The Bluecoats: North vs South

The Bluecoats: North vs South

PC

Also available on

Strategy

Play Now Download the free trial

This game will not work on your operating system.

Are you sure you want to download this game?

Free 1 hour trial

(54.92 MB)

By clicking "Play Now", I accept the Terms of Use and acknowledge that I have received the Privacy Policy. If this is your first time downloading a game from Big Fish, our handy Game Manager app will install on your computer to help manage your games.
Buy Now Get the full version70% OFF!

This game will not work on your operating system.

Are you sure you want to purchase it?

Full version game

$ 9.99 USD

Only $2.99 - use coupon NEW299

In The Bluecoats: North vs South you play as the head of one of the armies of the Civil War. Your aim is to conquer the American territory. Head up the Yankees or Confederates and destroy your enemy! Taking up positions, capturing states, assaulting and capturing enemy forts, attacking trains and protecting your railroads... you'll have to deal with everything! Capture the port to use the reinforcements coming from Europe. Protect yourself from storms and be wary of ambushes and bandits. To come out in one piece, you'll have to master taking turns, armed battles in real time, 1 against 30 shoot-outs, and horseback train chases in this colorful strategy game!

  • Relive the Civil War
  • Dynamic and strategic battles
  • Several mini games

New customers get your first game for $2.99!*

70% OFF!

Use Coupon: NEW299

* Collector's Editions and free to play games not included.

Game System Requirements:

  • OS: Windows XP/Vista/Win7/8
  • CPU: 1.0 GHz
  • RAM: 1024 MB
  • DirectX: 9.0
  • Hard Drive: 230 MB

Big Fish Games App System Requirements:

  • Browser: Internet Explorer 7 or later
Reviews at a Glance

The Bluecoats: North vs South

0 out of 5 (0 ReviewsReview)
Average Rating:
Play Now Download the free trial

This game will not work on your operating system.

Are you sure you want to download this game?

Free 1 hour trial

(54.92 MB)

Buy Now Get the full version70% OFF!

This game will not work on your operating system.

Are you sure you want to purchase it?

Full version game

$ 9.99 USD

Only $2.99 - use coupon NEW299

Customer Reviews
The Bluecoats: North vs South is rated 2.0 out of 5 by 30.
Rated 2 out of 5 by from Not a bad game but not great I really wanted this game to be like the old North vs South on the NES. It was not. You have no autonomous control over your troops. The controls are sticky and not very smooth. There is no accounting for how troops would fight in a realistic situation. Many times I had entire groups of calvary wiped out by infantry. Game play was slow and there is no way to speed things up in the options menu. After seeing things a couple of times you get the gist but there is no way to skip watching the same cheesy cut scenes. Also, it was insanely difficult to get anything done. Everytime I would think I was on top of things the Indians or Mexicans would wipe out my troops and I'd wind up fighting several "months" of skirmishes just to get back to the same position. Several times I had the South backed up against the wall only to lose several battles in a row and I was never able to feel I was doing something to turn the tide of battle. Line the troops up, point them at an enemy and click. If they live then you win, they die you lose. Like the title says, it really not a bad game but it does make you slog through a bunch of slow reacting scenes and repetitive cut scenes to get to the heart of the game. I'm going to recommend this game with some reservations. If you liked Landgrabbers then you should like this game.
Date published: 2012-05-29
Rated 2 out of 5 by from Read first I wish I had read the reviews before playing. The is played against the computer which is almost impossible to beat I would win some and lose most, I played the demo version bout 30 min. of it or less.
Date published: 2012-06-10
Rated 2 out of 5 by from meh its not hard, i beat the north in less than half the alotted hour.horses vs. cannons, cannons vs ppl, duck till after they shoot then shoot them.
Date published: 2012-06-10
Rated 2 out of 5 by from Could have been better Overall the game is pretty bad. The designer should have spent more time on the mechanics of the game. The visuals are fairly decent renderings as cartoons. The biggest issue is that the lack of tutorials. In the field when targeting an enemy unit, you will need to continue to click on the enemy to fire at them. In the fort-mode when they peek you can kill them, however this is next to impossible without a mouse for quicker reaction speeds. If you place yourself as strong and the Comp as weak it makes for a pretty quick game as long as you take the correct path and stay on the offensive as much as possible. The concept is solid, however more time spent ironing out the game could have made this a much more enjoyable game.
Date published: 2012-06-10
Rated 2 out of 5 by from Hopeless Wow. I'll say it again, WoW! I wanted to like this game as the concept seemed somewhat original or at least different from the same ol' run of the mill. Unfortunately, it's a flop. There are no instructions to speak of, it's sort of hit or miss. You really have no control of your troops or the outcome of the war. The game seems extremely slanted towards the computer being the victor in all situations. I'm very disappointed in the game. Graphics are just fair, audio is nothing special.
Date published: 2012-06-02
Rated 2 out of 5 by from pfff! It's not the same I played this game as a kid but I as you kan read from the title it is not the same. The original game is know is from 1989. Ok the graphics are better than they were back than but it's 2012 the graphics should be better but they are not wauw. The gameplay is not brilliant and it lacks a certain je ne sais qoui. My advice is to leave this game be and find yourself another game because this one is not really worth your time. I only played this one for old times sake.
Date published: 2012-05-30
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Horrible Game I played almost the full hour. This game is absolutely terrible. The game is kind of like playing Risk against the computer, except that you have almost no chance of successfully winning anything, ever. It seems that every element about this game is weighted heavily against the player, and since the tutorial is useless and there are no instructions or help, its impossible to win. If you like to fight losing battles and enjoy struggling in vain, this is the game for you! Otherwise (like your player will often do in this game) beat a hasty retreat. I suggest saving yourself plenty of frustration and don't even bother with this game. Wish I had a third hand so I could give it three thumbs down.
Date published: 2012-05-29
Rated 1 out of 5 by from ??? :-S Probably a strategy game. I figured out that you can either play as a Yankee or Confederate, but that is about all I could figure out. So I went for Yankee, got some territory and could move my two soldiers to different areas. This I did to trumpets blasting that I would associate more with gladiators in the arena rather than the Civil War. Once my two figures stood on different areas of the map, I clicked 'ok' (or 'continue') and then the enemy did the same. Then I could see the enemy's train moving in a smaller window and some sort of hatch opened and somebody fell out. My turn again and I moved my two guys to different areas...again and the ones I stood on before had my flag on them, so I can only assume that I had conquered this territory. Then my train moved and a guy fell out of the hatch for a reason I can't fathom. I could see a ship belonging to the enemy delivering supplies. There was a 'shop' in which I could've bought something (more troops, weapons...)if I had managed to get some gold. Eventually me and my enemy 'met' on the same plot on the map. A new scene came up and I found myself on what I think is supposed to be a battlefield. Fighting began and I quickly lost all my troops. "Why?" you may ask and all can I say is: "I haven't got the foggiest idea." But I think I can safely say it may be because there weren't any proper instructions to the game. At least I didn't come across any. I didn't even know which states of America were mine, into which I moved my two guys, let alone what sort of advantages or disadvantages any of my actions would result into. It felt as if I played the rough idea of something that may have been a great game if it had been finished. I suggest to give it a spin and perhaps somebody can make more sense out of it. I can't recommend or not recommend this game, as I really don't know what this is supposed to be about.
Date published: 2012-05-29
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Don't even bother Absolute train wreck of a game. No documentation, no clarity to what you can do, why you would want to do something, or anything else. I am surprised that BFG would even put this dreck in their catalog. The turn based game is slanted immediately toward one side, the "real time" combat is unwieldy, and you have no idea what units do, who they should target. I never even got to the fort attack mini-game, as I dropped out and uninstalled this. Add to this that you can take the port and try and defend it, but probably won't get anything from it most of the time if you do. Mexicans and Indians may or may not attack, but if they do, you lose your unit automatically.
Date published: 2012-05-29
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Did anyone test for play balancing? This game definitely needs some fine tuning in the area of play balancing. Regardless of the strength of the human player, the computer player has the definite advantage. To test this, I set the Union at "strong", supposedly the best setting, and the Confederate at "weak", supposedly a pushover. The Confederates routinely wiped out the Union armies. I had invested my gold in better troops and skills, which apparently had absolutely no effect on them, and the computer just kept buying run of the mill units, which would destroy my supposedly more skilled, and equal strengthed armies (I had more gold, so I could buy more troops AND skills as well). This destroys any fun factor, or realistic chance to win, as the human player, and doesn't even touch on the random Indian/Mexican war parties (depending which side the human player is playing) who routinely destroy any units/forts they encounter. With some major play balancing, this could be a fun game, just not now. Definitely not recommended.
Date published: 2012-06-05
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Not worth my Time Wow what can I say the download took longer than the time it took me to realise this was an awful game. I think the main reason I didn't like it was because there was absolutely no tutorial, so wasn't real sure on what to do or the objective of the game. Usually I just buy games on bigfish without trialling them first certainly glad I played the trial. Can not recommend this game at all.
Date published: 2012-05-29
Rated 1 out of 5 by from What a dumb game! I just wasted my time downloading this game, don't waste your time! The directions are lacking, was confused on how to play. Just overall boring.
Date published: 2012-05-29
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Anachronisms Anyone? This game has more differences than similarities to the American Civil War. As a history buff, I could hardly stand to play it. Foreign intervention from France and England or someplace guaranteed! (To either side.) Mexico at war with both the USA and the CSA at the same time. American Indians wiping out entire armies on a regular basis. No troops defending Washington DC. No troops defending Richmond. No difference in difficulty of operating in friendly territory or hostile territory. It can easily happen that the Federals are occupying the South and the Confederates are occupying the North. No rail links from north to south on the east coast. The only rail link is in the West. The game play is not realistic, and in my opinion, not fun. I saw three minigames. In the battle game, the screen wraps around, so once your cavalry reaches the east edge of the map where the enemy is, it teleports back to the west edge behind your lines. The battle is over in like 20 seconds and the computer always wins. There are practically no instructions and you can't have much of an effect on the outcome of the battle. In the minigame where you attack or defend forts, it is a shooting gallery with enemies that shoot back, and it is so hard that you can't win. The scenery is themed to be like the wild west, even though that is not where the Civil War battles in question took place. The third minigame is breaking the rail network to stop the enemy from shipping supplies. But they got it all wrong! The game has cavalrymen chasing trains through a wild west landscape like Monument Valley. In the Civil War, the way rail links were broken, was that a mile of railroad tracks would be torn up, heated in fires made from the railroad ties, and bent so bad they could not be reused. Destroying rail bridges was even more effective. My guess is that this game was made by people from another country who have never visited America and do not know what the landscape of the East looks like. People who have never read books about the Civil War. People who watch lots of cowboy movies and assume that the Civil War was exactly like that.
Date published: 2013-03-04
Rated 1 out of 5 by from good ideas but terrible game I like the theme of the game but the actual gameplay leaves much to be desired. The storm and indians/mexicans are completely random and can massively change the tide of the game. The battles are ludicrous. I click my cannons immediately when they appear and attack his cannons but both of mine die and neither of his do (repeatedly). When defending or attacking a fort, I get one guy at a time who apparently can only duck for a few seconds but the opponent gets a bunch of guys who can duck at least as long and fire just as fast. I can almost wipe out an enemy unit but it is instantly back to full strength for the next attack in the same turn. Battles would have been much better done as turn-based with a lot more visibility into how they actually work. This is my first 1-star review (and hopefully my last).
Date published: 2012-06-10
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Horrible I would give it zero stars if possible. No instructions or tutorial with this game. You just have to guess and none of it makes any sense. Don't bother to download this one.
Date published: 2012-06-11
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Disappointment I didn't even finish the demo. No matter what I did I couldn't get gold and the other side always got gold. When I saw the game title I thought it would be a great game but as others have said, the computer has too much control of the action.
Date published: 2012-07-06
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Impossible to Win I played four rounds. Even with my skill level set to maximum and the computer's set to minimum, it was impossible to win. There's no information on how to play really, let alone win. It's so heavily weighted toward to computer that it's pointless. I'm glad I just tried this game instead of buying it. Zero stars in my opinion.
Date published: 2012-06-14
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Awful game play Waste of time game. Awkward game play, could be good but needs a lot doing to it.
Date published: 2012-06-10
Rated 1 out of 5 by from So close and yet so far. So close and yet so far. If this game moved along about 25 times faster it could be good
Date published: 2012-06-02
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Horrible Awful Horrible Ugh, review title says it all. Horrible game
Date published: 2012-05-29
  • y_2020, m_11, d_26, h_16
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_3.0.12
  • cp_2, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_0, tr_30
  • loc_en_US, sid_14477, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=RATING, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=HELPFULNESS, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=FEATURED, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_bigfishgames

The Big Fish Guarantee:

Quality tested and virus free. No ads, no adware, no spyware.

Your Security and Privacy are important to us! Privacy Policy

, share your thoughts about this game!

The Bluecoats: North vs South

Fight with The Blue Coats during the American Civil War!

Heres what your review will look like once it’s posted.

Click Submit if you’re happy. Your review should appear soon. To make changes, use the Edit or Cancel buttons.

Thanks for sharing your thoughts about this game!

You’ve already shared your thoughts about this game.

Thanks for submitting the review below.