Puppetshow: Return to Joyville

Puppetshow: Return to Joyville

PC

Also available on

Hidden Object

Play Now Download the free trial

This game will not work on your operating system.

Are you sure you want to download this game?

Free sample version

(235.24 MB)

By clicking "Play Now", I accept the Terms of Use and acknowledge that I have received the Privacy Policy. If this is your first time downloading a game from Big Fish, our handy Game Manager app will install on your computer to help manage your games.
Buy Now Get the full version70% OFF!

This game will not work on your operating system.

Are you sure you want to purchase it?

Full version game

$ 9.99 USD

Only $2.99 - use coupon NEW299

Travel back in time to help stop a terrible fire that started Felicia down her destructive path in PuppetShow: Return to Joyville! This time traveling adventure takes you back to Joyville when Felicia was a small child. With the help of Felicia, try to stop the fire that incinerated her father

New customers get your first game for $2.99!*

70% OFF!

Use Coupon: NEW299

* Collector's Editions and free to play games not included.

Game System Requirements:

  • OS: Windows XP/Windows Vista/Windows 7/8
  • CPU: 1.4 GHz
  • RAM: 1024 MB
  • DirectX: 9.0
  • Hard Drive: 395 MB

Big Fish Games App System Requirements:

  • Browser: Internet Explorer 7 or later
Reviews at a Glance

Puppetshow: Return to Joyville

0 out of 5 (0 ReviewsReview)
Average Rating:
Play Now Download the free trial

This game will not work on your operating system.

Are you sure you want to download this game?

Free sample version

(235.24 MB)

Buy Now Get the full version70% OFF!

This game will not work on your operating system.

Are you sure you want to purchase it?

Full version game

$ 9.99 USD

Only $2.99 - use coupon NEW299

Customer Reviews
Puppetshow: Return to Joyville is rated 4.3 out of 5 by 55.
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Lots of hidden object games, Lots! It was again a good game just too many hidden objects for me. I prefer the mind puzzles, but I do have to say that the ho puzzles were interactive so I didnt mind to much, Im glad I got it.
Date published: 2012-05-22
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Good Sequel Not disappointed in this sequel. Waited for the SE to come out and didn't miss any bonus chapter. -HO's are too frequent for me, but they are interactive -Music is good -Graphics are great -Hint system is a little slow -Didn't need a SG -Tool bar is a little annoying Worth the SE price
Date published: 2012-05-21
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Better and better Return to Joyville, part four and some are saying the final of the Puppet Show series incorporates the best elements of all its predecessors. Cutscenes are full motion with voice-overs, and the difficulty levels have been stepped up again with three varieties - hints and sparkles; slower hints and no sparkles; and yet slower hints, no sparkles and none of the tips that your detective likes to mutter to himself. They are changeable at any point in the gameplay. In addition, for the first time, you now have hints outside of HO scenes. Sound and music are much the same as ever, setting the scene but not distracting from the gameplay. The imagery is one step down again in the macabre, but still delightfully creepy. Expect more of the exquisite scenery we're used to from this series. HO scenes have evolved slightly, with more interactable items per list, and - hurrah - far fewer multiples of objects. Keep your brightness turned up a little notch, but for the most part they're nice and clear if you have a decent screen resolution. Plenty of the great little mini-puzzles we've come to love in ERS games, some of which are hard enough to keep you thinking for a good few minutes without ever leaving you feel hopelessly stuck. Plotwise we get nice and in-depth, first trying to help Felicia stop the fire and then discovering that there's someone working against us behind the scenes. If this is the last one, however, I'm sad that we didn't get to go into the whole lore of how the puppets seem so lifelike, and I didn't see one soul-crystal the whole game. So while this is a time-traveller, there's not a lot of back-story. Rather a whole new level to what we already knew. Overall a terrific little game. Very fun and a good length, almost two hours playing in middle difficulty as I was in this for the story not the challenge. I really do hope, and not just because of the desire for more backstory, that this isn't the last we'll see of the Master and his amazing puppets.
Date published: 2012-05-21
Rated 4 out of 5 by from No strings attached Thoroughly enjoyed the newest installment in the Puppetshow saga. Nice visuals, fun storyline and pleasantly challenging mini-games. The only downside was that I finished it much quicker than I expected. I am glad I waited for the non-CE because spending the extra money on a game I completed that soon would have been disappointing. If you are a Puppetshow fanatic, you can't go wrong with this one at all.
Date published: 2012-05-19
Rated 4 out of 5 by from enjoyable fun game For those that love quite a lot of hidden object scenes (especially near the end) and also quite a lot of puzzles, I think you will enjoy this game. I really enjoyed this game, it wasn’t anything earth shattering new but it was well done. Sometimes you don’t want a challenging game, just an enjoyable one. I felt the pace of the game was good throughout, and there was a good selection of new areas to explore. The plot is going back in time to change history, it may be pushing it but I thought it was OK. I don’t think you could ever get lost as to where to go next as it’s very obvious so those that don’t like wandering around games should find that aspect good. The backtracking was minimum which I really appreciated. I also loved that on the most advanced mode, the no black bar tips worked and on the puzzles you had to bring up hints if you wanted them, so no hand holding. I did find some cutscenes not that sharp in graphics and overall a mixture of grainy graphics in some areas and quite sharp in others. HIDDEN OBJECT SCENES – Pros - The hidden object scenes weren’t crystal clear and some scenes were grainy, but items were defined enough, and I don’t remember any tiny objects to find. There were no grey, dark backgrounds and they all had some nice colour to them. I enjoyed some of the interactions of them as well. I don’t think I had to repeat a scene more than twice, although it would have been lovely to not repeat them at all. ERS why don’t you become the first developer to have a skip button on hidden object scenes as well as puzzles – I think that would be a great hit! Cons – Some were junkpiles on steroids. They were quite close together especially near the end when it seemed I was playing H O scenes back to back. I played on the hardest mode (3rd one) and there were still sparkles for the hidden object scenes, and they had a random click penalty both of which I hate. PUZZLES ERS have really stepped up their puzzles in both the style and hardness of some of them. There were also loads of little interactions or mini-minigames throughout the gameplay which I love, to open doors for example instead of finding keys. Even the puzzles we know like the sliding one, had a twist on it. I loved the Hedgehog and mushroom puzzle as well as the cupid one. And I mostly forgave the back to back hidden object scenes at the end as there was a lot of puzzles. The inventory fan was plain annoying as it took sometimes 3 clicks to get an item, as it was hidden, you couldn’t lock it and only 5 items showed. The sort of reversed silhouette hidden object scene in the demo, that was the only one in the whole game. I really enjoyed the very last interaction you had to do in a game. It is on the shorter side for time for a SE – it took me 4hrs 45mins on the hardest setting (no skipping)
Date published: 2012-05-18
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Storyline could have been better I started BFG with the puppetshow games and have been a dedicated fan of the series for a long time now. I agree with a lot of what some reviews have said about the mini games, but trying to figure them out is the fun of the game for me. I have ignored a lot of errors in these series but the ending here was hard to overlook. *****Spoilers ahead***** I don't believe for a second that simply having your face disfigured would make you evil to the level Felicia went to for her obsession of being pretty again. There had to something already wrong with her that she was seemingly okay with kidnapping and killing Children to regain her beauty/youth. You can't sale me the story that magically since she willingly sacrificed her looks for her father (Which I'm sure he would have been fine with a little acid on his face) that she wouldn't be evil anymore, though that was the premise for the first three games! It just doesn't work that way.
Date published: 2016-08-02
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Felicia needs your help to change the past to prevent the fire that disfigured her and her crimes in the future While in Joyville to investigate strange happenings, an old, disfigured woman wearing a half mask materializes near a house where a little girl is playing on a swing. As the girl is called to by her father to come in the house, the old woman speaks to you telling you that the little girl is actually her and she has come back into the past to try and change the past so the fire that burned her and killed her father is prevented changing the reasons for her becoming evil in the future. She is Felicia, the puppetmaster's daughter and she wants your help to change things in your present that will change or prevent things that happened in her future. Got that? Your first challenge is to convince her father about the fire that is to occur tomorrow and then find the person that was responsible for causing the fire and to defeat him. This is kind of a prequel to first three episodes in the series and tries to explain why Felicia became evil. An interesting storyline that, even though many of the scenes will be familiar to those playing the first episode, Mystery of Joyville, released in 2009, they are well done and should be enjoyed for those just discovering this episode. Nice graphics, mood music, some interesting puzzles and hidden object scenes move the story along but there is no map so you need to keep some notes as there is some backtracking. There is a journal for the story but I found the position of the journal scroll situated right next to the hint button made it easy to click on the hint button instead of the journal. Those familiar with the series will recognize the fan shaped inventory that has to be opened repeatedly to see what you have or to use an item and cannot be locked open. After a while it becomes tedious. Hidden object scenes were of the basic list type with some interactive objects and silhouettes that were well done and fairly easy. Having played the first three episodes, I was less impressed with this episode maybe because of its familiar game mechanics but the storyline was interesting. The ending was satisfying and I am looking forward to playing the next episode to see if the storyline changes.
Date published: 2016-01-13
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Soooo disappointed! I have enjoyed the previous games. I can't say they blew me away but they were good. However this one (although the latest in the series) felt like I was going back in time and not just because of the storyline! The puzzles were mediocre, the graphics were mediocre and the storyline was just, well, you've guessed it - mediocre. The only thing that wasn't, was the ending and that was just pants! If you liked the others I wouldn't recommend this one without trying the free download first.
Date published: 2012-10-16
Rated 3 out of 5 by from OK game The game is OK. I have to agree with some of the other reviews about the mini games, they are very confusing and not explained well at all. Often I just played the games and figured them out myself as the directions were often more confusing than helpful.
Date published: 2012-07-02
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Did not like the mini games:/ They were complicated and the instructions were really vague. You were not offered a hint on them to at least get you started in the right direction. I had to skip most of them because I couldn't figure out what to do. Other then that I liked the game and have purchased all of the series.
Date published: 2012-06-14
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Good, not great It's a good game, but note to developers: the inventories "fan" is a pain! You have to keep clicking on it constantly to open and close. It should stay open for awhile if you need several inventories items.
Date published: 2012-05-20
Rated 2 out of 5 by from WHAT A DISAPPOINTMENT I have enjoyed the previous Puppet Show games so was looking forward to this one. It started out good but after a while, it became a HOS game. Go to one room, do one thing and another HOS, over and over again. This is the first BFG I have not completed and I have play many since 2007 that I did not complete. I was so fed up of HOS. This is also the worst review I have given which shows my level of frustration. I reread the reviews and no one mentioned the excessive # of HOS which is a shame because I would not have purchased it.
Date published: 2014-10-27
Rated 2 out of 5 by from Just Wanted It To End Things I didn't like: Too monochromatic, with many locations looking similar. This makes it hard to distinguish between rooms and remember where to go for what. Storyline is not well-developed. Instructions for puzzles were unclear and largely unhelpful. A Hint feature within the puzzles would be a big help. Skip button for puzzles takes too long to load, even on the easiest level. The pattern of find an item, use an item, play a Hiden Object Scene, then play a puzzle, was repeated too often. It becomes like clockwork. Too many Hidden Object Scenes for my taste. The interactive feature in Hidden Object Scenes was tricky. If you didn't place an item exactly in the right spot, nothing would happen. And since there's no indication where objects should be placed, you don't even know if you're in the right area. You just have to keep guessing and trying different spots, until you use a Hint out of desperation. The music during Hidden Object Scenes was repetitive. No map to help with navigation, and the Hint button will only tell you there's nothing to do there, not direct you to where you should go next. Nothing special or amazing about any of it. By the end, I just wanted it to be over.
Date published: 2012-05-25
Rated 2 out of 5 by from HO-HUMM Boy am I glad I played the demo and didn't just buy it based on the previous games. There is nothing really good to say about this game. Save your money
Date published: 2012-05-18
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Such a dark subject I love playing the Hidden Object games but they all have such dark story lines and graphics. I quit this one after only a few minutes, to confusing. How about some fun games with more positive story lines and graphics.
Date published: 2019-03-15
  • y_2019, m_9, d_22, h_16
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_2.0.13
  • cp_3, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_0, tr_55
  • loc_en_US, sid_14601, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=RATING, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=HELPFULNESS, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=FEATURED, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_bigfishgames

The Big Fish Guarantee:

Quality tested and virus free. No ads, no adware, no spyware.

Your Security and Privacy are important to us! Privacy Policy

, share your thoughts about this game!

Puppetshow: Return to Joyville

Travel back in time to help stop a terrible fire that started Felicia down her evil path in PuppetShow: Return to Joyville!

Heres what your review will look like once it’s posted.

Click Submit if you’re happy. Your review should appear soon. To make changes, use the Edit or Cancel buttons.

Thanks for sharing your thoughts about this game!

You’ve already shared your thoughts about this game.

Thanks for submitting the review below.