Dark Dimensions: Wax Beauty Collector's Edition

Dark Dimensions: Wax Beauty Collector's Edition

PC

Also available on

Hidden Object

Play Now Download the free trial

This game will not work on your operating system.

Are you sure you want to download this game?

Free sample version

(241.35 MB)

By clicking "Play Now", I accept the Terms of Use and acknowledge that I have received the Privacy Policy. If this is your first time downloading a game from Big Fish, our handy Game Manager app will install on your computer to help manage your games.
Buy Now Get the full version

This game will not work on your operating system.

Are you sure you want to purchase it?

Full version game

$ 19.99 USD

$ 13.99 USD or 2 credits

You’ve tracked down the latest Dark Dimension to Red Lake Falls, where a haunting beauty queen begs you to save the town – but from whom? Is it her brother, last seen busting through a shop window in a jealous rage? Or his stalker girlfriend? The real villain in this thrilling Hidden Object Puzzle Adventure game just might shock you – unless you’re turned into wax first!

This is a special Collector's Edition release full of exclusive extras you won’t find in the standard version. As a bonus, Collector's Edition purchases count toward three stamps on your Monthly Game Club Punch Card!

The Collector’s Edition includes:

  • Bonus gameplay
  • Integrated Strategy Guide
  • HD Wallpapers
  • Concept art

Game System Requirements:

  • OS: Windows XP/Windows Vista/Windows 7/8
  • CPU: 2.5 GHz
  • RAM: 1024 MB
  • DirectX: 9.0
  • Hard Drive: 772 MB

Big Fish Games App System Requirements:

  • Browser: Internet Explorer 7 or later
  • Mild Blood
  • Violent References
Reviews at a Glance

Dark Dimensions: Wax Beauty Collector's Edition

0 out of 5 (0 ReviewsReview)
Average Rating:
Play Now Download the free trial

This game will not work on your operating system.

Are you sure you want to download this game?

Free sample version

(241.35 MB)

Buy Now Get the full version

This game will not work on your operating system.

Are you sure you want to purchase it?

Full version game

$ 19.99 USD

$ 13.99 USD or 2 credits

Customer Reviews
Dark Dimensions: Wax Beauty Collector's Edition is rated 4.0 out of 5 by 94.
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Gorgeous Game My favourite games are where you're free to wander about and explore the scenery, and this game doesn't disappoint. The graphics, and the detail in them, are fantastic. Where this game was better than 'City of Fog' was in the hints - your first hint just tells you which direction you need to go in, and sometimes that was all I needed. This game really got me thinking hard about where to go to next, and where certain items could be used. Some of the puzzles I found a little bit challenging, and I did skip a couple, but perhaps with a bit more patience I could have solved them. I did have to refer to the walkthrough a few times when I just couldn't figure out where to go next, or where I should use a certain item, but it was a good brain-teaser. Story-wise, your character has found the next 'dark dimension' and is looking to find out what happened away back in 1918 or 1919 (I think). The main characters are the beauty queen, immortalised forever in wax, her jealous twin brother, the investigative journalist, and of course the wax-maker herself, whose statues hide a grisly secret...... These characters appear in ghost form, via cutscenes, throughout the story. I ended up playing this game over about 3 nights, but it was thoroughly enjoyable and I was, I confess, a little bit disappointed when it was finished.
Date published: 2012-05-07
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great game! This game was very well made. The voice overs were very well done, and the artwork (while dark) was absolutely beautiful. I am not a fan of millions of HOS and in my opinion there was just the right amount here. There isn't a map so make sure you wear sturdy sneakers. I am not the fastest player on here, but not the slowest by any means, and this game took me a few hours. Extras are not available until after the game is played (I know some people don't like that). I played casual and the sparkles were not overdone, hint took about 30 seconds, and skip took 60-75 seconds. According to the game, advanced has no sparkles, and there is a longer recharge time for hints and skips. Those are the only 2 settings so those looking for hardcore may not be happy. Those that liked City of Fog are sure to appreciate this game. I actually enjoyed watching how the story unfolded. Some folks are sick of the dark and dreary, if that's the case, this game probably isn't for you. All in all I gave the game 5 stars across the board. It hooked me, so I had to purchase it immediately, and it is clear that ALOT of time, love, and work, went into this game. Kudos to the devs, and thanks BFG.
Date published: 2012-04-26
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Dark Dimensions: Wax Beauty CE Dark Dimensions has done it again! This is the second game in the series and this game does a nice job of referencing the original game City of Fog. The book of black magic suggests that the next Dark Dimensions will take place in Michigan at Red Lake Falls, a town that disappeared after an earthquake in 1918. Your own parents and brother died in a tragic car accident, you were the only survivor, and you are hopeful that someday you will find your family in the Dark Dimensions. As soon as you arrive you realize that you have indeed found the Dark Dimensions, a beautiful and ghostly apparition wearing a beauty pageant gown, sash and crown pleads for you to save us from the wax! Somebody is immortalizing people in wax but who is responsible? Could it be the beauty queen's twin brother Sebastian, or his stalker girlfriend? This is a game with beautiful yet dark graphics, what else would you expect from the Dark Dimension? The Hidden Object Scenes are a bit different than on City of Fog, there are no separate tabs on the inventory bar, but they are still interactive. Some items are in yellow requiring you to find a brush, then you click on the dirty shoes which will be cleaned by the brush which will then be clean boots listed in white. The mini games are mostly puzzle where you slide tiles along a path until they are in the correct slots. Most of them are easy but some take a little finagling to complete. The only thing I believe this game is missing is a map, there are several locations to travel back and forth to and at times it becomes difficult to remember where everything is at. This Collectors Edition has concept art, and HD wallpapers, the usual things, the only thing this version has that is pertinent to the game and very useful is the built in Strategy Guide. I'm very fond of the SG feature therefore I usually opt for the CE, enjoy!
Date published: 2014-06-11
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Fantastic Game :) ! Just finished the demo, and left wondering what's next, I have to add this one to my wish list which keeps growing and growing!!! Graphics are fantastic and a mixture of reality and animation, story line very interesting and different from other HOG's, the voice are a must for me so I was pleased with them, mini games are fairly easy and you do not have to store items FOREVER! In additon, I do love the interactive HOG's as well as the two game modes. In casual mode I think there are no penalties for overcling which I like because I do not like to look at the list unles it's absolutely necessary. All in all a fantastic game and a must have for any collector.
Date published: 2012-05-10
Rated 5 out of 5 by from I like it! It's nice to see a twist on the HOG scenes. Makes them far more interesting. Another dark tale and cut scenes that add to the story instead of just taking up time. The puzzles are more imaginative than normal as well, some easy but some really need thinking about. I was expecting just a sequel on City of Fog but it's far more. Definitely one for the collection.
Date published: 2012-04-26
Rated 5 out of 5 by from I'm loving this game Great value on this game. I am getting hours of play time, and plenty of HO's and puzzles, to boot. Great graphics, storyline, music and charge time on hint button. Glad I bought it.
Date published: 2012-04-28
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Right up my alley! Wax figures creep me out to begin with so this CE promised to be fun and gory for me and it delivers... The graphics are stunning although a little dark but it is called DARK dimensions after all so can't say it missed the mark. This story is fun for me so far and I usually don't pay too much attention to the story so that's a nice change. Puzzles are challenging, graphics great, fun factor is very close to off the chart... it's a must buy and a 2 thumbs up from me.
Date published: 2012-04-26
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Excellent 2nd game in series! I loved City of fog and hoped the developers would continue with another game.This one answers the question I had when the first one was over about where the darkness went since it was not destroyed only driven out. Now the story continues in a new place. This one is as well done both in story and graphics.If you like a good story,adventure and mystery you will love this game. If you have not played City of Fog check it out.
Date published: 2012-04-26
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Excellent addition to the Dark Dimensions collection This was a great game to play, just enough HOS to be useful, the puzzles are a wide range of difficulties and the graphics are very clear and realistic in some scenes. VOs are good but be glad you can read along at the bottom too since most of the time they don't sync up with the characters.Two levels of play makes it nicer. Eerie storyline with gruesome twist, I LOVED IT! But then this is my kind of story. I look forward to the next installment to the Dark Dimensions collection soon!
Date published: 2012-05-12
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Demo only This is a very entertaining game. I found it very easy to follow. The hint button worked at an average rate. The strategy guide stays where it was last used. The music and art if very well done and quite beautiful. The hos were very different where there were not many objects to pick up but a lot of interation with other objects that were there. It took a bit but once I started it was hard to stop when the demo was over. Will definitely buy this game.
Date published: 2012-05-01
Rated 5 out of 5 by from wonderful game Great great game I love playing dark and gloomy tragedies It was hard to stop playing Waiting for my turn on the computer to continue thank you so much
Date published: 2012-04-26
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Yes please more like this I love this sort of game. I would buy now but I have spent out this month. I may well buy it next month though.
Date published: 2012-04-28
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Good Game Game had a good storyline, voices done well. Game had you running around alot, an thinking. Kept you on your toes. RECOMMEND !!
Date published: 2012-05-22
Rated 5 out of 5 by from My favorite Big Fish Game of all time! I have been an avid big fish games collector through out the years, and have played all the Ravenhearst, Puppetville, etc..This has to be absolutely favorite game Big fish has to offer right now! Gorgeous graphics, beautiful music score, it has it all! I love the new and fresh story line, it was chilly enough to keep it interesting without being too dark. I just loved everything about this game!
Date published: 2012-05-15
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Fun and Different It's not very challenging, but that's the way I like my games. The story line is very interesting, and kept me on the edge of my seat. I loved the demo and this is a game I might consider purchasing in full. Give it a shot and you won't regret it.
Date published: 2012-05-13
Rated 5 out of 5 by from A spooky , but entertaining game Let’s start by saying that all these kinds of games are rather predictable and it would be good to see a well-conceived game a little less spooky and dramatic every now and then. I wonder why only what is scary can be entertaining in a game. Said that, my review for this specific game is positive. It’s well conceived and accurate and long enough to entertain an average player for a few hours. The plot is based on the vicissitude necessary to free a town from the malevolent effect of an evil power which pushed a person to transform all the other people in wax statues in a fallacious search for presume perfect beauty. The whole atmosphere is definitely gloomy, but the game is rich of details and cut scenes, played by real actors with a lot of “special effects”. It seems that several players have experiences problems or bugs in different parts of the game, while I could get to the end without troubles, even though sometime sit’s a little tricky to find the precise spot where an element is to be put. The only thing really missed in this game is the presence of a map, since there are many different locations and sometime sit’s a bit hard to move from one to the other. There is a moderate number of HOS and they are pleasantly interactive. I didn’t play the extra yet anyhow.
Date published: 2012-05-02
Rated 5 out of 5 by from This game is AWESOME This game and other HOG ,LIke ravenhearse are why I love HOGs .True its dark and creepy thats what makes it a great game .
Date published: 2012-05-01
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Loved this game! I really enjoyed playing the demo. It was satisfying both to the eye and to the intellect. Good storyline and music was appropriate. I liked the way the HO scenes were done, making it more interesting. Even the way hints were executed was cool to watch. I just liked everything about this game so far.
Date published: 2012-04-26
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Wax Beaty Good Game. This is a very hot game very good Graphics and sound. i like the way they do the HO wee bit diffrent to the normal way.Am going to buy this one ive got part 1 so better get part 2.
Date published: 2012-04-26
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Well worth a play I have just compleated the trial run and have to say that i really enjoyed it. It's all a bit spooky lol
Date published: 2012-04-27
Rated 5 out of 5 by from great game Enjoyed this game very much. Very lengthy game and bonus game also. This is one game I might even play again since I did purchase it and it was well worth paying for it.
Date published: 2012-05-10
Rated 5 out of 5 by from omg! THIS IS AMUCH BUY THE GAME IS GREAT BROUGHT IT BEFORE THE TRAIL WAS OVER JUST AS GOOD AS THE SPIRTED OF SONG BIRD OR IF NOT BETTER THE GAME IS GREAT
Date published: 2012-04-26
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great story with hidden object scenes. I am buying this game, A very good game, Good story.
Date published: 2012-04-26
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Absolutely loved it! I can't tell you how happy I was when I saw this game had been released. I absolutely love the Dark Dimensions games and cannot wait for the next one. The graphics, storyline, and sound are all brilliantly executed and the game itself is quite lengthy with a good bonus chapter. Fans of hidden object games should definitely not miss this one!
Date published: 2012-05-12
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Game!! I really enjoy most hidden object games, but this one was awesome.
Date published: 2012-04-26
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Like the movie "House of Wax" And we know that movie was a classic! Not playing the actual movie, but this will do.
Date published: 2013-04-23
Rated 5 out of 5 by from A great game Puzzles are challenging, hidden objects hard to find, great graphics, strange story,it went on and on.... I really enjoyed this game. This is a very good one ! A very well designed game, they took the time on this one and it shows !
Date published: 2012-06-20
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Fun Hidden Object Game Great game..loved it. Had a little trouble in a few parts, but was able to figure them out. Can't wait for next one!! Thanks!!
Date published: 2012-06-14
Rated 5 out of 5 by from A Weaving Tale of Wonderment What a fantasic game!!! If you would love to travel in time with a captivating beautifully wild imagination, this is a game for you !! I am still in a state of being carried away with scenes I will never forget , Intrique plus fabulous graphics does it everytime. Completely entrancing! Many Thanks to those that put this game together so "Big Fish" made sure we had it to play. Here's Blinkin at you! :)
Date published: 2012-06-03
Rated 5 out of 5 by from LOVE, LOVE, LOVE!! I love the Dark Dimensions Games. I will keep watching for them and I DO hope there are more! So much fun and they are VERY challenging all the way through and in some places quite difficult. Please keep the series coming, folks. Thanks!
Date published: 2012-06-02
  • y_2020, m_11, d_26, h_16
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_3.0.12
  • cp_2, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_0, tr_94
  • loc_en_US, sid_14366, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=RATING, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=HELPFULNESS, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=FEATURED, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_bigfishgames

The Big Fish Guarantee:

Quality tested and virus free. No ads, no adware, no spyware.

Your Security and Privacy are important to us! Privacy Policy

, share your thoughts about this game!

Dark Dimensions: Wax Beauty Collector's Edition

Travel to Red Lake Falls to track down the latest Dark Dimension!

Heres what your review will look like once it’s posted.

Click Submit if you’re happy. Your review should appear soon. To make changes, use the Edit or Cancel buttons.

Thanks for sharing your thoughts about this game!

You’ve already shared your thoughts about this game.

Thanks for submitting the review below.