The Book of Desires

The Book of Desires

PC

Also available on

Hidden Object

Play Now Download the free trial

This game will not work on your operating system.

Are you sure you want to download this game?

Free 1 hour trial

(185.37 MB)

By clicking "Play Now", I accept the Terms of Use and acknowledge that I have received the Privacy Policy. If this is your first time downloading a game from Big Fish, our handy Game Manager app will install on your computer to help manage your games.
Buy Now Get the full version70% OFF!

This game will not work on your operating system.

Are you sure you want to purchase it?

Full version game

$ 9.99 USD

Only $2.99 - use coupon NEW299

Explore an intriguing world in The Book of Desires, a thrilling Hidden Object Puzzle Adventure game! Ashley had a horrible dream where she traveled to a strange world. When she awoke she realized it was just a nightmare, but her reality turns out to be just as scary. Help her escape with her life in this exciting adventure!

New customers get your first game for $2.99!*

70% OFF!

Use Coupon: NEW299

* Collector's Editions and free to play games not included.

Game System Requirements:

  • OS: Windows XP/Windows Vista/Windows 7/8
  • CPU: 1.6 GHz
  • RAM: 512 MB
  • DirectX: 9.0
  • Hard Drive: 213 MB

Big Fish Games App System Requirements:

  • Browser: Internet Explorer 7 or later
Reviews at a Glance

The Book of Desires

0 out of 5 (0 ReviewsReview)
Average Rating:
Play Now Download the free trial

This game will not work on your operating system.

Are you sure you want to download this game?

Free 1 hour trial

(185.37 MB)

Buy Now Get the full version70% OFF!

This game will not work on your operating system.

Are you sure you want to purchase it?

Full version game

$ 9.99 USD

Only $2.99 - use coupon NEW299

Customer Reviews
The Book of Desires is rated 3.9 out of 5 by 101.
Rated 5 out of 5 by from A Fully Enjoyable Game I really enjoyed playing this game. It was fun, original, and I could tell the developers had worked very hard on it. I had one tiny complaint and that was the lack of articles when awarded something. "You have an apple" is preferable to "You have apple" or "You have a turtle." instead of "You have turtle". It took me awhile to stop gnashing my teeth over this. Otherwise there were no misspelled words that I noticed but one of the items described as "anti-stapler" had me going until I thought about a staple pull. Yes, that was what it was. The hint system worked beyond the HOGs so that was a nice touch. I appreciate all the help I can get and only use it if I am really stumped. Please! Keep the snakes out of the HOGs if you can. They are very creepy. I hope these developers read the reviews about their creations and come up with other charming and fun games such as "Book of Desires". Bravo!
Date published: 2012-04-21
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Love this game! I just loved ths game, just wished it wasn't so short. The graphics were awesome and the items in the HO's were well hidden. Could not stop playing it once I found the time. Loved the story line. I would deffinettly recommend this game. I can't wait to see what they come out with next if they listen to everyone's input. Also for al these years that i have been playing these games on Big Fish, I thought that these kind of games were called HO's but I seen that someone called this game an Adventure game...lol....who new..Just go's to show your never to old to learn something new..Thanks again Big Fish..
Date published: 2012-04-20
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Game I was waiting for this one to come out. It just seems to get better as I progress. Highly recommend.
Date published: 2012-04-20
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Pretty Neat Game! This game has all kinds of delightful twists on traditional HOGs - the puzzles were pretty easy, but they are different as well, with some being the usual fare. I really thought the story line was good as well, you go to different dimensions and you have put everything right before you can move on. The graphics are beautiful; I don't listen to the music because I find it too much of a distraction while I am playing the game, so I turn completely down. There were quite a few parts of this game that startled me, so it was also good in a spooky kind of way. And the best part - there's actually an ending! But it does leave a possibility for another game of this sort. All in all, a pretty cool game - worth the price. The only thing I did not care for was, there is no kind of journal or map, but the hint button recharges quickly, and points you in the right direction. I did get stumped a couple of times - which is a blessing and curse - blessing it adds to the level of challenge; curse I had to go to the walkthrough a couple of times, which I really hate because I want to stay with the game and play it. A good buy and I do hope they come out with another one like this.
Date published: 2012-04-29
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Really like this iHOG The trial hour went so fast, that I knew it was a definate buy. Casual and advanced modes are always welcome. I no longer buy any game with no option to play without sparkles. It's a fun game, and although a bit too much hand holding the games does makes you think and so far, not too much running back and forth. There is no diary to refer to, so you need a good memory or a piece of paper and pen. The hint system is excellent also. The puzzles aren't too challenging, but the way some of them have been put together is a bit different. There is a skip button. The HO scenes are pretty standard with no interaction and the usual find this or that item with no connection to the game. My one annoyance was that the cursor was taken for just three wrong clicks, and it seemed an age before it let me have it back! Why devs do this, I just don't know. It doesn't add to the challenge or game experience. They make one object look like the one you want, then you sit there waiting to play on... I haven't looked at BFG w/t, so don't know the length of the game.
Date published: 2012-04-17
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Best of the Best I know everyone's taste is different, but for me, this game has all the best elements. It is by far the best game have ever played. I havent finished the game yet; I just had to pause to pass along my unqualified recommendation. Even the music was appropiate and pleasant. Hope I can find another like it. Wish it would never end.
Date published: 2012-04-28
Rated 5 out of 5 by from I hope there's a sequel! This is an excellent game for HOG players. I had to use hints a few times, but that was only because I got ahead of myself. The problem I really had were the stars, but got through it....finally. This is truly one of my favorites.
Date published: 2012-05-03
Rated 5 out of 5 by from GREAT GAME This was a great hog. The scenes were dark and gloomy but it was still easy to see everything. The only downfall about this game was that it was a liittle short for me. I wish it would have been longer but it would be great for beginners. Can't wait for part 2 if they have one.
Date published: 2012-04-21
Rated 5 out of 5 by from A fun cute game I really ended up enjoying this game and I had to start over to get past one scene!. nice story line, i don't use sound or music so can't comment on that but it was relatively easy to follow, hint button was helpful, game was fast but challenging at the same time.only caution find all 16 stars! I had to start the game over to get past the star game. otherwise a great game, even the skeletons where enjoyable to "talk to". perfect for playing without having to think to much or work to hard.
Date published: 2012-04-22
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Be Careful What You Wish For The story is about a little girl who wanted (wished) her parents would go back to when they were not fighting. She obtained a pen that she had to place on a magical book that transported her back in time. The little girl faced many a challenge in finding objects to doing mini puzzles. The story kind of makes you want the ability to go back in time and change things for the good of man kind. Mine would be world peace and cures for all diseases. The story mode could be done in either casual or advanced. There was a hint button and a walkthrough. Which were a plus for me. The sound, music, graphics, and color were artfully done. I for one turn down the volume for music and audio (voice) but leave the sound effects up. The option of saving the game where you left off and not having to restart over is a big plus. Can't wait for a sequal to this game. Thank you Meridian 93 the developers of the game and also to BFG for offering it on their web site. I can't wait for a sequal the game. I leave the purchasing of the game up to the individual player.
Date published: 2012-04-17
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Excellent Game Great graphics, challenging puzzles; I don't believe you can buy a better HOS game.
Date published: 2012-04-25
Rated 5 out of 5 by from The Book of Desires I loved the game it was a great story, you want to think twice in real life what you wish for. The grafics was great i played the casual mode next time im going to play the harder mode. Over all i would deffently reccomed this game it was fantastic. I love hidden object games that have no time limit you can relax and play at your own speed. The hint button helped me out a great deal. I know others will have a great time playing this game.
Date published: 2012-04-23
Rated 5 out of 5 by from THE BOOK OF DESIRES BEAUTIFUL GRAPHICS. It's on my favorite buy list.There's so many on my buy list but this one is among the top 3.The hidden objects weren't overly hard to find. The puzzles were good also...It' sort of a alice in wonderland story. gungho
Date published: 2012-04-19
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Very enjoyable hidden objects game Really enjoyed playing this game!
Date published: 2012-04-19
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Excellent HOS game I loved this game. It was crisp and fun to play.Hidden objects were not difficult to find and hid buttong charged quickly. I will play it again.
Date published: 2012-04-19
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Book of Desires.... buy it if you 'desire' a good 'game'!! The puzzles are quite unique and the presentation can't be beat. I almost didn't download the trial as it appeared to be just another dark game, yet I am so glad I tried it. The variety of gameplay is so appealing and interesting... the story is unique, and, wow, I am just SO happy I checked this one out; I ended up purchasing it and can't wait to continue on.
Date published: 2012-04-18
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Amazingly Beautiful Well-rendered images truly evoke a dream-like state. Loved this game (all of it); I only wish it were a bit longer. It seemed to be over with all too soon.
Date published: 2012-04-29
Rated 5 out of 5 by from It's a wounderfull game I justh finished The Book of Desires. The storyline is nice, the puzzles some of theme "make your brain to work", there are many HOS wich I love. I play the demo for about 10 minutes and buy the game and really enjoy it! I recomend this game
Date published: 2012-04-21
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Game! This game was unique. It had more of an adventure feel and I quite enjoyed the puzzles! Finding music notes, moving the stairway to access different areas, finding objects that changed in order to collect her soul, all added to the enjoyment of playing this game! The hidden object scenes were plentiful and not too crowded. Thank you to the developer and Big Fish!
Date published: 2012-04-20
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Awesome! I rarely give reviews but, LOVED IT, my kind of game. I only have one little tiny issue, the bubble words, i prefer characters to talk or if needed then add words at bottom. Waiting for more games in this style. Graphics #1
Date published: 2012-04-18
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Thought Provocative Personally I enjoyed "The Book of Desires, however there were a few sluggish areas but overall I enjoyed this game. I liked the skeletal figures, the music and other graphics. I try to look at all angles and enjoy each game for what it is. I find the puzzles really got my brain cells activated and for me that is definitely a plus.
Date published: 2012-04-17
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Pleasant Experience Nice storyline. Lovely graphics etc. This game is pleasant but not too easy. It makes the brain work things out. Some searching and retracing of steps but at all times progress is made.Well done Devs. I heartily recommend this game. Snags
Date published: 2012-04-17
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Really enjoyed! Loved the hidden objects, pretty good challenge...the mini games were also a nice challenge. Don't have any negatives about the game!
Date published: 2012-04-22
Rated 5 out of 5 by from WHAT A FUN GAME!!! I really liked this game, and plan to purchase it. It is fun,and not frustrating. It is a little on the easy side, but that is okay. The hint system is good, the HOS fairly simple, and the puzzles are good and can be skipped. The story is different; though the puzzles are nothing new. I hated to see the demo end!!!
Date published: 2012-04-18
Rated 5 out of 5 by from The Book of Desires Great Game....... ive just played this game theres alot of Puzzles in the game and nice HO.if you looking for a good game then try this out. I played this in Expert mode.
Date published: 2012-04-17
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Mysterious and fascinating A pleasant story of a mystical, warm graphics, interesting mini games.
Date published: 2012-04-18
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Game Great! Story line is super!!!!
Date published: 2012-04-17
Rated 4 out of 5 by from ENJOYABLE AND QUIRKY BUT VERY SHORT REVIEW OF COMPLETED GAME I really liked the game. But be warned, this is a basic game. There are Normal and Expert modes of play, however there are no voiceovers, diary or a map. The graphics are quite dark and moody, however there is plenty of colour. The music is orchestral. The hidden object games are straightforward. Some of these are very dark and a bit blurry, but I had no trouble at all finding all the items needed. The mini-games are fun and I really enjoyed doing these. None of them are hard to do. The train mini-game had me going round and round for a while and took some time to finish it. All up the game took me about 3 hours to play without hinting or skipping anything. I wished it had been longer as I was quite engrossed in the game and having fun. Overall, an enjoyable game with plenty to do. If you can forgive the graphics, then you are in for a treat. Happy playing fishies.
Date published: 2017-05-09
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Help This Little Girl Keep Her Family Together! I enjoyed this game. The story was original (although you might be tempted, if you are a parent, to feel a little guilty), the graphics were lovely, and it was adequately challenging. That being said, I'm glad the game was short because I had to start it all over from the beginning when I was nearly finished. Toward the end when you're collecting the souls, there are 2 areas that once you leave them, you cannot go back and get the souls, which means you cannot finish the game. I recommend when it comes time to collect the souls, you open up another window or device and let the Big Fish walk-through guide you through the process.
Date published: 2016-08-28
Rated 4 out of 5 by from I liked it I enjoyed "The Book of Desires." I think it was one of the better ones I've tried lately. It wasn't particularly difficult, so if you are looking for a real "brain teaser" then perhaps this is not for you ... but if you just want good graphics and reasonable hidden objects and puzzles, then this might be good for you. The hint system is very usable if you ever get stuck ... but if you examine each scene carefully then you won't need too many hints. I bought this during "a half price sale" and for that price it was great value.
Date published: 2014-06-15
  • y_2021, m_10, d_21, h_18
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_3.0.19
  • cp_2, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_0, tr_101
  • loc_en_US, sid_14283, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=RATING, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=HELPFULNESS, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=FEATURED, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_bigfishgames

The Big Fish Guarantee:

Quality tested and virus free. No ads, no adware, no spyware.

Your Security and Privacy are important to us! Privacy Policy

, share your thoughts about this game!

The Book of Desires

Help Ashley escape with her life in The Book of Desires!

Heres what your review will look like once it’s posted.

Click Submit if you’re happy. Your review should appear soon. To make changes, use the Edit or Cancel buttons.

Thanks for sharing your thoughts about this game!

You’ve already shared your thoughts about this game.

Thanks for submitting the review below.