Runaway With The Circus

Runaway With The Circus

PC

Also available on

Hidden Object

Play Now Download the free trial

This game will not work on your operating system.

Are you sure you want to download this game?

Free 1 hour trial

(315.89 MB)

By clicking "Play Now", I accept the Terms of Use and acknowledge that I have received the Privacy Policy. If this is your first time downloading a game from Big Fish, our handy Game Manager app will install on your computer to help manage your games.
Buy Now Get the full version70% OFF!

This game will not work on your operating system.

Are you sure you want to purchase it?

Full version game

$ 9.99 USD

Only $2.99 - use coupon NEW299

This heartwarming hidden object game set in 1930s France will take you back in time on an unforgettable journey of love, struggle, hope and determination. Join Mathilde, a beautiful young woman left destitute by the scarlet fever, as she becomes caught up in the colorful, character-filled world of the traveling circus. Help her fight her way up the circus ranks and steal the heart of the handsome animal trainer. Sumptuous illustrations, spectacular costumes and an endearing love story will transport you to the elegance and style of the 1930s. Runaway With the Circus!

  • Endearing love story
  • Fantastic soundtrack
  • 1930s setting

New customers get your first game for $2.99!*

70% OFF!

Use Coupon: NEW299

* Collector's Editions and free to play games not included.

Game System Requirements:

  • OS: Windows XP/Windows Vista/Windows 7/8
  • CPU: 2.5 GHz
  • RAM: 512 MB
  • DirectX: 9.0
  • Hard Drive: 351 MB

Big Fish Games App System Requirements:

  • Browser: Internet Explorer 7 or later
Reviews at a Glance

Runaway With The Circus

0 out of 5 (0 ReviewsReview)
Average Rating:
Play Now Download the free trial

This game will not work on your operating system.

Are you sure you want to download this game?

Free 1 hour trial

(315.89 MB)

Buy Now Get the full version70% OFF!

This game will not work on your operating system.

Are you sure you want to purchase it?

Full version game

$ 9.99 USD

Only $2.99 - use coupon NEW299

Customer Reviews
Runaway With The Circus is rated 3.2 out of 5 by 75.
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great New Twist on HOG Retro look and feel is well done. Video clips are interesting rewards. Music is well suited to game.
Date published: 2012-04-27
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Wow, the best!!!!!!! I have been waiting for a hidden object game with no blood and guts. So refreshing........ no monsters, no mentally unstable beings and no horrific crimes against children. The best is that you don't have to save anyone's life. Very perfect, very simplistic, music outstanding.
Date published: 2012-04-23
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Pure Fun! Thank You Big Fish! Perhaps because of my age, I can really appreciate concept and elements of 'Runaway' I almost feel as though I am back in one of my favorite storybooks, which I often enjoy reading today. This game touches the child in me for a change and a well needed feeling as a business owner with much daily stress. The game offers challenge as objects in HOS are quite difficult to find and in order to achieve bonuses, you need to complete HOS in limited time. Games are non- challenging but quite colorful and fun. Classic 1930 era music is just wonderful and adds so much ambiance to game. There is a mute option. Developers have presented a real curve in Runaway. Nice change and well done!
Date published: 2012-04-24
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Runaway With The Circus The 1930's songs and music that accompany this game, make it unique and memorable. There is one particular song by Glen Miller called 'The Little Man Who Wasn't There' I can only find one version of this, a very scratchy 78 rpm but in the game, it's flawless. I love it for that alone. The game itself would still be good without the music but it really does add to the retro atmosphere. The graphics, the subject and the music all reflect the era beautifully. The vintage videos are great too. On the down side, the objects can be difficult to find, sometimes impossible without a hint. I've just played it but I would like to play it again soon, which is unusual for me. I wish they'd make more featuring other decades. I just can't get enough of games like this.
Date published: 2018-09-04
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Quirky :O) I loved this, it's so quirky and full of nostalgia. The art and graphics are true to the era and the music is catchy, although I did at first turn it down in case my neighbours laughed at me.. then I didn't care haha! The storyline is lovely (you do have to read the intro's to each section to follow). I hope to see more like this.. it would be great to see different era's throughout history! MORE PLEASE!!
Date published: 2017-06-14
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Very direct HO game I liked this game. If you are looking for a direct hidden objects game without running around from room to room, this game is for you. I like to sit sometimes and just hunt for items without running around trying to find something to open up another room. This game is visually appealing and very fun to play.
Date published: 2012-08-07
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Enjoying this game I didn't even wait the full hour trail to purchase, such a nice change from the usual dreary HOS, graphics and music very much sets the 30's mood. Would like to see more games like this.
Date published: 2012-04-24
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Fun At the Circus! Good story. A lot of HO and kind of hard to find the objects but I so enjoyed the scenes it didn't make me feel too impatient. It's not an adventure go from room to room game, mostly hidden object with some puzzles and a story. I enjoyed the 30's music, don't get to hear that on the radio. Pretty relaxing game, you definitely feel like you're at a circus!
Date published: 2013-08-29
Rated 4 out of 5 by from A Very Nice Game I played the 60 minute demo of this game and wound up buying it. Some of the criticisms others have had (tiny objects, weird names for common objects, etc.) are legitimate but for me it didn't diminish my enjoyment of the game. I thought the best part was the music; I'm especially fond of Edith Piaf and I would have liked to have had more of her music on there. This wasn't the most challenging or frustrating HOG I've played and that's what appealed to me. The artwork is great and I really enjoyed the storyline. This is a nice, fun, relaxing game.
Date published: 2012-08-03
Rated 4 out of 5 by from At last...a plain old HOG! I really enjoyed this game and after I type this I'm going to play it again. It's so nice to not have to jump around a lot of different locations to figure out how to use an inventory item. Just find the hearts, find the items on the list and hear applause when you're done. The music is great and sometimes I hum along while I'm playing. If you have trouble finding maybe 10 acorns or something, you have to click on the poster in the scene. Anyway, fun and relaxing. I hope we get more like this!
Date published: 2012-05-19
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Nice game I liked this game. No adventure elements at all, strictly hidden object and puzzle, which is fine with me. The hidden object scenes were nicely challenging. They were not too small and the graphics were fine. The people were drawn awkwardly and perspective on them was off, just as in an old-fashioned "primitive" poster, but the inanimate objects you're searching for were mostly well done. Sometimes the hidden objects were out of scale with the rest of the scene, or blended in with other items. These are features that make the scenes challenging for advanced players, and I enjoy them. I did experience a couple of times where the click-sensitive area was slightly off from the picture; so I thought I was clicking, say, something that looked like a hat, but it accepted the click for the canoe behind it. That's always disorienting, but it happens in a lot of games. The music was fun; it didn't start to repeat until about 40 minutes in, which is more than you can say for most games' mood music. :) In the hour demo I played about 12 scenes and 12 mini-puzzles, and I only saw 3 different mini-puzzles - memory matching, find-a-word, and spot the difference. However, they were enjoyable (even the spot the difference!) so I didn't mind. They weren't very hard, though. I usually skip the story and I did here as well. I'll probably buy this, because it's a nice little game and looks like it has a lot of play time, and sometimes I get tired of dramatic stories and quests and inventories, and just want to find some objects. :)
Date published: 2012-04-28
Rated 4 out of 5 by from A step back in time In more ways than one. This is a circus-themed game set in the 1930's with drawing and music from that period. The sound track is actual '30s music, Bing Crosby, Glen Miller, etc. The music really sets the scene and draws you in to that time. The story is presented as silent film, flickering, grainy screen and all. It's quite a lot of fun. It is also a throughback to the old games where you play for points, get points deducted for random clicking and using a hint and get extra bonus points for finding hearts. The HO scenes are drawn like circus posters but the objects to find are miniscule and the list of items to find is printed in red surrounded by yellow making the letters appear fuzzy Very difficult to read. . This game is almost imossible for me (poor eyesight} to play as I can't see the stuff and keep having to use hints (there go my points) or pester others passing by to help me find stuff. The puzzles are sort of the regular old stuff as well {find the differences, concentration, etc.) You have one puzzle at the end of each HO scene. This is a cute game and if you have a craving for nostalgia this one is perfect. It reminds me a little of Madame Fate. That one was difficult to see, too.
Date published: 2012-04-23
Rated 4 out of 5 by from What a pleasant surprise I downloaded this soft release thinking this game would be a disaster. I could not have been more wrong. To begin, the background music is straight out of the 30's ( swing music ). In the 30 minutes of the demo I played there was never a repeat of any song. That in and of itself was terrific. This is a straight HOG. I skipped thru the storyline but I get the feeling it's better than ok. The HO scenes are tough with a lot of well hidden items. At the end of each segment there is a run of the mill puzzle # find the difference, matching squares, word searches etc. ) One of the very best features in the HO segments is that the backdrops look like old circus posters. Devs these days try to outwit each other with CE editions that end up being the same shoes just a different color. I think a lot of us HOGgers are tiring of this. Runaway is a very nostalgic game on many fronts. Every now and then an old fashioned HOG reminiscent of classics such as Huntsville are too good to pass up. I recommend Runaway wholeheartedly.
Date published: 2012-04-23
Rated 4 out of 5 by from It's a Trip to the Circus This is a straight shooting hidden object game. Play a HOS, then complete a simple minigame, and you're done ... move on to the next HOS. But don't get me wrong: the very fact that it is beautifully drawn and straight shootin' is what works! No long complicated, difficult-to-solve puzzles. Nope, it is what you asked for: a HOG, not some great mystery to solve and no monsters or bugs walking on the screen. I'd definitely recommend it. You just need to be straight on what you're buying.
Date published: 2012-04-23
Rated 4 out of 5 by from I liked this but.... Overall, this seemed to be a very simple, straight forward hidden object game, it has the hidden object scene and then the mini game scene and then a bit of the story which has actual movie footage of old time circuses, so I found this game to be pleasing and relaxing~~ up to the scene where I needed to find a pair of binoculars and ten spinning tops. I absolutely could NOT find them anywhere in the scene, and that is even after I used the hint twice. I won't mark the game low for this because as of now I will chalk it up to a glitch on my computer's part, but other than that I found this to be pleasing and a refreshing change to the usual doom and gloom H.O. games.
Date published: 2012-04-23
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Cool Game I've bought a lot of games from Big Fish and I have to say this is one of the most delightful games. It centers around a circus in the 1930's and I love the music. The graphics aren't great, but manageable The storyline is really sweet and this game is a nice change from all the macabre HOGs. I would love it if Big Fish came out with a game from the '60s era.
Date published: 2012-04-23
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Vintage Hidden Object Game Let me say this first of all: if you don't like vintage music from the 30's, you will not like this game. I found the music to be fantastic! The graphics are reminiscent of that era. Even most of the items to find looked like things one would find in their grandparent's attic. The storyline flows nicely while maintaining what one would expect from the history of the 30's. Finding the hidden objects were challenging at times, but not too difficult. The hint button replenishes within a reasonable amount of time. I found the extra puzzles to be entertaining but a bit repeatative. It was nice to have the choice of playing with or without a timer. All in all, I thoroughly enjoyed this game. If you like vintage from the 30's, I believe you will enjoy it, too.
Date published: 2012-04-23
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Nostalgia works for me Loved the accompanying music and the videos but they were a little bit too long.. the game was interesting and some objects hard to find. Pity there is no hint button with some of the harder puzzles... had to skip a few.. and I am a seasoned hidden object game puzzle player... never mind I enjoyed but it finished too soon
Date published: 2012-04-27
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Naustalgic and fun What a fun game. This music is before my time but I grew up on it and it brings back memories. It has a story line but why? This game would be fun on its own without a story. It could just be a trip to the Big Top. The art is intentionally bad. It is reminiscent of the badly painted and gaudy circus illustrations. Overall its not a bad game. Give it a try.
Date published: 2012-04-26
Rated 4 out of 5 by from A great nostalgia game! I really enjoyed this one. The 1930s graphics, and the music were just perfect for the setting. Loved the old film reels, too. The game challenge was average, but the authenticity of the background and atmosphere made up for it. Anyone with a love of history should check this out. My grandmother grew up in this era, so I've got a some knowledge of it. Now, I have to get her to try it.
Date published: 2012-05-08
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Depression Era History Game Based on the demo. The heroine's diary is about life in the 30's and what the circus was like then. The music in this game reminds me of the movie "The Sting", which is based in the same time period. Unlike "The Sting", the music in this game is actual music recorded in the 1930's. There are historical videos of the circus, work, etc. you are awarded at the end of each level. The puzzles are easy, but some of the hidden objects are hard to find, even when you use a hint. Warning: the hint circle is not centralized over the object, it's just in the general area. They use European names for some things, such as "torch" for flashlight.
Date published: 2012-05-02
Rated 4 out of 5 by from NICE CHANGE OF PACE FROM ALL THE WEIRD SPOOKY STORIES If you are looking form something nice and different from all the ones that seem to come out today, this is for you. I love it because I get tired of all the creepy spooky stuff. This is uncomplicated and just old fashioned fun. My only complaint is that it could have been longer. I give it a B+
Date published: 2012-04-30
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Beautiful view The game is simple and does not have the mystery that all of the hidden games have that supply a challenge to it, but the nostalgic graphics are beautiful. Personally I am getting a bit tired of all of the "dark" hidden games. They are fun and challenging , but I would really like to see more bright and sparkly games. I hope to see more games like this. I like a pretty view.
Date published: 2012-04-29
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Easy &enjoyable I am ejoying this game the preview was over before I even realized it. Straight forward hog no monsters or demons very refreshing. Easy to play.
Date published: 2012-04-25
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Not as good as I'd hoped I had really high hopes for this game, and I'm sad to say I won't be buying it. First of all, I LOVE the soundtrack. I'm half tempted to buy and complete the game just to get the soundtrack. I love swing music, and this is full of it. But I don't think I can take the whole game just for the music. Part of the problem is the HOG scenes. The objects you are looking for are often very tiny and hard to spot. For someone with not-perfect vision, this makes the HOG games frustrating. Worse, the 'hint' sparkles show a large enough area that you are still struggling to find tiny little things. Part of the problem is the game just isn't exciting. You get a few screens of text to move the story forward. You then get a HOG scene, which is related to that point of the story. When you complete that, you get a mini-game. Repeat. I played about 7 or 8 rounds of this before I got so frustrated I had to stop. As much as I love the music, it's just not enough to make up for the frustration factor.
Date published: 2012-05-17
Rated 3 out of 5 by from A Stroll Down Memory Lane You don't have to be a member of the older generation to play this game but I think those of us who used to dance to the music of Benny Goodman and his Orchestra, in dresses we made ourselves, are going to have more fun. Runaway With The Circus has some lovely features that make for a unique game experience. The artwork is bright and colorful and captures the 1930's era. The music is delightful, a revolving soundtrack of fifteen vintage songs that set a whimsical mood. The story of our orphaned heroine, working her way up to become the star of the bigtop and finding romance along the way is charming. A diary records the story and as you progress in the game you are rewarded with old newsreel clips to enjoy. The clips don't seem to have anything to do with the story but they are highly entertaining nonetheless. Now for the bad news. The hidden object scenes are BADLY constructed. Many objects are hard to identify because they are too small, only partially exposed, badly drawn or blend into the background. Some objects are found only in a circus poster within the scene. These areas within the scene are highlighted by a subtle sparkle when you run the cursor over them. They are easy to miss and judging from other reviews, players who were not lucky enough to stumble across the secret must have gone crazy. Hints are available, but here again, frustration can run pretty high. The hint sparkles are so brief you really have to be lucky to catch them and adding insult to injury, they sparkle in the general area of the item you wish to find instead of pinpointing the object. More than once I had to wait for the hint button to recharge, click again, and still had to scour the area to find the item. There is also a penalty for too many random clicks. Puzzles between hidden object scenes are simple and repetitive. This game had a great deal of potential and I enjoyed seeing the story unfold but I cannot give a high rating for what I consider frustrating, unfair gameplay.
Date published: 2012-05-03
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Could Of Been A Great Trip To The Circus But I'm Running Away From This One This review is for the 1 hr demo. playing in relaxed mode. *30 levels *Timed/Relaxed Mode * No voice over - Text boxes that come up to read which can be skipped if you don't want to follow the story and just play the game. * Graphics are definitely from the 1930's which is the era for the game and are grainy. *Music is also from the 1930's. * The game play here is 1 HO scene followed by one puzzle. * Sometimes you have to zoom in on a poster to find10 spinning tops for example. I did come across some interactivity in HO scenes later on i.e. put battery in torch. *The puzzles what I played of this game: Find the matching pairs, spot the difference, and a cross word puzzle. Puzzles can also be skipped. * There are some achievements/penalties to this game: * Find 2 hearts in each HO scene (level) to unlock a 1930's era video. Find all 60 to unlock unlimited puzzles. * For every item found you get 1000 points. If you find items in quick succession you get 1250 points. * There's also a time bonus if you play in timed mode. *For each hint used cost you 5000 points and you can't use the hint again for about another minute. My overall impression of the game: Well although the graphics are grainy along with the 1930's era video clips I still liked them along with the music. I also enjoyed the story what I played of this. The puzzles what I played of this were also very easy as I didn't skip any. The HO scenes in my opinion trying to find some of the objects as some of them were REALLY small or REALLY blended into the scene. I wouldn't consider the scenes Sanford & Son junkyard but since these were so small still kinda like trying to find a needle in a haystack. I don't expect them to be easy but make it big enough I can see it and my eyesight is pretty good. This was overkill. OMG! And the hint has to be about the worst "hint" I've ever come across in a game as it will just show a big ole sparkle and would stay up on the screen for a bit as I would have to click just so to find the object and sometimes I had to use the hint twice just for one object so of course lost points. Overall I give this 3 stars as I knocked this down 1 star for the small objects and another star for this gosh awful hint. This for me absolutely ruined what could of been a great game. One hour at the circus was more than enough for me. Thanks anyway Big Fish and developer of this game while there are some things I liked about this game and it had real potential here but I'll have to pass up the rest of the circus cause I'd like to keep my eyesight intact. Sorry but I wouldn't purchase it as the daily deal or catch of the week either. As always definitely give it a whirl and decide for yourself.
Date published: 2012-04-25
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Runaway with the Circus If you like the Amazing Adventure series of games, then you will like this one. Similar game play, i.e. 1 ho scene followed by 1 puzzle. You can play relaxed or timed. You collect 2 hearts in each scene - don't worry if you don't find them immediately as you can go back later. Hovering your mouse over each scene on the map will tell you how many hearts you collected. If you collect all of the hearts, you will unlock 1930's era videos and also unlimited puzzles. Completing the game will unlock the music. The music is in line with the 1930's and can go from being very upbeat to a bit melancholy. For me this meant that one minute I felt I was being rushed, and then the next I could have dozed off. Lovely music but not for me whilst I'm playing a game. Items in the ho scenes can be a bit hard to spot sometimes as they are very well hidden. Some times you have to zoom in on i.e. a poster to collect say 10 of something. I did come across some interactivity in ho scenes later on i.e. put battery in torch. Each hint will cost you 5000 points and the hint system takes 45 seconds to recharge. The puzzles are the norm, i.e. spot the difference, word search etc., - all easy - and all puzzles can be skipped but the skip button takes an awfully long time to charge. This kind of game would be my ideal i.e. ho - puzzle - ho - puzzle etc., but alas, just like the Amazing Adventure games, the puzzles are just too easy. I would love to see this type of game but which included some mind bending puzzles. No buy for me but I would recommend you at least give it a try. You might like it.
Date published: 2012-04-23
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Would have been should have been This looked like such a great game, something different, but when playing it, the hidden objects are so small and not very clear. And something that floats on water and a cap for a car. I did not know what that was, never saw a car wear a cap. Must be the developer is from another country. I would have bought this if the objects had been clear enough to find. I don't mind looking but hate to hunt for something you can't see.
Date published: 2012-04-26
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Basic hidden object game Although I enjoyed this game I found it not very challenging at all - even in timed mode. I liked the music and the graphics, but the puzzles could have been harder.
Date published: 2012-04-26
  • y_2021, m_9, d_22, h_1
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_3.0.19
  • cp_2, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_0, tr_75
  • loc_en_US, sid_14334, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=RATING, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=HELPFULNESS, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=FEATURED, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_bigfishgames

The Big Fish Guarantee:

Quality tested and virus free. No ads, no adware, no spyware.

Your Security and Privacy are important to us! Privacy Policy

, share your thoughts about this game!

Runaway With The Circus

An endearing 1930s love story set around a traveling circus.

Heres what your review will look like once it’s posted.

Click Submit if you’re happy. Your review should appear soon. To make changes, use the Edit or Cancel buttons.

Thanks for sharing your thoughts about this game!

You’ve already shared your thoughts about this game.

Thanks for submitting the review below.