Surface: Mystery of Another World

Surface: Mystery of Another World

PC

Also available on

Hidden Object

Play Now Download the free trial

This game will not work on your operating system.

Are you sure you want to download this game?

Free sample version

(212.37 MB)

By clicking "Play Now", I accept the Terms of Use and acknowledge that I have received the Privacy Policy. If this is your first time downloading a game from Big Fish, our handy Game Manager app will install on your computer to help manage your games.
Buy Now Get the full version70% OFF!

This game will not work on your operating system.

Are you sure you want to purchase it?

Full version game

$ 9.99 USD

Only $2.99 - use coupon NEW299

After your son, Bobby, mysteriously disappears, it's up to you to find him in Surface: The Mystery of Another World! A peaceful train ride to the coast goes way off course and now strange occurrences are happening all around you! It seems that there is another world just past your reflection. Use your Hidden Object talents to explore the mysterious area and save Bobby before it's too late in Surface: the Mystery of Another World!

New customers get your first game for $2.99!*

70% OFF!

Use Coupon: NEW299

* Collector's Editions and free to play games not included.

Game System Requirements:

  • OS: Windows XP/Windows Vista/Windows 7
  • CPU: 2.5 GHz
  • RAM: 1024 MB
  • DirectX: 9.0
  • Hard Drive: 710 MB

Big Fish Games App System Requirements:

  • Browser: Internet Explorer 7 or later
  • Alcohol Reference
  • Mild Violence
Reviews at a Glance

Surface: Mystery of Another World

0 out of 5 (0 ReviewsReview)
Average Rating:
Play Now Download the free trial

This game will not work on your operating system.

Are you sure you want to download this game?

Free sample version

(212.37 MB)

Buy Now Get the full version70% OFF!

This game will not work on your operating system.

Are you sure you want to purchase it?

Full version game

$ 9.99 USD

Only $2.99 - use coupon NEW299

Customer Reviews
Surface: Mystery of Another World is rated 4.4 out of 5 by 222.
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Unique Very different HOG game than what I have played so far. sometimes was fairly easy Yet was very interesting. And you have to get used to the fact that in the HOG areas, you have to leave to find what is needed to complete it. Once you figure that out all is ok - (at first it really bugged me because I could not complete that HOG so I just left it and continued playing before finding that I needed to leave to found what was needed so I went back to the HOG). Has an interesting storyline, was fun and not your usual HOG - which made it so much more fun! - I put a 5 for challenge level because you have to think on this game - But never fear - Hint is very helpful if you are like me and need it sometimes.
Date published: 2012-05-10
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Its no mystery you're taken to ANOTHER WORLD I have never been moved enough to write a review but this games exceeds all expectations. FANTASTIC STORY line - engaging characters - Absorbing & relaxing art work. Exactly the right number of Hidden Object Scenes - Challenging but not impossible puzzles. The game (movie!) develops at pace all gamers will enjoy. This is one Elephant game I will not forget!
Date published: 2012-05-06
Rated 5 out of 5 by from A spectacular game that earned it's 5 stars! What amazing graphics, the best I have seen in quite some time. A unique and refreshing storyine, something besides eerie, spookie, ghostly or monsters. A pleasant background music to listen to and plently of places to go and see and do. The puzzles definatly provide a challenge to any player at any level. The map is awsome, it allows you to jump around to the different areas which is a time saver. If you are looking for a great challenge and a long game play, wait no longer you have found it here.
Date published: 2012-04-13
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Finally...a very good ending to a very good story! I really enjoyed playing this game and I am getting to the point where I am tiring of this genre in general. But this game was a pleasant surprise that held my interest throughout. I am drawn to really good 'stories' in HO games, especially when they involve children and a lot of characters interacting. I particularily like voice overs, even though they are difficult to 'pull-off' as realistic. Surface does fall short here...imo. The 'leader' is a bit younger than I thought he should have been and therefore his voice was too 'young'. But he actually improved at the end of the game! In fact, the entire game continued to get better and better and that was the real treat...no 'trick' like some of the demo's pull off in that they suck you into the game with an exciting first hour, only to drag out and disappoint when you purchase and play it through. This is a solid game, a good level of challenge and the story was 'fresh' enough to keep me very interested! So I hope you will give it a try and enjoy it as much as I did!
Date published: 2012-03-30
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Wildly Weird and Imaginative! Who comes up with this stuff? Each chapter of this game reaches new heights of off the wall adventure and I loved every minute of it. The hidden object scenes are a pleasure to play and not just for the glorious artwork. They are integrated into the story and you will find yourself returning to them in unique and interesting ways. The game starts off reasonably enough with the standard missing person/rescue mission, but the plot gets strange in a hurry with entertaining results. Puzzles are moderately difficult. There is a map available in each level of the story to jump between locations within the level for those players less leisurely than myself. I suggest wandering because once you complete a chapter you won't be returning. Make sure you read all the diary and journal entries you find along the way so you can make some sense out of the story. Although the cut scenes with live actors are not perfect by Hollywood production standards, they sure worked for me. I think this game is a terrific value for my entertainment dollar!
Date published: 2012-03-29
Rated 5 out of 5 by from One of the better ones I bought this game based on the great reviews of others, and I was not let down. There are three options for game play, which I love having in games: casual, advanced, and hardcore. I played on advanced and while I could use the hint button, there were no sparkles indicating places/items of interest. I only needed to use the hint button twice, which was awesome. The game was challenging, but not so much that I couldn't figure it out. The music wasn't annoying- mostly sound effects with some music at more dramatic points of the game, and I thought the visuals were nicely done, beautiful at times even. I didn't have any problems identifying objects, although I sometimes had to click on objects more than once to select them. It didn't happen enough to be frustrating though. Some of the voice overs were not in line with the characters talking, but it wasn't really a big deal. The only annoying glitch I noticed was that the cursor would sometimes turn into a hand, indicating that there was an item to be picked up when there wasn't really anything there. There were, in my opinion, more puzzles than HO which was really nice because I actually found myself looking forward to the HO scenes whereas in many other games I find them tedious because there are so many of them. The puzzles had a nice range from easy to hard, and there were many that were new to me- and I have played many of these types of games. The story line was interesting, and I really enjoyed the different worlds and travel. The game was broken into chapters with each chapter having its own set of locations and inventory items. This definitely added to the fun factor as I was continuously introduced to new places. The game was also a good length. It probably took me about 12 hours in total to complete, and it was one of those games that I had to really tear myself away from- I just wanted to keep going, even after already being at it for hours.
Date published: 2012-03-28
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Don't miss this Fun new spin on HOG play! I finally purchased this game, and am definitely glad I did. I often get bored with the HOG play, but Surface uses a fairly unique convention where you must use Inventory items to complete most HOG scenes – and you often don’t have the item yet in your inventory – which adds a nice challenge. Most of the puzzles were fresh and unique and I really enjoyed working through them to successful conclusion. I liked the live-action cut-scenes and the way they were made ghostly. If you haven't purchased this game and you enjoy the Adventure-HOG genre -- you're missing out on a truly fun and unique experience!
Date published: 2012-03-17
Rated 5 out of 5 by from What a great game! I have been playing Big Fish Games for approximately two years and of all the games I have played, this one is the best ever!!! It didn't have satanic stuff in it. I hate it when right away they have a bunch of garbage with satanic inuendos. This was a clean game and lots of fun. I used the hardest level because I wanted to be challenged. The find the items section was easy yet challenging. I don't know about the sound because any time I play a game, I would mute the sound. Several times I thought I was finished and then a new set of puzzles appeared. I definitely recommend this game. I can't wait until a new one comes out. I hope it will have just as much fun and lots of challenging puzzles. Kudos for the creator.
Date published: 2012-03-15
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Excellent Game! The story line was very weird... hard to follow at times but the overall game was excellent! The graphics were just unbelievably amazing; the mini games were challenging but not so hard that you wanted to pull your hair out (and if you think it was that hard, the skip button is your friend!), the HOS were interesting in how you couldn't finish them right away because they required other items from other parts of the game to finish them. The game was -VERY- long, much longer than most of the games, well worth the money! I definitely recommend playing this game, you will very much enjoy it!
Date published: 2012-03-15
Rated 5 out of 5 by from You've all said what I feel about this amazing game! One added point........ I'll not repeat but just wanted to add that I found this an incredible game, fantastic graphics/special effects. Many surprises and a nice twist in the HOS. A very "user friendly" game as it would appeal to all levels. (I can't help but wonder what I missed by not buying the CE :( ahhhh...live and learn. I , personally, found that the game got better and better as it went along!! Initially in the first 15 or so mins. I thought......nahhhhh. BOY am I glad I didn't listen to myself. Many games, it can be the opposite.....start off great, get you hooked and then go downhill. NOT SO with this one. I do hope more games like this one are 'in the making'! Great day to all you fishies~~~
Date published: 2012-03-13
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Good storyline with interesting HO scenes This game is so much fun!!! I played the CE and couldn't wait until this edition came out (since I just hate the thought of paying $14 for any game... call me cheap!#. I must point out, however, that the free hour did NOT do this game justice. In fact, it was by far the most boring part of the game since it dealt with Earth and looked like many other HOGs. In fact, had I known how incredible it was going to be, I very well might have bought the CE! The graphics are great #LOVED the spilling water in the dungeon toward the end of the game#. The HO scenes are different in that most times you have to use an inventory item to find a certain item #usually the kinds that require an extra step in other HOGs#. The neat thing about this is that often the inventory item is not readily available, so you have to get it a little later in the game and then go back to the HO scene to complete it. As for the level of challenge, I gave it a 5 out of 5 because to me this game was just right to my level of ability #which I guess is about "intermediate" considering I've been playing HOGs/adventure games via Big Fish Games for over a year now#. I did have to refer to the walkthrough about 3 or 4 times when the hint didn't help me, but overall, that is quite a small amount compared to my normal gaming experience. The game also lasted quite a while, which is a plus when spending any amount of money on a game. What I typically do after playing the free hour is go to the walkthrough and guage how much time the game would take to finish by looking at the right side bar. If a game is at least 1/3 to 1/2 over, unless it is a REALLY good or fun game I might replay, I won't bother to buy it, even if it the deal of the day. The one bad thing I'd have to say about it #why I gave the storyline a 4 out of 5# is because the acting is horrendous! My kids could do a better job! I especially mean this about the leader of the other world. I would ignore it, but I actually do love the stories in adventure games, after all, isn't that what makes them an adventure - otherwise they'd just be an HOG or whatever... Also, the sound never really caught up with the lips, and considering I just bought a new laptop made for sound, I don't think it's my computer. Overall, I would definately recommend this game, and would recommend the CE if you are a newbie to HOG/adventure games and/or need a walkthrough quite often.
Date published: 2012-03-11
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great game! Wow! What a fantastic game, excellent in every way! The artistry is top-notch with human actors for the characters. The story is intriging, assuming you don't dislike science fiction. The hint system is very good,leading you along the way. There is some jumping around to different locations, but the map allows one click jumps. The puzzles are somewhat difficult, but the skip button charges fast. Don't be mislead by the demo; it barely scratches the surface of this lenghty game. This is one of the best games that BF has offered.
Date published: 2012-03-10
Rated 5 out of 5 by from TOTALLY AWESOME GAME! This is a great game! A storyline that keeps you engrossed wanting to see whats next! I love that its not the normal "dark" HOG. The HOS were good though there was not as many as we usually have in a game, but that was fine with me, the other mini puzzles and tasks make this game a great adventure while saving Bobby. The graphics were good as welll as the voice overs. I personally took my time so I did not use any hints or skip any puzzles so I could get the bonus mini games. The bonus chapter was worth the price of this being a CE. If your looking for a great game I totally recommend this one.
Date published: 2012-03-07
Rated 5 out of 5 by from how is it possible how is it possible to dislike or find fault in this game. some games, while good, seem like the designers never play this type of game and so it is same old same old - not here. the designers thought of interesting mini games and a spin on the HO. not every area has clues of what to do next (i played advanced game) which added an extra/fun challenge. the graphics are beautiful and the music not annoying. no need to travel in areas that are completed and the fact that one carries inventory items rather than at the end of each chapter have to repeat traveling to find an object is brilliant. two comments: some items in HO were not easily obtainable because of narrow area for clicking (hate wasting 30 minutes because i think i have the wrong item and it turns out it is a narrow clicking area) and one area was too dark for me to see i was to activate it (an area that did not have a clue/magnifying glass). these are minor however and the game is long, challenging and superb! matouk
Date published: 2012-03-05
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Superb - Best Game Yet This Year What a superb game from Elephant Games. This is definitely the best game I have played this year. Not only are the graphics and storyline excellent, but the game has whimsy. It is refreshing to play a game where the developers have take the extra time to include cleverness in details where it was not necessary. You just have to take your time and enjoy the subtle and not so subtle humor and innovation built into the game. It sets this game above the competition. I appreciate the effort the design team took to give us such a pleasurable gaming experience.
Date published: 2012-03-01
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Loved It!! I own well over 100 Games from BF. Mostly they're too short. This has a great length. The graphics are quite good and the storyline is followable. I like the ability to jump to anyplace using the map feature. The puzzles range from easy to medium. The presentation of the puzzles is excellent. The music was very good. I don't know how this game could get a less than 4-5 stars. The live acting was so-so, but did not detract from the game. The only complaint I had was the hint system. When you asked for a hint, it told you exactly what to do. I would like to have seen a small hint first then a greater one, then the final one after the third click. Over all, I would highly recommend this game.
Date published: 2012-03-05
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Best game ever! I beta tested this game last year and was completely blown away. I've been waiting impatiently for the release and knew I would buy it the moment it hit the website. I was NOT disappointed. Not just a HOG, but puzzles throughout the game, some difficult some frustrating but not enough to make you quit. I love the way you pick up objects and need to use them to complete the HOG. Great storyline, and when you think, wow, great game, guess this is the end, it opens to another setting. You will NOT be disappointed!!
Date published: 2012-04-07
Rated 5 out of 5 by from One of the Best! I have not enjoyed a game this much for ages. Dire Grove and 13th Skull were the last two I enjoyed this much, and they came out ages ago. The Collectors Edition was worth every cent. The storyline, attention to detail and graphics were all superior and really just excellent. A good mixture of puzzles; some were easy, some were a challenge but I eventually got through and some required skipping. I had to use the hint quite often but that certainly did not detract from the game overall. I also managed to figure out many parts myself. So a good mixture to cover all levels.
Date published: 2012-02-26
Rated 5 out of 5 by from one of my top 3 favourite HOPA of all time - it's a must have HOPA I loved this game. The heavens parted, choir of angels sang, then a cloud threatened the nice scene, but we will get to the cloud later. (OK not quite but you get my feelings!) Elephant continues to push themselves and the results are worth it. It truly is an A grade HOPA. Best game yet from them and one of my top 3 all time favourite HOPA. It even gets better as you go along. The graphics were really well done. I didn’t like real people in 13skull because of the way it was done, here it was well integrated, (although the lip synch was way off and was off putting). They brought us back the integrated transporter map and I love them for it. What is even more amazing is that each chapter is completely self-contained and quite vast, and you have a new transporter map each chapter and each chapter is completely different (you don’t revisit scenes from previous chapters) We have had kidnapping before but not in this sci-fi setting and how it was done is different. I played on the middle of 3 choice of settings (as I like the option to skip puzzles if I need to) so I had no sparkles including hidden object scenes and no random click penalty. The puzzles were very well done and some were unique and took me a good time to play some of them as they were quite hard– excellent. I'd say the puzzles were between medium and hard for a HOPA. There are a lot of options in setting up, which you don’t often see. The hint button – SE players will especially love as it sort of is a mini strategy guide. I did appreciate it but wish there was another option to not have spoilers but see if you have missed anything in a scene. Each chapter took me roughly 2 hrs each even using the hints and only looking at walkthrough a couple of times. If you play this with sparkles or with a walkthrough, or skip puzzles, obviously gameplay will be much shorter. The cloud – hidden object scenes, they were junk pile. Oh why elephant when you push yourself so far in every other area you fall short in this one, it marred the beauty of this game. The saving point of the hidden object scenes, were the crystal clear graphics and the great twist on them – you need an inventory item on something in each scene. You don’t repeat them and no random click penalty (yeah!) The villain is like a comic book villain (think of the movies like superman etc) and that is good as the game doesn’t feel like a ‘dark’ game. SE play – 8hrs. (usually a SE would take me 5-6hrs.) The story concludes 100% here in the SE version. Some reviewers have said there are red flowers to collect in this SE version game – not so, so don’t go looking for them!
Date published: 2012-02-26
Rated 5 out of 5 by from WOW !!! Outstanding New Generation of HOS ! I had played the CE and now the SE. Only confirmed how much I loved it, so sending again my review. Finally a game totally different from all others !!! An unmissable game !! A great investigation - where is or what happend to Bobby? - at amazing locations, in a suspenseful and immersive atmosphere. - Graphics are so perfect,... it seems that you are watching and interacting in a movie ! - Sound and voice over are outstanding and super appropriate to the scenes. - Impressive special effects. - Lot of interactive HOS, not too challenging, but very well done, colorful, clear, and really enjoyable. - Some things you collect throughout history, will use in HOS, or in locations further afield .- Hint fills fast. - Many mini games, some are challenging, others less. - Some funny scares along the way ... - Warning: Do not forget to collect the red flowers ... They'll give you bonus!
Date published: 2012-02-24
Rated 5 out of 5 by from I love this game! Opening cut scene is WONDERFUL Music is good Awesome Graphics interesting story challenging different games NO CLICK PENALTY! Quick hint refill Hint tell you what's needed next if you are unsure 4-5 hours based on one of 3 levels & your skill
Date published: 2012-02-24
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Fantastic Game! I waited for the SE of this game and am glad I did. Once again I would have paid for a Strategy Guide that I don't need. If you are stuck the hint system will help you through just fine. This keeps you busy from begining to end with out getting bored. You are always exploring new areas looking for different objects. The hidden object scenes are unique as you have to use items from the inventory to work through them. Elephant Games hits a homerun again:)
Date published: 2012-03-02
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Awwwwwesome!!!!!!! One of the best games I have played in a long time, and I have been playing these games for about 4yrs. Everyone has already said all the great things I would say about the game. The dev went above and beyond on this one. I can't wait to see how they will top it. If you are not sure about the game in the demo, just buy it it gets better and better.
Date published: 2012-02-26
Rated 5 out of 5 by from FUN game I love this game! I bought the SE and was well worth the money, this game just went on and on, it was very long and entertaining throughout the whole game. The hint system was a huge help and was very specific. Honestly I thought the SE seemed like the CE!
Date published: 2012-03-04
Rated 5 out of 5 by from A Fun Game! Another A+ game. Graphics are really good. Everything has great color and the HOS scenes don't keep you there forever & they are fun to do. The puzzles are fun to do and some are pretty challenging, love this one all the way through! I like the story and the surprises when you open a door, Ahhhh! Love it!!!
Date published: 2012-02-24
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Amazing Adventure Just like to add my rave to all others who have given rave reviews for this game. Any who didn't like it so much --- you are too hard to please! Simply superb intro, with live action. Just don't watch the lip movement and it will be fine! Such wonderful scenes. Such a lovely change from gloom and doom and dark and dingy. A bit of a twist on the HO scenes from ones I have played. You will see when you play it! Gripping storyline. All over top game. Yes, now I wish I had bought the CE. Would have been well worth the price.
Date published: 2012-03-01
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Gaming Experience - More Please!!! What a brilliant game! I have played other games with video action before, but this was by far one of the best. The story of Bobby's disappearance is intertwined with more sinister crimes on another world. The special effects and video footage are first class and add an extra level of gaming experience. The intro is excellent and takes you straight into the action, while the HO scenes have a great twist in that you have to use items from your inventory that you must collect from elsewhere. This keeps the challenges flowing nicely. The different lands and scenery are excellent and the story keeps you guessing. The puzzles are interesting, but not too challenging, but in my opinion, the hints help a little too much and end up making it a little too easy in some parts. The graphics and sound are excellent and the music adds to the atmosphere. Altogether a first class gaming experience - more like this please!!!
Date published: 2012-02-28
Rated 5 out of 5 by from The energizer bunny of games - it keeps going and going! This was a pleasant surprise - a SE game with loads of game playing time. First, love the map that lets you jump to a specific location. And every time I looked at the map and thought, "Oh, just two locations left," - surprise! A whole new map would be opened up! The hidden object scenes were nicely done. The objects were well drawn and not impossible to find ( I played on the hardest level, without a hint button), and I like the fact that some HOS's require objects from other locations to complete them. The mini-games were different and interesting without being impossible. As for the look and sound of the game, I play with the music turned all the way down and the voices very soft - I really hate bad voice acting. But visually the game has nice artwork. All in all, a great game and good value for the price.
Date published: 2012-04-01
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Sets a New Standard Seldom when I purchase a SE version of a game do I wish I'd bought the CE. In this case I do. This game sets a new standard for developers to aim for. I had downloaded the CE and played it for the hour. I thought it began somewhat slowly. It didn't impress me enough to but the CE and I decided to wait for the SE. I was wrong. As I progressed through the game I found intriguing HOS with items needed interaction with objects found in other areas. This lead to returning to finish the HOS in order to receive an object needed somewhere else in the game. There is a transporting map in the diary making the return to various areas easy. The mini-games are unique and challenging. There is a skip button in case you need it. I was able to do every game even one which challenged my hand eye coordination which isn't the best. There are three main areas with multiple areas within each one. Each time I neared the finish of the area I thought the game was ending. This lead to many hours of game play. The graphics are superb, music good for background, and the cut scenes not overly long. I don't know what extras are in the CE version but if I had it to do over I would buy it.
Date published: 2012-04-11
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Best IHOG since the first MCF Ravenhurst and Dire Grove! Based on Demo- This is my first review, however I have played games on BF for over a year now. I played the game on Hard, and there are 3 different difficulty levels. The graphics are beautiful and the cut scenes are suspensful. The hog's are enough to put it in the genre but not so much that it gets annoying. They are very well put together, not cluttered, and no tiny items. Be warned they are difficult, so if you are a seasoned player looking for a HOG game that is original and provides a challenge- you will not be disappointed. Dont believe me? GIve it a try! Puzzles are original and really makes you think hard to solve without being impossible. Really provides that sense of acheivement, interesting story line, everything I have been looking for since my disappointment in the last MCF installment Return to Ravenhurst
Date published: 2012-02-26
  • y_2019, m_12, d_6, h_12
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_3.0.3
  • cp_2, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_0, tr_222
  • loc_en_US, sid_13738, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=RATING, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=HELPFULNESS, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=FEATURED, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_bigfishgames

The Big Fish Guarantee:

Quality tested and virus free. No ads, no adware, no spyware.

Your Security and Privacy are important to us! Privacy Policy

, share your thoughts about this game!

Surface: Mystery of Another World

After your son, Bobby, mysteriously disappears, it's up to you to find him in Surface: The Mystery of Another World!

Heres what your review will look like once it’s posted.

Click Submit if you’re happy. Your review should appear soon. To make changes, use the Edit or Cancel buttons.

Thanks for sharing your thoughts about this game!

You’ve already shared your thoughts about this game.

Thanks for submitting the review below.