Rita James and the Race to Shangri La

Rita James and the Race to Shangri La

PC

Adventure

Play Now Download the free trial

This game will not work on your operating system.

Are you sure you want to download this game?

Free 1 hour trial

(320.21 MB)

By clicking "Play Now", I accept the Terms of Use and acknowledge that I have received the Privacy Policy. If this is your first time downloading a game from Big Fish, our handy Game Manager app will install on your computer to help manage your games.
Buy Now Get the full version70% OFF!

This game will not work on your operating system.

Are you sure you want to purchase it?

Full version game

$ 9.99 USD

Only $2.99 - use coupon NEW299

Join the “More Brave than Brilliant” Rita James on another whirlwind adventure in search of the mythical paradise of Shangri-La in Rita James and the Race to Shangri-La! Travel with Rita, Sebastian, Dr. James, and Marbles the one eyed monkey, to a land of mystery where few have ventured in this mesmerizing Hidden Object Puzzle Adventure game. Find the legendary city while being chased by the sinister Dr. Stroheim!

New customers get your first game for $2.99!*

70% OFF!

Use Coupon: NEW299

* Collector's Editions and free to play games not included.

Game System Requirements:

  • OS: Windows XP/Vista/Win7/8
  • CPU: 1.2 GHz
  • RAM: 512 MB
  • DirectX: 9.0
  • Hard Drive: 352 MB

Big Fish Games App System Requirements:

  • Browser: Internet Explorer 7 or later
Reviews at a Glance

Rita James and the Race to Shangri La

0 out of 5 (0 ReviewsReview)
Average Rating:
Play Now Download the free trial

This game will not work on your operating system.

Are you sure you want to download this game?

Free 1 hour trial

(320.21 MB)

Buy Now Get the full version70% OFF!

This game will not work on your operating system.

Are you sure you want to purchase it?

Full version game

$ 9.99 USD

Only $2.99 - use coupon NEW299

Customer Reviews
Rita James and the Race to Shangri La is rated 3.6 out of 5 by 45.
Rated 5 out of 5 by from For a Good Time, Call Rita James....... Once again Rita James and her sidekick, Marbles are out to clear her Father's name. For a great adventure, this really is a game that will put a smile on your face. I loved the first installment: Escape from Thunder Mountain and found this game paticularily entertaining. What I do love about this adventure/HO game is that not only do you have a good story to follow, a good map, challenging puzzles and minigames, the HO scenes have alot more interactive play to them then the usual HO scene we get. In addition, there is a good hint system that outlines each task and if you dont use it, then you get the chance to use your grey cells which I enjoy immensly about this game. In addition, I think that the V/O are brilliant, true to form and character and although many might find the cartoon style graphics childish, I think it adds charm to the entire gmeplay. I mean who doesnt love cartoons? My only pet peeve is that the cursor tends to get sluggish in some scenes but I turned off my custom cursor which made it easier to move about. Seriously, dont dismiss this game, at least try the demo. Rita James Rocks!!!!
Date published: 2012-03-26
Rated 5 out of 5 by from AHumerous and Clever Story: Rita James In Shangri-La Very clever adventure story with a hint of Indiana Jones thrown in. The comic book style cut-scenes did not distract from the game. Graphics were good. Rita's snarky monkey side kick seems to be able to see danger before it happens. The HO's were interactive, nicely done very clear and easy to see. Sparkles indicate areas of interest. Music was very serene. Mini puzzles were fresh and some what technical. Enjoyable. Overall, I really enjoyed myself. Lots of humor, enjoyable puzzles and amusing characters to make you laugh throughout the story.
Date published: 2012-03-28
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Excellent game! I loved this game! The story and cut scenes were funny. I really liked Marbles the one-eyed monkey. The graphics aren't as good as most other, recent games, but I would rather play a fun game like this than another one of those gorgeous looking, boring ones!
Date published: 2013-05-29
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Have you ever spent a rainy day in the Pacific Northwest This was such a fun, funky game, way to go developers. Hardly noticed the rain at all no better way to spend a day. Thank you
Date published: 2013-04-05
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Boredom fighter I liked this game. It's really on the cheesy side, but it's pretty funny in a cartoon way. You have to play it with a lot of acceptance in areas that you would have to do something that in real life you would no way attempt, but, hey, it's a game and that's the fun of it. The characters are so full of themselves it makes me laugh.
Date published: 2012-04-10
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Fun for all I enjoyed this game simply for the fact it was a bright cartoon with not too much emphasis on the hidden object factor. I am not much of a fan of the constant hidden object scenes that alot of games bury people in so this was enjoyable.
Date published: 2012-04-01
Rated 4 out of 5 by from A fun and quirky game Another adventure with Rita and the one-eyed monkey Marbles. Whilst not as good as the first one in the series, it was still a fun game. Loved the humorous cut-scenes! The game offered nothing special. More adventure than hidden objects, without any frills. The games and puzzles were relatively easy, and the hint button charged quickly. The tasks tab worked almost like a strategy guide in that it showed you what scenes still needed completing, when stuck. The graphics were okay, voice-overs good, and the game ran smoothly and loaded quickly. The storyline fell short - just sort of bumped from one scene to the next without any plot. The length of the game was fair. Whilst not to the calibre of most of the CE games around, it was still fun to play with a bright and chirpy feeling to it.
Date published: 2012-03-28
Rated 4 out of 5 by from FUN & QUIRKY CHALLENGE...MONKEY INCLUDED!... Reveiw is on demo but that is the usual place to decide. This was a refreshing change and must state a challenge for me. Have not played any other 'Rita Adventures' so really enjoyed the whole idea of a trio of 'drawn cartoon characters' and of course the 'crazy monkey'! That said the storyline was as the title stated and done well as it kept me interested to find out 'what is next'? Game does make you do some thinking but must read what is explained. Liked the map area with task to do and checked off, quite unique. Audio was appropriate for the area of country being explored and frankly not annoying. Graphics were defined but in some area on the dark side making some things harder to find. No sparkles which are o.k. if game has them or not but when none, that make you have to 'go to the thinking cap' part of brain and a challenge IMO. Was amazed when time was up, Oh NO!... and now will be one game as a got to 'buy'. Just have to find out what this 'trio' will be up to as they progress to Shangri La. Its four stars here and will say 'try it'! Laughter is good for you!
Date published: 2012-03-27
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Entertaining HOAP game This game ticks all the boxes for an entertaining game that isn't overly challenging, but not too easy either. No option for different modes of play, but thankfully no sparkles and not too much hand holding either. The HO scenes were interactive, and very nicely done. The game play didn't have you running back and forth too much which is a bonus. Once you've finished a chapter, you are in a new environment with little more than a handful of various rooms to visit. The hint refilled quickly, and didn't give too much away. The puzzles were too easy really. I skipped some - more out of boredom than the challenge! You collect up to four different energy crystals that have different functions..start fires, add electricity, blow wind and help young things grow. I found these being used more towards the end of the game. I played non stop for 6 hours, and still just have the last bit to do. A relaxing game, well thought out although the graphics weren't that special. Cartoon cut scenes, most of which I skipped. Voices weren't irritating and characters quite amusing.
Date published: 2012-03-26
Rated 4 out of 5 by from A cute game that will give you a laugh I've played others in the Rita James series also and I've found them all to be fairly entertaining. The dialogue and characters are amusing to say the least. Gameplay itself is not bad at all. It's pretty straight forward and holds your interest enough. I don't ever pay much attention to music in games since I usually turn it down or off in order to hear the environment and voices better so I'm not a good one to rate music. HOS scenes are interactive and objects are clear enough to see without wanting to throw something at your computer screen. Graphics throughout the game are nice and clear as well. Overall a cute game that I would recommend trying since there are certainly much worse games out there than this and like I said it's amusing so you'll get a good laugh once in a while at the very least.
Date published: 2012-03-26
Rated 4 out of 5 by from A fun quirky game The graphics are nice - not the depth of other stunning games but good enough to get you involved in the atmosphere. The storyline is good and it is set in the cold once again! This is more cartoon-like and the characters are fun and the dialoge amusing. The tutorial will help you with the game. The HOS have different ways of finding items - including putting items together and there is some challenge here. The puzzles are good and not too hard and if you persevere, you can work them out so for those looking for some challenge, this may be the game for you. The map is interesting - it shows you the locations plus the tasks and is easy to work with. An enjoyable game.
Date published: 2012-03-26
Rated 4 out of 5 by from A race in which you can take your time I rather liked some of the locales for their graphics which are clear, not overloaded with useless details, the setting in snowy and icy Tibet and the "technical" aspect of several tasks involving machinery and tools. It seems the devs derived their inspiration from some scenes that made the originality of Syberia and Paradise. I was also amused by the intro, cutscenes, characters and dialogs; there is a small amount of humor to them and the voice-acting which backs them up is quite good. So is the music which shows an effort has been made to produce a decent soundtrack. The rest however left me fairly cold [no wonder, we're in Tibet... LOL] and unimpressed. The game would probably have been more enticing without any HO Scenes although these are quite manageable and on the whole not too cluttered. It would also have gained in quality if the puzzles hadn't been so dead easy. As for the tasks, well, always the same sort of stuff with the traditional screwdriver, crowbar and similar items. Hints deplete even if there is nothing to find, but the map helps locating your whereabouts. I am not too sure the story makes sense in the end. Strictly speaking this is a 3 Star game. I am giving it 4 stars mainly because of the cartoon intro movie and cutscenes and the soundtrack. Not really challenging and rather relaxing you may want to keep this game on the side in case it comes up on the Week's or Daily Deal, the sole instance that would fully justify my recommendation, unless you like tackling machines and mechanisms or are looking for something simple to do
Date published: 2012-03-26
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Finally a few laughs I love to laugh and this game does it for me. I agree that most HOB scenes are very dark but I still enjoy the challenge of figuring out the next step. Good music to keep me going in the game and off course a few comical cartoon characters to keep you laughing. You have many challenges so stay alert. Can't get bored in this game. I love it and will of course purchase it. Try it, you'll like it!
Date published: 2012-03-26
Rated 4 out of 5 by from A cartoon style graphics game with the old serial style of story presentation Cartoon style graphics divided into chapters much like the old TV serial type programs where they end an episode on a cliff hanger and then come back the next week and getting out of the situation. The story was interesting and easy to follow but there were times when where to go next could be confusing. As you often had several directions in which you could go, it was nice to have a task list (which I didn't discover until a third way through the game) to let you know when an area was completed. There were some funny moments in the game especially with the monkey and panda sidekicks with plenty of HO screens to hunt through containing interactive items some requiring multiple steps to complete. Some of the mini games had little or no direction leaving you to figure out what needed to be done and a few were timed with very short time frame to complete the tasks. Fortunately it only restarted the mini game and didn't repeat some of what was already completed. There is a skip button for all but the final scene. Not a bad way to spend a few hours when you have nothing else to do.
Date published: 2014-07-13
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Another Enjoyable Game In This Series ... I Bought "Escape From Thunder Island" On Special And Went Looking For This Game As Soon As I Had Finished To Use Up A Game Voucher ... They Are Two Comical Adventure Games With Creative HOG's And Lengthy Game Play ... Great Value And Great Fun ...
Date published: 2013-09-07
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Interesting I enjoyed the cartoon atmosphere and found the humor of the cut scenes amusing, tho anyone under 18 may not like it so much as the references are of a different generation. All in all the graphics, music and voice acting were good. Some things in the HO's didnt corrolate to the description you were looking for (i.e.dashboard hula girl as protective equipment, but ah there's that humor again) so remember to think outside the box :) and you will have to hit the hint button more than you may have in the past. Also read the Help before playng, minipuzzle hints work different than you may think. 3 stars as i do recommend this game for those who would like something a little different, its not great, but it is different.
Date published: 2012-04-10
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Scenes rather dark but challenging to play From Big Finish Games this is an amusing hidden object in the style of a 1950s adventure, the graphic are clear & cartoon in style. I found the scenes a little dark although the cut scenes are bright enough, you really should watch these as there are some hilarious moments. Be sure to explore the scenes thoroughly as you will find many inventory items which are not always easy to spot. Most of the items will be used reasonable quickly so your inventory will not get too full. There is no choice in gameplay but the only sparkles are for the H0s & they are very subtle, the H0s have some excellent interactive items some of which require 3 or 4 items to complete the object. The hint recharges in 40 seconds & can be useful outside the H0s; it will give a clue what to do next if you get stuck. The mini games range from easy to rather hard; once you get into the mind-set of the developer they are a little easier to solve. I found them interesting & they form part of the gameplay rather than being add-ons; there is a skip button. There is a task list which shows what actions still need to be performed in an area; some gamers may find this too much like hand holding but you do not have to use it as it has to be clicked on in order to read it. Through the game you will collect an amulet & crystals; each crystal will give you a different ability to help you. There are not a great many H0 scenes, this is more about solving problems to get to the next part of the game.
Date published: 2012-03-26
Rated 3 out of 5 by from So-So Fairly average HO/Adventure, graphics a little fuzzy at times but not too bad and the music was ok. The storyline was alright, not particularly gripping (I started skipping the cutscenes) Puzzles aren't too difficult and objects are fairly easy to find. One thing that stops this game from being better is the Hint button. I had to use it occasionally to find out what to do next and even if there is nothing to do in the scene it uses it up and you have to wait for it to charge again. The free hour was more than enough for me and I leave the game unfinished with no regrets.
Date published: 2012-03-26
Rated 3 out of 5 by from CUTE GAME A simple but cute and amusing game. HOS are detailed but not overcrowded. Some locations are a little gray, but that's to be expected when looking at machines and snowy locales. Not difficult to figure out what to do. One thing that is a little interesting and unique is that you can click things in the HOS and they will fly off the screen, only to reappear when they weren't on the list. If not paying attention, easy to miss. Also like that sometimes you need more than one interaction in the HOS to collect your item.
Date published: 2013-04-02
Rated 3 out of 5 by from What Race? I was quite disappointed... the promising start then turned into a boring illogical roundabout. Sorry devs the promise of a good game was not fulfilled for me. The idea is great but needs work to keep players attentive. I agree that the Hint button was not a good help although I used it twice - but to no avail. keep working on things because the graphics etc were good, but in a race there should be an element of urgency. This is just not for me.
Date published: 2012-03-26
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Maybe when on sale It was reminiscent of the old adventure games with a few hidden objects mixed in. Voice overs are good, graphics are okay, but you have to explore quite a bit to know what to do without a hint. Storyline is a bit silly with a professor being falsely accused, a female pilot adventurer and a one-eyed monkey. Puzzles were not really complicated, but they were not interesting to me. Overall, so-so.
Date published: 2012-03-26
Rated 3 out of 5 by from ok another..ok just played the demo and thought it was just..well..ok.. i might be the only one here, but i couldnt stand the dull music in this one either. didnt mind the cartoons tho, kinda cute. its an easy game with lots to look for and fun hogs...not too bad, but def not my style. demo was enough. but its worth going thru to decide for yourself.
Date published: 2012-03-27
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Good Newbie Game This is a good starter game for someone new to Big Fish, or for a parent wanting his or her child to learn how to play the games. It has it's comedic moments with the dialogue and the monkey is called Marbles, because he is short a few, not to mention the eye-patch he wears. Rita appears not to be in a class with Amelia Earhart but it is somewhat funny and entertaining, for less experienced players.
Date published: 2012-03-26
Rated 2 out of 5 by from Thank god for free trials! I am so happy we get to test drive games before shelling out any bucks. This game would have been a very bad investment for me. Any game developer that hides items just slightly out of view in the sides, top and bottom has lost me from the first frame. They are either sneaky or incapable of programming their game correctly....either way, they get no money from me. I wanted to like this game. The comic book style if the intro was different and pleasant. Unfortunately, the rest was a big let down and it went all downhill from there for me. The path was unclear and when I hit "hint" I kept realizing that I was looking for things that were tucked way in the corners. This happened to me 3 times in 20 minutes, after the 3rd time, I was no longer looking for the illusive object, I was looking for the exit button.
Date published: 2012-03-26
Rated 2 out of 5 by from had potential but couldn't quite deliver I really wanted to like this game but got totally frustrated and didn't finish it. hint button was slow and not much help. things were hard to find. I couldn't fill up the gas tank because the item that supposedly told me the combination I couldn't see and at that point I gave up. sorry, but this game is not for me.
Date published: 2012-11-19
Rated 2 out of 5 by from Not Great I feel like the others not great and cursor was slow moving from scene to scene, had to be right in the middle, hint was very slow and really had you going around and around. and i also agree with statement below Played through the whole trial period but frustrated. Graphics were ok music was nice. Agree with previous reviewer hint button is slow and game is difficult to manuver through
Date published: 2012-03-27
Rated 2 out of 5 by from No Way Hozay This is the worst game I have tried from BF. First Scenes were not too bad BUT the Airport scene was BAD He or she was too much in love with the plane then getting on with the keys on it once and the warning came up watch the paintwork. Where are the gears and what were the Bolts for anyway;;;;;; and every time I went to the Snow it kept popping up about the Yeti Sorry about this But it is not for me Ria
Date published: 2012-05-15
Rated 2 out of 5 by from flat and dark I find the graphism very flat and dark. The challenge is often too much easy but you can loose a lot of time looking for a very little hidden thing. Not interesting.
Date published: 2012-03-28
Rated 2 out of 5 by from Not even worth playing the trial I played for about 10 minutes and gave up in disgust. The graphics are poorly done - reminded me of games from 10 years ago. The storyline was hard to follow and it wasn't clear what to do next without using a hint. Pass on this one. There are much better games out there worth your time and money.
Date published: 2012-03-27
Rated 2 out of 5 by from Not much fun Played through the whole trial period but frustrated. Graphics were ok music was nice. Agree with previous reviewer hint button is slow and game is difficult to manuver through.
Date published: 2012-03-26
  • y_2021, m_9, d_22, h_1
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_3.0.19
  • cp_2, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_0, tr_45
  • loc_en_US, sid_14061, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=RATING, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=HELPFULNESS, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=FEATURED, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_bigfishgames

The Big Fish Guarantee:

Quality tested and virus free. No ads, no adware, no spyware.

Your Security and Privacy are important to us! Privacy Policy

, share your thoughts about this game!

Rita James and the Race to Shangri La

Join the “More Brave than Brilliant” Rita James on another whirlwind adventure in search of the mythical paradise of Shangri-La!

Heres what your review will look like once it’s posted.

Click Submit if you’re happy. Your review should appear soon. To make changes, use the Edit or Cancel buttons.

Thanks for sharing your thoughts about this game!

You’ve already shared your thoughts about this game.

Thanks for submitting the review below.