizzes. All of them respond to logic, are relevant to the plot and never arbitrary. Only the slot machine minigame which has to be won before she can progress further, and that, of chourse, is based on pure chance. But perserverance pays off and she wins sooner or later. The graphics are good, the voice-acting is superb, navigation easy, and on Junior level a task list is provided as well as a diary to keep track of the information [there is a lot of it] she gathers, as in all her other adventures. The game never leads you by the hand; you need to think out of the box and do a fair amount of reading as you go along. Nothing is really easy. These features tend to discourage many gamers, yet they bestow realism on the whole adventure. This 10th instalment in the Nancy Drew series keeps the suspense going to the very end and will have you guessing all along: who did it ? Note: The trial version is a good idea, but the game is so rich that the one hour demo can't even scratch the surface, just give a vague idea of what a Nancy Drew investigation looks like. That applies to other adventures like Syberia or Paradise. If you have never played a Nancy Drew before, the best is to buy the full game and take it from there. If you like Shadow Ranch, you're bound to like her other investigations.
Date published: 2012-03-18
Rated 5 out of 5 by from I have all N.D. games and this one is great also, challenging,mystery,graphics are great and alot of puzzle/sleuthing to figure out also. TRY ALL N.D. GAMES YOU WILL LOVE
Date published: 2012-03-18
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Love It!!!! I love Nancy Drew. I have played every game!!!!
Date published: 2012-03-18
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Love nancy Drew Great game! I love the graphics and challenges!
Date published: 2012-03-18
Rated 5 out of 5 by from AWSESOMEEEEEE!!!!! love this game~so fun!!! i love all the nancy drew games!!
Date published: 2012-03-18
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Get Ready For Adventure This is one of the most exciting games i have ever played! The graphics are fantastic. The characters "talk" to one another. Be careful though, you might find yourselves falling in love with a cowboy or two! If you are ready to immerse yourself in a real adventure this is the game for you. You don 't just play this game, you become part of it!
Date published: 2012-03-18
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Best Nancy Drew Game Excellent Old West adventure game without the endless, boring junk pile scenes that waste time. I found the game to be interesting and challenging, and the desert scenery is breathtakingly beautiful. I wish the newer Nancy Drew games were of a similar quality. Definitely worth buying.
Date published: 2012-03-18
Rated 5 out of 5 by from aaaaaah Nancy!!! I love Nancy Drew! I have all 25 games :) I can not decide which is my best. Nancy Drew games have their own style which I personally love. You got help from a friends who you call on the phone, but they'll never say exactly what you need to do, so Nancy Drew games are for those who like games with a bit more challenging. . . so is ''Nancy Drew: Secret of Shadow Ranch''. must solve the mysterious case of the horse that glows. Magic? or not? You got help from Bess and George, two best friends that you call on the phone, and they give you hint what to do next! there is notebook in which Nancy writes her observations that can sometimes help you with the case. There is another notebook that records every task that you have to do. when you finish that task, you put a check mark! best about Nancy is that you have to personally write on the paper if you see something you think you will need later in the game. Nancy does not record the codes, doesn't draw. So if nancy says ''i'll better remember this'' Write it on the paper! definitely recommend!
Date published: 2012-03-18
Rated 5 out of 5 by from A strong Nancy Drew adventure ! This Nancy Drew game is one of the best game you may find on BFG ! There's a very strong and coherent storyline, with suspens, and action . Usual characters of ND series are present. It's a point and click game, with also mini challenge (arcade game), and puzzle. Be prepared for the last challenge, which is awesome !
Date published: 2012-03-18
Rated 5 out of 5 by from SHA - as good as it gets! Secret of the Shadow Ranch is one of the "middle" games - tenth one made and a frequent favourite with the fans. And no wonder - treasure hunt, fun characters, interesting minigames, lovely backstory, some spooky moments, vegetables, cake and riding horses - this game has it all! Nancy is meant to have a nice vacation with Bess and George in their aunt and uncle's ranch, but when she arrives, she discovers that uncle Ed is in hospital, Bess and George stranded in an airport and there are talks of ghosts going on. It's Nancy's job to find out who or what is behind these spooky happenings. If you are a fan, or even if you are totally new to Nancy Drew adventure games, this is for you. Secret of the Shadow Ranch has finally made it into Big Fish! Get it. Now. :) tuskel, sincerely
Date published: 2012-03-18
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Its Tough, but Worth it I love any game by Nancy Drew. This was one tough game, I had to use a walkthrough, which honestly, I use on almost every Nancy game. The end of the game is pretty hard, but I got through it. I loved the story line. The graphics, the characters and I loved the desert Southwest in this! This is a must have if you love Nancy!
Date published: 2017-06-20
  • y_2019, m_5, d_24, h_16
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_2.0.12
  • cp_2, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_0, tr_67
  • loc_en_US, sid_13977, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=RATING, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=HELPFULNESS, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=FEATURED, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_bigfishgames

The Big Fish Guarantee:

Quality tested and virus free. No ads, no adware, no spyware.

Your Security and Privacy are important to us! Privacy Policy

, share your thoughts about this game!

Nancy Drew: Secret of Shadow Ranch

Take a wild ride into terror and trickery to rein in a ghostly secret! Discover the truth from the ghost stories before it's too late!

Heres what your review will look like once it’s posted.

Click Submit if you’re happy. Your review should appear soon. To make changes, use the Edit or Cancel buttons.

Thanks for sharing your thoughts about this game!

You’ve already shared your thoughts about this game.

Thanks for submitting the review below.