Secrets of the Seas: Flying Dutchman

Secrets of the Seas: Flying Dutchman

PC

Also available on

Hidden Object

Play Now Download the free trial

This game will not work on your operating system.

Are you sure you want to download this game?

Free sample version

(230.00 MB)

By clicking "Play Now", I accept the Terms of Use and acknowledge that I have received the Privacy Policy. If this is your first time downloading a game from Big Fish, our handy Game Manager app will install on your computer to help manage your games.
Buy Now Get the full version70% OFF!

This game will not work on your operating system.

Are you sure you want to purchase it?

Full version game

$ 9.99 USD

Only $2.99 - use coupon NEW299

Uncover the Sea Secrets of the Flying Dutchman in Secrets of the Seas: Flying Dutchman! Find hidden objects and solve adventuresome puzzles in this oceanic hidden object puzzle adventure game!

New customers get your first game for $2.99!*

70% OFF!

Use Coupon: NEW299

* Collector's Editions and free to play games not included.

Game System Requirements:

  • OS: Windows XP/Vista/Win7/8
  • CPU: 1.0 GHz
  • RAM: 512 MB
  • DirectX: 9.0
  • Hard Drive: 1396 MB

Big Fish Games App System Requirements:

  • Browser: Internet Explorer 7 or later
Reviews at a Glance

Secrets of the Seas: Flying Dutchman

0 out of 5 (0 ReviewsReview)
Average Rating:
Play Now Download the free trial

This game will not work on your operating system.

Are you sure you want to download this game?

Free sample version

(230.00 MB)

Buy Now Get the full version70% OFF!

This game will not work on your operating system.

Are you sure you want to purchase it?

Full version game

$ 9.99 USD

Only $2.99 - use coupon NEW299

Customer Reviews
Secrets of the Seas: Flying Dutchman is rated 3.7 out of 5 by 33.
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Rated ARRRRRRR! - A guy's review *review based on completing the full game in advanced mode* I truly enjoyed this game, and had a hard time deciding a 4 or 5 star rating, so you might call this a 4.5. I think some of the nostalgic moments and thoughts back to the Monkey Island games had me liking it a bit extra. Though, basically the only similarity is the pirate theme and the sometimes thinking outside the box adventure elements. The graphics are nice enough, though some of the cut scenes seemed a bit blurry. I certainly did not struggle seeing clearly what everything was. The characters are animated as opposed to live actors, which I think is a good way to go in a game like this. The music is catching and the few voice overs you find in this game are done quite well. I usually turn the music way down, but here I could keep it a bit louder. It is basically a true adventure game with a lot of pick-ups and use tasks. And here they did better than most other games I've played so far. You actually have several uses for several items, and if so, they actually stay in your inventory. It's not like when you need a knife and use it you lose it only to find out that you need a new knife somewhere else. I hate that. The game is also littered with the standard HO scenes. They are the usual cluttered scene, but luckily not overcrowded and only a few smaller items. They are bright and clear on the most part, with a few darker places. Also, the objects on the most part makes sense and suits the screen it is in. There is a small selection of puzzles as well. Most of them are the usual, and none of them seemed too challenging. There is little character interactivity, and you are mostly on your own. There is a bit back and forth traveling, especially in the latter half of the game, but not too long distances. I don't mind that, as it is true to the adventure genre :o). There are three difficulties to choose from: Casual: Hints recharging faster, no penalties and active areas highlighted. Advanced: Hints recharging slower, penalties and no highlights (and that includes not highlighting HO scenes) Hard: No hints, penalties and no highlights. I wish the crayfish? hint sidekick could have been a bit more interactive, and even occasionally come with some dry remarks or something, just to break the silence now and again. But no such luck. There is nothing gloomy or scary about this game, even if there are a few ghosts here and there, so the game should suit most players. I read an earlier review about animal cruelty, and have no idea what should govern that??? As an animal lover myself, I had absolutely no problem with the animal interactions in this game. I highly recommend this game to everyone who likes these types of games, this game will almost guaranteed entertain you, and it was actually quite lengthy IMO. Well worth purchasing. For the guys: As we know by now, lots of these types of games are targeted towards the better gender, and I have no problem with that whatsoever, but I know some guys do. This game is well suited for us guys as well, and the story is about a guy helping out a friend... oh... and it has pirates :o). Both genders should enjoy this game. TJ
Date published: 2012-05-25
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Pleasant but not ground-breakinbg This is a lovely, polished adventure game with considerable hidden object scenes and a variety of puzzles. Although not innovative in any way, the developers have stuck to a particular formula that makes the player feel comfortable. Here is my overview of the various aspects of this game: Graphics: the hand-painted look. While a little washed out and grainy, everything is clear and easy to spot. I personally really like this style of artwork but it does not have the almost-photo-realism of some games. Story: A refreshing twist on the usual themes. You are visiting an old friend in a quaint, seaside town when a pirate ghost ship sails in and kidnaps the two of you as deckhands. You are still rescuing people and saving souls but it's different to crashing your car at an abandoned property. Pirates have been done before, sometimes with better humour, however the atmosphere and feel is nicely handled. There are cut-scenes and voice-overs to set the mood. Challenge: 3 difficulty modes. I played the easiest (to avoid the hint penalty) and the sparkles were subtle and occasionally useful. Hidden-Objects: I loved these actually. The items are clear and large. There is variety in the interactive items without having too many, and they are appropriate to the scene. There appear to be quite a few HO scenes but they are spaced out so you're not doing them one after the other. After finding the items on the list, you are tasked with finding a final item that is added to your inventory. The scenes are animated but subtly and don't distract. Puzzles: nothing special here, the usual. Clear, easy to understand what to do. Not that many of them in the first hour. Hints: standard fare. An animated lobster that I liked. He is available outside the HO scenes and hints are of the "nothing to do here" variety. They don't suggest where to go/what to do. Music: sound quality is excellent. The music changes as your location does and suits the mood. Other: No map but each chapter contains a limited playing area so you don't get lost. There is a journal that you acquire early on but don't start with. Some English is a little incorrect but still understandable, e.g. the/a used wrongly. Final thoughts: this is a game that grew on me as I progressed through, rather than grabbing me right away. Play for more than 10 minutes to get a real feel for it. I didn't finish the demo before the time ran out - that's unusual for me, and a big plus.
Date published: 2012-05-12
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Thar She BLOWS.......... I actually wrote a review on the CE of this game and said that the ship would sail without me. I found that the game mechanics did not warrent a CE price and decided to wait for the SE version. Finally it has arrived and I have already pressed the "buy" button. The story takes you off to the high seas where your mission is to save your friend from the nasty looking Pirate Captain of the Flying Dutchman. It looks like this scary Dude will not make it easy for as you have to solve many puzzles and mini-games along the way. You also get these very interest mini factoids regarding the Ship and lives of Pirates when you collect pearls hidden throughout the game. Make sure you bring along an estra pair of deck shoes as you will be back tracking alot, but you will have a journal that keeps you company and you will need those sturdy sea legs for this adventure. Overall I really wanted to like this game, infact I did beta tested it sometime ago and hoped that more game features would have been added. Alas to my dismay, it pretty much is your run of the mill Adventure/HOG with nothing really special that would make it qualify as a CE. Now that it is out as a SE,I have already gone on board. I did like the graphics and artwork; they are well done but I have seen better. The sound effects are not up to par and I was rather dissapointed with voice-overs. The Captain sounded like he has been into the rum too much. There are three game modes as well as wide screen options and custom cursor. I did however like the cute little lobster that acts as your hint system. HOG scenes are crowded with junk and interactive with small items that have blended into the scenery making them difficult to find. What is seriously lacking in this game is any a level of challenge and gradually I did get a bit bored. I also found the game play very slow. Needless to say, I did enjoy the story and it is superior to many of the SE game that we do get so I guess the ship this time has sailed with me at the helm.
Date published: 2012-05-12
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Review of Completed Game There are 3 modes...I chose the middle option which had hints. Since you can't change it once you pick it, I thought it was better to have a hint or 2 if I got stuck and Im glad I chose that option as sometimes the hidden objects were dark or really well hid. The puzzles were average difficulty. I didn't find any that were so hard I couldn't do them but there was one I did skip due to the fact I didn't want to sit there for hours trying to do it. This is a solid 4 hour long game. You play each hidden object scene twice and there are an average amount. Im a person who doesn't like to be bombarded with lots and lots in adventure games and this was just enough to engage the story and not make me sigh every time I came upon another one. I was surprised how long the game was actually as I thought that it would be over once I got off the pirate ship but to my surprise it had another 2 hours left. There are A LOT of locations to visit within the different scenes especially the last chapter on the island. The pearls you collect for the necklace tells the story and what happened to the town. There were voiceovers but not to tell the story forward and I would have liked that instead of just reading it. I also wished there was a lock option to keep the items up at all times. Thats just something I like. This has a COMPLETE ENDING in the SE. There is no pressure to buy the CE as you have a good solid ending here and I only hope this developer puts out more games as I have liked this and the ulthar cat town one they put out very much.
Date published: 2013-04-16
Rated 4 out of 5 by from not a hard game and fun to play Has voice over, Hint button works good if you need it. Not hard to play. Lots of running around. Still all in all a fun game to play.
Date published: 2012-09-21
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Nice, relaxing game The storyline is interesting: you meet a cursed captain and solve his problem. There are 3 game modes. There are no sparkles in the Advanced mode; good! The graphics are clear, even in the HOS where the objects are easy to find. The dialogs are short, which is good for me. The mini-games are on the easy side but good. There is a journal, containing the clues, but no map, which is okay since there are not too many locations to go to. The hint system tells you "nothing to do here". There are many things to do, never a slower moment! The game is not very long; without skipping, it took me about 2 1/2 hours. All in all, an easy game with lots to do, and nice graphics.
Date published: 2013-08-11
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Good Game, but Not Exciting After your ship is sunk by the Flying Dutchman, you find out your friend has lost everything, even his freedom, and has become a slave on the Flying Dutchman. So, you decide to find a way to free him. The graphics are wonderful and the music is good. The pirate captain looks creepy, but he isn't scary. In fact, he talks like Captain Flint in Walt Disney's Treasure Island, a movie I watched many years ago. Tasks make sense, and the puzzles are good ones. The strategy guide is very helpful, and the hints are moderately helpful. HOS is clutter, but not dirty junk, and I appreciate that. Objects you find are useful. There is a good journal, to give you the feeling of the game. The level of challenge is moderately difficult, but the hints are only helpful if you are in an area with a task or HOS. Several "Flying Dutchman" games have been released by other developers recently, but only three for Mac's. I bought two of those, and love them! But Secrets of the Seas, Flying Dutchman, just didn't "grab" me like the others did.
Date published: 2012-06-22
Rated 4 out of 5 by from So much for a small amount of money The story line and the visual affects were very well done , you really got your money's worth . I hope they have a sequel in the making , another score for Bigfish games ...
Date published: 2012-05-12
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Good game Nice story, which unfolds slowly, thus keeping you hooked. Not too much backtracking (you are confined to a few rooms, and if new ones open up others are emptied, so you do not need to look at them). Nice visuals. Easy to figure out what you need and where. Just no WOW! factor, but a good game.
Date published: 2013-10-30
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Well worth the money. Fun game to play. Graphics were good and I like the music. Once you get into the game it's hard to stop. Good job Big Fish on this one.
Date published: 2012-05-18
Rated 4 out of 5 by from very nice game my first game played at the advanced level , i thought i was in trouble , but i made it thru nicely. I would have liked a better help system , i grew tired of , there is nothing to do here help. the puzzles looked extremely hard , but most were interesting and fun. Although not my favorite game , i will play it again
Date published: 2012-05-25
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Secrets of the Seas: Flying Dutchman SE This is a decent game considering it's release date. I have played both the Collectors Edition and this Standard Edition and there isn't any significant differences in my opinion. The following is a recap of my review of the Collectors Edition. The Flying Dutchman moors once every seven years to gather fresh souls in his crews. The captain wanders around taverns, offering sailors a chance to play dice with him. If the sailor wins, he receives mountains of gold, but if he loses, he is doomed to spend eternity aboard the Flying Dutchman as a servant! Unfortunately, this is exactly what happened to your friend Michael. Michael blew his entire inheritance in a card game and out of desperation he chose to play the captain a high stakes game of dice....and lost! Your luck however, was just the opposite, you won! The captain made a bet with you, if you lose you will be his servant, if you win you may board the Flying Dutchman and be with your friend, nobody will harm you. Now you must figure out how to free Michael from his lifelong contract and then figure out how to leave a ship that has just set sail for another seven years! The cutscene video was horrible, some of the worse graphics I have ever seen, yet the game itself had decent graphics especially if you take into consideration how long ago this game was released! There aren't any frills either, no map, no special effects, and the game is easy to play, yet enjoyable. Once aboard the ship you will collect pearls to fix the captains broken necklace which I suspect will be the bargaining chip for Michaels release. The Hidden Object Scenes are slightly interactive list finds and they repeat the HOS at least once so if you get stuck be sure to check out one of the previous scenes. The mini games are very basic such as repeating a color sequence. The mini game I thought was the most interesting was the game of dice you play with the captain. You roll 5 dice and choose 3 of those dice that add up to one of the numbers written on a sheet of paper, your tally must equal 6 different numbers to win. The Collectors Edition has Screensavers, Concept Art, Wallpapers, Game Music, Mini Games, a built in Strategy Guide and a Bonus Chapter, enjoy!
Date published: 2014-11-09
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Good, Fun Game But a Couple of Problems for Me WHAT FOLLOWS IS MY REVIEW OF PLAYING ON THE MIDDLE LEVEL OF DIFFICULTY: I originally played a part of the demo of this game on "casual" and found it too easy. I decided at that time not to buy it, but when it was offered as a DOD, I changed player and played on the middle setting. Wow, what a difference. Not even the HOGs were highlighted in any way, and that is one thing I think is wrong with this game. With the middle setting, you get faster hint and skip recharge in HOGs and puzzles, and you do get a weak hint outside of the HOGs, but no sparkles or glints. Since you get things you need as a last object in the HOGs, it is vital to your ability to continue the game not to miss one. The second thing I disliked was that the hints outside of the HOGs only tell you, "There's nothing to pillage here." But there may be a HOG hiding somewhere in that same scene. So you learn you'd better run your cursor all over the entire screen to ensure there's no HOG, and you have to do it every time, because the next time you visit that scene, you may find one. Playing on the middle level I had to use the walkthrough several times, which is annoying when you have to get completely out of the game each time. I really wish the devs would have included a sparkle for the HOGs in this level, but otherwise the game is fun to play and quite long.
Date published: 2013-05-21
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Adventure Ahoy! BASED ON COMPLETED GAME I enjoy this game every time I play it. At first it seems pretty simple. Your friend has lost a bet with an evil PIRATE CAPTAIN, and is forced to join the crew of the FLYING DUTCHMAN, a legendary ghost ship that can never make port, doomed to sail the oceans forever. However, throwing your lot in with him in the hopes of rescuing him, you find yourself HELPING the CAPTAIN, AGAINST HIS WILL, to UNDO the curse. Plenty of land-based action as well as on the ‘briny waters’. I like the GRAPHICS on this one. They’re not the best you’ve ever seen, but they are BRIGHT, COLOURFUL & RICHLY TEXTURED. MUSIC was TYPICAL swashbuckling stuff, but I really liked the AMBIENT sound in much of the game. VOICEOVER was limited to the opening. The GAMEPLAY was a good mix of 2 parts ADVENTURE, 2 parts (INTERACTIVE LIST) HO SCENES – visited twice, 1 part PUZZLES. None of it was hard. But... HINT outside HOS was useless, and there was NO MAP. There was a JOURNAL, with essential details. You have COLLECTIBLES in the form of PEARLS, which offer backstory, and are a NECESSARY part of the game. A surprising amount of story was included in this game, making far more interesting than a standard pirate game. No underwater locations, however, to my sorrow. Still, solid entertainment.
Date published: 2013-05-24
Rated 3 out of 5 by from saved by pirates i have a laundry list of complaints, but my 3 stars are based on my unnatural love of all things pirate. the storyline was lame and most of the time non-existent. nightmares of the deep did this so much better. the puzzles here were all the same, spin one circle and three others spin. spin a different circle and only one spins, somehow find a way to make everything match. there was nothing new or exciting about them, but they were easy enough and i don't hate that type of puzzle so they got the job done. one plus was the HO scenes. they were rare for this type of game, and some of the best i've encountered. even though objects were replaced upon subsequent visits, each object was cleverly hidden without being ridiculously small. and each HO scene gave you something vitally important. otherwise there's a lot of searching in this game. it's not so much adventure as searching, for the obscure random object that inexplicably solves the task at hand. inventory items were used sometimes in the same room, sometimes dragged out through most of the game, which i found very irritating. how many times you can attempt to use a wire? what i loved most was the music and graphics, this game will go far due to those alone. overall however, it was all bells and whistles with little substance.
Date published: 2012-07-12
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Bring me some Booze! I love the pirate genre even though it has been done to death. This was a captivating and spooky little HOPA game with beautiful graphics and cut scenes. The opening music had me lost in memories of POCO and Captain Jack Sparrow. Good times!
Date published: 2013-05-18
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Boring! Way too much backing tracking from scene to scene for 1 clue. Most puzzles were easy. Bored with it 1/2to 3/4 way through. I would not recommend this!
Date published: 2012-07-30
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Yep, thar she "blows"... Don't waste the time nor the money on this one. Too many games are rated 4 stars that should be only three at best. Poor story line and development. back and forth and just not a good game. Ho's are good but that is it. I rated three but was generous.
Date published: 2012-05-28
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Slow! First I have to say that I only played about 20 min. of the trial. I just couldn't get into this game. Slow going and rather boring, something missing. Good game for a beginner to play. Cannot recommend this game due to no excitement and to slow moving.
Date published: 2012-05-28
Rated 2 out of 5 by from Easy gameplay but rather boring My review is on the hour long demo as I found the gameplay quite simple; you don’t really need to use your brain to calculate what to do next, there is no map so you will have to go back & forth regularly but the world isn’t that big so is not a problem. This is a decent looking game, crisp graphics & some very nice artwork although not very colourful; there are some reasonable voiceovers & the dialogues is clickable, the music is pretty awful though. There are 3 modes of play, casual with flares to signify the H0s & glints with a 60 second hint recharge, advanced with no flares & a long 2 minute recharge or hard with no hints or sparkles. You find the hint a little way into the game, it is an ugly but cute lobster, in addition you will also find a journal that gives some good clues. The hint is useful outside the H0s as it will let you know the scene is complete for the moment. The hidden object scenes are ok & have interactive items; there are quite a lot of them. There are fewer mini puzzles & these are the usual type & it really depends on which mode you select as to how hard they are. I found that on the easy for instance the simon says sequence of lights was far less complex than in the two harder modes. I found the clicking a little dodgy, sometimes I had to click several times to pick up an item or shut a close up down using the in game cursor.
Date published: 2012-05-23
Rated 2 out of 5 by from Too hard If you can play this game without a map,and with lame hints that take forever to recharge, my hat's off to you. It's a good looking game but there's so much nonsensical backing and forthing that I don't understand it's high rating. I finished it with the help of a walk-through but it was painful all the way. If you're the person who can finish this game without hints and a walk-through, I bow to your superior skills and infinite patience. I won't be back for a sequel.
Date published: 2012-12-16
Rated 2 out of 5 by from animal lovers beware I admit I avoid the horror genre games unless they have especially appealing locations, graphics and stories. I love the nautical theme and graphics and liked the story to this game at first. Then the game deteriorated for me. His friend disappeared from the action and there was no human interaction except with the villain. The story pretty much got lost and was replaced by the legend of the Flying Dutchman. What caused me to delete the game about half-way through was that out of 7 animals he encountered all the animals or interactions were unfriendly except one neutral. If you don't like people or animals and just like things interacting with each other, this is the game for you.
Date published: 2012-05-21
Rated 2 out of 5 by from Walk the plank That is what the developers of this game should do - walk the plank. I must have played a different game than some of the other reviewers did who rated it highly. The story is a real stinker, and it seems at times as if there isn't a real story at all, just blobs of stuff to fill in during game play. Gameplay is OK with IA HOSs. No map, but you don't need one since action is limited. I think this is one of the worst games out there. Try it before you buy it.
Date published: 2012-08-06
  • y_2020, m_11, d_30, h_16
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_3.0.12
  • cp_2, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_0, tr_33
  • loc_en_US, sid_14543, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=RATING, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=HELPFULNESS, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=FEATURED, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_bigfishgames

The Big Fish Guarantee:

Quality tested and virus free. No ads, no adware, no spyware.

Your Security and Privacy are important to us! Privacy Policy

, share your thoughts about this game!

Secrets of the Seas: Flying Dutchman

Uncover the Sea Secrets of the Flying Dutchman in Secrets of the Seas: Flying Dutchman!

Heres what your review will look like once it’s posted.

Click Submit if you’re happy. Your review should appear soon. To make changes, use the Edit or Cancel buttons.

Thanks for sharing your thoughts about this game!

You’ve already shared your thoughts about this game.

Thanks for submitting the review below.