Shiver: Poltergeist

Shiver: Poltergeist

PC

Also available on

Hidden Object

Play Now Download the free trial

This game will not work on your operating system.

Are you sure you want to download this game?

Free sample version

(227.04 MB)

By clicking "Play Now", I accept the Terms of Use and acknowledge that I have received the Privacy Policy. If this is your first time downloading a game from Big Fish, our handy Game Manager app will install on your computer to help manage your games.
Buy Now Get the full version70% OFF!

This game will not work on your operating system.

Are you sure you want to purchase it?

Full version game

$ 9.99 USD

Only $2.99 - use coupon NEW299

After inheriting a manor in England, you begin to explore the Kangale Estate and discover its history in Shiver: Poltergeist! Ricardo Chellini's life is incredibly dull and full of repetitive tasks that leave him unfulfilled. One day, however, he receives a letter informing him that he's the sole heir to an incredible manor in England. Travel with Ricardo to his new estate and discover its terrifying history in Shiver: Poltergeist, an incredible Hidden Object Puzzle Adventure game!

New customers get your first game for $2.99!*

70% OFF!

Use Coupon: NEW299

* Collector's Editions and free to play games not included.

Game System Requirements:

  • OS: Windows XP/Windows Vista/Windows 7/8
  • CPU: 1.6 GHz
  • RAM: 1024 MB
  • DirectX: 9.0
  • Hard Drive: 409 MB

Big Fish Games App System Requirements:

  • Browser: Internet Explorer 7 or later
Reviews at a Glance

Shiver: Poltergeist

0 out of 5 (0 ReviewsReview)
Average Rating:
Play Now Download the free trial

This game will not work on your operating system.

Are you sure you want to download this game?

Free sample version

(227.04 MB)

Buy Now Get the full version70% OFF!

This game will not work on your operating system.

Are you sure you want to purchase it?

Full version game

$ 9.99 USD

Only $2.99 - use coupon NEW299

Customer Reviews
Shiver: Poltergeist is rated 4.1 out of 5 by 79.
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Wow! Glad I bought it! I had tried this game as the CE version and didn't know if I really liked it. With the sale going on this weekend, and the in-depth reviews from the other reviewers, I thought I'd try the SE version and give it another chance. Boy, everyone was right. This is an excellent game! A nice gray, dark theme and the perfect game for a chilly Saturday afternoon. The ratio of puzzles to HOS was excellent. Too many games are relying on 70% HOS, which has become a bit boring and "done that". Game seemed nice and long, the scenes tied into each other and made sense, and the game really kept my interest. This is a must have for your collection!
Date published: 2012-10-20
Rated 5 out of 5 by from A thriller that hooked me from the beginning ! Awesome HOPA. Intro extremely well done - like a good movie: a person running away from an island in fire... years later...Ricardo inherits an amazing mansion (the same island)... however haunted by a poltergeist. YES! Again a story "very similar" with many others, but so highly developed, with excellent graphics, amazing sound and VO, outstanding videos (which can be watched again in the menu) and awesome atmosphere that after the free trial you will want to buy ! (I bought the CE, for being more complete!) It has a journal with: diary, tasks, story and photos (you will taking pictures of the locations - help you to know where you have to go back). Amount of HOS very well balanced. Interactive but easy, and with the objects as ever - hammer, butterfly, bell, brush ...). Some mini games, not challenging and those I played, were no different from usual.The game is great entertainment in the adventure, the places to be explored, special effects and visual game. And so what if the subject is the same ... what matters is that the game offers plenty of fun !
Date published: 2012-04-27
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Still my favorite game ! I happen to stumble back to this page and it's a shame to see only 1 review so I have decided to write. This game is one of the most atmospheric games I have played and I think I have played quite a few of this kind. The thing that really catches me with this game was there were no annoying useless voice over or cardboard cut out figures appearing all the time. The graphics combined with the sound literally made me jump at times when it was suppose to. The videos throughout and during makes this game feel like a movie that you don't want to pull away from. Choice of difficulty and the rest like other HOB games. Puzzles and HOB were good and some were easy. However, this is one game that must try and those very few in which I could not pull myself away from. Flows very well. I have been trying to find something with similar feel and still have not found one yet. Absolutely recommend.
Date published: 2012-04-27
Rated 5 out of 5 by from EXCELLENT HOG and ADVENTURE GAME!!! I just finished playing the game, and I really enjoyed it. It is a good mix of hidden object and adventure, which I like. Some of the cut-scenes are kinda scary, but there are some well-lit locations that even it out. The flashlight is not necessary in most areas (Whew!) It seemed like a nice long game to me. I hardly ever use the hint button to point me in the right direction. That's part of the adventure! And a few times I thought the game was drawing to a close, but then whole new locations would open up. Even if you didn't like the first Shiver game, at least give this a try...you might be surprised!
Date published: 2012-04-30
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Well-crafted and delightful This is a wonderfully well-crafted hidden-object, puzzle adventure game which strikes a good balance between all these aspects. Having loved the previous title in the series, I bought the CE version and was not disappointed. The developers really know how to tell a good story, not just through excellent writing, but also through visual effects, sounds and music. As with the first game, this is designed to literally make you shiver with its chilly atmosphere. While the theme has been over-done in the genre, this series was one of the original "darker" games. An excellent in-game hint system negates any need for a strategy guide or external reference. Puzzles are fun, attempt to different, and instructions are clear. The storyline is complete but not satisfying (as in "too many loose ends") without the bonus play from the CE, however the length and quality of the general game make this well worth the SE price. Shiver: the Hitchhiker remains my favorite of the two so far, but this is still a wonderful addition to what is hopefully an on-going series.
Date published: 2012-04-28
Rated 5 out of 5 by from A Worthy Succesor to Vanished Hitchhiker I've waited not-so-patiently for this game to be released after seeing the Collector's Edition. Sometimes we seem to wait an awfully long time. Shiver:Vanished Hitchhiker was such a superb game that I figured the chances were that this would be pretty good too. It turned out to be maybe not quite as good but worthy none-the-less. I admit to not paying that much attention to the story line but I was still kept gripped by the game. I played the version with no hints and the only puzzle I found annoying was the one with the moons as the numbers seemed a bit hard to read but otherwise the others weren't a problem. Perhaps one criticism is that there weren't enough tradtitional puzzles in the game. The hidden object scenes weren't too difficult but were slightly more clever than many I've played. One previous reviewer commented on the grey and rainy effect having something to do with being set in England which annoyed me a bit. It was merely for atmosphere-a sunny setting wouldn't seem very spooky, would it? I have absolutely no interest in ghosts nor do I believe in them which probably tempers the eerieness a bit and I have certainly found other games more scary. But it doesn't really detract from the enjoyment of playing the game and it was still a few hours well spent.
Date published: 2012-04-28
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Loved this game also!! I really enjoyed Shiver: The Hitchhiker, so I was excited about this one. I would have gave my reveiw sooner but for some reason I got halfway through the game and it made me start all over again..lol...but anyways. I like that the hint botton gives you an arrow instead of tells you theres "nothing in this area" so you don't have to run all over the place trying to figure which way to go next. I just loved everything about this game. The voice over, storyline, HO's and the graphics were awesome. I would have to say this is one of my favorites. I can't wait to see what comes out next. Thank you to everyone that was involved in making this game and Thank you BigFish.
Date published: 2012-05-02
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Creepy Atmosphere! I bought this one as part of a package and didn't know what to expect. I think it has some really unusual aspects. As the player you get some things thrown at you and that can be startling. The ghost in this game is really creepy and the effects around her are genuinely scary. At one point the hair actually stood up on the back of my neck. The HO parts are fine, if a little dark, but the entire game is shades of dark--you even need a flashlight for some sections. The minigames were innovative-not your usual "untangle the cords" or match things up. I would have liked gathering things or morphing objects (always a favorite) but it didn't really fit this game as you really are the player/actor and it's very life-like. Enjoyed it very much. Not your run-of-the-mill game.
Date published: 2013-01-05
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great game! I think this is one of the best games I've found in a long time. The storyline is engaging, the setting is interesting, and the graphics were good too. It's challanging, but not so much as to be frustrating because you can't figure out what to do next. Very enjoyable. Highly recommended. Enjoy!
Date published: 2012-07-08
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Very romantic At first, it was slow going and I almost lost interest in jumping from one scene to another and having inventory items I couldn't seem to find a use for. Glad for the hint button! lol All in all, it was a great game but still can't understand the ending. Perhaps I missed something.
Date published: 2012-05-08
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Definitely My Kind of Game!! I really enjoyed this game.....it had it all. The graphics were excellent with the stormy background, eerie music, as well as a captivating storyline. All this made for an excellent adventure/mystery. The story was woven around a lovely old manor house with so many secret rooms that with every click there was something else to explore. There were a few puzzles most of which I used the 'skip' button on as I just don't have the patience for them and the HOS were also fairly abundant but not too challenging. I have only played a couple of the Shiver series of games before and I do not remember being half as enthusiastic about them as I am about Shiver Poltergeist! I thoroughly recommend this game!
Date published: 2021-10-06
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Perfect horror HOG. For a horror HOG, this is an excellent game. I played this a long time ago and I loved it a lot back then, I still love it and the nostalgia it brings makes it better now.
Date published: 2020-05-17
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Shiver: Poltergeist One of the best scary games I've played. Great Story line along with very Eerie Music/Sound which makes the hair on the back of your neck stick up and you jump out your chair. Creepy puzzles too spook you along the way and the Gothic Scary Pictures are Fantastically done. Looking forward too playing the next one. Thanks Big Fish:)
Date published: 2018-09-07
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Love It! Bought the non-collectors edition based on reviews and so glad I did. This game delivers with story line and not so obvious clues, it makes you think. I recommend this game!
Date published: 2016-04-29
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Best game for ever This is the best game I have played. For the one who interested in the paranormal activities, this is the must have game.
Date published: 2013-05-04
Rated 5 out of 5 by from better than the poltergeist hitchhiker game i really liked this game. i bought it because i liked the hitchhiker game and liked this one even more. the hint and skip buttons charge fairly fast and there aren't a lot of puzzles to solve and those are not too bad. there is a journal to help you and the hint system pretty much walks you through it. i got confused a time or two but finally figured it out. the graphics are pretty clean and clear and not too crowded. if you liked the first one you should like this one more. i can't give a rating on the sound because i didn't use it much.
Date published: 2012-12-21
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Very entertaining A very enjoyable game, just the right balance of adventure, hidden objects & puzzles to make it entertaining. I did get a little confused with the story pages as you progressed, fortunately it did not have a negative effect on the overall game.
Date published: 2012-10-29
Rated 5 out of 5 by from very enjoyable this may be my favorite. every engrossing, great graphics. sorry to see it end.
Date published: 2012-10-24
Rated 5 out of 5 by from One twist after another! I love the challenge of this game. At times it was really hard to figure out what to do next and I loved that. I played the most challenging level. This game has everything you look for. Good story, great graphics & sound. Loved the flashes of scenes brought on by the ghost. Lot's of interactive fun in this one. For those that don't like going back & forth to complete a task, what can I say, you may not like it. Personally I think it adds to the challenge & forces you to think outside the box at times. Loved the parts where you had to use objects in an other than obvious way. This is a must buy!
Date published: 2012-08-04
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great game! This was a great game, with touches of humor and the story had me hooked. Great music, graphics and the puzzles had a good level of challenge. I especially like the fact that you had to think of original ways of using the items in your inventory, something I do not see too often in other games. Just the right amount of suspense too.
Date published: 2012-06-03
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Loved This Like the First Shiver Both of the Shiver games (this one and Hitchhiker) rank in my top five favorite games from Big Fish! The graphics are very lush and the storyline is intriguing and fits well with the games. Yes, there are a lot of back and forth "go fetch this" type of moves, but I much prefer that over a story that goes in only one direction. The hidden object scenes were challenging without being frustrating. I highly recommend this to people who enjoy good scenery and a good story along with their gaming.
Date published: 2012-05-13
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Shiver Poltergeist - Loved it Awesome game, one of the best i've played, and i have played many!
Date published: 2012-05-11
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Excellent! Loved it and there will be more to come...!!!
Date published: 2012-05-03
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Should have read the reviews first I really should have read the reviews before purchasing the standard edition. What a surprise, you don't get the full story in it! You are only eligible to know it all if you pay twice the price. I really think this little detail should have been mentioned in the game description clearly. I actually enjoyed this game. It wasn't too hard, even though you have to be creative and think out of the box a couple of times. The music was nice and atmospheric too. I would give 4 points out of 5 to graphics, but I guess it is purely a matter of taste. But all my enjoyment was interrupted rather unceremoniously when I realised that the game was over all of a sudden, while the story obviously wasn't yet. I, too, thought there had to be a sequel, but then I read the reviews. And even though I can guess who was the murderer and why, I still feel disappointed.
Date published: 2013-06-15
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Adventure Challenge Without The Frustration I'm not a die hard adventure gamer especially the abundance of dark & grim story lines. All the running around willy nilly looking for stuff can be annoying, But this one I like and bought. I'm not sure why: its got the grim story and there's lots of running around & back tracking but it seem to follow a more logical sequence. Not too hard but enough challenge to make it interesting & excercise your brain.
Date published: 2013-05-09
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Falls a bit short of the first This is one of the more beautifully rendered horror HOGs I've seen and the locations are genuinely spooky. The score isn't intrusive and adds to the ambience and it is relatively easy to navigate. That being said, there are very few minigames and none of them are that fun. If you're only going to have a few, you might as well take out the minigames altogether. And the ending...if you don't have the collector's edition, which I do not, you will have zero closure. Because the game does pull you into a fairly involved storyline, it ends up feeling like you've been a bit cheated. Still, like Shiver: Vanishing Hitchhiker, Shiver: Poltergeist is a game worth buying. I'd like to see more of the Shiver series.
Date published: 2012-09-11
Rated 4 out of 5 by from An IHOG That Goes BUMP in the Night I really enjoyed this game. The graphics, music, sounds, storyline, all very engaging and well done. Help solve the mysterious death of a poltergeist inhabiting your inherited manor and help them find peace. Nothing too scary or graphic in this game, but not for the young ones. It does have that eerie something-may-pop-out at any given moment feel, and sometimes they do. There are three modes of play, casual, advanced and expert modes. I played on Advanced which has slow hint recharge but HO scenes are still highlighted. No other indicators. I only used the hint button maybe 4 times during the entire game; most HO scenes I was able to find everything without help. I didn't need a walk through and the overall time I spent playing the game was about 3.5 hours. Only a couple of puzzles in this one, nothing too difficult. Mostly hidden object scenes and using objects to obtain goals. The only downside to this game was the length. Clearly there will be a sequel but I'm bummed that I'm going to have to wait. :oP A definite must own/play.
Date published: 2012-04-28
Rated 4 out of 5 by from I really loved the story! rtYour very monotone life is interrupted when you learn that you are the sole heir to a very large and very haunted Manor. Everyone has died under mysterious circumstances and your only companion is the butler....Need I say more? I actually bought the CE version and honestly, I should have waited for the SE. ( I really buy CEs if the game is complex and offers a high degree of challenge and game play offers features like rewards, morphing objects and collectables) This game however is an above standard SE game that offers a great ghost story involving a mystery to solve, along with very good V/O and alot of back-tracking, so be sure to bring an extra pair of running shoes. The Graphics were a bit dark and grainy, I have seen much better and the HOGs were slightly junk-piled with some interaction. Main Menu offers three play modes, custom cursor and wide screen options. Game mechanics includes a diary that has a task list as well as a photo album that will hold the pictures that you take with your camera. (Have to find the camera first) I actually enjoyed the overall gameplay and it was long, (7 chapters); so I it is definitely worth the SE price tag. Be warned, there is alot of back-tracking to do and I really enjoyed the puzzles and minigames; some of which presented a fair amount of challenge to the game. I do recommend this game, especially for those who love a good ghost story.
Date published: 2012-04-27
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Good game, but a bit short This game is all about ghosts and reuniting two of them. There are 3 game modes. I played in Advanced mode. - The graphics are clear but a bit dark sometimes. You have a flashlight that you can use anywhere. The HOS are easy, not too cluttered. - Many of the objects you'll find need to be combined to others, which I liked. - The mini-games are also quite easy. - There is a good journal. You will find the pages of the diary in the locations. There is a task list. You can also take some pictures with a camera. - The hint system is good. Without skipping, it took me a bit more than 2 hours. But otherwise, I liked playing that game!
Date published: 2013-01-30
Rated 4 out of 5 by from I liked eveything but the ending !! This is a good solid HOPA game. It did take place in loads of rain (my pet peeve) but in this game I think it makes sense. Long playing time Graphics are mostly gray, browns and rust Good mix of mini games and HOG'S HOG'S interactive and even in the gloom you can see them Hint button shows arrows pointing the way I really liked how the story unfolds as you go I hated the ending, possibly the CE game gives you a clue All in all a good buy and a game I've played a few times.
Date published: 2013-01-28
  • y_2022, m_1, d_19, h_20
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_3.0.20
  • cp_2, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_0, tr_79
  • loc_en_US, sid_14374, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=RATING, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=HELPFULNESS, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=FEATURED, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_bigfishgames

The Big Fish Guarantee:

Quality tested and virus free. No ads, no adware, no spyware.

Your Security and Privacy are important to us! Privacy Policy

, share your thoughts about this game!

Shiver: Poltergeist

After inheriting a manor in England, you begin to explore the Kangale Estate and discover its history!

Heres what your review will look like once it’s posted.

Click Submit if you’re happy. Your review should appear soon. To make changes, use the Edit or Cancel buttons.

Thanks for sharing your thoughts about this game!

You’ve already shared your thoughts about this game.

Thanks for submitting the review below.