Runaway With The Circus

Runaway With The Circus

PC

Also available on

Hidden Object

Play Now Download the free trial

This game will not work on your operating system.

Are you sure you want to download this game?

Free 1 hour trial

(315.89 MB)

By clicking "Play Now", I accept the Terms of Use and acknowledge that I have received the Privacy Policy. If this is your first time downloading a game from Big Fish, our handy Game Manager app will install on your computer to help manage your games.
Buy Now Get the full version70% OFF!

This game will not work on your operating system.

Are you sure you want to purchase it?

Full version game

$ 9.99 USD

Only $2.99 - use coupon NEW299

This heartwarming hidden object game set in 1930s France will take you back in time on an unforgettable journey of love, struggle, hope and determination. Join Mathilde, a beautiful young woman left destitute by the scarlet fever, as she becomes caught up in the colorful, character-filled world of the traveling circus. Help her fight her way up the circus ranks and steal the heart of the handsome animal trainer. Sumptuous illustrations, spectacular costumes and an endearing love story will transport you to the elegance and style of the 1930s. Runaway With the Circus!

  • Endearing love story
  • Fantastic soundtrack
  • 1930s setting

New customers get your first game for $2.99!*

70% OFF!

Use Coupon: NEW299

* Collector's Editions and free to play games not included.

Game System Requirements:

  • OS: Windows XP/Windows Vista/Windows 7/8
  • CPU: 2.5 GHz
  • RAM: 512 MB
  • DirectX: 9.0
  • Hard Drive: 351 MB

Big Fish Games App System Requirements:

  • Browser: Internet Explorer 7 or later
Reviews at a Glance

Runaway With The Circus

0 out of 5 (0 ReviewsReview)
Average Rating:
Play Now Download the free trial

This game will not work on your operating system.

Are you sure you want to download this game?

Free 1 hour trial

(315.89 MB)

Buy Now Get the full version70% OFF!

This game will not work on your operating system.

Are you sure you want to purchase it?

Full version game

$ 9.99 USD

Only $2.99 - use coupon NEW299

Customer Reviews
Runaway With The Circus is rated 3.2 out of 5 by 74.
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Slow but Good! I have to admit, the music alone got me to purchase this game. Although I am not from that era in time, I found the music quite good, and a real delight to listen to. The game is basically a HOG, with a few typical (spot the differences, word puzzles, etc.), thrown in for good measure, but the HOG scenes can be challenging, since many of the items are not so easy to find. I actually like that. The graphics are colorful and pleasant to look at, and the cut scenes of real circus clips from the 1930's a real bonus to view.
Date published: 2012-04-24
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Enjoying this game I didn't even wait the full hour trail to purchase, such a nice change from the usual dreary HOS, graphics and music very much sets the 30's mood. Would like to see more games like this.
Date published: 2012-04-24
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Pure Fun! Thank You Big Fish! Perhaps because of my age, I can really appreciate concept and elements of 'Runaway' I almost feel as though I am back in one of my favorite storybooks, which I often enjoy reading today. This game touches the child in me for a change and a well needed feeling as a business owner with much daily stress. The game offers challenge as objects in HOS are quite difficult to find and in order to achieve bonuses, you need to complete HOS in limited time. Games are non- challenging but quite colorful and fun. Classic 1930 era music is just wonderful and adds so much ambiance to game. There is a mute option. Developers have presented a real curve in Runaway. Nice change and well done!
Date published: 2012-04-24
Rated 5 out of 5 by from What A Nice Change-of-Pace Hidden Object Game! What a fun game! I got it as soon as the demo expired. You can choose one of 3 characters to be in this game; the avatars are a male, a female, or a circus tent. I chose a female and my story was that I was a girl who left home because it was time of depression and my whole family was quarantined due to a plague of scarlet fever that had swept the land. I fell asleep in a field and when I woke up the next morning, the circus had come to town and was setting up in the field. I managed to get hired to do the lowest job in the circus, and I begin to work my way up the job ladder there. I enjoy old Busby Berkeley movie musicals from the 1930's so the background music was right up my alley, and there are plenty of musical tracks so you don't notice any looping. One of those tracks sounded like Edith Piaf singing "La Vie en Rose", a favorite of mine (which is actually from the 1940's). The game is basically a HOG with puzzles between each hidden object scene. The puzzles are simple - match game, spot the difference, scrambled pictures, hidden words, etc. - but they act as a nice break between finding the hidden objects. The objects are cleverly hidden and sometimes quite small. After an area is completed and your character advances to a new job within the circus, a journal opens up and you can watch a short movie clip from the 1930's, another nice change of pace for the eyes. This is probably going to be a long game. There were more than 20 locations shown on the game map, and I only completed about four of them in the demo time. I played in the timed mode, but nothing happened when the timer ran out; I guess that I just didn't earn a time bonus for that round, but the game gives you the option of playing in an untimed mode anyway. There are two hidden hearts in each scene and you have to collect 60 of them to unlock some bonus features of the game (music and videos). I liked the graphics. They are all scenes of the circus. Edges of the images are slightly softened, making things blend in more, but might make finding items more difficult for those who prefer crisper images. Some of the H0 scenes ask for you to find 10-20 of a particular item, and looking at the scene you might be baffled because you can't spot them but a hint would be to click on any movie poster in the scene. In recent months I've gotten away from playing straight hidden object games, preferring the HOPA (hidden object puzzle adventure) games, but I'm really enjoying this game and its whole ambiance.
Date published: 2012-04-23
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Wow, the best!!!!!!! I have been waiting for a hidden object game with no blood and guts. So refreshing........ no monsters, no mentally unstable beings and no horrific crimes against children. The best is that you don't have to save anyone's life. Very perfect, very simplistic, music outstanding.
Date published: 2012-04-23
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Nostalgia at it's best This is a great game for someone a little older..the music reminds me of a era that was fun and I usually always turn the music down, but not in this game. The game itself is not too much of a challenge, but you do have to look closely to find some of the tiny objects, the storyline is interesting and overall I found this to be a lot of fun and the end of the trial came to quickly..give it a try..especially if you are in your golden years, so to speak.
Date published: 2012-04-23
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Runaway with the Circus I played Runaway with the Circus. It was fun. The whole game takes place in a circus. The hidden object part has different scenes of the circus. The puzzles that you have to solve to continue to the next hidden object has a circus theme to.
Date published: 2012-04-23
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Fun At the Circus! Good story. A lot of HO and kind of hard to find the objects but I so enjoyed the scenes it didn't make me feel too impatient. It's not an adventure go from room to room game, mostly hidden object with some puzzles and a story. I enjoyed the 30's music, don't get to hear that on the radio. Pretty relaxing game, you definitely feel like you're at a circus!
Date published: 2013-08-29
Rated 4 out of 5 by from A Very Nice Game I played the 60 minute demo of this game and wound up buying it. Some of the criticisms others have had (tiny objects, weird names for common objects, etc.) are legitimate but for me it didn't diminish my enjoyment of the game. I thought the best part was the music; I'm especially fond of Edith Piaf and I would have liked to have had more of her music on there. This wasn't the most challenging or frustrating HOG I've played and that's what appealed to me. The artwork is great and I really enjoyed the storyline. This is a nice, fun, relaxing game.
Date published: 2012-08-03
Rated 4 out of 5 by from At last...a plain old HOG! I really enjoyed this game and after I type this I'm going to play it again. It's so nice to not have to jump around a lot of different locations to figure out how to use an inventory item. Just find the hearts, find the items on the list and hear applause when you're done. The music is great and sometimes I hum along while I'm playing. If you have trouble finding maybe 10 acorns or something, you have to click on the poster in the scene. Anyway, fun and relaxing. I hope we get more like this!
Date published: 2012-05-19
Rated 4 out of 5 by from A great nostalgia game! I really enjoyed this one. The 1930s graphics, and the music were just perfect for the setting. Loved the old film reels, too. The game challenge was average, but the authenticity of the background and atmosphere made up for it. Anyone with a love of history should check this out. My grandmother grew up in this era, so I've got a some knowledge of it. Now, I have to get her to try it.
Date published: 2012-05-08
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Depression Era History Game Based on the demo. The heroine's diary is about life in the 30's and what the circus was like then. The music in this game reminds me of the movie "The Sting", which is based in the same time period. Unlike "The Sting", the music in this game is actual music recorded in the 1930's. There are historical videos of the circus, work, etc. you are awarded at the end of each level. The puzzles are easy, but some of the hidden objects are hard to find, even when you use a hint. Warning: the hint circle is not centralized over the object, it's just in the general area. They use European names for some things, such as "torch" for flashlight.
Date published: 2012-05-02
Rated 4 out of 5 by from NICE CHANGE OF PACE FROM ALL THE WEIRD SPOOKY STORIES If you are looking form something nice and different from all the ones that seem to come out today, this is for you. I love it because I get tired of all the creepy spooky stuff. This is uncomplicated and just old fashioned fun. My only complaint is that it could have been longer. I give it a B+
Date published: 2012-04-30
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Beautiful view The game is simple and does not have the mystery that all of the hidden games have that supply a challenge to it, but the nostalgic graphics are beautiful. Personally I am getting a bit tired of all of the "dark" hidden games. They are fun and challenging , but I would really like to see more bright and sparkly games. I hope to see more games like this. I like a pretty view.
Date published: 2012-04-29
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Nice game I liked this game. No adventure elements at all, strictly hidden object and puzzle, which is fine with me. The hidden object scenes were nicely challenging. They were not too small and the graphics were fine. The people were drawn awkwardly and perspective on them was off, just as in an old-fashioned "primitive" poster, but the inanimate objects you're searching for were mostly well done. Sometimes the hidden objects were out of scale with the rest of the scene, or blended in with other items. These are features that make the scenes challenging for advanced players, and I enjoy them. I did experience a couple of times where the click-sensitive area was slightly off from the picture; so I thought I was clicking, say, something that looked like a hat, but it accepted the click for the canoe behind it. That's always disorienting, but it happens in a lot of games. The music was fun; it didn't start to repeat until about 40 minutes in, which is more than you can say for most games' mood music. :) In the hour demo I played about 12 scenes and 12 mini-puzzles, and I only saw 3 different mini-puzzles - memory matching, find-a-word, and spot the difference. However, they were enjoyable (even the spot the difference!) so I didn't mind. They weren't very hard, though. I usually skip the story and I did here as well. I'll probably buy this, because it's a nice little game and looks like it has a lot of play time, and sometimes I get tired of dramatic stories and quests and inventories, and just want to find some objects. :)
Date published: 2012-04-28
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Nostalgia works for me Loved the accompanying music and the videos but they were a little bit too long.. the game was interesting and some objects hard to find. Pity there is no hint button with some of the harder puzzles... had to skip a few.. and I am a seasoned hidden object game puzzle player... never mind I enjoyed but it finished too soon
Date published: 2012-04-27
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Naustalgic and fun What a fun game. This music is before my time but I grew up on it and it brings back memories. It has a story line but why? This game would be fun on its own without a story. It could just be a trip to the Big Top. The art is intentionally bad. It is reminiscent of the badly painted and gaudy circus illustrations. Overall its not a bad game. Give it a try.
Date published: 2012-04-26
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Easy &enjoyable I am ejoying this game the preview was over before I even realized it. Straight forward hog no monsters or demons very refreshing. Easy to play.
Date published: 2012-04-25
Rated 4 out of 5 by from A step back in time In more ways than one. This is a circus-themed game set in the 1930's with drawing and music from that period. The sound track is actual '30s music, Bing Crosby, Glen Miller, etc. The music really sets the scene and draws you in to that time. The story is presented as silent film, flickering, grainy screen and all. It's quite a lot of fun. It is also a throughback to the old games where you play for points, get points deducted for random clicking and using a hint and get extra bonus points for finding hearts. The HO scenes are drawn like circus posters but the objects to find are miniscule and the list of items to find is printed in red surrounded by yellow making the letters appear fuzzy Very difficult to read. . This game is almost imossible for me (poor eyesight} to play as I can't see the stuff and keep having to use hints (there go my points) or pester others passing by to help me find stuff. The puzzles are sort of the regular old stuff as well {find the differences, concentration, etc.) You have one puzzle at the end of each HO scene. This is a cute game and if you have a craving for nostalgia this one is perfect. It reminds me a little of Madame Fate. That one was difficult to see, too.
Date published: 2012-04-23
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Cool Game I've bought a lot of games from Big Fish and I have to say this is one of the most delightful games. It centers around a circus in the 1930's and I love the music. The graphics aren't great, but manageable The storyline is really sweet and this game is a nice change from all the macabre HOGs. I would love it if Big Fish came out with a game from the '60s era.
Date published: 2012-04-23
Rated 4 out of 5 by from It's a Trip to the Circus This is a straight shooting hidden object game. Play a HOS, then complete a simple minigame, and you're done ... move on to the next HOS. But don't get me wrong: the very fact that it is beautifully drawn and straight shootin' is what works! No long complicated, difficult-to-solve puzzles. Nope, it is what you asked for: a HOG, not some great mystery to solve and no monsters or bugs walking on the screen. I'd definitely recommend it. You just need to be straight on what you're buying.
Date published: 2012-04-23
Rated 4 out of 5 by from I liked this but.... Overall, this seemed to be a very simple, straight forward hidden object game, it has the hidden object scene and then the mini game scene and then a bit of the story which has actual movie footage of old time circuses, so I found this game to be pleasing and relaxing~~ up to the scene where I needed to find a pair of binoculars and ten spinning tops. I absolutely could NOT find them anywhere in the scene, and that is even after I used the hint twice. I won't mark the game low for this because as of now I will chalk it up to a glitch on my computer's part, but other than that I found this to be pleasing and a refreshing change to the usual doom and gloom H.O. games.
Date published: 2012-04-23
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Vintage Hidden Object Game Let me say this first of all: if you don't like vintage music from the 30's, you will not like this game. I found the music to be fantastic! The graphics are reminiscent of that era. Even most of the items to find looked like things one would find in their grandparent's attic. The storyline flows nicely while maintaining what one would expect from the history of the 30's. Finding the hidden objects were challenging at times, but not too difficult. The hint button replenishes within a reasonable amount of time. I found the extra puzzles to be entertaining but a bit repeatative. It was nice to have the choice of playing with or without a timer. All in all, I thoroughly enjoyed this game. If you like vintage from the 30's, I believe you will enjoy it, too.
Date published: 2012-04-23
Rated 4 out of 5 by from What a pleasant surprise I downloaded this soft release thinking this game would be a disaster. I could not have been more wrong. To begin, the background music is straight out of the 30's ( swing music ). In the 30 minutes of the demo I played there was never a repeat of any song. That in and of itself was terrific. This is a straight HOG. I skipped thru the storyline but I get the feeling it's better than ok. The HO scenes are tough with a lot of well hidden items. At the end of each segment there is a run of the mill puzzle # find the difference, matching squares, word searches etc. ) One of the very best features in the HO segments is that the backdrops look like old circus posters. Devs these days try to outwit each other with CE editions that end up being the same shoes just a different color. I think a lot of us HOGgers are tiring of this. Runaway is a very nostalgic game on many fronts. Every now and then an old fashioned HOG reminiscent of classics such as Huntsville are too good to pass up. I recommend Runaway wholeheartedly.
Date published: 2012-04-23
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Not as good as I'd hoped I had really high hopes for this game, and I'm sad to say I won't be buying it. First of all, I LOVE the soundtrack. I'm half tempted to buy and complete the game just to get the soundtrack. I love swing music, and this is full of it. But I don't think I can take the whole game just for the music. Part of the problem is the HOG scenes. The objects you are looking for are often very tiny and hard to spot. For someone with not-perfect vision, this makes the HOG games frustrating. Worse, the 'hint' sparkles show a large enough area that you are still struggling to find tiny little things. Part of the problem is the game just isn't exciting. You get a few screens of text to move the story forward. You then get a HOG scene, which is related to that point of the story. When you complete that, you get a mini-game. Repeat. I played about 7 or 8 rounds of this before I got so frustrated I had to stop. As much as I love the music, it's just not enough to make up for the frustration factor.
Date published: 2012-05-17
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Great Storyline great music and visual - but the hidden objects are too small to see - alot of time spent on looking for very small, dark objects. Can't recommend.
Date published: 2012-05-11
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Items are to small I love this type of game. This is a straight H O game with alternating H O and mini games. Mini games were not hard, but fun. The biggest drawback for me was the size of the objects. Try as I might, I just was not able to see the objects because they are just to small, at least for me. If you have no trouble with the size of the objects, then you will enjoy the game. Cannot recommend this game one way or another. You will have to decide for yourself whether or not you are able to see the objects in order to find them. To bad everything is to small. I would have enjoyed playing this game.
Date published: 2012-05-08
Rated 3 out of 5 by from I WANTED TO LIKE IT - BUT ... What a change from the normal pyscho stories I am so used to playing. But that's about all in its favour. The graphics were so bad, at times I could hardly make out any objects at all. Some graphics were actually blurring one item into another. I know I may need a more up to date computer, but I have no problems like this with all the other games I download. Mini games were quite easy, but fun. Didn't get too far before my 60 minutes were up because I spent too much time trying to decipher items. Such a shame
Date published: 2012-05-05
Rated 3 out of 5 by from I admit,there is way better out there, Fun,if you dont have any other game to play.
Date published: 2012-05-05
Rated 3 out of 5 by from A Stroll Down Memory Lane You don't have to be a member of the older generation to play this game but I think those of us who used to dance to the music of Benny Goodman and his Orchestra, in dresses we made ourselves, are going to have more fun. Runaway With The Circus has some lovely features that make for a unique game experience. The artwork is bright and colorful and captures the 1930's era. The music is delightful, a revolving soundtrack of fifteen vintage songs that set a whimsical mood. The story of our orphaned heroine, working her way up to become the star of the bigtop and finding romance along the way is charming. A diary records the story and as you progress in the game you are rewarded with old newsreel clips to enjoy. The clips don't seem to have anything to do with the story but they are highly entertaining nonetheless. Now for the bad news. The hidden object scenes are BADLY constructed. Many objects are hard to identify because they are too small, only partially exposed, badly drawn or blend into the background. Some objects are found only in a circus poster within the scene. These areas within the scene are highlighted by a subtle sparkle when you run the cursor over them. They are easy to miss and judging from other reviews, players who were not lucky enough to stumble across the secret must have gone crazy. Hints are available, but here again, frustration can run pretty high. The hint sparkles are so brief you really have to be lucky to catch them and adding insult to injury, they sparkle in the general area of the item you wish to find instead of pinpointing the object. More than once I had to wait for the hint button to recharge, click again, and still had to scour the area to find the item. There is also a penalty for too many random clicks. Puzzles between hidden object scenes are simple and repetitive. This game had a great deal of potential and I enjoyed seeing the story unfold but I cannot give a high rating for what I consider frustrating, unfair gameplay.
Date published: 2012-05-03
  • y_2019, m_9, d_15, h_14
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_2.0.13
  • cp_2, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_0, tr_74
  • loc_en_US, sid_14334, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=RATING, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=HELPFULNESS, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=FEATURED, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_bigfishgames

The Big Fish Guarantee:

Quality tested and virus free. No ads, no adware, no spyware.

Your Security and Privacy are important to us! Privacy Policy

, share your thoughts about this game!

Runaway With The Circus

An endearing 1930s love story set around a traveling circus.

Heres what your review will look like once it’s posted.

Click Submit if you’re happy. Your review should appear soon. To make changes, use the Edit or Cancel buttons.

Thanks for sharing your thoughts about this game!

You’ve already shared your thoughts about this game.

Thanks for submitting the review below.