Ghost Towns: The Cats of Ulthar

Ghost Towns: The Cats of Ulthar

PC

Also available on

Hidden Object

Play Now Download the free trial

This game will not work on your operating system.

Are you sure you want to download this game?

Free sample version

(174.54 MB)

By clicking "Play Now", I accept the Terms of Use and acknowledge that I have received the Privacy Policy. If this is your first time downloading a game from Big Fish, our handy Game Manager app will install on your computer to help manage your games.
Buy Now Get the full version70% OFF!

This game will not work on your operating system.

Are you sure you want to purchase it?

Full version game

$ 9.99 USD

Only $2.99 - use coupon NEW299

Upon arriving in a strange city, you find the citizens ready to burn Menes at the stake in Ghost Towns: The Cats of Ulthar! Wander the streets of Ulthar and discover what Menes did that got him in so much trouble in this incredible Hidden Object Puzzle Adventure game. Find out why the citizens worship cats from ancient times and try to save Menes from his gristly fate in Ghost Towns: The Cats of Ulthar!

New customers get your first game for $2.99!*

70% OFF!

Use Coupon: NEW299

* Collector's Editions and free to play games not included.

Game System Requirements:

  • OS: Windows XP/Vista/Win7/8
  • CPU: 1.0 GHz
  • RAM: 1024 MB
  • DirectX: 9.0
  • Hard Drive: 657 MB

Big Fish Games App System Requirements:

  • Browser: Internet Explorer 7 or later
Reviews at a Glance

Ghost Towns: The Cats of Ulthar

0 out of 5 (0 ReviewsReview)
Average Rating:
Play Now Download the free trial

This game will not work on your operating system.

Are you sure you want to download this game?

Free sample version

(174.54 MB)

Buy Now Get the full version70% OFF!

This game will not work on your operating system.

Are you sure you want to purchase it?

Full version game

$ 9.99 USD

Only $2.99 - use coupon NEW299

Customer Reviews
Ghost Towns: The Cats of Ulthar is rated 3.9 out of 5 by 88.
Rated 5 out of 5 by from great game I hate cats but was able to ignore that part. Great story. Enjoyable music. Nice challenge. Great graphics except during mini games. I really ejoyed the back and forth,collecting objects, and then needing to use them elsewhere.
Date published: 2012-03-11
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Best game in a loooong while! Played the demo and loved it! Bought it right away and could not stop playing! HO scenes very good, some items I needed a hint to find. Mini-puzzles were good, some that required thought to solve, only a couple did I skip. Bottom line: If you only purchase one game, let this be THE ONE! Thank you, Big Fish!
Date published: 2012-03-12
Rated 5 out of 5 by from A tru CAT game! I loved this game, very good story and very nice graphic. Very gruesome in more than one way but that makes it even more addictive since you just got to see the end of it! A must for catlovers like myself!
Date published: 2012-03-15
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Fun Hidden Object Adventue Game If you love cats you will love this fun SE. There are cats in every scene. You can click on and collect cats for bonus content. The H.O. s are fun and challenging. Mini puzzles are very challenging. Great storyline, great soundtrack. A great game.
Date published: 2012-03-10
Rated 5 out of 5 by from I want MORE::: Despite the fact that I hate Cats;;;;; I loved this game Even hearing the cat parrying and Meowing it didn’t phase me one bit. This game kept me enthralled all the way through the game [although I only tried the Hour version] TKS Ria Pitty I cant turn this coment to Green but I Do Recommend this game YEA
Date published: 2012-05-05
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Awesome Hidden Object Game Graphics were great! Very unique puzzles and storyline. I have no complaints about the game. It is a "have to own game"! I love hidden object games. Their the only ones I buy!The HO scenes were great!
Date published: 2012-03-29
Rated 5 out of 5 by from lots of fun great game good story worth the money
Date published: 2012-03-15
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great game The best Hidden Object game I have played for some time.
Date published: 2012-03-15
Rated 5 out of 5 by from great storyline this is game that keep you interested and you dont wnt to stop till the end
Date published: 2012-03-14
Rated 5 out of 5 by from It kept my attention Storyline was good and I really liked.
Date published: 2012-03-11
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Love love love this game Thank you Game Fish. I just played the Demo game.Really liked it.
Date published: 2012-03-11
Rated 5 out of 5 by from great game I started the game and couldn't quit til i was finished.
Date published: 2012-03-10
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Loved It! Very good. Fairly long game. Rather easy but it was so well done. Great HOS and a happy ending. You must be a cat lover!
Date published: 2014-02-21
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Its a nice game . . . Nice game if play as Expert . . .
Date published: 2014-01-09
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Cats!!! Liked game alot. Storyline is different, although the ending could have been better. Game kept my attention, and I liked the music.
Date published: 2013-12-16
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Good HOPA game I liked the length of the game and the mysterious story line of how an orphan boy was pinned for murder. The puzzles weren't too hard, just right. Good graphics. Enjoyed and would recommend. Parents be warned, that there are a few HO scenes with possible scary objects, like an arm or a foot or just a scary head.
Date published: 2013-08-11
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Cute This was the cutest little game. I loved the Hint cat; it was so cute whenever a bug would fly by and get its attention. I had to rely on the Hint a lot to get where I needed to go so I heard enough meowing. It was cute though. I'm a cat lover anyway. More games like this would be nice.
Date published: 2013-07-18
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Good Game This is a really entertaining game, not the best graphics but enjoyable and plenty to do worth a go
Date published: 2013-03-28
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Fun Fun game. Especially if you love cats.
Date published: 2013-03-24
Rated 4 out of 5 by from BEWARE...IF YOU ARE A CAT LOVER! I did not read the reviews of this game until I recently finished and was surprised at what MANY of them contained. The game play was entertaining enough and I enjoyed the numerous HOGs and finding the little cat statues. The graphics were not grainy but they were fine with their cartoonish appearance. There was no animation. The storyline seemed fine....to a certain point. The game attracted my attention because of the cats. I wish I was smarter about this purchase to begin with. Not paying enough attention I guess. An elderly couple was supposedly killed by a bunch of common cats who evidently tore the couple to pieces and the mayor is about to execute a young boy for orchestrating the murders. The elderly couple were seeking a youth potion and thought that various types of cat hair were a vital ingredient. So the couple are going mad and becoming very weak and still determined to restore their youthful appearance and health. Well, not thinking the game could possibly contain anything THAT objectionable, it really took me by surprise! The old lady was trapping and killing cats to obtain the hair she needed for the potion. That just crushed me even though this is just a game. I came upon 2 cut-scenes...1 of cats in cages not knowing what lay in store for them and then a secret room with many cat skins hanging on a line across top of room. Contrary to what so many reviews have stated...the old couple were not harmed by the cats. THEY ARE ALIVE!! and victims of the evil-minded mayor. You can find out for yourself what happened. I hope I did not spoil someone's fun....if so, I truly apologize. I write this review because so many others are misleading. In my opinion this is not a sweet little story as others claim. It is about innocent cats being killed. There is no action in the story but pictures and suggestion are quite enough! Big Fish should have put a warning on this game for people who are sensitive to animal issues. Yes, animal lovers are a strange bunch, aren't we, to those of you who are not? But that is really beside the point. I don't know what recommendation to place on this game. It was entertaining for the HOGs and puzzles but, for myself, definitely not for subject matter. But to be fair, I will give 4 stars. Decide for yourself and your younger children. I RELUCTANTLY recommend!! Faith....
Date published: 2017-09-02
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Ghost Towns: The Cats of Ulthar SE I have been playing all of the older Hidden Object Adventure games in an attempt to find a game that is as interesting and entertaining as my favorite game, the original Phantasmat. The problem is that many of the older games are clunky with poor graphics and little storyline. This game really surprised me, it has an interesting and unique story, and fairly decent graphics for it's age. The only downfall is the fact that it lacks features that I've become familiar with, such as the fact that the inventory bar cannot be locked in place (you'd be surprised how annoying it is when the inventory bar moves up and down constantly as you refer to the items you have collected) and there is no map to show you what areas have an active task, and no jump to transport method. Yep, you will have to "walk" to each area old school style, AND remember where the area is in the first place. After playing both editions, I do recommend the Collector's Edition over this Standard Edition because I really enjoyed finding the 24 cats hidden throughout Ulthar, but if your not into finding collectibles, this edition is perfectly fine. Below is the review I wrote for the Collector's Edition so that you can compare for yourself which Edition will best suit your needs: The town of Ulthar hasn't gone to the dogs, but it has gone to the cats! For as long as anyone can remember, the cats of Ulthar have banded together to protect the city and the grateful citizens erected a monument to honor their feline protectors. In the blink of an eye, all that has changed, and the cats seem to be in a frenzy, they have attacked and killed a prominent but odd couple. The Mayor believes that a young vagabond boy has enchanted these cats, and is scheduled to be executed for the murder of Mr. & Mrs. Jones! This is going to be a tough case to solve once the beloved cats of Ulthar turn against you! Naturally you will be aided on this investigation by a fuzzy feline as your "hint" buddy, let's keep our fingers crossed that he doesn't become enchanted and turn on us, I don't trust his beady little eyes! The Collector's Edition has 24 hidden scaredy cats to find, cats that are scared and hiding all around Ulthar, and I must say, some are challenging to find and they aren't in every scene which make it even more challenging. The graphics are hand drawn, not my favorite, but for hand drawn graphics they are pretty decent. There are no voiceover either, jut dialog boxes to read, but after all this is an older game so I really wasn't expecting voiceovers. The Hidden Object Scenes are all simple text lists with no interactions and some items are difficult to find because of clarity issues with the hand drawn graphics. The Mini Games are fairly entertaining such as selecting cat shaped locks in the correct order, rotating three different discs so that the color coded leaves match the visual hint shown, there are even the old standard jigsaw puzzles to. The Collector's Edition has Screensavers, Wallpapers, Concept Art pictures, 24 hidden Cats, Music, a built in Strategy Guide and a Bonus Chapter, enjoy!
Date published: 2015-10-09
Rated 4 out of 5 by from For cat lovers, first. And the rest. I cannot be objective about this game, since it is about cats, and we get to see a lot of them. The graphics are not that hot, but they are decent, and while after a while you need to resort to the hint to know where to go, it always points you in the right direction. Miaow, miaow, miaw... (my cat approves)
Date published: 2014-05-01
Rated 4 out of 5 by from I liked it...and I don't even like cats! Originally, I wasn't even going to try this because the reviews said "Good game if you like cats"...DON'T LISTEN TO THEM, it's a good game PERIOD!!! I didn't feel the enjoyment of this game had anything to do with cats. Good HOG's, Good puzzles, nice artwork, and a story that pulls at your heartstrings! Sounds like a winning game to me!
Date published: 2013-03-29
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Original story, fun item collection optional game This game starts not with a car crash, missing/kidnapped relative, or mysterious inheritance, but a boy who's falsely accused of murder and sentence to death. An original premise, and an orignal story overall that develops to reveal that all is not what it seems. The art has a gorgeous, hand-painted look to it and is beautifully illuminated by moonlight or candlelight. There were a variety of puzzles, but they were all of pretty average (i.e. easy) difficulty for this genre. I especially enjoyed doing the jigsaw puzzles as the complete picture reveals more of the back story with some voiceover narration. I always like it when games have an optional task to collect specific types of items, and in this case it's cats. They're pretty well-hidden, and in a couple of cases, despite looking closely in every location, I had to refer to the walkthrough to find the cat. Overall, this was a pretty good HOG that stood out to me for its original story and fun optional collection game (of cats).
Date published: 2013-01-02
Rated 4 out of 5 by from A Very Good Game - Intriguing Cats Story This review is for the whole game playing in advance mode. Story: You must save the child, Menes from being burned at the stake and the town from an unknown evil which in this case has to do with the town's beloved cats. 6 Chapters 3 game play modes: Easy, Advanced and Hard; Advanced mode does have sparkles and glints. Journal but no map. No voice overs. HOS (hidden object scenes): All found my word list and they're not interactive. Hint takes about a minute and is also helpful outside of HOS. Puzzles: Just to name some: jigsaws, swapping tiles, or finding items to put in a lock & moving the items in a specific way to open the lock. Can also be skipped and takes about a minute. You also find 24 cats throughout the game. My overall impression of the game: I did play the demo of the CE version when that came out however no voice overs means no buy for me and with that said... I found this SE version pretty enjoyable as I found this "cats" story intriguing as it held my interest to the end as these "cats" play a significant role in the plot. The graphics are a "cartoon style" drawing and I found them well done. Some areas a little dark but I think that was just to set the mood of the game so to speak. While this game has A LOT of HOS which I did find to be on the Sanford & Son junkyard pile side, I didn't have much difficulty at all locating most of the objects, I also found this game to have quite a bit "adventure" to it as well with the traveling back/forth. Puzzles: I'm not a fan of these however completed most of them as I only skipped a couple. I also located all the cats. As for game length: About 4 1/2 hours for me and definitely long enough for me. Depending on your game play you may or may not get this much time out of the game. Overall I give this 4 stars. Not a very challenging game in my opinion however found it fun/relaxing. Some well done voice overs really would of added to this game however for the SE version that's not a deal breaker for me. Thanks Big Fish and developer for a very good game here. As always, definitely give it a whirl and decide for yourself.
Date published: 2012-06-19
Rated 4 out of 5 by from A very fun game I very much enjoyed this game. It had great adventure elements, good hidden object scenes and very smooth game play. The background story was well developed, and was revealed slowly throughout the game, which was well done. Also, the game was a good length. It had a moderate degree of challenge on the advanced setting which I felt was just right to make the game relaxing and fun. I did not care much for the puzzles in the game, and did not like the style of the graphics in the cut scenes, which was the main reason I choose not to get the CE edition. However, the graphics in the main part of the game were fine. I don't really like cartoon style graphics in games, and particularly not when they are mixed in with a more traditional style, such as was done in this game. I agree with many of the comments regarding the feeling that the graphics were done by two different art teams. This gave the game a disjointed feel. Other than the cartoon graphic segments and the basic jigsaw type puzzles, I thought the rest of the game was really well done and highly enjoyable. It is a shame it was a mixed bag visually - for that reason I am glad I waited for the SE. Overall, this was a very enjoyable game.
Date published: 2012-05-08
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Couldn't Stop Playing! I played the entire game in one sitting, even though it was way past when I should have gone to bed! The downside to that is that the game isn't super long, but it was very enthralling and I wanted to finish it to find out what happened in the story. The sound effects/music were not overbearing, the visual quality was good, and the HO scenes weren't bad. I wouldn't say the game was particularly challenging (objects were almost too easy to find), but it was a lot of fun.
Date published: 2012-04-13
Rated 4 out of 5 by from A nice game Overall I enjoyed this game. The story line is good and the graphics very good. The HOS are straightforward 'find the item', i.e. no interactive items, but most of them are quite challenging which made a nice change. The mini-games are fun and fairly easy. There are several locations to visit and revisit and no map but I didn't find that a problem as there are not too many of them so it is fairly easy to remember what is where. I thought the length of the game was fairly short compared to some and am glad therefore that I bought the SE rather than the CE. Enertaining nonetheless.
Date published: 2012-03-18
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Definitely a title for cat lovers (myself included) I actually enjoyed this one; I bought the CE and have enjoyed it thoroughly. The story was intriguing (at least it was to me) although finding the hidden cats was a pretty big challenge. I do highly recommend this one!
Date published: 2012-03-10
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Not that bad of a game Graphics are not the greatest, no voice over so I turn off the music. Lots of going from place to place but the HOS are easy. There are lots better out there. I only played the free trial and could not get that into it. Good game for beginners or for a free game. I will not buy.
Date published: 2012-08-23
  • y_2022, m_5, d_26, h_22
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_3.0.27
  • cp_2, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_0, tr_88
  • loc_en_US, sid_13907, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=RATING, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=HELPFULNESS, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=FEATURED, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_bigfishgames

The Big Fish Guarantee:

Quality tested and virus free. No ads, no adware, no spyware.

Your Security and Privacy are important to us! Privacy Policy

, share your thoughts about this game!

Ghost Towns: The Cats of Ulthar

Upon arriving in a strange city, you find the citizens ready to burn Menes at the stake in Ghost Towns: The Cats of Ulthar!

Heres what your review will look like once it’s posted.

Click Submit if you’re happy. Your review should appear soon. To make changes, use the Edit or Cancel buttons.

Thanks for sharing your thoughts about this game!

You’ve already shared your thoughts about this game.

Thanks for submitting the review below.